At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. Barbados has a population of 285,000 give or take PEOPLE and MAYBE 12 food stores mostly centred in the town and a few here and there in other outlying areas….to serve food shoppers IN 11 PARISHES……{Quote}

What de @#$%&* I does hear? You does post some real shyte, hear?

There are supermarkets in every parish in Barbados.

Unless you are so narrow minded that you think Massy and Popular Discounts are the only supermarkets in Barbados.

2. I saw this article DAYS AGO….yes the ones who were WELL PREPARED and RESPONDED to their initial infections with proactiveness must be commended, but THEY too cannot stave off the infection spreads, jumps and peaks when they start……not as long as no vaccine is forthcoming anytime soon…so all the back patting and the begging for SELF PRAISE to upstage other Caribbean leaders, DONT MEAN SQUAT..

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/world-bank-report-tt-was-more-prepared-for-covid19-than-some-caribbean-islands-6.2.1098928.bb05364cb0?fbclid=IwAR2w8EfcFOu28LDqPMg8sdH2F7ntfg7zfN38-zDOtgCNymMuA4ZQQ7eoa3g#.XphAzu0r5NJ.facebook

“A World Bank report has claimed that developing countries in the Caribbean are confronting the COVID-19 crisis from a weaker position compared to the Global Financial Crisis – but the data also shows that T&T was more prepared for the crisis than a lot of its Caribbean counterparts.”

3. “MAYBE 12 food stores mostly centred in the town and a few here and there in other outlying areas….to serve food shoppers IN 11 PARISHES…”

ah told yall the limp dick fowls need mental release…

4. GREENE

by the way

I didn’t see it as a who is right or wrong between Barbados and Jamaica.

I saw it as baje trying to say that Barbados is a shit hole country and using Jamaica as his benchmark as to what is not a shit hole country.

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL re “[You] don’t see the comparison but [you] may be missing something”. BIG TIME.

Those 11 parishes would fit into the smallest province – Prince Edward I believe – just shy of 15 times!

I am a bit dated I know but beyond the” 12 food stores mostly centred in the town” there were quite active and propa minimarts in Belleplaine, St. Andrew; in St.Lucy, St. John, St. Phillip, St. Thomas and St. Joseph with Supermarkets in Speightstown.

Bottom line within a radius of no more than 20 minutes drive (most of it traffic congestion) or a long bus trip any Bajan can have his/her food needs satisfied….and that has nothing to do with the various farmer’s marts that have sprung up on Saturdays around the country-side in more recent years.

Thus, area for area our number of food stores/vendors to PROPERLY feed a family are likely more adequately spread than for Canadians.

You are missing EVA THING..not just something! 🙂

6. Sargeant April 18, 2020 8:21 AM RE…“by 8.10 my shopping was complete but i had to wait at the pharmacy to pick up medication for the better half (she uses that medication that trump has gone off about which is now in short supply and the gov’t has restricted quantities to 30 days instead of the 3 months she usually receives).”

Freedom is Heartened by the fact that at Least your Wife has Sense and you may yet be Saved…

HYDROXYCHLOROQUINE RATED ‘MOST EFFECTIVE’ CORONAVIRUS TREATMENT, POLL OF DOCTORS FINDS

An international poll of thousands of doctors rated the Trump-touted anti-malaria drug hydroxychloroquine the best treatment for the novel coronavirus.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=241238833729249&set=a.101133057739828&type=3&theater

7. The point being, no one is going to get away with masquerading around after fcuking up the initial response, as some hero…then fcuking up the supermarket with closure, then repeat with the partial opening…which is seeing vulnerable people having to stand in long lines in a heat weave with high humidity…unless the people strip naked or wear bathing suits….and even then, there will be great DISCOMFORT….it is too hot to DELIBERATELY create long lines to get hero worship..

WHO don’t give a shit, no skin off their nose, let any large amount die because the leaders are self absorbed and foolish, then ya will see the difference…

no one is really impressed, just check FB for yaselves to see the comments.

8. Today is Saturday and in some areas the RAIN LOOKS LIKE IT’S ABOUT TO POUR…apparently it is falling in some places…

.SO WHAT NOW…..lol

all the fowl genieasses and the quasi-idiots should have all the answers..

they better pray that the rain STOPS, only drizzles …and there is no heavy long lasting down pour…did they even factor in falling rain, i so doubt that…

9. @ Sargeant,

Toronto

Went to Walmart at 7am and there were only about 10 other shoppers. Bought a 1 litre bottle of hand sanitizer and about 20 other items.7.35 drove to Freshco and no line up with 10 minutes left in the seniors time slot.

Seniors ( in Canada over 65 years old ) could stick to their allotted time slots and avoid long line ups.

10. BajeNY
    Did he enlist before or after lecturing at UWI? Just asking.🤣🤣

The serial poster has already posted about 30% of today’s posts so far–30%! Of course her usual maliciousness is on display–“is it true they ran out of test kits”?. Barbados has tested less than 1,000 persons so far. The Bdos government bought and received 20,000 test kits on April 20th. The US Embassy provided a “test kit contain[ing] supplies for 2,000 testing samples, including non-consumable equipment that can be used to conduct additional testing” in early April. If we go back to the start, PAHO trained lab techs and provided test kits to Bdos since February 10. This was the first in the region. During the Estimates debate on 9 March the Director of the Best Dos Santos Lab said:
    “…….we can probably do another 80 tests….while the Pan American Health Organisation (PAHO) has indicated that they will supply reagents to do another 300 to 400 tests, she cannot say that that is enough.” She said more test kits were therefore being ordered.

On March 26, the PM stated:
    “the world is at this moment scrambling, all for the same items. Ventilators, testing kits, swabs…We have adequate supplies of all..but yet we placed additional orders, some weeks ago I might add, with suppliers on virtually every continent of the world and we will be receiving them on a staggered basis.”
    BU readers can draw their own conclusions.

11. Robert @ Mariposa

So why the people here couldn’t have prepared appropriately for the weather, too?

Knowing you, if the weather conditions here were the same as outside Costco in Canada, you would be here saying the government had the people in the cold waiting to purchase food.

If outside was cool and overcast with no sunshine, you would complain that the government know the rain look as though it gine fall, but they still had people waiting to purchase food.

Gosh, woman, get a life, nuh
    Xxxccxxcxxcccc
    Dont try changing the narrative
    Govt Putting measure in place that would subject humans to intolerable conditions is Wrong
    Btw i got a life one that does not make my life miserable
    Have a nice shopping day and Dont forget to wear yuh bathing suit
    Also good weather to get a tan
    duffus

12. @enuff

Are the 20, 000 test kits different to the ones sourced from the Cayman government?

13. @Hal,

i agree with a Caricom Investigative Service. but i think that will be diffiucult to implement and maintain given our disparate island mentality. the RSS as it stands now is loaded with political lackeys (see Ralph Gonsalves’s hired hand) who have no problems in giving jobs to their fellow islanders, so too with CDB (with a Jamaican head more Jamaicans hired) and CXC (Didacus from St Lucia) and almost every regional institution.

i agree also with uniform branch of the police being the real stars but detectives getting the limelight. the community policeman is quite important if he does his jobs as mandated.

14. David
    Research in the UK has shown that although visits to supermarkets have declined, people still continue to shop more frequently than required or is preferred by the government. So non-essential shopping continues. I bet the same is happening in Bdos– it is human behaviour. The supermarket operators continue to disappoint me. They seem to be lacking agility and are slow in responding to change. With the duration of the need for a lockdown unknown at this time, they should be having discussions about restructuring their online presence and capacity for delivery and curbside services and identifying a list of essential items for sale. I wudda keep them shut.

15. Of course her usual maliciousness is on display–“is it true they ran out of test kits”?. Barbados has tested less than 1,000 persons so far. The Bdos government bought and received 20,000 test kits on April 20th. The US Embassy provided a “test kit contain[ing] supplies for 2,000 testing samples, including non-consumable equipment that can be used to conduct additional testing” in early April. If we go back to the start, PAHO trained lab techs and provided test kits to Bdos since February 10.

So less than 1000 persons tested…is 900+ people out of a population of 285,000 people TESTED RIGHT….????

“is it true they ran out of test kits”?.

that looks like a question to ME…NOT A STATEMENT…asking a question is not malicious oh.. genieass.

.BESIDES…ah thought yall did not want to give the US ANY CREDIT for helping with test kits etc….i asked about those medical supplies they donated before and got a SO WHAT….from you FOOL…now you should not only apologize, but THANK THE US…for the test kits.

ya are the one gotta jump out at everything i post, since the 30% morning posts, i promptly went and fell asleep…too much breadfruit…

16. @enuff

If you listen to Bynoe he seems to be disappointed successive governments have been reluctant to amend the Shops Act to permit off hour work.

17. By Golly!!

A 100 comments on Facebook from amongst the usual 25 people that have the same agenda and comment on everything, is now the new benchmark to use to find out if something is wrong in Barbados?

If something don’t impress the usual 25 people, that means it is wrong?

That is like saying an opinion poll on Trump taken from a sample size of 8 people from BU, indicated he is the best president the US ever had and they polled people like Freedom Crier, MoneyBrain, Lawson, John, Lucas and GP.

18. Hants, my boy, I, too, went to Walmart at 7:10 for seniors hour. Left there and went to No Frills to get a breadfruit, some cassava and green bananas. The store opens at 8 and I was there at 7:35. Was sixth in line. Got into the store and not a breadfruit, a stick of cassava nor green banana in the store. The Jams must have bought them all yesterday. Left there and went to the Superstore (no line-up). I picked up two sticks of cassava and two cho-chos. Got my prescriptions from the pharmacy and went to the Customer service to pay for my two items. The young lad asked if I was sent there by the lady who allocates you to the cashiers. I told him no. He said I had to go join the line. People were doing their bi monthly shop and everyone’s cart was full. I took my medication and left the other stuff right at the customer service. they no longer have the express lanes for a few items.

19. This idiot still don’t realize that ALL THE PEOPLE LINING UP in heat, humidity, hunger and distress to SHOP FOR FOOD make up the numbers that will VOTE come 2023…same ones the VOTE BEGGARS will soon be crawling around begging to vote for them, while the same idiot fowls will be on BU begging, cajoling and bullying us to help get those parasites reelected….which we will just as promptly as i fell asleep…IGNORE…

that dictatorship plan ain’t worth shit, yall still gotta go a vote begging…and if ya try grabbing the government bybrute force…YA WILL BE REMOVED…

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, I am not familiar with the provisions of the Shops Act but if it does not permit a 3rd shift operation for supermarket staff (which I interpret to be the ‘off hour’ work) then that’s not overly problematic in normal times but just as the emergency powers stipulations ‘changed’ regs NOW then that too could have been modified as needed.

So did Bynoe and his fellow executives push for that to address the current predicament or is he using this moment to narrate again one of his past desires!

21. I will try to write something on mass testing over the weekend. It is not as some seem to suggest mass grabbing everyone and testing them. In a world of unlimited everything that would be the approach.

I suspect that the government of Barbados has a very capable statistician/epidemologist in the background giving the numbers of subjects to test.

Remember this… Barbados has some highly talented and qualified people who do and can do but they work quietly in the background.

22. @Dee Word

He said it has been raised over and over and over. Can the blogmaster speculate this is a hnionyissue?

23. Govt Putting measure in place that would subject humans to intolerable conditions is Wrong {Quote}

Idiot, who is it that is supposed to provide shelter for customers, the government or the owners of the supermarkets?

Look how stupid you are. You are comparing the weather in Barbados with a country that is in a different temperature zone, to say government is subjecting people to intolerable weather conditions.

In Canada cold, so the government there isn’t subjecting people to intolerable weather conditions and that’s why they have to dress appropriately?

You got a life one that does not make your life miserable? Shyte, you duz come here on BU everyday making yuhself miserable about trivial foolishness that ordinary people generally over look.

You so igrunt that you would make a door knob look smart.

24. I ordered some produce from a (black) farmer at 2:42 p.m. yesterday. They were delivered to my kitchen door at 10:42 this morning.

20 hours from order to delivery.

25. @ Greene

It won’t. I have been talking for a regional detective agency for years. It will be no more difficult to enforce than the National Crime Agency in the UK. You may not remember, but the only things that unites our regional police forces is a dislike of Scotland Yard.
    Policing is about uniformed officer and their relationship with the community they serve; detectives come in to investigate and present evidence to the prosecuting authorities. In fact, there is no real reason for a detective to be a gazetted officer, since any arresting can be done by the uniformed officers. Do you remember Book Him Daniel (Hawaii Five O)?
    We also got to get those overweight guys out of the office and restructure the police to focus on districts, no more than teams of four or five under a sergeant.
    The cultural differences you suggest will not be affected because the uniformed guys will be locals. The other advantage of a regional detective agency is that it removes local bias. The FBI is not uniformed and has a federal remit, so does Europol, although they have no arresting powers.
    If you are interested in the subject read Bruce George, the late Labour MP, on the viral rise of the private police (so-called security), mostly unregulated. A former colleague did a PhD on the subject at Middlesex University, but I cannot remember his name.

26. With an apology for the “slow” response.

27. NO ONE ELSE IN THE WORLD COULD BE THIS STUPID

The two main bodies which represent public service vehicle (PSV) operators and owners have slammed as ‘total madness, untenable and ludicrous’ Government’s decision to limit fuel access to specific days.

Chairman of the Association of Public Transport Operators (APTO) Kenneth Best told Barbados TODAY his members had complained that they were being denied gas because of their surnames.

Last week, Government announced that supermarkets, hardware stores and gas stations would reopen and that consumers would only be allowed to conduct business on particular days based on their surnames.

But Best expressed shock that the measure was extended to PSVs.

He said: “As far as I am aware PSVs are part and parcel of the essential services and it is total madness to have minibuses, taxis, ZRs, all part of the essential services and saying that you have to wait until it is your shopping day to full up a PSV with diesel, which is performing yeoman service in these difficult times.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/04/18/bus-operators-against-fuel-sale-arrangements/

28. Same Japan that had all those infections under control, lessons to be learnt.

BTW…cruise ships now have their own line in a LIST of over a hundred countries, i saw two yesterday….gotta admit certain countries i never heard of before, which means we have new countries.

. i also noticed that many countries on the continent only have one or two cases going up, the most i believe was Nigeria with a couple hundred and 17 deaths so far all the deaths are low, not worrying yet but to hear the likes of Gates and China tell it, millions of Africans have already died on the Continent…goddamn parasites…projecting the death of African people.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8232389/Coronavirus-wave-threatens-collapse-Japan-hospitals-forced-turn-away-sick-people.html

“Hospitals in Japan are increasingly turning away sick people as the country struggles with surging coronavirus infections and its emergency medical system collapses.

On Saturday, the number of cases rose from 9,239 yesterday to 9,795 and there have now been 220 deaths from the virus, up from 136 deaths on Friday.

With an addition of 712 others from a cruise ship quarantined near Tokyo earlier this year, Japan now has 10,507 cases altogether. “

29. This is scary and it is what will most likely happen here in the USA if states are liberated as called for by the President.

https://hotair.com/archives/john-s-2/2020/04/16/hokkaido-japan-ended-coronavirus-state-emergency-last-month-week-reimposed/

30. Baje…at least ya hanging in there, do you have any clue how many of the BU weakminded abandoned us or just mentally DROPPED OFF…and left us with this ROTATING ASYLUM…..you have no clue…

31. @ Dame Bajans, ” I told him no. He said I had to go join the line ”

Maybe you don’t look like a “senior”.lol

32. Stupid people and governments are EVERYWHERE! Right now the most stupid country is the US of A. NO logic whatsoever. It’s all about who you know and whose ass you kiss. Well on its way to totalitarian government.

33. David

Didnt the dem pass law to allow for 24 hrs?

34. @John2

Can you cite it?

35. “In fact, there is no real reason for a detective to be a gazetted officer, since any arresting can be done by the uniformed officers. Do you remember Book Him Daniel (Hawaii Five O)?”

Hmmmmmm………..

Would anyone care to explain the above comment?

What does a detective being a gazetted officer have to do with arresting suspects? Is the author suggesting only a gazetted detective can arrest suspects?

If, for example, an operation is being conducted with 8 detectives, led by a Station Sargeant. Is it being suggested the supervisor has to wait on a DSup for instructions to arrest a suspect?

Isn’t a gazetted police officer usually an officer above the rank of inspector?

Don’t the Uniformed and detective divisions both have the same ranks and powers of arrest?

Could we reasonably compare our style of policing with that of the US and using the fictional US detective series, “Hawaii Five-O?”

I’m a bit puzzled, since the comment does not make any sense to me. So, that’s why I’m asking questions.

36. Khaleel Kothdiwala Avatar
    Khaleel Kothdiwala

@ WURA-War-On-U April 18, 2020 9:41 AM

“The point being, no one is going to get away with masquerading around after fcuking up the initial response, as some hero…then fcuking up the supermarket with closure, then repeat with the partial opening…which is seeing vulnerable people having to stand in long lines in a heat weave with high humidity…unless the people strip naked or wear bathing suits….and even then, there will be great DISCOMFORT….it is too hot to DELIBERATELY create long lines to get hero worship.”
    ————————————————————————————————————————————

I am not at all surprised that “commentators” on BU would react in such a vitriolic manner to any praise being offered to the PM, even if it is by the head of an international organization with nothing to gain from offering sincere praise.

As usual, the facts have been lost in transmission to many of you. The Government of Barbados, while other governments were denying the potential threat to be posed by COVID and others were panickingly adopting policies not driven by the science, our Government was actively engaged in training our local personnel, devising the National Preparedness and Response Plan, stockpiling meds and other essential goods to be used in the medical response and of course ensuring that we had properly-equipped isolation facilities. All of this in advance of our first recorded case.

When we had those first two and we entered Stage One, plans were accelerated, and the Government wisely ignored the clamoring from many corners to simply shut down the borders, which would eventually be done, but only when necessary and when the evidence supported such. For many of you, it is easy to pontificate and shoot your comments from the hip, because ultimately you aren’t the one burdened with the responsibility of making such decisions and therefore do not see the range of considerations to be made before taking such a decision. But you will always be contented speaking out of the corner of your mouths with little care in the world because other people have to make the tough decisions for you.

When the situation became more serious at case 24 and we moved to stage Three, a curfew was implemented, in adherence to advice from the public health professionals. Subsequently that was extended because persons were simply not doing what they were supposed to. The online system was trialled, and that was not as successful because the supermarkets simply did not have the capacity for that, and it is my hope that in the aftermath of this, these companies will look at how to build out their capacity, in terms of ICT. The government recognized that that situation was untenable and therefore has now adopted a better system allowing for in-store shopping.

Without a doubt there are challenges with the system. I was lined up for 2 hours outside of a supermarket this week myself and therefore I understand the challenges that many persons have. But frankly the supermarkets have done the best they can do. The government has done the best they can do. It was inevitable that this first week would have had those long lines, but that by next week or at latest week after that problem will be alleviated as persons would have gotten their groceries and there would not be that rush to get them as you would expect after a week or two without being able to shop.

The imperative thing with this is keeping people at home. So if that means that extending opening hours is not compatible, I don’t know. But at all times we should be guided by the central purpose of defeating COVID-19 and be guided by our well-qualified public health professionals.

From an economic standpoint, the PM delivered a seminal stimulus package only possible because of the yeoman job of her administration in getting the economy to a better place to be able to do that. Undoubtedly as this pandemic goes on, things will become more difficult and we probably wont meet targets that we had originally intended to, but the government in my view has sought to get out in front of this problem and will continue to be proactive I hope.

The PM as the current rotating Chair of CARICOM and called a second emergency meeting to address the pandemic after one held on March 1st, to strengthen the regional response to this pandemic, as we face similar challenges, particularly in relation to acquiring much-needed medical supplies, which as SIDS we are disadvantaged in the global market by virtue of our market size and influence. She again has sought to get out in front of those challenges, and at the same time hoping that this might provide the much-needed flame to kindle the fire of enhancing the regional project.

This is a mere recital of the unimpeachable and irrefutable facts of the government of Barbados’ response to this crisis, and indeed a summary of it not including all of the aspects. There have undoubtedly had to be changes made in accordance with the fluid nature of the pandemic, but no person of reasoned thought, with an independent mind, without a Mia Mottley-hating agenda, could read those facts and for one minute believe that the PM and by extension Barbados is undeserving of the comments of the Director-General of the WHO.

For many of you, it doesn’t matter how you try to spin it, most Barbadians will be able to see these things and understand what their Government has so far been able to do in trying times, and I hope continue to be able to do. So I’m very sorry but it’s no dice if you think you will be able to hoodwink people into your perverse agenda.

I await your expletive-filled response, and those of your comrades.

37. David
    The 20,000 I referred to is the Cayman Islands stock.

38. @wura
    “Baje…at least ya hanging in there, do you have any clue how many of the BU weakminded abandoned us or just mentally DROPPED OFF…and left us with this ROTATING ASYLUM…..you have no clue…”

😄😄
    I hope I am not included in that group.
    😄😄
    **” CoronaVirus only

I am looking for results. Positive results for me are as few deaths and infections as possible.

I have seen comparisons made to other islands/countries but in my opinion the right measures for comparisons were not employed.

I have seen bigger and wealthier countries with fine institutions of higher learning and with more money for healthcare stumbled and even dropped the ball.

It seems to me that this bunch of jokers in the Mottley administration is miraculously getting things right.
    I have to hang with the jokers if it appears that their ill-conceived plans are working. And it appears their plans are working well.

I will never try to think for you. I like many of your ideas. You should continue to fight against what you see as wrong, corrupt or unjust. All I ask is that you do not join the ‘B &D thing’

*Coronavirus only***

39. LIAR Salemite
    “Is it true they ran out of testing kits” is loaded with malice, an attempt to mislead people to believe testing has been thwarted due to a lack of testing equipment. Furthermore, what is the criteria for determining who should be tested? But the facts are clear, that with less than 1,000 tests conducted and the number of test kits available, each individual would had to have been tested more than 20 times for there to be a shortage. You’re known for bringing down God that Dr.Hinds was the MP for St.Thomas and, only yesterday, that Bermuda receives 5 times more tourists than Barbados. When shown to be wrong you cited cruise ship passengers as the reason, along with padding, for Bdos’ numbers. Cruise ship passengers accounted for 66% of Bermuda’s arrivals in 2019. #liar

40. “I hope I am not included in that group.”

nah..you are here, we are all hoping for the same things just not with the mediocre and childish games…that delays positive results.

“I have seen bigger and wealthier countries with fine institutions of higher learning and with more money for healthcare stumbled and even dropped the ball.”

that was just them not listening to scientists, as we saw only after the reality set in did many start taking it seriously, too late, infection and spread were already ahead of them…this plague is silent, until.

“All I ask is that you do not join the ‘B &D thing’

lawd…that is like me accepting the fowls, ah don’t think at this stage of my life i will need to sink that low, never did before.

we will see in the overall scheme of things how it goes for everyone.

41. The Fowl has gone NUCLEAR…no control whatsoever….that is what ya deserve.

42. David

No

Not as this time

Dont know if ENuff can recall

43. Instead of bitching and moaning, yall should be telling Bajans what strategy ya have in place for AFTER the plague…now that ya one and only economic lifeline of self-imposed DEPENDENCY was ripped away because you did not want any the people productive and creating.for over 50 years.

ya lucky that in the 21st century the people still DON’T KNOW THAT THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO DEMAND you tell them, the brits are giving Downing Street some hell…and here yall are pretending to be silent prince and princesses and don’t want anyone to ask questions..look wake up do….

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8229885/Ministers-warn-against-booking-holidays-emerges-exit-plan-fortnight.html

“Ministers have been accused of ‘treating the public like children’ by refusing to discuss how they may steer the UK out of lockdown – as Scotland’s first minister Nicola Surgeon promises to set out an exit strategy next week. “

44. Stop cutting and pasting irrelevancies from British newspapers.

45. Tron, an unofficially commissioned (by tacit agreement) member of the non-official Phantom Squad, completely agrees with Cool Calcutta, our official spokesman. Since I’m not speaking officially, my words are less diplomatic and more direct.

So far, our government has done everything right from a medical point of view in the Corona crisis. We have taken a proactive approach and set up a quarantine concentration camp in time.

In return, we have opened the airport to tourists until the last possible moment without quarantine to minimize the economic damage. In addition, Barbados has served as a hub for the evacuation of tens of thousands of tourists. All this has earned us great international reputation. Quite the opposite of the wild ones in Jamaica and Trixidad.

Those who are not yet completely blinded by rum consumption should have a look at the page on Wikipedia. The article about the pandemic in Barbados clearly shows that we initially only had a slightly linear increase in the number of corona infections detected. However, somebody forgot to remove the advertisement for “We gatherin’ 2020” from the government’s homepage. Now we can flush this festival down the toilet.

Since Wednesday, we haven’t had any new cases at all. Apparently the government medical service has uncovered all contact cases of tourists, windrushers and returnees. I conclude that the government medical service has uncovered all contact cases of tourists, windrushers and returnees. Our government has so far managed the Wuhan plague much better than the holes called NYC, London and elsewhere.

Therefore the island could be germ-free by the end of the month. I therefore suggest that we already start the preparations with an island-internal festival – excluding all Chinese and with lots of Corona beer for Sunday, May 3rd. So Charles Jong has to stay at home …

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

the one most likely to keep referencing ‘off the radar’ CJ is his alter ego?

47. Off topic

I read where a 22 year old described as a soldier is on bail of $1500 awaiting sentencing.
    His crime: In possession of a quantity of marijuana with a street value of $10.00.

Mia promised a referendum, when will it happen?

How much time and resources are used to bring charges and commit someone to trial for possession of a paltry amount of marijuana?

48. Every state in Africa have to do this, show China that this is no joke. Pick up 10 million Chinese. Get out of Africa.

https://www.facebook.com/1397881741/posts/10216653592917737/?sfnsn=scwspwa&extid=KObWCitm6vixTVwF&d=w&vh=i