At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. @ Enuff

Mr. University Lecturer said and I quote: I CAME ACROSS THE BELOW ARTICLE SHOWING JAMAICA SUPERMARKETS SHOPPING IS BETWEEN 6AM TO 2PM FOR EVERYONE 7 DAYS A WEEK.

THAT ARTICLE IS ALMOST A MONTH OLD.

We said he was wrong and told him that in Jamaica people were shopping for 3.5 hours. He called us blatant liars and that we can’t prove what we said.

IF IT IS FROM 1, 2, OR 3 PARISHES, THE POINT IS, WE POSTED LINKS TO SHOW PEOPLE IN JAMAICA ARE SHOPPING FOR 3.5 HOURS.

NOW HE IS SAYING THAT HE MEANT THE WHOLE OF JAMAICA.

A MAN WITH 3 DEGREES, TAUGHT AT UNIVERSITIES, GOT TRAPPED BY TWO MEN THAT HE SAYS DON’T HAVE COMMON SENSE.

@ ENUFF, HE GINE SPEND THE BALANCE OF THE NIGHT CURSING WE AND THE CESSPOOL.

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ The Sage Annunaki,

Greeting to you Sage One, long have i been travelling.

These 1,100 comments are many many many.

But one thing that i have gleaned from this Senator Caswell Franklyn article is that HE IS WELL REGARDED STILL!

He should take note of same sentiments that he just comes and writes 3 paragraphs AND HE Attracts 1,000!

First some apologies.

De ole man while i try to participate with the Blog regularly, thinks that it is time for the blog to evolve. and attract new blood and new champions.

That would hopefully mean that more people are becoming concerned and are stepping up to be involved as civic activists

SQUARE BRACKETS TIME

[You noticing how my man Tron doing dixie pun de blog, he is a pure jester in truthbut one who is able to place such seriousness on a topic that you have to laugh at his pronouncements.

If he ever want a job he can easily go to Comedy Central and fit in nicely.

De man does compose ingrunce on the fly!!!!]

You asked de ole man this question and i shall seek to answer

“…So here goes a question to you, the BU Oracle of Delphi (who foretold of the 30: 0 electoral red-washing):

What do you think will be the outcome (political fallout) from the Mugabe-style selection of the Chris Decimal Bond 0.007 Sinliar to the Supreme Council appointed to ‘handle’ a Sisyphus-type job of resuscitating the Bajan one-lung tourism economy infected with Covid?”

While seeking insight on this matter it has come to me that the choice of Decimal Bond is Mugabe’s attempt to destroy the DLP

Once Decimals who does not know the difference between fractions and tenths hundredths and thousandths accepts the Job, with Pornville in Jail in the United States the only body remaining is who?

Estwick the benzodiazepene chomping madman or Lil Caesar?

Cause you and I know that Verla is just delivering Pizza for a little bit and her tenure as the LoO is done cause them DLP gezers are not going to back her

And unless Covid kill them elders out, she is through the edders.

Sage Annunaki, you and I dun know that Cris simple Garsun boy dat he is,cant run not Tourism Initiative!

Boychild or German would be better choices

But oh Sage de ole man wonders about the choice of Sisyphus for Sinkliar for though he is indeed being tasked with a function that he will never succeed at, DUE TO HIS INCOMPETENCIES, would that not make Mugabe Zeus?

May Chronos and the rest of them prevail heheheheheheh

3. @Hants April 17, 2020 5:11 PM “wha gine happen eff de rain come down wen wunna in dem long long line ups?”

Every Bajan owns an umbrella and every Bajan knows how to use an umbrella. We all went to umbrella schools, not learn by rote schools.

But yes the drought is still pretty bad. Not enough rain by me to fill a thimble, although some friends in Christ Church and St. Andrew told me that they had rain for several minutes this week.

If wunna want to be helpful pray for rain for us.

But please not 8 inches at a time.

We can’t handle 8 inches at a time.

4. This guys Baje is such an idiot. He is trying to imply that Barbados is disadvantaging its people by measures taken. Yet when shown that one part of Jamaica (and by the idiot’s admission has a population larger than Barbados) is carrying out similar measures, he down plays it by deflecting to the other 13 parishes.

I spotted that he was a fraud months ago, when he used multiple monikers to have a conversation with himself. The self aggandization was also a HUGE red flag.

What a fking loser…..

5. @Miller April 17, 2020 10:53 AM “Tron, stop wasting your intellectual ammunition on the “Silly Woman”.”

What intellectual ammunition what?

Between the two ‘o wunna, wunna don’t have enough brains to fill a thimble.

Stupppssseee!!!

6. @ Enuff

But the supermarkets in Jamaica only open to persons, based on their surname for 3.5hrs, so pray tell how will they shop for 14hrs?

Murdaaaa. #shownedempapers #allboutdeLIES

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@enuff YOU AND YOUR BACKWARD FOLLOWERS DECEPTION TO COVER THE UNNECESSARY SUFFERING OF THE MASSES IN BIM.

But the supermarkets in Jamaica only open to persons, based on their surname for 3.5hrs (Quote),

THE ONLY PLACE IN JAMAICA WITH THIS TYPE OF SUPERMARKET SHOPPING ARRANGEMENT IS IN ST CATHERINE ONE OF 14 PARISHES AS I POSTED EARLIER BECAUSE OF A RECENT SURGE IN THE AREA A FEW DAYS AGO FOR 7 DAYS,

ST CATHERINE PARISH JAMAICA 1/6 POPULATION or 16.67%

THE MAJORITY OF JAMAICANS 5/6 or 83.33% ARE NOT LIMITED TO 3.5HRS TO SHOP AND HAVE FULL ACCESS TO SUPERMARKETS AS NORMAL BASED ON OPENING AND CLOSING HOURS.

SO IT HIGHLIGHTS YOUR DECEPTION THAT THIS POLICY IS FOR ALL JAMAICA SUPERMARKETS SHOPPERS AS A COUNTRY AND SEEKED TO MISLEAD AS USUAL TO DEFEND YOUR INEPT COLLEAGUES IN THE BLP GOVERNMENT WHO WILL STOOP TO ANY LOW TO PUNCH ABOVE ITS WEIGHT.

THOUGHT I WOULD REPEAT AS YOU AND YOUR TAG TEAM CANNOT COMPREHEND TRUE FACT FROM SPIN.

7. Barbados is resl backwards for true

BAJE is living proof and he show it everday on BU

8. I spotted that he was a fraud months ago, when he used multiple monikers to have a conversation with himself. The self aggandization was also a HUGE red flag. {Quote}

@ Calm

You mean what a fking FRAUD.

You noticed his alter egos and Hyde personalities, Dishonest Bajans and Baje Abroad, too?

9. Who deflecting now?
    U explain about the5/6

Tell us about the 1/6

10. Robert, he also appears as ‘Tell Truths’ or some other nonsense. Easy to spot from miles off. Always anti Barbados like the Waru cabal……

11. @ Calm

The Waru is a case by itself.

I don’t know anybody with their level of obsession to do anything. They are obsessed with BU.

They start to post contributions from as early as 2 AM and right through the day, until late at night. When they can’t find nothing to post, they copy and paste from Facebook, like everything from there is true. In fact, lies don’t stop them.

I bet you has about 45% of the over 1,200 posts here. The same thing, over and over and over and over.

A one trick pony.

12. Mauritius

BAJE used to claim that Barbados wasxthe only country in the world that closed ITS supermarkets

When i provedhime wrong with the Mauritius link
    He reduce from the whole world and ask if i couldnt even bring an example from caricom

13. Now when one bring a pitoon of Jamaica that seems to be larger that Barbados and teice the population
    He want to keep it expanded to all of Jamaica

And we are the twisting frauds

14. I AM ALSO @MARIPOSA, @DISHONEST BAJANS AND @HAL AUSTIN

YOU IDIOTS COME ON HERE TO DEFLECT FROM THE BULLSHIT AND SUFFERING HAPPENING ON THE ISLAND.

WHY NO SIMILAR OUTRAGE TO MARK MALONEY AND THE OTHER WHITE KNIGHTS IN COLLUSION WITH MIA MOTTLEY GOVERNMENT IN REGARDS TO THE CORONA VIRUS CHARITY ALLEGED SCAM AS EXPOSED BY UPP RECENTLY?.

DOESN’T FIT YOUR AGENDA BUNCH WICKED IDIOTS.

15. Can somebody answer this question
    Did WHO send officials to witness the display of inhumane measures that Mia has placed on the shoulders of Barbadians to fight COVID
    Propaganda in crisis is a footnote that spells tragedy
    WHO should have learn that lesson by now
    Trump in one of his few moments of being lucid did not miss a beat to called out WHO for providing slow and misleading infirmation on China progress in fighting the virus in its initial stages and rightfully blame WHO for some of the misinformation they handed to the American people
    Which now forces me to say that anything WHO says should not be taking as a word of valuable input but with a grain of salt
    For sure if WHO had planted eye witness on barbados soil and see the bare mess and confusion resulting from govt measures to fight the COVID WHO would have preferred to keep mouth shut before uttering praises without sufficient proof

16. A question for the elderly: In 1990, Barbados was ranked 20th on the HDI. After that, as is well known, we went down steeply.

Was this the year when Chris Sinckler started school?

17. Propaganda in crisis is a footnote that spells tragedy

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WELL SAID

18. @Baje aka Major League Asshole who professes to have 3 Degrees

The more you post the more apparent it is you are a liar and a fraud. Which airline did you fly into California on within the last couple of weeks?
    Robert, you really believe this bullshitter lecture at UWI? This guy left Barbados and claimed he was admitted into the Armed Forces of the USA. I would not be surprised if he claims to be an ex fighter pilot or a commander of an aircraft carrier – lol.

19. Baje April 17, 2020 11:06 PM

I AM ALSO @MARIPOSA, @DISHONEST BAJANS AND @HAL AUSTIN

YOU IDIOTS COME ON HERE TO DEFLECT FROM THE BULLSHIT AND SUFFERING HAPPENING ON THE ISLAND.

Baje aka Major League Asshole who professes to have 3 Degrees,
    As I already asked, why are you not concerned about your Armed Forces veteran colleagues whose death count was over 250 and positive tests were in the thousands according to the last reports I saw on MSNBC?

20. Is it true they ran out of test kits…

is it not ugly during a PLAGUE that they are still PIMPING FOR HERO STATUS….the countries that RESPONDED SWIFTLY and shut down their countries immediately ALREADY GOT PRAISED SINCE LAST WEEK.

… anything else is a BTW THE COUNTRY WAS SHUTDOWN FOR YOU…but since ya pimping for belated praise for doing last what ya should have done first….here is a head pat.

Pity they can’t ask why are people being FORCED to wrap lines around buildings for food in the deadly heat and humidity…

JohnFowl2…am late this morning, fell asleep early, slept well, have not one worry in the world..I do not have to worry about offending anyone, never went VOTE BEGGING IN MY LIFE, nor VOTE PIMPING for politicians in my life.

21. “Which now forces me to say that anything WHO says should not be taking as a word of valuable input but with a grain of salt”

the organization is not on solid ground to be belatedly head patting anyone, they already called the FOUR COUNTRIES THAT THEY DEEMED WELL PREPARED…..SINCE LAST WEEK ….and those four countries closed their borders from they had one or two cases..

..Grenada up until recently still has no deaths….those are the countries being handpicked for moving proactively, pity wannabe dictators have to go begging for praise…

22. Many people suspected this was the case in December when that flu was going around and people just suddently got chest infections, quite a few got pneumonia but recovered, the symptoms were very similiar but not severe enough to cause death and people were questioning if this virus was not around even longer and was essentially deliberately covered up and in some cases overlooked by those who knew what was really happening, read China.

https://www.scmp.com/news/china/science/article/3080380/coronavirus-outbreak-may-have-started-september-say-british?fbclid=IwAR3RrYR1U08dw29p5LIhRvmH_ywdgv2mniz7Zmjj42D3-cnW0GPz9UATCKQ

The first outbreak of the coronavirus could have happened further south than the central Chinese city of Wuhan as early as September, according to a team of scientists led by the University of Cambridge.

Researchers investigating the virus’ origin analysed a large number of strains from around the world and calculated that the initial outbreak occurred in a window between September 13 and December 7.

“The virus may have mutated into its final ‘human-efficient’ form months ago, but stayed inside a bat or other animal or even human for several months without infecting other individuals,” University of Cambridge geneticist Peter Forster said on Thursday.

The fowls need to get something much more progressive to do other than acting like primary school children on the blog, do some damn research instead and STOP BEING FOWLS FOR A CHANGE ….IT IS BORING…

23. Is this mutually assured DESTRUCTION…..which everyone was watching with some degree of amusement until China decided it was a good idea to conveniently shift the BLAME TO AFRICANS…for THEIR plague….while ACTIVELY trying to colonize Africa with THEIR HYPOCRISY…..then we realized that there was more in the mortar than the pistle…now all their bad intentions for African people, they EXPOSED THEMSELVES…and FB users are very, very unforgiving…licks like peas, got the chinese politburo jumping through hoops.

https://youtu.be/4CJY1fO6h0w?t=56

24. This is a bad and dangerous policy, but being Barbados I do not expect the police to backdown. It is an idiotic policy and has not been properly thought out. Where is the commissioner of police?
    Here is a policy issue for the attorney general. He should step in and order them NOT TO use plain clothes police in unmarked cars to stop people in the middle of the night. It is a simple roster issue, not rocket science.
    If they want to stop people at night, and they should, you use uniformed officers in mar ked police vehicles. That is elementary. How is a motorist to know that the two badly dressed muscle-bound men trying to stop them in the middle of the night are not robbers?
    Where is Verla? Where is the law and order spokesman for Solutions Barbados? Where is the bar association? Where is the church?
    But this issue goes deeper than that. What started our as a medical/health crisis, coronavirus, and an intention to prevent its spread, in Barbados has now become a law and order issue. So to prevent viral spread we send people to an over-crowded prison where they are more likely to contract the disease. Logic a la Bajan.
    Only in Barbados can you get a curfew policy introduced for the positive reason of public health, when confronted with a homeless man, instead of providing him with a home, decides to jail him for breaking the curfew.
    But the man has not changed his lifestyle; it was the law that changed. Now our wise guys are telling us that when the man comes out of prison they will find him a home. That, I am afraid, is Bajan logic, the Bajan Condition.
    In the meantime, we have scores of empty hotel rooms that can be commandeered for the homeless – unless they are out of bounds to the homeless and those living in over-crowded conditions.

Barbadians who are essential workers and make their way home during late-night hours will have to put up with plain-clothes police officers doing patrols.
    This is due partly to numbers and shifts, according to police public relations officer, Acting Inspector Rodney Inniss.
    His comments come in the wake of an outcry on social media following a story printed recently in the Midweek Nation.
    Some essential workers said they were fearful of being stopped by police officers in plainclothes at night during the 24-hour national shutdown and would not be stopping in the event such happened.
    “We want the public to know police officers are out there to enforce the law, whether in uniform or not. If you’re out there [on the roads], you can expect at some point in time you may be stopped by police officers,” Inniss said. (Quote)

25. THat is the only good use for hotels and churches anyway, as homeless shelters, hospitals or soup kitchens for the poor and hungry…..

“In the meantime, we have scores of empty hotel rooms that can be commandeered for the homeless – unless they are out of bounds to the homeless and those living in over-crowded conditions.”

26. Dear Fowls:

I can take this show to FB…where most of you, especially the clowns looking for SELF-CREDIT to BIG UP YASELVES in all ya delusion…are AFRAID TO EXPOSE YASELVES…most of you have very poor reasoning skills, which have been shown up to 2 billion FB users shaming yaselves so much that ya ran way, ya have even poorer analytical skills and let’s not forget basic math and commonsense totally ELUDES YOU…

according to Theo have a wonderful day, ya hear…

Regards,

Wura

now STFU and find something useful to do with your time besides coming on a blog FOWLING..

27. @ Silly Woman April 17, 2020 8:30 PM
    “@Miller April 17, 2020 10:53 AM “Tron, stop wasting your intellectual ammunition on the “Silly Woman”.”
    What intellectual ammunition what?
    Between the two ‘o wunna, wunna don’t have enough brains to fill a thimble.
    Stupppssseee!!! “
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And if you had your way there would not be enough sperm to fill even an ovum to carry on the human race.

Who else in her right-thinking mind (unless it is an alien from Lesbos) would recommend the ‘criminal’ castration of innocent boy children to deal with a future ‘man-up’ problem?

Maybe there is some sense of thoughtful sanity to your anti-male madness.

If your species eradication project were in place the likes of Kammie Holder would not have to worry about going to jail for the non-payment of cock tax, Covid or no unemployment.

How would a castrated man of any breed have the seminal ammunition to impregnate a ‘lying’ old fowl like you who have done and experienced every thing under the sun- from working in many places overseas to spending a lifetime in the agricultural fields and in the Bajan public service undertaking every task imaginable during your 10 hour daily routine while not taking a day sick leave except on that single weekend to have a hysterectomy instead of the much needed ‘lingua-rectomy’ to curb your propensity to lie even to your own face.

28. WHO said what!

I would like to use this opportunity to appreciate the strong leadership of the Prime Minister of Barbados steering the response in the Caribbean,” he said
    xxxxxcxxxxxxxxcccxxxccc

As head of Caricom did Mia call emergency meeting with all heads of Caricom to put a unified plan in place in the early stages of the crisis
    A plan which would have create voices of unification making sure that these countries were on the same page during the Crisis
    Necessary and comprehensive that plans that would have prepared each nation to help each other when and where necessary
    I dare say not because Caricom nations became more divided as they all seek out to put in place methods which were designed to look out for themselves while placing more burden and suffering on the peoplr
    Hence we had these nations some closing and leaving borders open at there desired times
    Hence we saw results where citizens of countries being locked out
    Hence we see disastrous results of measures by govts struggling to fight the COVID
    WHO once again you have misspoken as the Chair of Caricom did not meet the required obligation of having an emergency meeting with all heads of Caricom govts wherby all these nations would have collectively prepared plans to fight the challenge together collectively speaking with one voice

29. All these tinpot leaders are doing is looking for CREDIT FOR THEMSELVES…the more intelligent ones know that RESPONSE TIME is integral to slowing the virus a little, because don’t care how herculean the effort the virus MUTATES and JUMPS….

.ask Japan who had it under FULL CONTROL…UNTIL NOW..

that is why most countries are very cautious about the bragging and boasting and SELF PRAISE…

an article today says Japan is experiencing more infections.

https://www.japantimes.co.jp/news/2020/04/16/national/state-of-emergency-expansion/?fbclid=IwAR2QBRFv0SX6U6-l-IfTw-uJ7gS8v56j_QNVHssBYQi-4HA2eNKol12z58Y#.XpjrrJp7knU

“The government had been considering expanding of the state of emergency, currently covering Tokyo, Osaka and five prefectures, to also include Kyoto, Aichi and Hokkaido. But instead it will likely be extended nationwide due to a rise in infections in other parts of Japan.”

30. @ Mariposa

You have again shown good judgement. How does WHO define ‘strong leadership’? And leadership in what? Let u assume it is in something to do with public health; what has the president done to demonstrate strong policy leadership in public health, either in the build up to the coronavirus pandemic, or before?
    What public health policy(ies) has the Mottley government introduced since May 2018? It is the sort of vacuous claim that many Bajans will run with as proof that we are world class and punch above our weight.
    Maybe the claim is true, but we need sound evidence.

31. @ Hal Austin April 18, 2020 5:07 AM
    “This is a bad and dangerous policy, but being Barbados I do not expect the police to backdown. It is an idiotic policy and has not been properly thought out. Where is the commissioner of police?
    Here is a policy issue for the attorney general. He should step in and order them NOT TO use plain clothes police in unmarked cars to stop people in the middle of the night. It is a simple roster issue, not rocket science.
    If they want to stop people at night, and they should, you use uniformed officers in mar ked police vehicles. That is elementary. How is a motorist to know that the two badly dressed muscle-bound men trying to stop them in the middle of the night are not robbers?
    Where is Verla? Where is the law and order spokesman for Solutions Barbados? Where is the bar association? Where is the church?”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Couldn’t agree more with that diagnosis of a fit of pure Bajan stubborn madness!

One does not have to be living abroad to arrive at the conclusion that such a policy in a simmering crime infested so-called democratic country is arrant stupidity which can lead to serious injury or even loss of life.

Why can’t these people just use, at least, a modicum of basic COMMONSENSE in their reactionary and reactive approach to decision-making?

Wonder how the likes of “Enuff” would rate this type of ‘A’ class stupidity?

32. costco toronto

There are few places in the world that sell 114 oz bottles of ketchup and 64-packs of granola bars alongside flatscreen TVs and designer sunglasses, but Costco has got that market on lock.

Consumers haven’t been able to get enough of the membership-only warehouse chain since it launched in Canada some 34 years ago and the threat of a global pandemic hasn’t changed that a bit.

In fact, COVID-19 has only made shoppers thirstier for value-priced bulk wares as they prepare to hunker down in self-isolation.

With Doug Ford’s recent announcement that Ontario will remain in a state of emergency for at least another month, big box fans are once again flocking to Costco to load up — and the lines to get into GTA stores this time are now even longer than what we saw during the first “panic shopping” spree.

“It would take two hours to get into the Costco right now, easily,” said shopper Jeremy Anderson, who shot the video above outside a Costco just off the QEW in Etobicoke.

Anderson, an essential worker who arrived around 7:50 a.m. to take his 74-year-old father shopping, said by phone after leaving the store on Tuesday that he’d never seen a Costco so busy in his life — not even during the initial phase of coronavirus lockdown prep.

“The lineup now goes from where you’d normally enter, all the way across the east, south, west and north, encircling the Costco, he explained.

“People are starting to panic now after they announced the extra 28 days [of COVID-19 orders],” said Anderson, noting that many newly-unemployed people had just received cheques for $2,000 (or more) through the Canada Emergency Response Benefit.

https://www.blogto.com/city/2020/04/lineups-toronto-costco-stores-are-ridiculous-right-now/

33. Human behaviour is a challenge sometimes to understand. Why do people do something if they don’t have to.

34. ONE THING I AM HAPPY THIS SHOULD BE A WAKE-UP CALL BIM IS NOW A FURTHER LAUGHING STOCK OF THE REST OF THE CARIBBEAN.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

BU – see what makes BAJE the ass happy?? those are his words not mine.

35. @Hal,

that response from the police spokesman is perplexing. whilst i agree that they dont have to wear full uniform, however to alleviate the fears of citizens they should wear a police jacket or vest. i dont imagine it is that easy for criminals to get a hold of those items in Bim but one never knows, does one?

36. The last time I visited Costco was April 9, I left home@ approx. 7.30 am to catch the Senior citizen time slot which is between 8.00 am and 9.00 am Tuesday to Thursday. I arrived at about 7.40 am and although there was what I considered a long line I was in the store before 8.00 am. Prior to entering I was challenged by one of the workers who said “the line is for those over 60” I asked him whether he wanted to see my driver’s license ( my face was obscured by the N95 mask I was wearing (don’t ask), by 8.10 my shopping was complete but I had to wait at the Pharmacy to pick up medication for the better half (she uses that medication that Trump has gone off about which is now in short supply and the Gov’t has restricted quantities to 30 days instead of the 3 months she usually receives).

Shoppers tried to observe physical distance guidelines but sometimes it was impossible as folks ended up in the same aisle but they would usually apologise and scurry past each other as they searched for the item they want; however, the distance guideline was observed at the checkout area. I spent more than I usually do but the surplus will not spoil

I plan to go next week, the Costco shown is not the one that I shop at I think that draws from a larger population segment than the one in my area.

37. Baje

Bim is now further the laughing stock of the carribbean in your eyes and it seem like Jamaica is now your love child country

Jamaica did everything right
    Closed it borders, kept it supermarkets open, had about the same infected (60+) as Barbados a few days ago

Bardados the hated backward child did everything wrong kept its borders open closed it supermarkets then open them limited hours to the harm of the people who now have to waith in long in the hot sone……etc etc and on and on. not one thing right these backwards idiots have done.

YET

in the last 3 week the highest cases in one bay in Barbados was 3
    COMPARED
    to Jamacia cases of 30+

NOW

The country that did everything right is know copying the backward shit of the laughing stock of the Caribbean who did everything wrong. not only to protect the population of st Catherine (twice as big as barbados’) but the whole country of Jamaicia (>10x Barbados)

Seem to me the “CORRECT” Jamaica learnt something of value from the backwardness of Barbados that it is now putting into use to save it own people.

Yet we are the laughting stock of the Caribbean?? only to a blinded backward BwITCH like you!

38. @ Greene

I am keen on separating uniformed police from detectives and, also, from traffic police. I am for a CARICOM detective service with uniformed police remaining national.
    Detectives grab the limelight because of Hollywood; the REAL police are the uniformed guys and women who walk the beat reassuring the neighbourhood, the kind that little children run up to and want to hold their hands and old ladies offer cups of tea, not the thugs in baseball cap who think they are hard men and women.

39. Every country is trying their best under extreme circumstances, no one is doing less than the other because no one can do more than they other…..this is not an 11 plus themed competition for the mediocre….trying to upstage and outdo those who were well aware of the fallout of the plague long before them, while they were still pimping tourists and looking like asses….and now SUFFERING THEIR OWN PEOPLE…as they try to upstage other leaders…

Don’t mind the limp dick fowls, viagra must now be in short supply..

that is what happens when tinpot leaders parade and dress up fowls with pitiful cognitive skills and push them to the public as smart fowls…pure disaster..

40. this argument seems to be divided between Bim and others, and whether we did everything right or wrong in comparison. it is not that simple. first of all the pandemic is not yet over and because the infections and deaths in Bim may have steadied if not stopped whilst other place have seen a rise are no indication that our COVID protocols were correct in toto. they were not

to repeat- we should have had mandatory quarantine from the outset, when at stage 1 and the first infections came to light we should have moved to stage 3 bypassing stage 2 and the supermarkets never should have been closed; the same system they have now or an iteration thereof could have been implemented from the get- go of the lockdown

41. By the way those people lined up outside Costco Canada are dressed one can easily assumed that they do not have to.endure the harsh hot sweltering conditions like those in barbados while waiting to purchase groceries

42. @Greene

What did you have for breakfast?

An intelligent comment.

43. Canada has a population of at least 37.89 MILLION PEOPLE and COUNTLESS FOOD STORES ACROSS THE PROVINCES..

Barbados has a population of 285,000 give or take PEOPLE and MAYBE 12 food stores mostly centred in the town and a few here and there in other outlying areas….to serve food shoppers IN 11 PARISHES……

i don’t see the comparison but i may be missing something…

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, to your point re “Human behaviour is a challenge sometimes to understand. Why do people do something if they don’t have to’ and are we in their heads to make that determination about ‘have to’? And I am not being facetious!

The scenes is Canada were replicated all across the beautiful nation and down in US and elsewhere…one video of lines at a BJs were stunning…the lines stretched – bending and twisting – at least 100 yards (I use the stadium 100 meter track as my visual guide to guessestimate)…

… so why did folks across cultures do something if they don’t have to …simply because they certainly BELIEVED it was necessary.

Was that rational … like the rush to buy toilet paper … maybe not but at least we haven’t heard any stories about folks being ‘dethroned’ to their bidets or bathtub for a clean-up. 🙂

Our perception of reality (in this case panic) heavily informs our actions…so what ‘we don’t have to do’ becomes quite irrelevant… because we perceive our irrationally as completely rational.!

45. Isn’t BU a fun place to be?

Yesterday, we should have ignored CARICOM and not have taken in our stranded Trinidadian brothers and sisters, but send them back to England.

Today, we want a CARICOM detective service.

46. greene

I not saying Barbados way was the right way. Barbados copy what Mauritius now Jamaica doing the samething (in their own way).
    I can take a disagreement like yours but will always strike back at the foolishness that come from baje(anythime I feel like)

Me and you agree on some points and disagree on others however we are not part of the decision making body but BU give us a platform to share our view.

AGREED with you – close down at the first two cases
    Disagree with you on the closing /opening of the supermarkets.

as stated by some one else = we may be lucky so far. but up to this point what was done seem to be working according to the results so far…… ect.

47. @Dee Word

Some people will do it because of ignorance.

Some will do it because they fear no evil.

Some will do it because of a dysfunctional system in which they have to cope?

Some will do it for no discernible reason a rational mind can fathom.

48. By the way those people lined up outside Costco Canada are dressed one can easily assumed that they do not have to.endure the harsh hot sweltering conditions like those in barbados while waiting to purchase groceries {Quote}

@ Mariposa

So why the people here couldn’t have prepared appropriately for the weather, too?

Knowing you, if the weather conditions here were the same as outside Costco in Canada, you would be here saying the government had the people in the cold waiting to purchase food.

If outside was cool and overcast with no sunshine, you would complain that the government know the rain look as though it gine fall, but they still had people waiting to purchase food.

Gosh, woman, get a life, nuh.

49. DPD

View on Nextdoor

Helen McPherson, Hidden Hills

Hi Everyone! Can somebody anybody sell me a couple rolls of Scott’s toilet paper? That’s the only kind I can use but I can’t find online or in stores. 😔

General · Apr 16