FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Email: caribbeaninstitute@gmail.com
New York Caribbean Institute Calls for Dallas Police officer who killed St. Lucian national in his own home to be charged with murder

BROOKLYN: BROOKLYN: The New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) on Friday harshly condemned the killing of 26 year-old St. Lucian national and Dallas, Texas resident, Botham Shem Jean. Jean was shot and killed around 10:00 p.m Thursday night, September 6, 2018 in his own home, by a female Dallas police officer. The officer told investigators that she returned home from her shift and entered the wrong apartment in her building.
In a statement issued Friday, CGID President, Rickford Burke, said the officer’s negligent, reckless conduct and depraved indifference to human life resulted in murder. He consequently called on Dallas District Attorney Faith Johnson to prosecute the officer accordingly and to the fullest extent of the law.
Burke said “the culture of policing that has emerged in black communities all across America is one where cops shoot to kill first, then ask questions after.” He asserted that “Police officers are killing black men while walking innocently on the streets, driving innocently in our cars and now while living innocently in our own home. This is too much for a people to bear. CGID therefore calls on the US Justice Department to review and revise the protocols for armed engagement by law enforcement in America.”
Burke said “CGID intends to write our US Senators and Members of Congress from New York, to push for a national review and reform of protocols on how and when law enforcement officers engage in the use of force. This is long overdue. How many more black men must be killed before we take action?” Burke posited that “politicians who sit by and do nothing about the epidemic of law enforcement murders of innocent black men are equally complicit in these killings and should be held to account.”
Dallas police department Friday issued a statement claiming that the officer called for help and told responding officers “she entered the victim’s apartment believing that it was her own.” The incident took place at South Side Flats, an upscale apartment complex located in downtown, Dallas, a few blocks from Police headquarters.
Dallas Police said the officer was in full uniform and “fired her weapon striking the victim who was transported to hospital where he was pronounced dead. Burke blasted the Dallas Police for not releasing details about how the officer reached into Jean’s apartment and whether a breathalyzer was administered, as would have been the case with an ordinary citizen. He also questioned how Jean’s name was released to the public when Police simultaneously confirmed that the next of kin notification was not made.
The CGID head said the officer’s story is inexplicable and implausible. Emphasizing that Caribbean community believes the officer’s account strains credulity, Burke questioned its veracity saying “if she went to the wrong apartment how did she make initial contact with Mr. Jean? How do you mistakenly shoot your neighbor who you see and presumably interact with regularly, without recognizing him? “The Dallas Police chief expressly stated that her department is no longer pursuing a “police involved shooting investigation,” but is seeking a warrant pursuant to a manslaughter investigation. Clearly the police evidence suggests that this is not an accident and that the officer’s account contradicts the evidence. Hence, in the interest of transparency CGID calls on the Dallas Police Department to stop disseminating misinformation and disclosed the facts and circumstances of Mr. Jean’s death forthwith, lest it is viewed as concealment,” Burke contended.
the US to study accounting at Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas. He also studied at the Sir Arthur Lewis Community College, in Castries, St. Lucia before migrating to the US. At the time of his death, he worked in Dallas as a risk assurance associate for accounting firm Price Waterhouse Coopers.
CGID Has called on all Caribbean American organizations and nationals to condemn Jean’s killing and to support and express solidarity with his family.
–END—

687 responses to “Dallas Police Officer Murders St. Lucian”
Trump is not the cause of this set of hurricanes but his attitude to the environment will surely make him responsible for future monster storms.
LOL @ 45G
Albino is a biological term that describes an actual human condition.
The other one is a contemptuous term used to describe black people.
We all know that ‘black’ people are not really black …but ‘earthy’
…and ‘white’ people are not really white … but…well … albino…
Anyway…
People routinely call Bushie MUCH worse things than N****r,
…ask Maripoka… LOL
But sticks and stones…
But WORDS….?
…not for shiite Boss.
@Bush Tea
My memory was a bit off, here is an article that captured the whole episode, it was Campanis who brought up the intellectual capacity…..
https://www.washingtonpost.com/archive/politics/1988/01/16/jimmy-the-greek-says-blacks-are-bred-for-sports/128a889e-83e2-44a3-b911-851d5281ade4/?utm_term=.c63b100e794b
Thanks for that more complete reference Sarge.
RE Trump is not the cause of this set of hurricanes OBVIOUSLY!
but his attitude to the environment will surely make him responsible for future monster storms. A CLEAR NON SEQUITUR ! ONE WONDERS HOW
RE Albino is a biological term that describes an actual human condition.
The other one is a contemptuous term used to describe black people.
WHY SHOULD WHITE FOLK NOT CONSIDER THE TERM CONTEMPTUOUS?
AFTER ALL AN ALBINO IS ACTUALLY A BLACK PERSON IN WHOM THE GENES FOR PRODUCTION OF MELANIN IN NOT EXPRESSED.
FOR ANY ONE UNDERSTANDING GENETICS WHAT DOES ALBINISM TEACH US ABOUT WHITE SKINS AND BLACK SKINS?
WE ARE TALKING ABOUT SCIENCE NOW NOT SHITE TALK
AFTER ALL AN ALBINO IS ACTUALLY A BLACK PERSON IN WHOM THE GENES FOR PRODUCTION OF MELANIN IN NOT EXPRESSED.
Is that not what was said…?
What kind of scholar are you?
Well …we KNOW not a bible one…
Bushie, once again you are wrong, it must get tiresome for you. Albino is a genetic aberration which occurs in all races, where there is no pigmentation rather than ‘white’ as in Caucasian. I have seen albino negros in Barbados as I am sure you have, and albinos have pinkish eyes.
One of the most instructive moments in my young life occurred at the CDO’N bridge where a truck driver in altercation with a motorist referred to him as “ya iggorant black n****r ya”… the addressee being of a slightly darker hue than the accuser.
…and Bushie does not care two hoots what ‘white folk considers to be contemptuous’….
Some may take your not enthusiastically getting on the ground on your belly because a cop thinks that a ‘tail light is out’ …as contempt….
Conversely, Bushie could not care two farts if someone (even you) calls the Bushman what you routinely calls Obama….
Serena could buy and sell 45 et al a hundred times over. That is what bothers his kind.
As for Lawson. – nothing is better than beating the white people at their own game. But you do know that blacks have invented more than peanut butter, right?
I call the Muslim fraud Obama Obummer, or the Obamination. Have you been called that Bushie? Not by me.
It’s called global warming. That orange menace is rolling back almost all controls on greenhouse gas emissions. Pretend you don’t know that!
Donna, you are not well are you? Buy and sell??? Really? So could Rihanna, Sir Kyffin, COW, oh and Oprah. So what has that to do with anything? A rich bully is just a bully, a rich cheat still a cheat, a rich virager just a virager, and a rich boor just a boor. You are a poor one, in every sense of the word….and a bore.
Here’s a nugget of information for the uneducated who swallowed the AGW scam.
The emissions from the Icelandic volcanic eruption of 2010 wiped out DECADES of our puny efforts in just HOURS.
Try to keep up Donna, I know it’s hard.
It’s called global warming.
That orange menace is rolling back almost all controls on greenhouse gas emissions.
AND THAT IS THE CAUSE OF WEATHER PATTERNS ALL OVER THE WORLD?REALLY?
THE orange menace IS CAUSING GLOBAL WARMING ALL OVER THE WORLD BY rolling back almost all controls on greenhouse gas emissions IN THE USA? REALLY?
WELL AMERICANS BELIEVE THAT THE WORLD EXTENDS FROM ALASKA TO THE FLORIDA KEYS
THE CAUSE OF GLOBAL WARMING SHOULD BE EVIDENT TO ALL
MAYBE, JUST MAYBE THE PERSON WHO CREATED THE GLOBE, AND OF WHOM IT IS SAID THAT IN HIM ALL THINGS ARE HELD TOGETHER IS THE REAL PERSON WHO CONTROLS GLOBAL WARNING
LOL @ 45G
Bushie has no issue with being wrong…. it is how we learn.
But if you do the research you will discover TWO important things….
There is ONLY ONE human race….
The term albinism refers to a group of inherited disorders…..
The PARTICULAR disorder that results in what YOU think is a distinct ‘race’ (what GP calls deferentially “White folks’) is just one of these…
BESIDES ALBINOS THERE IS VITILIGO
WHY DOES THE SKIN BECOME WHITE IN VITILIGO?
I guess my comment got held for using the n word or something. So….
Mr. Typical,
Racist and misogynist! What a surprise! I really don’t care what you call me because your opinion does not count. Unfortunately for you I am not bound by your definitions. I define MYSELF. Let me continue my “RANT.”
I am a liberated black woman who has taken responsibility for her life and is reasonably happy with the results. Some of the weaker ones are still mentally enslaved and need some help in that regard.
Now, is the the white man in the USA not responsible for the institutionalised racism that mentally enslaved them?
Should the white man then not be responsible for HIS actions.
There has to be collective responsibility. Those of you who created the situation must work alongside those who have freed our minds to undo the damage. Or else the cycle continues for much longer than it has to.
The use of the terminology ‘buy and sell’ was deliberate. Look how you rant and rave at the very thought of it being applied to YOU!
By the way, I have never thought of myself as poor. I have always had more than enough for my requirements and consider a hut on the beach or a cottage in the countryside to be more desirable than Buckingham palace. I prefer flowers to jewelry, a community event to the who’s who social scene and though I’ve never met royalty I believe I would prefer the commoner. I haven’t spent my life chasing riches because I had better things to do. My definition of success is not “albinocentric” I am thankfully not addicted to money. I am sorry for those who are. If I did FIND a winning lottery ticket I’d set up a foundation to help free the minds of my brothers and sisters.
Now that would be my definition of SUCCESS!
…and besides vertigo, there is also shingles, hives, psoriasis and multiple OTHER red herrings…
But these have NOTHING to do with the moot…..
Gp,
Don’t take this the wrong way but why you doan just curl up in a corner and die, then. It seems to me that you believe that the actions of humans have no meaning or effect. Should we just spend all day on our knees praying? God works through his creation. WE ARE HIS CREATION!
Donna the four sided wheel or stripper pole is nothing to brag about. Bt if jimmy the Greek was ahead of his time why did you guys want him fired. You are right about black athletes but you know you are shit at 12 metre yacht racing. Also you may be the person who can solve something that I am not sure about after your in-depth analysis on skin tone is a zebra black stripes on white background or white stripes on black background
re The term albinism refers to a group of inherited disorders…..
The PARTICULAR disorder that results in what YOU think is a distinct ‘race’ (what GP calls deferentially “White folks’) is just one of these…
BEING WHITE OR HAVING NO OR LITTLE MELANIN IN ONE’S SKIN IS AN INHERITED DISORDER
THIS IS NEW AND INTERESTING SCIENCE
HOW DOES THIS ACCOUNT FOR VITILIGO?
DONNA
THANKS FOR YOUR AD HOMINEM
BUT I STILL THINK THAT…….
MAYBE, JUST MAYBE THE PERSON WHO CREATED THE GLOBE, AND OF WHOM IT IS SAID THAT IN HIM ALL THINGS ARE HELD TOGETHER IS THE REAL PERSON WHO CONTROLS GLOBAL WARNING
Vitiligo, Bushie.
G,P,
I said don’t take it the wrong way. What I meant was, if what we do doesn’t matter then there is no point in living.
And Lawson claims he’s not racist!
Thanks Donna..
Autocorrect over ruled after a typo…….
Soon the damn computer will be telling the bushman what cuss words to use…
re What I meant was, if what we do doesn’t matter then there is no point in living.
THAT IS A NONSEQUITUR IN MANY CASES
REGARDLESS TO WHAT WE DO GOD IS IN CONTROL!
WHETHER WE UNDERSTAND OR AGREE WITH WHAT HE DOES OR APPARENTLY ALLOWS
GP,
Non sequitur for you but not for me. You and I read the Bible and God differently.
Your God created the world so that there would be a natural balance of CO2. So sources of CO2 emission like volcanoes are balanced with sources of CO2 absorption like the oceans. This balance is what allows us to live on the planet
The equation has taken millions of years to balance (well according to your Bible thousands)
Unfortunately industrialisation has added to the emission side of the equation but there has been no addition to the absorption side.
That extra CO2 has increased every year since the start of the industrial revolution and little attempts have been made to create new sources of absorption.
The idiot above talking about the volcano clearly doesn’t understand that the volcano was part of God’s equation, however God clearly did not factor in man’s activity.
God took millions of years to give us a balanced equation and in less than 200 years we go and screw it up.
So tell me GP who should fix it, God or man.
The Dallas police are frantically searching for anything they can find or concoct to smear Mr Jean’s reputation. https://reason.com/blog/2018/09/12/frfrfr
If Jean reputation is in good standing there will be nothing to concot
From the pictures shown Jean life might have been one shrouded in secrecy to protect/hide what might have been a bi- racial relationship between him and the police officer
Yours is a naive statement, have a another read of what Peter has been sharing about racism that is embedded in the US system. Blacks and minorities start second.
They will soon plant something. Concoctions can be made in many ways.
accoring to you ” God clearly did not factor in man’s activity.” therefore to answer your question viz: So tell me GP who should fix it, God or man.
THE ANSWER IS GOD
AND HE WILL! VERY SOON
READ ABOUT IT IN 2 PETER 3
David, that is certainly disturbing. If your assessment is correct it is not only wicked, but beyond stupid. I would expect the Governor to get involved at any sign of an attempt at a whitewash, or the Feds. If she has lied the very best course is to throw her to the wolves, failing which the reputation of the PD and the Rangers will never recover.
Time will tell. I remain hopeful that the bad old ways will not prevail.
@ Redguard
So tell me GP who should fix it, God or man.
Brilliant analogy of the environmental challenge …and an excellent question for the Bible scholar…
BBECREATED man in their own image …. including as creators …
..and gave them ‘dominion’ over the Earth – a perfectly balanced and unbelievably stable, eco-system….
In short order, these brass bowls have managed to destabilise the VERY SYSTEMS that support theirs and their children’s very existence….
and why…?
IN THE PURSUIT OF MATERIALISTIC EXCESS….that they will ALL DIE and leave…
God do not have to ‘fix’ anything…. the brass bowls have CHOSEN their paths…
The choices were:
Selfish, albino-centric, greedy and vindictive materialism…at which we excelled…
OR…
Community-centric, considerate, co-operative and LOVING co-existence – while GENUINELY trying to discover the PURPOSE for which such a brilliant CREATOR would initiate such a fantastic project as our “‘Life on Earth”…..
Life on Earth HAS REALLY BEEN BBE’s spiritual ‘Education System’….
But most brass bowls have spent their ‘school days’ doing shiite …and mostly scrambling for pocket money….
Now exams are upon us…. and the BB students don’t know one fart…..
Not surprisingly, BBE expects a VERY LOW pass mark, …
.BUT even one scholar will be worthy of the sacrifice… such is the VALUE of the diamonds they will represent.
Bushie, stop hitting that nail head so hard, nuh! You know how I hate having to agree with you.. Thank you ,Redguard.for having the patience I don’t have. When it comes to economics I have to rely on Artax to do the job you just did on the environment and God. Brilliant!
THE WORLD THAT WAS…………WAS DESTROYED BY WATER 2 PETER 3:5-6
THE WORLD THAT IS……….WILL BE DESTROYED BY FIRE….OR HEAT………VS 7 -10 AND UM DONE START TO HAPPEN
5 For this they willingly are ignorant of, that by the word of God the heavens were of old, and the earth standing out of the water and in the water:
6 Whereby the world that then was, being overflowed with water, perished:
7 But the heavens and the earth, which are now, by the same word are kept in store, reserved unto fire against the day of judgment and perdition of ungodly men.
10 But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.
11 Seeing then that all these things shall be dissolved, what manner of persons ought ye to be in all holy conversation and godliness,
VS 10 the elements shall melt with fervent heat,
MELT IS LUO IN THE GREEK AND MEANS UNTIED
THE WORD IS CLEAR
THE WORLD THAT IS WILL BE DESTROYED
THE WORD TEACHES THAT THERE WILL BE A NEW EARTH AFTER THIS ONE DISINTEGRATES
I started to write this this morning but got called away.
In 1936 IN THE MIDDLE OF THE MOST RACIST REGIME of our century? there was an act of solidarity presented by a white man to a black man IN FRONT OF THE THEN WORLD.
https://youtu.be/1inifMJ0xio?t=560
I think more than anything that it is not that we black men who come here and tell you unequivocally that we are men and that we will live and die as men, do not wish to preach bigotry as much as we demand equality that is not JUST your outward pretensions of equality.
We know who the ef we are and we know when you are for real and when, under all the so called integration, we easily see the face of racism and privilege accorded to your kind.
Look how easily dem two bajans got arrested at that hotel in virginia with the 100 lbs drug bust,
And look how rapidly the news had it on the TV waves!
And look how they have silently issued apologies away from the spotlight..
But that would be lost on you fellows.
David you nor PTL has nothing to teach me about racism in the USA
However right in your own backyard there is enough racism that you and PTL should be of concern
A society where few have unbridled access to financial institutions and where the majority are looked upon as underclass and told to pull themselves up by the boot straps
Sounds like shades of America smack dead in the middle of Barbados
@Peter, let’s assume the police had found a small self use pack of marijuana in the apt with that warrant…thus the narrative of the soulful singing Christian who was also a secret drug user would be all over the press.
She did not enter under any suspicion related to drugs and as you say carefully stated she was trespassing anyhow…so meaningless… other than the momentary stress for his mum and family there is not one iota of difference that would have made at trial…NONE.
I agree with you the PO will do their thing to give their sister some supposed wiggle room but that’s par for the course in a case of any police involved shooting.
But she is out on a branch without any cover…it’s just a matter of time before she crashes..
This case is one of the most egregious situations of accidental shooting I have seen for some time…thus I have to agree with @45Govt (oh Lordie) that there really is no practical way for the bad old ways to affect this case to the detriment of Mr Jean’s family!
PTL is bellyaching about the american system and preferential justice
But how many times in barbados is there a case where a black man is jailed for minor offenses
While the big ups are rewarded for stealing from the public purse by way of not paying taxes
Stuepsee to you David and PTL clean wunna own house first before starting housecleaning in others
You are correct nobody can teach you anything. By the way the discussion is about an incident which occurred in the USA.
dpD – it’s a hell of if a thing when you have to agree with me, but that’s life, if you are an honest man, which I do take you for 😊
brett Kavanagh under investigation, stole marbles in grade 3 feinstien exposes all. I heard that the cats eyes he used when playing were real.
David when i speak of “nobody” i specifically address such wording to u
A person who practices selective justice based on political lines and lineage of those whom u prefer to respect
The Stewart blog is where your indifference to the plight of black people( fighting for their right ) shines bright
How convient now in full ramrod posture you can pour piss over the Dallas police investigating not knowing all facts and procedures
“The Stewart blog is where your indifference to the plight of black people( fighting for their right ) shines bright…..”
Mariposa
Hmmmmmmmm……..
Similarly, the John Griffiths blog was where your indifference to the plight of a black wheelchair bound senior citizen ( who fought for his rights against the crooked lawyer Michael Carrington) shines bright….”
If only you had exhibited a FRACTION of the ATTENTION you’re DEDICATING to Stewart……to John Griffiths, while DEFENDING Michael Carrington……..
………. I would not be forced to call you a hypocrite.
But being the yard fowl you are……this case appeals to you because it’s anti BLP, hence your opposition…….
……. however, John Griffiths’ case is anti DLP…….and you came out in defensive mode.
I’m forced to remind you that BOTH CASES ARE SIMILAR.
YARDFOWL HYPOCRITE!!!!!
Also you may be the person who can solve something that I am not sure about after your in-depth analysis on skin tone is a zebra black stripes on white background or white stripes on black background
I can solve this for you!!
Since the Zebra is yet to make it out of Africa and become an albino, it must be white stripes on a black background.