FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Email: caribbeaninstitute@gmail.com
New York Caribbean Institute Calls for Dallas Police officer who killed St. Lucian national in his own home to be charged with murder

Bothan Jean.png
Bothan Shem Jean

BROOKLYN: BROOKLYN: The New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) on Friday harshly condemned the killing of 26 year-old St. Lucian national and Dallas, Texas resident, Botham Shem Jean. Jean was shot and killed around 10:00 p.m Thursday night, September 6, 2018 in his own home, by a female Dallas police officer. The officer told investigators that she returned home from her shift and entered the wrong apartment in her building.

In a statement issued Friday, CGID President, Rickford Burke, said the officer’s negligent, reckless conduct and depraved indifference to human life resulted in murder. He consequently called on Dallas District Attorney Faith Johnson to prosecute the officer accordingly and to the fullest extent of the law.

Burke said “the culture of policing that has emerged in black communities all across America is one where cops shoot to kill first, then ask questions after.” He asserted that “Police officers are killing black men while walking innocently on the streets, driving innocently in our cars and now while living innocently in our own home. This is too much for a people to bear. CGID therefore calls on the US Justice Department to review and revise the protocols for armed engagement by law enforcement in America.”

Burke said “CGID intends to write our US Senators and Members of Congress from New York, to push for a national review and reform of protocols on how and when law enforcement officers engage in the use of force. This is long overdue. How many more black men must be killed before we take action?” Burke posited that “politicians who sit by and do nothing about the epidemic of law enforcement murders of innocent black men are equally complicit in these killings and should be held to account.”

Dallas police department Friday issued a statement claiming that the officer called for help and told responding officers “she entered the victim’s apartment believing that it was her own.” The incident took place at South Side Flats, an upscale apartment complex located in downtown, Dallas, a few blocks from Police headquarters.

Dallas Police said the officer was in full uniform and “fired her weapon striking the victim who was transported to hospital where he was pronounced dead.  Burke blasted the Dallas Police for not releasing details about how the officer reached into Jean’s apartment and whether a breathalyzer was administered, as would have been the case with an ordinary citizen. He also questioned how Jean’s name was released to the public when Police simultaneously confirmed  that the next of kin notification was not made.

The CGID head said the officer’s story is inexplicable and implausible. Emphasizing that Caribbean community believes the officer’s account strains credulity, Burke questioned its veracity saying “if she went to the wrong apartment how did she make initial contact with Mr. Jean? How do you mistakenly shoot your neighbor who you see and presumably interact with regularly, without recognizing him?  “The Dallas Police chief expressly stated that her department is no longer pursuing a “police involved shooting investigation,” but is seeking a warrant pursuant to a manslaughter investigation. Clearly the police evidence suggests that this is not an accident and that the officer’s account contradicts the evidence. Hence, in the interest of transparency CGID calls on the Dallas Police Department to stop disseminating misinformation and disclosed the facts and circumstances of Mr. Jean’s death forthwith, lest it is viewed as concealment,” Burke contended.

the US to study accounting at Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas. He also studied at the Sir Arthur Lewis Community College, in Castries, St. Lucia before migrating to the US. At the time of his death, he worked in Dallas as a risk assurance associate for accounting firm Price Waterhouse Coopers.

CGID Has called on all Caribbean American organizations and nationals to condemn Jean’s killing and to support and express solidarity with his family.

–END—

687 responses to “Dallas Police Officer Murders St. Lucian”

1. How do you enter your neighbour’s apartment by accident? Don’t people in the U.S. need individual keys in order to enter their homes? Was the officer not in the habit of locking her own door before going to work? So if she had locked her own door before going to work, how did she get to enter Mr. Jean’s apartment with her own key? Was Mr. Jean in the habit of leaving his door unlocked?.

I don’t believe the officer’s account.

And of course Mr. Jean can’t speak in his own defense.

And the officer’s police colleagues are the ones in charge of gathering, retaining, and interpreting the evidence.

2. They had a relationship…they are seen in a photo together, she should be charged with first degree murder, she lied.

3. Give us your evidence for your charge Wot A Racist Udder.

4. “The policewoman moved into the South Side Flats about a month ago but had never met Jean. According to police, she returned home in her uniform after a shift and then called dispatch to say she had shot a man.”

Now that may or not be true, but the Simpleton’s assertion that her colleagues are in charge of the case is patently untrue. It has been handed to the Texas Rangers.

She will go down one way or another, and so she should, but it is not racism until the evidence is in.

Now why don’t all you conspiracy theorists tell us how Serena was robbed at the US Open!!

5. LowIQ45…how did she get into the man’s apartment..because she moved next door to him a MONTH ago…does to mean she did not know him, visited HIS apartment BEFORE..had a relationship with HIM..and had a KEY..how the hell did she get inside his apartment to shoot him dead…don’t you know what your own house and apartment looks like..

of course not…that is why you are KNOWN as lowIQ45…

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

This is an impossible to grasp tragic circumstance for Mr Jean’s mum and family and to them one must first empathize.

@Simple all valid queries …the beauty of modern life is that WE all get to play detective at the onset because so much data is readily in the public domain often even before the real investigators can do their work and file comprehensive reports.

But one addition to your comments …there is a viable separate investigation by the Texas Rangers being conducted…they are absolutely NOT the officer’s colleagues….there are no local equivalents but I’m sure u can Google to get the distinction of impartiality expected from the Rangers.

And back to playing detective…in addition to all you said one wonders the state of mind of that officer. As has been asked was she impaired in any way after her shift..(an after work drink or two)…because despite the clone like nature of such apt complexes even late at night it surely is still expected that one can differentiate aspects of your dwelling.

This is NOT a police White on Black issue in the context of on duty police/citizen killingsI.

At worst this is a personal relationship gone terribly sour or a badly impaired person – who happened to be a police officer – committing a heinous error.

With the proliferation of guns in that state this woman could have come home from her job as janitor or lawyer with her licenced and loaded glock and in the same impaired and imossible to comprehend manner committed this act….

… we expected better judgement as she is a police officer but that is the real problem…they are so freaking tightly wrapped that their judgement is often quite freaking flawed!

7. It happens quite often that people make the mistake of mistakenly thinking that that their neighbors apartment or house is theirs just sit for an afternoon and look at the dockets at the barbados courthouse.lol Quit picking on 45…… she came home saw her door open didnt smell any marijauna … thought it was her apt,and someone had broken in ….. took out her gun and shot him ….totally wrong by the way but I can see it happening

8. @WARU September 9, 2018 5:30 AM “They had a relationship…they are seen in a photo together”

A Simple Response: Can you post a link to the photo?

@45govt September 9, 2018 6:55 AM “The policewoman moved into the South Side Flats about a month ago but had never met Jean.”

A Simple Response: It does not take a month to have a relationship. I know a happy couple who had a relationship 4 weeks after they met. 49 years later they are in their 80’s a still happily married.

The statements of WARU and 45govt CANNOT both be true. So which is the truth, and which is the lie?

9. @de pedantic Dribbler September 9, 2018 7:28 AM “there is a viable separate investigation by the Texas Rangers being conducted…they are absolutely NOT the officer’s colleagues….there are no local equivalents but I’m sure u can Google to get the distinction of impartiality expected from the Rangers.”

Google or Wikipedia “blue wall of silence” “The blue wall of silence, also blue code and blue shield, are terms used in the United States to denote the informal rule that purportedly exists among police officers not to report on a colleague’s errors, misconducts, or crimes, including police brutality. If questioned about an incident of alleged misconduct involving another officer (e.g., during the course of an official inquiry), while following the code, the officer being questioned would claim ignorance of another officer’s wrongdoing or claim to have not seen anything.”

10. @lawson September 9, 2018 7:38 AM ” she came home saw her door open didnt smell any marijauna”

Your reasoning is so flawed this morning that it makes me wonder it the woman’s missing marijuana is not being smoked by you right now.

11. @ The Simpleton – you will see what I said was in inverted commas ie a quote. I no more know the truth or accuracy of it than you.
    What the mad racist WARU wrote was stated as a fact, something she is more frequently guilty of than not.
    You will note she has yet to produce evidence for her lies.
    Regarding your claim that all law enforcement stick together, there is some justice in your claim, and organisations one once thought honourable have turned out to be as bent as those they pursue, like the FBI.
    Let us hope that in this case the Texas Rangers do the right thing.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon September 8, 2018 11:13 PM
    “How do you enter your neighbour’s apartment by accident? Don’t people in the U.S. need individual keys in order to enter their homes? Was the officer not in the habit of locking her own door before going to work? So if she had locked her own door before going to work, how did she get to enter Mr. Jean’s apartment with her own key? Was Mr. Jean in the habit of leaving his door unlocked?.
    I don’t believe the officer’s account.
    And of course Mr. Jean can’t speak in his own defense.
    And the officer’s police colleagues are the ones in charge of gathering, retaining, and interpreting the evidence.”

Hallelujah! What an epiphany for the Mock Dr. SS, PhD!

Thanks, Simple Simon for being ‘fair and balance’ and not just stupidly sexist as is your wont when it comes to matters involving the battle between the [black] sexes.

At the end of day when everything is done and dusted and there is more in the mortar than just the ‘pestle’ it would be found out that there was some black “foot’” pretending to be a West Indian fork on the apartment block digging in the middle of more than one female garden.

Where was ‘de’ key to her own ‘white-washed’ apartment? How come it fitted so easily into an open hole?

The poor police officer would have been more convincing in her alibi (like the white woman in Bim who went missing a few years ago) if she had just arranged to have the dead body ‘moved’ to her own apartment and then claim she shot the Mandingo in self-defense trying to prevent being raped by the raging black bull.

Sam Cooke died under similar tragic circumstances. So there is nothing new under the black man and white woman sun of sexual (mis)contact.

In the old days, the poor black boy would have been lynched or ‘drowned to death’ like the poor little not yet fully-matured Mandingo Emmett Till.

Hell has no fury like a (white) woman ‘horned’!

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Simple…dont stretch your name that improbably….

Of course there is the blue wall of silence but this is NOT the type of case to experience that. If you are going strictly from snippets of left or right wing proganda then no attempts at practicality will suffice for you.

There should be no Texas Rangers blue wall of silence…but if the lawyer for Mr Jean’s family suspected anything like that he could file to seek intervention from the FBI/DOJ…so let’s go one step further and ‘practically’ extrapolate that Mr Sessions and his buddy POTUS would not want ANY political stain on this in an election cycle and would readily ensure the services of the federal apparatus were made available to get justice….

But all that totally unecessay…no need! The matter will be handled and brought to justice.

Lawson jokes around most often but WHY is his scenario (omitting the snide marijuana remark) not plausible??

As he also suggested even if that was the case she will STILL face charges and unless she could unreservedly convince lots of people that she had to shoot an UNARMED man , dresed one presumes in very obvious home clothing she will burn, burn for her heinous acts.

There are lots of scenarios (some quite plausibly innocent) for this event…but I cant fathom ANY of them that gets her acquitted of manslaughter.

14. dribbler your right, many different ways this could have happened but she should be held accountable …tragic

15. @lawson

You have summed it up in a few words. The cop must be held accountable. We will have to wait to see if the act was caused by malice or if if she is a mental case.

16. It is being said on some blogs that the police officer liked black men. Is this true?

17. Not by her actions

18. Lawson,
    The French have a crime called crime Passionnel. I know the Yanks are not that sophisticated, but even in the wild west there must have been a crime of passion.

19. A beautiful good morning to all
    @simple 7:45 classicand brilliant
    @lawson 9:33 devilishly wickedand beautiful
    @haha 9:02 idiotic. I hope you do not run into someone who likes you that way

20. @de pedantic Dribbler September 9, 20188:25 AM “But all that totally unecessary…no need! The matter will be handled and brought to justice.”

You have for more confidence in how the U.S. justice system has treated and continues to treat black people, and especially young black men than I do.

A young black man should be safe in his OWN HOME.

No parent should have to bury a 25 year old, shot right at home.

I feel for the parents, siblings, school mates, cousins and friends.

My question remains “how did she get a key that permitted her to enter the man’s apartment”

I know the sameness of northern apartment buildings. I too have accidentally approached a neighbour’s door, and even took out my key. But my KEY DID NOT FIT, and I left hurriedly.

21. Hal there certainly have been,one instance when bobbit sliced off her husbands wand and through it out the car window smashing into a car full of nuns behind her causing one nun to say did you see that bug and another to exclaim did you see the size of the prick on it.

22. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

ammmmmmm I got to get a car cause dis waiting ting ent working fuh de ole man

De ole man dont drink I have to say dat first

2 weeks ago de same people who got me stake out come for de ole man and carry me to *** to get ***.

So all i have to do is get out of their blue *** truck run in *** and come back to the same blue truch and we gone again.

So I run in *** and in 4 minutes and ** seconds i rund back out grab the right door and jump in the front seat and “holler out that was quick” (Not an indication on de ole man sex life ladies)

Well imagine my surprise when i look to my left and see two ladies neither of which is the lady whose blue *** that i got out of next to me!!

Well de ole man mouf drop open and so did the ladies and then we heard the horn behind us real loud and all of us look back and she in waving at me from the same coloured jeep behind us!!

De ole man apologized profusely and de women laughed and i got out the car blushing and embarrassed like a mug and then went in the right blue *** jeep to a ragging that wen on for 20 minutes with me laughing and crying and doing all those sorts of things that a male chauvinist pig does when we get embarrassed.

When you see a threat AND “YOU ARE WIRED”, you experience one thing and one thing only PUT DOWN THE THREAT IN FRONT OF ME, it takes real training not to pull that trigger when the party in front of you moves towards you or shifts.

You have never been in the zone so wunna can talk all you want but you have to be there to understand what ALWAYS ON MEANS.

I am genuinely sorry for the St Lucian Botham Shem Jean.

This one is filtered by what i know happens when you meet someone in the night and you are in the “FIGHT MODE” you simply dont process info that way with that gun on your hip.

23. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Your assistance please with an item where de ole man speaks to similar circumstances

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Simple, let the matter reach its conclusion, nah!

Stop this thing we do called guesstigating…how do you know she used a key to open the door…pls link us to that statement of fact!…Could the door not have been unlocked or ajar as noted by @Lawson.!

There are hundreds of criminal cases investigated and prosecuted in US involving young Black men daily…we see pay attention only to the Philando Castile’s, Michael Brown’s or Tamir Rice’s but there are others where the cops burn!

There is the recent conviction and sentencing for 15 years for an office in the death of young Jordan Edwards….right there in good ole boy Texas to boot; there is the officer in South Carolina who got 12 years for shooting a Black man who simply reached for the license the officer demanded at a traffic stop back in 2014.

No doubt those are the exceptions to police involved killings but they do HAPPEN.

And to repeat…this is NOT an on duty police vrs perp shooting incident anyhow …this person will burn because the basic evidence suggests she acted with willful indifference or at minimum negligently….as citizens we HAVE to pay a penalty when we do that…her uniform absolutely cannot absolve her from any of that in this instance.

25. @de pedantic Dribbler September 9, 2018 10:46 AM “Simple, let the matter reach its conclusion, nah!”

I am not in Texas, and what I say will have no bearing on the outcome of the case.

However next week, or tomorrow, it could be your little johnnie, or mine, who is in the coffin.

That is why I speak.

26. I don’t believe the police woman.

27. Why Simpleton, what did she tell you?

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Neither am I in Texas…and even if I were your sentiment re no bearing on case would still apply.

People lie every day…some more than seven times per day…we believe what we wish…you believe there are ulterior motives at play here and in time we shall see.

But until that is proven and if it were my own Botham or Johnny I would feel the same about this tragedy…it’s a heinous error that should not have happened and I would expect the killer to face the full weight of the law.

I would also sue her in civil court because of my deep anger of the callousness but none of that will prevent similar ‘real’ terrible mistakes like this from happening…

29. “she came home saw her door open didnt smell any marijauna …”

problem with that..it was not her damn door..

Simple…don’t know if it will post..but here goes…

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-sH3ZuXSfNDY/W5RIZNXspEI/AAAAAAAAy3M/_vQxPN1xdmsePNw9N6HoRZZ9Z79r4dPKwCJoC/w265-h353-n/amber%2Bguyger%2Band%2Bbotham%2Bshem%2Bjean.jpg

30. The cop is supposed to be the one to his left with her breasts all sticking out and the dude is supposed to be the one shot and killed…

31. CORRECTION:

The cop is supposed to be the one to his RIGHT..all hugged up with him..

32. Dear Simple Simon, I’m very impressed so far with the way you’ve gone about addressing the manner in which this young black man was executed. So Far you have demonstrated an ability combined with sound reasoning and logic that belies your hitherto disdain for men. I’m wondering if you truly dislike men as you want us to believe as we are naturally born phuck up or that you were many times a bride’s maid and never a bride. A little off topic here, previously you stated that the women in your circle don’t care too much for one foot cocks, I’m thinking if you’re so inclined, I’ve a bantam rooster. When last you saw a cock fight?

33. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

hmmmmmmm WARU hmmmmmm

that IS INTERESTING!!!

If, and I say if Botham knew the woman and she him that is a new angle.

I was inclined to say that the layout of many of these apartments are the same – narrow corridor with coat/shoes cupboard and sliding door on opening door then the bathroom and then the first open space.

At night all cats are grey so one could say IF I MISTAKE MY FRONT DOOR, and IF THE MISTAKEN FRONT DOOR IS OPEN AND IF IT IS DARK AND IF I PUSH THE DOOR TO MY GENERIC LOOKING PASSAGEWAY, AND IT IS DARK (I said that already) and in pull my gun because my front door is open AND ON MY WAY IN A SHADOW RUSHES ME and IF neither I nor Botham, the person rushing towards me, because he sees a shadow coming into his apartment well then just maybe…

As a grandparent I would be mad at any such bereavement in my family to be sure.

Death by misadventure DOES NOT SOFTEN THIS ISSUE FOR ANY PARENT

You could be assured that I would be suing like crazy

34. Footage from the scene…first the killer pretending to be crying…

https://www.facebook.com/fantastic.max.37/videos/943163525867315/?t=6

35. oops..they took it down, but a witness to her pretend distress took the photo…

36. PIECE…it was not even a bottom floor apartment where ya could say she wandered in..it was a top floor apartment as the video that did not open above shows…no way she mistook any apartment for her own..the lying criminal…

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

On a lazy hazy Sunday morn we can get so carried away with instant investigation…at this rate we like can have a neatly wrapped CSI style finish in 30 mins or maybe an hour of two episodes.

One pic purports friendship …OK anfpd then another claim says this:

“Contrary to rumors swirling on social media, Jean did not know Guyger, a source with knowledge of the investigation told WFAA. Also, Guyger was not one of the people with Jean in a picture that has been circulating on social media, sources said “

Seize and settle!

@Pieces, very plausible scenario…but some more guesstigatng play detectiving….there is one small nugget yet to be clarified….Mr Jean’s apt was reported to have a semi circular red mat at the front door. Supposedly it was there at 10PM on this night in question…

If it was then does the officer also have an identical mat in front her apt door?

A neighbor said the lights were on in Jean’s apt (after she heard the shots this is)…so was Jean resting in a dark apt and lights tuned on only after shooting?…did he turn off lights and was in waiting for what he thought was an intruder when he heard noise at his door?

So many hypotheses n queries.

38. Could someone call the Texas Rangers and let them know that no further investigation is required as Wot A Racist Udder I Is has solved the case beyond doubt. The judge and jury can be stood down too, as Wot A Racist Ungulate can pass sentence on the basis of her race hatred.
    Job done.
    David, you should know better than to proclaim it a “murder” in your heading – you do NOT YET KNOW. Shame on you for that.

39. LowIQ45…It was a goddamn murder…and this was no mistake..ya fraud..

40. You ignorant witch, murder is
    what you WANT IT TO BE, but you are just a demented bigot whose inflamed racism colours your thinking at every sad turn your miserable disappointment of an existence takes.

41. Colonel Buggy, what would you have done if a criminal had seized YOUR Taser? Asked for it back?
    The shooting was ruled justified.

42. Colonel..oh ya noticed..I did not even want to post on that…

LowIQ45…I would have said the same thing if it was a black female cop and a white dude…what the hell was she doing in the man’s apartment to kill him…ya dummy.

43. The mistake the department made was not identifying her sooner, now people thinks it is a cover up and will suspect they also lied about the shooting last year..

https://twitter.com/ECatloth/status/1038614933427167232/photo/1

44. Now you are lying again. Your every post is contaminated by your race hatred.

45. So how come it bothers YOU and not ME…

46. Because I am not a racist consumed by hatred, and despise those like you who are.
    If it turns out this was murder I would pull the switch myself, but I will not follow the racists of Ferguson and jump to conclusions. It is people like you and them that make sure that racial divides are never bridged. You are like the IRA and Loyalists of NI or the so-called Palestinians who teach their children to keep the hatred alive for every generation.

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

This is an example of White privilege in toxic combination with police impunity. In other words a perfectly routine example. She murdered him in cold blood then made up a cover story. The police department swallowed her clearly fabricated bullshit because that is what they always do.

It is entertaining watching the racists swallowing the police bullshit only to have to incrementally walk it all back as Amber Guyger’s stupid lies shrivel up as soon as they are exposed to light.

What is more distressing is the way the American media bought her fantastical tale hook line and sinker, reporting that a “police officer entered an apartment she thought was hers” without looking at the gaping holes in the fabricated story.

48. LowIQ45…you fraudulent criminals will be brought to your knees…in YOUR lifetime..