FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Email: caribbeaninstitute@gmail.com
New York Caribbean Institute Calls for Dallas Police officer who killed St. Lucian national in his own home to be charged with murder

BROOKLYN: BROOKLYN: The New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) on Friday harshly condemned the killing of 26 year-old St. Lucian national and Dallas, Texas resident, Botham Shem Jean. Jean was shot and killed around 10:00 p.m Thursday night, September 6, 2018 in his own home, by a female Dallas police officer. The officer told investigators that she returned home from her shift and entered the wrong apartment in her building.
In a statement issued Friday, CGID President, Rickford Burke, said the officer’s negligent, reckless conduct and depraved indifference to human life resulted in murder. He consequently called on Dallas District Attorney Faith Johnson to prosecute the officer accordingly and to the fullest extent of the law.
Burke said “the culture of policing that has emerged in black communities all across America is one where cops shoot to kill first, then ask questions after.” He asserted that “Police officers are killing black men while walking innocently on the streets, driving innocently in our cars and now while living innocently in our own home. This is too much for a people to bear. CGID therefore calls on the US Justice Department to review and revise the protocols for armed engagement by law enforcement in America.”
Burke said “CGID intends to write our US Senators and Members of Congress from New York, to push for a national review and reform of protocols on how and when law enforcement officers engage in the use of force. This is long overdue. How many more black men must be killed before we take action?” Burke posited that “politicians who sit by and do nothing about the epidemic of law enforcement murders of innocent black men are equally complicit in these killings and should be held to account.”
Dallas police department Friday issued a statement claiming that the officer called for help and told responding officers “she entered the victim’s apartment believing that it was her own.” The incident took place at South Side Flats, an upscale apartment complex located in downtown, Dallas, a few blocks from Police headquarters.
Dallas Police said the officer was in full uniform and “fired her weapon striking the victim who was transported to hospital where he was pronounced dead. Burke blasted the Dallas Police for not releasing details about how the officer reached into Jean’s apartment and whether a breathalyzer was administered, as would have been the case with an ordinary citizen. He also questioned how Jean’s name was released to the public when Police simultaneously confirmed that the next of kin notification was not made.
The CGID head said the officer’s story is inexplicable and implausible. Emphasizing that Caribbean community believes the officer’s account strains credulity, Burke questioned its veracity saying “if she went to the wrong apartment how did she make initial contact with Mr. Jean? How do you mistakenly shoot your neighbor who you see and presumably interact with regularly, without recognizing him? “The Dallas Police chief expressly stated that her department is no longer pursuing a “police involved shooting investigation,” but is seeking a warrant pursuant to a manslaughter investigation. Clearly the police evidence suggests that this is not an accident and that the officer’s account contradicts the evidence. Hence, in the interest of transparency CGID calls on the Dallas Police Department to stop disseminating misinformation and disclosed the facts and circumstances of Mr. Jean’s death forthwith, lest it is viewed as concealment,” Burke contended.
the US to study accounting at Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas. He also studied at the Sir Arthur Lewis Community College, in Castries, St. Lucia before migrating to the US. At the time of his death, he worked in Dallas as a risk assurance associate for accounting firm Price Waterhouse Coopers.
CGID Has called on all Caribbean American organizations and nationals to condemn Jean’s killing and to support and express solidarity with his family.
–END—

687 responses to “Dallas Police Officer Murders St. Lucian”
de pedantic Dribbler September 12, 2018 6:04 PM
“… Guyger’s blue uniform should not grant her a single advantage in the investigation and prosecution to come.”
But we have proven conclusively that the blue uniform granted her many huge advantages during the initial investigation of the case… where are we going to get the trust that those advantages will not extend into the prosecution to come? We have absolutely no evidence so far that these huge advantages, which I attributed to White privilege and police impunity in my initial post, will suddenly diminish or disappear during the prosecution phase. I hope they do, but my hope is not based on any evidence that I can see.
“At present there’s no evidence that Amber Guyger woke up Thursday morning intending to kill anyone.”
Is that the standard to determine if a murder has been committed? Evidence of intent
Lord help muh
Mih belly
@pedant1
Too much wordsmithing
@TheOGazerts September 12, 2018 7:52 PM
In Texas intent is the standard which distinguishes capital murder (1st degree) from murder (2nd degree).
@PLT, suffice to say that as a juror on this case you vote guilty of murder in the 2nd degree and I would vote for manslaughter or depraved indifference/negligent homicide if those charges are optionally laid….or even a lower charge.
We get to the same conclusion taking very different routes because unlike you I do not subscribe to any elements of “white privilege or police impunity” leading to the death in THIS CASE. Repeat…THIS CASE.
BASED ON THE EVIDENCE THUS FAR she recklessly committed multiple errors …due to negligence from impairment/tiredness or other stressor…resulting in Jean’s death. She must be severely punished for those errors….and neither her RACE, PROFESSION NOR INITIAL INVESTIGATIONS should impact the vote of the jurors who sit in her judgement…I see no reason that it will.
Thus there is absolutelty no reason to adopt your stance that she will have special advantages from the prosecution at trial…surely her lawyer will offer all valid narratives to sway the jurots reasonable doubt (assuming this actually goes to a trial) but I totally disagree with you in extrapolating the front end advantages of the investigation to the prosecution stage.
In fact, this is a perfect case to plead down without a trial. She is so wrong that she surely cant expect to be exonerated…So maybe she will seek a plea…who knows (ASSUMING she is basically truthful in her story to date).
There are lots of much more real , significant and worthy cases of white privilege and police impunity involving Black defendants to be zealously prosecuted…this is not one of them!
it is all Trump’s fault!
Trump made that white cop shoot that black man cause HE IS RACIST!
HE IS ALSO RESPONSIBLE FOR THE STORM IN THE CAROLINAS TOO
You are treating like a black person
Of course it’s Trump’s fault that for the first time in recorded history there are 5 systems in the Atlantic and 3 in the Pacific embracing America.Trump is badass news and his ignorance,naïveté and utter stupidity is causing worldwide distrust of Americans.Level headed folk cannot understand how a Congress of over 500 persons sit by and allow this orange head buffoon to lead the Americas towards a certain destruction.
Well said DPD!!
How nice to see rational uncoloured (if you’ll excuse the pun) thinking.
Gabriel – are you quite all right, you sound racist?
http://www.bandt.com.au/information/uploads/2018/09/Serena-Williams-726×445.jpg
https://youtu.be/hul-OVeDf9A
https://twitter.com/twitter/statuses/1039609539446943747
Good morning all.
Some good points made all round (WARU excepted of course), and that book Black Like Me that DPD posted is excellent. Just let me make a couple of points if I may..
1) No-one can know the suffering inflicted on black people by whites (and Arabs) both historically and currently, except those born black.
DPD says ” You do not AND CANNOT SEE THIS BECAUSE YOU ARE WHITE”. That is a desperately sad statement to make to those who whilst not being colour-blind DO ACTUALLy recognise and deprecate the privations endured.
2) None of us can change the course of history, but we CAN learn from it, and in an era of increasing white liberalism (the human rights movements, affirmative action, and political correctness gone mad), I think it fair to say that blacks have NOT taken proper advantage of the opportunities offered. The greatest dangers to black lives are fellow blacks, to whom often it would appear that black lives do NOT matter, or not much. Chicago, under Democratic Party rule for ever, and no better than Mogadishu – WHY? London, where the murder rate now exceeds that of NY (who thought that could ever happen?) Black kids being hooked on drugs and violence – NOT by white oppressors, but by their own. Add the dangerous cult of islam into the mix and we get an explosive compound.
This discussion was about the killing of an innocent young black professional by a white police officer, and has generated as much heat as light, but ignored the elephant in the room – the greatest threat to the lives of young blacks is from young blacks.
Blacks MUST OWN this problem, and when THEY sort it out, along with the failure to build family units (you know – I got two kids home and one outside), their standing and futures will improve accordingly, but it is said that God only helps those that help themselves, and I don’t mean by robbery, muggings and drug dealing.
When society is less afraid of blacks, and islam (and they ARE – just look at the crime statistics), then it will hopefully treat them accordingly. Unfortunately, as we have seen in Europe, the combination of European generosity and helping hands has NOT resulted in anything more than a tsunami of immigrant rapes, murders, thievery and contempt for local values aimed at the destruction of host societies, followed by the inevitable rise of racial tensions. Sweden is lost, France is not far behind, and Germany is in trouble.
NOT a way to improve the situation.
@ David – good cartoon eh? What a disgusting spectacle she made of herself – in Arthur Ashe stadium no less, where he would have been appalled.
The cartoons and other articles are meant to reinforce Peter’s point that responses by Whites are mainly influenced by the establishment with its structural fault lines.
unless thats his door david its interesting but……its nice to see the white house has effectively downgraded the storm in response to gabrial’s outrage. Its astounding that trump can can cause all this turmoil with the weather and oceans in a year and a half, I suppose all that shit you guys have been pumping into ocean for years is good for mother nature. But if it is like gabrial says why would smart people want to build a hotel at sea level on oceanfront property on a spec of land way out in the Atlantic knowing it is going to disappear shortly
She’s a bully ….a very talented one…but a bully just the same….the most shocking thing ever to me in sport was when the americans forced that south african runner to take a test for male hormones when she was trouncing their runners but not a peep about their tennis sisters who even appeared more manly at the time.
@45govt, pls don’t give me invalid shout outs! …. The book ‘Black Like Me’ and quotes from it were posted by resident sage @Pieces…not moi.
I am quite surprised that we are even on the same page on this issue…oh lordie. But your Serena remark made life balanced again 🤣…she made a “disgusting spectacle” of herself! REALLY.
After 15 plus years on the tour where one can count her blowouts on one hand and number in the scores the ‘white privilege’ style harsh discriminatory actions she endured you find this unfortunate tiff as disgusting. Amusing!
Two wrongs never make a single right but when former pros like Roddick and Blake and Billie Jean King etc so strongly lambaste the ump your term “disgusting spectacle” is surely misapplied.
Blake said: “I will admit I have said WORSE and not gotten penalized. And I’ve also been given a “soft warning” by the ump where they tell you knock it off or I will have to give you a violation.”
That this ump imposed himself on a FINAL in that way to strip away a game was definitely spectacularly disgusting!
“The cartoons and other articles are meant to reinforce Peter’s point that responses by Whites are mainly influenced by the establishment with its structural fault lines.”
Sometimes you do make yourself look silly David.
the fact of the matter is that SW is a bully who has got away with gamesmanship, and unsporting behaviour BECAUSE of those ‘fault lines.
A very good article in the Telegraph summed up her appalling display of raging entitlement.
“Cue an operatic aria of complaint by the great champion so bonkers, it made the mad scene in Lucia di Lammermoor look like Countryfile.
“You’re attacking my character… you will never never be on a court of mine as long as you live. You are the liar. You owe me an apology. Say it. Say you’re sorry.”
Mortifying to watch, it was also horribly inconsiderate towards her opponent who, not coincidentally, was in the process of whupping Serena’s ass.
Williams was furious alright, but not about sexist treatment from a male umpire. It was the loss of her own powers that made her mad. Rage, rage against the dying of the light.”
Top comment…
“John Woodford 11 Sep 2018 3:32PM
Having watched the confrontation I can confirm. The cartoonist got it exactly right. Rude, arrogant, ugly, violent, aggressive. A most unworthy champion who brought the game, sport and the female of the species into disrepute”
@DPD – sorry about the misattribution!
I think SW should take up Rugby. She is no Halle Berry, and if you have seen much of her father…well the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.
Glad we were on the same page there for a moment anyway 🙂
@Lawson…you are BSing with one of your droll moments a 6:49 right!
How can you equate physical benefits of a strong athletic physique (from nature and gym work) like Serena to the definitive advantages that apparent biological anomalies re super high testosterone and the new term – to us in the public at the time – of ‘intersex’ (based on media medical reports) re Semenya of SA?
SMH…blogging is like being President….you say whatever you choose to and voila its true! Oh my lordie 🤣.
YOU WOULD HAVE TO HAVE A HEART OF STONE NOT TO LAUGH AT THE ANTICS OF THOSE AFFLICTED BY TRUMP DERANGEMENT SYNDROME – DON’T MISS THE COMMENTS UNDERNEATH!! ENJOY…
https://www.breitbart.com/big-government/2018/09/12/professor-shoots-himself-22-pistol-protest-donald-trump/?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_term=daily&utm_content=links&utm_campaign=20180912
You didn’t show the whole cartoon which also portrayed Osaka as a diminutive blonde (she is 5’11 BTW and an interesting story in her own right) and it shows what the cartoonist really wanted to portray all the stereotypes about black people with exaggerated racial features.
Trump characaturs are done in much better taste. Is that is what you are saying lol dribbler your joking right your claiming semenya should be checked alone jeez at least she kinda looked female I bet you thought Rene Richards should get a pass as well
LOLL…there are lots of supreme bullies in the public domain…I do pray you guys DO NOT like or dislike them based on their skin tone….smh.
McEnroe, Connors, Nastase just three in tennis….Bobby Simpson, Ponting, McGrath, Botham, Akram, Harbhajan, Viv…a few in cricket…oh lordie and alas the biggest current bully of all…one guess!
You guys love him unquestionably although not a day goes by that he doesnt engage in unneeded disgusting spectacles…so do excuse me if I continue to adore Serena and dismiss this unfortunate outburst as a big outlier to her character…as compared to many others on the list!
I like some of the others too like Viv and Ponting despite their bullying nature
@ Dribbles
Why are you surprised that 45G shouts you out…?
People like you and GP continually reinforce their racism with your embarrassing kowtowing….
Bushie is UNAFRAID to be labeled as ‘racist’ … if that means KNOWING that albinos are derivatives of the REAL thing – due to genetic defects… and that BBE CREATED the perfect original human beings of an EARTHY Hue…
The only difference between the current albino racists and the stalwarts of the 18th and nineteenth centuries is that the current ones have convinced themselves that they have the RIGHT to be treated specially- as compared to others, while their fore parents were fighting what they took to be a war to gain PROPERTY against superior HUMAN BEINGS who happened to not focus on building weapons of destruction….
These demons obviously needed to create the illusion of ‘superiority’…
The pity is that the lost children of BBE bought this bullshit…..
…and that so many still do.
I don’t like trump he is a bully but he is doing a good job if you look above I said Williams was talented but a bully the others you have named are hewn from that same rock. Money can buy you a lot of bad manners. As far as outlier go into past history of any of these individuals and I am positive you will find they are not one offs
There you go again Dribbles…
Serena RIGHTFULLY told the albino umpire to ‘piss off’ after accusing her of cheating…
What temper tantrum what??!!
No doubt he is another Lawson type, who internally RESENTS that a black woman could be so rich, well respected, talented, articulate and UNAFRAID….( like stinking Bushie.. LOL )
She did NOT make any mistake ….
She put PRINCIPLE before kowtowing to the albino demons and their shiite money…
…and let the chips fall where they may….
THIS is how REAL HUMAN BEINGS operate boss.
If you hate whites why are you always claiming to own a tool invented by George Ballas would it not be more true to your race smiting and hitting people with a jar of peanut butter
DPD – you have a point, I well remember loathing McEnroe when he first came on the scene, as I did the blowhard Cassius Clay, and was heartbroken when he beat Floyd Patterson – but they are ALL prettier than SW.. Let’s face it, a great player, but a blot on the landscape. Sorry, I know beauty is in the eye of the beholder and all that, but that beholder would have to be visually impaired.
@Lawson don’t play folly so early do….YOU introduced the South African…I certainly did not ” [claim] semenya should be checked alone”.
You are badly equating two aspects – physicality and drugs/harmones/biology – of competitive world sports in an offhand way to thrash Serena. That’s BS.
The type of issues of the Semenaya case will broadly explode in coming years as we see transgender folk enter the field of sports and as drugging becomes even harder to detect….but what do those base line scenarios have to do with a simply powerfully built female who dominates at her sport.
Bushie – I feel sorry for you.
@ 45G
Don’t….
I have to feel sorrow for the afflicted.
careful dribbler jimmy the Greek got fired for what you are insinuating.
Lawson
Hate whites ???!!!
Where did you get that Boss?
…or are you suggesting that anyone who does NOT subscribe to your false sense of superiority – and who in fact can CLEARLY see (and understand) the underlying INFERIORITIES that drive your obsession to APPEAR to be superior …. must HATE you…?
Is that logical Lawson…?
…besides, who better to design an instrument of correction than the very demons in need of correction…?
wuh…
Bushie’s mom had a habit of sending little Bushie to cut tamarind branches …….
So you would rather lie to yourself
About hating us so you can keep using that devils invention.
Jimmy was a tad before my viewing time but heh they are lots of genetic style companies out there keen to replicate the perfect human now…so he was likely saying the right thing in surely the wrong way.
Maybe he was fired for insinuating that once you go superior black athletics you can’t go back… then he was unjustly dismissed 🤣….
Lawson
I do have a modicum of pity for your ignorance of your natural environment.While a first former at Weymouth,Plants and Animals was the set book for the subject Nature Study taught by Marcus ‘Lizzie’ Jordan of impeccable diction and elocution,a language art lost on the post Noott generations.
Thus I learned..(1)..the battle is not for the swift nor the RACE for the strong………the end and (2) the human RACE evolved from the ocean depths thus there is only ONE HUMAN RACE.JA Lawson so write your BS for your own ignorant consumption.Barbados has produced an abundance of barely literate uncompetitive plantation types who never had to show any significant intelligence to find employment and so,the more ignorant they are the more racist they write.
Insinuating…?
Jimmy the Greek OUTRIGHT conceded that once the playing field was levelled, there would be no chance for whites to be competitive…
He just happened to be perceptive… and unaffected by the racist koolaid.
One of the FEW areas where this is COMPLETELY REVERSED …. is in the exercise of albino-centricity.
Here is where the true TALENT of whites shine….
in making money – lots of it…. and in accumulating material possessions….with a passion.
They have also managed to convince most of us that THIS is the definition of ‘success’ on this earth.
We therefore make all our judgements about ‘superiority’ and ‘inferiority’ against this framework….
The whole world is deceived…
Back in the day “Jimmy The Greek” was part of the CBS pregame show along with Brent Musburger, Irv Cross and Phyllis George he provided the betting line and got fired for saying that Blacks didn’t have the intellectual capacity to be quarterbacks in the NFL. Al Campanis of the MLB Dodgers (the team than integrated baseball with Jackie Robinson) got fired for intimating the same thing.
Here is the US Open final from 2009 and Federer sounding off at the Umpire, was he given a penalty? If you answered yes , remedial school may be helpful.
NFL pregame show
Ramos is a known Spanish racist having done the same thing to Venus.I have seen many albino players kick linesmen,smash rackets to smithereens,curse umps in the worse language,threaten umps,and nary a wimp from those umps probably out of fear.One day black man will retaliate violently and all hell will break loose like the Me Too Movement,the Black Lives Matter Movement,
the Anti Larry Nassar Movement,the NFL Colin Kaeparnick Movement,the Anti Trump White House Movement etc.the Anti Stuart/Sinckler DLP Tsunami Thirty Love Movement.
it was trump’s fault that serena behaved like dat
she was trying to be like trump–the racist bully
she saw dat white umpire stealing her comeback like how trump saw the deep state trying to steal the presidency dat he won free and clear
wunnah dont have no idea how hard I does have to work to be able to write shite on BU like how some of wunna seem to be able to do so easily
now listen to this shit by mr know it all himself
The type of issues of the Semenaya case will broadly explode in coming years as we see transgender folk enter the field of sports and as drugging becomes even harder to detect….but what do those base line scenarios have to do with a simply powerfully built female who dominates at her sport.
WHAT DOES THE issues of the Semenaya case HAVE TO DO WITH TRANSGENDERS?
WHY SHOULD WE EXPECT drugging TO become even harder to detect INSTEAD OF EASIER WITH THE IMPROVED TECHNOLOGY DUMMY?
MANY YEARS AGO AT THE HEIGHT OF THE SEMAN DIS PUTE I EXPLAINED ON BU WHY SEMANA IS NORMAL AND WHY NO EXOGENOUS TESTOSTERONE OR ANABOLIC STEROIDS WERE FOUND IN HER BODY. I GAVE THE SOLID AND ACCURATE BIOCHEMISTRY STARTING FROM CHOLESTEROL
THE BELOW IS ABSOLUTELY ALSO QUITE ENTERTAINING AND HILARIOUS
How can you equate physical benefits of a strong athletic physique (from nature and gym work) like Serena to the definitive advantages that apparent biological anomalies re super high testosterone and the new term – to us in the public at the time – of ‘intersex’ (based on media medical reports) re Semenya of SA?
THIS MAN CAN STRING TOGETHER WORDS TO TALK SHITE BOUT STUFF ABOUT THAT ABOUT WHICH HE KNOWS NOTHING!
THANKS FOR THE ENTERTAINMENT ALL
I WILL ASK DONALD TO STOP THE HURRICANE AND TO ASK SERENA TO BEHAVE WITH MORE DECORUM TO PLEASE ALL AND SUNDRY
I WILL ALSO ASK HIM TO ASK FEMALE COPS TO REFRAIN FROM SHOOTING BLACK MEN
Sargeant, are really trying to equate that clip of Federer with the virager?
Here’s a question for all you racists – is your epithet ‘albino’ meant to convey the same slur as n****r?
I see some people are deliberately ignoring my point that excessive black on black crime has its origin in racial oppression. The white police officer’s fear of the black man is now being justified by the fact that black men are responsible for more homicides than white men. But I ask you – which came first, the chicken or the egg? Slavery ended in the USA in the 1863. After that there was Jim Crow. These conditions continued until about 1964 but the extreme racial tensions continued until the 1970 s, less than fifty years ago. These people were born and raised in extreme poverty, racial violence and oppression. These conditions breed hopelessness and self-loathing. The violence turns inwards and the vicious cycle continues. Who started this cycle? Who needs to bend over backwards and do cartwheels to reverse the conditions? There are small steps that we black people can and should take but white men need to bear the burden of their creation and work harder to create a just and equitable society. This one is on THEM!
PS. BEWARE OF THE WHITE MAN WHO PRETENDS TO BE EMPATHETIC BUT IS REALLY SETTING HIMSELF UP FOR AN ARGUMENT WHICH ULTIMATELY JUSTIFIES THE RACISM!
News for you, whitey, some of us can smell you from afar!
@ Sarge
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=3&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwitu6eijrjdAhUEuFMKHTwvC9gQwqsBMAJ6BAgDEAQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DxKtIqXMpHcY&usg=AOvVaw0SquBBEuVukWVHmeob4bvf
My God, did that 45 guy just mention European GENEROSITY? Those bloody bastards built their societies off the backs of Africans and their descendants. They got their capital AND labour from raiding Africa. What GENEROSITY??!! It is not generosity to give back a billionth of a billionth of what you stole!!! And from whence did you get your statistics????
Bushie,
That is why we get people like Moneybrain coming on here trying to show off about how much money he has. He thinks he is making us feel bad. He doesn’t realize that some of us have a different definition of success. Quite frankly, he doesn’t impress me at all. I do not rate men according to how much money they may have managed to manipulate out of a flawed system.
Let me précis Donna’s intemperate rant……IT’S ALL WHITEY’S FAULT….AND ALWAYS WILL BE…because we n’s can never be held responsible for our own actions.
Well that’s added to the store of knowledge.