Submitted by Richard Millington, Esq.Director of Communications Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy ( CGID)

Consul General Mackie Holder

The Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) on Monday harshly condemned the behavior of the Consul General of Barbados in New York, Mackie Holder, for his verbal abuse of a female New York elected official at Monday’s West Indian American Day Carnival (Labor Day Parade). The parade was held on the Eastern Parkway in Brooklyn, and attended by millions of West Indians. 

The Barbados Consul General was not only verbally abusive, but he lifted his hand and pointed his finger in the face of the female Democratic elected official. The Consul General knows who the elected official is and fully recognized her at the time of the incident

The attack occurred on a double decker tourist bus sponsored by the Barbados Tourism Authority, which was part of the parade. What is bazaar is that the West Indian American Day Carnival Association (WIADCA), which organizes the parade, does not normally allow such buses in the parade. 

However, the Barbadian community appealed to the very elected official to assist with getting the bus to be in the parade. The elected official successfully appealed to the Association to allow the bus in the parade, only to be placed in disrepute by the incivility of an apparently power drunk Consul General. 

The situation unfolded when the elected official, who was playing mas in the 95ยฐ temperature, saw the bus in the parade and hopped on to greet the occupants and to ask for water. She was immediately accosted by the hostile, arrogant and ungrateful Consul General who ordered her off the bus in a degrading and disparaging fashion. While pointing his finger in her face, he yelled “Get off my bus!!” He then asked her if she did not have money to buy her own refreshments? 
Several Caribbean Brooklyn community leaders discussed the matter, and denounced Holder’s behavior. The pervasive view is if the official was a male, the Consul General would not have ventured to be uncouth and disrespectful. The community feels that he was particularly abusive because the elected official is a woman. 

We in the Caribbean American community will not tolerate this kind of abuse of our women. Holder obviously does not represent Caribbean values of hospitality, camaraderie, decency, civility and respect for women. His disgraceful conduct is beneath the dignity of a diplomat. Consequently, he is no longer welcome in our community. 

CGID joins with others in the New York Caribbean American community to demand that the Consul General immediately offers an unqualified, written apology to the elected official. 
Moreover, we also plan to be a signatory to a letter Caribbean American community leaders plan to write to the Prime Minister of Barbados demanding that Holder be recalled from New York forthwith.

130 responses to “Barbados New York Consul General in hot water”

1. got to be vigilant
    with energies coming
    our way
    careful less we get derailed

00.06.09.24/11:21 am
    Updated edition

a group of elephants can be called a herd, a memory or less commonly, a parade.

a slighted Woman will always remember like an elephant which comes from a matriarchal society that forces fathers and grown boys to leave the herd and wander the jungle alone.

2. RE .cant give the ghetto rat negro any titles or the tiniest of power over each otherโ€ฆ thatโ€™s exactly how they act.

ACTUALLY THIS IS THE NATURE OF FALLEN SINFUL MAN
    SUCH BEHAVIOUR HAS BEEN EHXIBITED BY MANKIND THROUGHOUT THE AGES IN ALL RACES ETHNICITIES AND CLASSES
    E.G HAMAN IN ESTHER
    ALSO THE CASE OF THE SERVANT WHO WAS FORGIVEN A GREAT DEBT BUT WAS UNFORGIVING TO ANOTHER SERVANT WHO OWED HIM VERY LITTLE IN COMPARISON

WHY WOULD I BE AS A BLACK MAN BE CALLING OTHERS ghetto rat negro
    NONE OF OUR LEADERS OR THIS MAN ARE AS CORRUPT AS LEADERS OF AFRICAN NATIONS OR THE BLACK MAN WHO WAS ONCE POTUS (AND IS THOUGHT BY MANY TO BE SERVING HIS THIRD TERM, THOUGH UNELECTED THERETO)

3. โ€œRickford Burke-
    The parties involved in the controversy over the alleged abuse of a female New York State elected official and the Consul General of Barbados and some members of his team at the Labor Day parade on Monday, have agreed to engage each other at a mediation meeting to be held today, September 6, 2023. The parties have also agreed to attempt to deescalate tensions by eschewing further public comment until after the meeting.โ€

4. You know, you can continue to lie like your Orange Jesus. If I found it to be embarrassing, I wouldn’t have told BU. Everybody who knows me knows about that one visit to Dr. Mahy. Because I told them. As I have told BU. I tend to talk about issues of importance, and myself and son, not other people’s business unless I am talking to them.

So, for those who don’t know – I was a student at UWI when I noticed a substantial loss in my powers of concentration. As examinations were pending, I availed myself of the services of the UWI psychiatrist, Dr. George Mahy, who told me I was depressed, and for good reason, in his opinion. He therefore wrote me an exemption from pending examinations for that year. And that’s all he wrote. No prescription was deemed necessary. No follow up visit.

But for those who tremble at the thought of stigma and ridicule, I say – if I had needed a prescription or other treatment, I would have taken it. And I would have patted myself on the back for being smart enough to recognise my mental illness and brave enough to seek treatment despite the threat of foolish mouthings.

Go thee and do likewise!

Most people are not that smart or that brave, or that self-aware. Some are dragged kicking and screaming.

And some, even those, that have taken psychiatric histories as physicians, do not have the capacity to heal themselves!

Your post was total BS. And here’s why. Ms Mottley is a prime minister. She has a team. Donald Trump WAS a president. He had a team. She has made too many bad picks. So did Donald Trump.

The particular situation has nothing to do with Trump. But it reminded me of him. AND WITH GOOD REASON.

What you should have noticed is that Donald Trump is hardly mentioned on BU anymore. Fani and Jack are dealing with his stupid azz. No need for me to argue on BU about what expert lawyers will argue in court.

I am busy with Macron these days. And Joe Biden, because his foreign policy sucks, as did Obama’s. So has the foreign policy of EVERY American President.

If America disintegrates under Biden, I have no problem with that. It would have happened no matter the president. The stage had long been set for the empire to fall.

Africa’s freedom from oppression may be the result. That is what concerns ME.

You may have the last nasty word. You may even take a shot at my son again. We know THAT is your illness. You must be seen to win, no matter what it takes. Even on BU, where it hardly matters.

Just like Donald Trump.

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

5. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. September 6, 2023. @ 11:57 AM

I thought it was a local DLP female official where one can say it maybe political yardfowlism, though that’s no excuse for that type of low form and elevated level of disrespectful behavior. But all indications are it may be a US government official and her 11 year old daughter allegedly viciously assaulted in that vile, crass, low class, uncivilized manner. Dont know if she is city, state or federal government.

But they don’t care, once you carry the same skin tone as them, as a womab, they believe it gives them license and they are entitled to direct all that self hating venom at you. Too many of them are damaged like that…showoffs.

Another black eye for the island.

6. IDIOT, you are misrepresenting the truth. Contributors mentioned their preference to await the ‘other side of the story’ before commenting, which is REASONABLE, under these circumstances. Fortunately, time has revealed that YOU are the REAL BU fraud. Remember, you OPENLY ADMITTED in this forum, to being a LIAR, and would LIE ‘just to make things interesting.’ And, EVIDENCE was presented to BU, supporting the claim you used a fictitious name and forged a particular individual’s email address to send false, malicious information. A FRAUDULENT ACT! Then, would go into “cover up and bullying mode” when challenged. “What an ugly look” for (Wura-War-on) U!!!

7. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Btw…the Barbados contingent SHOULD NEVER be allowed in the Labor Day parade again at that level…

…that bridge should be thoroughly BURNT TO THE GROUND with that type of ill-mannered, uncivilized behavior…..they did that…

8. GP BU RETIRED "RESIDENT" DR Avatar
    GP BU RETIRED “RESIDENT” DR

The particular situation has nothing to do with Trump.

EXACTLY

But it reminded me of him. AND WITH GOOD REASON

WHAT GOOD REASON? LOL
    What you should have noticed is that Donald Trump is hardly mentioned on BU anymore.

I AM VERY HAPPY ABOUT THAT
    AFTER ALL ITS BIDEN’S TIME.NOW. THAT IS WHAT I HAVE NOTICED. NO ONE GOES AFTER HIM AS THEY WENT AFTER TRUMP LOL LOL

I ENJOY HOW HE MAKES A LOT OF FOLK GO CRAZY

I HAVE NOTICED THAT A LOT OF GOOD STUFF IS NO LONGER MENTIONED ON BU ANYMORE

RE If America disintegrates under Biden, I have no problem with that. It would have happened no matter the president. The stage had long been set for the empire to fall.

BUT IT DID NOT HAPPEN UNDER TRUMP – THE MOST HATED MAN AFTER THE LORD JESUS CHRIST

THE MAN BETTER THAN A CAT WITH NINE LIVES

RE And some, even those, that have taken psychiatric histories as physicians, do not have the capacity to heal themselves!

REALLY?

WHEN I GO TO THE DOCTOR I TELL THE DOCTOR HOW THIS DOCTOR WANT TO BE DOCTORED

WHAT INVESTIGATINS I WANT AND WHAT MEDICATINS I WILL NOT TAKE AND WHY
    I ALSO DECIDE AND DEMAND ANY INVESTIGATIONS I TNINK I SHOULD HAVE
    YOU MAKE ME LAUGH LOUDLY AND LONG

9. Guess who has the real story Avatar
    Guess who has the real story

Breaking News
    I have the much desired video. I am now in negotiation with both parties and will release the video shortly.

It pains me to tell you that all the stories you heard were incorrect or an outright lie.

Stay tuned. More to come
    —xx—
    Special warning: Frankie don’t believe everything that you read.

10. My tapes were seized by NYPD Avatar
    My tapes were seized by NYPD

Breaking news
    Showing interview will be delayed.

During the interview both parties became heated and blows were exchange. What was initially bad manners became a police matter.

My tapes were seized by NYPD. Making an effort to get them back.

11. Show is canceled. Avatar
    Show is canceled.

The show is canceled.

NYPD returned the tapes to me and asked me to look at the tape with the incident.

I was cheated. A blurry sex tape was what I was sold? You cannot trust anyone.

Apologies.
    —xx—
    Note to Frankie.. No! You cannot see it. It does not exist.

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David and @Artax re ‘a matter for US govt’ and ‘waiting for more info to shake out’ … this is really more a nuisance, scandal intended gotcha type story than one of substance.

Surely, the US State dept diplomatic Corp would not waste time with this type of BS !

Now, of course if this was a Jamaican CG and s/he had upbraided a NY city councilor like dat den … just maybe we may have had a story … wink, ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜œ…!

But seriously tho, anyone familiar wid de big apple and US generally knows of de ‘bajan’ Shirley Chisholm who was a long lived elected official out of NY … and has a lovely nature walk/park in her name right there in NYC.

And of course besides that standout there are many other West Indian American elected officials past and present like Yvette Clarke who work closely with the West Indian community … this story goes against ALL those core elements of common sense, political sensibilities and even common decency (who refuses a mum and daughter a plate of food and some water on such a festival day … especially in that situation, unless you have some type of personal stupidness afoot!)

In short, it makes absolutely no sense and seems to be the rantings of drunk people either from some great rum punch or grand delusions of power!

Just saying.

13. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Dont know how they think this wont make the rounds of NYC journalist circle..

….wuh even i know one or 2 and already shared.

..the all consuming ignorant, dangerous, disrespectful SHOWOFF slave mind need disabling from its embarrassing role of sharing blight….they have nothing to offer anyone…glad to see them embarrassing their political masters more and more and at every turn……shame and disgrace them and their fowls..

Waiting for the next one. ….soon cone…they have set records enuff in the last 4 months….with their scandal making…looking good… we want more..

14. @Dee Word

On the face of it one would expect Mackie Holder to behave professionally.

15. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

The same ‘council woman” unless things have changed, means city….can shut their shit down….and there they are….talking down to her, sticking their finger in her face, pretending they got power in NY when they KNOW they int got none..

It’s well and widely known they have no damn respect for anyone and believe everyone else should lower their standards to meet them at gutter level…another bunch of wannabes…hence now tripping over themselves to fix this quick..

..but it should come with very SEVERE consequences…in lieu of knowing they dont know how to act respectful to those who look like them and it will happen again….so based on that, i would shut their shit right down permanently, no one needs these beggars..

For those who did not hear well…the lady who apparently had a hand in helping them get into the parade was begging them for nothing as the low class was trying to project…she apparently had complimentary seats and entitled to partake in whatever was available…it’s the SHOWOFF ruined everything as they always do…

16. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

What is even more troubling, very disturbing, apparently the uppity mind sickness of the DISRESPECTFUL has so evolved that they dont see anything wrong with the alleged assault of an 11 year old child by a stupid adult…in front her mother, and disrespecting a mother in front of her child for absolutely no reason..

…par for the course IN Barbados on every given day…but NOT tolerated in societies that dont view being uncivilized in these social settings as cute.

And these commenters trying to project it’s not that serious…want sensible people to take them seriously when they have NO CREDIBILITY. ..shameful..

They thought they could pull that crap with my situation too….but they better not let me catch them anywhere near my warpath…or they will be mercilessly MOWED DOWN…..they are too ignorant at every level..

17. Were you on the bus to hear what happened? You are taking one side and haven’t heard the other side. Always remember there is more than one side to a story.

18. Only death can stop Donald Trump from winning the next US presidential elections.

For if he’s in prison, he wins. Hands down. Once a relatively less fraudulent voting process is seen as satisfactory, free of handcuffs!

If so, he must thank his political enemies within the deep state and elsewhere.

And yes, we maintain that Trump is and has always been an asshole.

This is unlikely to get any better.

A geriatric, who given the nature of American’s other geriatrics in power, like Biden and McCollin, we can’t but feel sorry for a hapless American people who themselves are prisoners, in open air, to an irreparably corrupt and dying empire.

However Trump too, will again find that deep state forces constitute all the effective power in Washington and under implicit threat of death he too will tow the line, again!

The nature of an abnormal normalcy as empire hastens its end.

19. THIS ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS WHY I AVOID BAJANS WHEN LIVING ABROAD LIKE A PLAGUE.

ALWAYS SMALL ISLAND MENTALITY.

PLAYING BIG MAN AND HADN’T EVEN PAID FOR SPONSORSHIP. WHAT A FARCE AND BEHAVING AS OWNING THE BUS.

ALSO ASKING THE WOMAN INVITED BY THE DIRECTOR IRREGARDLESS OF HER CAPACITY IF SHE WAS POOR AND HAD TO BEG FOR FOOD FOR HER CHILD.

NO COURTESY AND BEHAVING AS IF BACK ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND LIKE A SORRY ASS BIG SHOT.

WHETHER IT TOOK SOMEONE FROM GUYANA OR ELSEWHERE TO EXPOSE THIS NONSENSE SHOULD NOT MATTER.

NO EXCUSE FOR DEEP IN THE GUTTER MENTALITY..

20. I think we should wait and see what the real story is. So far it’s been a one man-show with no confirmation.

I am still holding back.

21. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. September 7, 2023. @3:04 AM

They are proud of that disgusting, disrespecful poisonous slave minded behavior and had the temerity to practice it in New York in public.

They will all now come with WARNINGS, as they should.. and just as deserved….it was bound to happen one day..

The head is poisonous. The head got on ITV London and told the whole world that bajans were slaveminded, and NEVER lifted a finger to reverse the damage….since then people have been watching and KNEW there would be a manifestation..

That is their problem, but they need to keep that poison in Barbados and resist spreading it to other societies, or forcing Black women and their children offshore to accept that disgusting behavior, they practice so freely on the island, because it makes the low class feel important, and believe it’s a good look..can’t hide or cover it up anymore, it has gone on for far too long. Every dog gets it’s day.

It’s a terrible embarrassment but am sure that is not the sentiment felt. We know the mindsets too well.

22. I’ve seen a video, dated July 14, 2020, of Mottley’s interview by ‘Ben and Kate’ on iTV’s ‘Good Morning Britain,’ during which I did not hear her say anything to suggest “Bajans were slaveminded.” Unless she made such comments on another occasion she appeared on iTV.

23. That is low and uncalled for.

24. โ€œ the Consul General of Barbados in New York, Mackie Holder, one Brian Corbin who is apparently an advisor to the Barbados Ministry of Culture, and others, and a female New York State elected officialโ€.

Is this female New York State elected official a member of the CIA or some other clandestine operation? No effort has been spared in naming the Barbadian Consul General or the consultant to the Ministry YET the Lady is repeatedly referred to as the New York State elected official.

Fair and balanced reporting?

25. Bushie Agrees with you FearPlay

The interest of justice and common sense would be best served by the blogmaster deleting this whole post as shiite.
    One final flush would be appropriate…

It lowers the standards of the Blog.

26. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

I remember years ago when the DBLP gang, hand in hand with the crooked minorities were working overtime to get the internet out of Barbados because the dead cow said, “the internet did not suit Barbados,” like who gave that pos pus, riff raff thief, the right to say what is suitable for a black majority country other than dangerous wicked traitor politicians….

Then muttley came out all hot and sweaty bellowing while in opposition, that ” social media and the internet will marginalize the Barbados government” which translated to :

ALL THEIR EVIL CRIMINAL CORRUPTION with the same minorites at the meeting …will become undone, EXPOSED TO THE WORLD, harder to hide and perpetrate…and what they have hidden from the Afrikan descended population about their ancestry will be revealed….as a fly on the wall of that meeting said….”these dangerous sobs should be IN PRISON…”

Fast forward from 2018 to April 2023…and you could not get the same determined remover of the internet who suddenly became an internet star, prior to that, i had to tell them, wunna only have shite power in corrupt Barbados, nowhere else…but no one could remove the internet remover and youtube star…off the internet after election ….they were here, there and everywhere giving interviews, they were on ITV London more than once and every other media that would have them…spewing shite…..they were paying their dumb sheep slaves to post even more shite to promote them.

One thing’s for sure…with video available everywhere, they cant say they never said this or that…it’s all on RECORD.

Now here they all are, famous Enuff…or famous Amos, all pukeworthy spectacles.

27. @Bush Tea

The irony is that this blog has attracted the most interest on the blog compared to several others? What does it say about us indeed. Do not forget the name of the blog, committed to exposing our soft underbelly to the glare of public scrutiny.

28. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved..

I did not know NY state had council women…..i know women have taken over the SEAT OF POWER THERE recently..at least 4..eg…attorney general…lieutenant governor etc…so i guess we have to wait and see if it’s city or state…that is confusion there right away..if they cant figure out which branch…. but still defending…lol

Me thinks someone is a little confused…NYS is Albany upstate NY, a completely different seat of power to NY city councils and their members. …who are more likely to be involved in organizing the Labor Day parade in NYC, than Albany…

It’s very difficult to blame other people for your uncouth lack of manners and total disrespect for women and children IN PUBLIC

….”the CIA made me do it”…. dont hold water..not when disrespect of African women… is a national pastime in Barbados and on anonymous blogs…remember people observe…as i WARNED FOR YEARS…. .

Bushman…ya gotta come with a better one ..lol

29. re The interest of justice and common sense would be best served by the blogmaster deleting this whole post as shiite.
    One final flush would be appropriateโ€ฆ

It lowers the standards of the Blog.

YOU STARTED THE LOWERING OF THE STANDARD OF THE BLOG WHEN YOU WERE ALLOWED TO BE THE PROVACATEUR

YOU WERE THEN FOLLOWED BY THE IDIOT WHO COMMUNICATES BY STUPID MUSIC VIDEOS FOLOWED BY THE DAILY GARBAGE OF HATE AND VICIOUS VENOMOUUS VITUPERATIVE VITRIOL BY YOLANDE GRANT OR WARU

30. Boss
    ..and you should nor forget what attracts the most BB flys….

It is a close call.

31. No one can ever claim that Bajans donโ€™t have a sense of humour, imagine complaining about a blog piece by commenting on it thus drawing more eyes to the said piece.

Then again I saw a report on an assault with a shovel on the online paper and it was accompanied by a photo of a shovel or how about the caption writer who wrote in the same paper something along the lines โ€œKing sent to jail after Prince denies knowing himโ€ yuh gotta read the piece to get the gist of the story, Bajans are a funny people..

32. I know that I write a lot of nonsense and have at times use more names than 555.

This story appears to have no legs. The politician has not been named. There is not a second source of the story.

Until there are more developments I will give our CG the benefits of the doubts.
    Currently, all we are getting is vomit.

This blog has an ugliness and nastiness that I have never seen before. It should be trashed and resurrected only if ‘evidence’ emerge.

33. Typical typo Thursday.

@Sarge
    I saw that headline and loved it. I was disappointed that it was a father and son bickering.

34. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All. Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All. Rights Reserved.

But do you understand what MEDIATION means..

That’s an environment that seeks solutions to nuisance problems..

35. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Somehow the same people have NO PROBLEMS with women being atracked with utter nastiness…daily..

..is that GLEE in silence…where silence is VIOLENCE..

36. re โ€œKing sent to jail after Prince denies knowing himโ€

Reminds one of a frontpage headline in the Advocate in a bygone day that read

BIRD FLIES IN!

37. Typical typo Thursday.

“it was not a”

The truth would be stranger than fiction

38. Dr. GP, perhaps the blogmaster should seek “MEDIATION” as a “solution to NUISANCE PROBLEMS.”

39. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Do you get it now Bushman…Albany is the law makers..the state capital.

..dont let anyone mislead you with rubbish…wait until mediation concludes..

Just imagine IF, IF, IF a law maker from Albany got even a hint of that alleged mistreatment.

40. “YOU WERE THEN FOLLOWED BY THE IDIOT WHO COMMUNICATES BY STUPID MUSIC VIDEOS”

YAWN!

ANY MAN ALWAYS SAYING HOW INTELLIGENT HE IS
    IS NOT INTELLIGENT AND IS NOT A MAN

Still mi haffi mek a raze
    Kaw mi come af age
    An mi want fi goh rave

41. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

I love to share, so there i was sharing on the continent…gotta protect my tribes from exposure to such daily disrespectful behavior…they need no add-ons, already got real challenging problems of their own.

..and of course in doing so REAL Pan Africanists EVERYWHERE will be privy to useful information for analysis…

We really gotta wonder what kind of minds would conceive such a poisonous societal disease….that obviously needs eradication.

42. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9n6wfPpGo0A&ab_channel=AFRICABRIDGETVNETWORK

So why not get everyone hopping on social media, telling their side of what happened….that should be fun, sweeten the pot…..lol.

..started already yesterday when it was alleged the same accused paid 75 THOUSAND DOLLARS..of taxpayers money so a bunch of nuisances can pretend they are VIP…the wannabes.. for that bus ride…

.a commenter went: “WHAT’???? and the Barbados government sending me notices BEGGING for money to help fix QEH”….

murdahhh..let the comedy begin..

43. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Bushman, if you listened to the video, seems the official involved is reported as a lawmaker, still dont know if city or state though…but a lawyer..

What i do know, you do not run around harassing, insulting and disrespecting NY lawmakers or lawyers and their children/family for that matter..obver a bus that is not yours, since ya were only allowed 20 seats out of 85, so you were not in control, or owner of the bus as ya pretended .over a plate of food for a small child….dont care how uncouth ya socialized and culturized to be. .

The more details we get, the uglier the alleged incident becomes, he should just leave quietly..

44. The CGID is the ORIGINAL SOURCE of the story. You posted a YouTube video in which CGID president, Richford Burke, is supposedly ‘clearing the air,’ because people believe the story has been fabricated. SENSIBLE BU contributors have chosen to await additional information before commenting on the issue.

45. @Artax

A sensible position to take. The last communication from Burke is that all sides have agreed to deescalate the matter while mediation is ongoing.

46. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

As Pacha keeps saying, things really seem to be going to hell…..time for personal priorities…what say you Kiki?..this is your juridiction.

“Birmingham Bust: UK City Declares โ€˜Bankruptcyโ€™

After being slapped with a $1.25 billion equal pay bill, Birmingham city council has issued a Section 114 notice, an admission that it cannot manage its catastrophic finances without help.

Auditors said on Tuesday morning that the UKโ€™s second-largest cityโ€™s 2020-2022 accounts do not account for equal pay liability, effectively leaving it in need of government support.”

47. A next reason to kill the post.
    I am googling to see if I can find a next source for the CG NYofficial issue. The only other source that pops up is the article on BU.

48. Yes, the dribble some are posting is the main reason to close it.

49. Thanks for the link Hants, will reopen the blog if warranted.

Meeting Scheduled to Resolve Dispute Involving the Barbados N.Y. Consul General

U.S. Congresswoman Yvette Clarke will host a meeting on Monday to resolve a dispute over an alleged encounter involving Barbadosโ€™ Consul General in New York Mackie Holder and a New York council woman.

The alleged incident occurred on a bus during the recent Labour Day West Indian Carnival in Brooklyn.

A statement from sources close to the Barbados Consul General says that Mr. Holder unequivocally denies the allegations that he verbally abused a New York Assembly Member.

The statement claims that several people who were on the bus and witnessed what occurred have vehemently denied what was alleged in various social media posts.

Meantime, an entity called the Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy is insisting that there was indeed an encounter over the assembly memberโ€™s attempt to obtain refreshments on the bus.

The organisation has urged that Mr. Holder be sanctioned over the matter.

Starcom Network News has been told that CARICOM Consular officials have reached out to the Barbados consulate and, in light of the differing account, have been working to bring the parties together.

That meeting takes place on Monday hosted by Congresswoman Clarke and will also be attended by the senior Barbados diplomat in the United States, Noel Lynch, Barbadosโ€™ Ambassador to the USA and the OAS.

In an interview with Starcom Network News, President of the Caribbean Guyana Institute Rickford Burke, who has been a leading voice in highlighting the incident, says heโ€™s happy that a meeting is being held to resolve the matter.

https://starcomnetwork.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/rick0906.mp3

But he continues to insist it should never have occurred.

President of the Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy, Rickford Burke.

Source: VOB

50. Probe into claim of verbal abuse by Barbadian diplomat

Article by
    Barbados Today

Published on
    September 8, 2023

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Kerrie Symmonds has requested a report regarding allegations that the islandโ€™s Consul General in New York Mackie Holder had verbally abused a New York councilwoman.

But Holder has vehemently denied the claim.

The encounter is alleged to have taken place during Mondayโ€™s West Indian American Day Carnival.

The Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) had issued a press release harshly condemning Holderโ€™s behaviour on a Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. (BTMI)-sponsored bus which formed part of the Labour Day parade.

โ€œWe in the Caribbean American community will not tolerate this kind of [behaviour],โ€ wrote Director of Communications for CGID Richard Millington about the alleged incident.

Consequently, he is no longer welcome in our community. CGID joins with others in the New York Caribbean American community to demand that the Consul General immediately offer an unqualified, written apology to the elected official. Moreover, we also plan to be a signatory to a letter Caribbean American community leaders plan to write to the Prime Minister of Barbados demanding that Holder be recalled from New York forthwith,โ€ he added.

While Symmonds told Barbados TODAY on Wednesday that he had requested a report regarding the claims, the Consul General himself was adamant that the entire incident was a fabrication.

โ€œAll I have to say is that it never happened. Anybody who was there can tell you it never happened. I think I know how to conduct myself. It never happened. If anything, the lady [the US official] was the aggressor,โ€ he told Barbados TODAY in a telephone interview.

โ€œNobody on . . . the bus abused her.โ€ฆ Put a hand in her face? It never happened.โ€

The press release from the CGID claimed the situation unfolded when the US official who was playing mas, saw the bus in the parade and hopped on to greet the occupants and ask for water.

CGID president Rickford Burke also posted the allegations on his Facebook page, which attracted mixed reactions. Some demanded that Holder be sent packing back to Barbados, while others insisted that people should refrain from making premature judgements in the absence of all the facts.

(EJ)