[Barbados Underground] The following was shared by Senator Caswell Franklyn in response to the following question –

@Senator

Is there any light you can shed on the lady and her mother posting videos to Facebook accusing Payne and Marshall of some unscrupulous action?

“David, Blogmaster

I know more than most about the situation which led to these two people defaming Marshall and Payne on Facebook.

This matter arose out of the sale of land of the late Ermine Atwell. She was the widow of Melvin Atwell, attorney-at-law. The two people making the allegations about Marshall and Payne are Ermineโ€™s sister and niece.

Ermine was a recluse who lived alone with her dog, Zena. For a number of years Ermine would call me every Sunday, unless I was out of the island or there was a problem with Cable and Wireless. We would talk about every conceivable topic, one of which was her sisterโ€™s and Nieceโ€™s efforts to get their hands on Ermineโ€™s land.

According to Ermineโ€™s version, the sister Ieft Barbados in the sixties and did not look back, not even to attend their fatherโ€™s funeral in 1975. Then out of a clear blue sky the sister returned to Barbados, and only made contact with Ermine by way of a lawsuit to get portion of Ermineโ€™s land that formerly belonged to their father. The sister lost the case.

Ermine was willing to help her sister if she had asked but was hurt and angry that the sister took her to court. As a result, she vowed to me that the sister would get nothing from her and as far as I know, Ermine was taking steps to make sure that the sister would get nothing.

Ermine died suddenly and I donโ€™t know how far she had gotten in disposing her property. I know that Ermine believed in George Payne and Rawle Eastmond but had chosen George to deal with her legal matters.

I did not comment before for two reasons: I was not asked; and Marshall and Payne should be able to take care of themselves.”

The following documents posted to BU’s Facebook Timeline:

268 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Responds to Facebook Video Accusing Ministers George Payne and Dale Marshall of Fraud”

1. Thanks Caswell.

There is a line that separates men and mice. You stand on the right side of the line. Story was going unnoticed in a land of busybodies. Your contribution should give others courage to comment.

Thanks blogmaster, you walk a โ€˜trickyโ€™ path.

2. Well there are two sides to every story
    However one can easily vouch that on bothbsides there can be missing pieces of the puzzles
    Caswell gives a version which speaks vaguely of the Erma dispute with family members
    The question still remains was George Payne giving the rights to sell the property by the deceased

3. Even in the face of first hand information from Senator Franklyn who has demonstrated time and time again that he has no axe to grind and unlike you is not partisan and cannot be bought
    You are still trying to defame the characters of Messrs Payne and Marshall

4. @ Mariposa

Everyone reading or posting on BU can easily notice that both sides of your drain damage

5. Mariposa you don’t have a brain, its a drain

6. Thanks Caswell
    But you should have remained silent a bit longer…..
    Here is why…

Here is a situation which proves beyond ANY REASONABLE DOUBT, that the lawyers who have been running our national affairs, are TOTALLY incompetent to do so – and will undoubtedly lead us into damnation.

Can you imagine that two obvious ‘black hats’ can go on Facebook with some shiite video and for a matter of MONTHS hold two of the most SENIOR government ministers to complete ransom with a stupid accusation that only made sense to Mariposa and T Inniss?

No documents.
    No formal complaints to the authorities
    No counter legal action
    ….just a lotta vindictive shiite talk…..
    BUT this is not the problem – it is all par for the course in the social media world of 2018…

The PROBLEM is the clear INCOMPETENCE of these two top ministers to respond effectively in this era.

Caswell comes with a simple, unprepared two or three paragraphs and clears the whole mess up in thirty seconds…
    WHY…?

So that these incompetent lawyers can now go on to deal with the MUCH MORE complex Transport Board, Legal system, Sewerage, IMF, etc…? … You should have waited…

The actual situation is that we NEED to put competent people to solve the problems that we have.
    A fellow who CANNOT look after himself, CANNOT …. (repeat) CAN-NOT …. look after a whole country.
    Until these lawyers can clean up THEIR OWN BACKYARD – their personal affairs and the damn LEGAL SYSTEM …. only a pack of complete jackasses and brass bowls would have ANY hope that they can fix Barbados…. so we are dead.

What Mia has going for her is that she does NOT have the LEC, and hence is NOT a shiite lawyer.

Caswell SHOULD have Bupped…..
    But at least he is able to demonstrate what ‘competence’ looks like in the social media world of 2018.

7. You Bush Tea come here and spout uh early morning nonsense on a view that there are no documents shown by the two women which is a lie
    Where are Caswell documents to prove what these women are claiming to be lies or that he knows and spoke to the lady
    Negro go take yuh early morning dump

8. Hey Watchman nothing you say surprises me
    Oh btw have your new minister got a look at the waterway
    Hurricane season is on its way hate to know you might have drown because of the minister incompetence

9. It must be obvious by now that it is in the DLP’s interest to assign a few competent actors to troll the blogs to participate in the discussions. The few dissenting voices presently doing the job in summary is an embarrassment.

10. Caswell has provided a good starting point, however I am left with this:
    1) Did the lady leave a will or did she die Intestate?
    2) If a will was probated then there would be a record in the SC, if Intestate there would be Letters of Administration with a record of who was supposed to manage the Estate. I believe in both scenarios there would be a public record
    3) In relation to wills etc. people make all kinds of declarations but delay putting them in writing and when the inevitable happens (as in this case suddenly) their Estate may be divided in ways which they may not have wanted
    Finally, all this can be easily cleared by the lawyers involved, it is in their best interests to put the rumours to bed.
    Vamos a ver

11. In relation to the above I am not a lawyer, just someone who was educated at the School of Hard knocks.

12. Bush Tea

My dear man T Inniss was not pushing this issue.Again this desire to lump people and tag them and paint them with a broad brush – without examining the facts is truly sad.

This issues was first raised with Mariposa and also Well Well highlighted it.

The first time I mentioned this was today when I sought to show a number of issues that the blog owner can raise as independent blogs – which will show a balanced approach to what has gone on and IS GOING ON in this country post may 24th when some behaved as though their messiah had arrived.

So where yuh going with that accusation Sir. I have really not troubled my mind too much on this Goerge Payne Land matter. AS a matter of fact, I have noted the posts by Mariposa,the comments earlier on by well well and Theo G, but there is no where you can find me pushing this issue .

Earlier on Enuff had accused me of similar comments on the Ross University saga.Information posted by me in my response to him showed this to be not true.

Then you had the Dribbler making charges of me deriding and being harsh on Piece before 24th May – and when pressed – he too could produce no evidence of same and quietly disappeared.

Are you all grown men and women – who want to be serious in what we present?

What I seem to find is a lot of herd thinking – which translates like this – Mariposa and T.Inniss represents the DLP- Mariposa and T.Inniss think alike .Steupes.

13. Now we have the blog owners saying dissenting voices are actors sent by the DLP to troll the blog.

You see why we are deep in the doo- doo?

So,so so Sad.

14. @Bush Tes

“The actual situation is that we NEED to put competent people to solve the problems that we have.”

Bingo!!!

Just observing

15. Sargeant

Your post about sums up nicely what I tried to say in another blog on this George payne matter.

16. Caswell Franklyn is a loose cannon he is doing a good job trying to hold the parliamentary dictators feet to the fire. His story on the women raises as much questions as it answers. If the women have a case against Marshall and Payne remains unclear. Payne has been dogged by controversy for years. He faced similar accusations in the past. Then there is Barrack.

17. Mr Inniss
    Bushie said that the issue ‘made sense’ to you…. not that you were pushing it.
    Bushmen tend to read a lot into ‘attitudes’, so the video was much more than the verbal accusations etc….and did not make much sense

In any case, such accusations NEED to be promoted and highlighted. It is how we will keep these lawyers (and others) in check.
    Your call for a blog was therefore in line with Bushie’s thinking….

Bushie’s point is really about the INCOMPETENCE of top national leaders, to deal with what should (and will) be ROUTINE accusations via social media.

The ONLY antidote for such accusations are:
    -Honesty
    -Openness
    -Responsiveness
    -Humility
    ….this is where the incompetence reside.
    Dishonest lawyers (or anyone else) CANNOT afford to be open, responsive or humble…

18. first off, both (solicitor and bar) qualifications for practicing in the UK are shoite when compared to the LEC. so much so that it is not a valid comparison.

the BLP have trolls all over the place spreading lies and half truths. this is modern day political practice so why should anyone be surprised if the same is not attempted by the DLP. in fact this is one of the biggest failings of the DLP. i think Mari and T Inniss if they are representing the DLP are doing a fair job under the circumstances.

becos Franklyn said something does not by any stretch of the imagination mean it is gospel and from reading what he said he makes no attempt to say that. he simply stated what he knows of the issue.

there should be no attempt and i dont think there is any attempt to equate this to Inniss’s situation. these two gentlemen have a history in the previous BLP administration that is as interesting as any of the DLP ministers under present scrutiny.

i sense that either you have contempt for T Inniss and Mari or you favour the BLP. Maybe both

19. The blogmaster has contempt for the level of debate coming from the DLP side. The 30-0 result should have signalled that the public has no confident in that tired narrative, time to updting.

The other point is that Caswell post using his Rh name, he has a history of telling it like it is, he is respected by the blogmaster. The blogmaster will go with his view of things every time compared to a bombastic few.

20. The final point:

the blogmaster wrote to ‘Jackie Stewart’ on Facebook to request document to allow for careful reporting on the matter by BU, she promised to send several weeks ago. We mean documents to support, not a generic meaningless document irrelevant to the claims being made.

21. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ T. Inniss

To your credit though you are DLP YOU AND MARIPOSA can never think alike whuloss is someone said that to you my man that was the most serious insult a feller can be subjected to.

heheheheheh

You said and I quote “…The first time I mentioned this was today when I sought to show a number of issues that the blog owner can raise as independent blogs…”

You are new? to the blog and might not realize this but the BU blog gets its content from its readers and sometimes the Blogmaster will “raise” a topic based on a judgement call or someone asking for it to be raised.

At any one time the Blogmaster will have 20 – 25 simultaneous articles running on the site.

So he has to maintain all of these in the “FRONT END” & answwer email and other articles/submissions in the back end INCLUDING THE LEGAL MATTERS and attend to the Hacking attempts momentarily.

In the face of all this, and one has not mentioned taking care of family life, why would he then seek to “raise” an unsubstantiated article, ONE IN WHICH HE HAS NO NEXUS, against members of the legal fraternity, who oftimes are the same fellers that agitate to prosecute us bloggers?

You get my drift?

But i ent hold no brief for BU’s blogmaster heheheheh

22. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please with my item

Whuloss dem only going feel dat de ole man get a pick wid BU now cause I heah support your perspective

23. that is crap WRT the 30-0. no one knows definitively what it means except that DLP got scattered out. have you done a survey? do you know how many voters voted for the BLP as a confirmation of its policies or against the DLP as a repudiation of the policies? you may say it doesnt make a difference but you would be incorrect.

and of course the said tired political narrative you are downplaying is the same that elected the BLP, fueling its policies and its annoying press conferences and posters’ on this said forum.

so you are spouting rubbish.

WRT Franklyn- there is no issue there except to say that a story has many sides. Franklyn just posted what he knows of the matter.

24. T. Inniss you need to stop apologizing to these dunderheads
    Right now they will be picking on what they belive are ripened fruit which was drop on the ground and are useless for eating a way of making their distractions revelent while knitting together words which can go against the flow of criticisms of Mottley and the blp govt
    Hence Inniss the attacks against any one who dare have the mitigated gall to speak out against the reckless actions of Mia like poaching from the poor govt of Dominica glorious tax waivers to the wealthy or ministers pay hikes would be met with furious relentless attacks
    Riight now the govt back is against the wall after serving the public empty promises in two months promises which were founded on better but has turn out to be bold faced lies

25. Hard ear wunna wont hear, own way wunna gine feel

26. Let the blogmater be more succinct, we will believe Senator Caswell every time before some of you lot.

27. Bush Tea

Thank you sir.You have been pellucid in your response.

As to the blogmaster contempt for the DLP – that was evident for a very,very long time – and means nothing to me and has no direct bearing on me either.

However you will see how I – who view myself as a dissenting voice – will not be so be eager to take up Piece Under the Rock’s earlier suggestion in other blogs.

You would note it is a ‘tired narrative’ (see BU’s earlier comment) when the accusations are directed at the BLP – but not tired when it is the bile presented and repeated over and over again – by Enuff, Lorenzo, Artax, Crusoe, Watchman and the lot.

All I would suggest is that posters and readers take every post on its merit and don’t let person or persons lure you into thinking in a particular direction.

Dig Deep !

There seems to be some who have already caught unawares.

28. there you go again, misstating the issue at hand. what is there to believe or disbelieve about what Franklyn posted? Franklyn simply posted what he knows of the issue.

29. Yes and the blogmaster is saying when we read to Caswell’s explanation added to what we have been trying to find out about this matter- contrary to some DLP partisans on this blog- we will go with Caswell. You may have the final word.

30. The Blogger Bush Tea is absolutely correct.

If a man can’t count what hope is there that he can grasp measure theory or stochastic calculus?

I get the sense that despite all the rhetoric, the new government remains clueless.

Devaluation in 2019 with a probability >50%.

31. Accuse the blogmaster all you like but here is the rub- how many times have you lot been advised to draft coherent articles for submission for posting? Do yo read some of what ac post for comments? Here is a good topic to start, Mia’s missing Rh LEC

You may have the last word as well.

32. there is a big difference between leading a country in times of plenty and in times of need.

33. @ David wrote ” a few competent actors to troll the blogs to participate in the discussions ”

I am a “legacy” DLP supporter trolling BU.

If the modern day DLP supporters would follow my lead and minimise their vitriol, they can just let the BLP self destruct.

How many BLP ministers does it take to replace a light bulb ?

34. The idiocy that trolls the blog sometimes is suffocating. Without trying to connect dots some here do not even try to appreciate BU has raised this matter in a way that may help to move it along for all parties concerned.

35. @ David

if you are referring to me, i dont know what you are taking about? i am new here. who is a/c? would submissions of articles make you think different about a/c?

36. James Greene @ 9:13 a.m.

T. Inniss is certainly not representing the DLP. T.Inniss is an independent,dissenting voice seeking truth.

I respect Mariposa’s contribution because she has been at it for a long time,undeterred by the slings and personal comments -AND SHE IS ENTITLED TO HER VIEWS WHETHER YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE.

The other DLP Commenter who appears from time to time ‘Fractured Dlp ‘ needs to look and see how Mariposa has improved by leaps and bounds in Most of her posts.

Previously I could make head nor tail of SOME of what Mariposa was posting – but this for the most part – is no longer so.

BU should be like a beautiful garden with a variety of lovely flowers blooming in the blog expanse.

The blog owner should be like the rain and the sunshine – falling on the just and the unjust – to enable independent views to flourish – No?

37. If these two women claims are fradulent they would be the biggest fools to put they lives in jeopardy all over social media with such damming accusations
    It is obvious to a blind man on a trotting horse that these two woman claims which also have affidavits to back up their accusations are not figments of their imagination let alone to go as far as to call Dale and Marshall. Frauds and land crooks daily on social media
    There is plenty mortar in this pestal which Dale would rather avoid possible reason he hides behind the blp yardfowls as a protection against the damming accusations

@David maybe a possible reason for the lady not sending you any documentation could be given advice by her legal representives
    After all you David have shown your true feathers and who you represent
    Cant blame the lady for not trusting u with any of her legal documents for fear of disappearing or transfering to the blp advocates and ministers who troll the blog

38. William Skinner Avatar

This story about confusion with attorneys and some land deal is nothing compared to the long articles on BU for years about corrupt DLP cabinet members. Articles that were based on mere gossip. We read about : ministers owning houses they did not own etc. It was gobbled up by the BLPs. Now the tables turning we expect something different? Can’t plant okra and reap corn. Too much nonsense was encouraged/allowed. We could as well buckle down to at least 5 years of the same from the Dems now. That is why the political class can do as they please-our country has no real future under the current dispensation. Its the same soup warmed over time and time again. BU by now should have had a stricter policy and there should have been tighter control of what was allowed to be published. It’s amazing that the blogmaster will find Caswell more credible because he writes under his name. Ha ha ha……….

39. BU should be like a beautiful garden with a variety of lovely flowers blooming in the blog expanse.
    It is…

Mariposa is just the lotta shiite that creates the needed fertiliser…..
    and Bushie has the whacker to control the brass bowl weeds
    and to keep the snails and millipedes in check….

murda!!!

40. @ Inniss,

i dont know what the blog master as you called him (i find the master bit in that title distasteful) should be. i really dont care. i was just making an observation based on what i have seen so far. obviously there is some history between Mari and him, so who knows?

41. Wuhloss!!!

42. William you are just explaining your ignorance. Where have you seen the blogmaster post about a house owned by a politician? The person if memory serves was Heather Cole that did it using her name. Do you get it yet?

43. Family feud.

44. Where there is a will there is a relative.

45. Bajan saying: “Mother have, father have. Blessed is the child that have his own.”

46. communications difficulties?

47. Mr Greene
    If you don’t know the history of the blog; you don’t know who is ac; you don’t know (or care) who is the blog ‘master’…
    boss…
    why not just listen for a while…?

Do you know the bajan saying about cockroaches at fowlcock parties…?

48. @BT

If you are going to quote me, please quote me correctly. it does lend context. this is what i said –

“i dont know what the blog master as you called him (i find the master bit in that title distasteful) should be. i really dont care. i was just making an observation based on what i have seen so far. obviously there is some history between Mari and him, so who knows?”

49. @Mariposa August 17, 2018 8:42 AM “Where are Caswell documents to prove…that he knows and spoke to the lady.

i simple so I ine ask you a question mariposa.

How does one go about documenting that “For a number of years Ermine would call me every Sunday, unless I was out of the island or there was a problem with Cable and Wireless.”

Do you want the Senator to go to Cable and Wireless and ask them to document that he received a call from mrs. Atwell X number of times?

Are you an idiot mariposa?

just axing for a friend.