[Barbados Underground] The following was shared by Senator Caswell Franklyn in response to the following question –

@Senator

Is there any light you can shed on the lady and her mother posting videos to Facebook accusing Payne and Marshall of some unscrupulous action?

“David, Blogmaster

I know more than most about the situation which led to these two people defaming Marshall and Payne on Facebook.

This matter arose out of the sale of land of the late Ermine Atwell. She was the widow of Melvin Atwell, attorney-at-law. The two people making the allegations about Marshall and Payne are Ermineโ€™s sister and niece.

Ermine was a recluse who lived alone with her dog, Zena. For a number of years Ermine would call me every Sunday, unless I was out of the island or there was a problem with Cable and Wireless. We would talk about every conceivable topic, one of which was her sisterโ€™s and Nieceโ€™s efforts to get their hands on Ermineโ€™s land.

According to Ermineโ€™s version, the sister Ieft Barbados in the sixties and did not look back, not even to attend their fatherโ€™s funeral in 1975. Then out of a clear blue sky the sister returned to Barbados, and only made contact with Ermine by way of a lawsuit to get portion of Ermineโ€™s land that formerly belonged to their father. The sister lost the case.

Ermine was willing to help her sister if she had asked but was hurt and angry that the sister took her to court. As a result, she vowed to me that the sister would get nothing from her and as far as I know, Ermine was taking steps to make sure that the sister would get nothing.

Ermine died suddenly and I donโ€™t know how far she had gotten in disposing her property. I know that Ermine believed in George Payne and Rawle Eastmond but had chosen George to deal with her legal matters.

I did not comment before for two reasons: I was not asked; and Marshall and Payne should be able to take care of themselves.”

The following documents posted to BU’s Facebook Timeline:

268 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Responds to Facebook Video Accusing Ministers George Payne and Dale Marshall of Fraud”

1. I asked a simple question
    Simple Minded
    Now go figure

2. ” lawsuit to get portion of Ermineโ€™s land that formerly belonged to their father.”

Very important date. “[ 13th November, 1975]”

The Lawyers can decide if their reputations as honest men with integrity is important to them…..or not.

3. Piece
    After your 30-0 victory u still trying to figure if you should go straight or make a detour
    Go figure

Dont worry about Maripiso .Mariposa owes no one RH in
    barbados

4. @Bush Tea August 17, 2018 10:05 AM “Do you know the bajan saying about cockroaches at fowlcock parties?”

“Cockroach has no business at fowl cock dance”=Fowl cocks are predators. Cockroaches are prey. If you are a cockroach and a fowl cock invites you to its entertainment, do NOT go. The fowl cock intends to eat you for its dinner.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ A. Dullard August 17, 2018 9:39 AM
    โ€œIf a man canโ€™t count what hope is there that he can grasp measure theory or stochastic calculus?
    I get the sense that despite all the rhetoric, the new government remains clueless.
    Devaluation in 2019 with a probability >50%.โ€

Far from being “A Dullard” you are one of the sharper intellectual knives in the BU household with a rather bright eye on the Bajan fiscal future and capable of seeing right through the crystal ball of economic realities.

Devaluation is the only effective means to bring Bajans to the point of reality that the same way a household cannot continue to live above its means without its members having to face the debt collectorโ€™s music so too will the country have to dance to the tune of the IMF pied piper.

How can Barbados default on its foreign financial obligations but could continue to import luxury vehicles and those over 1600 c.c.s for private/domestic use?

Isnโ€™t this a clear sign of country with its spending and other economic priorities upside down?

Barbados is now an international financial pariah thanks mainly to the devalued lying party which formed the previous administration.

6. @ James G
    @BT…..If you are going to quote me, please quote me correctly
    You STILL don’t get it…

Where is THAT written in the BU code of conduct…?
    Boss, BU bloggers quote what THEY want to quote…
    Your mission (if you should accept it) is to correct the misconception and re-emphasise your main point….. otherwise bloggers like Mariposa (who is so dumb that she could not quote the ABC consistently) and Artax (who is so sharp and tricky, that when he misquotes you … even YOU may then quote his misquote..) will eat you alive…

Welcome to the garden…..

7. @ Miller
    Devaluation is the only effective means to bring Bajans to the point of reality that the same way a household cannot continue to live above its means without its members having to face the debt collectorโ€™s music so too will the country have to dance to the tune of the IMF pied piper.

How can Barbados default on its foreign financial obligations but could continue to import luxury vehicles and those over 1600 c.c.s for private/domestic use?
    Excellent observations Boss…
    Devaluation is the ONLY effective means ….FOR BRASS BOWLS….

Intelligent, THINKING people who were not mindlessly albino-centric in predisposition, would IMMEDIATELY sit down and put VOLUNTARY, DRASTIC ….but perhaps survivable … steps in place such as:

-Drastic cuts in salaries and benefits for all public servants…of the order of 30% at the top and 5% at the bottom.
    -With corresponding cuts in the private sector – and introducing STOCK options being MANDATED for employees – in order to diversify ownership.
    -An IMMEDIATE CUT in luxury imports such as fossil driven vehicles, and personal luxury items
    -prohibitive taxes on pleasure items such as vacation travel, and negative vices like alcohol and smoking…
    -A strong meaningful focus on productivity incentives in ALL areas…. from ministers down..
    -A CLEAR mandate to dismiss unproductive workers

As confirmed brass bowls however, we somehow think that it makes more sense to continue living WAY above our means to the bitter end – until OUTSIDERS come and make these decisions about cutting FOR us….

8. @BT

Ok boss. in that case i will think about stepping away. life isnt that serious for me that to try to win an internet argument you would misquote someone. thanks for the warning

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ James Greene August 17, 2018 9:13 AM
    โ€œfirst off, both (solicitor and bar) qualifications for practicing in the UK are shoite when compared to the LEC. so much so that it is not a valid comparison..โ€

Are you โ€˜reallyโ€™ serious about that comparison?

Where is the evidence?
    Can it be found in the well-functioning Legal & Justice systems currently plaguing Barbados?

Do you really think that the โ€œshoiteโ€ the LEC-holding lawyers โ€˜get away withโ€™ in Barbados the UK solicitors and barristers could pull as stunts without being disbarred or forced to spend time at some low-security prison fitted out for white collar criminals like the former speaker?

What about the popularity of the CCJ among Caricom member states when compared to the British Privy Council as their final court of appeal?

But we must agree with you that, in the final analysis, it is indeed โ€œnot a valid comparisonโ€.

10. Simple Minded
    Question
    “Are. u a idiot mariposa?

Answer

Yes i am now you can take the answer and stick it up your a.rse for safe keeping
    jus saying

11. @Senator

Note the comment posted to BU’s Facebook timeline

โ€ŽJackie Stewartโ€Ž
    to
    David King
    1 hr ยท

Senator low life CASWELL Franklyn is a bare faced liar will be suing him for Defamation my mothe and I .

12. Caswell gets here and proposes he knows the family and some of what was taken place in the past between relatives
    Caswell knows dilly squat
    He needs to stick to the role of opposition instead of sticking his RH nose in the family affairs of people he never met

13. @ Miller

you are arguing something different now. you have moved away from qualifications to the question of ethics. if ethics is the issue- the ethical standard, the duty of care a lawyer owes to the client is woefully lacking in Barbados

14. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Wuh Loss ! I wonder who are designing and executing these “means tests” for Barbados.

Time to do a survey of wealth and income. How progressive is the tax structure?

How about a growth strategy?

Are we finished rearranging the deck chairs yet?

Just playing some loud music to drown out the panic.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Bush Tea you say very astutely that “No documents.No formal complaints to the authorities. No counter legal actionโ€ฆ.just a lotta vindictive shiite talkโ€ฆ..BUT this is not the problem โ€“ it is all par for the course in the social media world of 2018โ€ฆ” (my emphasis).

I applaud that clarity but find the follow on unreasonable re : “A fellow who CANNOT look after himself, CANNOT โ€ฆ. (repeat) CAN-NOT โ€ฆ. look after a whole country.”

On what basis can we say that the two lawyers have NOT looked after themselves?

As you validly point out, when wild, half truths are started on social media how can ANYONE properly look after themselves to thwart the public condemnation and verdict of guilty of whatever charge?

From what I have seen on this matter (admittedly very scant) it seems that the two lawyers have in fact acquitted themselves very well withing the legal system to address the charges…it seems that you are suggesting that they too should have initiated a social media PR campaign to refute the accusations…and thus making that tic for tac a bellwether of their competence to perform!

Flip your script oh wise one…those who are burnt in the fire of these ‘hellacious’ personal wars and survive by dint of careful, deliberative ripostes and action are very much forged with the tensile strength to take on other matters of state or otherwise with conviction.

BTW, as much as we lambaste lawyers for scamming expats, we speak less about the many expats who left BIM eons ago and similar to the story line introduced by the Senator, reach back decades later with avarice to pilfer from the estates of deceased relatives to the disadvantage of those who were here and cared for the deceased….we speak less of the honey-pot elder abuse types situations which abound in our lil island or even those situations where children callously move parents into nursing homes to a life of indifference in order to grab hold of their property….the most DEPRAVED form of elder abuse.

@JamesGreene, although it’s not political correct to say it I will: 30-0 does mean SHUT THE BAD WORD UP for at least some decent period of time…. it’s like the reverse of a fella burying his beloved wife and being back at the altar in two months or so with a new bride with whom he is besotted…surely he could have found love at first sight and it helped salve his pain, so respect due…BUT, fah real….give the children some time with the memory of their mum; give everyone some space to cherish her wonders.

In this situation give us some time to get the crap the DLP did out of our minds before the sycophants start to pontificate of what is so wrong with the administration…we CAN see the ills now just as clearly as we saw them before… the DLP couldn’t see then…from wherefore thus has this new love…this lovely 20-20 vision blossomed!

If you see a unicorn do you really need a survey to behold its wonder…NOT A SEAT FOR ANY OF THEM is a unicorn unique event …never before seen in Barbados…deal with the wondrous sight …maybe let the newly found 20-20 eye proficiency be your guide!

16. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Bushieโ€™s point is really about the INCOMPETENCE of top national leaders, to deal with what should (and will) be ROUTINE accusations via social media.”

While Caswell has divulged what he knows about the story, he admits he has no idea what happened at the estate handling when the person passed away, therefore…..we are still clueless as to what Payne or Marshall or whoever handled the estate…did… to generate anger in these ladies, if Marshall says they won the case, he should be able to present paperwork…or..someone can check the documents.

..it’s easy to forge wills, deeds and property documents, I have seen these forgeries committed by lawyers on the island first hand, no one had to tell me, I saw it myself…I know the lawyers who commit these crimes against the elderly personally, many of them are now deceased, but many are still alive.

17. Curious to know what is defamatory in Caswell’s statement.

18. @miller

to the question of CCJ v the privy council. the UK has been advising for years now that the Caribbean should move away from the privy council to its own court of last resort but some in the Caribbean are holding on until the bitter end.

i think it was Well Well who was talking about having a slave mentality. how is it that the UK can ask you to form your own court and stop using theirs but you refuse? what does that say about you?

i have worked in the UK, Canada, US and some parts of the Caribbean and i can say from my experience we have a good education system and can romp with the best but we continue to sell ourselves short.

we dont trust ourselves and even though we know the problems we dont try to solve them. the laws and systems that were left with us we treat as though they were written in stone even though the country that gave them to us, has moved on.

we must do better. we must be honest with each other and solve our own issues

19. Caswell why u making use of taxpayers money to run the blog when you should be doing the business of looking out of the affairs of the country.
    Isnt the country business more important than u you sticking your big nose in land fraud accusations

20. Here is what is being said about Caswell

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/863081250568082/

21. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“It is obvious to a blind man on a trotting horse that these two woman claims which also have affidavits to back up their accusations are not figments of their imagination let alone to go as far as to call Dale and Marshall. Frauds and land crooks daily on social media.”

So far I have not seen any Affidavits but if the claim is true these females need to get international agencies involved, they live in London and have easier access than they would if they lived in Barbados, there are places to go fir help to resolve these matters and expose the accuseds.

I know some personal injury claimants already planning to get outside help for the way the insurance companies are using the court system to mistreat and abuse them as senior citizens instead of bringing closure to their cases and paying them compensation.

…something needs to be done about predators in law firms, insurance companies and the judiciary on the island…they all need to be afraid to take a plane to go anywhere…they all need to be put on watch lists and monitored..when you make your bed you should be made to lay in it…lots more to happen.

22. @James Greene

@T Inniss

@Maripokey

DLP yardfowls come on BU With a damage cortex, due mainly to the feeding of a fatted calf program introduce by David Thompson, and his gang of DLP Bandits in 2008.They did all kinds of RH double dealing that destroyed many Barbadians livelihood.The shocking from the result BLP 30, DLP 00 really got all of you fuckup now with retrieving and encoding. who believe all Barbadians lost memory? DLP yardfowls.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ James Greene August 17, 2018 11:08 AM
    โ€œyou are arguing something different now. you have moved away from qualifications to the question of ethics. if ethics is the issue- the ethical standard, the duty of care a lawyer owes to the client is woefully lacking in Barbadosโ€

No, I am not JG!

You are implying that lawyers with the LEC qualification are better trained and qualified in the practice of law than their counterparts in the UK.

By deduction, this higher standard and better quality set by the LEC bar should be reflected in the quality of the output from the legal and justice systems, not so?

BTW, there is no way a โ€˜criminalโ€™ lawyer should ever be able to plead a clientโ€™s case before the Bar when he or she should be behind bars.

So who is the โ€˜betterโ€™ qualified lawyer?
    The Golloping QC (note the โ€˜Queen in the titleโ€™) with his LEC imprimatur (Letโ€™s empty the government coffers) on an invoice for $1.5 million?

Or Courtenay Griffiths QC, the real McCoy for a Queenโ€™s Counsel?

24. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“i think it was Well Well who was talking about having a slave mentality. how is it that the UK can ask you to form your own court and stop using theirs but you refuse? what does that say about you?”

Cause they got slave mentality, did I not tell you that is the afflication of black men, they cannot blame UK, US or anyone else for that, it’s self inflicted in this era.., after so many decades, they are lazy and always want someone else to do something for them that they can do themselves…but they know how to be competent thieves, they need no one to help them do that.

At this juncture the UK privy council is enabling them instead of kicking them to the curb and let them all handle their own business through the competent CCJ.

25. @ Dribbler
    On what basis can we say that the two lawyers have NOT looked after themselves?
    As Bushie said before…
    The ONLY antidote for such accusations are:
    -Honesty
    -Openness
    -Responsiveness
    -Humility
    โ€ฆ.this is where the incompetence reside.

If you are going to make a go of EFFECTIVELY managing a whole country – with MULTIPLE complex problems, then you cannot be bogged down by petty social media nit-picking. Since elections, these two have been hamstrung by these accusations – WITH NO SERIOUS response forthcoming.
    Why has Payne not acted as PM since the initial outcry?
    What other national business has been compromised..?

Here is the thing…
    Why is this transaction not an ‘open book affair’- in light of these two women making it an issue?
    Why are lawyers’ accounts treated like official secrets – when so many complain of being abused?

The days of hidden agendas and underhand dealings are numbered – thanks to social media.
    Either leaders learn to COUNTER the scourge with HONESTY and transparency … or they will go the way of Trump…wasting time back and forth on twitter – while the country heads to Hell in a dung basket….

26. @ miller

Courtney Griffiths? how about Jerome Lynch? Anesta Weekes? John Perry etc?

they all win some and lose some. same as LEC qualified lawyers as you call them lol

27. http://www.findfuneral.online/event/ermine-lavadney-atwell-nee-stewart-jp-phn/

“The Garden”, St. James.

The reason I believe the area in St. James was called “The Garden” was because it was used as a burying ground for Quakers, โ€ฆ.. and slaves โ€ฆ and anyone else who could not be buried by the Anglican Church.

I suspect there is a lot of history to this area, besides what is being created now in this ongoing battle.

Canes were once grown to the beach by small holders in the area!!

It is kind of like Coverley and its “Garden” field!!

28. I see she was a JP and also “a loyal member of the Barbados Labour Party”.

29. wulloss…look how things could develop

30. That this issue is taking up space on BU and other digital social outlets is a testament to the farce that passes for โ€œtransparencyโ€ in the new Govโ€™t. Whether the two MPโ€™s believe it or not this issue will reflect on the Govโ€™t as long it is being fed by the breath of suspicion.

The Minister should have anticipated the question about this at the most recent news conference and should have buried the journalists with reams of paper showing he/they acted honourably. Any journalist worth his/her salt should have turned up at the Registry to examine the Will if any, and or Grant of Probate/Letters of Administration; that avenue is also available to members of the DLP should they wish to pursue the matter, if the DLP has already done this they should get their mouthpiece(s) on the blog to share their findings (they may not wish to do so if such discoveries dispute the narrative).

In a recent debate in the Senate the Min of Information defended the Govโ€™tโ€™s hiring of Mr. Jong by expressing that the Govโ€™t was open to transparency and the right of all Bajans to know by any means possible what their Govโ€™t is doing as it moves along. Transparency is also part and parcel of MPs actions in or out of Parliament and since Bajans are inclined to believe the worse of those in the legal profession it is incumbent for those named to clear the air and quell the rumours once and for all.

31. “but not tired when it is the bile presented and repeated over and over again โ€“ by Enuff, Lorenzo, Artax, Crusoe, Watchman and the lot……”

T. Inniss

Artax “stuck in yuh craw, buddy…lol.”

32. Why is an opposition senator defending two Government MP’s?

33. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Caswell Franklyn believes ALL Customs Officers are honest and do no wrong since he represents a number of them under his Union.

We all know this to be bullshit and a lie.

I have had a bad experience with this same George Payne Law firm and have the legal documents to show it.

I am glad these people are speaking out as I would not have been aware that others have had similar experiences.

I don’t know the Stewarts or the dead sister referred to by Caswell however I have my own first hand experience to shenigans of local lawyers.

34. How is this s statement logical? You do not know so why connect the two? Agendas agendas.

35. I am not sure how Caswell Franklinโ€™s comments clear anything up as his comments appear to be nothing but hearsay. What documentation does he has to support his comments?

36. Believe these two women plus the others who have complain about the shady slimy corrupt justice system in Barbados,this kinda shady crap been happening in Bim for many moons but because of social media it’s getting exposed more.Only the well heel big up folks get justice in Barbados and that ain’t gine change regardless of which political party runs de lil rock.Politicians/lawyers and doctors just to name a few damm shady and slimy and citizens ain’t got no fair way to get any kind of justice especially if they poor.These two women produced legal documents to backup they claim but yet no one is even bothering to investigate about the shady outcome of this case,if Donville Inniss was not in the USA he would be a free man would never get prosecute by DPP and RBPF not gine even bother investigating.Barbados needs FBI/Interpol or Scotland Yard to come and investigate these corrupt slimy shady folks in high positions in Barbados.

37. come on people. all Franklyn said is what he knows about the issue. most of it surrounds what was told to him by a party involved. that is it.

38. The point is that he has shared his knowledge of the matter in a way that allows BU to discuss the matter absent the bombast attached to the Facebook discussion.

39. RE John August 17, 2018 1:50 PM

Why is an opposition senator defending two Government MPโ€™s?

WHY SHOULD HE NOT……..IF HE IS FAIR?

SHOULD OPPOSITION SENATORS ONLY OPPOSE?

40. The Senator also posted a recent comment that is complementary of the newly elected President of the DLP. It is a refreshing approach.

41. tell me, how what this woman says, in the absence of documents attesting to promises made by her mother’s father or living witnesses or affidavits from witnesses, going to help her mother’s case? yes, she maybe right, but can she prove it? this happens to a lot of families.

42. Lord that woman on the video shouting real hard.She will send yuh blood pressure up.

Anyway that is another side to the story.

Melvin Atwell if I recall was a staunch BLP man and lawyer and was NOT known to be whiter than the driven snow.

43. Caswell when yuh stick uh toe in hot water uih will get burn lol
    It seems you the liar
    Any how a question why is it that any thing to do with the ole people land and family dealings somewho you always know all these ole people and these ole people confide in you
    Jus askin

44. Edmund Hinckson called George Payne a thief – Maybe he should be called to give testimony.

Dale Marshall hangs on to George Payne coat tails and has suddenly become very,very wealthy.

No questions about that on here though.

Chris Sinckler,Donville Inniss,Estwick – that is another thing.Guilty as speculated – even though the house at Rolling Hill was later found not to be really yours Chris.Lol

But yuh name DEM – so all uh wunnah is tiefs.

Sweet.lol

45. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

I have asked you before what is the Agendas you are making reference to?

You seem to think that your confirmation or endorsement is the be all or end all.

I have documented proof.

What is your Agenda?

46. Caswell wuh happen yuh gone ran hide

47. Sometimes…..

Inheritance divided by family plus lawyers equals war.

48. Wuh loss. caswell the ole lady and daughter cutting yuh a.rse all over social.media

PLEASE SHARE THANK YOU
    SENTOR FRANKLYN CASWELL OF BARBADOS MY MOTHER AND I ARE SUING YOU FOR DEFAMATION OF CHARACTER YOU ARE A BARE FACED LIAR LIKE THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF BARBADOS DALE MARSHALL AND MINISTER OF LAND AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT UNQUALIFIED SOLICITOR GEORGE WALTON PAYNE LAND FRAUD CROOKS