[Barbados Underground] Walter Blackman responded to BU commenter TheOGazerts on the observation that Barbadians are engaged in the Charles Herbert, a rich Bajan Actuary that contrast starkly with Walter, a Bajan Actuary who is Black and forced to return to the USA to make a living – David, blogmaster

TheOGazerts, Barbados, our idyllic island home, will continue to vomit up its shocking contrasts.

It is only after listening to people on BU describing how “bright” a certain white man is to have completed a degree in actuarial science, then to have gone on to complete the tough actuarial professional exams, then to have gone on to develop a multi-million dollar actuarial company in Barbados, that I found myself making some comparisons. We both demonstrated at the university and professional exams level that we possess the intellectual capacity needed to become fully qualified pension actuaries. However, the demonstration of brain power is where the similarity abruptly ends.

Now for the contrast. He is a bright, rich, white man. I am simply a black man.

In Barbados, this is a huge, huge deal and it naturally and invariably translates into a situation where a universe of opportunities are opened to him, whilst all doors are closed to me.

So whereas someone can boast on this white man’s behalf, that he made millions from selling an actuarial company which he developed in Barbados (not sure if this is correct), I am left to inform BU readers that I was awarded an OAS Fellowship to study actuarial science at the masters degree level with the expressed intention of providing actuarial services to the National Insurance Scheme of Barbados. Alas, I completed my studies but, on my return to Barbados, was never allowed to work at the NIS. I applied for the vacant position of Supervisor of Insurance, which was advertised by the Erskine Sandiford administration. After a series of interviews, the final two candidates were Walter Blackman and Joycelyn Hinds. I attended the final interview and have heard nothing since. I discovered later that Wismar Greaves was placed in the post. Could it be that this was the point at which CLICO was being prepared for its “great” journey?

Attempts to work at ICB amounted to a mere exercise in futility.

More recently, the Government of Barbados, for the first time, advertised the position of CEO of the Financial Services Commission. I knew something was afoot so I made sure that I applied. As expected, I never even got an acknowledgement. However, Sir Frank Alleyne told Barbadians that the FSC had searched the whole world and could find no one but Mr, Randy Graham to fill the position.

What has allowed me to remain mentally strong and steadfast is my firm belief that no one selected Walter Blackman to “unfair” or destroy. This “square pegs in round holes” problem is systemic and thousands of progressive-minded Barbadians, if given the chance, can easily recount incidents of being similarly “unfaired” and discriminated against.

There is some purpose to this madness.

Back in the early to mid-1980’s, a grand designer decided to “corner” and control government’s financial services market. Individuals were handpicked to head major government revenue agencies and to follow certain career tracks (e.g. Supervisor of Insurance, NIS dept, PS/Director of Finance).

For example, Sabina Walcott was made Commissioner of Inland revenue. Grantley Smith was Director of NIS, before moving on to the PS/Director of Finance role. William Layne was Financial Controller of NIS, Supervisor of Insurance, and then PS/Director of Finance. Ian Carrington was Supervisor of Insurance, Director of NIS, and has now moved into a PS/Director of finance role.

Any person or agency wishing to investigate the nature and state of the government’s finances from 1985-2015 is well-advised to start by questioning and interviewing these four individuals along with Erskine Griffith, a former PS/Director of finance, who was ultimately “rewarded” with a minister of agriculture’s salary. These persons were in the best position to know how come government’s financial rules could be violated so easily, and how come the problems raised by the Auditor General for so long could be so contemptuously disregarded with no repercussions or consequences.

With respect to the FSC, every Barbadian watched in disbelief as the organization did little or nothing to protect the rights and benefits of CLICO’s policyholders, or to punish the guilty persons responsible for the scandalous raid on the insurance company. However, when it was discovered that the Judicial Manager was about to publish a report which proved beyond the shadow of a doubt that David Thompson initiated the steps which led to the CLICO raid, the FSC sprang into action and tried to block the publication of the report. Was this the reason why the nephew of David Thompson was put in the CEO post? Was it sheer coincidence that he left the post after all attempts to block the publication of the JM report failed?

We castigate, shun, and in some cases, jail uneducated black Barbadians for their acts of ignorance. At the other extreme, we block well-educated black Barbadians.from taking up positions commensurate with their experience and training, and from participating meaningfully in public life. Participation in public life is now being characterized by corruption, malfeasance, and deceit. Instinct tells me that a social backlash cannot be very far away…

320 responses to “Walter the Actuary a BLACK man | Charles the Actuary a White man”

1. MB

I doubt CH ever applied for Govt posts so no way to compare.

He must have as his first job was teaching at HC as an assistant master.

He told me once he would always arrive early for any get togethers of the teaching staff but try as he might, he would always find Fanny there before him.

He told me Fanny would greet him effusively and then tell him “when two or more are gathered together, it is time for a liquor”!!

So really and truly there is a way to compare.

In the Government Service Charles never reached beyond Assistant Master …. even although people claim he is white!!

So in the Government Service, Charles rose to the level of Assistant Master and left, Walter rose to the level of Actuary and left!!

They both have one thing in common, they both left the Government Service, … but … Walter progressed farther than he did.

Perhaps he was a “Blackman” and thus, privileged!!

2. @John
    Apples and oranges…
    How on earth could Charles rise to the level of Actuary at HC?
    Could Assistant Master be Assistant Headmaster.? Just asking..
    Twistorian. Just stating.

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JOHN
    I LIKE THE WAY YOU MOCK THESE JOKERS WITHOUT CURSING……..JUST WORDS

They both have one thing in common, they both left the Government Service, … but … Walter progressed farther than he did.

Perhaps he was a “Blackman” and thus, privileged!!

IT IS FUNNY THAT SOME HERE THINK YOU ARE A FOOL…….THOUGH CLEARLY VERY BRIGHT

JOHN YOU NEED TO SING FROM THEIR HYMN BOOK AND THEIR SHEET MUSIC, AND DANCE TO THIER TUNE

IN BARBADOS, IF FOLK DONT KNOW OR UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU ARE DOING, THEY ASSUME INCORRECTLY THAT YOU DONT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING

IN THE 80’S I WAS RENOVATING AN OLD HOUSE
    I ENCLOSED THE OLD GALLERY
    THEY SAID THE DOC BUILDING A BOX………UNTIL…….
    I TURNED TWO WINDOWS ON ONE SIDE INTO DOORS AND BUILT A PORCH THE LENGTH OF THAT SIDE

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dr. GP

MY FELLOW MYOPE SALVE,

Dr ole man is guessing that, given your discipline, and the school you went to, and the years you speak of, you were taught Latin by this who would have said “You have to know Latin if you want to be a doctor”

Dr ole man have already said dat he ent been to Harsun so ammm a feller can’t ammmmm retract.

[[ square brackets time.

You See how every time de ole man say de word Mugabe dere is a possee dat does count the number of times de hour of the day and the fact it was capitalized it not? A FELLER can’t give motivational talks here for badword without de BrownShirts tekking down huh name Dr GP]]

But here is the thing

You said and I quote “…TO BEGIN WID SHE DESPITE HER ELOQUENCE, HAS NOT THE COMMON SENSE TO REALIZE THAT “A PINT POT CAN ONLY HOLD A PINT…”

You dun know thst you pun dem people list TOO?

I do know that she DOES HAVE THAT COMMON SENSE but the problem Dr. GP is where can she incorporate the “quart” containers or the container that can hold one “peck”?

You dun realise that the mere use of the British System if Liquid measure as opposed to the Systeme Internationale has gone over the head of many if the sheeple?

And that is precisely what she Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley is facing “the harvest is plentiful but the labourers are few “

5. Georgie Porgie

Much to the disgust or amazement of some in this forum…….I do not have any interest in Donald Trump or American politics.

A few weeks ago, I happened to view the exchange between Goldberg and Pirro and subsequently read a number of articles describing what transpired before, during and after the show.

There endeth mine interest in that issue.

I too am a fan of cricket….

……but I’m seeing a trend where baseball, American football and ice hockey are slowly becoming the preferred sports, especially among younger Barbadians.

6. “wHY DO YOU CALL JOHN A TRUMP POUCH LICKER? IS IT BECAUSE HE WHITE?”

To be honest, I did not know John is white.

But judging from reading the content of some of his contributions, I’m of the opinion he’s a racist.

You may not agree……….but that’s just my honest opinion.

7. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Bush Tea July 30, 2018 7:35 AM

“@ Walter
    Life is not intended to be fair. It never was.
    People with your talents should expect an even less balanced playing field… and must understand that you have the wherewithal to, not only deal with this… but to overcome it (You should have BUPPED) :).

Anyway …. Bushie’s time for whacking has long passed.
    No point in whacking dead weeds…”

Bush Tea,
    Philosophically, I understand where you are coming from.
    Let us reason together.

If you allow your mind to lift off and circle over Barbados, when you look down you will see a ham-shaped piece of rock which houses roughly 300,000 people. From that height, the variations in housing stock and land ownership will paint the unmistakable patterns of what I call “democratic apartheid”.

White people have chosen their properties and are quite prepared to live in enclaves. They are guided by unsigned covenants that psychologically prevent them from selling their properties to black people and welcoming them to the neighbourhood. As we speak, some black person is trying to buy a property too near a white person and that white person is using whatever means are considered necessary to prevent the sale.

Black people, historically, had become accustomed to living in villages which sprang up near to the sugar plantations and the towns. For those blacks who were not able to get properties close to whites, social mobility manifested itself in the ability to secure a mortgage and move out of the village into the newly created parks, heights, and terraces. You will easily see these housing projects ( started in the 1970’s as the first wave of the baby boomers started to secure employment in the banks, insurance companies, civil service etc.) dotting the landscape.This group is the most heavily indebted group in Barbados and ought to be very concerned about the economic position in which Barbados finds itself today.
    Those blacks who show no signs of upward social mobility (uneducated, chronically unemployed) are sidelined and put into the two lowest remaining categories – “ghetto” dwellers, and squatters.

Non-white, non-black people (“people with curly hair from over away”) make up the last group. Some members of this disparate group historically concentrated their property ownership in the Lakes Folly/Fontabelle area. Today, they seem to buying property any and everywhere. They don’t seem to be using mortgages either. We don’t have a lot of private sector business activity being undertaken by this group to create high levels of employment for Barbadians. So that begs the question: Where is the money coming from that is being used to buy all of these properties in Barbados?

Every working day, these groups interact with each other for about 8 hours in a frenzy of legal, illegal, co-operative, and confrontational activities and then scurry back to their apartheid homesteads.. All blacks in Barbados are viewed primarily as targeted consumers and are almost never invited to participate in any legal wealth creating ventures. There is no sense of national purpose, pride, or common goal in most of the activities carried on by these groups. In fact, their agenda is so diametrically opposed that they hardly act in concert with each other.
    Politicians were supposed to provide the “policy glue” to bind all of these groups together and imbue them with a sense of national destiny and purpose. Instead, like the African chiefs during the heyday of slavery, the local politicians have turned blacks into the “protein” needed to ensure the growth and prosperity of the other groups.

Instead of using the talents of all Barbadians for the good of the country, and producing a song with a nice national melody, our politicians, through short-sightedness and self-interest, have deliberately created conditions to spit out a cacophony of useless discordant national sounds.
    The result of all of this is that Barbadians are turned off. They have become disengaged.
    For most of our lives, we have enjoyed our religion, our politics, and our cricket. Today, some of our priests are nothing more than immoral and deceitful religious “speculators” who have booked their trip to Heaven by riding on a politician’s coat tail.. Our politics are in shambles, and we have very good reasons to believe that some of our politicians are unrepentant crooks. In cricket, the empty stands say it all. Our economy is in shambles. Our social fabric is being torn apart. Is there anything readily available that can provide a little “chicken soup for our soul”?

I have listened to you, Georgie Porgie, and others.

Intelligent, honest, upright Barbadians seem to be losing hope and urging their fellow citizens not to waste their time by even thinking about the country. I know that you believe that we have passed the point of no return, and all that is left now are sackcloth and ashes (the signs of mourning for the dead). Many times, I ask myself: “When all is said and done, Can Bush Tea be right? Has Barbados reached the point where no feasible solutions exist?”

I always get the same answer: “In the end, Bush Tea may be proven to be right. However, we must spend every minute of our lives trying to prove him wrong. We cannot give up. If we do, we drown.”

8. Artax
    July 31, 2018 10:37 AM

“wHY DO YOU CALL JOHN A TRUMP POUCH LICKER? IS IT BECAUSE HE WHITE?”
    To be honest, I did not know John is white.

How can I be white if my ancestors on both by grand mother’s and grand father’s side were former slaves?!!

Since I am descended from slaves I must be black and since I am black I can’t be a racist!!

9. @Artax
    Please review and correct.

“but I’m seeing a trend where baseball, American football and ice hockey are slowly becoming the preferred sports, especially among younger Barbadians.”

Say It isn’t so.

10. To all the good folks of BU “Have a great day”
    To Mariposa “Have a great day”
    Later folks.

11. Walter M Blackman Avatar
    Walter M Blackman

piece uh de cock yeah tight July 31, 2018 9:58 AM

“In his inimical style of skullduggery Walter PPK went to The Luminary Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch ‘s column and highjacked the topic along DBLP lines and every one of his sycophants went there and lapped up the milk….

AS FOR ME WALTER, let me ask you these 2 questions

Given the weathervane practices that you employ so regularly (not excluding the stabbing of Sandiford in 1991 I going ask Artaxerxes for this pronouncements by you) what Do you believe in?

What are you prepared to do for your country?”

TheOGazerts July 30, 2018 5:20 AM

“@WB
    Identify and ignore.

Stay sensible.”.

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JOHN

Since I am descended from slaves I must be black and since I am black I can’t be a racist!!

THAT IS A GOOD STROKE! LOGICAL EVEN IF NOT A SOUND ARGUMENT.
    CAUSE IF YOU AINT WHITE…….THEN I BLUE! OR COLOUR BLIND OR YOU HAVE CHANGED COLOUR SINCE I SAW YOU LAST ON THE WALKS IN 1998 MURDAH

MR BLACKMAN

YOU ARE TOO BRIGHT FOR BOUT HERE
    YOUR PROBLEM MIGHT NOT HAVE BEEN A POLITICAL PROBLEM, BUT ONE OF BEING PERCIEVED TO BE ALWAYS RIGHT

I ONCE HAD A WISE OLDER NURSE CALLED ME ASIDE AND SAY TO ME THUS

DR GP, YOU MUST NOT ALWAYS BE RIGHT……….PEOPLE DONT LIKE IT WHEN YOU ARE ALWAYS RIGHT

I EVENTUALLY LEARNED THAT SHE WAS RIGHT!

YOU ASK Has Barbados reached the point where no feasible solutions exist?”
    THE ANSWER IS YES

BECAUSE FROM AROUND 1980 THINGS CHANGED DRASTICALLY
    INTER ALIA, WE REJECTED THE WISDOM AND IN PUT OF HONEST UPRIGHT PEOPLE WHO WANTED TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND THE MOST EFFICIENT THING

WE RAN A WAY FOLK WHO SINCERELY WERE CONTENTED TO WORK IN THE CIVIL SERVICE

ARTAX

Artax July 31, 2018 10:29 AM

Georgie Porgie Much to the disgust or amazement of some in this forum…….I do not have any interest in Donald Trump or American politics.

NOR DO I . I THINK THAT AMERICANS EXCEL IN DOING SO VERY MANY THINGS WRONG AND THE HARD WAY

BUT WATCHING TRUMP SEND THEM ALL CRAZY IS LOTS OF FUN…JUST LIKE WHEN WE WATCH A GOOD PIECE OF CONTROLLED SWIPING A LA TONY WHITE, LESTER KING, REMEMBER THE NAME BRATHWAITE ETC…LOL

13. Walter Blackman you say…”Please Stress then if as you say the fact that an actuary has to operate according to a code of ethics… He has to remain above board at all times and must be seen as the epitome of integrity. No organization contemplating corrupt practices is interested in having an actuary around.”

Do you then agree that Charles Herbert follows these same standards as an actuary or would he as a wealthy Individual and CEO risk his Reputation and Livelihood dealing in the estimated street value of the recent debacle that if lynching was allowed he would have lost his head?

You are alluding/saying that you are pure and it the standard that is in the Civil Service that is at fault. Your plight may not be without merit but in my life I have found that when I point my fore finger they are three more fingers pointing back at me. So it behoves me to examine myself first. After that introspection you can point out injustice.

But previous sentiment @ Caswell Franklyn of a newer bigger opposition by the two back benchers is very insightful. July 30, 2018 6:08 PM Caswell Franklyn July 30, 2018 8:33 AM.

https://www.brainyquote.com/photos_tr/en/c/clarencedarrow/169240/clarencedarrow1.jpg

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Artax July 31, 2018 10:29 AM

A few weeks ago, I happened to view the exchange between Goldberg and Pirro and subsequently read a number of articles describing what transpired before, during and after the show.
    CAN YOU PLEASE KINDLY GIVE US THE LINKS, SIR?

15. Georgie Porgie
    July 31, 2018 11:11 AM

JOHN
    THAT IS A GOOD STROKE! LOGICAL EVEN IF NOT A SOUND ARGUMENT.
    CAUSE IF YOU AINT WHITE…….THEN I BLUE! OR COLOUR BLIND OR YOU HAVE CHANGED COLOUR SINCE I SAW YOU LAST ON THE WALKS IN 1998 MURDAH

I am neither black nor white as I have said repeatedly before … I am a human, like you and Atrax …. even the Commodore is a human too!!

16. Bullshitting the weakest slaves over and over continues to work out just fine.

https://www.facebook.com/DAGGERMASTER/videos/10217118379691295/?t=3

17. One of the so called pros for voting Clinton and not Trump was that Clinton was the vastly experienced and Trump yet had to prove himself!!!

She was described as the most qualified person on earth to be president.

Trump, from the private sector where success is measured by results, merely pointed to the results she had achieved in 30 odd years of her vast experience.

Zip, nada, nothing, disaster …. a zero!!

What exactly are Mia’s results to date after almost 30 years in Parliament?

18. They just tweak the same lies over and over and the people believe it every time, then the same victimized people, through their dumb, useless governments waste decades disenfranchising their own selves..

.who knew the UK is the biggest exporter of medical Cannabis all this time is UK while they they made sure everyone else is still arrested for the plant.

https://www.facebook.com/ajplusenglish/videos/1184451255029713/?t=5

19. Walter Blackman

Your post @ 10:46 is the most thought provoking one I have read in a very,very long time here on this site !

Please know that I agree with all of your sentiments.

I am struggling here to put my thoughts together because my senses/emotions have been so stirred .Anyway I will have a selah moment for the time being.

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JOHN

I SEE WHERE YOU ARE COMING FROM WHEN YOU SAY I am neither black nor white as I have said repeatedly before … I am a human

IN MY INTERACTIONS WITH YOU, EVEN AS A LIKKLE BOY way back, I KNOW THAT YOU ARE A NICE SINCERE PERSON

BUT YOU LIE WHEN YOU SAY THAT …. even the Commodore is a human too!!

HE IS A DEVIL! very serpentine, and satanic!

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

John July 31, 2018 11:35 AM

One of the so called pros for voting Clinton and not Trump was that Clinton was the vastly experienced and Trump yet had to prove himself!!!

She was described as the most qualified person on earth to be president.

Trump, from the private sector where success is measured by results, merely pointed to the results she had achieved in 30 odd years of her vast experience.

Zip, nada, nothing, disaster …. a zero!!

What exactly are Mia’s results to date after almost 30 years in Parliament?

ALSO ZIP NADA DISASTER AND A ZERO…..BUT LIKE CLINTON, IT IS SAID, OR IT IS KNOWN THAT SHE IS A WICKER! THAT IS REAL IMPORTANT THESE DAYS YA KNOW!

I THINK THE POOR LADY DENTIST HAD TO GO SHE PREFERRED DICK TO WICK–WHICH IS NORMAL

22. “They don’t seem to be using mortgages either. We don’t have a lot of private sector business activity being undertaken by this group to create high levels of employment for Barbadians. So that begs the question: Where is the money coming from that is being used to buy all of these properties in Barbados?”

Drug running, gun running, money laundering, human trafficking and whatever they can steal from whomever..

23. TheOGazerts

All you have to do is go into any of the posh or ordinary sports bars and rum shops in Barbados anytime during the baseball, NBA, NFL and NHL seasons……

……..and listen to the youngsters talk about sports.

24. Now that Walter is highlighting what we all know about those exministers who became sudden millionaires and those they helped acquire hundreds of millions of taxpayers and pensioners money to continue the facade of calling themselves millionaires and magnets..all combined being bottom feeding common class small island thieves….hopefully the Mia government enacts and proclaims this Integrity Legislation this year AS PROMISED..complete with at least a 15 year statute of limitations, 25 years would be ideal, but a 2 or 5 a year statute of limitations as maliciously drafted by Simmons and Haynes et al are a direct insult to the population…as we were saying before the Herbert drug bust..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/31/all-unexplained-wealth-must-be-dealt-with/

“States have tended to focus on people in public life, hence integrity in public life legislation. Generally speaking, illicit enrichment laws extend to all public officials meaning anyone who provides a public service or performs a public function and not just elected officials or persons in public life. In Guyana for instance, the relevant legislation (the Integrity Commission Act) extends to the possession of unexplained wealth by any “person who is or was… in public life.” The legislation allows law enforcement to prosecute public officials for possessing the illicitly obtained funds at any point in time even if those funds were obtained decades prior to the arrest.

But we need to widen the ambit of the laws. We also need to provide law enforcement agencies (where the evidence is insufficient) with the ability to pursue public officials and others suspected of engaging in bribery, embezzlement, or other activities which resulted in unexplained wealth.”

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ MY GOOD FRIEND PIECE WHO WROTE

You dun know thst you pun dem people list TOO?

I THINK YOU DUN KNOW THAT I DONT CARE WUH LIST I PUN. I HAVE BEEN ON DE BLP LIST FOR AT LEAST 20 YEARS NOW OR MORE LOL

THEY ACTUALLY HAVE IT WRITTEN THAT I MUST NEVER BE EMPLOYED IN BARBADOS AGAIN LOL

ONE OF MY BROTHERS WARNED ME THEN THUS
    BOY YOU BETTA LEFF BOUT HEY…….DEY AINT NUTIN BOUT HEY FOR YOU

WHAT I DID WRONG WAS DAT 1O YEARS BEFORE THEN I REFUSED THE OPPORTUNITY, UNLIKE WALTER, TO GO AWAY TO STUDY FOR THE MPH AND ALSO WHEN THEY WERE LOOKING TO TRAIN A GERONTOLOGIST

YOU SAY THAT MIA HAS A PROBLEM IN WHERE where can she incorporate the “quart” containers or the container that can hold one “peck”? AND DAT FACING HER IS THAT
    “the harvest is plentiful but the labourers are few “
    WUH SHE EXPECT?
    THE CHASE WAY THE QUALIFIED WILLING LABOURERS WHO HAD ABILITY

THERE WAS A MAN AT MOH WHO HATED MY GUTS BUT ABOUT ME HE HAD TO SAY “GP IS A WORKER…..HE IS NOT A SHIRKER”…….BUT HE JOINED WID DEM TO CUT ME OFF SHORT…… BUT MY GOD HAD PROVIDED FOR ME AND HE PROTECTS ME

ONE COLD NIGHT I WAS FEELING DOWN AND THE WORD CAME TO ME
    “Foxes have dens and birds have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.” ..
    AND I THOUGHT IF DURING HIS THREE YEAR MINISTRY THE LORD COULD SAY THAT……THEN I SHOULD BE VERY HAPPY, CAUSE I HAVE NEVER IN MY LIFE GONE SLEEP HUNGRY OR NOT HAD A ROOF OVER MY HEAD

26. Charles Herbert, Walter Blackman and GP have two things is common.

All three worked for the GOB and all three left.

…. two of them atleast in utter disgust!!

Must be something to learn from these simple undisputable facts!!

27. John,
    CH applying for Govt post as an Actuary is what I should have said, certainly what I intended. Probably very true that there are many times more Math teacher positions than acturial positions, so there can be no comparison.

28. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Freedom Crier July 30, 2018 10:39 AM

“…….. it has to do with the employ-ability of the employee because Black Organizations did not hire him! So it has nothing to do with Race it has to do with employ-ability!!”

Walter Blackman July 30, 2018 9:39 PM
    “…..Thus, you will easily see that our discussion has absolutely nothing “to do with the employ-ability of the employee because Black Organizations did not hire him!”

Walter Blackman July 30, 2018 9:39 PM
    “The civil service today is exactly where it was planned to be. I do not think that there is one actuary in the entire service. It is evident, through the Auditor-General’s reports, that little or no accountability exists. In this environment of lax financial management….”

Freedom Crier July 31, 2018 11:14 AM
    “You are alluding/saying that you are pure and it the standard that is in the Civil Service that is at fault. …… I have found that when I point my fore finger they are three more fingers pointing back at me. So it behoves me to examine myself first. After that introspection you can point out injustice.”

Freedom Crier,
    It has indeed been a pleasure speaking with you. Have a nice day.

29. lol..Freedomcrier is one of BUs resident frauds.

30. WB wrote,
    White people have chosen their properties and are quite prepared to live in enclaves. They are guided by unsigned covenants that psychologically prevent them from selling their properties to black people and welcoming them to the neighbourhood. As we speak, some black person is trying to buy a property too near a white person and that white person is using whatever means are considered necessary to prevent the sale.

Yes there are some white people like that. However, there are many Bajan Whites that lived in racially mixed neighbourhoods and got along very well in an environment of mutual respect. I was raised from birth next door to a black family, the patriarch of which was a primary school Headmaster. As leaders discussing racial topics we must all try not to see all groups as containing one type of person, they dont, but contain a wide range of views and actions.

31. MoneyBrain
    July 31, 2018 1:13 PM

WB wrote,
    White people have chosen their properties and are quite prepared to live in enclaves. They are guided by unsigned covenants that psychologically prevent them from selling their properties to black people and welcoming them to the neighbourhood.

Take a walk through Belleville and look at all the white faces that will be at their windows looking out!!

32. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

The reason that many of us hate others of us is because some of us see what others of us are doing clear as a breadfruit.

Amidst all the bluster and white man & actuary contra black man and actuary (doubly black because of your surname) you penned a rare gem proving the ole adage about a broken clock being right twice a day…

You said and I quote “…Instead of using the talents of all Barbadians for the good of the country, and producing a song with a nice national melody, our politicians, through short-sightedness and self-interest, have deliberately created conditions to spit out a cacophony of useless discordant national sounds…”

That my man HAS TO BE OUR INDIVIDUAL & COLLECTIVE FOCUS to demand of these clowns what WE WANT and do so without relenting in our application.

Politicians have no power UNLESS WE GIVE THEM THAT POWER.

And we give them that power when we are slaves to the train tracks that they lay down for us as opposed to choosing the honest, keeping them honest and telling them where we want our tracks to go.

Up until now you are saying how “dis body get choose over you and de nxt body get choose and dis is why we is where we is” BUT NOT ONCE, IN ALL THAT LAMENTING, I ENT SEE OR HEAR YOU, IN THE TIME LEADING UP TO THE ELECTION, NOR AFTERWARDS, give one badword idea about what you would counter as a strategy to show your whizz kid competences

NOT ONE BADWORD TIME.

And that is why I, poor black man that I am will forever comment that you seek to emote WITHOUT REALLY GIVING ANYONE ANYTHING CONCRETE as an alternative while blowing smoke up the pooches of the masses!

I am a homophobe, and i sorry if i offend any LBGTs, but even when a specific nubian princess here tries to do that, I doan ease up pun she and she is a lovely lady, and you is a man and I doan get any excitement as i see you blowing air in these my nether parts.

Give us something that we can chew on Walter, tell these your loyal believers, what the Whiz Actuary Walter PPK would do

Just one little world changing option that will give a feller, WHO ENT GOT A CLUE BOUT FINANCING, some meat to say, well at least Walter say “x” and then Artaxerxes or Northern Observer or Hal Austin and the other financial fellers mek some comments to PROOVE TO THE OLE MAN DAT YOU IS JES A POSTURER and a magician and an adept with smoke and mirrors

But until then you going be just a Chris Stinkliar pretender to the throne who does talk big and produce nothing

33. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

And BTW.

Charles Herbert the White Boy and Actuary put up his qualifications for everybody to see (AND SOME OF WE TO VERIFY) pun de internet.

You HAVE NEVER PUT YOURS UP.

Be so kind to do so so that at least we can compare Apples with Apples OR DONT YOU HAVE ONE TO SHARE?

IDENTIFY WITH THAT or as de ole man is sure and will bet a few grantleys IGNORE DAT!!!

heheheheheheh

34. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

The first item is in suspense grateful if you could retrieve so that Walter PPK gets the full context of these 2 posts

35. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

John July 31, 2018 12:40 PM

“Charles Herbert, Walter Blackman and GP have two things is common.

All three worked for the GOB and all three left.

…. two of them atleast in utter disgust!!

Must be something to learn from these simple undisputable facts!!”

John,
    Oh yes. There are lots to learn.
    By the time, at age 18, that I started working for the civil service, I had lived a totally black experience. There were no white students at Wesley Hall Primary school. There were a few white students at Combermere and they sat in the classrooms with us because it was compulsory. As soon as break or lunchtime came around, they went off and huddled together in some quiet section of the school grounds. So it was the black students who pitched, ran, played sports, fought, got caned, and fully enjoyed all of the facets of school life. We really did not mind things being that way.Most of us left school, knowing that white people lived somewhere in Barbados, but truth be told, up to that point, they had had very little impact upon our lives. We were young, black, free, confident and ready to take on the working world. Barbados was a black country and it belonged to us. So we thought.

As a young, inquisitive civil servant, I quickly picked up the workings of the adult world, I connected the dots and saw how male civil servants in senior positions routinely used the power of their office to generate sexual rewards. Enough females played this game to keep these “abusive” men contented. Of course, all of this “friggin’ in the rigging” worked its way right up to the point where appointments and promotions were determined, and thus created much hatred and mistrust.

Those female workers (your sisters, aunts, nieces, mothers, cousins) who clung protectively to their “honey” were constantly harassed for being late, for taking more than an hour for lunch, for not doing good work etc…… Eventually, they were hounded out of the ministry or department, sometimes sent home, and replaced by someone who hopefully was more liberal in their thinking, and generous and accommodating in their giving. Life was not easy either for any male in the department if a female worker liked him, but the boss wanted her and she was not co-operating.
    I am sure the system in those days would have allowed the senior civil servant – politician partnership to siphon off a few million dollars but corruption did not generally trickle down to the lower ranks of the service..
    I saw how lust, a sense of power, envy, greed, and malice (all human characteristics) could take hold of black minds and lead them to treat their black sisters and brothers with little or no respect. Based upon my observation of how black people treated each other, my youthful, untrained mind was racing towards the conclusion that “black people are cursed”.
    I was now passing through a very dangerous psychological phase during which I had to soak up much anger, frustration, resentment, and disappointment. It must be stressed that I felt all of these negative emotions before encountering white people. It was all black based.

Was my experience unique? Do a lot of Barbadians reach the point where they feel disappointed about black people long before they encounter white people? Whenever, there is an explosion of violence or a lashing out of some sort in this society, the victims are always black.
    What would motivate black individuals to take up guns and pass through the village or “ghetto” just to spray black people with bullets? What really is the cause of our black-on-black violence?

36. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

The Honourable Blogmaster has not yet retrieved my leader blog item but he will soon.

In the meantime I’d like to provide a template using mr herbert’s CV for you to pattern your own for the review of the enquiring bajan

“…A. CHARLES HERBERT, B.Sc. (Hons.), F.I.A

Charles Herbert became Chairman of the Goddard Group of Companies on 5 February 2013, following the retirement of Mr. Joseph N. Goddard. Mr. Herbert spent 15 years of his professional career with The Barbados Mutual Life Assurance Society, now Sagicor Life Inc. (“Sagicor”), and at the time of his resignation from Sagicor, was a member of its Senior Management team responsible for the Actuarial, Group Insurance and Pension Departments….”

Enquiring minds await your own version…

37. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

MoneyBrain July 31, 2018 1:13 PM

“WB wrote,

Yes there are some white people like that.”

MoneyBrain,
    If there are some white people like that. how do we go about changing their attitude and outlook?
    I am not being malicious in any way as I try to raise these issues. It is those attitudes in need of change, on the part of whites and blacks, that I am trying to highlight. Yes, to be fair, I agree there are some “Bajan Whites that lived in racially mixed neighbourhoods and got along very well in an environment of mutual respect.”.

This is a sensitive topic and will arouse some sensitivities. That said, I have no difficulty or problem in adjusting my statement to read: Some white people have chosen their properties and are quite prepared to live in enclaves.

Thanks for the feedback.

38. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Piece Uh De Cock Yeah Tight July 31, 2018 2:43 PM

“And BTW.

Charles Herbert the White Boy and Actuary put up his qualifications for everybody to see (AND SOME OF WE TO VERIFY) pun de internet.

You HAVE NEVER PUT YOURS UP.

Be so kind to do so so that at least we can compare Apples with Apples OR DONT YOU HAVE ONE TO SHARE?

IDENTIFY WITH THAT or as de ole man is sure and will bet a few grantleys IGNORE DAT!!!”

Piece Uh De Cock Yeah Tight,
    Here are my qualifications:
    B.Sc. (Public administration) – Upper 2nd Class Honours from UWI, Cave Hill
    M.Sc (Actuarial Science) – University of Nebraska – Lincoln
    Fellow, Conference of Consulting Actuaries (FCA)
    Associate of the Society of Actuaries (ASA)
    Enrolled Actuary (EA)
    Member, American Academy of Actuaries (MAAA)

So we have provided the qualifications for Charles Herbert and Walter Blackman for you to lap up like milk.
    Now show us yours.

OR DONT YOU HAVE ONE TO SHARE?
    heheheheh

39. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THERE IS SOMETHING I JUST THOUGHT OF THAT I WILL ADD

AS A YOUNGSTER IN MY CHURCH GROUP, BECAUSE I COULD STUDY AND SPEAK WELL, I WAS ASKED TO SPEAK IN BIBLE CONFERENCES.

AT ONE OF THESE EVENTS IN THE EARLY 80’S, AN ELDERLY MAN SAID SOMETHING TO ME WHICH I LATER REALIZED WAS RECORDED IN PROVERBS 18:16 THUS….

A man’s gift maketh room for him, and bringeth him before great men.

I HAVE FOUND THIS TO BE PARTIALLY TRUE

A man’s gift maketh room for him BUT ONLY WHEN THERE ARE GREAT MEN AROUND……….NOT PETTY MEN WHO ENVIES HIS GIFT, OR CANT APPRECIATE HIS GIFT

TO SUCH, A MAN’S GIFT CAN BE HIS DESTRUCTION

40. wdf! Walter actually listed qualifications.😂😂😂😂🤣 muh belly. Talk about attention seeking.

41. Walter Blackman
    July 31, 2018 3:21 PM

So if I were to summarise this contribution would it be correct to sat that Civil Servants spend their time fooping one another?

42. …. and the tax payers fund them!!

43. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Enuff July 31, 2018 4:35 PM

wdf! Walter actually listed qualifications.😂😂😂😂🤣 muh belly. Talk about attention seeking.

TheOGazerts July 30, 2018 5:20 AM

“@WB
    Identify and ignore.

Stay sensible.”.

44. “WB wrote,

Here is a second test of your numeracy skills!!!

How many enclaves such as the ones you describe exist in Barbados?

What percentage white ownership qualifies these enclaves to be so classified?

45. If there are some white people like that. how do we go about changing their attitude and outlook?

What about the Muslim enclaves?

Do we need to change their attitude and outlook?

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Enuff July 31, 2018 4:35 PM

wdf! Walter actually listed qualifications.😂😂😂😂🤣 muh belly. Talk about attention seeking.

MAN YOU NOT FAIR MAN ENUFF
    PIECE GOADED THE MAN TO STATE HIS QUALIFICATIONS AND HE DID SO
    HOW IS THAT ATTENTION SEEKING?

@JOHN July 31, 2018 4:43 PM

Walter Blackman
    July 31, 2018 3:21 PM

So if I were to summarise this contribution would it be correct to sat that Civil Servants spend their time fooping one another?
    …. and the tax payers fund them!!
    EXACTLY!
    SOME PEOPLE LIE DOWN IN ORDER TO GET UP! LOL MURDAH

47. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

T.Inniss July 31, 2018 11:38 AM

Walter Blackman

Your post @ 10:46 is the most thought provoking one I have read in a very,very long time here on this site !

Please know that I agree with all of your sentiments.

I am struggling here to put my thoughts together because my senses/emotions have been so stirred .Anyway I will have a selah moment for the time being.

T.Inniss,
    Barbadians do not agree so readily with each other. Seeing that you recently appeared on the scene, I am inclined to believe that you came in from overseas.
    Which country did you immigrate from?

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

SO PIECE
    NOW THAT WALTER HAS LISTED HIS QUALIFICATIONS WILL YOU CONTINUE TO GOAD HIM OR TRY TO GIVE HIM GOADIES?

49. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

The thing Walter about have a quasi photographic memory is that when something is not in place where it was said to be our ADD minds MISS IT!

Now here is the thing about this submission of yours that was said under pressure, AT NO TIME WHEN YOUR WERE CANVASSING HERE ON BU and you were asked what your qualifications were DID YOU EVEN PROVIDE THEM.

Now let de ole man show you why you continue to be a liar.

BECAUSE EVEN WHEN ASKED FOR YOUR CV all the ef that you have done is to provide your ammmmmm qualifications

YOU ARE A FRAUD WALTER and the reason that you cannot fill in your details is because there are none that validate your whizz kid self proclaimed status.

Additionally, Walter give us poor bajans who have been blessed with your mighty return to the isle of BIM, in the classic vein of the jackass that Jesus the Christ rode to his triumphant entry to Jerusalem “there was a shout bebefore my ears and plams before my feet”

I would provide you with my CV effing you would promise not to share it with your 30-0 defeatists cuase dem fellers still agry wid de ole man AND AC/Mariposa for the Stoopid Cartoons campaign dat lik up wunna badwords.

heheheheheheh