One immediate consequence of the annihilation of the Democratic Labour Party in the last general election in May has been to create a vacuum in the populist democratic discourse that requires for its optimal existence the publication of an alternative view to the official dogma.

I am already aware that there exists what I called in a recent column, “a semblance of opposition” in the form of a Leader of the Opposition in the Lower House, and his two Senatorial appointments in the Upper Chamber but, apart from one member of this grouping, who I know for certain will not allow anyone to think for him on any issue, this opposition does not appear to enjoy as yet a sufficient degree of distance from the governing administration to be regarded as a consistent source of alternative views.

In any case, I am speaking of a more radical (in the true sense of that word) alternative point of view; one bred out of the instinctual populist analysis that would take each official political assertion with a grain of salt and synthesize it for accordance with what the commentator considers best for the country.

Granted, these are early days yet, and the governing Barbados Labour Party administration is still in its “honeymoon” period, and thereby entitled to some concession from the citizenry in respect of any errors of judgment that it may commit.

What ought not to happen, however, in a democracy is that this sentiment should result in any alternative view being considered as heretic and its proponent being instinctively deemed a pariah whose views do not deserve a hearing.

Already, I can sense that there are those who are uncomfortable with any criticism of this administration and more so, if that critique comes from a member of, or one considered to be a supporter of the outgone Democratic Labour Party [DLP] administration. Frequently, on the various social media, one encounters the expression of sentiments that suggest that any view critical of an initiative by the current administration is to be abhorred on the basis that on May 25 of this year, the electorate determined that there should be no opposition to the BLP government and moreover, that the DLP should have no further say in the affairs of state.

The first of these propositions runs counter to our traditional understanding of the democratic praxis and, as recent events have demonstrated, the framers of our Constitution never contemplated the occurrence of such a scenario. That it has eventuated may be owed to factors not immediately relevant to this discussion, but it is at least doubtful whether the result of the election unequivocally indicated the preference of the populace for a one-party state, where “no [other]damn dog barks”.

While the latter contention may be electorally true, at least at a parliamentary level, that rejection should be perceived rather as one qua DLP parliamentarian/candidate and not qua Barbadian citizen, so that even a member of that party that was rejected by his or her constituency should still retain the civic entitlement to air publicly his or her views on the prudential administration of the state. It would be unnecessarily churlish, un-Barbadian and undemocratic to believe otherwise.

In this connection, our Constitution does not expressly guarantee the right to freedom of political expression, as does section 4(e) of the Trinidad & Tobago Republican Constitution 1976 that declares the existence of the right “to join political parties and to express political views”. Rather, ours contents itself with a general right of freedom of expression which would doubtless also include the freedom to air political views, both in the narrower and broader senses of the word “political”.

Nonetheless, this freedom of expression is not unrestricted and is expressly made subject in section 21 (2)(a) to any law “that is reasonably required for the purpose of protecting the reputations, rights and freedoms of other persons…” There are some other express restrictions besides but it is principally upon the law that seeks to protect the reputations of other persons that I should wish to focus my essay.

There is a quaint myth among some Barbadians that our defamation laws are incontrovertibly “archaic”. This perception or rather misperception is owed to the fact that the type of imputations that pass unsanctioned in the US for example would cause the publisher to be mulct in substantial damages in this jurisdiction. In fine, this is owed to the fact that we do not enjoy the public figure defence that obtains in some jurisdictions there. According to this, the constitutional guarantees of freedom of speech and of the press required a rule that prohibits a public official from recovering damages for a defamatory falsehood relating to his or her official conduct unless the claimant proves that the statement was made with actual malice, that is with knowledge that it was knowingly false or made with reckless disregard as to its falsity.

No such defence is expressly provided in our Defamation Act 1996, although that is not the fault of the drafters of that Act, since, even in the state of New York, the defence is a judicial, and not a statutory creation. It may thus be argued that given the form and nature of our constitutional right to free expression, one that pays due regard to the reputations of others, it should hamstring any similar judicial initiative here.

Owing to the need to meet an arranged deadline, I must end here for today. Next week, I propose to continue this discussion on the extent of our freedom of speech and its effect on our defamation laws and to introduce discussion of freedom of information that, I will submit, is a necessary corollary to an enhanced freedom of democratic expression.

109 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Enhancing the Freedom of Democratic Expression”

1. Ah Jeff boy – spot on especially paragraphs # 4 # 5 and # 6.

It really needed to be said.

2. What also needs to be said is that the opposition voice should be coherent read intelligent.

3. Yes,Yes yes ! I too am waiting on that Freedom of Information legislation.

They dealing with all sort of every other thing – vending etc but changes to Defamation laws and freedom of information legislation are the sort of things a mature democracy pursues.

4. Wuh dat is just your subjective view.

Who says that there are others who are not finding their view according to you – ‘coherent and intelligent’.

5. Really?

A view can swim its way from being yardfowl in content and motive by being coherent to an average Joe. On BU we are pretty good at separating the coherent from the BS. You will see, don’t worry. Already we have yardfowl commenters on BU who have zero credibility and are ‘tolerated’. Carry on smartly.

6. Don’t even know what to make of what you just posted.

Anyway you are entitled to your view.

7. @ Jeff

“Granted, these are early days yet, and the governing Barbados Labour Party administration is still in its “honeymoon” period, and thereby entitled to some concession from the citizenry in respect of any errors of judgment that it may commit.”

i completely disagree with the employment of the word “entitlement” in this bit. that word suggests a right. and there is no right to errors committed by a govt in this so called honeymoon period. replace the phrase “thereby entitled to” with “enjoy” and it would be correct generally. i say generally because there is nothing to suggest that citizens forgive or ought to forgive the mistakes a govt makes at the outset of its term in office.

what happens is that this is the stage where citizens for whatever reason are happy to see the back of the former party and the installation of the policies of the new govt that attracted them to vote for said govt. what some new govts do is to use this period to implement other policies in addition to or in lieu of the populist ones.

for instance – the BLP instituted a water /sanitation bill that all water users must pay even though they are not hooked up to any govt operated sewage system. that tax substantially raises water bills. i dont know whether that qualifies as an error but i am certain that many who voted for them did not vote for them because they were clamoring for the implementation of that tax.

the hiring of Charles Jong- dont know who saw that coming and whether it can be deemed a mistake or would have affected the vote.

the same goes for choosing 26 MPs to be cabinet members in addition to 2 czars or whatever term is being used and senators given ministers. the reason given that there is a lot to be done does not really gel because politicians decide policy and the civil service are the technical officers who implement such policies. therefore if there is a lot to be done more civil servants should be hired not more politicians unless we have changed our operational procedures and politicians are now technical officers too.

the fuel tax to replace road taxes is a brilliant piece of political gamesmanship- govt will collect more than it does from road taxes. everyone including boat operators to landscapers will pay this tax even though they may not drive a vehicle on the road. the tax is hidden and bajans dont seem to mind hidden taxes

the immediate embrace of CSME and the removal of restrictions with respect to the right of CSME workers’ spouses and children immediately to work and enjoy our social services. the public was not consulted and i dont whether that is an error or would have affected the vote. i believe there is little issue with CSME among the public except that all the provisions should be implement fairly in all member states. it comes over sometimes that Bim is always asked to go beyond and above when it comes to regional integration.

i will stop there.

getting back to my opening statement, no govt is entitled to a honeymoon period or should be given concessions /forgiveness for any errors made during this period but i will concede that a govt enjoys a euphoric period at the immediate period of its term in office.

8. Isn’t it fair to opine that the pace Mottley and her government have set so far does not fit with the narrative of a newly elected government expecting a honeymoon period?

#justasking

9. Brilliant observation James Greene on every single point.

The reason why this article by Jeff is important is because I see Mia using this period of the nation ‘being less vigilant and at ease’ to push through things that the public once it has been ventiliated or they see the negative impact of – the cake would have already been baked.

Her policies are not coherent or well thought out.

They are not addressed in any order of priority and more importantly they in some cases conflict with the very mantra the govt has been chanting;that is – the Treasury empty – yet money being spent wild ,wild with half day jobs given to almost 30 ministers in a cabinet which is the largest in the history of Bdos,and add to that the number of czars and financial consultants and campaign personel and political advisors etc

Then we note the attempt to squelch any objection or alternative view as being DLP sour grapes,or even more asinine – the reminder that they have no more say in what’s happening ( I suppose they lost their citizenship) – because – well yuh know – 30 -0 redwash and all that.

Remember too, the journalists in the main are still going along with the narrative that ‘the last DLP govt was the worst ever – and should be obliterated’ – plus right now they are busy kissing the ‘adipose lips’ of Mia Mottley.(Thanks again piece for that one lol).

Even when they see wrong doing as big as a breadfruit in their eyes – would they have the courage of their conviction to relentlessly pursue it?

I don’t think so – not this lot.

10. @T.Inniss

Agree with you that a coherent dissenting voice is important. It begs the question why the DLP as the de facto opposition voice in the minds of at least 30,000 voters have not galvanized and mobilized post 24 May 2018? Are they entitled to a ‘honeymoon’ period given the shellacking?

#justasking

11. @Jeff

This is an fyi, comment from a T&T group chat.

This feuding is testament to a strong & trustworthy judiciary and is the best reason for us to dump the Privy Council for the CCJ, ent?
    So, PM govt nickel & diming the poor, vulnerable, sick, and elderly for a few millions to buy CDAP drugs for hundreds of thousands of citizens but these same people paying for lawyers’ fees? Is the people’s Treasury paying for these bills? This is a shameless & cruel govt that deprives the people of CDAP drugs in a recession, scolding the people and telling them they are “redistributing” CDAP money rather than these shameless heartless people adding a few millions more so that those unable to afford medicines can be helped in these hard times… but these PNM government people want health treatment abroad, checkup abroad etc (UNC people also got that!), and then telling the poor people to share the bulk of the adjustment by cutting CDAP drugs allocation and cutting health services! PNM, all yuh have no shame! Instead of strengthening and increasing support & services for those most affected by the recession the PNM is busy trying to cut that, cut a million here & there, trying to tell us that cut is real important, trying to shuffle the chairs on the Helth Titanic, rather than adding funds to help the people in an important area: life-saving drugs & treatment, drugs, health services.
    Is this CDAP crap not a strategy to give the 1% more control over the drug industry, over CDAP, distribution etc?

https://www.jcpc.uk/cases/jcpc-2018-0055.html

12. the one thing that i will knock prior BLP and DLP administrations for, is the lack of problem solving when it comes to dealing with govt offices. year over year they do the same thing even though there are complaints. the majority of politicians, civil servants and the general public are uni grads or enjoy some level of tertiary education and travel but yet the bureaucracy is stifling.

and it is not only in the public service. go into a bank any day of the week especially a friday and you will experience long lines. this has been happening for years even with cash machines in every bank. one would think by now changes would have been devised to combat this but no. it seems staff is deployed along the same traditional lines and roles and the problems endure.

i will be especially harsh on the last iteration of DLP govt in this particular area. i will acknowledge that the economic conditions were difficult more so than Bajans seem to realise but i cannot in all fairness forgive them for not solving problems in how govt function, which does not require capital but commitment to making govt work properly and with ease to end users.

there is no reason in this day and age that bajans should be standing in long lines to pay govt taxes. not in the era of computers, credit cards and mobile devices. i cant pay my land taxes on line if i dont call the land tax department, wait until a surly attendant answers if one does and then relay my details person to person. that is utter garbage.

then to import items in Bim is a nightmare. the amount of paperwork is daunting. there is little guidance in how to go about doing so.

where other jurisdictions have gone to a land tax registry where land titles are listed in a land registrar which states the encumbrances we have the old system of going to lawyer to ensure good title going back 10 or 15 years or whatever the parameters are. for an educated people this in a nonsense.

so i like where this present govt is going in terms of making it easier to do business with the govt. however one must be v careful in moving too fast and we should still have checks and balances in place. time will tell how this govt will go.

whereas Stuart talked too little MAM talks too much. as the saying goes, at least mine-the BLP is arrogant in power and the DLP is indifferent and Bim ends up the same place with the same players

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER

You would have seen the article I was looking at and its contents

And you saw how even though it was a complete article that I deleted it and did not post it.

The one with the Sub Judice and Social media posts.

You start to see why I started that and stopped?

Because I saw where Mia and Eddie and Dale are going and I did not want to give them any ammunition to destroy you and other dissenting voices

They don’t know what you have done AND THEY NOR JEFF NOR ANY OF THE OTHERS OF US BRIMLERS WON’T FIND OUT FROM ME.

@ the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

While I will read this matter with great interest I will not comment as per usual because there is a dimension to it that you would not know about.

If you know THEY WILL ALSO KNOW and that is a no no

14. David why are you always pointing that the DLP voiced has been silenced and what is the purpose.
    This is a democracy and if they were not chosen to be part of the democractic process as a paryy to be as opposition let it be
    Yes as individuals they can speak their peace but for now their voices as a party can remain silent if they choose
    Btw recently about 2 days ago Donville Innis gave his 2 words in reference to contracts he oversee and assigned and was crtical of the blp but not a word of discussion or mention on BU.

15. You are saying the blogmaster does not have an opinion or right to share a view on BU?

Donville Inniss has zero credibility in the eyes of the BU household after 10 years of dithering as a government minister. Even now he is in the media defending decisions how contracts were allocated after the electorate rejected the party, resoundingly!

16. James Greene’s first post makes 5 salient points:

1) That there is no entitlement to a honeymoon period by any Govt assuming office – as some have been promoting for this new govt and there is no right to errors by a govt during this ‘honeymoon’ period.
    2) He highlighted polices by this Mottley administration that were implemented as soon as they got in which were not the populist policies enunciated or new ones taken.For example

To my mind there was the cry of bajans are over taxed – yet immediately – everyone including the vunerable 7 indigent were subjected to a massive increase on their water bill which was 100 % more than what some persons were accustomed paying for according to their usage.

On top of that this govt then removed a fixed tax which was ostensibly to deal with usage of the road and wear and tear etc – to tax which extended to persons who had no vehicle on the road.

Yet remember the people were told pre 24th May – that they cannot afford any more taxes – the citizens were over burdened.

17. Sorry it posted before I was finished:

Just to briefly mention the other areas raised (which I concur) and that being:

People were not told of the existence of Charles Jong – who was kept in a backroom doing Barbados Labour Party campaign work -and as soon as they win they bring him out in the sunlight and reward him with a newly created government position;

Finally the much talked about doubling of the last cabinet to ensure every elected MPs bar 2 got a ministry – and this in the face of their open and sustained criticism of the last govt of 17 ministers (in house and senate),and the constant badgering of the last govt not to resume the payment of their normal salary after the allotted time period had ended.

Tsars,financial consultants,Ambassadors to the Cabinet,political consultants campaign social media guru,overseas companies – all done without any information given to the public on the terms of reference,the cost to the taxpayers,the expected benefits etc.

Yet we had Cahill and Clico among others being thrown around.

Double standards I posit.

18. @David

on one hand you are saying that the DLP needs to get their act together to provide some semblance of an opposition and on the other you are saying that because they were beaten at the polls resoundingly they should not talk publicly. which is it?

at any rate it is nonsense. Inniss like any other DLP minister in the former govt has a right to defend himself against accusations of impropriety in renewing contracts in statutory corporations. Inniss responded with regard to contracts of Browne at NFC and James at QEH.

let me ask this at the outset cos i cant understand it. where is the illegality or even impropriety in any outgoing govt renewing a contract 1 year or 1 day prior to leaving office? what are we saying that the person being contracted is ineffective, crooked or that the minister is?

as far as i am aware ministers do not directly run statutory altho depending on how they are constituted some have direct or indirect input and some are run by boards which guide them. Ministers are not technical officers and only offer the policies as to how the govt wants to run its affairs.

so are we saying that in whatever form these corporations operate ministers cant get their policies instituted?

these contracts usually run in 3 year tranches at most so why cant govt wait and then replace?

of course the elephant in the room is that govt use these corporations to give cushy jobs to their sycophants who supported them during the campaign period or over the years. whether the past office holder hired during the reign of the other side is effective or not is hardly considered. what is important is room made for a supporter.

the said thing is that the general public supports this. it is nonsense. what happened to the best applicant for the job?

Inniss maybe trying to position himself for leadership of the DLP and i believe no one from the last iteration of the DLP govt should be given that role but in this instance i cannot disagree with Inniss. in fact all former DLP ministers should come out and depend themselves. it is only then that the public which is often ignorant or vote emotively can get a holistic picture of what went on if one can ever get a holistic picture of anything political

19. This is absolutely not is what is being said and you know it. We want a dissenting view that is intelligent read coherent which is a departure from the past. So far we have hears nothing or more of same. Stop the semantics!

20. @ David

what does a dissenting view that is coherent and is a departure from the past look like, pray tell

21. What is the DLP’s view about the decision to modernize the T&P legislation?

What is the DLP’s position on the Integrity Bill being debated and will it participate in the joint committee consultation?

What was the rationale of the DLP renewing some many contracts long before due?

What is the DLP’s position vis a vis economic policy given declining forex which was in free fall under their watch? Truth is the average Bajan may be hard to be persuaded. Who wanted to hear about LEC?

Issues about Jong etc although worthy of being questioned are not fundamental issues at this point.

The point is that the DLP needs to be strategic in its response given post 24 May result.

22. @ David

whilst those questions maybe topical and to some extent fundamental to this govt going foward and how it is perceive, how are they a dissenting view that is coherent and is a departure from the past.

the important thing is that the DLP must examine what happened over the lat 8 years (after Thompson) and see where it went wrong. apologise to the people of Bim for its failures. elect / select new leadership and go into communities to see what it is the public wants from politicians and see whether their policies gel with the public’s.

sometimes they dont and the public must be led. sometimes the politicians must listen.

finally the DLP must then come out and state its vision for Bim.

for me i would like to see a departure from past politicians offering people free to politicians asking the public to be responsible for their wellness, education, progress and most of all their environment.

we are a mature country now or we ought to be and politicians must become more accountable and so should the public. i want to hear that the civil service will work toward making govt service more accessible and burdensome. i want to hear that corruption in public office would be a thing of the past or dealt with speedily and decisively (and by corruption i dont mean only by politicians but by customs, police, immigration, tax collection, planning etc.)

and above all the private sector is not an arm of govt and govt should not be catering to them to the exclusion of the larger public. Bim public sector depends too much on govt for their well being. the private sector must spend more of its capital and grow Bim. go into TT, Guy, Ja and buy their businesses or set up businesses etc.

when i hear COW saying that he is getting no business from govt i cringe, so he may have to lay off people when the road in front of his business is bad and he is a road builder. why dont they give back more and always want.

education is another issue that needs a frank discussion about. the govt cannot afford to continuing paying for uni education. it is a drain. and we must towards technical subjects. that is where the jobs will be in the future. we must also acknowledge that we may not be able to provide jobs for all school leavers so the focus must be on providing the education and skills that could be transported abroad.

i would love to hear a new iteration of DLP address these issues

23. Agree with much of what you wrote. The DLP as a party is missing the trick a little. Some fundamental decisions have been made and about to be and the silence of the DLP can be construed by some as a party unable to pull itself up at the bootstrap. Under Stuart it has continued its rigid model to decision a makling. The pace that is required is not expected from government only but from ALL stakeholders.

24. So in essence BU does not want former DLP parliamentarians to respond to the many accusations levelled at them by Mia Mottley and her supporters – whether these accusations are true or not – whether or not Mia has taken bits and pieces and fit them together to form a narrative of all of dem DLP ministers corrupt – Don’t come and refute that.

But DLP ministers should respond only to things like what Mia doing to modernize town & Country laws or;

the foreign exchange problem

Or according to BU – talk about the rationale of renewing the contracts long before due but don’t discuss whether it was proper to do extend the contracts

Don’t discuss the hiring of the blp campaign man – because that is not important now – read * the issue of honesty & transparency is not in our view right now

You think after all that time Sinckler talking about foreign exchange and explaining and explaining and the people said we don’t want to hear you that they want them to now come and talk about that.

This is pure BLP driven nonsensical talking points.

25. How is it proper to extend the contract of Sandra Ford for example? Stop spouting nonsense.

26. made some typos in that piece. meant to say less burdensome in the 6th paragraph

27. The DLP need to be bold and address all that is being thrown at them – whether good,bad or ugly – because the window of opportunity is closing when people would pay attention to that issue.

Also to a lie repeated often enough then becomes truth in the minds of some people – something that the BLP are past masters of.

28. @David

regarding Ford or any other. How is it improper or illegal. is there a cut off period that the outgoing govt must adhere to when it come to renewing contracts or issuing contracts? is Ford an illegal person? would she defy the policies of the new govt?

and most of all is this the first time an outgoing govt has done this?

29. Further, a rebirth DLP must definitely come with a vision that is captivating, compelling, titillating, however, there needs to be a short term strategy. Why is this important? The people resources required by the party to move the party forward appear to be absent at this point, hence a short term plan to remain relevant. What is working for the DLP is that the third parties are not equipped to fill the void.

30. James Greene

The last sentence is sooooooo critical – and the answer to it as well lol.

31. @James

Are we discussing a new way of governing/governance or not? To cite precedence to support the action of appointing non performing yarfowlsis tantamount to threading water. Are we discussing what is legal a la Carrington according to Stuart or what is right ethically and other wise.

We need to lift our damn game.

32. I laugh when I see Mia turning up for Press Conferences with big files – which is supposed to imply the evidence is in there – yet no one can tell you what is in these files.

I supposed that will fool the simple mind and gullible among the press corp and among the population loll.

33. @David

v good question- when does it end? it certainly isnt ending now. it didnt end when Thompson did the same thing – talk about what the BLP did and implemented no laws or policies to change it. and now this govt is walking around waving it about, talking about integrity legislation, making the people believe that IL will be retroactive. well i hope that make it retroactive to encompass the last ten years of both administrations- from 1998

is it that you want to decide only from the last administration what is improper? man dont make me laugh

34. By the result of the 24 May 2018 isn’t this a legitimate expectation of the public that the nonsense (cronyism )needs to stop?

35. @David

if that is the case then the BLP misread the tea leaves. arent Jerome Walcott, Barney Lynch, Farley, Liz Thompson and Wood senators, diplomats or chair of some statutory corporation? and arent they recycled BLP old fogies who appeared on the BLP platform cussing the DLP.

isnt Adams son who spend the last 30 years outside of Bim a senator? didnt we have to change the constitution to accommodate him and another?

isnt the fight over last minute renewal of contracts a fight over cronyism?

man, where are you going with this, it makes no sense

36. Yes there is some of it that portends from this administration, emphasis on portend. What we need to monitor and measure are the decisions taken i.e. the contracts, the improvement in systems to make government efficient, integrity legislation and enforcement etc. Do you see how hard the public came down on Gline Clarke for example? We have t keep the tension on, hence why the DLP needs to step up!

37. 🙂
    I laugh when I see Mia turning up for Press Conferences with big files – which is supposed to imply the evidence is in there – yet no one can tell you what is in these files.
    🙂
    That was all I understood on this blog…… 🙂
    Good imagery

38. T. Inniss,

David (BU), the chairman, has an obsession of the notion of the third party. He is like a dog with a bone. But it shows an enormous ignorance of political history, in Barbados and the wider Commonwealth.
    In Barbados we had the BLP/National/Conservative parties; then we got the DLP and the two other parties merged in to the BLP.
    I have already pointed out the UK party history; same in Canada: the Conservative Party was swallowed up by the Reform party, but the so-called two-party system continues. That is the requirement of a first-past-the-post electoral system, not historical inevitability.
    In Barbados the other parties have five years to make an impression. If they do, we have seen the end of the DLP. None of the frontmen and women of the Stuart government will be trusted by the public for a generation and so far there are no new leaders emerging within the DLP – the Senate aside.
    UPP must go back to the drawing boards, and Solutions Barbados must break free from Grenville and become a democratic party.

39. Daviid so what so wrong with Inniss defending his tenure in allocating contracts
    Did not Mottley after a few days in goverence defend here asinine decision to expand her ministry at taxpayers cost and award her croonies with govt positions

40. @David

so you want the DLP to step but not to defend their actions? interesting.

the public chided Gline Clarke for saying that politicians should be paid more and they would not be corrupted or words to that effect but the public didnt chide Marshall, Mottley, Liz Thompson, Mascoll for their doings in last BLP administration. again interesting

incidentally i agree with Clarke. Politicians should be paid well. it is an important position. we should then demand a lot from them and hold them accountable for their actions. even jail and hang them when they are corrupt

41. @David
    Why don’t you cut the DLP some slack? They don’t have to “hit the ground running” as per the Gov’t. they have to reflect and reassess and determine who the leadership will be going forward after the shellacking it received. Meanwhile Donville has been defending his Gov’t’s position (and has been heavily criticized) while lamenting the fact that many of his colleagues have absented themselves from the battlefield.

To return to Jeff’s point about Opposition, the “real” Opposition leader in totally unprompted remarks asked the Gov’t not to create any legislation to prevent MP’s from crossing the floor. Comedy Central should give invite him to its “Open Mike” auditions.

42. Charles Herbert remains chairman of the Goddard Group.

A media release today sought to clarify claims that Herbert, who is also head of the Barbados Private Sector Association, had been removed. (Quote)

Interesting. A man on bail suspected of drug trafficking is still the active chairman of a listed company? Barbados is a failed state.

43. Didn’t Clarke participate on a party platform where increasing salaries was not an issue? Sure the DLP can defends the decisions like they did on the politician platform and soundly rejected. Where is the sense in it?

Looking forward to who win office to move the party forward, please say not Donville Inniss. Until the UPP, SB or some others step up we have a lot riding on successful transformation of the DLP taking hold.

We voted for change Sir, will you be that change?

#moreofthesame

44. @Sargeant

One must be hopefully that Senator Caswell will be able to whip him into shape although it must be said Caswell serves at his pleasure:-)

45. @ James Greene

The DLP is DEAD . On the 24 May 2018 the voters in Barbados removed the DLP 30 pieces of gangrene from the Government

46. @watchman

Where is your nemesis Walter these days?

47. @ watchman

that is entirely possible. lets hope what they replaced is with isnt syphilitic

48. @ watchman

that is entirely possible. lets hope what they replaced it with isnt syphilitic

49. @David/Bu

Walter must have taken the advise of Piece, a watchman, and gone back to Trump land