It is a discussion we have every year in Barbados and although it is a couple months earlier than is the norm, it will be a discussion item in traditional media, rum shops, social media, anywhere people congregate.

The ‘wet season’ and the adage learned at primary school “June, too soon; July, stand by; August, come they must; September, remember; October, all over”. Thousands of gallons of rainwater will runoff into the sea followed by the government in office issuing a water prohibition because our reservoirs are critically low.

Every year we are subjected to the mouthings of talking heads from government and the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) promising solutions to alleviate water shortages which never materializes. Instead we continue full steam with concrete development whether private or commercial which add to demand on water resources on an island classified as water scarce.

Have a read of this article from Australia. This is something that we urgently need to implement in Barbados if we’re to make any progress in vegetable farming. We could be capturing water from a simple shed roof and storing in tanks for irrigation. Simple as that.

Bentley – BU family member

An irony is that our farmers are encouraged to grow food but have to cry out about not having access to adequate water supply irrigation – and when there is water complain further about the cost of the water. The biggest irony is that the majority of car valet services, if not all, use potable water to ensure the over one hundred thousand vehicles on the roads are kept clean.

The article shared by Bentley addresses how South Australia – a geography that experiences arid conditions – is working to store water to satisfy agriculture demand.

The Importance of Water Storage and Conservation for Irrigation in Agriculture and Horticulture in South Australia

February 2, 2023

Water is an essential resource for agricultural and horticultural practices around the world. Adelaide, South Australia, is no exception, as it is an area with a dry climate and limited water resources. In recent years, water storage and conservation have become increasingly important in Adelaide’s agricultural and horticultural industries to ensure sustainable irrigation practices.

Irrigation is the artificial application of water to crops or plants to promote their growth and yield. In agriculture and horticulture, irrigation is essential to produce healthy and high-quality crops, particularly in regions with low rainfall or limited water resources. In Adelaide, the Mediterranean climate, which is characterised by hot, dry summers and mild, wet winters, means that water is a scarce resource during the growing season. Therefore, efficient irrigation practices are critical for the agricultural and horticultural sectors to thrive.

Water storage and conservation are key components of sustainable irrigation practices in Adelaide. Water storage involves capturing and storing rainwater or surface water in dams or tanks to be used later for irrigation. Water conservation, on the other hand, involves reducing water usage through measures such as drip irrigation or water-efficient practices.

Read the rest of the article:

https://visswater.com.au/the-importance-of-water-storage-and-conservation-for-irrigation-in-agriculture-and-horticulture-in-south-australia/#:~:text=During%20the%20dry%20season%2C%20farmers,which%20is%20a%20finite%20resource

79 responses to “Water worry”

1. Again you misrepresent my position! Was I not the one who started this BU inquiry rolling????

Did I not CLEARLY STATE that my opinion is informed by the experience of an officer threatening to beat my scrawny, fifteen year old son in school uniform “to a pulp” for simply squirming in the officer’s surprise grasp after a school boys’ altercation????

True, the superior officer intervened at the time and true, I received an apology. And true the culprit has since kept his distance from my son, only looking at him strangely, but this wrongdoing was only conceded after the station sargeant first tried the “you were lucky he did not pull his gun” intimidatory tactic. He changed his tune only when faced with continued confidance on my part. He sized me up correctly. Resistance was futile!

This flippant threat of unnecessary and extreme violence on a minor and the attempt to justify it is an indication of a troubling culture in our police service which must be ARRESTED.

So, I need no “First they came for” poetry. I have faced the threat.

And I will also never forget the sheepish silence from police officers at Central Police Station when I handed over my former Government Industrial School mentee and informed them that I expected to receive him back in the same condition in which I dropped him off.

This was the third time he had been picked up for questioning after his release from GIS Dodds and I assumed it was in connection with a more serious matter. That was probably what made him hide, too scared to turn himself in without me. And hence I picked him up from the Orleans at sundown and drove him in, dropped my Anglican Youth Ministry credentials and a warning.

The silence of those officers and the sheepish looks on their faces at my admonishment told me all I needed to know.

In retrospect, I regret having accepted the apology of the station sargeant in my son’s case. If I hadn’t been recovering from a protracted battle I probably would not have done so.

Maybe I could have done more to advance the fight for the rights of others who are less articulate and unfortunately, deemed to be less credible.

Yet, I have never seen bulls in china shops achieve much.

Crying wolf is also counterproductive. So, in this very fishy case….

Let the questions continue, and may they do so until we get our systems in order!

It’s past time for progress.

2. “FOOD ‘PRIORITY’
    BAJAN AGRICULTURALIST PROPOSES CARIBBEAN FOOD SECURITY AGENCY
    A prominent agricultural expert has called for the establishment of a regional food security agency, citing compounding challenges facing the region’s drive to feed itself.
    Dr Chelston Brathwaite, former Director General of the Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture (IICA), made the appeal at the unveiling of a book collection in his name donated to the National Library Service and the Ministry of Agriculture.
    “These are not ordinary times,” Dr Brathwaite said, pointing to the lingering effects of COVID-19, geopolitical unrest in Gaza and Ukraine, and ongoing climate change threats. “As we seek to build economies for the next 50 years of CARICOM, we need to place food security as a priority.”
    The proposed Caribbean food security agency would coordinate regional efforts and mobilise the Caribbean community towards achieving food security, according to Dr Brathwaite. He emphasised the link between poor nutrition and the high incidence of non-communicable diseases (NCDs) in the region.
    “Poor nutrition and poor food choices are major contributors to the high incidence of diabetes, hypertension, cancers, and obesity in the Caribbean,” he noted. “These chronic, non-communicable diseases continue to be a threat to the development of the Caribbean region.”
    Highlighting Barbados’s substantial food import bill, estimated at approximately $800 million, Dr Brathwaite questioned the reliance on foreign food supplies: “We pay farmers in Miami… Idaho… California… Mexico… and Thailand. Are we paying our own farmers?”
    Citing a recent Caribbean Development Bank report, he added: “The current data shows that eight out of every ten deaths in this country are due to non-communicable diseases, and four out of every ten premature deaths in Barbados are due to an NCD.”
    The former IICA head warned that the economic costs of NCDs would burden the country and undermine human capital investment. He argued that without self-sufficiency in food production, “people will continue to manipulate us. They will give us what they want at prices we cannot afford, which is bad for us, and then sell us medicine to treat the resulting health issues”.
    Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture, Terry Bascombe echoed Dr Brathwaite’s concerns, distinguishing between food security and food sovereignty.
    “You can be food secure if you have enough money to import food, but you will still be reliant on the rest of the world,” he said. “We are in a better place when we control our diets from seed to swallow.”
    Dr Brathwaite concluded with a call to action: “We have to commit, as we have committed to sustainable energy, to becoming a food-secure nation. If we do nothing about it, the day will come when we will ask if the next generation of Caribbean people will be fit to confront the challenges of development.”
    The remarks were made as Dr Brathwaite donated 200 books from his personal collection to the Ministry of Agriculture’s library, including nine authored by him.
    Director of the National Library Service, Jennifer Yarde described the donation as “a unique collection of invaluable information, covering a wide range of topics in agriculture”.
    Professor Emeritus Sir Henry Fraser commended Dr Brathwaite’s gesture, expressing hope that the library would make good use of the donation.
    (SM)”

Source: BT

3. I made it to the first paragraph.
    For the last time…. “It is not about you”
    If it happens to align with your position or is contrary to your position, so be it.

4. Your snide references are in keeping with those of the last few weeks. If it irritates you, I am returning the favour.

5. But…..let question time continue until adequate answers are forthcoming!

And may we never ease up until we get our systems in order!

This is 2024.

6. We are hearing fancy terms like ‘seed to swallow’ and food sovereign versus food security. After the talk agriculture output as a contribution to GDP has been flat.

7. How come we never used to hear about farmers’, small or large, lack of water in the past?

I’ve never heard of a plantation complaining about water until very recently as they try other crops on a large scale.

Peasant farmers never complained but produced output year after year.

Isn’t it just a case that the farmers are trying to grow the wrong crops?

How many farmers grow rice in Barbados?

… or is it “climate change”?

Sugar cane was never irrigated and survived drought and flood with no problem and to this day grows regardless of rainfall.

There is a small plantation in St. Lucy called Coconut Hall and another close to Bissex Hill called Coconut Grove.

It is unlikely Coconut Hall grew sugar cane but who knows in the past.

8. If you grow houses instead of crops in the high rainfall areas of course there will be a problem for farmers trying to grow crops in the low rainfall areas ….duuuuuuh!!

In fact, there is a problem for both the farmers in the low rainfall areas and the householders in the high rainfall areas.

The high rainfall areas are at higher elevations making it difficult to get water to them.

We have it ass backwards.

9. Try living in St. Joseph in a drought year!!

….. or growing crops in St. Philip or St. Lucy whether in drought or “wet” years.

So far, only sugar cane works.

10. @John June 23, 2024 at 8:26 am
    @John June 23, 2024 at 8:33 am
    @John June 23, 2024 at 8:35 am

I rarely agree WITH John, but he is correct this time.
    Sugar cane, and cassava [indigenous to this area] and yams too grow quite well without artificial irrigation.

BUT and a big but, farmers large and small are trying to diversify, because optimal human nutrition requires more that sugar cane, yam and cassava.

Also I have noticed that in recent years St. Lucy seems to be getting more rainfall than it has in the past. Please note that this is a casual, observation, and not a scientific one. I rarely go to St. Philip so I don’t know what the situation is there.

And global warming is an issue, because of more intense rainfall which can damage crops, increase soil erosion, and damage farmer’s, and national infrastructure.

Growing food to feed 270,000 people 3 square meals a day is not an easy task. Farmers [and fishers too] deserve our respect, and they deserve whatever assistance the state is able to provide.

11. Thunder now. Maybe rain later.

12. Raining very heavily now.

13. There are some crops that have a problem with too much rain, eg beans, tomatoes, melons, carrots etc.

Then there are the pests. No use growing some crops unless you are prepared to spray.

Farming ent easy.

https://www.facebook.com/NationBarbados/videos/nation-update-farmer-wants-relief-after-heavy-losses/354279675875383/

14. 1/2
    City woman alleges police invasion, breaking down fence
    By Emmanuel Joseph
    A single mother has lodged a formal complaint with the Barbados Police Service, alleging that officers entered her home while she was at work and destroyed her galvanised paling.
    Shernell Blackman of Ashby Alley, Nelson Street, who staged a one-woman demonstration outside the House of Assembly while lawmakers met on Tuesday, has acquired the services of attorney-at-law Shadia Simpson to plead her case.
    Blackman, 56, said she received a call on Thursday from a neighbour while at work urging her to return home because “something was going wrong” at her house.
    “I got into a vehicle and came to the spot, only to find my whole back paling from Nelson Street flat down. It is more than 12 feet of paling flat down. On coming towards the house, my neighbour told me that the policeman was coming out my house,” an emotional Blackman told Barbados TODAY, adding that her neighbour said she had approached the police officers to find out why they were in the house.
    “The policeman told her to let me know them own the land, and that make sure that I get the shed in the yard down by the time them come back,” reported the Nelson Street grandmother.
    She recalled going to Central Police Station.
    “I asked the officer at the desk about it,” she said.
    Blackman said he made a call and she was eventually informed that she would have to return to the complaints office the next day to file a complaint.
    She also said that during this time, she was afraid to sleep or go to work because her privacy had been compromised and building materials she had bought to upgrade her house have been exposed to potential thieves.
    “All this time I was asking why the police should pull down my paling, what was the reason for them to be entering my house when no one was at home?… My back door pried open, the front door was left open, the paling left open,” the government worker explained.
    Blackman’s land ownership plight has its genesis in the tragic passing of her son who died after the wall on the property fell on him while they were walking nearby 35 years ago.
    The woman, who has another child, said she took up residence on the unoccupied plot of land some 20 years ago by building a shed and waited for the owner to turn up.
    She contended that to this day, her research across many government departments, including the land tax and archives departments, has failed to reveal any evidence of a rightful owner.
    “I on the land 20 years now,” she said. “I built a house in 2014 when I got laid off. I invest in the house. I invest in the house, I was waiting for the owners to come. There was no records of nobody owning this spot. But 35 years after [the wall fell on her son], you came with four unmarked jeeps with some of the policemen with masks and guns, pulled down the back paling, enter my house, and left a message telling me make sure that I have the shed down.”
    On Tuesday, Blackman took to the streets of The City, starting outside Parliament while it was in session, carrying placards and relating her situation to the general public.
    After duty officers at Parliament refused her request to see City MP Corey Lane and told her she couldn’t protest with placards in the area, the determined demonstrator shouted her concerns throughout other parts of the capital.
    The woman said that even as she continues to struggle with the lingering impact of her son’s death which has triggered a domino effect of health challenges every anniversary of the loss, this latest event with the police has “added fuel to the fire”.
    Blackman insisted that her main concern is for the police to put back up her paling and for the rightful owner of the land to come forward and at least give her a condolence card.
    After initially reaching out to attorney Simpson immediately following the situation allegedly involving the police, the mother was advised to make a complaint to the Office of Professional Responsibility and the Police Complaints Authority.
    “I also advised her the night to see if she could seek accommodation by relatives or friends, and we could address it the following day because there was nothing we could have done until the next day,” Simpson told Barbados TODAY.
    emmnueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb

15. 2/2
    Here I go again, with my igrunt self not knowing the full story but having an opinion.

Are these police officers or stormtroopers? They just turn up and ‘brekdown’ structures/buildings and warning peeple that when dem (the police) come back ‘dey (de police) gun brekdown some mo structures’.

Isn’t it strange that the police appeared when she was away from her humble home? Do you think that was an accident? When they return, can you see this woman in her makeshift home and masked officers with big guns turn up to talk to she?

If wunna does feel pressure, intimidated, emotional stress and attacked by a few words on the gentle pages of BU, then imagine how dis woman gun feel when she sees the uniforms, the polish boots and mask policemen with big guns all pointed at she.

To me, it looks as if this woman was preparing for a legal battle or reaching some compromise with the owner, but it looks as if the owner know someone high up in the Bajan food chain or the Police Service. But it looks as if the woman is a fighter. She protesting, she got the crime fighter Corey Lane in “hiding”, and policemen denying her her rights to speak up and serve.

I question the the advice to seek accommodation (shelter) by friends and relatives… I suspect the police are watching her and if she moves with just a toothbrush, toothpaste and a nghty she will not be getting back in.

16. I see a few typos and unconnected sentences but i think the point is clear.

17. Now I am no lawyer, but I pride myself as a man who has great survival skills. It would be selfish of me not to put these skills to the use of the community.

Looking at the way things are developing I have two bit of advice for this woman
    (1) Record the number of push-ups she can do. She doesn’t have to do 100.
    (2) Go and get a physical/medical check-up and give the results to her lawyer

A word to the wise

18. @ The OG,

thanks for my morning read but from the time I saw the address ” Nelson Street ” …..

19. Who feels pressure, intimidated, and emotionally stressed or attacked by anything said on BU, I wonder.

For my part, I feel only irritation. This passive aggressive, plausible deniability schtick is rather childish in a grown man.

20. To the matter at hand! The police are known for treating people of that social standing as they please. I hope this woman continues to seek justice. She must be like the widow on the Bible, a bloody pest!

21. Dear Blogmaster,
    Please share my theogazerts email address with anyone who asks for it.
    Yours respectfully,
    The OG

22. Thanks blogmaster
    I have already started to receive tons of emails.
    I am surprise at the depth of the feelings that some have confessed. I must admit that some feelings were not positive but there was one person that really stands out.
    I will be visiting Barbados in the next few days and will try to resolve any differences with folks there. I look forward to meeting my fans.
    Again thanks.

23. You did it. You made me think of you.
    Next steps?????
    You lead. I will follow…
    Or we can each mind our business

24. Public forum, public business!

I was referring to the having an opinion without knowing all the facts thing. I am the only one here who has spoken to that. 😊

25. I was pushed to the brink of becoming nasty, but I have managed to delay this event.

Go placidly amid the noise and the haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence. As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons.

Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even to the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.

Avoid loud and aggressive persons; they are vexatious to the spirit. If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain or bitter, for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.

Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans. Keep interested in your own career, however humble; it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.

Exercise caution in your business affairs, for the world is full of trickery. But let this not blind you to what virtue there is; many persons strive for high ideals, and everywhere life is full of heroism.

Be yourself. Especially do not feign affection. Neither be cynical about love; for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment, it is as perennial as the grass.

Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth.

Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune. But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings. Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness.

Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself. You are a child of the universe no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here.

And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should. Therefore be at peace with God, whatever you conceive Him to be. And whatever your labors and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life, keep peace in your soul. With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world. Be cheerful. Strive to be happy.

26. put some buckets and collect rain water.

27. @Hants

What is the status of the waste management project? Are we still pumping waste out to sea?