The public discussion was held last night to address the worrisome crime issue. It has been recorded in this space and elsewhere a many hands making light work approach is a pressing requirement to save our small stable society from the ‘abyss’ it is heading full tilt.

Welcome to the first in a series of national dialogues on issues which matter to Barbadians. This first dialogue will focus on crime in Barbados, looking specifically at some of the causes and suggested solutions. Moderator Rosemary Alleyne will host knowledgeable panelists including Marcia Weekes, Lumumba, Bertie Hinds, Winston Branch, and Dr. Derek Alleyne. Email us at beheard@barbadosopposition.com or whatsApp 233-0860 with any questions or suggestions – Source: YouTube

The Singapore model is office referred to as a benchmark for economic performance as well as the firm grasp it maintains on maintaining law and order. The following is a response from the blogmaster’s AI chatbot to the question ‘what is Singapore’s crime model’.

The Singapore crime model is often cited as a comprehensive and effective approach to crime prevention and control. It is characterized by several key components:

1. Strict Laws and Severe Penalties: Singapore has stringent laws and severe penalties for a wide range of offenses. This includes the death penalty for serious crimes such as drug trafficking and murder, and corporal punishment (caning) for crimes like vandalism, sexual assault, and certain immigration offenses. 2. Efficient Law Enforcement: The Singapore Police Force is well-trained, well-equipped, and highly professional. The law enforcement agencies in Singapore work efficiently and are known for their effectiveness in solving crimes and maintaining public order. 3. Surveillance and Technology: The extensive use of surveillance technology, including CCTV cameras throughout the city-state, plays a crucial role in crime prevention and solving. This pervasive surveillance acts as a deterrent to potential criminals. 4. Community Policing: Singapore emphasizes community policing, involving the public in maintaining safety and order. This includes neighborhood watch groups and various community outreach programs to foster cooperation between the police and the community. 5. Swift and Decisive Justice System: The legal system in Singapore is known for its efficiency, with a relatively quick turnaround time for the prosecution and adjudication of cases. This swift justice serves as a deterrent to criminal behavior. 6. Preventive Measures: Singapore focuses on preventive measures to address the root causes of crime. This includes social policies aimed at education, housing, employment, and welfare to ensure a stable and prosperous society less prone to crime. 7. Public Awareness and Education: There is a strong emphasis on public education about laws and the consequences of breaking them. Campaigns and educational programs are regularly conducted to instill a sense of lawfulness and civic responsibility among citizens. 8. Rehabilitation and Reintegration: For those convicted of crimes, Singapore has rehabilitation programs aimed at reducing recidivism and helping offenders reintegrate into society.

Overall, the Singapore crime model is based on a combination of tough laws, efficient law enforcement, high levels of surveillance, community involvement, and social policies aimed at preventing crime. This multifaceted approach has contributed to Singapore’s reputation as one of the safest countries in the world.

82 responses to “DLP political leader crime forum”

1. @William

What you dream about will not occur in the prevailing climate, our people are in the main exposed to Eurocentric learning. How do you propose we disrupt this cycle? It is good to dream but at some point there is the reality that has to be confronted.

2. How about attacking delinquent parenting? The problem we have did not occur overnight and it will take a multifaceted effort to attempt to tackle the problem.

3. “If we eliminate the various possible sources one by one, we may eventually we may find the solution to our problems”
    “Our problems are many and are connected; tackling them one at a time will not solve the problem”
    “Yes, but no one can accuse us of not doing anything. We may lose the war, but we cannot afford to lose the PR war”

Parenting, the screaming tests …. are not causes, these are symptoms. To fix Barbados we have to address the following
    Cut out the political gamesmanship,
    cut out the fancy and fruitless discussions,
    cut out corruption,
    stop with bold new initiatives that do nothing,
    cut out the big spends that don’t really help the economy,
    stop figuring out ways to put money in the pockets of a few,
    stop kicking the can down the road and announcing that the problem is solved,
    stop with the hypocritical stances that are often taken that are reversed on assuming office
    Fix the politicians, fix the courts, the hospital, the police force ….

“You are right! Let’s find a new initiative”

Parents are easy fruit to pick at, but they are not the problem, they are merely flotsam and jetsam caught up in polluted waters.

4. Skinner

You are being posed a question the answer to which is so clear as if a sunny day.

The world has reached a point after chattel slavery, colonialism, imperialism, capitalism, communism, socialism where there is emerging a break from the past.

An historical juncture which this blog and like minded individuals, in their vast majority, continue to ignore while looking to the old imperial centres.

Even you have previously avoided this reality in your approaches to that One Caribbean ideal.

Like his co-religionists in high places and low we will be again consigned to the back of the bus, even if considered as an half way House towards your ideal.

5. William Skinner Avatar

We confronted that reality decades ago. We prefer to dream than expect to do the same thing and expect different results.
    We have read a few dozen biographies and even more autobiographies . In 95 percent of them the people who achieved greatness and changed their world , were either called mad or dreamers. We are comfortable with both of those descriptions.
    Getting here on BU and putting my name out there is in my small way attempting to disrupt the system.
    If you think that over worked cliches and looking toward two broken political parties and their sycophants are going to change anything we wish you luck.
    Kindly allow me to be mad or dream in peace.

6. @William

The blogmaster is not denying your right to dream, simply painting a reality which is what pragmatists do.

7. A question to all.and sundry
    Can govt contain or have the financial resources to fight gun related crime long term
    For every death their is a financial cost handed to govt in medical expenses
    For every gun survivor their are also a financial cost handed to govt
    For every one charged their are also financial cost handed to govt
    For those found guilty there are cost which govt pays long term while the accused sits in prison compounds waiting to face charges before and after trials
    Long and short the taxpayers also becomes victims because any and all financial receipts are handed to them
    They are no winners along the way
    Govt and people must face such realities

8. Are weee double counting, seeing doubles, or has the murder cases gone up yesterday by one and then again today.

9. Indeed, there seems to be double reporting and counting. I have lost track of the number for this month.

10. This Singapore being cited is the same Singapore where online comments that are threatening, abusive, insulting, cause alarm, distress, intimidation or fear of violence to an individual is a crime? Sounds familiar? To the panel discussion, Derek Alleyne should be asked why he commissioned an investigation into RAT and if it concluded a crime was committed if he called the police?🤣🤣

11. @ Enuff June 22, 2024 at 1:44 pm

Why not add to your desired list of ‘criminal’ enquiries the outcome of that investigation in the ‘gun fight’ outside the OK Palmetto Sq. aka Bajan Political Talk Shop?

Wasn’t there a potentially lethal standoff between the Pitbull Eastwick posing as Doc Holliday and the then shadow AG posing as the ‘Marshall’ Earp?

Wasn’t a genuine complaint made to the CoP by an officer of the Court regarding threats made to his safety as an MP?

So you can expect the same outcome to any “RAT” enquiry as to that of the ‘gun-play’ event way back then (or even any publicly promised enquiry into the (Burt) Lancaster dog houses; even if made of ste(e)al.

What about an enquiry into the letter of ‘comfort’ issued w.r.t that Vaccine scam that ‘poor’ Malmoney was hoping to pull off in order to get his Hyatt Paling erection off the ground?

An erection which has been promised since May 2020 but will never see the ‘light of night’ as long as the ghost of Abijah Holder roams the Hotel corridor of Bay Street posing as the Sales Director and driving around in that duty-free Merc.

R.I.P, Piece of the Rock Yeah Right aka PUDRYR!

12. Because you are not aware of the number of murders in Barbados it does not mean the number is not 18. Are you signed up for the police bulletins?

#steupse

13. @Enuff

Your comment is childish.

14. David
    Childish to you because I continue to show up a lotta wunna hypocrisy.

Milluh
    Hyatt is stuck in your craw while I keep telling you that the last hotel I had anything to do with was $1B+. Fixation on a man and project that I have zero connection. You ain’t see the man get Afreximbank funding? Looks like once again that rotten egg gine be slithering down your face. Rest muh.

15. Enuff

Be careful. For we’re unconvinced that Afreximbank will make you and Mottley happy in the end.

For an Afrikan bank to come to Barbados and can’t find a rasssoul Black business to fund but a baccra boy accustomed to getting money all the time from the traditional sources should cause concern.

16. Pachamama

Meeee? I am and will be happy and it has nothing to do with Afreximbank or Maloney. Why are you so sure that no black businesses will benefit?

17. Crisis? What crisis? The Minister responsible for crime prevention was last seen taking a victory lap when there was a lull in the proceedings. Prior to the minister’s elevation to the office the Gov’t brought in a recently retired Police chief as a consultant; can it show any tangible results because of the consultancy?

Successive Gov’ts have been able to produce statistics showing a decline in crime but the man in the street would offer a contrary opinion. I expect more of the same wash, rinse, spin and repeat.

18. Minister of State in the Office of the Attorney General, Corey Lane, has called for a collective and proactive approach to stem the tide of violence.

Addressing the media on the sidelines of a National Peace Programme Elevate the Peace Community pop-up at the Wotton Hard Court in Christ Church on Saturday, he expressed deep concern over the recent spate of killings, emphasising the need for a unified response from all sectors of society.

The number of homicides so far for 2024 stands at 18, with the latest occurring just after 11:21 p.m. on Friday, claiming the life of 17-year-old Rock Hall, St Philip, resident Dashawn Hinkson.

According to reports, Hinkson, a joinery student with the Skill Training Programme, had been liming with some friends not far from his home when three men approached them and opened fire. Lawmen say that in the melee, Hinkson was struck while attempting to flee, later collapsing and dying inside a neighbour’s house, where he had run to seek shelter.
    Advertisement
    BPWCCUL News Tab Placement April 17 – July 17 970×250

On Wednesday night, just around 11:45, 20-year-old Seth Batson of Layne’s Road, Brittons Hill, St Michael, was gunned down. His body was found in a pasture at Belleplaine, St Andrew, and the Barbados Police Service issued an appeal for anyone with information to come forward.

Reflecting on the situation, Lane stated, “I am as concerned as when you asked me [about] the last two homicides, and I will continue to be concerned with every single homicide.” He pointed out that while Barbados had experienced about 16 months of relative calm, the past two weeks had seen a sharp and worrying spike in violent incidents.
    You Might Be Interested In

Shots fired at police during morning chase
    Lawmen kept busy on New Year’s morning
    Man shot in Wanstead Gardens

The minister further stressed that extensive efforts were being undertaken by various stakeholders to address the surge in violence.

“All the partners and stakeholders in crime prevention, which include the police, the Office of the Attorney General, crime prevention, [and] a number of other stakeholders, are not only just meeting but strategizing and trying to find out what exactly has happened,” he said.

Although constrained by the confidentiality requirements of national security, Minister Lane assured the public that the authorities are fully engaged and working diligently to address the issue.

“I have been briefed and have an understanding of what’s happening. However, there are limitations on what can be shared publicly. I can assure everyone, though, that we are on the job. We are not falling asleep behind the wheel. Despite the long hours and the fatigue, our commitment to ensuring the safety of our citizens is unwavering,” he said.

Lane, however, highlighted the critical role of community participation in combating crime and promoting safety.

“I’ve been to a number of events and activities today, and one of the things I recognise is that there are more positive, law-abiding people by far in Barbados,” he observed. “So my call is really for those who want to be part of the solution to continue doing what they’re doing and reach out where they need help to scale up where they’re doing positive because that’s how we are going to help reduce, combat, fight, prevent crime, and make sure that we have a positive and peaceful society in Barbados.” (RG)

Source:BT

19. I guess Hants did not read the entire offering.

“Bajans, stop running to the Emergency with non-emergencies!”

20. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WHERE IS “BUSH TEA|” ON THE #Roots OF THIS ONGOING SAGA*

The “DEATH OF MONEY”, as described in the book by #JoelKurtzman, should have been #Titled, “DEATH 4 MONEY”!!! The book ominously vacillates between the changing “NATURE OF MONEY” & its role in the “ECONOMIC STRUCTURE” of postmodern life where today, “KILLING 4 MONEY” has reached #PlanDEMIC proportions making it a “FASHIONABLE GLOBAL TREND” – adopted as a #SideHustle for #BlackBoys et al who are nothing more than “SOULESS GANGBANGERS” who are being “CHOKED” by that “HELLISH FIEND CALLED THE BLACK SERPENT”!!!

This “LEVIATHAN” cannot be slain by any “MAN-MADE DRAGON SLAYER” – for even when the “MONETARY SYSTEM COLLAPSES” & “EVERYTHING GOES 2 HELL IN A PANCART” – “4 ALL WILL BE RENDERED PAUPERS” – “CRIME WILL CONTINUE 2 EXIST” – at an even more alarming rate!!!

#StayFocusedHere – “FOR WE HAVE NOT REACHED TIPPING-POINT”!!!

As long as the fundamental nature of mankind is “INHERENTLY FLAWED & BROKEN” due to “DISOBEDIENCE” to the “LAW OF GOD” – no amount of plastering over the “CRACKS” & “MENDING WITH SUTURES” will avail anything of any substantiative value!!!

LET’S GET REAL: DO GOVs HAVE THE RESOURCES TO BREAK UP ORGANIZED CRIME SYNDICATES? WHAT ABOUT MONEY LAUNDERING AT THE HIGHEST LEVELS? WHO ARE THE REAL GUNNER-RUNNERS, SMUGGLERS & PEDDLERS, PAEDOPHILES & OTHERS? ARE THE DRUG CARTELS; GUN MERCHANTS; HUMAN TRAFFICKERS & OTHERS, TOO BIG* TO INTERCEPT & JAIL??? WHO HAS THE BALLS???

Unless you cut off the “HEAD OF THE BLACK SERPENT” – band aids & sticking plasters on a “CANCEROUS LEGION” is like a fly in a horse’s nostril!!!

This “YOUNG GENERATION” is “DOOMED” without “DIVINE INTERVENTION” & all the symposiums, “TALKING-SHOPS” & a sleuth of other “ASININE” incursions will not amount to a hill of beans in the broader context of how we have “FAILED” them!!!

21. “My dear Theo, the facts are there for all to see, but there is a refusal to add these facts together. Why are we afraid of the sum of these parts? Do you think it will force us to admit some pleasant and ugly truths? Theo, here are some facts. Add them together if you dare.”

Fact 1:
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/05/31/dpp-drops-six-year-old-murder-charge-against-st-michael-man/
    Two excerpts from rhe article:
    “Defence attorney Shadia Simpson is praising the introduction of electronically recorded police interviews of suspects after the prosecution dropped a murder charge against her client Deron Devon Thompson. “

“Simpson outlined that during voir dire proceedings, the State, led by Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Donna Babb-Agard KC, informed the trial judge there had been several breaches of Thompson’s constitutional rights during his interview.”
    “I am happy that justice has prevailed… Things that may not have been highlighted before that may have had an accused person at a disadvantage to be able to persuade the court via evidence that these things transpired, are now being recorded,” Simpson said.

Fact 2: a case of the healthy young man who did 100 push-ups the day before he died in police custody.
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/06/20/sisters-demand-post-mortem-after-brother-dies-in-lockup/
    Excerpt:
    “Garnes also argued that the time had come for station orderlies and custodians to be outfitted with body cameras to ensure full transparency. “
    We know that cameras and recorders are available and have been used. In addition to Case1 above, do you recall the client and lawyer interview where a cell phone dropped from under a desk during the interview?

Situations must be anticipated and with the lack of information then speculative questions for case 2 must be asked:
    Is there a video/audio recording of this healthy young man’s contact with police?
    Has his family been able to view the body?
    Will the family be provided with an independent medical expert to perform the post-mortem?
    Has the body been stored in such a way as
    (1) To prevent contamination (2) deterioration of the body and (3) loss of evidence?
    Is there a limit on how long a body can be held by the police?
    Will we accept the story that the body of the young man was buried by accident?

Conclusion: Here we have two or possibility three stories which when added together, paints a bleak and frightening picture.

22. Great QUESTIONS! Keep on asking!

23. @ David

“Junior Frances Campbell, 23, Jamaican National, staying at #16 Kendal Hill Park, Christ Church?????”

24. @Artax

Too many questions.

25. “‘WAIT FOR IT’
    CRIME PREVENTION STRATEGIES MAY TAKE YEARS TO SHOW RESULTS – LANE
    Corey Lane, the minister responsible for crime prevention, has urged patience about the crime prevention strategies amid a current uptick in violent crime.
    At a National Peace Programme event in Christ Church over the weekend, Lane suggested that the full impact of some initiatives may not be visible for up to 15 years. But he also likened direct interventions among warring gangs to a game of whack-a-mole, where resolving issues in one area often leads to new conflicts emerging elsewhere.
    And when pressed for specifics about existing gaps in the crime prevention strategy, the minister remained cautious.
    “I can’t say what those holes are. Those holes relate to intelligence and the strategic action that needs to be taken by law enforcement. I’d be totally out of place to say what those holes are.
    “The real impact and measurement of the National Peace Programme – some of the programmes – you won’t be able to measure probably for the next 15 years,” Lane explained.
    He cited the parent programme as an example, which currently involves 470 parents, some of whom do not yet have children. “When will you know when that part of the programme is successful? After they have children and they’re going into the teenage [years],” he said.
    The minister also mentioned a programme targeting preprimary and primary school children on emotional intelligence with consultant Tony Olton.
    “We’re working with four-year-olds. When will you know that the programme is successful and impactful? We won’t know the full impact of this until these children mature,” he said.
    While acknowledging the long-term nature of some initiatives, Lane highlighted programmes designed for more immediate effect. These include the Flip the Script initiative, which operates in Barbados’ 11 most vulnerable communities.
    “We have change agents working, pulling out these people that are right on the brink of committing crime, and we have them in the programmes. They’re with mentors all day, all week,” Lane said.
    Emphasising the importance of integrating community-based efforts with law enforcement, he added: “Crime prevention involves working closely with law enforcement, intelligence, and tactical units.”
    Lane also discussed a direct intervention programme operated in partnership with NGO Inspire Leadership Solutions, which focuses on conflict resolution. The programme has successfully brought together former rivals.
    “They have trained mediators,” he said. “What The Barbados Police Service has done is provide us with the homicides and suspects for the last five years. And what that group does on a full-time basis is to go and find out who has war with who and who got beef with who, and seek retaliation.
    I can tell you that there have been a number of successful cases, and that’s where he brought guys that were warring together at the barbecue grill. That is the pinnacle of the programme.
    When you give that full forgiveness and they hold a barbecue, I’ve been invited to two such barbecues so far.”
    Advocating for a more comprehensive approach, Lane proposed creating a clearing house for parents and at-risk youth.
    “If we have 10 000 at-risk youth in Barbados, we need a programme that can accommodate 15 000 to ensure no one is left out,” he said.
    Lane favours a model focused more on therapy than traditional disciplinary measures: “We need to identify at-risk youth early and provide comprehensive support. This requires a proactive strategy rather than a reactive one.”
    The minister was speaking to reporters on the sidelines of the National Peace Programme’s Elevate the Peace community pop-up and cook-off at the Wotton Hard Court, Christ Church.”

Source: BT

26. The last time I made a comment about deaths in Barbados, I received a harsh knock on my knuckles.
    No comment will be forthcoming, but it would be good to know how many deaths occur within the past month. Perhaps a breakout by month will be forthcoming.