Walter Blackman Tells It Like It Is

Erskine Griffith

In response to a BU commenter (Artaxerxes), former popular Talk Show host Walter Blackman delivered a stinging response – required reading for all Barbadians

“Some students may be fortunate enough to gain scholarships and pursue […]qualifications in areas that will benefit the development of Barbados.

But after graduating they are confronted with the reality that they are no employment opportunities available to them here.”

Artaxerxes,
You have commingled two concepts here, so let us separate the two strands.

Strand 1: Many students gain scholarships and pursue qualifications in many areas that would undoubtedly benefit the development of Barbados. That is a fact.

I hate to lean on personal experience here, but it is the quickest method I can use to get over the point.

I was awarded a fellowship by the OAS to study a masters in actuarial science because the OAS, the World Bank, and the IMF believed that a Barbadian should be trained at that level to provide expertise to the NIS of Barbados as the system matured.
I was working in the budget department of the Ministry of Finance, and Mr. Michael Parris was my boss at the time. Although, I had only studied maths up to ‘O’ level at Combermere, I attacked my post-graduate studies with a sense of confidence and determination. So much so, that I was the only student at the University of Nebraska to receive an A in Social Security the year I studied it.

We had no actuaries and no exam centre in Barbados at the time, so thinking ahead, I approached the Society of Actuaries and enquired if I could take the actuarial professional exams on my return to Barbados. If I managed to pass a professional exam before leaving the USA, the Society promised to establish a test centre in Barbados. I passed my exam, and by doing so, succeeded in getting Bridgetown established as a test centre so that other Barbadians coming after me would enjoy the privilege of taking their actuarial professional exams at home.

Strand 2: After graduation, these students are confronted with the reality that there are no employment opportunities available TO THEM here.

The Tom Adams administration was midway in its second term of office when I returned to Barbados, and the first thing I noticed was the extent to which the working environment in the Ministry of Finance had changed. Mr. Parris had moved on to become company secretary of the Arawak Cement Plant. Mr. Erskine Griffith was now saddled with the opportunity of charting my professional career. I was not a member of any political party.
To make a long story short, Mr. Griffith placed me in an acting position (reviewing letters written by Barbadians seeking a waiver of duties and taxes) which rewarded me with an acting allowance of $30 per month. All of my attempts to secure employment in government in areas related to my chosen profession (NIS, Insurance Corporation of Barbados, Supervisor of Insurance Office) were systematically blocked and thwarted. Eventually, Mr. Griffith had me transferred to the Ministry of Agriculture.

Clearly, Mr. Griffith, as Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Finance, had his own handpicked list of “experts” to assist the Government of Barbados with its handling of financial matters. Personally, over the course of about 30 years, Mr. Griffith rose to giddying heights (Director of Finance and Planning, Head of the Civil Service, a diplomatic posting in Brussels, BLP senator, and Minister of Agriculture in the Owen Arthur administration). Is it possible that that ministerial posting contributed to Owen Arthur’s downfall?

Now take a few seconds and contrast the rise of Mr. Griffith with the fortunes of the government’s financial sector. Start by mentally recalling the annual Auditor-General’s reports that point to a pervasive, repetitive and sickening breach of government’s financial regulations, dwell for a moment on the scandalous and corrosive CLICO robbery and the complicit behavior of the various actors involved, then think seriously about the millions of taxpayers’ dollars that ought to have ended up in the Treasury, but didn’t. Think also about the millions of dollars that should have never left the Treasury, but did. Ponder on the low probability of you getting an NIS pension, because in actual fact, the politicians and senior civil servants have ensured that no actuary has been aligned to the NIS long enough to raise the hue and cry over the rape and wastage of mandatory contributions paid by Barbadian workers.

Barbados has not reached this blighted predicament by accident. We are here because thousands had to suffer so that a few individuals, who really “ain’t worth what Paddy shot it”, could establish a system to suit their selfish and short-sighted purposes. Some employment opportunities exist in Barbados, but they are deliberately blocked off until the “right” person can be handpicked.

Artaxerxes, I was only 28 years old when I came up against this iniquitous system in Barbados for the first time. Although quite young, I rationalized that it was not me alone that was being victimized. There had to be thousands more suffering the same fate. This rationalization enabled me to keep my sanity, if nothing else. Sometimes, I detect a slight hint of disgust blended with frustration in your writing, and that deep aching pain of long ago comes rushing back to haunt and mock me. Maybe, its about time that all of us Barbadians who have been “unfaired” by this system start thinking about doing something about it.

A country being run in this way can never prosper. My instincts tell me that a backlash is certainly coming.

161 comments

• @Walter Blackman September 6, 2015 at 9:49 AM “When I recently read about the death of Sir Lloyd Erskine Sandiford’s daughter, I offered a minute of self-imposed silence as a sign of respect.”

Why?

I had a parish priest once who reminded us that we should not cut our own throats with our eating forks.

I’ve remembered that every time I sit down to eat.

• Blackie … Who is Reggie ..?

• More of us especially the too well fed political class will suffer death by dinner fork, than by gun or knife.

Neither the guard walls, nor the guns, nor the dogs, nor the security guards can protect us from our own dinner forks.

We do violence to our own selves.

Violence and death by dinner [and breakfast, and lunch, and snack] fork.

• Reggie Hunte

On 6 September 2015 at 15:17, Barbados Underground wrote:

• @Walter Blackman September 6, 2015 at 9:49 AM “During that minute of silence, a rebellious teardrop ripped itself from my right eye and slowly trickled down my face.
    I also quietly and telepathically extended condolences to the family of David Thompson when he died.”

I did not feel anything nor did I cry when Sandi’s daughter died. I did not feel anything nor did I cry when David Thompson died, nor did I feel anything nor cry for any of the others.

Some of us are way way too soft.

• @MoneyBrain September 6, 2015 at 10:14 AM “Trudeau is no more PM material than the sons of Sir Gary, Sir Clyde, Sir Don et al were Test Cricket player material.”

What?

You mean that good brains, good talent and good discipline are not heritable?

What a thing nuh!!!

• @MoneyBrain September 6, 2015 at 10:14 AM “ball of Shyte”

What you see as a “ball of Shyte” a lotta of politicians want us to see as something else and they want us to say “yum-yum” chocolate.

• Simple Simon September 6, 2015 at 11:26 AM #
    “Some of us are way way too soft.”

Simple Simon,
    Of course, you know that another person would argue that some of us are way way too hard. We are wired differently.

• @Simpy

I love most things (including ladies)chocolate too much to permit that comparison. But it was most appropriate in the context.

You know only too well that that we mortals have no control over what calibre our children will be or are. I am certainly very fortunate, a few other family members have not been so blessed.

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

@Bush Tea

But Walter is only one and Caswell do not want to enter politics. Where would we find the others? I would love to enter the race, but I am afraid my tongue cannot refrain too long from calling the particular shites you will encounter by their rightful names. So who else besides the Granville Phillips would come forward?

• I was listening to Brasstacks Sunday but had to turn off the radio.Like clockwork,Pornville keep saying….now that the Barbados economy is on a growth path….and he repeats that statement at every opportunity he gets to speak.What growth path this man speaks of so glibly.Pornville,you guys are borrowing money everyday to hopefully pay back some day.I have a feeling that there will be no growth in Barbados until you jokers call an election and the people speak.For sure,there is no confidence in you lot. Growth path?over the cliff?

• @ Gabriel September 6, 2015 at 8:00 AM #

Bush Tea
    “……even in the damn church we have clans bending the rules…..”
    The story going the rounds is that the dean of the cathedral got the bishop in court over the pension rule that cost drexel his job long ago.Retiring at 70 is the new rule but the dean interpreting the rule to suit himself,drawing a pension at 65 and still drawing a salary as dean..Rumour has it that he say the rule is ambiguous.
    Maybe Prodigal can confirm/refute this story…………

Yea, Gabriel……….the story is true. We also have to remember that the Dean is a dem……..for dems, it is always what’s in it for me! To hell with anything else…………..no thought is given to the reality that money has to be found to restore the very church he presided over or that times are hard and that contributions are down. This is the world in which we live.

• BUdavid ventured into the VoB chat today where DJ hosted a very interesting program to discuss the impact of the TnT election on Barbados and the region. One question posed to Mariano Browne who is not stranger to Barbadians was whither the T&T/Barbados natural gas pipeline? Browne was quick to say any expectation of this becoming a reality exist in the imagination only.

It is disappointing we had to get a status update on the matter from the former minister of trade and not Darcy Boyce.

Liked by 1 person

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ De Ingrunt Word

“…This BU voice is surely strong but of course a lot, lot more is needed to become a formidable, effective political force…”

You are saying this because?

1) You have done a poll of the effect of BU?
    2) You have access to the number of silent observers that the Blogmaster sees?
    3) You and the pollster Wickham are friends and he has given you access to his revised poll results?

What is your definition of “formidable and effective”?

And by what means do you measure that?

I know that you have not for example seen that, right before your very eyes, that a political contender is arising, and has arisen, even as we speak AND that like a TSUNAMI mid ocean, is gathering momentum, so much so that even “the Commander” has come here and lashed out at him.

Mr. Blackman is no one’s fool and has, like a wine, matured with the years.

Many others have come here and sought to secure the backing of persons of many backgrounds yet, unlike the diverse contenders, he has been able to “still the savage beast” and converse with friend and enemy alike, with cretins and the intelligencia alike, stolid.

@ BAFFY

I am surprised at you per you belief that Mr. Blackman would enter the fray alone and when successful in that election, just become a single backbencher, AS Owen now is…at least for the while.

Ambition should be made of sterner stuff and Walter is not Sir Branford, to be stymied by the sheeple.

100 Comments and Growing.

The focus and central issue being shared is one which is dear to the hearts of each and every blogger – the reason why you and I, as much balls we purport to have, irrespective of our “sesquipedalian loquaciousness” CANNOT, LIKE HE HAS, post under our real names.

Observe how, learned and respected posters, like the Honorable Bush Tea and Hants, defer to him BECAUSE he has laid himself bare, at the altar of national service as a man who has been afflicted with the many swipes of mediocracy and genetic small mindedness of Bajans, that many here continue to suffer under, but he alone seems to say “NO FURTHER”.

WHILE USING HIS REAL NAME, MY FRIEND!!

Assuredly, I am of the belief that Mr. Blackman, in 2015, has not only set his sights on 2018, but has assembled or is assembling, his own team of contenders, for whom so many hunger.

The thing that you and others fail to understand is that we are not so far away for the infelicities of the BLP ten years ago and now, living the incompetencies of the DLP these past 7 year, it is possible to see that a third entity, composed of devoted and committed men and women, CAN INFLICT THE NECESSARY DEFEAT ON BOTH PARTIES.

You only need one man/woman to arise to champion the Joan of Arc like movement.

@ Mr. Blackman

I will always believe that men should live for a thing that is bigger that this our transiency

As long as you remain true to this necessary change, even though it MUST BE THAT we peons will “fall as offerings for our homeland in death’s holy sacrifice”, I bid your cause “GOD’S SPEED” because, for me, “There is no land for us beyond the Volga.”

Liked by 1 person

• Pieces, I say it because it is true. I say it because no one medium can transport even a popular public figure and talk-show host to national political election victory or to be a formidable, effective political force. That was so 30 years ago, was so last month and will be so three years from now.

So my learned colleague, I don’t need to 1- do a poll of the effect @ BU, 2- know the number of silent observers that the Blogmaster sees or 3- access Wickham’s revised poll results.

The remark Barrow repeated years ago that ‘all politics is local’ is still applicable today. One still needs to pump hands, ‘kiss babies’, meet the voter in their neighbourhoods and so on in this modern era.

So as high-tech as politicians may become – and they must use technology in order to be effective – it is to their peril if they do NOT also complete all that regular low tech stuff.

Oh yes definition. A “formidable, effective political force” starts with victory at the polls.

When that is translated into implementation of effective programs and policies and leading public opinion to tackle major issues (popular or otherwise) you then are part of or yourself can be appropriately described as being a formidable political force.

Of course not every politician achieves that but for the purposes of this debate, the first step of victory is mandatory. After all that’s why one enters the fray!

• Walter
    That was another curved ball you bowled today at Reggie Hunte.It confirms that when it comes to ruthlessness the Dems are without equal in Barbados and can be likened to Zionists like Menachem Begin,Golda Meir,Ariel Sharon,Benyamin Netanyahu,Dick Cheney,John Bolton,Donald Rumsfeld,George Bush,Bill O’Reilley,Sean Hannity,Glenn Beck.

• @ David September 6, 2015 at 2:06 PM #

…………………..One question posed to Mariano Browne who is not stranger to Barbadians was whither the T&T/Barbados natural gas pipeline? Browne was quick to say any expectation of this becoming a reality exist in the imagination only.

It is disappointing we had to get a status update on the matter from the former minister of trade and not Darcy Boyce.
    ……………………………………

But David, every sane person knew that this was only a pipe dream and a gimmick. Just as the polls say that when Americans are asked when one thinks of Hilary Clinton, the first word that comes to mind is LIAR, so it is with this DLP government.

I missed this particular exchange when the phone rang so what was the response of Donville? It was good that he came to VOB today bearing in mind the Dems always run away from facing the public but I guess today the topic was not on the Barbados government’s incompetence, so it was safe to come to VOB!

• @Prodigal

There was nothing for Donville to agree or disagree in response to Mariano Browne, a former big up in the PNM government. Natural gas is becoming scarce in T&T, low yield wells and low exploration projects. Estwick was also bug on the pipeline.

• So true, Gabriel.

I saw Reggie Hunte on DLPTV a few nights ago trying to debate some topic or the other. I gasped……..and said, my God look at the depths our Parliament has sunk!

For Fumble to nominate this scumbag to the Senate in 2013 shows you the mentality of a dem. We all knew why the dead king did so as this man was indeed one who stayed the course with the dead king and the dems even to the point of being a messenger for them……….so of course he had to share in the fatted calf. Was there any other dem of worth who could make a better contribution to the Senate?

• David,

Did I read on Barbados Today a few weeks ago that some of the wells this government invested in have been found to be dry? I think I did!

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ De Ingrunt Word

Ok, this is the philosophical De Word that I am accustomed to.

Which came first? The chicken or the egg?

So while I would say that “A formidable effective political force does not “start at the poll” it starts in the “rumshops”, be they virtual or physical, with the “handshakes” be they flesh to flesh or e-encounters as Danny Gill recently encountered, I also have to expansive enough to see the macro interpretation of “what is truly formidable” and where on that “timeline” is the “start” point placed.

Is it when he usurps the status quo OR when he makes the critical changes that are needed?

Your perspective is accepted.

Still “Upward and Onward” Mr Blackman for “the journey of 1000 miles” begins with the first step

• “@Money Brain. Justin Trudeau may look like a “kid”, but he has the strength of his father; remember Trudeau Snr’s words “just watch me” during the Quebec crisis? Justin is a far better person and leader than Harper, who wants to show the Americans that he can be more right wing than them, among other things. Despite the ads, he will prevail, and I feel proud to have volunteered to work for his party. Go read his autobiography; “On Common Ground”, given to me by a friend, and really learn about him, his humanity and his sensitivity to other human beings. He is sound, and definitely not a “kid”. Didn’t know, but not surprised, that you are such a Conservative, with such extreme opinions.”

Can only describe you as an enigma; how the hell a man of your obvious intellect can be so naïve is baffling.

“@Gabriel,

Let us not forget T.T. Lewis and Clennel Wickham, among other challengers to the BLP hierarchy of Grantley Adams, and others who challenged Tom Adams et al, ”

And what happened to those who challenged Mr Barrow. Brandford Taitt; John Connell; Neville Maxwell; Richie Haynes; Ernest Mottley ; Wynter Crawford to name a few.

• Pieces, you are quite right: “Which came first? The chicken or the egg?”

I got a bit ahead of myself there as I was focusing on the transformation from popular figure to political force of victory. Certainly, the force will start well before the victory.

But of course to be formidable and effective one does need to be successful individually and collectively as well, because there are no ‘formidable’ politicians who sat on the opposition benches all their lives…you either win or engineer your way to the top.

• Balance
    You have named some true Barbadian patriots.These are numbered among those who made Barbados great.All except Rugged challenged Barrow and paid the ultimate price.Rugged was a thorn in Barrow’s side in the City.He couldn’t separate the two but still had the last word.When Barrow found he couldn’t move Mottley and his strong influence in the City,he did the next best thing,he took the City from Rugged and along with it Local Government in the entire island.Rugged famously praised Barrow in ’63 I think,when in response to a budget speech during which he found himself Leader of the Opposition Rugged could only muster a few words including”as far as I am concerned you can remain Premier forever”.Clearly that was not enough to secure his tenure and stranglehold on Bridgetown.

• @Balance wrote

Can only describe you as an enigma; how the hell a man of your obvious intellect can be so naïve is baffling.

Just to clarify, this was aimed at Alvin, correct?

Assuming such, I must say that it horrifies to have to agree. Some people are very gifted in certain ways and yet deficient in judging humans. I have come across several gents like this in my lifetime.

• really some who are questioning Alvin choice of political leaning should also question their credibility lol! behold some of you have for fourteen years patronized and praise a govt who had failures that were enough to make dog stomach sick
    As for balance his support of MIA puts his credibility into question especially knowing the public view of Mia sexuality is one of indifference and not well received ,,,,also given his vicarious distaste for homosexual

• MoneyBrain

There is name for people like Alvin – idiot savant.

• @Money Brain and Hants, and Caswell’

Honi soit qui mal y pense!

• I hope that Alvin wasn’t trying to insult me because if he attempted, he would have failed since I don’t understand what he has written.

• Our politicians metaphorically piss on us, but Conservative Canadian Jerry Bance who is running in Scarborough Rouge Park takes things to a new low. This video shows Bance who is contesting the Scarborough Rouge Park seat pissing in a customer’s coffee cup and throwing the piss down the kitchen sink, and putting back the cup as though nothing dirty has happened.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/jerry-bance-marketplace-1.3217797

Dear moneybrain:

Have you ever hired this man and come home and found your coffee cup other than where you left it?
    Are you still planning to vote for the Pee C Party?

• @Money Brain, I never said you were a member of the Conservative party or even supported it. You are conservative in your thinking.
    @Caswell,
    I will let you stew in your own sauce. Nuff said.

• You idiot, I am not stewing.

• “As for balance his support of MIA puts his credibility into question especially knowing the public view of Mia sexuality is one of indifference and not well received ,,,,also given his vicarious distaste for homosexual”

Let me make my position clear. Adults are free to practice whatever form of deviant sexual behaviour they want and I am free to abhor it. This does not mean I hate the individuals who so indulge; but why dwell on poor Mia. She is not the first or certainly will be the last of such persuasion who would seek political office. It is what you bring to the office that matters. You will be aware that the same deviant label was attached to Mr Cammie Tudor , a former Deputy Prime Minister and ascribed kingmaker in your party. He never suffered any fallout for his behaviour so why Mia.

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

@ Caswell

You would have to be a real real jackass to even think about engaging this two face pretender. Shame on blasted you. There are far bigger things for you to focus on than this egotistic shite. He is busy for years trying to hide his nasty little tracks. Why you think he defends wrong. He wants to come over as being informed; making his little threats and writing a whole lot of partisan shite. Ignore the weasel and stay the course. You know the SSS likes you bad and want you to move in the direction of Walter Blackman. Time you think about that hon bun.

• @ balance
    You being the individual is responsible for your words and actions. That being said you seized the opportunity when you believe it is appropriate to bashed and condemns the homosexual , But when it comes to those with whom you agree in your political leanings you reference your excuses with amusing hypocrisy .

• Gabriel September 6, 2015 at 3:15 PM #

“That was another curved ball you bowled today at Reggie Hunte. It confirms that when it comes to ruthlessness the Dems are without equal in Barbados………..”

That is a very serious statement, Gabriel. I don’t believe in conspiracy theories, but if what Walter wrote is true, then I will have to agree with your above comments.

Walter stated: “On the evening of the scheduled date of the meeting, I was at home getting ready when the telephone rang, I picked it up. A male voice on the other end said: “If you go on the platform tonight talking about the NIS, you will come home and find your wife and daughter dead.”………..”

His comments immediately caused me to recall the following:

• @ Artax

Skippa …the only surprise is that wunna seem surprised that such threats happen and that such political animals are among us….
    Even many of those who are most professional and respectful in public have been known to show their true colours in private.
    This is why some of the basic REQUIREMENTS of leadership are big balls; and being a BIGGER BULLY than such thugs….

True leadership is not for sissies, cowards or the faint of heart, although such make good political parasites….

People who make such threats to REAL leaders hardly ever repeat the error….

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

This behaviour to threaten and intimidate is not restricted to one political party. Both are non-transparent parties practicing in secret, plotting in secret and, reaping their rewards in secret. Governance is but a mere front and all about putting on the show. There is much to be profited and certainly a whole lot to obtain in the system of politics practiced in Barbados. Benefits far outweigh the consequences because there are no consequences for those who do wrong in the political arena. Why not threaten, intimidate or orchestrate specific destructions of specific people who threaten the so call political class way of life, if you are not a conformist. It has always been about supporting their way of life and protecting the network that brings in the take for the beneficiaries. Barbados is corrupt to the bone and a few people in the political life have shown clearly why it is so.

• @Balance,

People who challenge leaders, and systems, must be prepared to face the consequences, and pay the price. You become a threat to his/her health, livelihood, power, income and everything he holds dear. Leaders will not give this up easily. Even before biblical times, throughout the Bible, and down through modern times this has been the pattern of mans’ existence. Remember what happened to Oliver Cromwell? I think he lost his head as a consequence. People who chaLLENGED THE POPES, ended up dead. People who challenged Stalin; and the system ended up in Stalags. People who challenged dictatorships in South America, “disappeared”. It didn’t even have to be the individual; Challenges to the system, resulted, up to to day, in upheaval, riots, imprisonment. disappearance, or lengthy terms of exile or imprisonment. Nelson Mandela was imprisoned for 27 years for his challenge to apartheid. Even countries who challenged the proxy leaders of other countries, in their own countries, paid the price for the successful over-throw of these leaders. Case in point Cuba, that threw off the yoke of a corrupt dictator and his regime. Cuban suffered; and are still suffering the effects of the embargo imposed over fifty years ago, by the United States.

We have to think on these things before, we hastily overturn the basket of eggs. I will never maintain that ” A ” status must be maintained, ad infinitum. But in many cases because of the implications and consequences,one must also look outside of our own (individual, collective and with respect to our own country’s) livelihood and see what the effect would be on other countries and peoples. Consider these consequences and decide whether the result is worth the effort.

Yard-fowlism has NOTHING to do with it. Reality is the word, and the fact that our island is part of a world.

These questions need to be thought about carefully.

• Commander in Chief aka -Prankster the Mankster eating Mangoes sunnyside up and egging off while Alfing around to the Max

Typical of the Walter Blackmans of this Barbadian society to try to question people’s mental state. Were it left to him and his kind , ostracizing would be the prescribed action against anyone who dare to even look their way.

Most of the commenters here are cowards too like Walter, people such as Bush Tea , Artar, Sunshine shiny Shine whatever-, Balance and the ac consortiums along with piece of de rock something whatever are Cowards.

Brave people and not Cowards would include Hants, BAFBFP and others such as Caswell . Alvin, Money Brain and Prodigal

• Alvin Cummins September 7, 2015 at 11:59 AM #

“People who challenge leaders, and systems, must be prepared to face the consequences, and pay the price. You become a threat to his/her health, livelihood, power, income and everything he holds dear. Leaders will not give this up easily.”

Alvin,
    What you have written here is very true.

At the same time, leaders who lose the trust and confidence of the people they lead “must be prepared to face the consequences, and pay the price” also.

History is replete with many examples.
    Here are a few:
    Louis XVI, the last Bourbon king of France, who was executed in 1793
    Nicholas II, the last Czar of Russia, who was executed in 1918
    Ferdinand Marcos, ousted as President of the Philippines, in 1986
    Nicholas Ceausescu, 1st President of Romania, executed along with his wife on Xmas day 1989
    Hosni Mubarak, 4th President of Egypt forced to step down in 2011 after 18 days of demonstrations. He was subsequently imprisoned.
    Muammar Gaddafi, killed in October 2011, a victim of Libya’s civil war

I could go on and on. The point I am making here is that leaders must be careful not to prolong and support systems that treat their people with contempt and push them over the edge, regardless of how docile such people might appear to be.

At the end of a recently held two-day retreat in St. Philip, the media highlighted that the ministers hastily departed. PM Stuart reportedly left under the protection of 6 policemen. What thoughts do you believe were going through the PM’s mind to warrant such security measures?

What I have written here presents a completely different perspective from the one you have offered. Isn’t what I have written also true?

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Methinks Commander that the ole man hath offended thee with the 20 words that form your Nom de Plume.

While in the one breath you have said something to the effect that “left to the Walters of this world, dissenters would be ostracised,” you have conveniently neglected to say that left to you and your ilk Commander “dissenters, even those who looked at you a little too scornfully, would be exiled to foreign lands from whence they, left to you, would not be able to return.”

These men of whom you speak because they have not crossed swords with you, either here nor in the real world, by inference or otherwise.

People like SSS for example hath done you no wrong but, unwittingly, what she and others have done by stating “…Barbados is corrupt to the bone and a few people in the political life have shown clearly why it is so…” or like Brother Bush Tea, in speaking directly to the matter and in many cases, like Walter Blackman, making mention of the authors and its progenitors of which you are “first blood” has been, in your opinion, to defile the “sanctum sanctorum”

For a High Priest, we have committed the unpardonable sin, because we do not genuflect like we are supposed to do.

What Baffles me though is how Baffy has, with his inimitable style now become one of the columns of the building, when he was heretofore “the stone that the builders rejected!! Has Baffy, he who breathed fire and brimstone up peeple like your ass, crossed over to the Dark Side, Sith Lord??

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Please tell de ole man what is “bravery” according the the bible (purposely lowercased) of the “Commander of the Sith?”

• Commander in Chief aka -Prankster the Mankster eating Mangoes sunnyside up and egging off while Alfing around to the Max September 7, 2015 at 12:58 PM #

“Typical of the Walter Blackmans of this Barbadian society to try to question people’s mental state.”

My brave Commander in Chief,
    If you go back and read my comments carefully, you would readily agree that, when it comes to your mental state, I was not trying to question anything. I was making an assertion.

The foolishness you have just written here just proves that my assertion is true.

• pieceuhderockyeahright September 7, 2015 at 2:13 PM #

“Methinks Commander that the ole man hath offended thee…”

“People like SSS for example hath done you no wrong…”

“or like Brother Bush Tea, in speaking directly to the matter…..”

“What Baffles me though is how Baffy has, with his inimitable style now become one of the columns of the building….”

pieceuhderockyeahright,
    Mentally unstable though the brave Commander-in-chief might be, he is still sane and crafty enough to try to metaphorically “throw the cat among the pigeons”.
    Please do not fall for his silly tricks. There are too many important issues on BU to discuss.

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

My sweet piece

Anyone can call me a coward because the truth of the matter is: I still frighten is shite for bull cows, horses and any animal larger than myself. I might be into fitness and a bit of training, but I dare not tackle any man unless he tackles me and then I have to defend with teeth, nails, legs, arms and finally tongue. So since me tongue is the only thing I could pelt back at this chief in commander shite, I first need it to explain the word coward in more detail as defined by it. Obviously, this commander in chief, or whatever the shite it is, is not here to pick bones but to dish out a lot of what is being dished at dem. If wanting better for one’s country by means of speaking out at the tirade of shites masquerading as leaders and their group of cunts on here and in other places, who defend tooth and nail anything they do makes me coward, then I am a ramgeorge coward. I prefer to be a coward and any other description pelt at me than to be a pretensive greedy crook posing as an upright somebody. Tell me what the shite could be worst?

Liked by 1 person

• “Please do not fall for his silly tricks. There are too many important issues on BU to discuss”

Well said Walter!

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Yes Mr. Blackman,

I saw that one but was content to “engage” and confirm based on their response to the bravery question

What gave the character/ploy away was/is there non familiarity with BAFFY and the assignment of He who Leads Anarchy here on BU to the Halls of the Brave.

Whu he nevah heah BAFFY cussing De Various Ministers of Culchah and De Nex one fuh innovation?

So it was evident that he took his lead from the comments on the page and misinterpreted Baffy’s tongue in cheek remarks as “contra-Blackman” and proceeded to do de ting that he does do best “divide en conquer”

I personally likes to bait my “fish”, not the Minister of Eukashun type though, it doan be fun tuh reel in de fish one time, in fly fishing yuh does got to enjoy de “back cast”, the “throw” and the “catch and release”.

At de ole man age dere isnt much fun in udder tings udder dan de grans are is learning well at ***

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Am am am SSS am am ammm

De tongue ting, am, am, I well … I ent want you pelting you tongue at nuh body you hear,

Dem got a delete key pun you keyboard?

Type in 2:47 pm and press um a couple uh times to mek dat statement disappear causing me brother Bush Tea and Lawson and Hants… I ent want dem to has nuffun to do wid you ….

• Walter

I have seen the Prime Minister out and about among members of the public and he was only accompanied by one security officer. On the other hand, when he went to a retreat with his Cabinet, he was reported to have had six security officers. That would suggest to me that he does not fear the public but it is a different kettle of fish when he has to be around the Eager 11 and others.

Liked by 1 person

• Caswell Franklyn September 7, 2015 at 3:02 PM #

“I have seen the Prime Minister out and about among members of the public and he was only accompanied by one security officer. On the other hand, when he went to a retreat with his Cabinet, he was reported to have had six security officers. That would suggest to me that he does not fear the public but it is a different kettle of fish when he has to be around the Eager 11 and others.”

Perhaps Fruendel is the real COWARD here.

• LOL @Caswell
    Boss, you does talk a real roll sometimes yuh! 🙂

But do you realize how little Froon thinks of his colleagues? Imagine there are 11 Eager beavers – some armed (but not dangerous) – and yet Froon ONLY needed 6 policemen to establish superiority?

Clearly to his mind…one policeman is worth two of his ministers…

• Froon knows that those fellas dangerous to themselves and Cabinet members as dem just as INCOMPETENT with a Glock, S&W or Colt, as they are in conducting their duties!

• Froon knows these guys are hungry and will anything to secure their pensions followed by the sweetness and thrill of power. Also many of them lack the intelligence to live comfortably if parted from a manager’s salary.

• I don’t think Froon was so much afraid of the Eager 11 as he was of the presence of all the Permanent Secretaries present.Froon does not feel comfortable.Like everything else he knows the PS’s are hopping mad at his policies which hit them and their families hard.

• “Case in point Cuba, that threw off the yoke of a corrupt dictator and his regime. Cuban suffered; and are still suffering the effects of the embargo imposed over fifty years ago, by the United States”

Absolute rubbish. Go do your research.

• balance September 7, 2015 at 6:59 PM #
    “Case in point Cuba, that threw off the yoke of a corrupt dictator and his regime. Cuban suffered; and are still suffering the effects of the embargo imposed over fifty years ago, by the United States”

Absolute rubbish. Go do your research.

balance,
    I think Alvin is making the point that Fidel Castro overthrew Fulgencio Batista (an American puppet) in 1959 and the U.S. government made him and the Cuban people pay a price (i.e. “suffering the effects of the embargo imposed over fifty years ago’) for his actions.

• “balance,
    I think Alvin is making the point that Fidel Castro overthrew Fulgencio Batista (an American puppet) in 1959 and the U.S. government made him and the Cuban people pay a price (i.e. “suffering the effects of the embargo imposed over fifty years ago’) for his actions.”

Walter there is some evidence of America’s complicity in the overthrow of General Batista. Remember General Batista was black. The Boat GRANMA used in the invasion was supplied by an American businessman according to the records of the revolutionary museum in Havana. Remember the Americans were willing to recognize the regime after the revolution but somewhere along the way the deal went sour for public consumption. . I wouldn’t be surprised if one day we discover that Mr Castro was on the payroll of the CIA having been allowed to ride roughshod over a nation of over 11 million people for over fifty years without sanction except for empty rhetoric from both sides to fool us all. As far as I am aware the USA has never stopped trading with Cuba totally. I will check my records and return to this fiasco later; but one more thing Cuba has gone all over the world liberating nations from oppression and racism and remains one of the most racist nations in the world and oppressed too. Why not liberate Guantanamo too?

• Batista like the majority of the despots which headed Latin American regimes in those days and supported by the Americans for geo-political interests was ruthless and corrupt and like most Caribbean politicians judging from the comments on BU on the take. He was of mixed race and was hastily abandoned by the Americans as with Ferdinand Marcos of the Philipines when the writing was on the wall hopefully to preserve the status quo. Things eventually went sour on all fronts. Castro was willing to play ball. Che Guevara sincere revolutionary that he was did not approve and had a falling out with Castro which led to his downfall and eventual banishment. The Americans misread the wicket and forced Castro into Moscow’s hands albeit reluctantly. It has always puzzled me why Mr Castro was never executed during the times he was captured even when General Batista was in power and why America invaded everywhere else except Cuba which is right on its doorstep.

• Balance

“General Batista was black”

I am not quite sure about that and the documentary on the Cuba revolution does not support the fact that Batista was black as all. And even if he was black the documentary shows him a man of Spanish heritage, but he could quite possibly be some part black, but I don’t see it at all.

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s