[Barbados Underground] Walter Blackman responded to BU commenter TheOGazerts on the observation that Barbadians are engaged in the Charles Herbert, a rich Bajan Actuary that contrast starkly with Walter, a Bajan Actuary who is Black and forced to return to the USA to make a living – David, blogmaster

TheOGazerts, Barbados, our idyllic island home, will continue to vomit up its shocking contrasts.

It is only after listening to people on BU describing how “bright” a certain white man is to have completed a degree in actuarial science, then to have gone on to complete the tough actuarial professional exams, then to have gone on to develop a multi-million dollar actuarial company in Barbados, that I found myself making some comparisons. We both demonstrated at the university and professional exams level that we possess the intellectual capacity needed to become fully qualified pension actuaries. However, the demonstration of brain power is where the similarity abruptly ends.

Now for the contrast. He is a bright, rich, white man. I am simply a black man.

In Barbados, this is a huge, huge deal and it naturally and invariably translates into a situation where a universe of opportunities are opened to him, whilst all doors are closed to me.

So whereas someone can boast on this white man’s behalf, that he made millions from selling an actuarial company which he developed in Barbados (not sure if this is correct), I am left to inform BU readers that I was awarded an OAS Fellowship to study actuarial science at the masters degree level with the expressed intention of providing actuarial services to the National Insurance Scheme of Barbados. Alas, I completed my studies but, on my return to Barbados, was never allowed to work at the NIS. I applied for the vacant position of Supervisor of Insurance, which was advertised by the Erskine Sandiford administration. After a series of interviews, the final two candidates were Walter Blackman and Joycelyn Hinds. I attended the final interview and have heard nothing since. I discovered later that Wismar Greaves was placed in the post. Could it be that this was the point at which CLICO was being prepared for its “great” journey?

Attempts to work at ICB amounted to a mere exercise in futility.

More recently, the Government of Barbados, for the first time, advertised the position of CEO of the Financial Services Commission. I knew something was afoot so I made sure that I applied. As expected, I never even got an acknowledgement. However, Sir Frank Alleyne told Barbadians that the FSC had searched the whole world and could find no one but Mr, Randy Graham to fill the position.

What has allowed me to remain mentally strong and steadfast is my firm belief that no one selected Walter Blackman to “unfair” or destroy. This “square pegs in round holes” problem is systemic and thousands of progressive-minded Barbadians, if given the chance, can easily recount incidents of being similarly “unfaired” and discriminated against.

There is some purpose to this madness.

Back in the early to mid-1980’s, a grand designer decided to “corner” and control government’s financial services market. Individuals were handpicked to head major government revenue agencies and to follow certain career tracks (e.g. Supervisor of Insurance, NIS dept, PS/Director of Finance).

For example, Sabina Walcott was made Commissioner of Inland revenue. Grantley Smith was Director of NIS, before moving on to the PS/Director of Finance role. William Layne was Financial Controller of NIS, Supervisor of Insurance, and then PS/Director of Finance. Ian Carrington was Supervisor of Insurance, Director of NIS, and has now moved into a PS/Director of finance role.

Any person or agency wishing to investigate the nature and state of the government’s finances from 1985-2015 is well-advised to start by questioning and interviewing these four individuals along with Erskine Griffith, a former PS/Director of finance, who was ultimately “rewarded” with a minister of agriculture’s salary. These persons were in the best position to know how come government’s financial rules could be violated so easily, and how come the problems raised by the Auditor General for so long could be so contemptuously disregarded with no repercussions or consequences.

With respect to the FSC, every Barbadian watched in disbelief as the organization did little or nothing to protect the rights and benefits of CLICO’s policyholders, or to punish the guilty persons responsible for the scandalous raid on the insurance company. However, when it was discovered that the Judicial Manager was about to publish a report which proved beyond the shadow of a doubt that David Thompson initiated the steps which led to the CLICO raid, the FSC sprang into action and tried to block the publication of the report. Was this the reason why the nephew of David Thompson was put in the CEO post? Was it sheer coincidence that he left the post after all attempts to block the publication of the JM report failed?

We castigate, shun, and in some cases, jail uneducated black Barbadians for their acts of ignorance. At the other extreme, we block well-educated black Barbadians.from taking up positions commensurate with their experience and training, and from participating meaningfully in public life. Participation in public life is now being characterized by corruption, malfeasance, and deceit. Instinct tells me that a social backlash cannot be very far away…

320 responses to “Walter the Actuary a BLACK man | Charles the Actuary a White man”

1. @WB
    Let me begin by saying that I wish you well.

A few see the results of the 2018 election as more than a rejection of the DLP and will be chewing on your shorts like rabid dogs. Some will not know the man, but will try to punish you for your association with the other party. Identify and ignore. If you cannot, keep your head on in answering these folks as BU comments is their paper trail.

Some will seek to engage you in constructive dialogue and I look forward to your always reasoned response to them.

Stay sensible. I wish you well.

2. Lets see you didnt get a job here.. but were able to go to another country and take one away from one of their citizens there who probably feels the same way as you do as he has to move to a different state because people from abroad took his job. mmmmmm. Just because you can kick a ball doesnt mean you can play for manchester united, its obvious what is really going on here talk about poisoning the waters. Stop it

3. The following was received to BU’s inbox:

This notice has been displayed for quite some weeks now!…

“The Data Processing Department would like to advise members of the public that the facility for making payments online via the NIS and eZpay portal is currently unavailable.”

As a customer (who is now VERY irritated by this), I would really like to have answers to the following…

1a) When the facility will become available again?

1b) If the facility will not become available again, will it be possible to pay through the local banks as you would pay utility services?

2) That the interest accumulated due to being unable to pay from outside of Barbados will be removed from the account!

3) What is the cause and who is responsible/accountable for the portal being unavailable?

4. @DAVID

Is this one of the consequences of the GOB declaring default on their sovergien debt. Looks like the financial gods (banks, forgien governments etc.) may have stopped processing forgien currency transactions with Barbados. I believe eZpay and other GOB payment transaction are domiciled offshore.

Are the consequences of declaring Sovergien Default starting to come home to roost ?

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Totally SHAMEFUL…..in a BLACK MAJORITY COUNTRY….that the brightestest black minds still have to run away to find opportunities, still sidelined, marginalized and if they stay exploited, demeaned and degraded by having to work for minority miscreants who don’t want competition in the business arena to rob them of their delusional slave master status.

Walter we warned you.

This is but another nasty 52 year old practice of both black governments…enabling and colluding with minorities to sideline and marginalize the majority population, discourage ambition so they cannot build medium or large businesses in their own country….this has to end with the Mia government….or it will end very hadly…30-0 is nothing compared to what the young people who are disenfranchised, who have seen their parents and grandparents disenfranchised with the help of their own black governments. ..will be forced to do if this nasty segregation practice is not ended…by the governments who have kept it in place for 60 years…another depraved and repulsive institution of criminality against the majority population for the Mia government to tear down this year.

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lawson…the only poison here is you…you go into the island yearly looking for strippers and believe you know everything, although I know you know what happens as I described since you admitted to rubbing soldiers with the Cartel…but the likes of you will always ignore it, happy that it happens….until the day the native Canadians kick you out of Canada, then you will be on TV…in tears.

7. @Wily

Not following your wily mind eZpay is a payment system. How are you connecting to debt default decision?

8. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

It’s a “social backlash” that will be well needed and even better deserved Walter, between the yardfowl brigades and the minority parasites…unless these institutions of wicked callousness are dismantled..the island will never recover and remain in good health, these parasites of both hues need to be excised off the backs of the population, their treasury and pension fund…it was bound to reach this very ugly conclusion.

9. It is important if we want to have a truth and reconciliation debate in Barbados some of us s must dial back on the vitriolic, and divisive language. The discussion of race and fair distribution of wealth is a topic that is at the top of the agenda for most countries. We have to sensibly articulate the issues and block by block demand equality and fairness. If we do not and allow the conversation to be one of vengeance our small societies in the Caribbean will implode.

Again, visit any social media platform by country and the debate is the same.

10. @ Walter
    Life is not intended to be fair. It never was.
    People with your talents should expect an even less balanced playing field… and must understand that you have the wherewithal to, not only deal with this… but to overcome it (You should have BUPPED) :).

Indeed, we are now in an era when this situation is even worse than it ever was…
    The dark forces ARE actually running things in our world..

So…
    People with altruistic intent (such as yourself) should EXPECT to be targeted..
    People who promote truth should EXPECT to be maligned.. and to lose the public debate…

If you want to be ‘appreciated’, and to given a ‘fair chance’, then you need to become a selfish, albino-centric prick….

Surely you can recognise the Trump phenomena….and the DLP era …. and everyday life around you….

Anyway …. Bushie’s time for whacking has long passed.
    No point in whacking dead weeds…
    Just an aside FYI

Up and on…

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BRIGHT AND EARLY MONDAY MORNING!
    ANOTHER RACE AND HATE THREAD!
    THE WHITE ACTUARIES, THE WHITE LAWYERS, THE WHITE SURVEYORS GET THE WORK, THOSE OF A CERTAIN HUE DONT
    WHATS NEW? IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN SO.

TALKING SHITE PUN BU IN DE DAILY DRIVEL RUM SHOP IS NOT GOING TO CHANGE NUTTIN.
    IF THERE WAS A FACULTY OF ACTUARARIAL SCIENCE AT UWI ,WALTER COULD GO UP THERE, LICK SOME ASS AND BECOME A DEAN TOO

AS A YOUNGSTER I SAW HENRY FRASER, BERTIE GRAHAM, YVONNE ROCHEL AND LOUD MOUT HASSELL PRACTICE THEIR RACISM AND SOUGHT TO MANIPULATE THE SITUATION, SO I GOT OUT OF DODGE REAL QUICK

IN THE PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICE IT WAS THE SAME
    YA GOT TO BE CONNECTED………AND IN THE LODGE! LOL
    NUTTIN TO DO WID ABILITY OR SCHOLARSHIP

IMAGINE GETTING A FELLOWSHIP TO GO STUDY TO RETURN FOR A SPECIFIC JOB, AND ON RETURN UNQUALIFIED MORONS AND IDIOTS ARE APPOINTED

HAL AUSTIN HAS WELL SAID….BARBADOS IS INDEED A FAILED STATE, AND ALL THE TALK IN DE RUM SHOP AINT GWINE HELP.
    I HOPE THAT I HAVE BEEN “PELLUCID” AND “PROLIX” ENOUGH.

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE COMMODORE IS BACK! MURDAH!
    THE ARIAN AND THE SON OF THE DEVIL HESELF
    THIS SHOULD BE FUN

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Well stated Mr Blogmaster. It is inevitable perhaps that in our small nation our debates on the distribution of economic wealth and race always get overly personal and nasty because frankly we almost always know someone taking part in the debate.

@Lawson, re “Just because you can kick a ball doesnt mean you can play for manchester united…”

True dat. But if you display wonderful skill at kicking the ball which is comparable to other excellent Man U ballers and grew in Manchester as a devout fan you certainly are deeply disappointed if you don’t make the team after tryout because contract negotiations falter…even when you then go on to displace another baller at Juventus or Barca and make their teams …not so!

The man has all the skills so yes it does mean he could have played for Manchester United if ‘Sir Alex’ wanted him….

Alas, in life that is ever the final hurdle: the bosses not wanting you despite your skills.

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WUNNAH CANT HELP IT NUH?
    TRUMP TRUMP TRUMP TRUMP
    TRUMP IN WUNNAH HEAD
    TRUMP GONNA MEK WUNNAN DEAD
    ALL DE WHILE HE STEAMING AHEAD

TIME FOR MY COFFEE AND HAM AND EGGS
    ANON

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ALSO PRESENT IS THE WANNABEE AND ASS LICKER DPD
    BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP
    STIKE UP DE BAND

16. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“It is important if we want to have a truth and reconciliation debate in Barbados.”

“Reconciliation debate” …aka…lotta long talk..NEVER worked anywhere including racist countries like US, UK South Africa etc…and it will never work in the Caribbean, particularly in Barbadox ehoch took the brunt of mental destruction…

…..mindsets are too embedded and have been for decades post slavery…yall can’t even get rid of the most recent yardgowl culture in the most recent 52 year old political party blight, which has nothing to do with running an effective, competent or successful government, but exists nonetheless and steals from the population when yardgfwls are determined to stay in place and do no work until they reach 100 and destroy any progress for the country AND their people…

….so how do you expect to get rid of the even more embedded and much much older segregation and disenfranchisement system continued by both governments….unless it is DISMANTLED PERMANENTLY by the present government..

All the long talk in the world will not change anything.

17. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

yardfowl culture

Yardfowls…but you get what I mean.

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

IN MY POST AT July 30, 2018 7:44 AM I FORGOT ARCHITECTS, AND DISPOSERS OF GARBAGE, AND CONTRACTORS

THE WHITE PEOPLE TEKKING OVA EVA TING

SOON THEY WILL TEK OVA GRAVE DIGGING TOO

SLAVERY DONE? NO. BARBADOS DONE.

19. So whereas someone can boast on this white man’s behalf, that he made millions from selling an actuarial company which he developed in Barbados (not sure if this is correct)

It isn’t a boast, it is either a fact or it is not.

If he did make millions from selling an actuarial company, good for him.

We should be applauding him for coming back from university and making a go of life.

But his family also owned acres of what became prime beachfront property which is developed now with numerous hotels.

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

As succinctly as I can I will tell you why you have been disadvantaged by both parties when they form the Government. You tried to be a DEM with a conscience, without realising that no such creature exists in this fair land. When you are a DEM, you are expected to be blindly loyal and rabid. You have failed to live down to that standard and as a result, you were not trusted by your party. Put simply, they knew that they could not trust you to do the wrong thing when required by the party. You were considered to be not loyal enough.

As for the Bees, they hated you because you identified as a DEM. Man you were between a wolf and a cliff facing certain death however you swing.

21. True Dat GP barbados has become a failed state because of worshipping at the white man altar awaiting the crumbs to fall off the table
    Just like you GP who now worships Trump belives in his ideology of calling third world nations and the people garbage and to a lower extent you GP has adopted and digested his filthy language of the N word .
    A word which when comes out the mouth of our own shows disregard and disrespect for our ancestors who suffered at the hands of white slave masters
    GP what does that say about you
    I say unto thee physican heal thyself
    So as a man thinketh so is he.

22. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Bushman…ya giving up way too easily after coming this far..

Ah know Pacha gave up in anger, but you should know that this is a work in progress and the dismantling of these wretched institutions and structures of greed, racism, smallmindedness, read, the collection of yardfowls by government…and disenfranchisement of the people by those same leaders who lack vision, now that they are fully exposed and despite the fight to keep them in place… cannot be far off.

23. @Lawson
    The man wrote about his frustrations in trying to land a job commensurate with his education and skills in a country run by his fellow Bajans ( from the same gene pool and socio-economic background) and all you can take from it is that he usurped the job of some other resident in a foreign land. Is that what you think of some immigrants to Canada? Don’t answer that one we already know the answer.

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WELL WELL

YOU AND T INNIS ARE TOO IMPATIENT

IT WILL FALL ON ITS OWN WEIGHT

MY FATHER ALWAYS WOULD SAY THIS……
    “A PINT POT CAN ONLY HOLD A PINT”

25. Being handpicked to go to university to study actuarial science and come back and work at the NIS will not on its own create riches beyond compare!!

A job is limiting just as a business based on selling the time of a few partners is also limiting.

I doubt selling an actuarial business would create millions of dollars unless the actuaries went with the business too!!

Walter, you are looking at a bunch of trees and not seeing the forest even though you claim to be bright..

Going to university and becoming an actuary does not on its own guarantee riches.

I know of another case where a person was sent to university expressly for a purpose defined by the GOB.

When he returned he never got the job he was sent to master!!

In fact, the job is yet to materialize!!

Like him, you were just a small part of a package deal which allowed government to access funds from over and away.

By the time you and he got back, the funds were done spent.

That’s why for example you will find a shelf full of studies on the Transport Board, the Scotland District etc etc but no real change.

Someone in Government wrote a proposal for funding to one of the aid agencies in which the line items included you, the guy I mentioned and the studies as part of a large request for funds.

The funds were never intended to do what the request specified but uses were found for them nonetheless.

That’s why Barbados is failed state.

26. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP..last time slaves were waiting for it to “fall on its own weight”…instead of moving things along, it took hundreds of years….and what happened after that, they still had to get off their ssses and move things along right?…the same criminality was REFINED to meet modern day standards and jibe with the limited intellect of black leaders and it all continued barely noticeable, but just as effective for the last 60 years….as is the same intent in 2018…and beyond..

The mental weakness that remain in black leaders ensures that a pint pot can be stretched to hold more.

27. … and that’s why there is every likelihood that the BLP will also crash and burn.

Incompetence, greed and corruption.

Throw in a good measure of envy and stir up some hatred … recipe for further disaster!!

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE worshipping at the white man altar awaiting the crumbs to fall off the table

HOW MANY BLACK PEOPLE CAN GIVE CERTAIN PROFESSIONALS A JOB IN BARBADOS?
    HOW MANY BLACK PEOPLE DOES PAY OR ARE WILLING TO PAY BLACK PROFESSIONALS WHEN THEY DO WUK FOR DEM?

SOME OF US FARMED AND DELIVERED PRODUCE TO HOTELS…………OWNED BY NOT BLACK PEOPLE OR SUPERMARKETS WHO PAID

YOU HAD TO GO OVER AND OVER TO BLACK OWNERS AND TO GUVMENT TO GET YOUR MONEY

ALSO WHO PUT BLACK SHOP KEEPERS IN BIM WHO USED TO “TRUST” THEM AND WHOM THEY OFTEN DID NOT RETURN TO PAY?

IT WAS NOT THE WHITE PEOPLE………IT WAS THE BLACK PEOPLE WHO FLOCKED TO THE WHITE OWNED SUPERMARKETS WHERE YOU COULD NOT “TRUST” A THING

WHEN THE BEES WERE IN POWER AT THE END OF THE CENTURY A CERTAIN DEE OWNED SURVEYING FIRM ALMOST DIED

WUNNAH LIKE TO COME HERE AND TALK BOUT TINGS WUNNAH DO NOT KNOW OR HAVE FORGOTTEN

29. John,

Is this not a problem with Barbados, the failed state? A fresh graduate in a discipline needs work experience, he or she is not fully qualified to take on responsibility as a professional.
    I know of a case when a government job was held up for a woman about to graduated from a US university. The position was not publicly advertised. We need a society based on merit. Would you allow a fresh medical graduate to carry out heart surgery on yourself?
    We over exaggerate degrees because of the paucity of our talent pool.

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Mia’s feet must be held to the fire on this…it ends here, during her 5 year term, if she and her government allows this to continue…the people have no further use for any of them, now or in the future.

31. Walter,

You say Prof Frank Alleyne had advertised for a CEO of the FSC. It is my belief that Prof Alleyne could not tell a competent financial regulator from the man on the moon. In fact, I go further, I do not believe he is fully abreast of developments in economics (regulations is not exclusively part of economics) since his youth. We must escape mediocrity.

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JOHN
    THERE IS MUCH MERIT IN WHAT YOU HAVE SAID
    BUT HAVING SENT THE MAN AWAY TO STUDY AT SOMEONE ELSE’S EXPENSE DOES NOT NEGATE THE FACT THAT HE SHOULD NOT HAVE GOT THE JOB

THE MAN DID NOT HAVE TO MAKE A MILLION, HE JUST WANTED A JOB DOING WHAT HE WAS TRAINED FOR IN THE COUNTRY OF HIS BIRTH THAT HE LOVED

THERE WAS NO REAL FAIR REASON WHY HE SHOULD NOT OF GOT THE JOB WHEN A SET OF UNTRAINED INCAPABLE IDIOTS WERE GIVEN THE TASK TO PLAY AT THE JOB

WELL WELL
    HOWEVER YOU SPIN IT A PINT POT CAN ONLY HOLD A PINT
    AND IN FACT, IF YOU BEAT THE PINT POT OUT OF SHAPE YOU CAN GET IT TO HOLD LESS……BUT NEVER MORE

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE We over exaggerate degrees because of the paucity of our talent pool.

THERE IS NO PAUCITY IN THE TALENT POOL HAL
    THE PAUCITY IS IN THE CEREBRATION OF THE CONTROLLERS OF THE TALENT POOL

ADVANCEMENT AS YOU HAVE HEARD DEPENDS ON WHICH PARTY YOU ARE IN, OR WHICH LODGE, OR FAILURE TO JOIN THE PARTY OR THE LODGE

I KNOW A WELL TRAINED BLACK PROFESSIONAL AND PARTY MEMBER WHO STILL HAD TO JOIN A LODGE TO GET WORK

ITS NOT ABOUT EXAGGERATING DEGREES SIR
    IF YOU IN DE RIGHT PARTY AT THE RIGHT TIME AND IN DE LODGE YOU WILL BE OK, IT SEEMS

34. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

But did Walter not spend 2 decades in US working…accumulated decades of useful experience…AND RETURNED AGAIN….to utilize that experience and the dumb, limited intellect government instead of using his skills.., used that of a Canadian company owned by a minister of the Canadian government who dodges taxes by hiding income in the Caribbean?

A Canadian company the DLP government would have to pay triple in salary what Walter would ask for and because he is black like them, would not want to pay Walter a quarter of what they paid the white Canadian company for mediocre work…..especially if they cant get a bribe out of it.

Yall memory really too short.

Anf that hypocrite Lawson would come here to post rubbish, conveniently forgetting the white Canadian actuarial firm owned by the Canadian minister that took bread out of Walter’s and his families mouth because of a weak, useless black government in Barbados. .

35. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP…keep telling yaself that…when it comes to mentally acuity…even the proverbial pint pot can be bent out of shape to hold more.

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Mental acuity.

Ah know all yall forgot about the greedy tax doding Canadian minister and his actuarial firm that robbed Walter of his opportunity to contribute to his country. ..but it’s ok.., ah here to remind yall..lol

37. A fresh graduate in a discipline needs work experience, he or she is not fully qualified to take on responsibility as a professional.

Someone (OAS) paid for Walter’s degree.

The GOB got a freebee.

When he returned, he then needed years of work experience and to take all sorts of professional exams to qualify as an actuary.

Mean time, the GOB would have had to pay his salary if he was working for the NIS.

That is years of cash outflow before Walter can make a contribution.

… and Walter is going to expect a six figure salary given his degree.

In those years, the NIS still needs actuarial services perhaps from Charles Herbert, a qualified actuary.

Because of the few actuaries in existence, the service may have came from over and away.

It was probably more cost effective for the NIS to contract out the service than to create a job.

Walter’s problem may have been as simple as arriving on the scene too late as an unfinished product.

38. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service
    July 30, 2018 9:25 AM

Mental acuity.
    Ah know all yall forgot about the greedy tax doding Canadian minister and his actuarial firm that robbed Walter of his opportunity to contribute to his country. ..but it’s ok.., ah here to remind yall..lol

Walter should use the opportunity of working “over and away” to gain experience.

39. @ Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service who wrote ” even the proverbial pint pot can be bent out of shape to hold more.”

How would you do that ?

40. Hants
    July 30, 2018 9:39 AM

@ Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service who wrote ” even the proverbial pint pot can be bent out of shape to hold more.”
    How would you do that ?

++++++++++++++++

… and one wonders why Barbados is a failed state!!

41. First…you and Hants need to look up the definition of proverbial…

‘pro·ver·bi·al
    prəˈvərbēəl/Submit
    adjective
    (of a word or phrase) referred to in a proverb or idiom.
    “I’m going to stick out like the proverbial sore thumb”

What I would like to see is the same exministers of the now defunct DLP..and their useless yardfowls going to Canada and begging this same white tax dodging minister…for a job or jobs for all of them…would love to be at that meeting, if they had the balls to call for one.

42. yall call yaselves “scholars”..then turn around and take everything literally..must end up as a failed state.

43. Freedom Crier Avatar

I think the meme and the Introduction to this Article are meant to Race Bate using the Controversial Mr. Herbert as a comparison.

It is not the responsibility of an employer to hire you because it is the responsibility of the employee to make himself attractive enough to be hired.

The Article has twisted the argument to make the responsibility of the employer to hire someone, you can only hire someone if you need them/want them / makes a good fit. If you do not make the grade you will not get the job.

There is never any Guarantee if you get a degree somebody will hire you.

A person with an Entrepreneurial Spirit if he cannot get a Job will create something for himself to do. It is not Government responsibility to hire all the UWI graduates. Nor is it their responsibility to pay for that Tuition!

Mr. Cashwell was correct in his statement, “As succinctly as I can I will tell you why you have been disadvantaged by both parties when they form the Government. You tried to be a DEM with a conscience, without realising that no such creature exists in this fair land. When you are a DEM, you are expected to be blindly loyal and rabid. You have failed to live down to that standard and as a result, you were not trusted by your party. Put simply, they knew that they could not trust you to do the wrong thing when required by the party. You were considered to be not loyal enough.

As for the Bees, they hated you because you identified as a DEM. Man you were between a wolf and a cliff facing certain death however you swing.”

So no this is not about Race as the Article wants to Gin Up! Somebody is trying to give you a 6 for a 9 as in the Article! We all have been plagued by those giving a 6 for a 9 and this is yet one more example!!

https://www.brainyquote.com/photos_tr/en/c/charlesspurgeon/105835/charlesspurgeon1.jpg

44. “I’m going to stick out like the proverbial sore thumb”

Truer words have never been uttered!!

45. If thy thumb offend thee, cut it off!!

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE It was probably more cost effective for the NIS to contract out the service than to create a job.
    AND YA HAD WILLIAM LAYNE AND DAT STUPID CARRINGTUN FELLA AT NIS?

WALTER HAD TO BE OF GREATER USE AND VALUE THAN DESETWO MORONS MAN

WALTER WAS AFFILLIATED WITH THE WRONG PARTY AND NOT IN DE LODGE LOL

47. Walter need not worry or waste his time on a small island filled with fools, none of my family saw the attraction of demeaning or reducing themselves to work for any of them or apply for jobs from those with their stagnating, limited intellect..it is a step down after graduating from Ivy League universities and being in demand in the real world, with real salaries and real opportunities…then to expose yaself to small island small mindedness.

.. I would leave them to muddle through how they could until the population gets really fed up of their tax dollars and NIS pension fund being ripped off by greedy white criminals and others.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ W Mc.M B:
    With respect to the FSC, every Barbadian watched in disbelief as the organization did little or nothing to protect the rights and benefits of CLICO’s policyholders, or to punish the guilty persons responsible for the scandalous raid on the insurance company. However, when it was discovered that the Judicial Manager was about to publish a report which proved beyond the shadow of a doubt that David Thompson initiated the steps which led to the CLICO raid, the FSC sprang into action and tried to block the publication of the report. Was this the reason why the nephew of David Thompson was put in the CEO post? Was it sheer coincidence that he left the post after all attempts to block the publication of the JM report failed?

I am sure you have heard in your French lessons (from your days at your Alma matter upon Waterford) saying: ‘Plus ça change, plus c’est la meme ‘chose’.

Why do you think that the bête noir Leroy the leprous Greenverbs is still free as a crookedly ‘bent’ bird?

Haven’t you tirelessly prosecuted on BU- in a role similar to that of “Mr. Smith goes to Washington”- the tax evasion case against this designer suit-wearing and briefcase-carrying con man?

Now where has that hard investigate work ended up other than being swept under the carpet or thrown into Maxwell pond?

We are sure you know how much tax revenues in the form of both VAT and income tax have been foregone on that well laundered $3.3 million in concocted fees paid to imaginary lawyers.

Do you know how far such tax revenues can stretch in paying for garbage collection instead of having to impose $45.00 p/m levy on innocent water consumers who, themselves, are still awaiting with bated breath their long promised ‘genuine’ tax refunds.

All we will be doing in expecting change arising from a change in administration in respect of this CLICO heist and highway robbery of the Treasury is spitting in wind while trying to whistle.

But keep on keeping on like a true-blue-ass fly unto the Light as you already know that a DLP 6 is a BLP half-dozen in the political class chess game with a zero sum outcome to the hard-pressed taxpayers.

“Foes in plenty we shall meet
    Hearts courageous scorn defeat
    So we press with eager feet
    Up and on, Up and on
    Ever upward to the fight
    Ever upward to the light
    Ever true to God and right
    Up and on, Up and on.”

You, mon ami, ought to remember-from your younger days on the Two-Mile Hill- the following saying boldly etched in the façade of a funeral home:
    “NIL DESPERANDUM, SANS DIEU, RIEN”.

“The graveyards are full of people the world could not do without.”~ Elbert Green Hubbard.

49. Georgie Porgie
    July 30, 2018 9:50 AM

RE It was probably more cost effective for the NIS to contract out the service than to create a job.
    AND YA HAD WILLIAM LAYNE AND DAT STUPID CARRINGTUN FELLA AT NIS?
    WALTER HAD TO BE OF GREATER USE AND VALUE THAN DESETWO MORONS MAN
    WALTER WAS AFFILLIATED WITH THE WRONG PARTY AND NOT IN DE LODGE LOL

To the powers that be it was more cost effective … whoever those power that be may have been!!

Whether those powers that be were cost effective of themselves … well, that is another story!!

50. “In those years, the NIS still needs actuarial services perhaps from Charles Herbert, a qualified actuary.”

Now we know who has been helping Cow rip off the NIS Pension Fund of hundreds of millions of dollars, who outside of two dumb governments helped them successfully tag team the pension fund and steal millions at a time from the aging population.