The following was posted by BU family member Bush Tea in reply to a comment on the Water worry blog – David, blogmaster

Bushie suspects that, (optimist that you are,) you did not have a good night’s sleep, – as you would have been contemplating our predicament as a country.

To further complicate your day, here are a few questions to chew on….

If you were in charge bout here, and you genuinely CARED about the best interests of brass, would you not, by now, have RECONSIDERED your whole APPROACH and sought a NEW and FRESH plan of action….?
…given that EVERY SHIITE that you have tried so far have turned into shaving cream?

From the childish ‘we gatherin’ initiative to the current ‘Afro Banking’ thrust (that started off with Mr MalMoney’s record breaking cash withdrawal, and which will probably end up in an international scandal…
and…
…including the never-ending Electricity Rates debacle,
…the south coast sewerage joke, that transferred dumping on the streets to dumping into the sea… (which is what the ORIGINAL objective was conceived to avoid)
…the water woes which have now been transferred from St John to St George and St Lucy,
…the Housing mess – typified by MalMoney’s expensive and defective housing projects and by DooShiite’s Steal houses.
…The transport mess, which has continued to worsen – only now with luxury busses and with licensing confusion…
…the pothole quagmire – now being expensively PATCHED in order to impress the world for cricket – KNOWING that the work is ‘not going to last…’
…etc etc

Seriously Boss…
Would you in such circumstances CONTINUE on the same shiite path – depending on another ‘we gatherin’ fuh cup?
…or making deals with albino-centric demons such as EMERA and MalMoney?

Or would you seek WISE counsel?

The OTHER question is this…
If…
India is hot as shiite…
North America is hot as shiite…
Europe is hot as shiite…

Would you not PREPARE now, for the GREAT LIKELIHOOD that Brassbados will be even hotter … given our normally high temperatures…?
Or would you wait until the Met Office announces that we are boiling…?

Bushie appreciates that many of us are too busy planning for big gatherings of happy visitors – to deal with minor issues like the almost inevitable world war 3, our lack of adequate water, poor sewerage management, and now the likelihood of suffocating temperatures and unpredictable weather….

NOBODY PROMISED THAT LEADERSHIP WAS FOR THE FAINT OF HEART OR FOR BB SHEEP, but shiite, are we to keep doing the same jobby while being promised roses…?

A curse is an awful thing, when wisdom and common sense are taken away…

116 responses to “Does Barbados need a ‘purge’?”

1. Here is a next link.
    https://worldpopulationreview.com/countries/barbados-population
    and a next source
    https://www.macrotrends.net/global-metrics/countries/BRB/barbados/population

Of course they may all be using the same source.

The Barbados Statistical Department should now take a delight in showing that theses other sources are incorrect. Indeed, this difference provides an opportunity for the Barbados statistical services to demonstrate the quality of its work by soundly refuting and explaining how it arrive at the numbers. This is an opportunity to build its credibility and establish itself as the premier source of all statistics of Barbados.

My goal is a simple one. If there is light, then I will exploit that light. I do not have to prove anyone right or wrong. I am not here to debate or prove the accuracy of the Barbados Statistical Department or any other source. That multimillion department should be able to defend itself.

I will ignore name calling and petty insinuations.

2. It may appear that I like to slash and burn. Let me assure you that I take great pains not to try to diminish others.

I would suggest that others visit
    https://stats.gov.bb/census/
    click on (2021 Census report) and take a good read and form your own conclusion about the accuracy of the data.

3. I will not pursue this any further.
    Professional courtesy.

4. Hmmmmm ……

RE: The Barbados Statistical Department should now take a delight in showing that these other sources are incorrect. Indeed, this difference provides an opportunity for the Barbados statistical services to demonstrate the quality of its work by soundly refuting and explaining how it arrive at the numbers.

Likewise, I’m not here ‘to prove anyone right or wrong or debate or prove the accuracy of the BSS or any other source’ either.

However, the population rate of 269,090 was compiled by the BSS and referenced by Marsha Caddle during her contribution to the parliamentary resolution on the Barbados Population Policy 2023.

The response thereto…… “declining population so as to import people – 269,000,” while comparing that number with Worldometer’s information that Barbados’ current population is 282,306, followed by, “the best thing you can do is believe nothing that is SAID,” “the numbers GIVEN to you are IMAGINARY, NOT REAL,” and, “correct me, if I’m wrong,” (which I’ve not sought to do)……

…… is essentially an INSINUATION, (I’m not ‘saying’ PETTY), surely, it’s a hint or suggestion of deception. The attention given to Worldometer ‘ruled them out.’

I mentioned perhaps we should also peruse Barbados Statistical Service’s 2021 Population & Housing Census Report as well. The methodology used and “how it arrived at the numbers” are EXPLAINED therein.

RE: “I will ignore name calling and petty insinuations.”

I agree 100%, because neither did I ‘called anyone names’ nor made any ‘petty insinuations’ in my contribution.

Engaging in such activities seems the ‘modus operandi’ of certain BU contributors.

Reading the exchanges with Donna would provide examples thereof.

I’m assuming the terms ‘protagonist and antagonist’ are regarded as ‘name calling.’

The statement, “what is the population of Barbados? You would think it is a number, but it is not. The correct answer is “It depends, it depends on what you want to prove,” suggests to me a ‘FOR and AGAINST’ scenario.

A ‘protagonist’ is simply someone who supports something, while an ‘antagonist’ opposes…… and were used within the ‘for and against’ context.

But, this is my interpretation of the discussion. However, one should bear in mind that I’ve been called an appallingly ignorant person who learnt by rote, a gorilla and clown.

So, any misunderstandings on my part should be anticipated.

5. Why would the largest credit union in Barbados hold its AGM on the morning/day of a global event being hosted in Barbados?

6. Hi stats guy,
    I need a little help. How do you present the statistics for the most repeat tourists stays.

Suppose my small island has 10 visitors every year and if of them 5 are repeat visitors and suppose you on your large island has 1000 visitors with 100 repeat visitors, does saying you have the highest proportion of repeat visitors 50% really mean anything?
    I mean, you only have 10%.

Numbers are things that you play with. One guy could use the percentage and the next guy could use the raw number to make the same claim.

I have a healthy respect for your intelligence and honesty, but unlike me, you can be wrong at time..😀. It was an attempted joke…(The wrong part)

7. Barbados: IMF Executive Board Concludes the Third Reviews Under the Extended Fund Facility and the Resilience and Sustainability Facility

June 28, 2024

The IMF Executive Board concluded the third reviews under the Extended Fund Facility (EFF) and the Resilience and Sustainability Facility (RSF), allowing for an immediate disbursement of SDR 14.175 million (about US$19 million) under the EFF and SDR 28.35 million (about US$37 million) under the RSF.
    Barbados’ economy has recovered to pre-pandemic levels and the external position has improved. GDP growth is expected to remain strong in 2024, driven by dynamism in tourism and related sectors.
    Implementation of the home-grown Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT 2022) plan and the ambitious climate policy agenda continues to be strong.

Washington, DC: The Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) concluded the Third Reviews of the Extended Fund Facility (EFF) and the Resilience and Sustainability Facility (RSF) arrangements with Barbados on a lapse-of-time basis.[1] The conclusion of the reviews allows the authorities to draw the equivalent of SDR 14.175 million (about US$19 million) under the EFF and SDR 28.35 million (about US$37 million) under the RSF. This brings total disbursements under the EFF to SDR 56.7 million (about US$75 million) and SDR 85.05 million (about US$112 million) under the RSF.

In 2023, the Barbadian economy grew by an estimated 4.4 percent, driven by a rebound in tourism and related sectors. Inflation moderated gradually with the easing of international commodity prices but remained somewhat elevated due to higher prices of certain domestic crops, reflecting adverse weather conditions and stronger demand for tourism-related services. The external position strengthened, with the current account deficit narrowing to 9 percent of GDP and ample international reserves (US$1.5 billion at end-2023; equivalent to over 7 months of imports) continuing to support the exchange rate peg.

GDP growth is expected to remain strong in 2024, driven by further growth in tourist arrivals. Inflation is projected to moderate to 3.1 percent by end-2024, in line with global commodity price trends and the recovery in domestic agricultural production. The current account deficit is expected to narrow further to 7.4 percent of GDP. Nevertheless, risks to the outlook remain elevated, with Barbados remaining vulnerable to potential global economic and financial shocks and natural disasters. These risks are mitigated by the authorities’ excellent track record of implementation and strong commitment to reform.

Program performance remains strong. All quantitative performance criteria and indicative targets for the third review of the EFF were met. The authorities exceeded the primary surplus target for FY 2023/24 and are targeting 4 percent of GDP for FY 2024/25. Public debt has fallen back to pre-pandemic levels and the authorities remain committed to bringing it down to 60 percent of GDP by FY 2035/36. The authorities met key structural benchmarks, including reforms to state-owned enterprises, the public pension scheme, the tax and customs exemption regimes, public procurement processes, and public financial management. The two RSF reform measures set for the third review were also implemented, supporting the government’s ambitious climate-policy agenda. A new Stormwater Management Act to improve flood resilience was tabled in Parliament and an Energy Efficiency and Conservation Policy Framework for government agencies and public lighting was approved by Cabinet.

[1] The Executive Board takes decisions under its lapse-of-time procedure when the Board agrees that a proposal can be considered without convening formal discussions.
    IMF Communications Department
    MEDIA RELATIONS

PRESS OFFICER: Julie Ziegler

Phone: +1 202 623-7100Email: MEDIA@IMF.org

@IMFSpokesperson

8. ” the system is expected to affect Barbados late Sunday night into Monday. Residents are advised to prepare for potential impacts, including flash flooding and storm-force winds.”

9. Listen people.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

The IMF report tells us the NIS Reports 2010-16 are with the Auditor General, and subsequent years are expected shortly.
    Memory only says a few years prior to 2010 were also missing.
    The IMF seems adamant the Fx fee should be removed.
    We can therefore expect the next Auditor General report to be a dandy 😀
    Unsure why the same reports haven’t been laid before the people?

11. @NO

The government seems to be closely hugging the dictates of the IMF, we will wait to see how this pans out. The NIS issue seems one PM Mottley appears to be clueless how to remedy.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

There was also mention of Cabinet approval of a new Special Purpose Vehicle called something like Renewstable in the energy field. The word SPV always catches the eye.

And yes, when you constantly need funding, you have to follow dictates or risk the funding?

I noted the Fiscal Council, this is the transparency and accountability watchdog, while approved, has been delayed for unspecified reasons.

13. Another young man murdered. This is becoming a regular occurrence.

“Police say the victim and other persons were liming at the junction when a vehicle drove up and multiple gunshots were heard causing the men to scamper.”