Time to Think Clear and Straight Caswell

208 responses to “Time to Think Clear and Straight Caswell”
-
tatement at the Conclusion of an IMF Staff Visit to Barbados
June 7, 2018
At the request of the newly elected Government of Barbados, an International Monetary Fund (IMF) team led by Bert van Selm visited Bridgetown on June 5-7, to have discussions on economic policies and possible IMF financial support of the government’s economic plan. At the end of the visit, Mr. van Selm made the following statement:
“Barbados is in a precarious economic situation. International reserves have dwindled to US$220 million, while central government debt is unsustainable. The fiscal deficit has decreased over the last few years but remains large, at about 4 percent of GDP in FY2017/18. Meanwhile, the Central Bank of Barbados (CBB) is reporting a contraction of output of 0.7 percent in the first quarter of 2018 (over the same period last year).
“The Barbadian authorities, in close consultation with their social partners, are rapidly developing a plan to address current economic vulnerabilities. We welcome the government’s plans to urgently address infrastructure problems, and its goal of seeking to support the most vulnerable during the economic adjustment process.
“At this juncture, the IMF’s recommendations contained in the 2017 Article IV Consultation remain highly relevant to rebuild confidence and address Barbados’ current challenges. Substantial fiscal consolidation is needed to place debt on a clear downward trajectory in conjunction with the proposed debt restructuring, and to address balance of payments risks that cloud the country’s future. Since tax and revenues are relatively high, the adjustment effort should focus on the expenditure side, including by improving the efficiency and effectiveness of public services, containing wages, and reforming government pensions. Government transfers to SOEs need to be reduced by reviewing user fees, exploring options for mergers and privatization, and by providing much stronger oversight. Tax policy should be reviewed with a view to broadening the tax base and improving its progressivity, while efforts to strengthen tax administration should continue. Structural reforms are critical to improve the business climate in Barbados to attract investment, and develop the private sector.
“Fiscal consolidation will also help to reduce financing needs, in conjunction with the proposed debt restructuring. It will be important for the CBB to limit financing of the government budget given that such practice is not consistent with Barbados’ exchange rate peg; the large monetary financing over the last few years has contributed to the decline in international reserves.
“We also note the authorities’ decision to seek a restructuring of domestic debt and external debt to commercial creditors. An early and open dialogue with the country’s creditors, aiming to achieve an orderly debt restructuring process, is important.
“Overall, the team had very positive and candid discussions with the government during the visit. In the coming months, we expect to continue our close dialogue with the Barbados government with the aim of reaching understandings on economic policies that could underpin an IMF supported program. Our goal is to help Barbados achieve higher living standards and more inclusive growth for the years ahead.
“During the visit, the team met with Prime Minister Mia Mottley, Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment, CBB Governor Haynes, and other key officials. The team also had good opportunities for exchange of views with social partners, including labor unions and the private sector. The team would like to thank the Barbados government for open and candid discussions, and to express its desire to continue to work closely with Barbados in the period ahead.”
IMF Communications Department
MEDIA RELATIONSPRESS OFFICER: Randa Elnagar.
Phone: +1 202 623-7100Email: MEDIA@IMF.org
-
@david BU
Nothing new said in that release. Lotta long talk, we will wait and see, we ain’t lending ya nothing til the housr
Re. david C
Caswell’s political prostitute comment comes to mind? -
The above comment should read
“We (IMF) ain’t lending til the house looks in order and some of our advice is taken”
The question is, how will this restructuring be done/negotiated.
Still seems up in the air to me.
Just observing
-
@OBSERVING
The state of the economy is worse than was known.
-
Excuses!EXCUSES!the state of the economy was worse than we know
Pray tell me who are the WE
For the last ten Years Mia said barbados economy was worse than Haiti and she had a plan to fix it
Well the only thing no one KNEW was how Mia was going to fix it until a week or so ago She defaulted on barbados debt and called on the IMF to fix barbados economy. -
It is only two weeks into the Mia Mottley administration and the word “prostitute”is being thrown around
This adminsrtation would be remembered for deception and photo opportunities -
Ignore the troll!
-
Prodigal that makes two trolls
-
Madam PM
Told Barbadians that she & her team have the cure for the ills in Barbados !
So therefore, what is it that she did not know was so bad ?
It’s
Mia’s
FaultI M F
-
Thank you for sharing the IMF statement. I have not had time to carefully analyse it yet but these are my initial reactions.There is not really anything new in it to add to the views expressed in the Article IV report. It simply confirms that there are many illusions around about the nature of the IMF and that this organisation is hell bent on pursuing its strategy of harming Bajan workers. Clearly they have heard the new government’s sugestion to approach the reduction of the deficit in a creative way and are unmoved. Hence they repeat the standard IMF diktat:
1.Since tax and revenues are relatively high, the adjustment effort should focus on the expenditure side
Does the learned Dr Bert van Selm and his IMF team not know that the Barbados Treasury loses significant sums every year through the various unjustified tax exemptions granted especially to foreign companies operating in the tourism sector? Does he not know that corporation tax is charged on declared profits and not on income of corporations, while workers pay taxes on their income? So why focus on the expenditure side and not on the revenue side?…by improving the efficiency and effectiveness of public services, containing wages, and reforming government pensions
Why is Dr van Selm so fixated with those streams of government expenditure that benefit workers? Does he not know that the largest item in the government’s expenditure is debt servicing? Why is it that workers’s pensions and wages are to be targeted while the income of the creditors is to be seen as sacrosanct. Is it that the owners of these debts are more human than the ordinary Bajan and must have their interests protected while the Bajan can just be kicked to the kerb?
Government transfers to SOEs need to be reduced by reviewing user fees, exploring options for mergers and privatization, and by providing much stronger oversight.
Why does the IMF feel that government should not provide services to the citizens? What then is the point of having a government if all it’s going to do is look after the rich and funnel the wealth that the workers create through their labour into the pockets of those who already have more than they need?
Our goal is to help Barbados achieve higher living standards and more inclusive growth for the years ahead
This is the final statement of disrespect for the intelligence of Bajans. It is the proverbial “pi**ing on your head and telling you it’s raining”.Bajans should understand the significance of this IMF statement. Once the IMF begins to apply pressure on the new government to submit to its will, we may well find ourselves in a Syriza moment. It is time to rise above the dead end BLP/DLP internecine conflict and realise the serious challenges that our country is facing. Like our national heroes of the past, we all need to take responsibilty to help our country navigate a way out which preserves the social and economic gains that our foreparents made many a sacrifice to secure for us and rejects the racist premise, on which the entire IMF outlook is based, that we Bajans are living above our station.
Again we must demand that any agreement reached with the IMF be put to a binding referendum of the people of Barbados.
-
It seems as when the writer was on the last paragraph he remembered that Caswell on the subject line.
Still trying to figure out his point.
Can someone help>
Was a big fan of DC and it pains me to see him shrinking. -
Barbadians would soon find out that there are no entitlements written into the IMF policies or demands for no country
The long and short of the IMF job is to collect debt
The blp yardfowls are so giddy with stupidy after drinking from Mottley poisonous cup that they refuse to realise that restructing of barbados debt is heading in dangerous high levels of waters all spelled out in the IMF report -
Had to find the story, which is the basis of this post, elsewhere. Dude, if I have to google to find out what you are talking about, then the post is not well written.
-
@”Again we must demand that any agreement reached with the IMF be put to a binding referendum of the people of Barbados.”
When pigs fly.
-
I weep for my beloved Barbados 🇧🇧 !
In opposition the – incoming government said to all & sundry no money 💰 and the country is at the brink !
To prove that there was no MONEY 💰- our new government did the following:
• installed a 30 member Cabinet – $ 8.5 million more needed !
• settled a 4.5 % salary increase for public workers with retroactive pay – $ 55 million more needed !
• increased non contributory pension – $ 24 million more needed !
• abolish NSRL !
• reduce VAT !!
• 2 downgrades in 10 days !
Wow 😳
It’s
Mia ‘a
FaultI M F
-
@ Theophilus Gazerts
You said and I quote “…Had to find the story, which is the basis of this post, elsewhere.
Dude, if I have to google to find out what you are talking about, then the post is not well written…”
You are absolutely correct.
But here again you alone seem to see the true nature of David Come Along unveiled in his true element.
De ole man will go a step further in this matter and give you an insight into the man and the reason for his construct.
He is being so obsequious by this omission
But the thing is that he does not want his cousin to query his loyalty
You see David Come Sing Along believes that if he were to repeat the remarks that the Senator is on record to have said, that he would be perceived by cousin Mia as being a supporter of Caswell.
That is the nature of the man I am sorry to say.
-
And the IMF said what?
“At this juncture, the IMF recommendations contained in the 2017 Article IV consultations remains highly relevant to rebuild confidence and address Barbados current challenges”So if it got so much worse after the 2017 consultations, how come they still prescribing the same medicine in 2018
1.Substantial fiscal consolidation
2.Debt restructuring
3.Contain wages
4.Reform government pensions
5.Reduce government transfers to SOEs
6.Broaden tax base
7.Privatisation and mergers
8.Improving efficiency and effectiveness of the public service
9.Structural reforms to improve business climate and develop the private sector
10.Stop printing money and (borrow from the IMF)Why did they come here again?
The real question is, will our government take their advice, to get their money ,or does our PM got a plan B?
-
the role and duty of every patriotic citizen is to stand in solidarity with our Government and to present a strong seamlessly united Government / Private Sector / Trade Union / Civil Society front to the IMF.
Is Comissiong an (un)appointed Gov’t spokesman? If I or anyone else oppose Gov’t actions does that make us unpatriotic? Why single out a single “opposition” Senator by name? The Gov’t has a 29-1 majority in the H of A it gets to do whatever it wants to do,When people start to throw words like “patriotic’ around when we are not faced with an external threat it smacks of totalitarianism and I get concerned, save the patriotism talk for the leaders of those countries that you are fond of writing about.
-
Whuloss Sargeant…
You gine kill he?
But even you, not least among the anointed, are seeing a pattern emerging of “not singing in the same choir” as being unpatriotic
Like de ole man chanting regularly “supporting the rebuilding effort ” IS NOT BEING A YES MAN OR MAM OR WOMAN
-
This BLP administration has taken the bull by the horns.It has generated a lot of confidence in its plans and policies so far.There is reason to believe its creditors will agree to its debt restructuring plans seeing that there is full support of the Social Partnership.
-
The Freundel Stuart administration brought on a catastrophic result on May 24th the old date on which Barbados celebrated the Queens Official birthday.If he had plans of a republic that 30-0 result has afforded him and Dem their place in the history books of Barbados.I want Sir Hilary and Prof Barriteau to publish one book each so that those books become “must read” on the booklist at Campus so that never ever will it be forgotten that a woman cut a man ass so bad that neither he nor any of his ministers nor parliamentary secretaries got one seat in a general election in Barbados in 2018.Further that the cutass was so severe by a ‘ docile’ people that of 314 boxes only 2 favoured their candidate.
-
@Tee White
Lest we forget the IMF team was summons to Bridgetown and the DLP indicated it would have done same. You admit the sale of the Hilton, BNOTCL and other state assets would have been unsustainable?
The other point to ponder is the fact the social partnership appears to be lined up behind government’s position? At the end of the day we have to earn to support our lifestyle, you want to borrow people’s money to support a lifestyle where we are living above our means?
Based on what we know the state of the economy is dire. The average Bajan does not have a clue the state of the economy. After nearly a decade of belt tightening guess what, there is more to come!
-
Sewage in the swamp at Worthing,
yes, we who live in the area have been aware of this for months. ( years in some cases). Wondered why the new P.M. went there with those people who over the years had no interest as it was not in their back yard? (as it still is in ours).People, who when contacted, did not bother to respond. Except for rs. Patricia Innis, who showed up the day I called to report that the manhole in my yard was spouting sewage and the ground covered in about 3-4 inches of sewage.
That was Wednesday. She apologized and promised to have the pipe capped before the week ended, Done March 17th, 2018.However, I am left with several questions. Why did they not redirect the waste water from the house to the two wells in my yard as before the disaster that is the the South Coast Sewage Project happened?
I had discussed this with Ms. Inniss who agreed. I told the consultant Mr. Alsopp this and informed that this was how it was done due to the type of land( swampy) and the tides, He did otherwise . One well, the less deep one, was put back into use.
In all fairness to him, he informed me that ” you might meet some future challenges”.Questions- why was the pipe capped way inside my back yard and not at the street site or nearer?
Why was something cracked used? (Pointed out by a worker to another worker).And yet another, why am I still being billed for sewage when the pipe was capped since March 17, 2018.?
I had asked to be disconnected since January, Mr. Alsopp informed in February that it was “very unlikely.”
This in the face of hearing that my yard had been wet since September 2017, when I returned from overseas after surgery and rehab.Some of us still suffer from the fallout; Illness, having to move away from home and pay for accommodation, buying of chemicals to try to combat the scent and swarms of mosquitoes, constant de-bushing, loss of income, deprived of natural quality of life, disfigured sheep, dead fish, shit in the street and in our yards and bathtubs and houses, brown water from our faucets, the scent of stale urine and feces in our homes, supermarkets, post offices, school, church and other places of business in Worthings and surrounding areas, especially those down wind from the swamp. Worthngs,
Add the fear, the crippling fear and the silence on the government’s part.Surely we deserve better than this
physical and mental Health concern and challenge?In my case, each Government Department person told me to contact another. Ministry of Health Oistins suggest Barbados Water Authority- Customer Care, there said Financial Controller and /or General Manager.(April 24th, 2018) Those two remain silent. Wrote to Minister of Health and blind copied to others in the same Ministry. Asked for compensation and accommodation- even a studio- until we put an end to this health crisis.
Spoke to Minister within a week. he asked, “What do you want? You should contact the Permanent Secretary.( My written on the spot letter to him was address to himself and the permanent Secretary on the envelope – May 13th, 2018. I wrote it at the Ministry on the paper provided and placed it in the envelopes provided). I also enclosed a referral to the ENT Specialist at the Q.E.Hospital. It recommended relocating. The then Minister also asked “Do you have an Attorney? (and some kind of Certificate the name of which I have forgotten)
About a week later, I spoke to a former DLP Parliamentarian, he said that the Minister cannot do anything. Also that do so would be to accept
liability, which would open the door to other claims. He suggested contacting the Solicitor General.” By this time ,despair had overcome me.Meanwhile, the shit was coming up in my neighbour’s bathtub ( see Barbados Wall of Shame) fluid sewage covered the floor and damage the box spring and other stuff on the floor. Her family had to look for safe place to stay. Paying accommodation. At that same time, around Mothers’s day, I had to do the same thing. I did not have it as bad as she did, but the stench was overpowering and making me ill. Four medical Doctors had recommended that I relocate between December and May. From November, I had to do so from time to time.
.As I sit here typing this, the mosquitoes attack from all sides. The coil had burnt down and unfortunately he last of the $20+ Baygon has been sprayed . Tonight, i is under the mosquito net agin with the fan going. Tomorrow, God willing, it is off to find what is now common in our area, a mosquito racket. As you pass the fire station and houses in the area, you can hear the pax, pax, pax sounds.
In all my life, and I am a native of this land, born in the Worthing View area, I have never seen such neglect, undergone such discomfort and disrespect, or felt such utter rejection and sadness. I cannot help but wonder if those people who formed the last Administration, along with those who worked in the various departments, are human, are Barbadian are
cognizant of their responsibility to this island’s people nd those who chose to come live here.. Barbados is our home. We should be grateful and treat it well. This in’t no conkie, de road ahead hard hard hard in trute,I do hope that we will not see a re-occurrence of that inhumane behavior in the new Administration. I wish our Prime Minister, Ms. Mia Amor Mottley and the Cabinet well.
Undoubtedly the Minister responsible for Water will pursue a course of action that will put an end to our suffering as a result of the Sewage System mishap. I also hope that he or whomever, look into the concerns raised by others,and those of myself and neighbours.
My empathy goes out to all victims.
-
(1) Subject to the provisions of this Constitution, Parliament may make laws for the peace, order and good . government of Barbados.
++++++++++++++++++++++
No Parliament no good Government
No Good Government …. ultimately no peace and order.
Caswell, wake up!!
-
Peggy Green
I feel your pain as you wrote on 7 June 2018.We all thought 13 days on in the life of this new administration that your complaints would been a thing of past.
This is because the incoming administration – whilst in opposition PROMISED to fix the problem you still complained of – on day 1 in office.
They even did site visits last week to the affected areas to demonstrate their……seriousness.
Moments ago passing the Worthing Post Office – raw sewage is still bubbling from a manhole in the road .
But upon reflection you can understand why !!
The true FIRST ORDER of business for the new administration was to :
• install a 30 member Cabinet – $ 8 million more needed !
• settled Public Service workers wages & salaries – $ 55 million more needed !
So we can truly see why ( no pun intended ) solving sewage problems are shoved – further down the DRAIN !!
But the PEOPLE always gets the Government they – DESERVED !!
-
You are correct. The people just corrected by booting the DLP administration that was in for ten years.
-
Just like the DLP eexcept the loser PM did not resign.
“The Ontario Liberal Party suffered one of the worst political defeats in the province’s modern history, ending 15 years of majority rule.”
-
@ Fractured BLP
IT IS informative that at 58 minutes past midnight that your wicked ads is up gloating at the pain of another bajan.
Here you are pretending to feel the pain of an individual who is smelling the shyte that your administration managed for 10 years and is responsible for this excrement
This is why a not inconsequential number of you WILL BE AT LEAST PUT IN COURT FOR THIS MALFEASANCE if not incarcerated for your teifing
Rest for a few weeks more…
-
NOTHING BUT LONG TALKING, We have a CROOK issue in Barbados the DLP and BLP are crooks& Liars, 6 Billion down by the BLP and 9 Billion down by the DLP,Its a crook Issue, taxes and Vat missing and charged for 21 years, No matter the stupid talk and postings, PUT back the money by law and lets see where we stand, 500 Milling by the BLP and 140 house missing, about 497 + Missing by the DLP near a Billion , Those of you who run from the words Audit,
The crooks are looking for a way to keep the money stolen by both sides, and COW and company sit on the side watching, You cant fool no one, It may be better to use the power to go after crooks, the COP and DPP needs to be removed and We need a LAw -man or a man of the law, Until you all are true with self you will be wasting your time letting the World know you all are also crook in the Public,You vote for crooks and liars and get mad when they rob you, Mia lucky if she last 18 month,she bite off more than she can chew ,You cant teeefffffff the money then say we cant afford things, Lock them up as i told the NEW Speaker of the House on the 7th in town, All you crooks wanted locking up and that you owe the Estate of Violet Beckles $9.18 Billion dollar, Better Ask the IMF for more money Speaker Holder,
Give the People what they paid for and go after toe CROOKS< Mia and crew now looking in the mirror and all they can see is COUP and BARS, Making laws to cover crime is a crime., lock up Mia now , Remove the top 10 in this government, We need our Free,The IMF knows of what we speak, you all need to upgrade to 3.0 , BLACKS IN BARBADOS CAN NOT FOOL THE IMF OUT OF BILLIONS, HAHAHAHAHAHAH, CLEAR LAND TITLE IS THE KEY FOR ALL YOU FAKE ECONOMIST,NOTICE GIVEN, -
“The basic concept is that our nation’s economic development will arise from our people’s educational and cultural development, and vice versa.”
If this were true and accurate, Barbados should be the economic envy of the world. Barbados has more multiple degreed persons per 1000 than most places. It is the productivity which is lacking, not the education nor cultural exposure. -
“ending 15 years of majority rule”…you will know this headline is untrue….15 years of rule, but some was minority.
The Ontario Liberal decimation is equivalent to that of the DLP. Maybe worse, because they had the money to give many new freenesses in the months prior, a luxury the DLP did not have.
Wynne is a “nice” lady, but her leadership flaws came back to haunt her. She was “gifted” her last victory by opponents’ blunders, and instead of taking her majority to tackle issues caused by her prior leader, she opted for the route of “public consultations”, and delegating issues she should have led. She was not forgiven by the electorate. Nor was FJS. -
Northernobserver,
It is degree inflation. There is also the myth of equivalence, that a degree in economics from Cave Hill is the equivalent o one from St Augustine or Mona, or from Harvard or MIT. Santia, not being a product of any of these institutions, has an opportunity to erase this myth and build an educational system fit for purpose.
-
Fruendel and all his incompetent fools should be locked up for the destruction they brought to the island, the IMF is telling this government the sames things they told the failed Fruendel government for 10 years, so did the rating agencies, fiscal responsibility, cut spending, consolidation of debts, privatize or share ownership.of certain state owned entities..etc those dummies just allowed everything to deteriorate to the point of no return instead.
Never put fools to manage a country, the electorate paid to learn.
.”.Central Bank Governor Cleviston Haynes was one of the officials who met with the IMF team, and the IMF official said it “will be important for the [Central Bank] to limit financing of the government budget given that such practice is not consistent with Barbados’ exchange rate peg”.
He said “the large monetary financing over the last few years has contributed to the decline in international reserves”.
-
I find it difficult to continue to respect anyone who would use and manipulate people of lesser intellect to further his or her own objectives.
-
Mia thinks she can used sweet mouth to fool any and every one. Her promises would become more and more empty everyday because she did not tell the truth
Her latest promise of paying intetest on debt failed to materilalise which gave cause for another downgrade
Those who she choose to be her financial advisors have already worsened barbados creditworthiness with a bullish approach of selfinterst
This small nation cannot endured the harsh austerity policies of the IMF plans and Mia must find a plan B by any means necessary to avoid the harsh pain and suffering the poor and vulnerable would endure
The past govt plan of selling two govt assests to shore up the reserves would have at least stop the forward movement of barbados fast downward spiral into default territory.
Where do we go from here only God knows -
Senator Franklyn seems to be a man of integrity and appears to think clearer and straighter than many of the other public figures in Barbados.
-
Hal Austin June 8, 2018 2:47 AM /Northernobserver, /It is degree inflation. There is also the myth of equivalence, that a degree in economics from Cave Hill is the equivalent o one from St Augustine or Mona, or from Harvard or MIT
Hal, do you think that an individual from Barbados is equivalent to one from Trinidad or Jamaica, or from USA?
-
Peggy…the ex government was made up of a nasty, filthy, inhumane pack of savages, not a drop of empathy could be found between the lot of them..
….the people/voters did the right thing, good riddance to all the sewage trash on two legs..
Hope to see some of them in prison.
-
The BLP’s 2B 2007-8 forex was also built on sales, not on productive capacity and was similarly unsustainable.
The IMF has and will continue to frown on restructuring while “giving away” for “free”. This was the Thompson strategy in 2008-9 that led us to where we are now. Only difference was the DLP’s attempt to raise revenues directly and subsequent stifling of the economy along with previously printing money and the strain on the peg.
The BLP playbook is to keep money flowing so it “looks” as if things are moving but in reality the fundamentals are still wrong and the sense of security is false. Read Moody’s 2009 report for a similar view.
Failed attempts at Public Sector Reform, bloated statutory organisations with poor or no financials, mismanagement over 3 decades and the creation and promotion of an entitlement mentality are the reasons for our morass.
Now, if as Clyde says we are an 80% consumption economy and that a large percent of spending goes directly to Forex, how are we going to give more money (which will be consumed and mostly in foreign goods) without the commensurate increase in foreign reserve earning capacity. UNLESS, the BPSA has suddenly awoken and are willing to pull pockets from other pants to help where they did not help before AND there is a “basket” of offshore money that’s waiting to come assure like Sahara dust AND the unions have agreed to “cease and settle” so the country can seem quiet.
The DLP deserves its stinging defeat. It’s entirely their fault. But, persons such as Commissiong and any “political prostitutes” who helped to pull down country under the naked guise of nationalism and objectivity should “cease and settle” lest they risk smelling like opportunistic hypocrites.
“Senator” Toni Moore, Akanni “the 4.5 is good now” McDowall, David “hope suddenly springs eternal” Commisiong, Hartley “the kingmaker dies with the king” Henry and the list can go on.
It’s like when the wife stops liking ya she stops cleaning the house, stops cooking, stops pressing the clothes. The man similarly stops cutting the grass, changing the pipes, fixing the windows and fences. Eventually the house will crumble. Just because the two couldn’t talk to one another. The new buyers of the house don’t care about the squabble, they just want a house.
NB. The last line of this article is the real thrust of our issues.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/47413/matters-food-import-major
Just observing
-
“It is the productivity which is lacking, not the education nor cultural exposure.”
Inexplicably the will does not exist neither to implement nor enforce anything to benefit the population as a whole….implementation deficit at its most destructive..
It was never more clearer than with the ex government of misfits…
-
..I hope the new government will do something to reduce the high import bill on food. There are lots of things that are imported that this country can do without. The Ministry of Agriculture seems not to be an important ministry not as high profiled as foreign Affairs
An economist wrote years ago, “any country that does not have a strong agricultural base is doom. When you have to spend so much money on importation of food what can you expect.
I wish the new government well.Hon. Errol Barrow said many years ago that we in Barbados have cultivated a taste for North American food. The fast food market is growing daily. One business man owning over 16 outlets.
I do wish the new government well
-
@Observing
Agree with you.
Mia and the BLP over promised, we get that, it is how political parties operate.
We discussed manifestos and social contracts here already and we also agree for the most part the party elected go that path that makes sense for them.
The reality is that the BLP will have to take hard decisions and balance polices to protect the vulnerable. However it needs to be conscious the need to maintain a stable IR environment? This includes potential issues with having won 30 – 0.
-
Here we go again equating free university education as the ONLY way to develop our citizens…..the truth is that we need true education reform and the apologists for the current system do not have a clue. A few months ago, I had the pleasure of meeting an
eleven year old Barbadian child in rural Barbados, who can already pick down and put back up a car engine. He was in his father’s workshop, that Sunday morning expertly handling every single piece of machinery imaginable.
He was supposed to sit the eleven plus in a few days and his mom was worried as to how well he would do. I told her he does not need no eleven plus because he could work at any mechanic shop right now.
She told me he occasionally helps his older sister with her university physics problems.
Time to get real people !!!! -
Only stupid governments would not have known 10-14 years ago that this was inevitable..and fares should have been raised incrementally to keep the Transport Board solvent, provide new buses and better service to the public,,.
Again…implementation deficit, ..with everyone waiting until things are now at its worse.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/06/07/imf-recommends-5-fare-hike/
“The International Monetary Fund (IMF) has recommended an overhaul of the operations of the state-owned Transport Board (TB), including an increase in current bus fares from $2 to $5 per passenger.
Barbados TODAY has obtained a copy of the 58-page technical assistance report, which was prepared last December by a five-member team from the IMF’s Fiscal Affairs Department following an assessment carried out last October at the request of the then Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler.”
-
Useless Michael Lashley brought in a trini consultant at over 20,000 of taxpayer’s money per month, plus house and car and other perks to make phone calls to US..to get cheaper bus parts…but yet more buses kept breaking down.,
Lashley should be in prison..good riddance.
“The mission also suggested that the Transport Board could generate substantial cost savings through better management of its fleet repairs and maintenance.”
-
The Mia government needs to go after the well known tax cheats/thieves at the same time that they are going after the ex government ministers and stolen tax money and pension money….none of these thieves have parliamentary privileges or diplomatic immunity…go after them and get back the people’s money..or jail all of them.
Especially the business thieves and tax cheats in the minority community…
“ANNIE
scott weatherhead is pure sour grapes, you and your father don’t have to worry what happen in this country, wanna owe d government muff money and won’t pay, so shut d hell up I hope Mia come after wanna theifing ass and make wanna pay all dem taxes wanna won’t owe, people like you and ya theifing father is who bleeding this damn country, wanna want putting out of Barbados.I say to Mia go after all wanna free loaders and make wanna pay all them back taxes wanna owe d government, instead of airing ya stink mouth, pay wanna taxes like any body else and help the country that ya sucking, like damn leeches. You really have a nerve to come here talking and owe d government nuff money.”
-
I looked at David Comissiong, then at Akanni McDowall, then at David Comissiong, then at Akanni McDowall and could not tell one from the other.
-
In my opinion, the demise of the Transport Board began in 1975 when, for political reasons (and prior to the 1976 general elections), Barrow abolished the bus fare by stage system and reduced the fare to 25¢ to ALL routes.
Hence, a passenger travelling from the Fairchild Street terminal to Government Hill would pay the same fare as a passenger travelling to College Savannah……….
……………or passengers travelling from Lower Green to Connell Town paid the same fare as passengers travelling to Eagle Hall.
Madness!!!!!!
But Barrow is so highly revered by Barbadians that to criticize any decision he made would draw their wrath.
I have always maintained that bus fares should be determined by market forces. Passengers should pay bus fare according to distance travelled, similarly to what is done in the other Caribbean Islands.
In SVG, for example, a passenger travelling from Kingstown to Lowman’s Hill would pay $2, while a passenger travelling much further distance, such as Layou, would pay at least $7.
The Transport Board cannot continue operating as has been since it was established in the 1950s. The employees and buses changed over the years………but the management system remained the same.
-
Why donât some of you stop focusing on individuals and let us pressure the government to take decisions in the interest of the country? Is Comissiong making a point or not, should the country given the dire state of the economy read 180% debt understand we have been living a lie for some years now and it must come to a halt. The key here was s that we must rally as a country to make the adjustments needed. It the policies being enunciated by the BLP government are flawed let us attack the policies. We can only do this from a laymanâs perspective anyways given we are not privy to relevant information and expertise.
-
Someone is campaigning hard for the post of Barbados’ ambassador to Cuba!