The Hal Gollop 1.5 million invoice
The following was posted to BU on another blog and worthy of penetrating discussion afforded a separate blog-space.
William. Please post the following info as well. Firstly, the BWA bought the land on which the building is located over 15 years ago and under the NHC Act. So the notion that he had to regularise the title to the land is absurd.
Secondly, Clarke Gittens and Farmer, the law firm which worked for the financier and whose legal fees the BWA also had to pay and who prepared ALL of the documentation) charged $275,000.00.
Thirdly, the BWA found the bill to be so large, that they had to pay the fees in installments.
Michael Carrington invoiced the BIDC fees of $1,000,000.00 for sale of a building at Newton Roundabout.
Michael Yearwood charged the SSA $1,500,000.00 for the Cahill project, when the SSA Board did not even have any knowledge of the project.
Richard Byer, a DLP member, charged Caves $750,000.00 for work which, when it was first done under the BLP, the fee was only $30,000.00. Same work, but the fee is $720,000.00 more.
But David Thompson led from in front, as any good leader would. According to the CLICO forensic report, Thompson charged CLICO $2,000,000.00 for the purchase of CCB, and the he charged CLICO a fraudulent and wholly fictitious $3,300,000.00 for work that did not even exist.
And we have to ask how much Adrian King, son of Maurice King, charged Clearwater Bay Limited ( the government entity) that guaranteed the loan to The Four Seasons project? Some say $5,000,000.00
“David,
For what it is worth, the total submitted on the Invoice should be 1.5 million, (1,499,000,00).and not the 3.5 Million shown on the invoice as the final amount.”
I know it is hard to read….but 1,276,595.70 + 223,404,30 = $1,500,000. What do we think the chances are of billing for something, then adding 17.5% and have it come out to an even number? They had to have worked backwards….the total has to be 1.5M, so what number times 1.175 = 1.5M? Maybe it was a lump sum contract inclusive of VAT….or simply a negotiated amount?
Maybe this was page 2, and page 1 had a charge of $2,000,000, providing the total?
The Invoice is dated the end of March, but it is stamped as being received by the GM of the BWA at the end of July??? That is 4 months!!!! Is the post office that slow, was the invoicer tardy in mailing, or was this invoice passed through the ‘chain of command’?
And to imagine this was the result of 15 years worth of work? So for 15 years, not a cent was ever billed? Imagine 15 years of not getting a cent for time (money) spent working on this file? This makes Philip Nicholls stories in his book appear comical.
Maybe somebody with accounting office experience can hazard a guess as to the handwritten numbers PB3295 051812 01 22-13?
FACTS? The initial invoice was much higher and far more detailed. It was rejected as being too high. After several meetings, it was mutually agreed that $1.5M was fair and acceptable. And so via negotiation, the BWA was able to save several hundred thousands, by challenging the initial bill. The BWA should be congratulated for its excellent efforts in resolving this matter.
Thanks for correcting Alvin, it is a difficult document to read. As usual many run off to fulfill an agenda without sticking to the real issue. It is the lack of transparency in transactions like this one and the extent to which corruption is given a breeding ground because of how partners of government are selected i.e. the Gollops, Michael Yearwoods, Mark Maloneys etc.
The Attorney Fees schedule stipulates something like 5% on the first 40 thousand to be charged and 3% on the rest, how does that calculate on a 60 million dollar project?
People like Alvin, irredeemable yardfowls, believe they are more intelligent than anyone else in Barbados Barbados. There is also an established fees lists for attorneys in Barbafors. They cannot charge for services above what is recommended. …their fees are capped.
Anyone can buy a copy of attorneys fee schedule at the government printery in Bay Street….to prevent themselves being ripped off by thieves.
Patients should check the medical association on Spring Garden for any caps on doctor’s fees.
If Alvin would read more and stop being a lowly yardfowl he will understand that what Gollop and Leroy Parris/David Thompson did was theft and fraud against taxpayers…….and policyholders….separately
Why did Ha, Ha Austin not tell BU that many muslims in UK not only condemned the attacks, but refuse to bury terroists and have established the collection of.funds to help victims of terroism.
Ha, Ha…..another blind bat.
What Ha, Ha don’t want BU and bajans to know.
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/london-bridge-terrorists-imams-refuse-funeral-prayer-khuram-shazad-butt-rachid-redouane-a7774291.html
If they would all stick to the attorneys fees schedule, there would be no padding of fees or wholesale thefts of taxpayer’s money.
Fees caps should also be put on construction and all other contractirs doing work for and expecting to be paid taxpayer’s money. There are too many thieves in the legal field and business community.
@ WW&C
What stick to what attorneys fees what??!!
Do you not know how crooked those scamps are?
That schedule is ONLY designed to ensure that POOR people pay a MINIMUM of those rates listed – when in fact, most of the work could be done by any idiot (as most of the attorneys are anyway), and mostly comprise of filling in standard forms and getting standard stamps placed on them.
Without the schedule, many of the newer young lawyers would just do the same shiite work for a couple dollars; …the work would be done in a jiffy, …..more people would use the then affordable service, ….and the legal system would work just like any other normal business.
BUT of course then the crooked old gangsters would be up shit street, having to actually do some work to make a dollar.
This way, the young lawyers HAVE NO CHOICE but to join one of the crooked law firms and to play the nasty game.
You can rest ASSURED that they would have worded the rules to say that the rates listed are the MINIMUM rates to be charged.. …. thus opening the door for the big crooks to play their daylight robbery games.
Why do you think they all gravitate to politics and to the boardrooms of the various organisations?
You should see what they pay each another for doing basic shiite….
mitchlans June 6, 2017 at 12:00 AM #
“The evidence is all there in the Forensic Report which is now public document. Parris’ ass will be got eventually, though many say that won’t be a new experience….”
@ mitchlans
Be very careful how you use the word “evidence” as it relates to the “Forensic Report” because, according to a “LEGAL EXPERT,” unless the report has been tested and cross examined in court, it is hearsay and not evidence.
Perhaps the “legal expert” would prefer you to state the “Forensic Report” was fabricated by Deloitte to cast aspirations on the character of Leroy Parris and infringe his human rights.
NorthernObserver June 6, 2017 at 12:33 AM #
“I know it is hard to read….but 1,276,595.70 + 223,404,30 = $1,500,000. What do we think the chances are of billing for something, then adding 17.5% and have it come out to an even number?”
@ NorthernObserver
The chances of “billing for something, then adding 17.5% and have it come out to an even number” are VERY POSSIBLE, especially if the invoice was CREATED to look AUTHENTIC by including VAT gross and the $1,500,000 was the INTENDED net invoice total.
In other words, I have to question the authenticity of an invoice that includes 17.5% VAT on the gross amount, when the said invoice does not have a clearly visible VAT registration number. Unless the VAT REGISTRATION NUMBER is hidden, faded or my eye sight is failing.
@ NorthernObserver
Look at Hal Gollop’s invoice and if you see a VAT registration number, then I will ask David to retract my contribution.
@ Artax June 6, 2017 at 8:01 AM
Well spotted, Artax!
Just another concocted scheme to suck on the already sore nipples of the emaciated consumers/taxpayers.
It would be interesting to know if the BRA can have the intestinal fortitude to investigate whether the recipient of the settlement from that invoice did pay over the VAT charged and the net amount declared as assessable revenue (income) in the annual tax return.
These are the kinds of possible tax evasion schemes that the BRA should be focusing on instead of wasting valuable resources running down coconut vendors and other small fish who would be caught by the VAT net anyway.
Should MAM become PM in a few months we must insist that these matters (including the Leroy Greenverbs tax evasion scam) be investigated and if the appropriate taxes arising from these ‘shady’ transactions were NOT paid to the BRA, then the Treasury must be made good.
Failing this, she too will be damned.
Karma is a bitch and she has no qualms about biting another should MAM renege on her pledge stated in her covenant of hope.
Is the “Invoice” produced on the blog authentic? To just bring such an invoice; incomplete, to the contributors to BU to show supposed infelicities is wrong. Present all the evidence to support your case. How was I to know that the “Invoice” presented was incomplete? this is the type of “fake news” that Trump..er complains about. We obviously have them here.(Purveyors of fake news prevalent on the blog.)
@Alvin
Don’t be a JA, this document was distributed by the Opposition and as you can see from the notation it was made a document of parliament. Why you don’t desist from yardfowl inclination.
Bushman…I have seen, it’s ugly the way they collude and conspire to rape vulnerable clients and taxpayers.
I keep telling Alvin yardfowl to read the documents before commenting, it is a valid document.
Whether the document is authentic or not Mia has absolutely no moral authority to bring anyone character into question.Mia has been weighed in the balance over and over again and found wanting
Cud dear…the Ass’s got exposed..lol
Mia just made the valid point that the BWA as the client should have felt compelled to negotiate the fee as detailed on the invoice being widely circulated on social media. We do not agree with her decision NOT to call for a divide, it is not a matter of winning the vote but recording the votes of members on bothsides.
The votes at the end of what is euphemistically called the Budget Debate does not really matter. They are not really voting on the Budget. In accordance with the Provisional Collection of Taxes Act, the Minister has power to raise taxes without obtaining parliamentary approval. The taxes raised in a budget presentation are effective from the time specified in the Minister’s speech.
When MPs vote after the Budget presentation, they are in effect voting on a self-congratulatory resolution. If every MP voted against the resolution, it could have no effect on the taxes that were raised in the Budget.
@Caswell
Your explanation is taken but it is important at every opportunity to record positions taken my MPs on the public record. It is about holding public officials accountable.
For a so called big up lawyer, this invoice sure looks poor, piss poor.
But then again, it was not about how it looks but how much money is requested.
No wonder he ditched the BLP for the fatted calf trough!
The Budget has mass appeal.It is not required by law.The Estimates form the important and constitutionally required debate.Recall EWB had a “fireside chat” in place of the budget after he realized that his plan to make Tom reply in 15 minutes to a budget backfired and Tom as always was prepared for him and blistered EWB and his DLP government.Coming soon after the debate on the changes to the Constitution,EWB surmised that the only thing he can beat Tom in is an election.A few months later Harold Crichlow in a live broadcast on Rediffusion delivered a thundering sermon from St Michael’s cathedral entitled Mene,Mene,Tekel Upharsin.it was the first Sunday of the month.EWB was now reeling on the ropes from all these body blows.A few weeks later Tom delivered the coup de grace,catspraddling the DLP in the General Election.
I am here thinking. We pay school principals about $100,000 BDS a year, maybe up to $150,000 BDS per year, and I am wondering how come a lawyer (QC notwithstanding) can be paid $1.5 million of taxpayer’s money for a few month’s work, maybe a year’s work, when it takes a school principal 10 to 15 YEARS to earn the same amount of money.
Is it because lawyers are 10 to 15 times as valuable as the people who taught them, and who are currently teaching their children and grandchildren?
Can somebody tell me?
Or maybe somebody can tell me how we plan to attract and hold excellent teachers for our children and grandchildren when we pay them so poorly as compared to lawyers.
Or is it that we don’t care whether or not our children and grandchildren are taught by excellent people?
The people want to know.
Simple Simon
These are the issues the BSTU and other unions should be discussing. Status is just as important as pay increases.
By the way, permanent secretaries earn about Bds$150000 a year.
Gollop got paid that kind of money for being friends with Fruendel and government ministers, he did not earn it, they robbed the taxpayers as usual.
Highway robbery….tiefing politicians…..tiefing civil servants…….tiefing lawyers/doctors/professionals period……the invective and name calling goes on on a daily basis.
When we are finished just look in the mirror and say thats me……I am responsible for all of that by acts of commission or ommission…….we too love to vent.
I am hearing this mess we have as an education minister on VOB 4.30 news………….
He is being critical of teachers telling them to spend less time agitating and more time trying to be better teachers…………he forgot where he come from and he was a pisspoor teacher.
He should be ashamed. As a teacher at Christ Church Boys, he was hardly on the plant.
Hypocrite, cannot wait to see the backs of these morons.
They will soon be gone, it’s their last hurrah…they imploded.
Small wonder Hal stopped teaching music at SMS and went and studied law.
Simple Simon June 5, 2017 at 9:28 PM #
“Mottley said she does not have any plans to legislate same sex marriages”
That is just another one of the lies Mottley told in the House. You would believe anything that she/he says.
The lynch pins of the BLP for the 2018 elections will be :
Introduction of SAME SEX MARRIAGES
legalising HOMOSEXUALITY
legalising prostitution
Legalising wicking
Legalising Herb
Repealing of the BUGGERY LAWS
Why do you think that there are so many fringe groups surrounding the BLP? The BLP has made commitments to them which they intend to keep.
she/he IS NOT FOOLING BAJANS WITH LIES.
she/he HAS NO GUTS Let Mottley come out of the house and say the things which she/he said in the House about Hal Gallop and other decent Bajans, she wont do it. If Hal Gallop was a WHITE BAJAN, OR AN INDIAN BAJAN she would not say a single word against him. But because he is BLACK like her/him she wants to destroy him. Some BLACK people just like she/he are like CRABS IN A BASKET.
They like to destroy their own.
@Carson Cadogan
Hahahaaaaaaa. You need praying fuh!
Enuff
Ignore the JA………he is the worst of the worst!
Does Hal Gollop still operate out of Harford Chambers?
@Carson C. Cadogan June 6, 2017 at 6:39 PM “That is just another one of the lies Mottley told in the House…They like to destroy their own.”
Alright Carson C. Cadogan. I hear you.
But I do not believe a word that you say.
In any event my question was NOT about Ms. Mottley, so don’t think that you can so easily distract me.
My question was “are lawyers 10 to 15 times as valuable as school teachers…and should we, or should we not care about the education of our children and grand children.”
if you cannot answer my questions just say so, or better yet go to the back of the class and shut up.
Prodigal…woukd that be at the corner of Roebuck St….next door to the court, opposite HC…then as of a few years ago, yes…his fingers seem to be in everything that is rotten and detrimental to the peoole.
Well Well
From your vantage point at Shady Pines.
How would you know?
What does Chris Sinckler got on Mia despite her empty grandstanding about Inviting FBI to our shores? Mia needs to tell us how much she paid Chris Sinckler from the legal fees he assisted her in getting from the Four Seasons project.
$8,000.000 is a lot of money to share with friends like Chris. Mia is a fake
Well Well,
Somewhere on Pinfold Street…………across from the old court buildings.
Wait i got 9 thumbs down and i am loving it. Kudos to those nine nitwits who did not have the guts to scroll by my post. Ha Ha Ha
Having a freind like Mottley one does not need enemies. I guess Gallop learned that the hard way. Mia actions against Gallop her once upon a time friend should serve as warning for her past and present “friends”. Right Maria Agard a devil dressed in white cannot be sanctified ever.
Prodigal…I think he moved, what I ppsted is the last known address, unless he moved again.
Carson…the same way I know Freundel wasted taxpayers money on a fully loaded Mercedes he cannot now return to Simpson Motors.
It may be a valid document but it still wrong; the numbers do not add up.
Well Well,
If the PM paid for the car out of his own pocket, it is his and he can do what he likes with it. If it is paid for out of the treasury, then it is the property of the government, and will be used by the next person who becomes Prime Minister, so I don’t know what the fuss is all about. All travelling officers get loans to buy vehicles.
Hence the reason we are highlighting and discussing.
The purchase of a new Mercedes S-Class for the Office of Prime Minister only goes to show how out of touch the PM is with he actual situation in Barbados.
Alvin Yardfowl…the IMF, S &P, Moody’s CDB…and myriad of others warned Fruendel and his friends about wasting taxpayer’s dollars, if he bought it out his pocket, it would not say MP2….what does Fruendel or any other PM need a taxpayer funded Mercedes for….when Fruendel and his goons destroyed the economy.
Alvin waste of time engaging the blp operatives from now until the election bell rings these operatives only chance of winning the election(they think) is to drag every tom dick and harry across a hot bed of corruption needless to say that strategy did not help them to win the last election so let them carry on as smart a.sses digging their own graves
Next it would be the boggey man turn u watch!
Based on what MAM said during her Budger reply I would be more concerned with the existence of a commission agency agreement for Sam Lords than with the boggey man as highlighted by Angela Skeete.
Hal Gollop is a Fumble bag man.
He has always been a government pimp, running from one government to the other. Pimps are expensive.
Don’t forget to attend the Anti Israeli protest this morning at the corner of Aquatic Gap and Bay Street, St Michael, started at 8.00 am.
@Alvin Cummins June 7, 2017 at 7:09 AM “If the PM paid for the car out of his own pocket, it is his and he can do what he likes with it. If it is paid for out of the treasury, then it is the property of the government, and will be used by the next person who becomes Prime Minister, so I don’t know what the fuss is all about. All travelling officers get loans to buy vehicles.”
But why do all travelling officers feel entitled to to interest free loans to buy vehicles? These loans come out of the pockets of taxpayers, the same taxpayers who have to take high interest loans from the banks in order to pay for their own vehicles. Barbados is a small place. Maybe travelling officers can be given a grant of no more than $200 BDS per month for gas and related expenses and let them use their own vehicles. If this happened you can be sure that not one of them would be driving bout expensive Mercedes’
The Prime Minister may call them the political class.
I call them the parisitical class.
They and their family, friends, lodge buddies, and schoolmates have been taking unfair advantage of the taxpayers for far too long.
All political parties. I do not see this as just a “D” thing. It is a “B” thing too.
Too many people in this class feel entitled to live high, and far too many put in too little effort.
@Carson C. Cadogan June 7, 2017 at 8:08 AM “Don’t forget to attend the Anti Israeli protest this morning at the corner of Aquatic Gap and Bay Street, St Michael, started at 8.00 am.”
Why???
Stupssseee!!!
Under the Barbados Labour Party Govt. tens of millions of tax payers money was spent for the GREENLAND land fill.
To this day all the money spent but no land fill in sight.
Whose pockets this money went into , can you tell us MIA. You were the DEP. PM in the Barbados Labour Party Govt.
Those of us who are non political knew that Geenland was an idiotic idea and a waste of money.
What are you saying that just because some BLP fools wasted $80 million at Greenland
That the DLP must compete with this idiocy? Does the DLP feel an urgent need to waste the taxpayers money too?
Why?
@Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! June 7, 2017 at 7:58 AM “Hal Gollop is a Fumble bag man.”
Are you telling me that as Rodney was to Owing that the galloping one is to Fumble?
@ Alvin CumminsJune 7, 2017 at 7:09 AM
“David,
It may be a valid document but it still wrong; the numbers do not add up.”
Alvin, before you inevitably meet your maker it would serve you a world of good if you were to adhere to that old Christian fundamentalist adage of speaking when the Bible speaks but remaining silent when you are a complete moron on certain matters totally outside your intellectual ambit.
What is so valid about a document ‘manufactured’ to commit fraud?
Unlike you, we are not dwelling on minor numerical inaccuracies (for which the term E&OE would easily cover) but rather the more serious legal infringement of issuing an invoice purporting to collect VAT without the proof of authorization to do such?
Unless you can show us where the invoice quotes the VAT registration credentials of the supplier we can only conclude that the invoice is bogus and indeed not valid.
We would be prepared to put our professional heads on the intellectual block if the VAT Act does not make mandatory provision for such a basic requirement.
Shouldn’t the supplier of legal services be competent enough to be knowledgeable of those statutory provisions set out in the VAT legislation especially the sections dealing with the penalties attached to the offences committed under division V11 of the said Act?
If the supplier is a VAT registrant and refuses to issue the relevant ‘valid’ invoice not only is ‘he’ in criminal breach of the Act but also the finance management of the ‘recipient’ corporation.
Now Alvin, why not use your inside ‘investigatory’ contacts and find out if that invoice is indeed ‘valid’ as far as charging VAT is concerned?
Simple Simon June 7, 2017 at 9:25 AM #
Chuckle….do you not realise that this govt justifies all of their actions by referring to what the previous govt did………not the correctness of it but the fact that the others did it so we can too ………amazing logic.
Vincent Haynes June 7, 2017 at 11:39 AM #
“Chuckle….do you not realise that this govt justifies all of their actions by referring to what the previous govt did………not the correctness of it but the fact that the others did it so we can too ………amazing logic.”
@ Vincent Haynes
Amazing logic indeed…… but these DLP scamps are purposely forgetting the previous BLP administration did shiite and was rejected by the electorate in the 2008 general elections.
As this inept DLP administration continues to do “shiite pun top uh shiite,” perhaps a similar fate awaits them in 2018.
And by the way, Vincent, you should also remind your friend Grenville Phillips II who continues to blame the BLP for Barbados’ current economic situation, although they were punished by the electorate in the 2008 & 2013 general elections; and despite the DLP holding the reins of government for the past 9 years and 4 months.
Artax June 7, 2017 at 12:44 PM #
And by the way, Vincent, you should also remind your friend Grenville Phillips II
………………………………………………………………….
Chuckle……How are we measuring this classification the types of adjectives used to describe us or the quantity used……haha….I think you maybe a closer friend based on quantum.
Messages to the Honorable gentleman have to be passed through his emmissary Lord Bush Tea.
Vincent Haynes June 7, 2017 at 1:11 PM #
“Chuckle……How are we measuring this classification the types of adjectives used to describe us or the quantity used……haha….I think you maybe a closer friend based on quantum.”
Hahahahahaha, that’s a good wun, Vincent.
But how could I be considered a “closer friend” of the goodly gentleman, when I’ve never met him before (despite what he wrote) and especially under circumstances where he took up his bat, ball and stumps, dun de cricket, while waving “farewell” to WW&C and I?
“Chuckle….do you not realise that this govt justifies all of their actions by referring to what the previous govt did………not the correctness of it but the fact that the others did it so we can too ………amazing logic.”
Backward and ignorant, sounds just like what uncultured, uneducated people do, monkey see, monkey do.
Art….Grenville indeed took up his toys and left us, probably somewhere pouting.
Simple…ya aint see Carson aint too bright..lol
Artax June 7, 2017 at 4:45 PM #
Chuckle….looks we are going to fight over who got call more names……from memory I was a troll,a bee and an addict long before he did done wid wunna….lololol
No one saying anything about the millions upon millions which MAM received from Four Seasons?
@carson C Cadogan
When a DLP yard-fowl, like you, can-not count self, as saying something ,he should go under the cellar with the ducks
Why should anyone say “anything about the millions upon millions which MAM received from Four Seasons, which is PRIVATELY OWNED?
Correct me if I’m wrong, but I thought this “discussion” is about lawyers (and especially those associated with the DLP), who charged excessive amounts of fees for service rendered to GOVERNMENT OWNED ENTITIES and how such transactions could be justifiably viewed as being contrary to the DEMS 2008 promise to implement transparency, accountability and good governance.
However, I would wholeheartedly agree with Carson if he had asked why “No one saying anything about the millions upon millions which this inept DLP administration pumped into Four Seasons?
Cadogan, I’m sure you remembered when the Auditor General in his 2015 report, raised concerns about the $120M loan your DLP stupidly guaranteed for Four Seasons, which left Barbadian taxpayers with a $124,329,766 bill.
“The Government of Barbados guaranteed a loan for $120,000,000 in respect of the Four Seasons Development project during the financial year 2011-2012. This guaranteed debt was CALLED during the financial year 2013-2014 by the bankers. As Government had GUARANTEED the DEBT, it HAD to PAY an AMOUNT of $124,329,766 which entailed PRINCIPAL plus INTEREST to the lenders.” [Page 30, 2015 Auditor General’s Report]
Let’s see Fruendel and his Frauds…how smoothly they can drive around in a…not one seat….mercedes come election 2018.
@Artax June 7, 2017 at 6:20 PM “is about lawyers (and especially those associated with the DLP), who charged excessive amounts of fees for service rendered to GOVERNMENT OWNED ENTITIES”
I prefer the term TAX PAYER OWNED ENTITIES, as it is the government which consistently wastes the tax payers money.
“Cadogan, I’m sure you remembered when the Auditor General in his 2015 report, raised concerns about the $120M loan your DLP stupidly guaranteed for Four Seasons, which left Barbadian taxpayers with a $124,329,766 bill.”
Why this new found love by the crooked Barbados Labour Party for the Auditor General?
You all cared nothing for the Auditor General when your corrupt party formed the Govt.
When we tried to get an extension for the Auditor General you all blocked the process. Now you are crying crocodile tears over the Auditor General’s report? You all really think that Bajans are stupid!!!!
Miller,
I am neither a member of the BLP, a politician, or one of the persons in Parliament who made the invoice a document of the House. Why did,they bring this discrepancy to the attention of Parliament? At that time the emphasis was on the amount invoiced for payment;an incorrect figure. I am more concerned with whether the final amount shown was indeed paid; an incorrect figure. Can you answer that question?
When is MIa going to produce her LEC
https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/06/09/question-mark-remains-over-mottleys-legal-certification/#comment-167475
Good morning angela..
Reasonable question about the LEC, but as a woman, are you not more concerned about when the authorities will investigate the circumstances surrounding the murder of Mrs Smith…?
Do you REALLY give a shit about Mia’s LEC or CAT?
….well not stinking Bushie….
Can this new BLP government make Gollop repay the disindat taxpayers money?
While Ur at it print how much money the BLP stole that led the FBI so come here for them
We need to jail some people. Corruption is endemic in Caribbean economies and destroying our way of life. Mia is a multi-millionaires and should not be motivated by greed. She wants to create a legacy after waiting her turn. Mia the ball is in your Court.
Both the Ds and the Bs corrupt…..Teefing taxpayers money….There is a Creator out there and I think wunna time up. Click the link if you are a fed up taxpayer: https://bit.ly/2kv7DPH and hope for the best !! Corruption is at its highest in Bim, and no one looking out for the poor, just themselves.
People are suggesting that we pay our political class more. I propose that we pay them less, a lot less, because it seems to me that the high salaries, benefits and pensions are attracting the wrong sort of people. People who love money too much and who do not understand when enough is enough.
My suggestion may be counter intuitive.
Tell me ,does Mia need LEC Certificate now, what for unless some people are looking for a top boss to act on their behalf in court. Note that she is not practicing law at this present time. Find all who got LEC CERT to fight their battles. Get away and examine yourselves. The electorate was judge and jury. The result is final.
Time to start on a new slate .
I do not have a law degree but there is text I want inserted in the integrity legislation.
The guvament will mek evry effort to claw back funds wid any hint uh impropriety…
All paid invices (i like that word) will be revued to chek for ridiculousness
I think I should get a likkle pick as an integrity lawyer…
Simple,
I have said we should pay MPs 3X more than now but only with Strict Integrity Legislation Wid TEEEETTTS!
It is also to attract top quality people who may be making big $$$ elsewhere and would not want to move into Govtbecause they are too honest to supplement their incomes with corrupt practices.
Will the BLP do anything about this invoice? Can anything be done?
“Will the BLP do anything about this invoice? Can anything be done?”
David BU
I read in today’s Mid-week Nation that, while speaking in parliament yesterday, Ronald Toppin queried the fee of $706,450 former Speaker of Parliament Michael Carrington charged BIDC……..
………for providing legal services relative to “the $32M sale of a BIDC at Lot A1 Newton Business Park, Christ Church to Gildan Activewear Properties (BVI) Inc. in 2010.
Toppin said based on his calculation of the scale of fees, the legal fee paid for the BIDC property sale should have been $322,500.
David BU, it becomes more interesting.
According to Toppin, subsequent to the conclusion of the land sale in 2010, Carrington wrote a letter to the BIDC in 2011 in which he indicated that…… at the time the transaction completed…. he was NOT registered for VAT……..
……….and requested the BIDC pay the VAT Division on his behalf……..the VAT of $92,146 his legal fees incurred.
As a QC (and LEC qualified lawyer….. hahahahahaha), Carrington’s earnings would obviously have been above the VAT threshold of $80,000…….hence, in keeping with the VAT laws…..he should be VAT registered.
The dishonest Carrington…. not being VAT registered…… expected the taxpayers to pay on his behalf…….VAT of $92,146 he incurred on his legal fees.
Perhaps the BLP may do something about Gollop’s invoice……..
……… especially if one takes into consideration that one of the services rendered as listed on the said invoice was for preparing a conveyance for the project site to Innotech…….under circumstances where a conveyance was NOT necessary……..
…………because the project site was owned by the NHC.
@Artax
Let us hope so. Perhaps your comment can support a blog post .
David BU
The reason why Carrington wanted the BIDC to pay the $92,146 on his behalf was because BIDC was obligated to issue him a “goods and services” slip as required by the BRA (Inland Revenue at the time).
And an amount of $709,450 BIDC paid to a service provider, would obviously incurred VAT……and “open a can of worms” for the goodly gentleman.
A check of Carrington’s tax records would have revealed he was not registered and since the fee was above the $80,000 per annum VAT threshold, non payment of the VAT portion would have incurred interest and penalties…….
……..and perhaps an audit of his earnings from 1997 to 2010 to determine if he filed VAT returns and the amount of VAT he did not pay to the VAT Division as required by law.
@Artax
In light of the CARRINGTON invoicing matter and the opportunity to peer into his âethicalâ mind when viewed against the Griffiths matter, there is enough for BRA and related authorities to act!
Pingback: Was Michael Carrington VAT Registered When he Invoiced the BIDC 706 thousand dollars? | Barbados Underground
How many generators can 1.5 million dollars purchase for the pumping stations at BWA?
@ David November 25, 2019 8:43 AM
Some of that same $1.5 million could have gone towards maintaining the South Coast sewerage network instead of having to spend $12 million in drilling injection wells which became useless faster than a pit toilet on the seafront.
Blogmaster, can you get Senator Caswell to raise the matter about the treatment of the VAT charged and collected on that same invoice?
Can he get his ‘colleagues’ on the government’s side to confirm whether the VAT levied (as recorded on the same invoice) has been paid over to the Treasury by the same legal services supplier as a token of mitigation to this obvious financial wound inflicted on the BWA consumers who are themselves taxpayers?
@Miller
The Senator reads the blog, as you know his inventions must have relevance or the President will intervene.
@ David November 25, 2019 9:46 AM
Any thing related to the integrity of the Crown’s tax collection efforts must have relevance in that august chamber.
For how else would it function (or the senators be ‘dined’ and paid) without money collected from the taxpayers?
The VAT in question does not belong to the politicians but to their employer, the Crown.
@Miller
Toss out the scribble on the Order Paper?
We have no doubt the Senator will probe this and other matters when the time is right.
@ David November 25, 2019 10:01 AM
BERT is in the HOUSE, man!
No time to waste when every cent of taxpayers’ money count.
Hasn’t the MoF promised all tax refunds and reverse tax credits before year-end to stimulate Xmas shopping?
Who is going to pay for all those social programmes the current administration has promised to the youth?
Where is the money going to come from (if not the taxpayers) to meet the recently renegotiated debt repayment obligations?
Is the government going to default again (because of lax tax collection efforts) and tell the same good-guy creditors to wait until Barbados is ready to live up to its sovereign commitments?
@Miller November 25, 2019 9:56 AM “Any thing related to the integrity of the Crown’s tax collection efforts must have relevance in that august chamber.”
I support this statement by Miller.