The Hal Gollop 1.5 million invoice

The following was posted to BU on another blog and worthy of penetrating discussion afforded a separate blog-space.

William. Please post the following info as well. Firstly, the BWA bought the land on which the building is located over 15 years ago and under the NHC Act. So the notion that he had to regularise the title to the land is absurd.

Secondly, Clarke Gittens and Farmer, the law firm which worked for the financier and whose legal fees the BWA also had to pay and who prepared ALL of the documentation) charged $275,000.00.

Thirdly, the BWA found the bill to be so large, that they had to pay the fees in installments.

Michael Carrington invoiced the BIDC fees of $1,000,000.00 for sale of a building at Newton Roundabout.

Michael Yearwood charged the SSA $1,500,000.00 for the Cahill project, when the SSA Board did not even have any knowledge of the project.

Richard Byer, a DLP member, charged Caves $750,000.00 for work which, when it was first done under the BLP, the fee was only $30,000.00. Same work, but the fee is $720,000.00 more.

But David Thompson led from in front, as any good leader would. According to the CLICO forensic report, Thompson charged CLICO $2,000,000.00 for the purchase of CCB, and the he charged CLICO a fraudulent and wholly fictitious $3,300,000.00 for work that did not even exist.

And we have to ask how much Adrian King, son of Maurice King, charged Clearwater Bay Limited ( the government entity) that guaranteed the loan to The Four Seasons project? Some say $5,000,000.00

198 responses to “Hal Gollop’s 1.5 Million Dollar Invoice”

1. @Carson C. Cadogan June 5, 2017 at 8:49 PM “Mottley said she does not have any plans to legislate same sex marriages” “When did she/he say that?”

Dear Carson:

Ms. Mottley said that in the House of Assembly on Monday 29th May, 2017. Don’t thank me. I am always extremely happy to help my fellow bloggers

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/mottley-same-sex-marriage-not-blp%E2%80%99s-agenda
    The Barbados Labour Party has no plans to change local laws to allow for the introduction of same-sex marriage in Barbados, once elected as the Government of Barbados.
    Opposition Leader Mia Mottley cleared the air on this issue on Monday night, as she delivered her reply to the 2017 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals in the House of Assembly.
    “This notion that you want to foist on the (Barbados) Labour Party, something about same-sex marriages, is nonsense. I have said in this Chamber before that no 30 people in this country can get in here and deal with rights issues, whether it is the decriminalisation of marijuana, whether it is capital punishment or whether it is same-sex marriages,” Mottley remarked.

“There are people who support and are gays on that side and on this side and the Member for St. James South (Donville Inniss) made that clear and these are rights issues,” she contended.
    “Our role is to facilitate governance in this country. But I can say to you without fear of contradiction, that this Barbados Labour Party as a government will never do it, because it is not the role of the government to do such,” the Opposition Leader stressed.

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Alvin….just to educate you on how billing is done in the US by attorneys and law firms…they bill in 15 minute increments…corporate lawyers who work for large corporations would have stock options…even CEOs, presidents managing directors and VPs …these people’s salaries are not large, but their stock options, insurance and bonuses are huge.

They surely dont get a 1.5 million dollar check for attending a few meetings, they actually have to work and produce for that kind of money.

You would do anything to justify theft of taxpayers money.

And I dont have to check anything out, I spent years in the middle of it.

3. Alvin Cummins June 5, 2017 at 7:14 PM #

The money allegedly paid to Thompson was in fact an invoice on behalf of Leroy, Parris, for commissions due to said Leroy Parris, which was directed to Thompson, who was legal counsel for said Parris. The invoice was not for work Thompson did for CLICO. This was discussed, argued about and dragged through the mud; as a campaign issue, during the 2008 election. That sticks in your craw since then. It is now a non-issue, as it was then.”

@ Alvin Cummins

You either have been misinformed about the $3.333M invoice or you are purposely being dishonest.

The “invoice” was for services rendered in connection with: The Purchase of Sam Lord’s Castle and related properties; Purchase of Grant’s Hotel Limited Shareholding; Litigation Involving Marriotts Corporation and its Successors; Litigation involving Abarco Inc.

Maurice King’s name was also mentioned on the “invoice,” relative to providing legal services $250,000. King was quick to disassociate himself with the transaction by making it known he did not provide the services as the stated on the said invoice.

Sorry to disappoint you Alvin, but it is still an issue, especially to the members of BAICO.

4. William Skinner Avatar

@ Gabriel

By 2010 the NDP was long gone. You are correct. It is highly believed that in 1999, the NDP kind of supported the BLP /Arthur. It was claimed that the BLP had embraced many of the NDP’s policies.
    For the record, I was not active in the party at that time.

5. Alvin, the $3.3m invoice was a fake. Parris claimed it was for a bonus he was due, so why did it not say so, and instead list fees for work by others that was never done. It was a fake invoice (poorly) created by Thompson on his PC at home and emailed out. The evidence is all there, dicovered by the Judicial Manager and it is an ongoing case the the DPP is not being allowed to follow up for obvious reasons. Judge Chandler had the balls to freeze Parris’ assets to that value (slightly more in fact) and to this day, the Court has not heard the appeal to unfreeze. So you see, it IS still an issue and will continue to be. The evidence is all there in the Forensic Report which is now public document. Parris’ ass will be got eventually, though many say that won’t be a new experience…..

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

“David,
    For what it is worth, the total submitted on the Invoice should be 1.5 million, (1,499,000,00).and not the 3.5 Million shown on the invoice as the final amount.”

I know it is hard to read….but 1,276,595.70 + 223,404,30 = $1,500,000. What do we think the chances are of billing for something, then adding 17.5% and have it come out to an even number? They had to have worked backwards….the total has to be 1.5M, so what number times 1.175 = 1.5M? Maybe it was a lump sum contract inclusive of VAT….or simply a negotiated amount?

Maybe this was page 2, and page 1 had a charge of $2,000,000, providing the total?

The Invoice is dated the end of March, but it is stamped as being received by the GM of the BWA at the end of July??? That is 4 months!!!! Is the post office that slow, was the invoicer tardy in mailing, or was this invoice passed through the ‘chain of command’?

And to imagine this was the result of 15 years worth of work? So for 15 years, not a cent was ever billed? Imagine 15 years of not getting a cent for time (money) spent working on this file? This makes Philip Nicholls stories in his book appear comical.

Maybe somebody with accounting office experience can hazard a guess as to the handwritten numbers PB3295 051812 01 22-13?

FACTS? The initial invoice was much higher and far more detailed. It was rejected as being too high. After several meetings, it was mutually agreed that $1.5M was fair and acceptable. And so via negotiation, the BWA was able to save several hundred thousands, by challenging the initial bill. The BWA should be congratulated for its excellent efforts in resolving this matter.

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

People like Alvin, irredeemable yardfowls, believe they are more intelligent than anyone else in Barbados Barbados. There is also an established fees lists for attorneys in Barbafors. They cannot charge for services above what is recommended. …their fees are capped.

Anyone can buy a copy of attorneys fee schedule at the government printery in Bay Street….to prevent themselves being ripped off by thieves.

Patients should check the medical association on Spring Garden for any caps on doctor’s fees.

If Alvin would read more and stop being a lowly yardfowl he will understand that what Gollop and Leroy Parris/David Thompson did was theft and fraud against taxpayers…….and policyholders….separately

Why did Ha, Ha Austin not tell BU that many muslims in UK not only condemned the attacks, but refuse to bury terroists and have established the collection of.funds to help victims of terroism.

Ha, Ha…..another blind bat.

8. Thanks for correcting Alvin, it is a difficult document to read. As usual many run off to fulfill an agenda without sticking to the real issue. It is the lack of transparency in transactions like this one and the extent to which corruption is given a breeding ground because of how partners of government are selected i.e. the Gollops, Michael Yearwoods, Mark Maloneys etc.

The Attorney Fees schedule stipulates something like 5% on the first 40 thousand to be charged and 3% on the rest, how does that calculate on a 60 million dollar project?

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

If they would all stick to the attorneys fees schedule, there would be no padding of fees or wholesale thefts of taxpayer’s money.

Fees caps should also be put on construction and all other contractirs doing work for and expecting to be paid taxpayer’s money. There are too many thieves in the legal field and business community.

10. @ WW&C
    What stick to what attorneys fees what??!!
    Do you not know how crooked those scamps are?

That schedule is ONLY designed to ensure that POOR people pay a MINIMUM of those rates listed – when in fact, most of the work could be done by any idiot (as most of the attorneys are anyway), and mostly comprise of filling in standard forms and getting standard stamps placed on them.
    Without the schedule, many of the newer young lawyers would just do the same shiite work for a couple dollars; …the work would be done in a jiffy, …..more people would use the then affordable service, ….and the legal system would work just like any other normal business.

BUT of course then the crooked old gangsters would be up shit street, having to actually do some work to make a dollar.
    This way, the young lawyers HAVE NO CHOICE but to join one of the crooked law firms and to play the nasty game.

You can rest ASSURED that they would have worded the rules to say that the rates listed are the MINIMUM rates to be charged.. …. thus opening the door for the big crooks to play their daylight robbery games.

Why do you think they all gravitate to politics and to the boardrooms of the various organisations?

You should see what they pay each another for doing basic shiite….

11. mitchlans June 6, 2017 at 12:00 AM #

“The evidence is all there in the Forensic Report which is now public document. Parris’ ass will be got eventually, though many say that won’t be a new experience….”

@ mitchlans

Be very careful how you use the word “evidence” as it relates to the “Forensic Report” because, according to a “LEGAL EXPERT,” unless the report has been tested and cross examined in court, it is hearsay and not evidence.

Perhaps the “legal expert” would prefer you to state the “Forensic Report” was fabricated by Deloitte to cast aspirations on the character of Leroy Parris and infringe his human rights.

NorthernObserver June 6, 2017 at 12:33 AM #

“I know it is hard to read….but 1,276,595.70 + 223,404,30 = $1,500,000. What do we think the chances are of billing for something, then adding 17.5% and have it come out to an even number?”

@ NorthernObserver

The chances of “billing for something, then adding 17.5% and have it come out to an even number” are VERY POSSIBLE, especially if the invoice was CREATED to look AUTHENTIC by including VAT gross and the $1,500,000 was the INTENDED net invoice total.

In other words, I have to question the authenticity of an invoice that includes 17.5% VAT on the gross amount, when the said invoice does not have a clearly visible VAT registration number. Unless the VAT REGISTRATION NUMBER is hidden, faded or my eye sight is failing.

12. @ NorthernObserver

Look at Hal Gollop’s invoice and if you see a VAT registration number, then I will ask David to retract my contribution.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artax June 6, 2017 at 8:01 AM

Well spotted, Artax!

Just another concocted scheme to suck on the already sore nipples of the emaciated consumers/taxpayers.

It would be interesting to know if the BRA can have the intestinal fortitude to investigate whether the recipient of the settlement from that invoice did pay over the VAT charged and the net amount declared as assessable revenue (income) in the annual tax return.

These are the kinds of possible tax evasion schemes that the BRA should be focusing on instead of wasting valuable resources running down coconut vendors and other small fish who would be caught by the VAT net anyway.

Should MAM become PM in a few months we must insist that these matters (including the Leroy Greenverbs tax evasion scam) be investigated and if the appropriate taxes arising from these ‘shady’ transactions were NOT paid to the BRA, then the Treasury must be made good.
    Failing this, she too will be damned.

Karma is a bitch and she has no qualms about biting another should MAM renege on her pledge stated in her covenant of hope.

14. David,
    Is the “Invoice” produced on the blog authentic? To just bring such an invoice; incomplete, to the contributors to BU to show supposed infelicities is wrong. Present all the evidence to support your case. How was I to know that the “Invoice” presented was incomplete? this is the type of “fake news” that Trump..er complains about. We obviously have them here.(Purveyors of fake news prevalent on the blog.)

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Bushman…I have seen, it’s ugly the way they collude and conspire to rape vulnerable clients and taxpayers.

16. @Alvin

Don’t be a JA, this document was distributed by the Opposition and as you can see from the notation it was made a document of parliament. Why you don’t desist from yardfowl inclination.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I keep telling Alvin yardfowl to read the documents before commenting, it is a valid document.

18. angela Skeete Avatar

Whether the document is authentic or not Mia has absolutely no moral authority to bring anyone character into question.Mia has been weighed in the balance over and over again and found wanting

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Cud dear…the Ass’s got exposed..lol

20. Mia just made the valid point that the BWA as the client should have felt compelled to negotiate the fee as detailed on the invoice being widely circulated on social media. We do not agree with her decision NOT to call for a divide, it is not a matter of winning the vote but recording the votes of members on bothsides.

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The votes at the end of what is euphemistically called the Budget Debate does not really matter. They are not really voting on the Budget. In accordance with the Provisional Collection of Taxes Act, the Minister has power to raise taxes without obtaining parliamentary approval. The taxes raised in a budget presentation are effective from the time specified in the Minister’s speech.

When MPs vote after the Budget presentation, they are in effect voting on a self-congratulatory resolution. If every MP voted against the resolution, it could have no effect on the taxes that were raised in the Budget.

22. For a so called big up lawyer, this invoice sure looks poor, piss poor.

But then again, it was not about how it looks but how much money is requested.

No wonder he ditched the BLP for the fatted calf trough!

23. @Caswell

Your explanation is taken but it is important at every opportunity to record positions taken my MPs on the public record. It is about holding public officials accountable.

24. The Budget has mass appeal.It is not required by law.The Estimates form the important and constitutionally required debate.Recall EWB had a “fireside chat” in place of the budget after he realized that his plan to make Tom reply in 15 minutes to a budget backfired and Tom as always was prepared for him and blistered EWB and his DLP government.Coming soon after the debate on the changes to the Constitution,EWB surmised that the only thing he can beat Tom in is an election.A few months later Harold Crichlow in a live broadcast on Rediffusion delivered a thundering sermon from St Michael’s cathedral entitled Mene,Mene,Tekel Upharsin.it was the first Sunday of the month.EWB was now reeling on the ropes from all these body blows.A few weeks later Tom delivered the coup de grace,catspraddling the DLP in the General Election.

25. I am here thinking. We pay school principals about $100,000 BDS a year, maybe up to $150,000 BDS per year, and I am wondering how come a lawyer (QC notwithstanding) can be paid $1.5 million of taxpayer’s money for a few month’s work, maybe a year’s work, when it takes a school principal 10 to 15 YEARS to earn the same amount of money.

Is it because lawyers are 10 to 15 times as valuable as the people who taught them, and who are currently teaching their children and grandchildren?

Can somebody tell me?

Or maybe somebody can tell me how we plan to attract and hold excellent teachers for our children and grandchildren when we pay them so poorly as compared to lawyers.

Or is it that we don’t care whether or not our children and grandchildren are taught by excellent people?

The people want to know.

26. Simple Simon
    These are the issues the BSTU and other unions should be discussing. Status is just as important as pay increases.
    By the way, permanent secretaries earn about Bds$150000 a year.

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Gollop got paid that kind of money for being friends with Fruendel and government ministers, he did not earn it, they robbed the taxpayers as usual.

28. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Highway robbery….tiefing politicians…..tiefing civil servants…….tiefing lawyers/doctors/professionals period……the invective and name calling goes on on a daily basis.

When we are finished just look in the mirror and say thats me……I am responsible for all of that by acts of commission or ommission…….we too love to vent.

29. I am hearing this mess we have as an education minister on VOB 4.30 news………….

He is being critical of teachers telling them to spend less time agitating and more time trying to be better teachers…………he forgot where he come from and he was a pisspoor teacher.

He should be ashamed. As a teacher at Christ Church Boys, he was hardly on the plant.

Hypocrite, cannot wait to see the backs of these morons.

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

They will soon be gone, it’s their last hurrah…they imploded.

31. Small wonder Hal stopped teaching music at SMS and went and studied law.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Simple Simon June 5, 2017 at 9:28 PM #

“Mottley said she does not have any plans to legislate same sex marriages”

That is just another one of the lies Mottley told in the House. You would believe anything that she/he says.

The lynch pins of the BLP for the 2018 elections will be :

Introduction of SAME SEX MARRIAGES
    legalising HOMOSEXUALITY
    legalising prostitution
    Legalising wicking
    Legalising Herb
    Repealing of the BUGGERY LAWS

Why do you think that there are so many fringe groups surrounding the BLP? The BLP has made commitments to them which they intend to keep.

she/he IS NOT FOOLING BAJANS WITH LIES.

she/he HAS NO GUTS Let Mottley come out of the house and say the things which she/he said in the House about Hal Gallop and other decent Bajans, she wont do it. If Hal Gallop was a WHITE BAJAN, OR AN INDIAN BAJAN she would not say a single word against him. But because he is BLACK like her/him she wants to destroy him. Some BLACK people just like she/he are like CRABS IN A BASKET.

They like to destroy their own.

33. @Carson Cadogan

Hahahaaaaaaa. You need praying fuh!

34. Enuff

Ignore the JA………he is the worst of the worst!

35. Does Hal Gollop still operate out of Harford Chambers?

36. @Carson C. Cadogan June 6, 2017 at 6:39 PM “That is just another one of the lies Mottley told in the House…They like to destroy their own.”

Alright Carson C. Cadogan. I hear you.

But I do not believe a word that you say.

In any event my question was NOT about Ms. Mottley, so don’t think that you can so easily distract me.

My question was “are lawyers 10 to 15 times as valuable as school teachers…and should we, or should we not care about the education of our children and grand children.”

if you cannot answer my questions just say so, or better yet go to the back of the class and shut up.

37. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Prodigal…woukd that be at the corner of Roebuck St….next door to the court, opposite HC…then as of a few years ago, yes…his fingers seem to be in everything that is rotten and detrimental to the peoole.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

From your vantage point at Shady Pines.

How would you know?

39. What does Chris Sinckler got on Mia despite her empty grandstanding about Inviting FBI to our shores? Mia needs to tell us how much she paid Chris Sinckler from the legal fees he assisted her in getting from the Four Seasons project.

$8,000.000 is a lot of money to share with friends like Chris. Mia is a fake

40. Well Well,

Somewhere on Pinfold Street…………across from the old court buildings.

41. angela Skeete Avatar

Wait i got 9 thumbs down and i am loving it. Kudos to those nine nitwits who did not have the guts to scroll by my post. Ha Ha Ha

42. angela Skeete Avatar

Having a freind like Mottley one does not need enemies. I guess Gallop learned that the hard way. Mia actions against Gallop her once upon a time friend should serve as warning for her past and present “friends”. Right Maria Agard a devil dressed in white cannot be sanctified ever.

43. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Prodigal…I think he moved, what I ppsted is the last known address, unless he moved again.

44. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…the same way I know Freundel wasted taxpayers money on a fully loaded Mercedes he cannot now return to Simpson Motors.

45. David,
    It may be a valid document but it still wrong; the numbers do not add up.

Well Well,
    If the PM paid for the car out of his own pocket, it is his and he can do what he likes with it. If it is paid for out of the treasury, then it is the property of the government, and will be used by the next person who becomes Prime Minister, so I don’t know what the fuss is all about. All travelling officers get loans to buy vehicles.

46. Hence the reason we are highlighting and discussing.

47. Armando Rodriguez Avatar
    Armando Rodriguez

The purchase of a new Mercedes S-Class for the Office of Prime Minister only goes to show how out of touch the PM is with he actual situation in Barbados.

48. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Alvin Yardfowl…the IMF, S &P, Moody’s CDB…and myriad of others warned Fruendel and his friends about wasting taxpayer’s dollars, if he bought it out his pocket, it would not say MP2….what does Fruendel or any other PM need a taxpayer funded Mercedes for….when Fruendel and his goons destroyed the economy.

49. angela Skeete Avatar

Alvin waste of time engaging the blp operatives from now until the election bell rings these operatives only chance of winning the election(they think) is to drag every tom dick and harry across a hot bed of corruption needless to say that strategy did not help them to win the last election so let them carry on as smart a.sses digging their own graves
    Next it would be the boggey man turn u watch!