This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Many come to BU to gauge the political pulse of the country. With a general election on the horizon it is accurate to say the political temperature is rising.

As part of our commitment to the BU family to deliver an informed perspective members of he BU family were embedded in the BLP March of Disgust. Given the reluctance of Barbadians to protest in numbers one would have to give the organizers a pass mark for the turnout if not for content.

Members of the BU household observed people of many profiles –the young, old, babies pushed in prams and held in arms, homosexuals, BLPites, DLPites, independents, Moslems (cloaked in burkas) the disabled, Caucasians, trade unionists and many others.  A word about the Caucasians. We have not seen so many White people along side Blacks since the height of the Cahill protest.

It s evident as we mingle that there is a high level of dissatisfaction at the state of the country  which transcends political affiliation. Barbadians have dented pride and are frustrated and how a country established for punching above its weight has dropped in the rankings if we used 19 downgrades or 22 if CariCRIS are numbered. If 1991 was bad what is unravelling in 2017 appears to be worse.

The question for the Bees –what is your next move!

153 responses to “Thousands March to Protest …”

1. @ Carson Cadogan

Real name Michael Lashley MP why don’t you tell us all about the kick backs, collusion and other corruption by your peers and some alleged even you being among the top of the Pyramid?

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

What is this DLP suckapooch doing on BU. It do not matter how much the DLP worms are deployed on the blogs to provide their so call FACTS, the truth about their wickedness already out there. Even wunna DLP loyals ain’t want one shite to do wid wunna again. Wunna losing all around. No matter how much shite the DLP does the suckapooches ain’t letting go of their 1% of the scratch grain. You people are pathetic. You got people so desperate for money they willing to put a 2×3 to ATM machines in the middle of the day and with cameras watching over head just to get a little to support themselves. You think wunna deserve to live in BIM after all that wunna have done. Wicked brutes.

3. Vincent Haynes Avatar

When a govt , sees its legacy:-

…… as erecting buildings without a maintenance program or solar panels on the roof just to replace poorly maintained buildings that are left to further deteriorate as no disposal plan exists.

……forming committees and revamping authorities neither of which have contributed a yen in increase in fx.

……and last but not least giving concessions to a dying industry and still no fx returns.

Well,well,well…..nothing innovative or creative and having access to NIS funds at the same time…….what a legacy.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

We Bajans have ruled ourselves since 30 Nov. 1966 and we have done a wonderful job at as well.

We never look at rating agencies to tell us how to run our beloved country. we are not about to pay them any mind as we go forward in to the next 50 years of our existence. The rating agencies are all invited to stay on the sidelines and look on and learn from the very resourceful Bajans. The know how to propel this singular Island forward for the next 50 years resides right here in Bim. Determination, Courage, and the will to succeed are all resident right here on this blessed rock.

Barbados has come this far from Nov. 1966 and we will continue thanks to brilliance of the DLP. Our people we trust implicitly. The Colonial way of thinking does not reside in the Democratic Labour Party. that is for you and the Barbados Labour Party.

The rating agencies were not invited by the people of Barbados. So we are not about to dance with them. Rating agencies were not around when we started our journey on 30 Nov. 1966.

5. David

I expect a cohesive and solid policy/programme framework from the BLP, and when executed will prove many of her detractors wrong. Look out.

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Carson….of course you dont know about the scams in which ya embedded, but when the falling out happens, names will be called, I saw that happen on a another blog when crooks fell out out one Thomas Harris called the names of all the lawyers, doctors and business people who are robbing bajans….he made a long list, it’s still the talk of the town…lol….when crooks fall out.

Your turn will soon come Carson…soon….ah bet ya if someone winds up Thomas, he will have a thing or 2 or 3 to say about yall, he will make another long list….ya will have to sedate him to prevent that…lol

7. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Did he end up in Bim???

http://historian-hut-did-you-know.blogspot.com/2016/12/there-is-ancient-roman-book-about-man.html

Did you know? There is an ancient Roman book about a man who traveled the world after being transformed into a donkey. It was written between 160 and 180 CE, and is hilarious and fun to read!

(Click picture for quick read.)
    Did You Know? There Is An Ancient Roman Book About A Man Who Traveled The World After Being Transfor
    (Left:Apuleius, Center: Isis, Right:Donkey) If you want to impress your friends and family with your knowledge of ancient writ…
    historian-hut-did-you-know.blogspot.com

8. Carson,

How far has Barbados come sine Nov 30, 1966?

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Since 1966…there is more money in the treasury for ministers to run bribery/corruption scams, instead of a couple million, ya can find a couple billion more money to steal, keep the majority population scrambling to survive….other than that the country is looking tattered and dilapidated.

10. @CCC

You will not understand this point but here goes. Up until about 15-20 years ago our Debt to GDP ratio gave us the fiscal space to service debt in a way that kept the international financial institutions happy. Also, our likkle islands were not out there in the competitive world globalization has visited on us left makes by the removal of preferential trade arrangements. This is a biggie -we had almost exclusive access to double taxation arrangements in a pre 911 and Patriot Act world. Then there was the collape of Wall Street which chokedchoked southbound capital flows. This is not an exhaustive response to your amorphous comment.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

How you know that? You all the way in Canada.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Let me show what I understand.

The same Rating agencies that engineered the the Financial collapse with their bogus ratings are the same Rating agencies which you and the Barbados Labour Party are brown nosing.

13. What are the Barbados authorities doing bout David Ames?

14. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…ya think people are chained to Canada, they are npt only free to travel, but with all those digital devices available….ya think people dont know how to take photos of all those dilapaded and falling dipown structures yall neglected in Bay Street, Speightstown and all across the island….

…….do you live in a vacuum, ah bet ya do, ya must get out more and stop wasting so much of ya life thinking up ways to deceive the electorate, you and those 6 or 7 crooked minorities.

15. @CCC

By your response you have demonstrated that you have not understood. Here is the catch -those looking on are aware as well. Bear this in mind. If you want a frustrated electorate to understand your points come with rational responses. Not like George Pilgrim did this morning. He came over as a puerile jackass if you are allowed to line them up together.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well, you cant remember the last day you visited Lovely Barbados. Barbados is considered one of the ten best destinations in the World. thanks to the Democratic Labour Party.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. CadoganMarch 12, 2017 at 3:53 PM

Carrion- the one with the concretized cranium dubbed CCC the consummate consumer of crap- when those students attending those physically uplifted buildings of learning to imbibe false DLP promises where would they graduate to?

Would the offspring of those thousands of unemployed adults including the 3,000 and more unceremoniously dismissed from the public sector (with more in the pipeline) find the means to attend the UWI t to further their education in a most competitive village called the WWW where a basic university degree is now considered like “O” levels of the 70’s in order to get on the ladder of job opportunities?

Alternatively, would there be enough jobs in the ‘numerically expanding financially contracting’ tourism sector in a mono-industry-one-cylinder economy for thousands of gardeners, security guards, cooks and dish washers?

Perhaps your vicious goons of wicked thinkers are singing in the same choir as Esther Suckall asking young Bajans to breed while using a condom to practise safe sex or else she would have to import foreigners to save the NIS from senile implosion.

Now which jenny of a sucking doctor of suckling false hope in a cabinet of male jackass johnnies born of mules would want to copy such a model of abject stupidity when there are thousands of young people sitting “voluntarily idle” on the blocks across Barbados either frustratingly unemployed or gainfully engaged in underground world of black marketing activities?

Where would these work-eager immigrants come from?

Guyana to make OSA look like a prescient law-breaker?

Or would they come from China to make Bush Hill and Nelson Street an economic tax-free zone with an abundance of cat both loca land foreign and few local dogs on sale to some of the 17 million Chinese males in excess to Mainland requirements but keen to make the local johns turn ‘yellow’ with envy if not in the size of the doggie that goes into the local hairy black purse but in its monetary contents paid from the same black stupid taxpayers in the long run.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

How is that people who you consider as Jackasses have in the recent past beaten your Barbados Labour Party THREE(3) TIMES? they are also poised to beat them a FOURTH time come 2018?

I wonder how you will explain that?

19. it so pathetic to listen to the voices of the blp supporters who would side with financial institutions by their way of mash up and break up this tiny island in order to collect their money
    Listen doo do birds their is absolutely nothing of benefit by positioning and agreeing with financial institutions with a interest of protecting their side of the bargains.
    but what is of interest is that blp operatives with a determination to win by any means necessary would throw barbados interest under the bus
    In as much as govt has not defaulted on loans and have kept barbados interest in tact one finds it hard to believe that the voices of doom and gloom would bat on a sticky wicket well prepared by financial institutions to divide and conquer a nation

20. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

George Pilgrim on Brass Tacks Sunday was going down an interesting line when David Ellis sought to change the subject. While the media talking heads like to speak about the influence of money in politics has anyone ever looked at the influence of money in the press?

Let us say that the BLP approached the Nation newspaper and offered to use the Nation as their paper of choice for thousands of dollars in advertising for their branch meetings, events and public relations events, etc and in exchange the Nation newspaper would ensure that the Nation employs BLP spokespersons like Mascoll and others hostile to the government as columnists so that a consistent anti government narrative is maintained 7 days a week.
    It cannot be coincidence that every time the BLP has had a “rubbing Shoulders spin session” the Nation devotes a whole page to covering it. Has anyone noticed that the coverage is always on a right hand page and the pictures of Mottley are always in colour?
    I have checked and the evidence is there.

In every area of activity money talks, the BLP has shown that you can buy influence in the press while a friend of mine suggested that they have also shown that you can buy out the trade union leadership too.

This is one issue that David Ellis will not allow discussed on Brass Tacks because of the Nation ownership of VOB, no moderator on VOB has the balls to touch this subject.

It is something that all Bajans should be aware of , there is a war on for our minds.

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Ya still dont get it Carson….Barbados is supposed to be the best place to live in the world for its 280,000 citizens, not being taxed into oblivion by a clueless governnment, not having to pay VAT on food or being over taxed for evrrything and still have to endure bribery and corruption from government ministers………it should not only be the best place for a bunch of broke ass tourist living off credit cards that yall brown nose and pay airlines taxpayer’s money to bring to Barbados….and the economy is still in financial trouble, not benefitting sufficiently from tourism to pay ya billls…

….., yall fired the central bank governor, begging Owen to help and ya dont know what to do.

22. You can continue with your partisan spiel. A reminder though how important the position of the credit rating agency is when you have to visit the capital market to topic the forex account. We can only pray the 100 million BNTCL SOL deal is approved for your sake.

23. @NationBLPnewspaper

You mean like how the DLP has co-opted the Advocate? The unfortunate thing is that their circulation is way down.

24. You have changed your name but your brain is still pea size.

You missed the memo last week when Donville Inniss expanded what prime minister Stuart should have said by explaining the credit rating downgrades upset foreign investor. You should know that Barbados must generate FDI to supplement tourists receipts if we are to maintain a net positive forex position.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

NationBLPnewspaper

Dont worry your head too much about the Nation newspaper. After Errol Barrow was constantly beating the BLP they claimed that the Advocate as it was know then was in the hip pocket of the DLP.

Around 1969 some BLP bigwigs formed the Nation newspaper which was launched in 1973 at first it was printed in Trinidad and flown into to Barbados. That is because their printing presses were destroyed on the Trinidad docks which they blamed on the Democratic Labour Party.

The Nation newspaper is theirs. There are still some of the founders around one of them writes from New York on a Weekly basis others are now retired. One was a Lawyer who liked to write on the Constitution.

I still have one the first copy of the Nation which was printed.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. CadoganMarch 12, 2017 at 4:27 PM
    “We never look at rating agencies to tell us how to run our beloved country. we are not about to pay them any mind as we go forward in to the next 50 years of our existence. The rating agencies are all invited to stay on the sidelines and look on and learn from the very resourceful Bajans. The know how to propel this singular Island forward for the next 50 years resides right here in Bim. Determination, Courage, and the will to succeed are all resident right here on this blessed rock.

The rating agencies were not invited by the people of Barbados. So we are not about to dance with them. Rating agencies were not around when we started our journey on 30 Nov. 1966.”

Carrion the circling corbeau in the circus of clowns, does that 50 years period of independent thought and self-assessment include the 24 years under the BLP periods of mismanagement and economic prostitution?

Don’t you in your supremely naive understanding of the maxim friends of all satellites of none appreciate that Barbado(e)s does not have to subject itself to any embarrassingly revealing examinations by white-controlled foreign agencies ?

Either you tell them to piss off or you can ‘forcibly’ withdraw membership by simply not paying the membership subscription to the club of white colonial security guards peeping in on your managerial incompetence.

What about that, CCC? Why not recommend to the fumbling jackass braying in a tone deaf cacophony of arrogant dumbness he does the ultimate exorcism of the poltergeist possessing his economic soul and stop paying the devil his annual dues?

27. @CCC

Remember your alternative facts will not fly on BU.

Check page 5 of this link to verify who are the founding members of the Nation newspaper.

https://issuu.com/nationpublishing/docs/the_nation_newspapers_40th_annivers

28. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Hahaha……the govt operatives are on the backfoot swiping like blind elder,pelting de bat at everything defending de crease…….and all for nought…..cuddear…..hard ears wun hear hard ears gine feel…….waiting……Umps Howzat?????

29. Stupse, stop responding to Cadogan. One day they don’t need validation from the metropoles, and the next they are accepting a honorary fellowship from the metropoles and referring to it as an honour for Barbados and Barbadians. #tragicomedy

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

As far as you know.

31. However, two of the island’s newest political groupings have sought to downplay the success of yesterday’s event.

Former BLP Cabinet Minister Lynette Eastmond, who is the leader of the United Progressive Party, and Grenville Phillips II, the leader of Solutions Barbados, were both guests on Sunday’s Starcom Network’s Down to Brass Tacks programme, along with Marshall.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/12/mixed-reaction-to-blp-led-march/

32. oh while speaking of three times a win do not forget that vodoo poll david had concoted showing the blp would have won by a landslide hee hee hee

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

The foundation of this blog is Barbados Labour Party spin.

everybody knows that.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Angela

In the aftermath of the 2013 elections, DAVID and Peter Wickham were the two biggest jokes in town and I dare say they still are.

35. CCC In the aftermath of the 2013 elections, DAVID and Peter Wickham were the two biggest jokes in town and I dare say they still are.

and may i add the two biggest losers still going about town licking their wounds and counting chickens before they hatch
    Now watch this the three time loser David is going to call the three time winner Angela a jas ,hee hee hee

36. Did you believe that to be the case pre 2008 when Hartely Henry articles were featured prominently? DO you want to read some of the comments you posted back then. Here is a promise, you are the other pea brain will be very busy in the coming weeks. Looking forward to ripping your idiotic comments to thread.

37. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…yall all over the place, it dont look like yall slept in days, ah sure Fruendel cant even enjoy that stupid award he got from the white people in the UK..lol

Things are harsh.

It will get worse, that is Karma wielding her magic.

38. @ David wrote “Did you believe that to be the case pre 2008 when Hartley Henry articles were featured prominently? ”

Hartley was a “Murali” when it came to spinning, The DLP needs him now .

I also remember the licks we put in RoyalRumble ( the most loyal OSA supporter ).

39. Why dont you send Carson a FB message to ask his opinion on the weave selection now you are friends?

40. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I dont know why the little leaders in Barbados believe that they are so special that even though they are mismanaging the economy they should not be downgraded. …everyone either gets downgraded or upgraded by rating agencies, it’s all dependant on the leaders skills in managing the economy, so when Carson and the yardfowls come on here badmouthing the rating agencies, yall make yourselves look even more incompetent.

“Both Fitch and Standard & Poor’s downgraded the United Kingdom in the wake of the Brexit vote, bringing the club’s membership to 12. On Monday, S&P warned that its ranks could shrink even further: The rating agency placed Australia on watch following incredibly close election results that threaten political gridlock in that country.”

41. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The As’s wear all that mite infested dead hair, no wonder they act like they got holes in their heads..lol

42. David do you remember that infamous poll can’t wait to see the spanking new one you have set aside when MIA run out of ideas to whip frenzy into the hearts and minds of Barbadians
    Btw I heard that Wickham did a random poll /survey a couple months ago and the Bees came up short reason for the March and don’t tell me I am wrong

43. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@David –
    I realise that you tried to compare the BLP’s infiltration of the Nation newsroom to the Government’s involvement with the Advocate but it seems that the Advocate is far more accommodating to the opposition than the Nation is to the government.

I saw the Front page of the Sunday Advocate today was devoted to coverage of the BLP march with the headline – DISGUST.
    Even CBC which is usually the tool of whichever party is in power B or D had on the Peoples Business discussion programme tonight Pat Hoyos – one of this government’s harshest critics in the studio along with Corey Layne and defeated BLP nomination candidate Ronnie Yearwood.

Contrast this to the Nation which hid George Pilgrim’s press conference and launch of the DLP Efacts on page 11 with no photos.

It cannot be argued based on the evidence,David . The influence of money on the press warrants further public exposure.

44. Carson. Do you have anything to do with S&P and the Barbados downgrade? Realise your initials are popular since CCC means Carson C Cadogan and we were downgrated to CCC+/C. Congrats you are getting closer to be label JUNK.

45. Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

Hants March 12, 2017 at 12:04 PM #

sensible PRO my brass. When a country is in this kind of crisis you need a Prime Minister to

address the country.@@@

And say what? The Bitch have not spoken Truth for over 9 years so what is he to say now? That he was wrong or a crook and Liar as AG or a scumbag as Prime Minister? There is Nothing that he can say to fix this before elections, He is in a Deep hole with a short Rope,

He will have to print more money for election to buy more votes than ever before, The more hungry the people before elections the less they might take for their vote and starve and get robbed another 5 years,

What does he need to say ? All is well? S&P and Moody’s are fraud companies, none relate to Barbados, We dont need no money,
    Well we can hope that COST U Less wont be able to buy and import no more GMO foods, old food, expire foods for bim,

The PM better blame land fraud and PONZI on the BLP and say all that we here already know first hand,
    PM need to call out Mia and Owen names and the lawyers like Sir Cheltenham and Sir Cow , For COW still to this day looking for money from Seally for his club house,

Will all the money Cow made he still want your NIS money with no return to the people, We have not yet heard of one investment with the NIS money that have showed a return, maybe you can help us all out with that Hant,
    We hope one day that we can see how much this PONZi in Barbados really cost Barbados,
    A full Audit from 1966 would be nice with the chart to read the heart beat slowed to a flat line,

46. The point you prefer to trivialize is that it does not matter how blatant the infiltration has been by one compare to the other -ALL of the media houses relax their editorial standards from time to time to not offend advertisers.

47. Miller,
    If you only knew. I am the Shadow, and only the Shadow knows. I know much more than you think I know, and as usual you are wrong. If you walk in the dark, you will only see your shadow when a light shines. I am your shadow. There will be no devaluation; I have been telling you so even before the 2008 election, and you are still hoping. tough!!

48. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

No devaluation, maybe, but as some are saying re the Creidt Suisse loan, there has already been a partial DEFAULT…….due to the Sinckler self confessed government incompetence……which is just as devastating.

Instead of lying and trying to assign blame to others, Fruendel and Sinckler shoukd be trying to dig the island out of the hole they spent 9 years digging. ..they got one year….they do not deserve one second longer, after that, they are gone…….the liars.

http://bit.ly/2mVq02N

Lawson…look at this Americans are trying to get rid of their US citizenship, making room for you, if ya can cross the border…lol

49. David,

That is true and understandable. I used to get that, with fund managers telling me in a round about way how much they were spending on advertising. I would say thank you, but talk to the sales manager about that.
    At the FT editorial was ring-fenced from advertising. Editors had final responsibility for content; and legally, editors are responsible for editorial and advertising content of their publications.
    More important, advertising does not explain the bad journalism.