Submitted by Dr. George Brathwaite
Dwight Sutherland, M.P.

I refer to your article in the Barbados Underground which states that Dwight Sutherland is serving two MAMs. From my standpoint and certain knowledge, Sutherland is a professional with considerable amount of training in cement manufacture.  He was offered a one (1) year contract in 2015 as Consultant – Business Development and Operations with Rock Hard Cement.

We researched but could not find Sutherland’s name attached to any wrong doings of Rock Hard Cement during his one (1) year stint with them. Sutherland spoke only of cement as it is his passion and training. Sutherland completed his one (1) year contract with Rock Hard cement as a professional and has done nothing wrong.

He was not responsible for the building works at Rock Hard Cement sites neither was he responsible for TCPD applications for Rock Hard Cement.

When last we checked, the only thing that Sutherland was doing Rock Hard is busy working in St. George South cementing himself. He is indeed rock hard in that area as he appears irreplaceable at this time.

As a man of integrity we assumed he saw the writing on the wall and did what was right.

101 responses to “Dwight Sutherland’s One Year Contract With Rock Hard Cement”

1. @George
    “As a man of integrity we assumed he saw the writing on the wall and did what was right.”

And what “right” thing may that have been?

just observing

2. Colonel Buggy Avatar

As a man of integrity we assumed he saw the writing on the wall and did what was right.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    More than we can say for the Prime Minister ,who added his endorsement of Leroy’s wall of shame, in bold letters.

3. This is good news, George.

Maloney seems hell bent on doing whatever what he wants, when he wants and no man can stop him. Dwight as an MP should not be associated with a man who does not respect rules and regulations.

Dwight’s association with him raised a lot of eye brows and the BLP does not need any distractions at this time or going forward. The heart and soul of this country we love is at stake…….we have to rid this country of the wicked dems!

4. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I thought very highly of Dwight Sutherland until he became associated with Rock Hard Cement. Based on the information above I now think it is quite possible that he can fully redeem himself. Good news, George Brathwaite! and Good luck, Dwight Sutherland!

5. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Once again a man spewed a bit of rhetoric and it is swallowed without chewed. Dwight Sutherland was/is up to his neck in that cement. Smh!

6. Akanni wins!!!!!!!!!

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The author of the article assumed Sutherland did what is right…ass..u…me……sooooo, did Sutherland cut ties with Maloney and his lawless company Hard Rock…or not.

Sutherland is the one trying to be endorsed by voters…so they have a right to know.

It’s bad enough the people already have corrupt blighted ministers in parliament selling them out to the highest bidder, it’s worse if there are ministers in waiting who are already compromised.

An intelligent Sutherland would give a statement to the public to the effect that in the interest of public concern…he cut ties with Maloney and Hard Rock on such and such a date.. .untill then, we cannot ass…u…me anything….and are left to presume that he is still associated with the company until he says otherwise….publicly.

Politicians are not above telling lies….havevto keep stating the obvious.

8. The thrust of this communication is obviously to convey Sutherland is a professional, was not involved in the wheeling and dealing that resulted in a TPD enforcement and that his 1 year contract has come to end end. The message has signaled he will not become involved in the deeper national discussion targeted at Maloney which is unfortunate.

We thanks George and Dwight for attempting to clarify the matter however.

9. David
    How come poor people don’t get taken to the magistrates courts for violating TCPO notices?
    THIS IS A SET UP AND CHARADE OF EPIC PROPORTIONS. NOTHING WILL COME OF THIS.

10. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Past Zone; You said above:-
    “How come poor people don’t get taken to the magistrates courts for violating TPO notices? THIS IS A SET UP AND CHARADE OF EPIC PROPORTIONS. NOTHING WILL COME OF THIS.”

I also think it is a set up and charade, but not of epic proportions. It is a very typical Stuartian ploy.

Just connect the dots:

Maloney was thumbing his nose at TPD for a few years now, ignoring or disobeying practically all its orders with no apparent push back from the CTPO or its Minister.

The PM was the MInister responsible for TPD up until a few weeks ago.

Maloney proved that he could afford to thumb his nose at TPD and the CTPO as the PM clearly did nothing to rein him in despite the horrendous optics of the ongoing situation for years.

Maloney went too far with the Hard Rock situation.

An election is in the offing and it really looks bad to anyone who thinks about it. Some fancy movements have to be made to cut the political losses in this matter and give the impression that Government is on top of the matter.

So the PM takes asymetric action. He attempted to extricate himself from the matter by delegating ministerial authority for TPD to Darcy Boyce so that he would be the signatory dealing with it.

With the PM relegating that authority, at last the TPD acted, somewhat expeditiously, on the Hard Rock matter.

Can you see the smoke and mirrors?

Can you see that it appeared that someone saw that he could not continue to do nothing but that there was no option for him to personally take on Maloney so someone else had to appear to do it?

Will Darcy Boyce be allowed to act on the other outstanding TPD matters related to companies associated with Mark Maloney?

Will such action alienate Mark Maloney and therefore possibly affect the DLP election war chest?

Is the effect of such action likely to be of such vigour as to significantly affect MM’s bottom line? Or is it more likely to be a veritable “go-and-sin-no-more” slap on the wrist?

Smoke and Mirrors, Smoke and Mirrors!

11. At this stage it would be quite normal for “honest” business people to offer sweetheart consultancy deals to opposition politicians without asking for any favors in return. This could be considered as a form of “grooming”. This is the time for bonding without any apparent motives. This is the time to invite them to your home when you are having “friends” over. Let them meet your family and make them feel important. Invite them on your yacht for a fishing trip. Seek out their opinions and let them know how valuable their contributions are to your and their success. Make frequent contact and let them have your cell number also.

As soon as that person or persons find themselves in positions of influence within Government, their personal cellphone numbers are already available, a relationship has already been established and the rest is history. Psychologist tell us that there is a feeling of obligation on the part of someone receiving a gift to the giver of the gift.

For those of you who are interested, click on this link and read what the business people already know http://4hb.com/08iceinfuencepeople.html

12. @Past Zone

Say what you like Maloney is doing something many Barbadians need to do and this is test the law in Court. The TPD has been doing a lotta shiiite over the years. We might not like of Maloney operates for other reasons but we need to look at the ambiguity in the law and how the TPD has operated over the years.

13. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Re. your 10:04 am.

Dat too!!!

14. @ David wrote “The TPD has been doing a lotta shiiite over the years.”

Give us some examples. We Diasporians would be interested.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Fearplay…bribery and corruption has been refined to an art form over the last few centuries…only really backward politicians with criminal minds still get caught in that net in this day and age….that is why they should be in prison.

16. David June 10, 2016 at 10:04 AM #
    “The TPD has been doing a lotta shiiite over the years. ”

Or is it the Ministers that have responsibility for TPD that “been doing a lotta shiiite over the years.”?

17. Side bar: Glyne Murray is on Brasstacks. Have you noticed how few DLP operatives call in when he is on. Is it because he is doing such a “fair and balanced job” in representing their side of the divide that there is no need for them to interrupt?

18. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Every thing in the news and posted is about CROOKS , CROOKS CROOKS , and Yet Barbados is a place to start and grow a business, crook to crook is normal business in Barbados,
    Now when they get graded they cry, They need to have a crook to grade them ,
    When the IMF , WB, IDB , Moody’s, S&P talk about Barbados you hear the crooks saying it not true, and how things at STACKED STACKED against them , Venezuela on its way to Barbados. Then the crooks will ask what happen and blame the World with no fault of their home grown crooks,

19. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Refer teefin' to the public prosecutor' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Refer teefin’ to the public prosecutor’ my ass.

David June 10, 2016 at 10:04 AM #
    @Past Zone

Say what you like Maloney is doing something many Barbadians need to do and this is test the law in Court. The TPD has been doing a lotta shiiite over the years. We might not like of Maloney operates for other reasons but we need to look at the ambiguity in the law and how the TPD has operated over the years.

To be clear, every parcel of land in Barbados has a use-right, either because of an existing use that predates the Town and Country Planning Act or by subsequent T&CPD or Ministerial approval.

When you buy a piece of land in a housing development, you have the RIGHT to build the house, all the CTP can determine is the conditions (boundaries, stories, access etc.).

The land in question at the Barbados Port is an industrial lot in an industrial subdivision vested by the Ministry of Housing and Lands in the Barbados Port Authority. The owner/lessor/lessee has a RIGHT to build a warehouse. In this case all TCP can do is determine the conditions. This they will likely take 3 or 4 years to do if past performance is anything to go by. Meanwhile the warehouse is being built, application to retain the structure filed and a fine will be paid for ignoring the stop order.

If we can’t work with the snivel servants we will work around them.

This whole farce is just a storm in a teacup, the teacup is just one in a whole table placement of inefficiency and corruption.

Meanwhile Cemtile’s little model building in Lears roundabout is being demolished by MTW as we speak. It will be heralded by the lackies and spinners as a gov’t victory over the terrible businessman villain.

If this gov’t is good at anything, it is great at deflection.

20. @Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Refer teefin’ to the public prosecutor’ my ass

No wonder you are a frustrated businessman, its because you are a poor businessman.

Have you read the serious crap you wrote above? How does a party (Maloney) challenge the need for TCPO approval once a notice to quit is issued, ……………take that matter to Court but at the same time apply to the same TCPO to retain the violating structure?

If he does not need them for TCPO approval in first instance how does he need them for a retention? Comprehendo???

21. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Refer teefin' to the public prosecutor' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Refer teefin’ to the public prosecutor’ my ass.

22. @ FearPlay June 10, 2016 at 11:44 AM #

“Side bar: Glyne Murray is on Brasstacks. Have you noticed how few DLP operatives call in when he is on. Is it because he is doing such a “fair and balanced job” in representing their side of the divide that there is no need for them to interrupt?”
    ………………………………………………

Glyne Murray has an agenda. His is an OSA acolyte so MAM is in his crosshairs. Do you remember how he started the programme last Friday? He more or less dissed the march and he went on to say that one would have thought that MAM would have continue to keep the pressure on the government instead she flies off to St Lucia….and he allowed dems to push this story ad infinitum.

I admired people who are loyal but when will these people ride off into the sunset, come to grips with the reality that OSA can never be PM again and get over the fct that MAM is the leader?

Well he did say today that people who are looking for him to push a BLP dont know him. I say to him…….push a dlp line under the guise that you are fair and balance……..fair and balance, my eye!

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Frustrated…and Maloney got the nerve to say that the destruction is illegal…Peter Harris said the same thing..in their minds, they are neve wrong when they pay bribes.

24. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Apparently Maloney has dissed the Magistrates Court and has taken his case, fast -tracked of course,directly to the High Court. I do wonder who are his side line advisors.
    A game of Barbados Monopoly

25. Exactly Pastzone. Frustrated you talking nuff piss. Housing in a housing development is not the same as a warehouse in an “industrial” site. Residential is residential is residential; but warehouses can and are USED for different purposes and therefore the USE more so than the building determines lawfulness. Not to mention that STORING cement on industrial land located within a port makes no sense whatsoever! The activity has no relation to the port and is utter folly; it is just reducing Maloney’s transportatiom cost. Furthermore, neither the Port nor Ministry of Housing has planning authority or can determine use without the TPD. Maloney is too dismissive of the law and always spouting shyte to justify his behaviour. Only an idiot would think a hut at a roundabout is not a safety issue. Just like an egress built on the highway reserve and a gas station in Coverley too close to houses–another nonsense.

26. I hope this is the beginning of the end………an end to the madness going on in this country.

I want Maloney to lose on Tuesday and on Wednesday the bulldozers go in and knock down the illegal structure. This will piss him off and he will then start spilling the beans on this reprehensible bunch of morons who have sold Barbados out to three white men at the expense of all Barbadians.

Lord, hear Barbados’ prayer.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy June 10, 2016 at 5:14 PM

Don’t be surprised if the matter ends up right before the other bow-tie nose fella of musical persuasion similar to the Nero that fiddled while Rome was burning.

This response by the TCP and the so-called law enforcement agencies is just a ruse to pacify Bajans and return them back to their state of stasis while somnambulating into dictatorship just like many African nations. Those structures that have been “pushed’ down are just pawns.

Nothing will happen to the Spring Garden imported cement bond.
    When you see the removal of the illegal “island” on your ABC highway which caused the death of an innocent child then you would be getting some where as far as law enforcement and ‘blind’ justice is concerned.

28. Prodigal
    At the beginning of Murray’s stint at VOB I said he was a pussy.The man has no guts,a waste of time.When I heard the statistics guy making his contribution and Murray the idyut that he has become,asked the man what he think about Butch Stewart project and Minister Sealy statement I said eff off Murray and turned off my radio.When I turned back on,coming up the news time he was entertaining that DLP fellow Arthur and I turned off again.Murray is a wimp.A jack donkey of Jonny proportions,a waste of time.He is the first person to be attacked in an insurrection.Nobody knows whose opinion he represents..Bloody wimp.

29. Somebody should tell Glyne Murray that the abrasive Butch got 40 years of tax freeness.Talk about that you fool.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enuff June 10, 2016 at 5:44 PM
    “Maloney is too dismissive of the law and always spouting shyte to justify his behaviour. Only an idiot would think a hut at a roundabout is not a safety issue. Just like an egress built on the highway reserve and a gas station in Coverley too close to houses–another nonsense”

Why blame Maloney alone for this blatant disregard for people’s health and safety? What about the oil company that owns the brand and provides the equipment and supplies the finished products to the petroleum retailing business?

Shouldn’t similar criticism be brought to bear with the intent of naming and shaming the obviously corrupt and overly risk-taking company not only in Bim but across the network of countries in which that corrupt oil company operates?

Maloney could only call for an investigation by the A G into the operations of the TCP if he knows for a fact that both the head of the agency and its operatives were or are still on the take.

This call for an investigation is designed to force the TCP to back-off.
    If only a similar call could be made by the same corrupting crook into the financing of the DLP’s 2013 elections campaign.

31. Exactly, Gabriel.

I heard him trying to throw Statsman off his position. He did not do that to the jackass “A blessed good day”……..a deludional yardfowl who said he went to the Treasury asking them to take back some of his pension to help run the country. He had no shame to cme on BT and said that the Treasury said they do no take donations, they only collect taxes!

Butch Stewart has been given 40 years of freeness so he can do whatever the hell he wants. The other hotliers are to suck salt and if they complain the ac’s will come on and say that they are always begging.

I passed through Maxwell Coast Road yesterday and was surprised that a giant wall has gone up all along the road. I must admit the wall is attractive. During my youth, we had friends in that area and there were many houses along that road so I wonder how he was able to acquire all that land.

I have no problem with Glyne being loyal to OSA but does he not remember what the BLP did for him……….does he not have a loyalty to the party that gave him so many opportunites, after all it was not journalism that gave him the opportunities, it was his association to the party!

32. Based on this submission it seems Sutherland will stay above the fray of the Maloney matter. This is unfortunate given his role thus far as a consultant in the company and then the other to serve the people as an M.P. One cannot serve two masters was not only about serving two MAMs, the role of serving the people as a member of parliament supersedes all other roles. Dwight must decide, the answer is simple, his father knows.

33. Why would anyone believe this contraption is legal (only yardfowls of course)? The law about obscuring the view across a roundabout is clear.

https://www.facebook.com/NationBarbados/videos/10153440469170989/

34. EAT Foundation – Building Capacity for The Creative Arts shared Barbados Today‘s post.

20 mins ·

"The Devil is at work and the Devil gine deal with the people that want the Devil”, Maloney said, stressing he was no villain.

– MR MALONEY we invite you to be a HERO in our unfolding story. No need to play the role of "VICTIM" (your words) or "VILLAIN" (your words)

“I don’t care, they can say I’m a so and so and I’m a this and I’m a all kind of things. It doesn’t matter to me because I know who I am. I know I’m an honest, decent, hard-working person that wants the best for every person in Barbados and this here got to stop, has to stop. But it ain’t gine stop til someone takes drastic action.” (Mark Maloney)

– MR MALONEY we appreciate your protestations that you want the best for every person in Barbados. The Grinch gave Christmas back to the Who’s in Whoville and his heart grew three sizes. Please be the "someone" to take drastic action and use your influence to see EMPIRE returned to the Bajans in Bim and let the wider community get on with it while we celebrate your evolutionary status to HERO.

MR MALONEY…on the way to the EMPIRE…what ROLE will YOU Play?

Barbados Today

6 hrs ·

Out of control! | Barbados Today

Out of control!

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dude thinks he now has enough money to ignore the law and appoint himself victim, say who should be removed from their jobs and determin that he now has the power and status to stop investors from going to Barbados…5 more years and he would have gotten rid of all the idiots in parliament, they are lucky that this is being uncovered now.

Newsflash Maloney……investors are shunning Barbados because of government corruption and corrupting businessmen like you…..so go elsewhere with your practices, go to the US or Canada with your blighted corrupt ways and see how long you last before you are wearing a bright orange jumpsuit.

36. Hear this Maloney.You and your pissy attitude to the majority people most of whom you cannot and will not influence,want to tell you….GET LOST CRY BABY!

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David at 7:36 AM “Why would anyone believe this contraption is legal (only yardfowls of course)? The law about obscuring the view across a roundabout is clear.”

Mr Blogmaster, I am obliged to resort to an earlier remark that we are in a dream and all of this is not real.

From 2011 to 2016 the TCP had to go through a legal process to destroy a structure built on CROWN land, built WITHOUT planning approval and that created an apparent road HAZARD.

And this is our reality!!! Wow!

So itmakes perfect sense for Maloney to press ahead with impunity on that Port site. By the time TCP get their five year destruction approval he would have done enough business to make him happy.

What exactly is going on? Are gov’t agencies so cowed (oops)…so beaten down that businesses can flaunt the law to suit their needs?

Like others I too have wondered about the supposed ‘road hazard’ at Coverly. If it should not be there then the accident victim family should be able to sue the GOVERNMENT as a contributor to the death, I would imagine.

We will wake up soon I also imagine…

38. Mark Maloney needs to man up and admit he has made mistakes. He is doubling down as the Americans would say. That is bad thing especially when you are clearly wrong and public perception is against you. He is taking a leaf out of Trump’s book but he is no Trump and this ain’t no America buddy.
    These idiots always come with the same lines when they are stopped or run into trouble:-
    1. I am the victim
    2. I am being targeted
    3. I employ a lot of people
    4. I make a lot of investments
    5. I am responsible for a lot of foreign direct investments coming into Barbados
    6. I want you to focus on other people and not me i.e. The Chief Town Planner
    7. I know all the problems Barbados has
    8. I can help you fix them if you would jut let me get on with my business

39. Maybe the time has come for The PM to beg baloney to “cool it “.

A previous PM begged COW to “cool it” too.

I have inserted a link to the video so wunna can’t say I tellin lies pun COW. You can fast forward to 5.16.

40. Mark Maloney(MM) made some comments in Barbados Today that are rather enlightening. From his comments, it appears that he sees himself as the alpha male and above the laws of Barbados. He threatens the island that he will take his marbles and ‘crony’ investors elsewhere if he is not allowed to do as he pleases. His interests must be placed above national interests. Many of his statements seem to be a command or instructions to persons in charge.

Some comments from his rants, and my interpretation are provided below.

MM: “He has been in that office too long. He is too powerful and he needs to be removed from that office,”
    Translation: This man is no longer useful to me. He is in my way and needs to be removed.

MM: ‘I don’t care if I don’t ever do any more development in this country, it doesn’t matter to me. I can leave Barbados and go somewhere else.
    Translation: It looks as if my run is coming to an end; but I have made enough to support me. You all can KMA and I can as go elsewhere.

MM: “The Devil is at work and the Devil gine deal with the people that want the Devil”,
    Translation: A possible threat or a warning.

MM: But it ain’t gine stop til someone takes drastic action.”
    Trans: A next possible threat or a warning. It could also be a command to a political lackey on his/her need to intervene in MMf’s avor.

MM: “when investors don’t come here because I speak up, then Barbadians would suffer
    Trans: If I open my mouth and start exposing these deals have a shelf-life then other ‘investors’ will not come here. A little noise from BU and a few blowhards and the leaders will abandon their deals. What investor wants that?

41. WW&C
    Your 10:32 post… nailed it.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel June 11, 2016 at 12:15 PM

Is that the same baloney –speaking man from Malone who arrogantly implied ‘he doesn’t need Barbados; Barbados needs him’?

The man is too full of his pompous self. The jumped-up half-breed redneck claims he can go anywhere other than Barbados to live. And where would he go? To Australia the former colony for criminals from the Mother country or to Ireland where his 50 % stock of poor white family originated?

But the man has every ‘moral right’ to behave the way he is behaving. When you have a Leader who has publicly stated his undying backing of a fraudster called Greenverbs Parris in breaking the laws of the land with impunity why shouldn’t another DLP financial backer not look on in glee and say: ‘Well, if Greenverbs can do as he likes and is seemingly above the Law, so why can’t the man who sponsored all the DLP dogs in the last election race’? They are all equal under the principle of one hard as rock law for the ordinary black Bajan but clearly another for any one who financially backs the DLP, aren’t they?

The ‘hard-as-rock’ businessman has a lot of skin in the game and doesn’t intend to let any two-bit primus into parris or groveling corrupt bureaucrat stop him from getting back his investment and much more.

43. @Hants

Not the PM, Bjerkham pulls the strings.

44. wondering if i should edit and repost

45. @ David,

Did you hear wha COW say in de video ? Are you sayin dat jerkum have mo influence dan de PM ?

46. @Hantsie

Yes, he who pays the Piper plays the tune.

On Sat, Jun 11, 2016 at 5:12 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

47. Only an ass can think he can build a structure in the middle of a highway and believe that that unlawful act would not serve as an example for the majority people to do likewIse.

48. @Gabriel

The Emperor has new clothes!