Pauline Benjamin - Principal, Springer Memorial Secondary School
Pauline Benjamin – Principal, Springer Memorial Secondary School

BU will not write too much about this except to beg for urgent divine intervention. As adults we are morally and legally bound to be caretakers of our children. What has transpired so far at Springer Memorial School involving a minor and a student is an indictment on all of us. All of us.

The emotional scaring that continues to accrue to this child begs for an immediate intervention from someone, any bloody one. Are we a society? Are we focussed only on the economy? What say you Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart? You boasted how you had to intervene to resolve the Alexandra issue. Do something! Rescue your minister Ronald Jones, AGAIN.ย  We await the management style you will select to resolve this issue. You are the prime minister you know.

Police respond to incident involving Springer student

Added 08 February 2016

elecia-weekes-and-daughter

Elecia Weekes (centre) embracing her daughter outside the school gates. At left is Shelly Ross. (Picture by Xtra Vision Photography.)

POLICE WERE CALLED in at the Springer Memorial Secondary School this morning when the saga surrounding the 14-year-old schoolgirl took another turn.

Related articles

The child and her mother, Elecia Weekes, have been involved in a disciplinary row with the principal, which has resulted in her being out of the classroom for almost eight weeks.

Weekes called the police after she said her daughter was escorted to the gates by principal Pauline Bellamy and asked to take off her uniform. She has refused a transfer to Ellerslie Secondary and was told by Bellamy last week that the child is no longer on the roll at Springer and would be trespassing if she returned.

Police from District โ€œAโ€ responded and advised the family, which is being supported by childrenโ€™s rights advocate Shelly Ross, to take the matter to the Ministry of Education. They are now awaiting word on when they will be able to meet with chief education officer Karen Best. (YB)

– See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/77607/police-respond-incident-involving-springer-student#sthash.L1FwfmNO.dpuf

547 responses to “Springer Memorial School Wrapper Update: The Education System Enters Its Darkest Hour”

1. @ Artaxerxes,

Yes….. except we have to keep we brassbowlery to we self an pretend to be competent and intelligent. lol

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon February 10, 2016 at 9:06 PM
    โ€œSo once the man has finished flashing his good looks and his huge cock the designer baby will will require 20 years of HARD WORK FROM HIM and from the mother to bring it successfully to adulthood.โ€

Aren’t you being a bit too S S (simplistic and superficial) in your response?

What about women who go to the sperm bank looking for the ideal procreator and carrier of the โ€˜rightโ€™ XY chromosome instead of a real stick-around daddy to the child she longs for to make her feel complete as a woman?
    What about women in lesbian relationships of true love but want a child without a man’s participation in its development?

How often do you see men being loyal customers of sperm banks unless it is to make a deposit?

Barbados is known to be a matrifocal-structured society. Is that the reason for your concern about the level of social deviance (in your estimation)? Instead of blaming men who cannot think with two heads at the same time why not advise the women to keep their Venus butterfly trap shut until the men put a ring on their fingers and a roof over their heads?

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I want to see the school policy at Springer that says a child must pick up other people’s garbage and if she refuses must be punished…I want to see that same policy that also applies to any other school on the island.

Not one of you have the guts to picket any of the government offices and make the corrupt ministers clean up the garbage on the island and you pay them a salary to put systems in place so you can have an effect garbage collection service., not one of you have the guts to stage any sit in to stop them from colluding with criminals and wasting your tax dollars….how dare you try to bully a child and her mother when you are too damn coward to stand up for your own rights.

A 14 year old girl has more courage than you, she stood up for her rights….going forward the ministry and Ronald “crack head” Jones will regret their stance.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Miller & Art…we got to witness what this child and her mother had to experience to get a meeting with Jones or any ministry officials.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/77722/mum-meeting-jones

We got to witness first hand the pent up and built in decades old frustrations of some on here who are afraid to stand up for their rights and directed all their years of frustrations, fear and hatred at a 14 year old and her mother, who have the courage to make a stand for something….as has been the norm in Barbados for way too long, anger is always directed at those who speak out or buck the nastiness so ingrained and embedded in the society.

Some people don’t even realize that the attidude has become a social problem. …they go to their graves not realizing that the problem lies within them……they are weak and can stand for nothing, but can always find the strength to attack what is right….it is now systematic.

5. much more important
    WEST INDIES UNDER 19 NED 32 RUNS FROM 50 BALLS TO GET INTO TH FINAL OF THE UNDER 19 CRICKET WORLD CUP

6. @ curious
    Caswell said that bushie defamed him.
    Well he defamed Mrs Benjamin…..
    Caswell is a bright fella… you don’t need to spoon feed him…

No doubt he would have realised, by his own reaction to Bushie’s slander, what the impact of his uncalled-for defamation of the principal must represent…. These things are best understood when one is forced to wear the other person’s shoe…

Caswell should understand that while it is OK to carry a big whacker, one must be careful to avoid killing the damn fruit trees and productive vines….

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Wait…Bushman, you and Caswell had a difference of opinion, so who will head BUP now…lol

8. Once again Miller is educating GPS in reality sexuality.Let GPS learn from a well read observer of practical living and not what was/is spoon fed by the likes of GP and Zoe.
    The mighty oak was once a nut.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Where in any comment did I defame Mrs. Benjamin?

You were not forcing me to wear any person’s shoes. You were just being nasty and a liar to boot. You know the truth but you thought it best to disparage and defame me in order to dilute my credibility to advance your stupid position.

You are no better than Lowe, address the issues not the person, but if you have to address the person be truthful. To my mind, you qualify to run for either of the two political parties. You are no better than them.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

As I said in my previous posts, I see no problem with students being asked to clean their immediate surroundings as a group effort. I understand from a student, because I called and asked, that this is done and is now part a community service program by the schools, such as visiting children’s homes, senior citizens homes and QEH….no problem there either, however I understand that the kids who do these tasks have been finding used condoms in the garbage they collect….how many of you spineless cowards condoning the bullying of a 14 year old child want your children and grandchildren picking up some nasty person’s used condoms, you are free to say “me” I wont hold it against you.

As I know it the schools have cleaning staff and this should be delegated to the cleaners.

In addition, it’s quite obvious the teachers, yearhead and principal needs to do a better job of delegating monitors and prefects to eating areas at break time and lunch time to get the student/culprits who litter, make them clean up after themselves and parade them around the school as punishment, just as they saw it fit to parade this child in punishment for someone else’s nastiness. Make it compulsory that they are the ones responsible for cleaning up after themselves and not someone else.

Because there are cleaning staff at the schools does not mean nasty students should be allowed to turn every area into a pigsty for someone else to clean……some years ago I had cause to visit a couple schools and saw the filth left in class rooms and surrounding areas at the end of the day.

It’s obvious they are doing this according to how they see their environments being disrespected by their leaders.. and their dirty behaviors ignored by the principals, because it can always be blamed on someone else..

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

This is what is destructive to the health and wellbeing of all children in every school, I bet not one spineless coward on here saw nothing wrong with it or protested against it….it’s called subliminal messaging by restaurants that want people to enrich them by buying their garbage and ingesting it which would = obesity in students from too young an age..

Stop hostile child marketing โ€“ researcher
    Added by George Alleyne on February 11, 2016.
    Saved under Local News
    UWI health researcher Dr Alafia Samuels has slammed Government for allowing advertising messages into the classroom by way of branded teaching and learning equipment.

The Director of the Chronic Disease Research Centre, at Cave Hill is against branded primary school workbooks, blackboards and other promotional material.

Samuels, also a senior lecturer in Public Health and Epidemiology levelled the strong criticism during a Ministry of Health-organised town hall meeting at Queens College where members of the public were invited to share opinions on how to finance Barbadosโ€™ health care.

Last nightโ€™s meeting was the second of three planned, and Samuels was part of a discussion-leading panel that also included President of the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners Dr Carlos Chase, NIS Director Ian Carrington, QEH staff nurse and Barbados Nursing Association representative Bernard Beckles, Chief Health Planner Samuel Deane and Hope Foundation President Shelly Weir.

During the session chaired by Director of Planning in the Ministry of Health Danny Gill there was general agreement among panellists and contributors in the audience that obesity, which leads to health problems, placed an added cost on the health care system.

Addressing the issue of childhood obesity here, Dr Samuels said: โ€œWe have a situation in Barbados where Chefette is providing book covers and blackboards to primary schools and the children look at the word Chefette all day. They look at their book covers and they see the hamburger . . . all dayโ€

Describing the fast food companyโ€™s school supplies as โ€œshort term benefitsโ€, she said Barbados needed to decide whether such gains were needed.

โ€œThere are some policy issues that we need. And there are international agreements around marketing of foods to children. So we are not going to be unusual in terms of trying stop hostile marketing to children,โ€ Samuels said.

She also emphasized the importance of teaching children healthy eating habits, while warning that fat children often became fat adults and contracted a number of the non-communicable illnesses now prevalent in Barbados.

โ€œChronic non-communicable diseases are really a large burden on the society. Eight out of ten deaths in Barbados are from chronic non-communicable diseases. The bigger problem is we have a high proportion of these deaths occurring prematurely.

โ€œIn the Caribbean we have the highest number of premature deaths in the region of the Americas, higher than North America, South America, Central America. We are the leaders, โ€œshe said, while stressing the importance for society and individuals to play their roles in combating the problem.

โ€œIt is not just a question of individual strength, or willpower, we have to create environments that make the right choice, the easy choice,โ€ she said.

Samuels also rattled off a number of distressing statistics on risk factors for Barbadians 25 years or older, taken from the Ministry of Health-commissioned Health of the Nation Study, carried out by her Chronic Disease Centre:

She reported that one out of four men in Barbados binge drink.

โ€œThat means five or more drinks on any one occasion,โ€ she explained.

Samuel also said one out of every five women is obese, adding to the dilemma of Caribbean women who have 60 per cent more risk of diabetes than men.

โ€œIn Barbados one out of five adults has diabetes. One out of five cases of diabetes is not diagnosed. Half of the people above the age of 65 have diabetes,โ€ Samuel said.

She also said there was a problem of men accessing the health service, โ€œso four out of ten men who have high blood pressure donโ€™t know they have high blood pressure. They have not been to the doctor or the nurse to check their blood pressure. Of the men who have high blood pressure, half are on treatment. So even some of those who know they have it donโ€™t bother to take the treatment. And only 30 per cent of men are [blood pressure] controlled. So in every hundred men in Barbados that have high blood pressure, only 30 per cent of them are controlled. On the women side it is 44 per cent.โ€

She said a frightening revelation of the study was that Barbadians were getting fatter at an earlier age.

โ€œBack in the day in your 20s you were slim and by your 40s you start to look a little [fat] and by 60s, you have on a little something [fat].

โ€œThe issue now is that the girls in their 20s already have on a little something. They not waiting to age 60, they have all their fat in their 20s.

โ€œSo when they become 40 and 60 weโ€™re going to have some really serious issues because as you age, you are going to continue to put on weight. Itโ€™s one of the unfortunate realities of life, for most of us. So if you start in your 20s already obese, itโ€™s not a good thing.โ€

Dr Samuels said this points to massive rises in future health care costs.

โ€œWe really are going to be looking at increasing demand for health services . . . we are driving an obesity epidemic.โ€ (GA)

12. LOL @ Caswell
    For someone whose role in life seems to be to casting aspersions on others – particularly high profile members of society, you appear to be particularly touchy about getting some tossed in your direction…
    Interesting…
    Nothing wrong with doing unto others …provided that you accept when it is done unto you.

Where did Bushie ever claim to be ‘better than’ Lowe or Froon or anyone else…?
    Bushie makes two claims…
    … to be one of BBE’s boys
    …and to be rich…
    The second is simply a consequence of the first.., and neither has any implications about any ‘goodness’ on Bushie’s part…. just blessings.

Where did you defame the Principal…?
    If someone else is posting under your name you should seek assistance from David (BU).
    …cause someone was on here about her ‘morphing into a monster’; breaking basic rules like not referring matters to her Board; and generally not having the interest of her school at heart…

Bushie recall that one of your ‘admirers’ tossed that accusation about Canada here on BU some time ago and noted your reaction back then too…
    …It may be worth some deeper bush research…. ๐Ÿ™‚

13. In total agreement with banning all forms of advertising in schools period.Its a bloody disgrace that parents do not see thru this Chefette and KFC gimmick of hosting kids parties and play parks.Successive governments have turned a blind eye to the expansion of Chefette and the unhealthy diet it is allowed to sell without any warnings on their premises or on their packaging material of the dangers of eating food prepared in oil.The bottom line is that like years ago there was a ‘honda’ ward at the QEH soon there will be a ward dedicated to these chicken fast food addicts and the taxpayer will be required to pay for it.Chefette,KFC,Chicken Barn and such like fast food outlets should be made to contribute part of their profit repeat profit,to the costs of hospital care for affected patients and PTA’s should get involved in banning all forms of advertising on school premises or school effects.Years ago,before Chefette took over the fast food market,KFC was reported as selling the most chicken in Barbados per capita,worldwide.

14. Well said Gabriel.

15. Bushie

I don’t mind people attacking me, I expect it. However, I have great difficulty with people who tell deliberate lies on me in the full knowledge that they are telling damn lies.

You ought to be ashamed if you have any.

By the way, morphing into a monster is not defamation; it is an observation.

16. Bush Tea February 11, 2016 at 12:23 PM #

Chuckle …..interesting points about you being made…..SS says you went to HC and CF calls you a liar….the most interesting one was your statement of being rich,since you eschew material wealth could you tell us what BBE has endowed you with.

17. @Bush Tea February 11, 2016 at 12:23 PM “Bushie makes two claimsโ€ฆ
    โ€ฆ to be one of BBEโ€™s boys, โ€ฆand to be rich.”

@Vincent Haynes February 11, 2016 at 12:49 PM “your statement of being rich”

Don’t mind Bushie man. He means rich in spiritual blessings, not in modern bling.

i am sure that Bushie is living from pay cheque to pay cheque or from pension cheque to pension cheque just like the rest ‘o we.

Only thing is he has learned the secret of happiness…to love and serve his Creator.

18. @millertheanunnaki February 11, 2016 at 12:11 AM “I said nothing abut social deviance. I said that every CHILD deserves to be nurtured by both of its parents.

@Gabriel February 11, 2016 at 8:03 AM “Once again Miller is educating GPS in reality sexuality”

I am not sure what led you to believe that i was talking about sexuality. I was talking about nurturing CHILDREN.

But since you and miller etc. are not highly evolved, and still behave like a 2 year old who has just discovered his willie we cannot even have a conversation.

Goodbye.

19. Prodigal Son February 8, 2016 at 7:57 PM #
    The principal โ€˜s children were educated at Queens College. Does anyone believe that any principal would have dared to treat her children like she has this child?
    Georgie Porgie February 10, 2016 at 3:12 PM #
    When I went to school, when a student was asked to do a simple task such as picking up a sweetie wrapper there would be immediate compliance. There would therefor not been any need for any punishment at all
    I cant imagine a boy at the HC in my day telling a teacher that their parent had not sent them to school to pick up peopleโ€™s garbage.

This event probably took place before GP’s time at HC. Mrs. Cobham, a member of the teaching staff,(usually referred to as the “Bismarck” because of her height and size) had two sons who were students at the time. The younger of two, as a punishment for some indiscretion was required to write 50 lines of ” I must not —-” and present them to the House Master at morning prayers. The House was Collymore and the legendary Fanny Fields was in charge of prayers that morning. What follows next is almost verbatim.

Mr. Fields: Cobham, whey de lines?
    Cobham : Please Sir, my mother told me not to write any lines.
    Mr Fields: What?
    Cobham: My mother told me not to write any lines.
    Mr. Fields: Kerry fuh you. Kerry fuh you.

Whereupon poor Cobham was taken directly to Mr. Kerry, the much feared Deputy Head, where his ass cut just a few feet away from where his mother sat at her desk in the masters’ retreat. What did she do? Nothing. So Prodigal don’t talk shite. Hants, like you Cobham was very light in complexion so if it had been you your ass would have been cut as well.

20. Some time ago my little johnnie who was a prefect of a form captain or some such had reason to discipline the kid of a member of the (not licks because prefects and form captains can’t share licks). I said jestingly to little johnnie at the time “what if at some time you have to come before the judicial officer? Little johhnie replied “I did what I had to do and then the judicial officer should do whatever a judicial officer has to do.”

The child has turned out well. A credit to the parents.

Some time later I met the judicial officer and related the story.

The judicial officer asked me to convey thanks to little johnnie for keeping the child in order.

The brains of teen children are not yet fully developed, and children even very bright children have little LIFE EXPERIENCE on which to base good decisions.

It is our duty to love them, guide them, teach them, and discipline them.

When we fail to do our duty, the society fails.

21. I remember 3 floggings from Tank. And I was not a bad boy.
    Still trying to figure out what the hell that was..

22. Simon
    This mother has no respect for authority. The student has a father who it seems tried to resolved the matter but as with all Barbadian men who do not live with their children the mothers turn them against the fathers and they have no influence,

The Nation has lost a person who buys a nation every day of the week. I will never buy another nation paper. They wrote a story that was set up by the mother and Shelly Ross. The mother called the police to a school which was functioning normally and say that there is this bashment going on where the student was marched to the gate by Miss Bellamy and told take off her clothes. It seems the trick to get away from being sued was to say Miss Pauline Bellamy when she is Benjamin. That scenario never happened.

I am retired now and know how that woman behaved when her daughter was in Second and Third form about short uniforms, wrong earrings and the child having a cell phone. There was even a case where she would not bring to school material to do needlework for a whole school year because her mother would not give her any, because she did not send her to school to be a needle worker.

All the sympathy from the bajan public came through careful manipulation of the media by the mother. The only Human Right issue here is the bullying of a child by a mother
    It was never about GARBAGE. The mother should be charged for Child Abuse.

23. We await the outcome of the meeting between the mother and MOE.

24. Yeap agree a well planned manipulation of the media and public. Take note of her recent mouthings to garnish sympathy of her poor plight next to follow would be soft hearts sending her funds .This woman is unbelivable and smart enough to make a fortune

25. She maybe smart but seems to have a mental problem. I am searching for a word to describe a parent who instructs her children not to follow any instructions that are given to them by persons in authority unless she say to.

26. It is a pity that active civil servants cannot speak to the media on issues that are controversial because this parent would have been exposed big time. Trust me. The public had a good time maligning the Principal and the teachers at a good school. That was unfortunate. You know what, they are accustom to fighting against the odds and they will overcome this just like all of the negative issues of the past..

27. @ Anon who wrote ” Mr. Fields: Cobham, whey de lines?

Cobham : Please Sir, my mother told me not to write any lines.

Mr Fields: What?

Cobham: My mother told me not to write any lines.”

It is obvious to me that Fanny believed Cobham was telling lies.

28. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Curious;

Thanks for that post that brings some balance to one-sided narrative we have been getting from the reporters.

29. @curious

Where was it stated the parent instructed the daughter not to follow ‘any’ instruction?

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Anon February 11, 2016 at 2:28 PM
    โ€œWhereupon poor Cobham was taken directly to Mr. Kerry, the much feared Deputy Head, where his ass cut just a few feet away from where his mother sat at her desk in the mastersโ€™ retreat. What did she do? Nothing. So Prodigal donโ€™t talk shite. Hants, like you Cobham was very light in complexion so if it had been you your ass would have been cut as well.โ€

Don’t be a 1960’s version of a jackass slave driver. It is precisely because of such extreme abuse of both the children and teachers’ authority that laws were passed to outlaw such savage acts of cruelty to children.

Did those โ€˜cut-assโ€™ forms of child brutality result in better adults or did the same brutalized children go on to become middleclass wife beaters, white-collar criminals, sex molesters in the workplace using their managerial faรงade while aspiring to be โ€˜honourable โ€˜menโ€™ in the highest court of the land?

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac February 11, 2016 at 3:41 PM
    “Yeap agree a well planned manipulation of the media and public. Take note of her recent mouthings to garnish sympathy of her poor plight next to follow would be soft hearts sending her funds .This woman is unbelivable and smart enough to make a fortune”

Sounds like an effective technique similar to the ones Maria Agard has been employing until recently. She, Maria, can no longer ‘sell’ newspapers so she is yesterday’s news; just like both the mother and child will soon be.

32. curious February 11, 2016 at 3:18 PM #
    I BELIEVE ALL THAT YOU HAVE SAID BELOW IS ABSOLUTELY TRUE.
    THANKS FOR REVEALING THE TRUTH

Simon
    This mother has no respect for authority. The student has a father who it seems tried to resolved the matter but as with all Barbadian men who do not live with their children the mothers turn them against the fathers and they have no influence,

I am retired now and know how that woman behaved when her daughter was in Second and Third form about short uniforms, wrong earrings and the child having a cell phone. There was even a case where she would not bring to school material to do needlework for a whole school year because her mother would not give her any, because she did not send her to school to be a needle worker.

All the sympathy from the bajan public came through careful manipulation of the media by the mother. The only Human Right issue here is the bullying of a child by a mother
    It was never about GARBAGE. The mother should be charged for Child Abuse.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP……I am sure that child will be back in school by Monday, whichever one the adults agreed to as they should have one day after the incident and that will be the end of the story, life returning to normal for the child.

AC…..will have to return to being the maligned yardfowl on BU….her 15 minutes are now over..lol

And the spineless cowards will all have to return to whining about corrupt politicians taking bribes, overtaxing them, colluding with criminals, wasting tax dollars….and will still not have the spine to openly protest at government headquarters about any of it, they can only malign women and children……life will also return to normal for them..lol

34. David I see employees of the NUPW went on strike today due to non-payment of agreed salary increases for them. An article on that coming soon?

35. Kevin isn’t that hilarious that the NUPW employees went on strike for non payment of agreed salary??? ROTFLMAO Whatever credibility they had is now through the window. Reminds me of the old saying “when you live in glass houses you can’t throw stones”.

36. Also reminds me of “Do as I say and not as I do”…..

37. Sometimes people are unemployed and unemployable simply because of their lack of respect for authority and discipline. Even those who are self-employed, if they are to be successful, are compelled to exercise self-discipline and must show respect for authority !

38. David
    I am telling you that if you sat down with the Principal and she gave you the story of the mother dating back from second form you would hear the child always repeated my mother told me not to do that. The mother once came to the school and trick the security guard into believing that she called a teacher on her cell phone and she said can I come to you. She was allow to proceed and she went to the wrong form room and curse the wrong teacher because she got the form room numbers mixed up. This is the woman people are believing.

The parent whenever she visited the school would shout and carry on in the Principal’s office and no one can reason with her

39. curious February 11, 2016 at 8:34 PM #
    I BELIEVE YOU
    PLEASE TELL US MORE

40. @ Simple Simon
    Donโ€™t mind Bushie man. He means rich in spiritual blessings, not in modern bling.
    i am sure that Bushie is living from pay cheque to pay cheque or from pension cheque to pension cheque just like the rest โ€˜o we…
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Dream on…
    Pay cheque to pay cheque…??!! LOL ha ha ha

If Bushie was talking about ‘spiritual blessings’ he would not use the term ‘rich’…
    It would be more like ‘over-flowingly wealthy’, or…abundantly overwhelmingly prosperous…. or some such excessive expression…

Nah Simple Simon / Vincent ….
    Bushie talking ‘blenzers’…. ๐Ÿ™‚

Wuh if Bill Gates even adopted a poorboy like Caswell – he would gotta become rich….
    what the hell wunna expect when BBE adopted Bushie…?

If you seek FIRST the kingdom of BBE….then ALL the other shiite bling will be added… more than you can even spend…..

41. @curious

All the more reason the wrapper incident should have been managed better, or avoided. It is always better to know.

42. millertheanunnaki February 11, 2016 at 4:53 PM #
    @ Anon February 11, 2016 at 2:28 PM
    RE
    Did those โ€˜cut-assโ€™ forms of child brutality result in better adults or did the same brutalized children go on to become middleclass wife beaters, white-collar criminals, sex molesters in the workplace using their managerial faรงade while aspiring to be โ€˜honourable โ€˜menโ€™ in the highest court of the land?
    OFF COURSE NOT
    IT IS THE GRAND CHILDREN OF THIS GROUP WHO WERE ALLOWED TO DO AS THEY LIKE WHO ARE LITTERING AND MURDERING IN BARBADOS TODAY……..LITTERRALLY

43. @ Curious
    Bushie has never met this principal, …but one has only to look at Ms Benjamin’s photo on this blog to see a spirit of love, caring and fun. She looks like the kinda person that children naturally gravitate towards… and like someone currently in her DREAM job….

Add this to the FRUITS of her work at that school and it is a slam dunk for Bushie…
    Bushie judges by the FRUIT…. not shiite talk from brass bowls who do not even know how to align their own damn lives -far less give advice to a SUCCESSFUL principal….

…and CERTAINLY not against a known trouble-making loser who seems bent of molding her daughter in the same vein….

@ Miller
    The FACTS point to FAR better citizens having been produced by the ‘Tanks’, ‘Major Noots’, ‘Joe Physics’ and ‘Dame Elsie’s of the past, than by the modern US-influenced child psychology shiite that wunna now promoting bout ‘child rights’ and other shiite theory…

The former graduates actually SHAPED Barbados, actually acquired assets, built a solid reputation and a great society…

Then along came the US-trained (easy degrees) and US-influenced crowd of bowls and bullers….
    …give the children nuff ‘things’…
    …wrap them in sponge – no discipline; no work; no pressure; no pain…
    …Give them ‘human rights’…
    …let them run things – what experience what??!!

…and what have we got?
    Stinkliar!
    Mia
    Peter W…
    You….

..Every shiite being sold off like parros – back to the old white plantation owners…
    ..Growing debt as the spoilt children just want Japanese cars and iphones – no work
    no pain
    no productivity

No damn sense….
    Brass bowls….

44. Bushie
    You are so correct about Mrs Benjamin
    Do you know she sat down that child and counsel her everyday for a whole school year. The counselling occurred every morning before school started that is between 8 – 8.30 am. Is this the person that Caswell spoke about a person who is this monster. She does not shout and she speaks well. She is not intimidating

45. @are-we-there-yet on Feb 10, at 1:44 PM…Actually I didn’t rush to judgement. I may have been critical of the school management team and what has evolved but I have also noted that don’t believe some of what is being said/reported. The circumstances as described simple do not make sense in some cases and its folly to accept that a sensible leader would do some of what has been stated.

The bra issue for example falls into that category of hyperbole of the discipline carried out, in my view.

I agree a close look reveals grave inconsistencies

@ Mr Bushie, surely I can be irrational. Nothing irrational here though.

@SS, not unlike the remarks from others particularly @Curious at 8:34PM you appear to be validating that these actions are retribution for past misdeeds.

What are you suggesting with the remark “…if the child had been instructed multiple previous times not to wear brightly colored bras to school, and what if she insisted on defying the rule”?

Are you saying that then it would be just to have her ‘braless’ at school. As said I cannot conceive that actually happened but to even whisper that any such discipline was rational is absurd.

And if by jurisdictions where I live you mean outside Barbados then let’s be very real and accept that this would NOT happen….in this way This is too nonsensical to project in a rational way.

46. @ curious who wrote “Do you know she sat down that child and counsel her everyday for a whole school year”

Does any of you believe that ?

Every day for a school year ?

47. Yeap a real mild mannered and soft spoken principle. Always willing to listen and engaged compared to that combative disgruntled parent who cannot walk one step in that principle shoes. Funny how the mom could easily hoodwinked a bunch of book smart intellectuals with her brand of street smarts

48. #curious re your February 11, 2016 at 8:34 PM remarks… pray do tell more.

Are you suggesting that the ‘firegalash’ mother and her spawn should be treated with a harsh sentence for this ‘new’ matter of disobedience because of her past misdeeds/personality et al? That word ‘firegalash’ is OLD Bajan. So we can be assured that other parents went into a school back then to paint a principal in back-talk and some a cussing?

Are you suggesting that trained managers are justified in fighting power to power ALWAYS when it comes to the welfare of an ‘own-way’ child? That does not fit your story of a year of counselling…if we accept that as a new narrative to frame this debate then it tells me that the Principle is a very conflicted leader.

After a year of daily counselling you want us to believe that the sledge hammer is then pounded down! So who failed; the counselor or the ‘counselee”?

What smoke and mirrors are you employing here!!!!!!

As David said: “All the more reason the wrapper incident should have been managed better, or avoided.”

Ms. Benjamin has tarnished and upturned her professional decorum, and training by allowing a loud-mouth to usurp her authority and level-leaded approach for managing her school.

This episode -based on the public info available – is not Ms. Benjamin’s finest display of her management skills. She obviously is better that this.

Thus I remain amazed at the folly of it all. Sensible people (at the school and Ministry) acting in very petty way….

49. @curious February 11, 2016 at 3:57 PM “She maybe smart but seems to have a mental problem. I am searching for a word to describe a parent who instructs her children not to follow any instructions that are given to them by persons in authority unless she say to.”

Munchausen syndrome by proxy (MSBP) is a mental health problem in which a caregiver makes up or causes an illness or injury in a person under his or her care, such as a child, an elderly adult, or a person who has a disability. Because vulnerable people are the victims, MSBP is a form of child abuse or elder abuse.

Or folie ร  deux as the French say.

Some people (not me) would say bloody fool.