Revamping Cohobblopot
Submitted by Anthony Davis
A slap in the face of Barbadian artistes and promoters! “That’s the view of many in the entertainment industry following the announcement that Cohobblopot, a staple event on the National Cultural Foundation’s (NCF’s) Crop Over calendar, was being replaced by a private event billed “One Love”, with Trinidadian Machel Montano as the headline act. – Barbados Today 12/06/2015

Cranston Browne – CEO,NCF
Once again we see one of this Government’s quangos showing how “people-centred” this Government and its quangos really are. Can you imagine any other Government or one of its quangos committing such a dastardly act? I don’t see it happening anywhere else in the Caribbean, in Europe or North America. They stick to what is their culture. As long as the people are foreign everything is hunky dory in Barbados. There is no sense whatsoever of home drums beating first. Also, Machel will obviously be paid in US dollars and there goes much needed foreign exchange out of the window.
This “people-centred Government” and its quangos don’t know the word “we” in the sense of putting their fellow Barbadians first. The Government and the unions were up in arms when LIME started out-sourcing parts of its operation, but it can come along and do the same without let or hindrance. No wonder everything is going down hill!
The head of the NCF and the Minister of Culture should hang their heads in shame because they have done a great disservice to the local artistes. I would like to know how many more things Barbadian this “people-centred Government” will sell for thirty pieces of silver.
Up to now the other hotels have not received the same sweetheart deal which was given to Sandals 18 months ago, thereby letting that chain gain all of the advantages over the indigenous and other hotels which have been here for eons. Also, no one is saying why Sandals is allowed to do whatever it likes with its private beach.
What price are you putting on your pride, people of Barbados?

If this is true, I am disappointed in the actions of the government and NCF; because Trinidad or Jamaica would not allow this to happen. However, you are making a broad statement when you say it would not happen in North America. I have lived in North America for more than 47 years and their have been similarities to other entities replacing cultural events. I did not expect it to happen.
But may I remind you that the Barbados National Bank was a cultural entity; and Barbadians allowed the BLP with Owen Arthur as the Prime Minister and Mia Mottley as the Deputy Prime Minister to sell it to the Republic Bank of Trinidad. I certainly did not see the same outcry, as now. It seems to be that Barbadians at all levels have forgotten their Motto is Pride and Industry; which means that Barbadians should be working together to maintain not only their culture; but their heritage. If government put tenders out, and Barbadians refused to invest in their country, then others will come and take what they say they value from them. There are Barbadians, including those of African Descent who have their money in bank accounts and refuses to invest in any type of endeavour.
In my opinion, it seem that no matter what the current government do, they cannot get a break.
Therefore, tell Barbadians to reclaim their heritage and build their country, if they do not wish others to take it from them. Your outcry should be about the oil exploration, which could destroy our marine life and beaches; if they are successful and will bring more harm to the Barbados shorelines. Not a festival.
LikeLike
@bajcan June 24, 2015 at 8:51 AM
“In my opinion, it seem that no matter what the current government do, they cannot get a break.”
Did you mean to say?
In my opinion, it seem that no matter what the current government do, they cannot get it right
LikeLike
If a country has a strong culture experimenting is tolerated. With the decision to bring in Machel is is all about promoting a show to get dollars, nothing to do with culture.
LikeLike
The “politics” may be wrong but we should remember that Bajan artistes perform at Trinidad carnival every year.
LikeLike
Steupsss….
So if the Trinidadian sponsors say to bring a trini what the hell can the mendicant house-nigga politicians or NCF do…?
Wuh they don’t bring foreigners for all the big jobs?
If wunna sell of every shiite to the outsiders so that wunna can enjoy bling how then can we expect to tell them what to do with their money and assets?
…mean wunna did not anticipate this when Arthur and Miller (the nootsie) were encouraging wunna to sell stuff to get some pieces of silver…?
We made our bed, now we must lie….
They will soon introduce Diwali ….and done wid the crapover shiite….
LikeLike
Bush Tea June 24, 2015 at 11:45 AM #
“They will soon introduce Diwali ….and done wid the crapover shiite….”
Soon get there, Halloween picking up steam with St. Patrick’s day close behind.Same ministry it seems pushing for another statue for Sir Garfield Sobers and cant even muster one for Obadele Thompson.This place taking a joke too far.
LikeLike
@Bush Tea June 24, 2015 at 11:45 AM
Bushie this nootsie is a clairvoyant and was just advising the government to sell while the market was good enough to demand a good price for the sale of many State-owned assets. Now look and see that the next move (as mandated by the IMF and other foreign lending agencies) the government will be forced to make is one of selling the same family silver at brass-bowl prices. What is happening with the BTNCL? Who will buy the BNOC with its heavy fuel oil now that the WTE and Sugar cane Factory could be supplying hundreds of thousands of megawatts of ‘clean’ electricity to the national grid? LOL!!
The nukerts Miller never recommended the sale of assets to foreigners before Bajans (white, Indian or black). The same way the brass bowls who sold their shares in BL&P and now buying junk bonds as encouraged by the mad Professor Worrell in the Faculty of Ossie Moore Economics why not buy shares in commercial enterprises currently owned and managed totally inefficiently and ineffectively by the corrupt politicians and their lackeys called Boards.
What’s so wrong in Bajans buying shares in the Bridgetown Port or GAIA instead of junk paper that in 5 years cannot even wipe the shitty bottom of poor Paddy O’ Riley?
Can’t the proceeds of the sale of these assets be used to reduce the national debt which is currently like a millstone around the fiscal neck of taxpayers. Is this stupid government going to take on board the advice from Seymour Arthur or continue to disregard it like that mad ass doctor boobie of economics Ossie Moore Worrell who seeks to compare the national debt of puny Barbados with junk bond status and a Mickey mouse currency with that of export-oriented Japan.
The only way black Bajans can become socially and politically empowered is through economic enfranchisement instead of being hewers of economic wood and drawers of dirty political water every 5 years or so.
BTW, Bush man, now that King Sugar is dead what will next year festival be called? Island girl has already taken out a patent on “Crap over” . What about the “Bajan Festival for Brass Bowls”?
LikeLike
Caribana was changed to The Scotiabank Toronto Caribbean Carnival.
It has gotten bigger and better.
Crop over can become the ( sponsor’s name) Barbados Carnival.
Once a year Bajans deserve to drown their sorrows in wuk up an booze. BAFBFP will agree with me.
LikeLike
@ bajcan June 24, 2015 at 8:51 AM #
If this is true, I am disappointed in the actions of the government and NCF; because Trinidad or Jamaica would not allow this to happen. However, you are making a broad statement when you say it would not happen in North America. I have lived in North America for more than 47 years and their have been similarities to other entities replacing cultural events. I did not expect it to happen.
But may I remind you that the Barbados National Bank was a cultural entity; and Barbadians allowed the BLP with Owen Arthur as the Prime Minister and Mia Mottley as the Deputy Prime Minister to sell it to the Republic Bank of Trinidad. I certainly did not see the same outcry, as now…………………………………….
From your moniker, I gather that you are a Bajan living in Canada …………… so since you do not live here, you need to get your facts right.
Yes, OSA sold 51% of the shares in BNB to Republic Bank. The shares were put on the market and Bajans refused to buy them……..discouraged by the dead king.
The DLP came to power, the dead king declared he was going to buy back the shares, the bank’s response was that you can only buy something if it is for sale. After this slap down of the dead king, all went quiet. Then the bank offered to buy out the rest of the shares at a premium, the DLP government turned them down.
When things got real bad for the Stinkliar, he went cap in hand to Republic Bank and they “juck” out his eyes………this man Stinkliar was so cash strapped that HE (the DLP) government sold the rest of the shares OSA held on to at a lesser value than what the bank had previously offered.
May I remind you that had the DLP government not sold the 49% of the shares, there would still be a BNB!
LikeLike
If Cohoblopot is replaced by Machelle Montano and the strangely named One Love concert this is an outcome that must be condemned. Montano and the organizers should incorporate their program into the iconic Crop Over Cohoblopot. You don’t throw away a historic extravaganza that easily. It took decades to build the Crop Over , Cohoblopot brand the Minister should know better than to fritter away such a legacy. Montana has a following and may entice Trinidadians to Crop Over which is good but his performance should not come at the demise of Cohoblopot. We want to believe there is an error or a temporary lapse as it relates to no Cohoblopot this year. If there is not a Pot it must be reinstated promptly next year. Montano and his backers are not worth the history, legacy and unique Bajan cultural expression that is Cohoblopot. Your move Mr. Minister.
LikeLike
Miller says “The only way black Bajans can become socially and politically empowered is through economic enfranchisement.”
No truer statement and the same goes for the African American who seem to think that social-justice will bring him economic empowerment.
LikeLike
Some of you really need to get to off those high horses and pull your all head out your asses. Cohoblopot died a few years ago. The reality is that it died with a generation. After a season of seeing the local acts it was hard to get sponsors and partiers to go to Cohoblopot. I personal believe the One Love event will fail. They have been having a hard time get the 100K+ in cash and products sponsorship they are asking for. On top of that I believe persons will be gearing up for the Monday and will not have time with the show.
As it relates to the NCF and government, blame them for a lot but I believe their backs are to the wall with this one. They can’t produce Cohoblopot because they know the challenges with sponsorship and getting persons in the place.
Why do you think Parris’ wife drop Cohoblopot? remember they produced the event for a few years? All the shite talk about culture, the reality is no sponsor ain’t spending money unless they can see a return.
LikeLike
Cohoblopot is a brand associated with Crop Over and should not be confused with the acts recruited to perform.
LikeLike
You could call it what you want and think what it should not be but the fact is, it is not supported.
LikeLike