476 thoughts on “CLICO Final Forensic Report UNSEALED”
@ Artax
b. Identifying the circumstances surrounding the failure of the company and hold those individuals responsible for the failure, due to mismanagement or misconduct, accountable for their actions.
…see now why you are a man after Bushie’s own heart…?
Such a responsibility CANNOT be avoided when one considers the circumstances under which a JM is appointed. It is a difficult (and thus high-paying) job…..
Wunna have this way of accepting mediocrity from those with whom wunna find favour, …but Bushmen don’t play such shiite games….. have whacker will whack…
Of course the JM has done a good job in documenting and reporting WHAT WE ALL KNEW ALREADY any damn how….
He is to be commended.
BUT it is ALSO his responsibility to initiate actions to hold those responsible for doing the shiite in the first place…RESPONSIBLE.
On what basis does he get a pass in that regard?
So in answer to the question “How come after such evidence (evedience?) we see NO ACTION in this obvious case of high level fraud, Bushie seeks to understand the basis on which such action should have been initiated UNDER THE LAW.
On another point Artaxerxes
To what extent is a JM bound by questionable contracts that were entered into BEFORE he was appointed to act? Is it not the case with Administrators in the UK that there is NO SUCH constraint that binds a JM as in some other jurisdictions?
Why should a company placed under JM be bound by a shiite contract that pays $10M to the thieving idiot that robbed and ruined the company in the first place?
What is to stop the pack of (still at liberty) rats from ‘creating more back-dated “contracts” which legitimizes their crimes?
@ Dee Igrunt Word
Hush do!!
Not so fast!
The Forensic Report and other information confirmed many decisions taken by Parris, Thornhill et al did not reach the Board.
Come on David … this is Bushie not Dompey….
So what are you saying? … that these Board members were a bunch of female rabbits of the AC kind?
These were children? Did they have eyes..?
Could they read?
Did they ask questions and analyze the answers?
Shiite man …. we are talking about the Crème de la crème of local intelligentsia, who were sumptuously rewarded with first class travel, perks, cheap real estate etc ….and you are saying that “cuh dear – dey didn’t know….?!?!”
listen the recent revelations of removed and now presented signatures as proof to a debt owe says a lot about that fake invoice as to what limited knoweldge the instigator of the invoice had in providing an invoice that would eliminate the original one or more signatures of the contract ,
here we are speaking of a bogus document which according to some here was perpetuated by the clients attorney, having erroneous missteps with similarities to that of a dumb robber ,
in my mind there is a smoldering fire which begs the question as to why DT as a highly skilled lawyer would recklessly overlooked such documentation making himself looked like a culprit ,the recklessness of the crime does not make sense and how it was carried out and not goes to the intellect of a highly skilled lawyering but to a backward and backdoor approach to one who does not have a moral or ethical persuasion to self or client making one to believe that a crime within a crime to “frame” is at the root of this document.
Curious as to why it matters who AC is. It seems as if we want to bully or to we want silence him. I find the site to be interesting and like the back and forth volleying. If everyone is saying the same thing, boredom will abound. One hand cannot clap by itself.
Bush Tea March 15, 2015 at 9:57 AM #
“Of course the JM has done a good job in documenting and reporting WHAT WE ALL KNEW ALREADY any damn how….
He is to be commended.
BUT it is ALSO his responsibility to initiate actions to hold those responsible for doing the shiite in the first place…RESPONSIBLE.
On what basis does he get a pass in that regard?”
Bush Tea,
One might rationalize that, given the fact that an insurance company is involved in this case, the state agency granted the powers to commence action would be the Financial Services Commission (FSC).
The evidence needed has been documented in the report.
Under the “Restrictions on Use” section of the report, the reader is informed that the Judicial Manager (JM) will provide the FSC with a copy of the report. Is this the JM’s way of handing over the baton?
We all know now, that after receiving a copy of the report, the FSC moved with indecent haste to have the contents of the report blocked from public view.
A few questions now scream out for attention:
After receiving the report, why did the FSC not initiate action against the wrongdoers?
Given the fact that fraud was committed, the banking system was used to launder money from CLICO, and the revenue laws of the country were assaulted by a fraudulent invoice manufactured by PM David Thompson , why wasn’t an official copy of the report also sent to the Commisioner of BRA, the Central Bank, and the Commissioner of Police so that they could initiate action using their respective powers? In any event, do these agencies have to wait until they receive an official copy of the report before they act? Or is the fact that the report has been unsealed and made available to the public enough for everybody to act?
@David at 10:07 AM…How is it acceptable …confirm to the forensic auditor is was an acceptable transaction. Is it possible for an invoice to be fake if we apply 101 accounting practice?===============
David, we are in agreement on the chapter and verse of this perfidy. I have no issues with your assertions. I also agree with your earlier remark that we do NOT ‘have a culture in Barbados of pursuing prominent Barbadians and companies’.
That culture is well nigh impossible to initiate and foster due to the incestuous nature of our political and corporate elites.
My only thrust here is to clear the fog re the JM’s role re criminality.
You also realize that the JM was VERY aware of that perception of ‘inbreeding’ and very purposely used the forensic services of their Canadian office.
We can surmise that action had less to do with a lack of competent investigators in Barbados and more to do with an arms’ length separation of locals investigating locals.
Surely still some errors or mistakes were made and the lawyers will push and probe to show all of them as material and significant in order to invalidate the report.
Until then. let’s take the report for what it says. To date it’s the irrefutable gospel on CLICO.
If evidence comes out to debunk the report’s findings then we deal with that then.
Otherwise these crooks are sued civilly to recover the ill-gotten gains and we hope that someone can find an international law which has been broken so that they can be tried criminally in US, Canada or Britain.
Because they surely will never be tried criminally in Barbados!
Where is the trained and expert accountant who approved that $3.3M and who is quoted in the report as : He believed that the creation, approval and submission for payment of a false invoice … and to conceal its true nature was an acceptable transaction.”
Is he not employed by Mr. Stuart’s gov’t as the guru of gurus for local investment in start-ups and related financial business dealings?
Of course, I would love to be wrong about criminal pursuit here, but that sounds a little remote to me.
But the fact that the FSC (who may well have been complicit in the original crime – even if only by omission) has a duty to address the crime DOES NOT ABSOLVE the JM. Bushie just ain’t get to the FSC yet….
shiite man, if we see a fella running out of Massy with two hams does not about 1000 people call the damn police? Why should not the JM, FSC, FBI, CIA, FCC, CBC, VOB and even john doe call the police…?
You must be aware of the problem that arises when “everybody’s job” becomes “nobody’s” responsibility.
The JM was hired, appointed and paid to do a specific job which INCLUDES ensuring that the ***%%$ crooks are prosecuted…..YET THEY STILL WALKING BOUT TALKING SHIITE….
BU is a niche player read by the political and middle class, it is not mass based. We tried to advertise via emailblast via a third party and the players were too scared to touch BU. What does it say?
@Lemuel
Barbadians see Leroy Parris and care little about the bigger issue of corruption and governance.
@ Dee Ingrunt Word
Were you asking earlier if Terence Thornhill, the accountant was “not employed by Mr. Stuart’s gov’t as the guru of gurus for local investment in start-ups and related financial business dealings” at the Enterprise Growth Fund Limited?
Given that I had asked that question earlier I can say Ecco Homo “Behold the Man”
In Barbados Today, March 13th edition, page 3 there is a statement of account signed by Trudy White, a Financial Analyst at CLICO Holdings. The statement shows the amount of monies that would be due Mr. Parris at November 26, 2010, if he were entitled to an original gratuity of $10 million.
The statement shows 13 entries as items used to represent payments already made to Mr. Parris. Out of the 13 entries, only 12 of them have a specific date of deposit into the CLICO Holdings account.
“Which entry does not have a specific date?” you might rhetorically ask.
“The troublesome $3.333 million resulting from Thompson’s fraudulent invoice”, will be the inevitable answer.
We know that the $3.333 million was deposited into David Thompson’s Client A/C on January 16, 2009.
Here is how the same amount of money was “officially” recorded in the CLICO Holdings account for Mr. Parris:
JANUARY 2009 Gratuity – part payment (3,333,000) paid by CIL.
I think a few simple questions should now be directed towards Ms. White:
Can you provide Barbadians, the Commisioner of Police, or the FSC with a copy of the cheque that was issued by CIL to Mr. Parris for $3,333,000?
If you can’t, wouldn’t that suggest that money laundering has occurred?
In the event that the cheque was not issued by CIL, given the fact that $3,333,000 did end up in a CLICO Holdings account for Mr. Parris, where did the funds come from? Can you provide a copy of the non-CIL cheque so that everyone can see the bank and account from which the funds were drawn?
Did the source and provider of such funds owe Mr. Parris a TOTAL OR PARTIAL GRATUITY?
How come CLICO Holdings does not know, and shows no interest in finding out, on which day in January 2009 $3,333,000 in funds were deposited into its own account?
I am concerned that comments here are directed only to some aspects of the Report. What you may need is another piece where someone, Walter or Art, goes through the report indicating what was found and the ACTIONS either suggested by the Report or supplied by the writer of the summary, to be taken in the future. There are those of us who can go and read the Report but I believe this is too fundamental and ordinary Bajans should be able to come here and receive an accurate distillation of the Report and its implications for this country.
Be warned this matter goes beyond CLICO; it speaks to the heart of how Barbados has been operating for a long long time and whether there needs to be a turn around at this time!!
Bushie and Piece are correct; some people in Barbados should be shiteing themselves. But with OUR current operating system, they know that they are completely “safe”!!!
“On the other hand Sir Frank Alleyne vacated his position on the Board because he was not satisfied with what he saw and heard. We need to explain the gap”.
Where is the evidence to substantiate this statement and why didn’t the charlatan adept at skilfully playing both sides of the wicket during the tenure of Mr Arthur if he were so ethical spill the beans in the interest of the policy holders?
Your statement should have said BU caters to the middle and political class minus Bushie and Piece. We are still working on how to label those fellows class status!! lol And Piece, Miss Headley agrees with me.
We all know the problem is that “everybody in Barbados is family to somebody or friends with somebody or a friend of a friend of a friend. you get my drift.
Most people do not want to do anything that will hurt their Uncle grandson cousin or their former classmate sister cousin husband.
I will bet that 99% of the commenters on BU are “connected” as are most Bajans
I have been a DLP supporter since school days but I have friends and family who are members of both the DLP and the BLP.
Thanks Walter, there is the issue of the right of the Board to intervene concerning the agreement. One should reasonably expect the company would have tied the bonus payment to performance. All Board members should have felt the right to express their fudiciary duty in this way.
Where is the evidence to substantiate this statement and why didn’t the charlatan adept at skilfully playing both sides of the wicket during the tenure of Mr Arthur if he were so ethical spill the beans in the interest of the policy holders?
@ balance
Sometime you can warm a bushman’s heart yuh hear?!
Was wondering if it was only Bushie thinking thus…
When big-name people allow their names to be associated with organizations in exchange for perks and benefits the must understand that less fortunate citizens are DEPENDING on them for integrity oversight.
This shiite ’bout “they did not know…” or “they resigned quietly” is NOT acceptable.
If they cannot stand the heat of the role ..then stay to shiite out of the kitchen….
If Alleyne was concerned enough to duck out, then he should have communicated his concerns at least to the damn Board, if not the FSC and public….
Bushie is disappointed that David excusing these Board members so casually….
Man Bushie vex as shiite…. who ya want the bushman to cuss then?
Bushie is NOT vex with Parris ..or even with Thompson. Every country will have its share of geniuses, sports icons, honorable citizens, idiots (AC) and crooks (Parris).
Thompson was an overly ambitious idiot who wanted to be PM so much that he accepted the enticement of an crook…..but he paid the price…and his family will pay even more…
Parris is really just a petty crook. who normally would have ended up driving a ZR, but for catching Duprey’s eye…. so he has done well …considering….
But shiite man David, when the creme de la creme of our upstanding citizens can be selected to front for this company, and, instead of exposing and dealing with these scum, these ‘upstanding citizens’ can have joined in the debauchery…. THIS is what pisses Bushie off…..
Crooks will be crooks
The love of money /power will mislead many
…but how the hell can our SELECT, BIG-NAME, ROLE MODELS have been so inept, bumbling and so easily bribed…..???
Answer this question carefully, how many times has the electorate reelected Ronald Toppin after he resigned as minister in charge of the Fair Trading Commission?
On Sunday, 15 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:
@ This_is_common
Bushie is all too aware…
.. many of them known personally…
Parris wife when she left Sherbourne Conference Services benefitted from the start of her business Premier Event Services of $431,000 from 2004 – 2011. Parris made sure all close to him cleaned up on Clico policyholder’s fund.
Talking about nepotism and fleecing at the time of the fatted calf
Isn’t the partner in Premier Event Ismael who is head of the St.Michael South Constituency Council?
Correct both Ishmael and Faye Wharton Parris both worked at Sherbourne together and went off at the same time and started Premier Event Services with Clico’s free money.
Earlier you commented “BU is a niche player read by the political and middle class, it is not mass based…”
The ole man must with some agony say this
“We have met “the masses” and unfortunately if Wunna think that AC (whom Bajan Yankee? swore is Adrian Clark, and get cuss and threaten with a law suit) is an ingrunt fellow, in whichever manifestation they present themselves, we’ll let me tell wunna something, it is best to left dem out hear???
At we church, dem is a lot of dem “masses” causing “the opiate of the people” has a way of attracting the masses and the disenfranchised and let me tell you this, you really don’t want to have much to do with the “masses”
“Yeah the poor will be us constantly even unto the end of time” and while I am not trying to be elitist, given that I am one of the masses myself, I will caution you NOT to wish that they come here.
Just take a look at the commentary that is found on the Nation web pages and you get an idea of the rampant mediocrity that abounds.
De ole man is sorry to say this, but, given what BU is seeking to do, trying to bring numbers to the mix, while commendable, is going to open a whole can of worms and “Dompey-esque” dynamics which Bu could do without.
After taking seven years to build this product then to descend into such morass would be a crying shame.
But then again I am just a poor man who wanna be elitist in he ole age
Don’t laugh at that guy who was left standing at the altar by his bride, as he could not do simple maths.
One day he may be given a work permit to come into Barbados to manage some government project or hotel,or an insurance company, as ‘no suitable candidates could be found locally.”
@ pieceuhderockyeahright at 12:25 PM… you asking earlier if Terence Thornhill, the accountant was “not employed by Mr. Stuart’s gov’t as the guru of gurus for local investment in start-ups and related financial business dealings” at the Enterprise Growth Fund Limited?….Given that I had asked that question earlier I can say Ecco Homo “Behold the Man”===========
My remarks were a reinforcement of your comment.
It is tantamount to a game of 3-card mounty that our government which was privvy to the issues and concerns raised in the JM report were comfortable, displayed ultimate hubris or just didn’t give a **** to select Mr. Thornhill to the position.
Everyone’s focus is on the CEO but he had a lot of help in achieving his goals, first the politicians whom he had in his back pocket, the Gov’t regulatory body responsible for the administration and good conduct of the Insurance business, the auditors who rubber stamped the annual financial statements, the underlings who never questioned any decision but went along for the ride as long as they were able to get some of the crumbs and finally the gullible public whose trust was bolstered by the actions of all those previously mentioned.
Recall that on April 14, 2011, and pursuant to section 57 of the Insurance Act of Barbados, the Barbados Supreme Court appointed Deloitte Consulting Ltd. as Judicial Manager [JM] of CLICO International Life Insurance Ltd. (CIL). The court also issued a further order setting out the authority of the JM, requiring them to file, within 30 days, an interim report with the court in relative to CIL’s operations.
The JM’s report of May 27, 2011 indentified a number inter-company balances and made note of experiencing some difficulty in obtaining supporting documentation to substantiate the amounts due from related companies.
As such, the JM subsequently made an application to the court recommending a forensic audit be conducted, with the primary objective of investigating these amounts in an effort to determine how they were created and what they represented.
It is important to note that the Supreme Court issued an order setting out the authority of the JM. Hence, the JM is duty bound to operate within the parameters of the order, and would have to seek the court’s permission to undertake any action that goes beyond the scope of the authority as stipulated by the order.
Therefore, for example, supposed the JM makes an application to the court recommending that further forensic audits be conducted on CLICO’s financial operations and the investigation revealed a number of financial improprieties. The JM could make an application seeking the court’s permission to have the relevant authorities investigate those individuals responsible for committing these acts.
Also, recall claim form 99/2015 filed in court by CLICO through the JM “alleging that on January 16, 2009, Parris “in breach of fiduciary duty and/or in breach of trust” procured a CLICO cheque, number 92, in the amount of $3.333M to Thompson & Associates, and are seeking that Leroy Parris, Branlee Consulting Services, and the estate of late Prime Minister David Thompson, represented by Mara Thompson, should account for those funds.
The JM has to provide the Financial Services Commission with a copy of the forensic audit report. The Financial Services Commission Act, specifically Sections 14 to 22 make for some very informative reading.
As it relates to this “new evidence” that some individuals on BU are hoping would compromise or question the validity of the forensic audit reports. They should be made aware that while conducting audits, whether they are financial or forensic, sometimes information can be purposely misplaced in an attempt to “cover-up” an illegal activity.
The auditors clearly stated, under the heading “Restrictions on Use” in both forensic reports, [page 2 of the December 5, 2011 report and page 1 of the June 21, 2013 report]:
“This report is based on information in our possession or provided to our firm by CIL, CHBL and their respective subsidiaries as at December 5, 2011. WE RESERVE THE RIGHT, BUT WILL BE UNDER NO OBLIGATION, TO UPDATE OUR FINDINGS FOR ANY NEW INFORMATION THAT BECOMES KNOWN TO US AFTER THE DATE OF THIS REPORT.”
@ Sargeant March 16, 2015 at 7:52 AM
“Everyone’s focus is on the CEO but he had a lot of help in achieving his goals, first the politicians whom he had in his back pocket, the Gov’t regulatory body responsible for the administration and good conduct of the Insurance business, the auditors who rubber stamped the annual financial statements, the underlings who never questioned any decision but went along for the ride as long as they were able to get some of the crumbs and finally the gullible public whose trust was bolstered by the actions of all those previously mentioned.”
Sarge, we couldn’t agree with you more. Bushie would recommend you for an instant promotion from a junior NCO to even a major NCO (Sergeant-major) for the above submission. You are beginning to see ‘the forest for the trees’.
But Sergeant-major, now we know what is what isn’t the same shit different day?
There are a few trees in the forest that you have not seen in order to get yourself out of the woods.
What are the branches of the tree representing the law enforcement agencies doing about the information now before them? Are they going to do diddlysquat thereby carrying on where the ‘bought politicians’, “Gov’t regulatory body” and rubberstamping fees grabbing auditors have left off?
Are the poor CLICO policyholders going to be left with only a moneybag of financial bones when the gang of vultures in the form of lawyers and accountants are finished with the CLICO cadaver?
Do you mean that not even a cent of moral compensation would the policyholders be getting by seeing the CEO and his accomplices behind bars and deprived of their ill-gotten gains?
I previously mentioned to Bushie, the role of the judicial manager, which included “procuring a more advantageous realization or distribution of the company’s assets amongst its creditors.”
Note that, in the Interim Report, the JM made mention of having found certain discrepancies is the disclosures relating to the value of CLICO’s assets, specifically the accounts receivable and referred to as “amounts due from related companies”, for which the auditors experienced some difficulty in obtaining any supporting documentation to substantiate the value of the assets.
As at the time of appointment of the JM [April 14, 2011] the interim report noted that CLICO’s assets totaled $802M, of which $446M was supported by the relevant documentation.
The report also made reference specifically to $370.1M in amounts receivable by CIL from related companies, “of which $319M was noted as receivable from CHBL and its subsidiaries.” The report also noted “that documents to support the majority of these inter-company receivables, including the amounts receivable from CHBL and its subsidiaries, could not be located at that time.”
As a result, it was upon this basis that the JM made an application to the court recommending a forensic audit of CIL be undertaken.
It is important to note that the JM negotiated a MOU between CIL, CHBL and parent company CLICO Financial Limited. One of the provisions of this MOU, as outlined in Section 10.1 states the following:
“CHBL shall provide the Judicial Manager and/or such persons authorized by the Judicial Manager access at all reasonable times to all contracts, financial information, records, agreements, deeds and other information related to transactions between CIL and CHBL, CIL and any subsidiary of CHBL”.
Therefore, CIL, CHBL and CFL were under obligation to provide the JM with all supporting documentation relative to substantiating the company’s financial transactions.
On Monday, 16 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:
millertheanunnaki March 16, 2015 at 10:01 AM #
“Are the poor CLICO policyholders going to be left with only a moneybag of financial bones when the gang of vultures in the form of lawyers and accountants are finished with the CLICO cadaver? Do you mean that not even a cent of moral compensation would the policyholders be getting by seeing the CEO and his accomplices behind bars and deprived of their ill-gotten gains?”
Miller, along with Pachamama and Sargeant have made representation on behalf of the policy holders and, in doing so, may have made certain unfair statements relative to those persons who are involved in the JM process and the roles they have to undertake.
Bear in mind, when the JM has appointed, the company’s board of directors becomes functus officio and their functions and authority are transferred to the JM.
Once again I will refer to the duties of the judicial manager, which included “procuring a more advantageous realization or distribution of the company’s assets amongst its creditors.”
If you were to read the forensic report of December 5, 2011, page 3:
“The report of the Judicial Manager dated July 28, 2011 reported on the valuation of CIL‟s assets, including the inter-company balances, applying three different valuation scenarios.”
“As of May 31, 2011 the total amount due from related companies was $376mm.
• Under a Forced Liquidation scenario the fair market value of amounts due from related companies was estimated at $171mm
• Under an Orderly Liquidation scenario it was estimated at $190mm.”
“A deficit was also shown under a Going Concern valuation.”
“Accordingly, the report noted that “…THE COMPANY IS CHRONICALLY SHORT OF THE NECESSARY ASSETS REQUIRED TO COVER ITS POLICYHOLDER LIABILITIES and as such the shareholders of the Company have no residual equity interest.” Based on these valuations, it appears unlikely that the inter-company balances will be recovered in full.”
@Miller
Are the poor CLICO policyholders going to be left with only a moneybag of financial bones when the gang of vultures in the form of lawyers and accountants are finished with the CLICO cadaver?
++++++++++
The “poor CLICO policyholders” hereinafter referred to as “the lepers” since no one wants to touch them or advocate on their behalf are up the creek unless the Gov’t steps in to help them. The politically connected and those with family connections have already been taken care of and we have seen that there is no interest in prosecuting any one for this calamity despite all the compromising evidence.
Barbados seems to exist in a parallel universe, in the real world CEO’s receive bonuses when their companies have performed well and have met certain targeted goals. In Barbados CEOs demand bonuses when their businesses have lost money and are teetering on insolvency. When the CLICO debacle first became public the then PM spoke to Bajans and assured them that all was well and his Gov’t was injecting 10m to help it through its difficulties, in the ensuing period the CEO claimed a 10M bonus was due to him and received 1/3 via the same PM (yuh can’t make this stuff up) and as Wm Layne said if this happened in Canada or the US somebody would be locked up but this is a parallel universe and its business as usual.
The “lepers” have been sacrificed on the altar of political expediency, they are mostly elderly and don’t really have any political clout or influence and have been left up the proverbial creek.
Did anyone hear the old idiot on Brasstacks today saying that Mara Thompson should be the PM?
He said no one forced her to run but that the people wanted her, they love her and that she should be given a chance to carry on for her husband. She has done nothing wrong.
Corey did the right thing……let him talk his nonsense. Who would believe that in 2015 after all the evidence that has been put in the public domain on how wicked and thiefing David Thompson was, we still have old jackasses who believe in them.
@Prodigal Son March 16, 2015 at 9:43 PM #
Who would believe that in 2015 after all the evidence that has been put in the public domain on how wicked and thiefing David Thompson was, we still have old jackasses who believe in them.
……………………………………………………………………………………………..
An inherited trait. Did you know that some Bajans who were lucky to have purchased or inherited land, back in the 40’s/50’s /60’s died, and bequeath their lands to plantation owners?
Not surprising that a blunder of this magnitude in respect to signatures by JM in the now touted report would be dismissed by a wave of the hand by the blp misfits. such a blunder under judicial prudence and fairness would bring the report itself into question for impartiality in content and be deemed characteristically tainted and flawed with providing such evedience to deliver a guilty outcome.
the report now hinges on questions that any fair minded person would asked, firstly it has given wrong information,on one account. which then begs the question how many more errors unknown to the public or answers that might be embellished or put in a context to sway or has been misinterpreted by the JM
under international law this report would not see the light of day under judicial process as it shows a blatant bias to misinformed or coverup evedience that would be of merit to delivered fair justice,
The Advocate printed the PR release about the “problems” with the CLICO report yesterday. Correct me if I am wrong but I don’t remember seeing any other coverage of the most recent JM’s report In the Advocate.
Why would that be?
Because the Advocate like the CBC is a PR organ of the government.
On Thursday, 19 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:
David; St GeorgesDragon said above:-
“The Advocate printed the PR release about the “problems” with the CLICO report yesterday”
Could you find a link to post here on the article in the Advocate? I suspect I am not the only one who does not read the advocate and so missed the PR statement.
Some of the conclusions which have been made in the recently unsealed Deloitte Forensic Audit of CLICO International Life Insurance Limited (Under Judicial Management) have been challenged by the Counsel for Leroy Parris and Branlee Consulting Services Inc.
In a press statement which was obtained by The Barbados Advocate, the point was made that the forensic audit did not include any interviews with former Chief Executive Officer of CLICO Holdings Barbados Ltd, Leroy Parris, nor does it provide what is deemed as hard evidence.
“Hence it makes no findings; the reading public is left to speculate on a high level of implications and innuendo. The report provides no statement of accounts. This is indeed amazing in view of the fact that the financial collapse of CLICO International Life Insurance Ltd. was what gave rise to the implementation of judicial management. The report has not set out what was the financial state of the company at the implementation of judicial management and what it now is about four years after the implementation,” the statement added.
Issue was made of what was termed as the lack of information regarding professional fees which have been paid to the judicial manager and other hired consultants.
A problem was also highlighted with respect to a particular page of the report.
“At page 10 of the report while commenting in a very confused manner about a ‘Unanimous Resolution in Writing of the Board of Directors of CLICO Holdings (Barbados) Limited’, the report states that ‘the quality of the document provided is poor and to date we have been unable to confirm when the document was signed’. We have made several copies of the said document and are still able, without any difficulty, to read on the face of the document: Dated the 15th day of May 2005. In addition the report states that the document was signed by board members, Mr. Woodbine Davis, Mr. Anthony Ellis, Mr. Leslie Haynes and Mr. Vishnu Ranlogan…but not Mr. Thornhill. That statement is just not true; Mr. Thornhill’s signature is clearly affixed as the fourth signature on the document.”
“At pp 13-14 the report seeks to provide proof that a certain number of related parties and other parties of interest ‘did not appear to pay full market value for their units when the prices paid by third parties for comparable units were taken into account, based on Barbados land registration documents we obtained.It must be stated that all conveyances for the sale of land must be certified by the Registrar of Titles that the price paid in the conveyance represents the fair market value thereof. As such, no land could have been sold and registered by the company below the fair market value”.
The point was made that counsel for the two defendants “will fairly and fearlessly guard their clients’ right to justice and will spare no effort in so doing”.
“The point was made that counsel for the two defendants “will fairly and fearlessly guard their clients’ right to justice and will spare no effort in so doing”.
That is what they are paid megabucks to do. Defend your client regardless of what he has been accused of.
If Leroy de leper had gone to the late Bree St John and brought a bag of solid gold bullion,Bree would tell ‘get to hell out of my office,yuh teef and yuh stinking dem’
Mr Gollop suggested to other Caricom Governments not to join the CCJ.He did so in the presence of Mr Smith,both of whom were shedding crocodile tears over a dismissal of a petition.
That excursion on CBC TVseem to be having the opposite effect.Dominica is now safely on board and St Kitts is indicating its time they got on board too.If I were in Gollop’s shoes I would take a step back and assess my public pronouncements as well as the instructions I am receiving from some of my clientele.Something is rotten in Denmark.
@ Gabriel
If Gollop was smart enough to recognize the inverse impact of his public pronouncements then he would not find himself making such idiotic statements in the first place.
Lets face it. For people like Froon and himself, the very best bet is to keep quiet and accept the criticism for poor communications.
At least that way, many people may still assume that a minimum level of intelligence resides under their grey hair.
Shiite man! even AC is now coming to accept that these jokers are really quite dense….
Maybe the criticism of the CCJ is an attempt to force feed a Barbadian DLP appointed Judge onto the court so that when “you know who” makes his final appeal to the court there will still be someone in high places to look out for the interest of the remaining political class. Just saying’.
Answer this Advocate: Is not the money Parris is fighting for not the investors?
Therefore they would be entitled to it first, and any residue could then be claimed by Parris, and others just like in bankruptcy. Afterall this is supposedly commissions, and not salary. If Parris needs living expenses, let him claim unemployment.
5.18 The actual construction process was plagued with problems which resulted in major delays in the completion of the Police Station at Crab Hill, St Lucy, leading to considerable increase in its costs. The contract for the project was originally $1.4 million but the final cost was $4 million. The problems with the project included:
1. Incorrect setting out of the building and faulty construction work, with the resulting need for remedial work;
2. Poorly constructed foundation covering 30% of the floor space;
Approval was granted for BWA personnel to participate in a Utilities Best Practice United Kingdom Study Tour from July 10 – 17, 2010. A company was paid a total of $31,500 for coordinating and facilitating the Tour. Tickets valued at $10,708.03 were also purchased from a travel agency. At the time of the review there was no evidence provided to show that the tour took place or that these funds were ever recovered.
Goods ordered from a firm totalling Bds. $462,786.26 were paid for but not delivered. No due diligence was conducted on this firm which is based in the USA.
Authority’s Response: Suppliers that are engaged by the BWA through the tender process are required to submit a certificate of incorporation and a list of directors. All other suppliers will receive a document detailing BWA’s requirements
On quotation 1027916 dated June 11, 2010 the amount quoted for the supply of goods was BDS$61,200. However, the payment was made for US$61,200.
Authority’s Response: The BWA has written and emailed the supplier requesting a refund of the overpayment. Secondly, the BWA is pursuing legal action against the supplier on this matter and others.
BIPA PRESS RELEASE ON NEWS OF CLICO SOLUTION IN TRINIDAD
27th March 2015
WHY IS BARBADOS FAILIING CLICO POLICYHOLDERS WHERE TRINIDAD HAS SUCEEDED?
BIPA is delighted to hear of the satisfactory conclusion to the CLICO debacle in Trinidad. The Trinidadian Central Bank Governor Jwala Rambarran has announced today the repayment of $7 billion to government by CLICO, in addition to the pay-out of $950 million to CLICO policy holders.
BIPA is particularly struck by the Central Bank of Trinidad Governor’s closing statements at today’s press conference.
"Today is an important day, a turning point in the story that was the CLICO crisis…Looking ahead Central Bank’s CLICO Resolution Plan has now given it an end, (and) we would like to assure the country, this plan will be executed in the manner outlined and this gruelling six year journey will come to an end."
"As I indicated before the most important guiding principle of our CLICO Resolution Plan was to take action for the benefit of CLICO policyholders and creditors and we wholeheartedly believe this will be accomplished."
"I want to repeat Central Bank’s CLICO Resolution Plan will bring closure to this deep financial wound inflicted on thousands of CLICO policyholders and Central Bank is doing all in its power and more to ensure such a financial trauma will never again be inflicted on you."
BIPA President June Fowler felt it was ironic that this statement should come out of Trinidad exactly a year to the day after the Barbados Cabinet gave approval to the CLICO Restructuring Plan for Barbadian policyholders, co-created by the Ministry of Finance and the Judicial Manager which would, by the end of last year, have seen the first phase of the plan already underway towards a solution which would have satisfied most, if not all policyholders.
On hearing the news, Fowler said, "It speaks volumes that Barbados had its own potential solution that would have enabled our Government to make a similar announcement to that made in Trinidad today of a satisfactory resolution for policyholders."
"Instead of that," continues Fowler, "a week ago, our Prime Minister sought to ridicule, belittle and insult EFPA policyholders from the floor of Parliament, as opposed to communicating empathy for their plight and confirming that the restructuring plan approved by his Cabinet was progressing well."
Fowler warns that, due to the procrastination and inertia of Government, in contrast to announcing that a solution is imminent, it is quite possible that news will shortly be coming advising policyholders of the liquidation of the company and the consequent loss of their savings and investments and the devastation that will bring.
FearPlay March 23, 2015 at 11:24 AM #
Maybe the criticism of the CCJ is an attempt to force feed a Barbadian DLP appointed Judge onto the court so that when “you know who” makes his final appeal to the court there will still be someone in high places to look out for the interest of the remaining political class. Just saying’.
…………………………………………………………………………………
Not to worry,as soon as we go Republic, we will have our own Final Appeal Court, and headed by the likes of Gollop.
@rachrse “If Parris needs living expenses, let him claim unemployment.”
I think that perhaps Leroy is too old to claim unemployment benefits, but he can certainly claim his old age contributory pension (once he has been making his National Insurance payments) but since the maximum contributory pension is only $506.13 that may not be enough for a member of the political class. And Leroy, the Prime Minister’s friend is certainly a member of the political class.
@ Colonel buggy
Not to worry,as soon as we go Republic, we will have our own Final Appeal Court, and headed by the likes of Gollop
so that may be the reason he has been appointed chair of the ERT, the final appeals court for victimized workers…..
The Trinidadian Central Bank Governor Jwala Rambarran said “As I indicated before the most important guiding principle of our CLICO Resolution Plan was to take action for the benefit of CLICO policyholders and creditors and we wholeheartedly believe this will be accomplished.”
I guess locking up Duprey was not his focus.
Good luck to the BIPA members and the Bajan policy holders.
Now where would this money come from to save the poor CLICO life insurance and pensioners?
Let us forget about the greedy EFPA gamblers. For if you smoke a spliff with the devil you are bound to get burn instead of high returns.
Instead of your twat of a P M asking about lists he should be creatively imaginative enough (as a leader with vision ought to be) to propose the launching of a 10 year bond guaranteed by the Government of Barbados with sufficient face value to meet the costs of compulsorily acquiring all the lands and buildings and other tangible assets currently owned by CLICO which would be invested in a company primarily owned by the same aggrieved policyholders.
@ Hants
I guess locking up Duprey was not his focus
This is Trinidad you are talking about Hants…
Shiite man, if they were to lock up all the big crooks they would have to put the couple honest people in jail ….and lock the multitudes of crooks outside…..
millertheanunnaki March 28, 2015 at 9:01 PM #
……………………………………………………………………………
For a start, we have $5 million of the tieffing CLICO money in our Central Bank.
The lack of payments to Clico policy holders is all related to our inadequate monetary policy. If people are paid, they will spend the money and a great percentage of the money spent will go towards buying things that are imported. Imagine how much FX would decline if the Government made good on looking after the Clico mess. Until we have positive FX inflows nothing will happen.
””GET WHAT YOU can now, as there may be nothing left if this situation drags on.
That essentially, is the advice to policyholders of CLICO International Life Insurance Limited (CIL) from two financial experts.
Asked which was the better option – liquidation as recommended by the judicial manager (JM) Deloitte Consulting Limited acting through Patrick Toppin, or creation of a new company to take over CIL’s assets – both professionals concluded liquidation was the way to go.
Chartered accountant and driving force behind the Barbados Association of Corporate Shareholders, Douglas Skeete, said the public would have little confidence in the new company as “Barbadians would say no to anything with a whiff of CLICO.
The alternative then would be liquidation because you cannot continue to run the company.” (SP)
Please read the full story in today’s Sunday Sun, or in the eNATION edition”’.
– See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/65464/closing-clico-option#sthash.BNAbdSzb.dpuf
When we gave this advice more than 2 years ago some were ‘hesitant’ to say the least.
That is the thing with people who cannot see the future, as God, but yet pretend to be smart.
Now that it is settled knowledge great losses are to be counted.
This now three months I am without a pension and those crooks are living sweet and we the pensioners are suffering. God please help us. Why the people in Trinidad receive their money and we cannot?
Man, how the news kill the CLICO PONZI already, Like it never happened with the PM and his PLOY to distract the people with getting rid of the Queen , This is a real POLY to change the focus of the topic of the people ,
Is it that simple to play and get away with doing wrong ?
Stay On it BU , Clico clioc CLICO more fraud to come , stay on Parris , Mr Leroy he is the way in , just keep checking his land deals and see the laundering at the land tax office , Wayne Forde also need to be looked at,
why oh why are the business people in Barbados and the Caribbean so petty-minded, trifling and small in the way they perceive competition.
Competition is a good thing, it creates jobs and better service for everyone….of course LIAT and those who run that company into the ground would never get that concept, it just don’t compute. steupss
Stupid, backward and ignorant does not even begin to describe these bunch of idiots whose only claim to fame and ambition are tied to useless titles.
Being greedy, trifling and small-minded creates Clicos and CGI’s and all the other dishonest business people who now have the island under siege using lawyers and doctors…they create victims of taxpayers, but the politicians allow these travesties to continue because they themselves are also greedy, trifling and small-minded.
I hope all BU family is listening to BrassTacks. A certain QC is on the airwaves presenting Leroy Parris’s case which is a constitutional motion against Government.
This is a curious case since as this QC has pointed out his client is really suing the Barbados Government. Here is my concern:
Will this matter now be heard by the CJ and if so is it reasonable that he recuse himself having been appointed by the Government who jumped through hoops to appoint him? If they rule in favour of LP, will he then be given damages – to wit – will the CJ and the Court award Mr. LP money from the taxpayers of Barbados because it has taken the courts a couple months to hear his matter.
Will they then also “unfreeze” the man’s assets so they can fly?
What is the importance of the timing of this matter? Does he “NEED” to have his assets unfrozen before the court examines the final report of the Judicial Manager sometime in the middle of the month? Put another way is this a well-cooked and concocted scheme to have these assets unfrozen so Mr. LP can send these stolen assets to Cayman or some other jurisdiction beyond the reach of the Barbados Court system.
this is a very serious set of tactics because we now have a situation where LP gets to sue a friendly Government by way of a constitutional motion. Cabinet/his friend the PM or his other friend AR the AG (related to AC) can choose not to contest this lawsuit or enter a wishy-washy defence – thus giving more dollars to LP from the Treasury.
We need to be vigelent and to make our voices heard. A thief should not be allowed to band together with other thieves to t’ief mo’ money from taxpayers!
Parris is entitled to exhaust all avenues the laws of the country support to seek justice.
And so are the policy-holders. And the tax-payers. In this particular case the issue I have with it is that two unusual events occurred – one: the original judge recused himself and two: Parris’ attorney’s then objected against the second judge. Surely it is a case that ought therefore to be thrown out because LP’s attorney’s are intimately aware of the circumstances and indeed helped to create the conditions about which he now files a constitutional motrion. This should be thrown out and Parris asked to pay Government’s costs.
Let us see if the AG office files a counter motion. Don’t hold your breath though.
Am I missing something here? The assets were frozen because a Forensic Audit revealed the possibility that a crime had been committed. So how can an appeal against the freezing of the said assets be heard before a criminal investigation has been completed? What is the difference between this and the freezing of the assets of a drug dealer until the matter of the accusation of drug dealing has appeared before the Court? It seems to me like the drug dealer’s lawyer is saying, “this accusation is unfounded, therefore give my client back his money and never mind no court case”. Huh?
@Bdosmike – I believe while you are partially correct, the problem is that such freezings are normally done as “ex parte” proceedings meaning in this case without the presence of LP and his lawyers – for obvious reasons. If we serve someone with notice that we are bringing a motion to freeze their assets, they would just move the assets before the court decide,
So it would have been expected that having frozen the assets, a date would be set and the matter presented and defended by the respective parties and then a final order of the court would be given which could and probably would be appealed.
My real hope in this is that LP and his lawyers continue merrily along and climb high enough that the monkey show he tail and could find some good crminal and other grounds for suit by policy-holders.
Certainly as a policy-holder I am now very interested in how a constitutional motion could be used to recover more of our money – Government having been made aware of certain matters and continuously failing to act. Sounds like a breach of my rights.
This post was published on April 1st and was clearly designed as an April Fool’s joke.
Stuart must be creasing himself up with laughter.
Please stop this side show and concentrate on the bigger story: Clico
………………………
You are so right, Exclaimer.
Did you hear that jackass Hal Gollop today on Brasstacks? And to think that David Ellis gave him so much time to talk shiite defending a known THIEF, a man who along with a former PM, David Thompson, plundered and raped a whole company, leaving a shell behind in wake of their destruction.
By their wicked, thieving deeds, they have left thousands of policyholders penniless and this arselicker on radio talking shiite that it is taking too long to get a matter heard. Who the hell cares, the policyholders waiting long too!
Is he for real? The policyholders have been lied to for the past 6-7 years and as a man who came from humble beginnings, he has no heart for their plight. I have a friend whose dad has gone to his grave without recovering a cent of his money. In his latter years, when he really needed a full time nurse, she had to make the hard decision to get rid of the nurse and just try to care for him the best she could because funds were tight.
I know another lady who now is barely surviving on a NIS pension and cannot get a cent of her money out of CLICO. And Hal Gollop talking shiite for a mass robber and crook? Look how long the other crook Carrington kept Mr Griffith to get him money and he only got it after the court put him under an order to pay up.
Bloody crooks they all all, there is a special place in hell for these monsters!
Fair comment Tell me. I think the monkey’s ‘tail’ is already on display and has been to many people for quite some time….. By the way, do be aware that BIPA already has a case in the High Court against the directors and others and depending on the outcome of the liquidation hearings on 17th, 20th and 21st, will proceed accordingly.
What happened to the case against Parris for continuing to sell the scam policies AFTER being instructed to stop by the Supervisor of Insurance?
Is Hal Gollop anxious to get that one expedited too…?
@ Prodigal
“….there is a special place in hell for these monsters!”
…only half right.
There is ALSO karma for their asses right here on earth too….. you watch!
This country is rapidly becoming like Dodge City. Everyone seem to do as he likes, and at times with the backing or a turn of a blind eye , of the government and the authorities.
A man was shot dead in the middle of the street, and his son beside him was shot in the back a number of times. The man responsible for the shooting,a policeman, was sent on leave with pay a few days after the incident, or so we were told.
But in today’s Nation we learn that this man is still on duty, and has been reported by the National Union of Public Workers to have harassed ,by his actions, a Custom Officer /Guard at the Bridgetown port in recent days. It was also reported that this same police officer, was responsible for causing a ruckus ,which almost led to a shut down of the airport , when he had arrested the same Custom Officer/ Guard who was on duty there ,at a time when both of them were attached to the Grantley Adams airport.
It would be interesting to hear a statement from the Acting COP, who has pledged to weed out the rotten apples from the RBPF.
From other information contained in the Nations report, it strengthens my belief that this police who seems to be an untouchable ,and who is about to get away with a killing and attempted killing , is either a member of the ruling Democratic Labour Party, and / or a member of the Fraternity.
Another prerequisite to becoming a republic.
What next is going to happen in this country. The phrase “going to hell in a basket” is so apt! That’s Barbados!
It is quite obvious that the country and the victims in this matter were lied to……we were told that the man was sent on leave. There is some disturbing “gossip” going around on this matter and is quite frightening really.
It is quite clear that this man is an untouchable………crumbs, we the taxpayer have had to pay for his crap and he is still on the job, now back to harassing people and has no shame or guilt that he murdered one man and nearly killed the the son.
Only in Barbados………….I really want t o hear the COP and the AG on this. They knew how to harass and arrest the Nation staffers for posting a stupid, obscene picture of two school children but cannot touch this man?
Now maybe we see the reasons they want to turn we into a Banana Republic. Where a policeman couls shoot an innocent man and be still on the job and where a known thief could now sue the Republic because his case taking too long even though he refused to be heard by heard by one judge. The Banana Republic of Barbados is upon us.
I have a feeling that Hal Gollop will refuse every judge assigned to this case to have the CJ hear it with the excuse that no other judge would hear it. Then he would get what they want……a DLP appointed CJ for whom the constitution had to be changed and who is pals with the PM. Certainly the PM’s pal is not going to rule against his pal’s pal.
This is so obvious the game that is being played with the policyholders being the losers. How does people like Hal Gollop, Leroy Parris, Mara Thompson sleep at nights?
One judge recused himself for reasons and Hal Gollop cry foul.The matter went before another judge and Hal Gollop found reasons to cry foul again.So now it’s even steven.While the matter has gone to its rightful place at the bottom of the pile,Hal Gollop cries foul again.Since he is unable to get Froon’s partner to remove the case from the bottom of the pile,he files a new motion.Now bear in mind that Smith QC is the senior counsellor yet Gollop is doing all the talking.What is one to read into that development?Is there an unwilling participant going along for the ride?And why is Gollop trying the matter in the court of public opinion?
And since the then Supervisor of Insurance and the then Commissioner of Police had taken the illegal 800 policies matter to court,why were they both summarily removed from office and sent on administrative leave,with the court case hanging in limbo.There is a breakdown in law and order in Bim and it is to be placed fairly and squarely on the current Democratic Labour Party government mixing business with friendship.When Gibson done with Justice in Bim,he will jump on the next Uncle Sam jet and leave the mess for Bajans to clean up.
Prodigal Son April 2, 2015 at 4:54 PM #
How does people like Hal Gollop, Leroy Parris, Mara Thompson sleep at nights?
………………………………………………….
On nice soft clico dollar- filled mattresses and pillows.
What next is going to happen in this country. The phrase “going to hell in a basket” is so apt! That’s Barbados!
…………………………..
All roads ,and especially those going directly to hell, lead to the Prime Minister
The acting COP get his pick ,due to the help of the shooter, that cause the down fall of the real cop, don’t forget the acting COP was the subject of an investigation some time ago and not inline for the top spot, but hand pick by this D Loving people, in case heads have to be crack
@ Colonel Buggy
I have been in Fraternity and know a lot of what it is about being in position to know the working of the Lodge , the only Fraternity at work here, is the BULLERS CLUB WITH SOME TOP UGLY PEOPLE
The acting COP get his pick ,due to the help of the shooter, that cause the down fall of the real cop, don’t forget the acting COP was the subject of an investigation some time ago and not inline for the top spot, but hand pick by this D Loving people, in case heads have to be crack.
…………………………………………………………………………………….
There is a toss up as to whether the Bajan memory is short ,or just convenient.
Two weeks ago an ex Cop was remanded on a drug charge. He is the same fellow that was jointly involved in the same Scotland Yard investigation some years ago.
Must up your ranking ,you can connect dots ,some of the dots gone way back in this movie its all about the BACK , with words like GETTING , PAYING, how this end may be very ULGY
CLICO policyholders waiting 6-7 years and Hal Gal-lop-pee mekkin noise bout 2 months….Hal affa this case U reputation gone to D lepers ya hear….sold for 30 pieces of silver…. Hal man up do….U know how many people would like their case call in 2 months?This Clico dirt stiffles so as brand name Ds.
Well, I see Leroy Parris has his attorney pushing for him . What about our pensioners who have not receive a dime for the year from CLICO for the year. My hard earned cash is now up in smoke and I am struggling to make ends meet in my golden years. Hal Gollop shame on you Parris should be in jail as I speak instead he is complaining. I am waiting to see the outcome of this for Parris with his top lawyers I cannot even put food on my table in the way I was doing before. Help . Help, Help.
When will this ridiculous man and his thiefing client realise that no-one on this planet except his ‘pals’ could give a flying jobbie about his “rights” or whether the justice system is delivering justice to him in a timely manner. What about the rights of the 25,000 whose lives he has devastated and those who have died waiting for THEIR rights and justice. Go fly a fu*#ing kite!
Petra April 3, 2015 at 9:19 AM #
Barbadians need to stop all of this long talk and pleading and adopt a more militant attitude towards these damn crooks who fleeced them of their hard earned money and pensions. These CLICO policy holders are about to be kicked in the arse a second time,as taxpayers, compensating Leroy Parris. Cause sure as hell, with his influential buddies and pals backing and advising him , he will sure to win.
Score Leroy Parris – 2 Clico Policy Holders -Nil
Referees and Linesmen……..Stuart , Gollop, AG and CJ.
Venue. Illaro Court ,Bay Street and Lower Estate.
@ onion bags April 3, 2015 at 8:29 AM.
“CLICO policyholders waiting 6-7 years and Hal Gal-lop-pee mekkin noise bout 2 months….Hal affa this case U reputation gone to D lepers ya hear….sold for 30 pieces of silver…. Hal man up do….U know how many people would like their case call in 2 months?This Clico dirt stiffles so as brand name Ds.”
Good point raised there, OB.
And to think this same hypocrite passing for a lawyer- the type the figuratively crucified Jesus condemned- is the Chairman of the Employment Rights Committee. How would he feel sitting in ‘judgment’ to hear the cases of those NCC workers that have been deprived of their rights going 2 years now? Don’t you think these former workers’ Constitutional rights have been breached? We will not even mention the many people on remand at Dodds for over two years whose rights to a fair and timely hearing are violated daily.
Can’t the same shallow Hal Gollop QC (Quintessential Comedian or Rhianna’s Bajan favourite appellation) also see a ‘perceived’ bias on his part in the capacity of the Chair of the ERT given his close relationship with the person who recommended the matter be sent to a practically non-existent non-functioning civil court?
Given his many ongoing intense private ‘professional’ commitments in trying to save his client Leroy Parris sorry ass what time would he have to effectively deliberate and cogitate over the many cases before the ERT to ensure swift justice for the workers allegedly deprived of their employment rights and their right to earn an honest living?
Don’t you, Sir Over-Busy Hal (we heard you are up for one of the last knighthood for obsequiously defensive yeoman and sometimes sterling sycophancy passing for political service rendered to your King Stuart) think you are carrying too much on your plate of political armour at this time of your autumn years of life given your health challenges?
How could you, Sir Hal QC, in all honesty, perform the duties of a de facto judge in rendering justice for the NCC workers when not only your politically dirty slip is showing but also when you speak with a forked legal tongue where people’s Constitutional rights are involved; giving real meaning to, and indeed fears about, Adonijah’s lyrical observations of “Two Barbadoeses” where the Law is concerned.
The Law might be seen as a blind ass but it can’t be that ‘pellucidly’ unfair and one-sided against the poor.
But let us look at the bright side. Could it be that Hal is a godsend to ‘legally’ deprive Leroy Greenverbs Parris of the millions he stole from the poor CLICO policyholders in the form of exorbitant legal fees and expenses?
Leroy would most likely reap what he sowed as the harvester of Retribution appears in the form of legal vultures gnawing away at the stolen monetary flesh of a fallen and mortally wounded leper pal of the Prime Minister.
Could this be Stuart’s way of permanently sullying and destroying in iconoclastic warfare the memory of his former archenemy David “I shall not lie, cheat or steal” Sweetcakes Thompson?
What would Gollop get from this political war of revengeful assassination (using Leroy Parris for collateral damage) other than a large monetary estate for his son? Is this the consideration being paid in advance for higher political rewards promised by the wannabe King Canute Stuart?
Hal Gollop is just an opportunist like Stuart @ Gang..and hell bent on fleecing poor people for their own advancement. Listening to educated Hal on my TV, I had always believed somewhere down there was a hint of integrity in the manicoo….but now after his latest bullshittery….I realized that he is just another flee-bag lookin for money anyway he can….. TWO MONTHS Hal?….I know a man waiting for 14 years now just to have an appeal case just call far less heard…..where is the justice in this Republic? Marston too, I cry shame on you and now understand why ur life long buddy sent for you from USA to man this Banana justice system….a real stinking affair I say….where is the justice in this Banana Republic?
According to yesterday’s Trinidad Express Clico has set aside $48.5million to repay its former directors or their companies.Clico has also repaid the Trinidad Government $7 billion so far.Why does Clico Barbados,part of the CL Financial group of companies,appear to be left out in the cold.Is it because this DLP administration lack networking skills.If EWB is an example of what can be achieved with a phone call to the right and proper ear,am I to conclude that FJS is sadly lacking in those skills and contacts.Is there no one to help the sleeping giant.He does appear to be a genuine fellow.
@ Artax
b. Identifying the circumstances surrounding the failure of the company and hold those individuals responsible for the failure, due to mismanagement or misconduct, accountable for their actions.
…see now why you are a man after Bushie’s own heart…?
Such a responsibility CANNOT be avoided when one considers the circumstances under which a JM is appointed. It is a difficult (and thus high-paying) job…..
Wunna have this way of accepting mediocrity from those with whom wunna find favour, …but Bushmen don’t play such shiite games….. have whacker will whack…
Of course the JM has done a good job in documenting and reporting WHAT WE ALL KNEW ALREADY any damn how….
He is to be commended.
On what basis does he get a pass in that regard?
So in answer to the question “How come after such evidence (evedience?) we see NO ACTION in this obvious case of high level fraud, Bushie seeks to understand the basis on which such action should have been initiated UNDER THE LAW.
On another point Artaxerxes
To what extent is a JM bound by questionable contracts that were entered into BEFORE he was appointed to act? Is it not the case with Administrators in the UK that there is NO SUCH constraint that binds a JM as in some other jurisdictions?
Why should a company placed under JM be bound by a shiite contract that pays $10M to the thieving idiot that robbed and ruined the company in the first place?
What is to stop the pack of (still at liberty) rats from ‘creating more back-dated “contracts” which legitimizes their crimes?
@ Dee Igrunt Word
Hush do!!
Not so fast!
The Forensic Report and other information confirmed many decisions taken by Parris, Thornhill et al did not reach the Board.
Come on David … this is Bushie not Dompey….
So what are you saying? … that these Board members were a bunch of female rabbits of the AC kind?
These were children? Did they have eyes..?
Could they read?
Did they ask questions and analyze the answers?
Shiite man …. we are talking about the Crème de la crème of local intelligentsia, who were sumptuously rewarded with first class travel, perks, cheap real estate etc ….and you are saying that “cuh dear – dey didn’t know….?!?!”
oh shiite……
no wonder we are where we are….
correction: “… clarify YOUR remarks”.
BTW, I am not disagreeing that criminal action is required. Just getting things clarified. Criminal action has nothing to do with a JM.
@David: “If the invoice was false how was it acceptable?”
Well, it was acceptable from the point of view that it got $3.3M out of CLICO’s bank and into Parris’ hands.
Counterfeit money is acceptable until it is proven to be counterfeit! Not so?
A PM is a youthful wonder-kind and paragon of virtue until he is show to be a sewer rat! Not so?
Ipso facto…the invoice was real until it was fake.
Life is really simple David.
And according to people like AC it was NEVER fake because the end result of money truly owed to Parris was justified.
@David,
Do we know if…..?
Clico, its leadership and any of it’s employees are under investigation by the DPP and Police?
Are any others connected to Clico being investigated by the DPP and Police?
listen the recent revelations of removed and now presented signatures as proof to a debt owe says a lot about that fake invoice as to what limited knoweldge the instigator of the invoice had in providing an invoice that would eliminate the original one or more signatures of the contract ,
here we are speaking of a bogus document which according to some here was perpetuated by the clients attorney, having erroneous missteps with similarities to that of a dumb robber ,
in my mind there is a smoldering fire which begs the question as to why DT as a highly skilled lawyer would recklessly overlooked such documentation making himself looked like a culprit ,the recklessness of the crime does not make sense and how it was carried out and not goes to the intellect of a highly skilled lawyering but to a backward and backdoor approach to one who does not have a moral or ethical persuasion to self or client making one to believe that a crime within a crime to “frame” is at the root of this document.
Curious as to why it matters who AC is. It seems as if we want to bully or to we want silence him. I find the site to be interesting and like the back and forth volleying. If everyone is saying the same thing, boredom will abound. One hand cannot clap by itself.
Bush Tea March 15, 2015 at 9:57 AM #
“Of course the JM has done a good job in documenting and reporting WHAT WE ALL KNEW ALREADY any damn how….
He is to be commended.
On what basis does he get a pass in that regard?”
Bush Tea,
One might rationalize that, given the fact that an insurance company is involved in this case, the state agency granted the powers to commence action would be the Financial Services Commission (FSC).
The evidence needed has been documented in the report.
Under the “Restrictions on Use” section of the report, the reader is informed that the Judicial Manager (JM) will provide the FSC with a copy of the report. Is this the JM’s way of handing over the baton?
We all know now, that after receiving a copy of the report, the FSC moved with indecent haste to have the contents of the report blocked from public view.
A few questions now scream out for attention:
After receiving the report, why did the FSC not initiate action against the wrongdoers?
Given the fact that fraud was committed, the banking system was used to launder money from CLICO, and the revenue laws of the country were assaulted by a fraudulent invoice manufactured by PM David Thompson , why wasn’t an official copy of the report also sent to the Commisioner of BRA, the Central Bank, and the Commissioner of Police so that they could initiate action using their respective powers? In any event, do these agencies have to wait until they receive an official copy of the report before they act? Or is the fact that the report has been unsealed and made available to the public enough for everybody to act?
@David at 10:07 AM…How is it acceptable …confirm to the forensic auditor is was an acceptable transaction. Is it possible for an invoice to be fake if we apply 101 accounting practice?===============
David, we are in agreement on the chapter and verse of this perfidy. I have no issues with your assertions. I also agree with your earlier remark that we do NOT ‘have a culture in Barbados of pursuing prominent Barbadians and companies’.
That culture is well nigh impossible to initiate and foster due to the incestuous nature of our political and corporate elites.
My only thrust here is to clear the fog re the JM’s role re criminality.
You also realize that the JM was VERY aware of that perception of ‘inbreeding’ and very purposely used the forensic services of their Canadian office.
We can surmise that action had less to do with a lack of competent investigators in Barbados and more to do with an arms’ length separation of locals investigating locals.
Surely still some errors or mistakes were made and the lawyers will push and probe to show all of them as material and significant in order to invalidate the report.
Until then. let’s take the report for what it says. To date it’s the irrefutable gospel on CLICO.
If evidence comes out to debunk the report’s findings then we deal with that then.
Otherwise these crooks are sued civilly to recover the ill-gotten gains and we hope that someone can find an international law which has been broken so that they can be tried criminally in US, Canada or Britain.
Because they surely will never be tried criminally in Barbados!
Where is the trained and expert accountant who approved that $3.3M and who is quoted in the report as : He believed that the creation, approval and submission for payment of a false invoice … and to conceal its true nature was an acceptable transaction.”
Is he not employed by Mr. Stuart’s gov’t as the guru of gurus for local investment in start-ups and related financial business dealings?
Of course, I would love to be wrong about criminal pursuit here, but that sounds a little remote to me.
@ David,
Please forgive me but it is common where I live to see ” under investigation” and “allegations”
http://www.thestar.com/news/crime/2015/03/13/opp-union-brass-investigated-over-fraud-allegations.html
http://www.sunnewsnetwork.ca/video/4030133855001
@ Walter
Point taken.
But the fact that the FSC (who may well have been complicit in the original crime – even if only by omission) has a duty to address the crime DOES NOT ABSOLVE the JM. Bushie just ain’t get to the FSC yet….
shiite man, if we see a fella running out of Massy with two hams does not about 1000 people call the damn police? Why should not the JM, FSC, FBI, CIA, FCC, CBC, VOB and even john doe call the police…?
You must be aware of the problem that arises when “everybody’s job” becomes “nobody’s” responsibility.
The JM was hired, appointed and paid to do a specific job which INCLUDES ensuring that the ***%%$ crooks are prosecuted…..YET THEY STILL WALKING BOUT TALKING SHIITE….
BU is a niche player read by the political and middle class, it is not mass based. We tried to advertise via emailblast via a third party and the players were too scared to touch BU. What does it say?
@Lemuel
Barbadians see Leroy Parris and care little about the bigger issue of corruption and governance.
@ Dee Ingrunt Word
Were you asking earlier if Terence Thornhill, the accountant was “not employed by Mr. Stuart’s gov’t as the guru of gurus for local investment in start-ups and related financial business dealings” at the Enterprise Growth Fund Limited?
Given that I had asked that question earlier I can say Ecco Homo “Behold the Man”
In Barbados Today, March 13th edition, page 3 there is a statement of account signed by Trudy White, a Financial Analyst at CLICO Holdings. The statement shows the amount of monies that would be due Mr. Parris at November 26, 2010, if he were entitled to an original gratuity of $10 million.
The statement shows 13 entries as items used to represent payments already made to Mr. Parris. Out of the 13 entries, only 12 of them have a specific date of deposit into the CLICO Holdings account.
“Which entry does not have a specific date?” you might rhetorically ask.
“The troublesome $3.333 million resulting from Thompson’s fraudulent invoice”, will be the inevitable answer.
We know that the $3.333 million was deposited into David Thompson’s Client A/C on January 16, 2009.
Here is how the same amount of money was “officially” recorded in the CLICO Holdings account for Mr. Parris:
JANUARY 2009 Gratuity – part payment (3,333,000) paid by CIL.
I think a few simple questions should now be directed towards Ms. White:
Can you provide Barbadians, the Commisioner of Police, or the FSC with a copy of the cheque that was issued by CIL to Mr. Parris for $3,333,000?
If you can’t, wouldn’t that suggest that money laundering has occurred?
In the event that the cheque was not issued by CIL, given the fact that $3,333,000 did end up in a CLICO Holdings account for Mr. Parris, where did the funds come from? Can you provide a copy of the non-CIL cheque so that everyone can see the bank and account from which the funds were drawn?
Did the source and provider of such funds owe Mr. Parris a TOTAL OR PARTIAL GRATUITY?
How come CLICO Holdings does not know, and shows no interest in finding out, on which day in January 2009 $3,333,000 in funds were deposited into its own account?
David:
I am concerned that comments here are directed only to some aspects of the Report. What you may need is another piece where someone, Walter or Art, goes through the report indicating what was found and the ACTIONS either suggested by the Report or supplied by the writer of the summary, to be taken in the future. There are those of us who can go and read the Report but I believe this is too fundamental and ordinary Bajans should be able to come here and receive an accurate distillation of the Report and its implications for this country.
Be warned this matter goes beyond CLICO; it speaks to the heart of how Barbados has been operating for a long long time and whether there needs to be a turn around at this time!!
Bushie and Piece are correct; some people in Barbados should be shiteing themselves. But with OUR current operating system, they know that they are completely “safe”!!!
@ David,
Barbados has transparency and a robust 4th and 5th estate.
It is called Barbados Underground. lol
Pingback: Terrence Thornhill the #2 CLICO Man in Barbados Continues to Get a Free Pass | Barbados Underground
“On the other hand Sir Frank Alleyne vacated his position on the Board because he was not satisfied with what he saw and heard. We need to explain the gap”.
David:
Your statement should have said BU caters to the middle and political class minus Bushie and Piece. We are still working on how to label those fellows class status!! lol And Piece, Miss Headley agrees with me.
@ David,
We all know the problem is that “everybody in Barbados is family to somebody or friends with somebody or a friend of a friend of a friend. you get my drift.
Most people do not want to do anything that will hurt their Uncle grandson cousin or their former classmate sister cousin husband.
I will bet that 99% of the commenters on BU are “connected” as are most Bajans
I have been a DLP supporter since school days but I have friends and family who are members of both the DLP and the BLP.
Thanks Walter, there is the issue of the right of the Board to intervene concerning the agreement. One should reasonably expect the company would have tied the bonus payment to performance. All Board members should have felt the right to express their fudiciary duty in this way.
Wrong signal in Clico delay, says Layne
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64828/wrong-signal-clico-delay-layne
Here is the website of the Barbados Government Information Service. It is called the BGISMedia.
I went into their search engine and managed to find only 4 Clico related stories!
http://gisbarbados.gov.bb/index.php?categoryid=31
@ balance
Sometime you can warm a bushman’s heart yuh hear?!
Was wondering if it was only Bushie thinking thus…
When big-name people allow their names to be associated with organizations in exchange for perks and benefits the must understand that less fortunate citizens are DEPENDING on them for integrity oversight.
This shiite ’bout “they did not know…” or “they resigned quietly” is NOT acceptable.
If they cannot stand the heat of the role ..then stay to shiite out of the kitchen….
If Alleyne was concerned enough to duck out, then he should have communicated his concerns at least to the damn Board, if not the FSC and public….
Bushie is disappointed that David excusing these Board members so casually….
@Bush Tea
Why are you suggesting BU is giving these people a pass?
Bush Tea March 15, 2015 at 2:31 PM #: “…This shiite ’bout “they did not know…” or “they resigned quietly”…”
Have a look at the names of the bajan directors of offshore insurance companies and submissive role that they play.
Man Bushie vex as shiite…. who ya want the bushman to cuss then?
Bushie is NOT vex with Parris ..or even with Thompson. Every country will have its share of geniuses, sports icons, honorable citizens, idiots (AC) and crooks (Parris).
Thompson was an overly ambitious idiot who wanted to be PM so much that he accepted the enticement of an crook…..but he paid the price…and his family will pay even more…
Parris is really just a petty crook. who normally would have ended up driving a ZR, but for catching Duprey’s eye…. so he has done well …considering….
But shiite man David, when the creme de la creme of our upstanding citizens can be selected to front for this company, and, instead of exposing and dealing with these scum, these ‘upstanding citizens’ can have joined in the debauchery…. THIS is what pisses Bushie off…..
Crooks will be crooks
The love of money /power will mislead many
…but how the hell can our SELECT, BIG-NAME, ROLE MODELS have been so inept, bumbling and so easily bribed…..???
THAT, boss, is the real failing….
@Bush Tea
Answer this question carefully, how many times has the electorate reelected Ronald Toppin after he resigned as minister in charge of the Fair Trading Commission?
@ This_is_common
Bushie is all too aware…
.. many of them known personally…
Easy to spot…
Look – no balls.
Parris wife when she left Sherbourne Conference Services benefitted from the start of her business Premier Event Services of $431,000 from 2004 – 2011. Parris made sure all close to him cleaned up on Clico policyholder’s fund.
Talking about nepotism and fleecing at the time of the fatted calf
Isn’t the partner in Premier Event Ismael who is head of the St.Micharl South Constituecy Council?
@ David…
YOU answer this question carefully…
WHY DID HE RESIGN? DID HE EVER SAY…?
…for all we know he found the bribes to be unattractive…. 🙂
Isn’t the partner in Premier Event Ismael who is head of the St.Michael South Constituency Council?
Correct both Ishmael and Faye Wharton Parris both worked at Sherbourne together and went off at the same time and started Premier Event Services with Clico’s free money.
@ David [BU]
Earlier you commented “BU is a niche player read by the political and middle class, it is not mass based…”
The ole man must with some agony say this
“We have met “the masses” and unfortunately if Wunna think that AC (whom Bajan Yankee? swore is Adrian Clark, and get cuss and threaten with a law suit) is an ingrunt fellow, in whichever manifestation they present themselves, we’ll let me tell wunna something, it is best to left dem out hear???
At we church, dem is a lot of dem “masses” causing “the opiate of the people” has a way of attracting the masses and the disenfranchised and let me tell you this, you really don’t want to have much to do with the “masses”
“Yeah the poor will be us constantly even unto the end of time” and while I am not trying to be elitist, given that I am one of the masses myself, I will caution you NOT to wish that they come here.
Just take a look at the commentary that is found on the Nation web pages and you get an idea of the rampant mediocrity that abounds.
De ole man is sorry to say this, but, given what BU is seeking to do, trying to bring numbers to the mix, while commendable, is going to open a whole can of worms and “Dompey-esque” dynamics which Bu could do without.
After taking seven years to build this product then to descend into such morass would be a crying shame.
But then again I am just a poor man who wanna be elitist in he ole age
Both Ronald Toppin and Frank King left the FTC without saying a pang.Most unacceptable.
Bush Tea March 15, 2015 at 3:01 PM #
Pulled for six, Sir.
Also, to take it further, under today’s legislation, Directors are personally liable for certain infractions by a company.
How many actually know that?
Likely why dem up and leave quietly, trying to get clear before dem get hit.
Don’t laugh at that guy who was left standing at the altar by his bride, as he could not do simple maths.
One day he may be given a work permit to come into Barbados to manage some government project or hotel,or an insurance company, as ‘no suitable candidates could be found locally.”
Would appreciate reading Layne’s entire interview if it is available.
@pieceuhderockyeahright March 15, 2015 at 4:43 PM,
I trust that your comments have been made in good jest?
@ pieceuhderockyeahright at 12:25 PM… you asking earlier if Terence Thornhill, the accountant was “not employed by Mr. Stuart’s gov’t as the guru of gurus for local investment in start-ups and related financial business dealings” at the Enterprise Growth Fund Limited?….Given that I had asked that question earlier I can say Ecco Homo “Behold the Man”===========
My remarks were a reinforcement of your comment.
It is tantamount to a game of 3-card mounty that our government which was privvy to the issues and concerns raised in the JM report were comfortable, displayed ultimate hubris or just didn’t give a **** to select Mr. Thornhill to the position.
Here is the video to accompany the story of the bride leaving her intended at the altar.
I hope this aint catching otherwise some people would be in a lot of trouble :-).
http://www.msn.com/en-ca/news/video/indian-bride-a-no-show-because-groom-lacks-smarts/vi-AA9NLwV
Everyone’s focus is on the CEO but he had a lot of help in achieving his goals, first the politicians whom he had in his back pocket, the Gov’t regulatory body responsible for the administration and good conduct of the Insurance business, the auditors who rubber stamped the annual financial statements, the underlings who never questioned any decision but went along for the ride as long as they were able to get some of the crumbs and finally the gullible public whose trust was bolstered by the actions of all those previously mentioned.
Recall that on April 14, 2011, and pursuant to section 57 of the Insurance Act of Barbados, the Barbados Supreme Court appointed Deloitte Consulting Ltd. as Judicial Manager [JM] of CLICO International Life Insurance Ltd. (CIL). The court also issued a further order setting out the authority of the JM, requiring them to file, within 30 days, an interim report with the court in relative to CIL’s operations.
The JM’s report of May 27, 2011 indentified a number inter-company balances and made note of experiencing some difficulty in obtaining supporting documentation to substantiate the amounts due from related companies.
As such, the JM subsequently made an application to the court recommending a forensic audit be conducted, with the primary objective of investigating these amounts in an effort to determine how they were created and what they represented.
It is important to note that the Supreme Court issued an order setting out the authority of the JM. Hence, the JM is duty bound to operate within the parameters of the order, and would have to seek the court’s permission to undertake any action that goes beyond the scope of the authority as stipulated by the order.
Therefore, for example, supposed the JM makes an application to the court recommending that further forensic audits be conducted on CLICO’s financial operations and the investigation revealed a number of financial improprieties. The JM could make an application seeking the court’s permission to have the relevant authorities investigate those individuals responsible for committing these acts.
Also, recall claim form 99/2015 filed in court by CLICO through the JM “alleging that on January 16, 2009, Parris “in breach of fiduciary duty and/or in breach of trust” procured a CLICO cheque, number 92, in the amount of $3.333M to Thompson & Associates, and are seeking that Leroy Parris, Branlee Consulting Services, and the estate of late Prime Minister David Thompson, represented by Mara Thompson, should account for those funds.
The JM has to provide the Financial Services Commission with a copy of the forensic audit report. The Financial Services Commission Act, specifically Sections 14 to 22 make for some very informative reading.
As it relates to this “new evidence” that some individuals on BU are hoping would compromise or question the validity of the forensic audit reports. They should be made aware that while conducting audits, whether they are financial or forensic, sometimes information can be purposely misplaced in an attempt to “cover-up” an illegal activity.
The auditors clearly stated, under the heading “Restrictions on Use” in both forensic reports, [page 2 of the December 5, 2011 report and page 1 of the June 21, 2013 report]:
“This report is based on information in our possession or provided to our firm by CIL, CHBL and their respective subsidiaries as at December 5, 2011. WE RESERVE THE RIGHT, BUT WILL BE UNDER NO OBLIGATION, TO UPDATE OUR FINDINGS FOR ANY NEW INFORMATION THAT BECOMES KNOWN TO US AFTER THE DATE OF THIS REPORT.”
@ Sargeant March 16, 2015 at 7:52 AM
“Everyone’s focus is on the CEO but he had a lot of help in achieving his goals, first the politicians whom he had in his back pocket, the Gov’t regulatory body responsible for the administration and good conduct of the Insurance business, the auditors who rubber stamped the annual financial statements, the underlings who never questioned any decision but went along for the ride as long as they were able to get some of the crumbs and finally the gullible public whose trust was bolstered by the actions of all those previously mentioned.”
Sarge, we couldn’t agree with you more. Bushie would recommend you for an instant promotion from a junior NCO to even a major NCO (Sergeant-major) for the above submission. You are beginning to see ‘the forest for the trees’.
But Sergeant-major, now we know what is what isn’t the same shit different day?
There are a few trees in the forest that you have not seen in order to get yourself out of the woods.
What are the branches of the tree representing the law enforcement agencies doing about the information now before them? Are they going to do diddlysquat thereby carrying on where the ‘bought politicians’, “Gov’t regulatory body” and rubberstamping fees grabbing auditors have left off?
Do you mean that not even a cent of moral compensation would the policyholders be getting by seeing the CEO and his accomplices behind bars and deprived of their ill-gotten gains?
I previously mentioned to Bushie, the role of the judicial manager, which included “procuring a more advantageous realization or distribution of the company’s assets amongst its creditors.”
Note that, in the Interim Report, the JM made mention of having found certain discrepancies is the disclosures relating to the value of CLICO’s assets, specifically the accounts receivable and referred to as “amounts due from related companies”, for which the auditors experienced some difficulty in obtaining any supporting documentation to substantiate the value of the assets.
As at the time of appointment of the JM [April 14, 2011] the interim report noted that CLICO’s assets totaled $802M, of which $446M was supported by the relevant documentation.
The report also made reference specifically to $370.1M in amounts receivable by CIL from related companies, “of which $319M was noted as receivable from CHBL and its subsidiaries.” The report also noted “that documents to support the majority of these inter-company receivables, including the amounts receivable from CHBL and its subsidiaries, could not be located at that time.”
As a result, it was upon this basis that the JM made an application to the court recommending a forensic audit of CIL be undertaken.
It is important to note that the JM negotiated a MOU between CIL, CHBL and parent company CLICO Financial Limited. One of the provisions of this MOU, as outlined in Section 10.1 states the following:
“CHBL shall provide the Judicial Manager and/or such persons authorized by the Judicial Manager access at all reasonable times to all contracts, financial information, records, agreements, deeds and other information related to transactions between CIL and CHBL, CIL and any subsidiary of CHBL”.
Therefore, CIL, CHBL and CFL were under obligation to provide the JM with all supporting documentation relative to substantiating the company’s financial transactions.
@Sargeant
Will try to locate the article for you.
On Monday, 16 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:
millertheanunnaki March 16, 2015 at 10:01 AM #
“Are the poor CLICO policyholders going to be left with only a moneybag of financial bones when the gang of vultures in the form of lawyers and accountants are finished with the CLICO cadaver? Do you mean that not even a cent of moral compensation would the policyholders be getting by seeing the CEO and his accomplices behind bars and deprived of their ill-gotten gains?”
Miller, along with Pachamama and Sargeant have made representation on behalf of the policy holders and, in doing so, may have made certain unfair statements relative to those persons who are involved in the JM process and the roles they have to undertake.
Bear in mind, when the JM has appointed, the company’s board of directors becomes functus officio and their functions and authority are transferred to the JM.
Once again I will refer to the duties of the judicial manager, which included “procuring a more advantageous realization or distribution of the company’s assets amongst its creditors.”
If you were to read the forensic report of December 5, 2011, page 3:
“The report of the Judicial Manager dated July 28, 2011 reported on the valuation of CIL‟s assets, including the inter-company balances, applying three different valuation scenarios.”
“As of May 31, 2011 the total amount due from related companies was $376mm.
• Under a Forced Liquidation scenario the fair market value of amounts due from related companies was estimated at $171mm
• Under an Orderly Liquidation scenario it was estimated at $190mm.”
“A deficit was also shown under a Going Concern valuation.”
“Accordingly, the report noted that “…THE COMPANY IS CHRONICALLY SHORT OF THE NECESSARY ASSETS REQUIRED TO COVER ITS POLICYHOLDER LIABILITIES and as such the shareholders of the Company have no residual equity interest.” Based on these valuations, it appears unlikely that the inter-company balances will be recovered in full.”
@Artax
The issue of concern to many are the unattended periods when the Oversight Committee and JMs were not in position.
@Sargeant
Is this the article you want to see?
http://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/layne.png
Thanks David
Pingback: A Culture Of Diminishing Corporate Governance | Barbados Underground
@Miller
++++++++++
The “poor CLICO policyholders” hereinafter referred to as “the lepers” since no one wants to touch them or advocate on their behalf are up the creek unless the Gov’t steps in to help them. The politically connected and those with family connections have already been taken care of and we have seen that there is no interest in prosecuting any one for this calamity despite all the compromising evidence.
Barbados seems to exist in a parallel universe, in the real world CEO’s receive bonuses when their companies have performed well and have met certain targeted goals. In Barbados CEOs demand bonuses when their businesses have lost money and are teetering on insolvency. When the CLICO debacle first became public the then PM spoke to Bajans and assured them that all was well and his Gov’t was injecting 10m to help it through its difficulties, in the ensuing period the CEO claimed a 10M bonus was due to him and received 1/3 via the same PM (yuh can’t make this stuff up) and as Wm Layne said if this happened in Canada or the US somebody would be locked up but this is a parallel universe and its business as usual.
The “lepers” have been sacrificed on the altar of political expediency, they are mostly elderly and don’t really have any political clout or influence and have been left up the proverbial creek.
Did anyone hear the old idiot on Brasstacks today saying that Mara Thompson should be the PM?
He said no one forced her to run but that the people wanted her, they love her and that she should be given a chance to carry on for her husband. She has done nothing wrong.
Corey did the right thing……let him talk his nonsense. Who would believe that in 2015 after all the evidence that has been put in the public domain on how wicked and thiefing David Thompson was, we still have old jackasses who believe in them.
Well, I be damned!
@Prodigal Son March 16, 2015 at 9:43 PM #
Who would believe that in 2015 after all the evidence that has been put in the public domain on how wicked and thiefing David Thompson was, we still have old jackasses who believe in them.
……………………………………………………………………………………………..
An inherited trait. Did you know that some Bajans who were lucky to have purchased or inherited land, back in the 40’s/50’s /60’s died, and bequeath their lands to plantation owners?
Not surprising that a blunder of this magnitude in respect to signatures by JM in the now touted report would be dismissed by a wave of the hand by the blp misfits. such a blunder under judicial prudence and fairness would bring the report itself into question for impartiality in content and be deemed characteristically tainted and flawed with providing such evedience to deliver a guilty outcome.
the report now hinges on questions that any fair minded person would asked, firstly it has given wrong information,on one account. which then begs the question how many more errors unknown to the public or answers that might be embellished or put in a context to sway or has been misinterpreted by the JM
under international law this report would not see the light of day under judicial process as it shows a blatant bias to misinformed or coverup evedience that would be of merit to delivered fair justice,
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
the above comment is worth repeating
in a article in barbados today lawyers representing lp has made a similar conclusion.
The Advocate printed the PR release about the “problems” with the CLICO report yesterday. Correct me if I am wrong but I don’t remember seeing any other coverage of the most recent JM’s report In the Advocate.
Why would that be?
Because the Advocate like the CBC is a PR organ of the government.
On Thursday, 19 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:
David; St GeorgesDragon said above:-
“The Advocate printed the PR release about the “problems” with the CLICO report yesterday”
Could you find a link to post here on the article in the Advocate? I suspect I am not the only one who does not read the advocate and so missed the PR statement.
AWTY
Neither do I read the Advocate and so I second the motion.
“The point was made that counsel for the two defendants “will fairly and fearlessly guard their clients’ right to justice and will spare no effort in so doing”.
That is what they are paid megabucks to do. Defend your client regardless of what he has been accused of.
If Leroy de leper had gone to the late Bree St John and brought a bag of solid gold bullion,Bree would tell ‘get to hell out of my office,yuh teef and yuh stinking dem’
Mr Gollop suggested to other Caricom Governments not to join the CCJ.He did so in the presence of Mr Smith,both of whom were shedding crocodile tears over a dismissal of a petition.
That excursion on CBC TVseem to be having the opposite effect.Dominica is now safely on board and St Kitts is indicating its time they got on board too.If I were in Gollop’s shoes I would take a step back and assess my public pronouncements as well as the instructions I am receiving from some of my clientele.Something is rotten in Denmark.
@ Gabriel
If Gollop was smart enough to recognize the inverse impact of his public pronouncements then he would not find himself making such idiotic statements in the first place.
Lets face it. For people like Froon and himself, the very best bet is to keep quiet and accept the criticism for poor communications.
At least that way, many people may still assume that a minimum level of intelligence resides under their grey hair.
Shiite man! even AC is now coming to accept that these jokers are really quite dense….
Pingback: Late Prime Minister David Thompson’s Name to be Given to St. John Polyclinic | Barbados Underground
Answer this Advocate: Is not the money Parris is fighting for not the investors?
Therefore they would be entitled to it first, and any residue could then be claimed by Parris, and others just like in bankruptcy. Afterall this is supposedly commissions, and not salary. If Parris needs living expenses, let him claim unemployment.
Who was in Government
5.18 The actual construction process was plagued with problems which resulted in major delays in the completion of the Police Station at Crab Hill, St Lucy, leading to considerable increase in its costs. The contract for the project was originally $1.4 million but the final cost was $4 million. The problems with the project included:
1. Incorrect setting out of the building and faulty construction work, with the resulting need for remedial work;
2. Poorly constructed foundation covering 30% of the floor space;
Approval was granted for BWA personnel to participate in a Utilities Best Practice United Kingdom Study Tour from July 10 – 17, 2010. A company was paid a total of $31,500 for coordinating and facilitating the Tour. Tickets valued at $10,708.03 were also purchased from a travel agency. At the time of the review there was no evidence provided to show that the tour took place or that these funds were ever recovered.
Goods ordered from a firm totalling Bds. $462,786.26 were paid for but not delivered. No due diligence was conducted on this firm which is based in the USA.
Authority’s Response: Suppliers that are engaged by the BWA through the tender process are required to submit a certificate of incorporation and a list of directors. All other suppliers will receive a document detailing BWA’s requirements
On quotation 1027916 dated June 11, 2010 the amount quoted for the supply of goods was BDS$61,200. However, the payment was made for US$61,200.
Authority’s Response: The BWA has written and emailed the supplier requesting a refund of the overpayment. Secondly, the BWA is pursuing legal action against the supplier on this matter and others.
Mia, Owen, Chris, Fruendel, Duprey and Parris are all persons of honor. Thus the saying their is much honor among equals who rob the poor.
FearPlay March 23, 2015 at 11:24 AM #
…………………………………………………………………………………
Not to worry,as soon as we go Republic, we will have our own Final Appeal Court, and headed by the likes of Gollop.
@rachrse “If Parris needs living expenses, let him claim unemployment.”
I think that perhaps Leroy is too old to claim unemployment benefits, but he can certainly claim his old age contributory pension (once he has been making his National Insurance payments) but since the maximum contributory pension is only $506.13 that may not be enough for a member of the political class. And Leroy, the Prime Minister’s friend is certainly a member of the political class.
@ Colonel buggy
Not to worry,as soon as we go Republic, we will have our own Final Appeal Court, and headed by the likes of Gollop
so that may be the reason he has been appointed chair of the ERT, the final appeals court for victimized workers…..
The Trinidadian Central Bank Governor Jwala Rambarran said “As I indicated before the most important guiding principle of our CLICO Resolution Plan was to take action for the benefit of CLICO policyholders and creditors and we wholeheartedly believe this will be accomplished.”
I guess locking up Duprey was not his focus.
Good luck to the BIPA members and the Bajan policy holders.
@ Hants March 28, 2015 at 8:41 PM
Now where would this money come from to save the poor CLICO life insurance and pensioners?
Let us forget about the greedy EFPA gamblers. For if you smoke a spliff with the devil you are bound to get burn instead of high returns.
Instead of your twat of a P M asking about lists he should be creatively imaginative enough (as a leader with vision ought to be) to propose the launching of a 10 year bond guaranteed by the Government of Barbados with sufficient face value to meet the costs of compulsorily acquiring all the lands and buildings and other tangible assets currently owned by CLICO which would be invested in a company primarily owned by the same aggrieved policyholders.
@ Hants
I guess locking up Duprey was not his focus
This is Trinidad you are talking about Hants…
Shiite man, if they were to lock up all the big crooks they would have to put the couple honest people in jail ….and lock the multitudes of crooks outside…..
millertheanunnaki March 28, 2015 at 9:01 PM #
……………………………………………………………………………
For a start, we have $5 million of the tieffing CLICO money in our Central Bank.
@ millertheanunnaki wrote “Instead of your twat of a P M ”
He is your PM not mine. I am a Canadian citizen. lol
If he was my PM he would “take action for the benefit of CLICO policyholders and creditors”
Now I have very important matters to attend to. Cricket starting in 1 hour and 10 minutes and F1 starting at 3am.
The lack of payments to Clico policy holders is all related to our inadequate monetary policy. If people are paid, they will spend the money and a great percentage of the money spent will go towards buying things that are imported. Imagine how much FX would decline if the Government made good on looking after the Clico mess. Until we have positive FX inflows nothing will happen.
””GET WHAT YOU can now, as there may be nothing left if this situation drags on.
That essentially, is the advice to policyholders of CLICO International Life Insurance Limited (CIL) from two financial experts.
Asked which was the better option – liquidation as recommended by the judicial manager (JM) Deloitte Consulting Limited acting through Patrick Toppin, or creation of a new company to take over CIL’s assets – both professionals concluded liquidation was the way to go.
Chartered accountant and driving force behind the Barbados Association of Corporate Shareholders, Douglas Skeete, said the public would have little confidence in the new company as “Barbadians would say no to anything with a whiff of CLICO.
The alternative then would be liquidation because you cannot continue to run the company.” (SP)
Please read the full story in today’s Sunday Sun, or in the eNATION edition”’.
– See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/65464/closing-clico-option#sthash.BNAbdSzb.dpuf
When we gave this advice more than 2 years ago some were ‘hesitant’ to say the least.
That is the thing with people who cannot see the future, as God, but yet pretend to be smart.
Now that it is settled knowledge great losses are to be counted.
This now three months I am without a pension and those crooks are living sweet and we the pensioners are suffering. God please help us. Why the people in Trinidad receive their money and we cannot?
@Petra March 29, 2015 at 11:12 PM “Why the people in Trinidad receive their money and we cannot?”
Because Trinidad has oil money and we don’t.
Because the Prime Minister’s friend Leroy Parris done lick up you money.
Man, how the news kill the CLICO PONZI already, Like it never happened with the PM and his PLOY to distract the people with getting rid of the Queen , This is a real POLY to change the focus of the topic of the people ,
Is it that simple to play and get away with doing wrong ?
Stay On it BU , Clico clioc CLICO more fraud to come , stay on Parris , Mr Leroy he is the way in , just keep checking his land deals and see the laundering at the land tax office , Wayne Forde also need to be looked at,
why oh why are the business people in Barbados and the Caribbean so petty-minded, trifling and small in the way they perceive competition.
Competition is a good thing, it creates jobs and better service for everyone….of course LIAT and those who run that company into the ground would never get that concept, it just don’t compute. steupss
Stupid, backward and ignorant does not even begin to describe these bunch of idiots whose only claim to fame and ambition are tied to useless titles.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/65550/airline-rival-liat-proposed
Being greedy, trifling and small-minded creates Clicos and CGI’s and all the other dishonest business people who now have the island under siege using lawyers and doctors…they create victims of taxpayers, but the politicians allow these travesties to continue because they themselves are also greedy, trifling and small-minded.
I hope all BU family is listening to BrassTacks. A certain QC is on the airwaves presenting Leroy Parris’s case which is a constitutional motion against Government.
This is a curious case since as this QC has pointed out his client is really suing the Barbados Government. Here is my concern:
Will this matter now be heard by the CJ and if so is it reasonable that he recuse himself having been appointed by the Government who jumped through hoops to appoint him? If they rule in favour of LP, will he then be given damages – to wit – will the CJ and the Court award Mr. LP money from the taxpayers of Barbados because it has taken the courts a couple months to hear his matter.
Will they then also “unfreeze” the man’s assets so they can fly?
What is the importance of the timing of this matter? Does he “NEED” to have his assets unfrozen before the court examines the final report of the Judicial Manager sometime in the middle of the month? Put another way is this a well-cooked and concocted scheme to have these assets unfrozen so Mr. LP can send these stolen assets to Cayman or some other jurisdiction beyond the reach of the Barbados Court system.
this is a very serious set of tactics because we now have a situation where LP gets to sue a friendly Government by way of a constitutional motion. Cabinet/his friend the PM or his other friend AR the AG (related to AC) can choose not to contest this lawsuit or enter a wishy-washy defence – thus giving more dollars to LP from the Treasury.
We need to be vigelent and to make our voices heard. A thief should not be allowed to band together with other thieves to t’ief mo’ money from taxpayers!
Parris is entitled to exhaust all avenues the laws of the country support to seek justice.
And so are the policy-holders. And the tax-payers. In this particular case the issue I have with it is that two unusual events occurred – one: the original judge recused himself and two: Parris’ attorney’s then objected against the second judge. Surely it is a case that ought therefore to be thrown out because LP’s attorney’s are intimately aware of the circumstances and indeed helped to create the conditions about which he now files a constitutional motrion. This should be thrown out and Parris asked to pay Government’s costs.
Let us see if the AG office files a counter motion. Don’t hold your breath though.
Am I missing something here? The assets were frozen because a Forensic Audit revealed the possibility that a crime had been committed. So how can an appeal against the freezing of the said assets be heard before a criminal investigation has been completed? What is the difference between this and the freezing of the assets of a drug dealer until the matter of the accusation of drug dealing has appeared before the Court? It seems to me like the drug dealer’s lawyer is saying, “this accusation is unfounded, therefore give my client back his money and never mind no court case”. Huh?
@Bdosmike – I believe while you are partially correct, the problem is that such freezings are normally done as “ex parte” proceedings meaning in this case without the presence of LP and his lawyers – for obvious reasons. If we serve someone with notice that we are bringing a motion to freeze their assets, they would just move the assets before the court decide,
So it would have been expected that having frozen the assets, a date would be set and the matter presented and defended by the respective parties and then a final order of the court would be given which could and probably would be appealed.
My real hope in this is that LP and his lawyers continue merrily along and climb high enough that the monkey show he tail and could find some good crminal and other grounds for suit by policy-holders.
Certainly as a policy-holder I am now very interested in how a constitutional motion could be used to recover more of our money – Government having been made aware of certain matters and continuously failing to act. Sounds like a breach of my rights.
The term running with the hare and hunting with the hounds, comes to mind in the case of the CJ
@ Exclaimer April 2, 2015 at 8:54 AM #
This post was published on April 1st and was clearly designed as an April Fool’s joke.
Stuart must be creasing himself up with laughter.
Please stop this side show and concentrate on the bigger story: Clico
………………………
You are so right, Exclaimer.
Did you hear that jackass Hal Gollop today on Brasstacks? And to think that David Ellis gave him so much time to talk shiite defending a known THIEF, a man who along with a former PM, David Thompson, plundered and raped a whole company, leaving a shell behind in wake of their destruction.
By their wicked, thieving deeds, they have left thousands of policyholders penniless and this arselicker on radio talking shiite that it is taking too long to get a matter heard. Who the hell cares, the policyholders waiting long too!
Is he for real? The policyholders have been lied to for the past 6-7 years and as a man who came from humble beginnings, he has no heart for their plight. I have a friend whose dad has gone to his grave without recovering a cent of his money. In his latter years, when he really needed a full time nurse, she had to make the hard decision to get rid of the nurse and just try to care for him the best she could because funds were tight.
I know another lady who now is barely surviving on a NIS pension and cannot get a cent of her money out of CLICO. And Hal Gollop talking shiite for a mass robber and crook? Look how long the other crook Carrington kept Mr Griffith to get him money and he only got it after the court put him under an order to pay up.
Bloody crooks they all all, there is a special place in hell for these monsters!
Fair comment Tell me. I think the monkey’s ‘tail’ is already on display and has been to many people for quite some time….. By the way, do be aware that BIPA already has a case in the High Court against the directors and others and depending on the outcome of the liquidation hearings on 17th, 20th and 21st, will proceed accordingly.
What happened to the case against Parris for continuing to sell the scam policies AFTER being instructed to stop by the Supervisor of Insurance?
Is Hal Gollop anxious to get that one expedited too…?
@ Prodigal
“….there is a special place in hell for these monsters!”
…only half right.
There is ALSO karma for their asses right here on earth too….. you watch!
This country is rapidly becoming like Dodge City. Everyone seem to do as he likes, and at times with the backing or a turn of a blind eye , of the government and the authorities.
A man was shot dead in the middle of the street, and his son beside him was shot in the back a number of times. The man responsible for the shooting,a policeman, was sent on leave with pay a few days after the incident, or so we were told.
But in today’s Nation we learn that this man is still on duty, and has been reported by the National Union of Public Workers to have harassed ,by his actions, a Custom Officer /Guard at the Bridgetown port in recent days. It was also reported that this same police officer, was responsible for causing a ruckus ,which almost led to a shut down of the airport , when he had arrested the same Custom Officer/ Guard who was on duty there ,at a time when both of them were attached to the Grantley Adams airport.
It would be interesting to hear a statement from the Acting COP, who has pledged to weed out the rotten apples from the RBPF.
From other information contained in the Nations report, it strengthens my belief that this police who seems to be an untouchable ,and who is about to get away with a killing and attempted killing , is either a member of the ruling Democratic Labour Party, and / or a member of the Fraternity.
Another prerequisite to becoming a republic.
It is quite obvious that the country and the victims in this matter were lied to……we were told that the man was sent on leave. There is some disturbing “gossip” going around on this matter and is quite frightening really.
It is quite clear that this man is an untouchable………crumbs, we the taxpayer have had to pay for his crap and he is still on the job, now back to harassing people and has no shame or guilt that he murdered one man and nearly killed the the son.
Only in Barbados………….I really want t o hear the COP and the AG on this. They knew how to harass and arrest the Nation staffers for posting a stupid, obscene picture of two school children but cannot touch this man?
What’s next?
Now maybe we see the reasons they want to turn we into a Banana Republic. Where a policeman couls shoot an innocent man and be still on the job and where a known thief could now sue the Republic because his case taking too long even though he refused to be heard by heard by one judge. The Banana Republic of Barbados is upon us.
Tell me,
I have a feeling that Hal Gollop will refuse every judge assigned to this case to have the CJ hear it with the excuse that no other judge would hear it. Then he would get what they want……a DLP appointed CJ for whom the constitution had to be changed and who is pals with the PM. Certainly the PM’s pal is not going to rule against his pal’s pal.
This is so obvious the game that is being played with the policyholders being the losers. How does people like Hal Gollop, Leroy Parris, Mara Thompson sleep at nights?
One judge recused himself for reasons and Hal Gollop cry foul.The matter went before another judge and Hal Gollop found reasons to cry foul again.So now it’s even steven.While the matter has gone to its rightful place at the bottom of the pile,Hal Gollop cries foul again.Since he is unable to get Froon’s partner to remove the case from the bottom of the pile,he files a new motion.Now bear in mind that Smith QC is the senior counsellor yet Gollop is doing all the talking.What is one to read into that development?Is there an unwilling participant going along for the ride?And why is Gollop trying the matter in the court of public opinion?
And since the then Supervisor of Insurance and the then Commissioner of Police had taken the illegal 800 policies matter to court,why were they both summarily removed from office and sent on administrative leave,with the court case hanging in limbo.There is a breakdown in law and order in Bim and it is to be placed fairly and squarely on the current Democratic Labour Party government mixing business with friendship.When Gibson done with Justice in Bim,he will jump on the next Uncle Sam jet and leave the mess for Bajans to clean up.
Prodigal Son April 2, 2015 at 4:54 PM #
How does people like Hal Gollop, Leroy Parris, Mara Thompson sleep at nights?
………………………………………………….
On nice soft clico dollar- filled mattresses and pillows.
…………………………..
All roads ,and especially those going directly to hell, lead to the Prime Minister
The acting COP get his pick ,due to the help of the shooter, that cause the down fall of the real cop, don’t forget the acting COP was the subject of an investigation some time ago and not inline for the top spot, but hand pick by this D Loving people, in case heads have to be crack
@ Colonel Buggy
I have been in Fraternity and know a lot of what it is about being in position to know the working of the Lodge , the only Fraternity at work here, is the BULLERS CLUB WITH SOME TOP UGLY PEOPLE
watchman April 2, 2015 at 6:58 PM #
The acting COP get his pick ,due to the help of the shooter, that cause the down fall of the real cop, don’t forget the acting COP was the subject of an investigation some time ago and not inline for the top spot, but hand pick by this D Loving people, in case heads have to be crack.
…………………………………………………………………………………….
There is a toss up as to whether the Bajan memory is short ,or just convenient.
Two weeks ago an ex Cop was remanded on a drug charge. He is the same fellow that was jointly involved in the same Scotland Yard investigation some years ago.
@ Colonel Buggy
Must up your ranking ,you can connect dots ,some of the dots gone way back in this movie its all about the BACK , with words like GETTING , PAYING, how this end may be very ULGY
CLICO policyholders waiting 6-7 years and Hal Gal-lop-pee mekkin noise bout 2 months….Hal affa this case U reputation gone to D lepers ya hear….sold for 30 pieces of silver…. Hal man up do….U know how many people would like their case call in 2 months?This Clico dirt stiffles so as brand name Ds.
Well, I see Leroy Parris has his attorney pushing for him . What about our pensioners who have not receive a dime for the year from CLICO for the year. My hard earned cash is now up in smoke and I am struggling to make ends meet in my golden years. Hal Gollop shame on you Parris should be in jail as I speak instead he is complaining. I am waiting to see the outcome of this for Parris with his top lawyers I cannot even put food on my table in the way I was doing before. Help . Help, Help.
When will this ridiculous man and his thiefing client realise that no-one on this planet except his ‘pals’ could give a flying jobbie about his “rights” or whether the justice system is delivering justice to him in a timely manner. What about the rights of the 25,000 whose lives he has devastated and those who have died waiting for THEIR rights and justice. Go fly a fu*#ing kite!
Petra April 3, 2015 at 9:19 AM #
Barbadians need to stop all of this long talk and pleading and adopt a more militant attitude towards these damn crooks who fleeced them of their hard earned money and pensions. These CLICO policy holders are about to be kicked in the arse a second time,as taxpayers, compensating Leroy Parris. Cause sure as hell, with his influential buddies and pals backing and advising him , he will sure to win.
Score Leroy Parris – 2 Clico Policy Holders -Nil
Referees and Linesmen……..Stuart , Gollop, AG and CJ.
Venue. Illaro Court ,Bay Street and Lower Estate.
@ onion bags April 3, 2015 at 8:29 AM.
“CLICO policyholders waiting 6-7 years and Hal Gal-lop-pee mekkin noise bout 2 months….Hal affa this case U reputation gone to D lepers ya hear….sold for 30 pieces of silver…. Hal man up do….U know how many people would like their case call in 2 months?This Clico dirt stiffles so as brand name Ds.”
Good point raised there, OB.
And to think this same hypocrite passing for a lawyer- the type the figuratively crucified Jesus condemned- is the Chairman of the Employment Rights Committee. How would he feel sitting in ‘judgment’ to hear the cases of those NCC workers that have been deprived of their rights going 2 years now? Don’t you think these former workers’ Constitutional rights have been breached? We will not even mention the many people on remand at Dodds for over two years whose rights to a fair and timely hearing are violated daily.
Can’t the same shallow Hal Gollop QC (Quintessential Comedian or Rhianna’s Bajan favourite appellation) also see a ‘perceived’ bias on his part in the capacity of the Chair of the ERT given his close relationship with the person who recommended the matter be sent to a practically non-existent non-functioning civil court?
Given his many ongoing intense private ‘professional’ commitments in trying to save his client Leroy Parris sorry ass what time would he have to effectively deliberate and cogitate over the many cases before the ERT to ensure swift justice for the workers allegedly deprived of their employment rights and their right to earn an honest living?
Don’t you, Sir Over-Busy Hal (we heard you are up for one of the last knighthood for obsequiously defensive yeoman and sometimes sterling sycophancy passing for political service rendered to your King Stuart) think you are carrying too much on your plate of political armour at this time of your autumn years of life given your health challenges?
How could you, Sir Hal QC, in all honesty, perform the duties of a de facto judge in rendering justice for the NCC workers when not only your politically dirty slip is showing but also when you speak with a forked legal tongue where people’s Constitutional rights are involved; giving real meaning to, and indeed fears about, Adonijah’s lyrical observations of “Two Barbadoeses” where the Law is concerned.
The Law might be seen as a blind ass but it can’t be that ‘pellucidly’ unfair and one-sided against the poor.
But let us look at the bright side. Could it be that Hal is a godsend to ‘legally’ deprive Leroy Greenverbs Parris of the millions he stole from the poor CLICO policyholders in the form of exorbitant legal fees and expenses?
Leroy would most likely reap what he sowed as the harvester of Retribution appears in the form of legal vultures gnawing away at the stolen monetary flesh of a fallen and mortally wounded leper pal of the Prime Minister.
Could this be Stuart’s way of permanently sullying and destroying in iconoclastic warfare the memory of his former archenemy David “I shall not lie, cheat or steal” Sweetcakes Thompson?
What would Gollop get from this political war of revengeful assassination (using Leroy Parris for collateral damage) other than a large monetary estate for his son? Is this the consideration being paid in advance for higher political rewards promised by the wannabe King Canute Stuart?
@ Miller
Hal Gollop is just an opportunist like Stuart @ Gang..and hell bent on fleecing poor people for their own advancement. Listening to educated Hal on my TV, I had always believed somewhere down there was a hint of integrity in the manicoo….but now after his latest bullshittery….I realized that he is just another flee-bag lookin for money anyway he can….. TWO MONTHS Hal?….I know a man waiting for 14 years now just to have an appeal case just call far less heard…..where is the justice in this Republic? Marston too, I cry shame on you and now understand why ur life long buddy sent for you from USA to man this Banana justice system….a real stinking affair I say….where is the justice in this Banana Republic?
According to yesterday’s Trinidad Express Clico has set aside $48.5million to repay its former directors or their companies.Clico has also repaid the Trinidad Government $7 billion so far.Why does Clico Barbados,part of the CL Financial group of companies,appear to be left out in the cold.Is it because this DLP administration lack networking skills.If EWB is an example of what can be achieved with a phone call to the right and proper ear,am I to conclude that FJS is sadly lacking in those skills and contacts.Is there no one to help the sleeping giant.He does appear to be a genuine fellow.
Whoa Gabriel;
Have the former CLICO (Bdos) directors lost anything of substance due to the Trinidad collapse? What repayment what?