When Will the Director of Public Prosecutions Charles Leacock ACT in the CLICO Leroy Parris Matter?

CLICO Cheque_Leroy Parris

CLICO’s Leroy Parris approved a payment to Thompson & Associates on a false invoice

The Deloitte CLICO Forensic Report exposed to the world that a cheque for 3.333 million dollars was paid to Thompson & Associates by CLICO for legal services rendered. The invoice to support the payment was found to be a ‘false invoice’. Maurice King (lawyer)  is listed on the fake invoice as providing a watching brief in matters related to Abarco versus Grant Hotels Limited for $250,000. Maurice King is on record denying he provided the service itemized on the (fake) invoice.

Further, in the Forensic Report which was recently unsealed by Justice William Chandler, the former group financial controller, and at the time of the audit, President and CEO of Clico Holdings Barbados Limited Terrence Thornhill  confirmed to the Deloitte Auditors the following –  “He believed that the creation, approval and submission for payment of a false invoice to facilitate a significant payment from CIL to Mr.Parris’ benefit (via PFS) and to conceal its true nature was an acceptable transaction” (Deloitte’s Forensic Report p.14).

Barbados Underground (BU) sincerely submits there is enough information for Director of Public Prosecutions to ACT!

65 thoughts on “When Will the Director of Public Prosecutions Charles Leacock ACT in the CLICO Leroy Parris Matter?

1. When he finds time to get off the golf course (Barbados Golf Club) where that 2 million government loan hasn’t been repaid.

2. Pingback: When Will the Director of Public Prosecutions Charles Leacock ACT in the CLICO Leroy Parris Matter?

3. He need to be replaced and the person who put him in that job,

4. And to think this man David Thompson committed this fraud while he was the Prime Minister of this country.

I followed David Thompson’s path in politics and I always knew he was a fraud…..I never trusted the man and to think he ran a campaign………I will not lie, cheat or steal! The bad deeds of this man have followed him beyond his grave!

5. When will the CLICO pensioners get their pensions???????????????????. I am struggling to make ends meet.

6. Somebody….I say, somebody come quick and save Barbados pleaseeeeeeee. All this shiit that happening can’t be for reallllllllllllll!!!!!!! peoples lives in the can and those who we pay high salaries to and have trusted won’t even move a lil finger to save CLICO victims from being unfaired. Where is the justice, where is justice?

7. And there are some pensioners whose registered pension plan was hijacked from Life of Barbados to Clico and through no fault of the pensioners.The story surrounding this reality is that Duprey was made chairman of the board of the a company which was headquartered in Trinidad with a branch office in Barbados,and Duprey used his clout as chairman of the big company to move the administration of the pension plan to Clico.The plan is now in jeopardy because Clico is saying they have no money to pay the pensioners some of whom served that company for over 40 years.And that crook de leper in court everday trying to convince a judge that he destitute and can’t pay his bills.What about these workers who sacrificed 10% of their salary towards their pension and now in the twilight of their years cannot get ONE BLIND CENT from Clico because of the dishonesty of crooks like duprey and parris.Fuvckrs all.

8. @Barbados Underground “(BU) sincerely submits there is enough information for Director of Public Prosecutions to ACT!”

Dear David: Haven’t you heard that Leroy Parris is not a leper and that he is Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s friend?

In Barbados we don’t charge Prime Minister’s friends with anything.

Was Rodney Wilkinson ever charged with anything while he was a Prime Ministerial friend?

Stupseee!!!!!

9. “Booking Return Flights”

A very strange title to blog on as such relates to pensioners and retired persons receiving annuity payments for monies one has invested with all sincerity of receiving payouts in one’s golden years from the Ponzi Scheme run by Leroy Parris and Duprey.

But here is the thing nuh about us ole fogeys.

We isn’t on no return flights, we are on a one way trip to wherever…

We can be likened to the Kamikazi pilots of the Japanese Special Attack Unit, whose aviation duties, towards the end of the war, were “to seek a glorious death” while dive bombing their planes into the decks of the US and allied warships

And, in an effort to ensure that the aviators of the “Tokubetsu Kōgekitai” could not return, the Japanese command that gave the 3860 of them these duties, only gave them enough aviation fuel for a “One Way Trip”, NO RETURN FLIGHT!!

The ole man reads that “only 19% of these Kamikazi were able to hit their targets but I would send out a cautious word to a few of you who have, and continue to benefit from these ill gotten gains of hard working people like the “petras” among us, remember that unlike all wunna young peeples dat “can book return flights” ours is a one way path now.

You will do well to remark on the Trinidad Express article of January 20th 2012 which reads “CLICO agent Solomon Hem-Lee, who said he had received death threats as a result of the collapse of the insurance company, was found murdered in Enterprise, Chaguanas, just after midnight yesterday.”

The longest day has an end for all of us……

10. Piece

Talking about day…..
    Yesterday….Barbados’ esteemed PM…..Freundel Stuart rubbed shoulders and broke bread with the POTUS, Barack Obama.

Great picture…….keep it to show your grandchildren!

• Didn’t the late David Thompson meet and greet the POTUS with his sidekick at the time Harley as well? What good has it done for the country or Thompy for that matter.

On 10 April 2015 at 10:27, Barbados Underground wrote:

11. Prodigal Son April 9, 2015 at 8:51 PM #

Deeds,

The DPP is a socialite!@ Hes nothing more than a Plug, that plug will be removed so the dirty water may drain out,

He will pay for his sins on Earth or in hell, and hell will burn much brighter when he and the rest get there, The Devil will be happy for the extra heat.

As long as we all stand for what is right and true nothing will allow them to stand for long , If you can feel , the feel is working against them and they feel it,
    Barbados is a much better place before there crooks came to be and much better after they are gone,

The time for them is at an END, We dont type every thing nor say every thing , But we know More things, Its their turn and time to be replace ,,,,,,Thy Kingdom Come,

12. Hello David…..show some respect our former PM is not Thompy for you!

Give him his correct title as he was then….The Most Honourable Prime Minister, David Thompson; QC, MP.
    And yes he did meet the POTUS along with his political adviser, Mr. Hartley Henry.

13. @ Fractured BLP
    How can you call for respect for any one of the in DLP, PM and Ministers and yard ducks like you of today lost the respect when they sat back and allowed David Thompson to thief the clico policyholders money to buy votes to win an election I forgive you and your kind that don’t know wrong from right and can’t even see how the curse is on the move , you are sick

14. ………..Hello David…..show some respect our former PM is not Thompy for you!

Give him his correct title as he was then….The Most Honourable Prime Minister, David Thompson; QC, MP…………….

No honour among thieves. The only PM who was proven that he lied, cheated and stole while being in office……..committed fraud at the highest level……..created an false invoice for his friend and him to steal CLICO policyholders’ monies and even implicated a respected lawyer, Maurice King in the fraud.

All he thief………look he dead and aint alive to enjoy a cent. The other partner in crime is today a haunted man, cant enjoy the loot and is going mad because some of it is frozen!

Honourable???????That word could never be applied to a crook!

15. As long as BU continues and until Leroy Parris is charged and if it were possible to charge the dead thief, we will continue to talk about the bold face crook. He was no more honourable than Gear Box and Gear never robbed a fellow.

• Unthinkable is happening, many Combermerians have been distancing themselves from the late Thompy.

16. @Fractured BLP
    I know it is said, speak no ill of the dead, but what David Thompson did to some of his own members of the DLP to reach the top, clico policyholders and Barbados by being a bold face thief , an evil person like he was, that dry up and dead, should be the talk in Barbados for years to come, because his curse is still alive in the D Loving Party, PM , Ministers, the yard ducks like you, that eat the curse cow

17. @ Prodigal Son please do not besmirch the name of the late Gear Box who at a point in his life contributed honorably to society as a mechanic.

18. Hants,

I did not mean to. I tried to do a comparison with a man who conned people to believe he was honourable and who deceived Barbadians ………. and a simple soul to whom some Barbadians listen to and believed. People still talk about Gear Box and can laugh but mention the name David Thompson and you can hear the stupseeees!

I would never understand how people still believe and trusted David Thugsom after the political stunt he pulled in 1994 when all during the campaign he told people that OSA made a deal with the IMF and he was going to expose it. Well, the whole campaign went on and he waited until the final night to woo people to come to Queen’s Park to hear of this deal. People were stupid enough to follow the liar. I have a friend who went because he wanted to hear of this deal, he could not believe that the man could be such a fraud. This was kinda like the Haggatt Hall meeting, well Barbadians believed his lies about OSA not knowing that he was the bigger thief.

Dont speak evil of the dead……….Thugsom will know no peace as long as CLICO pensioners cannot get a cent in pension while his wife sits on millions of their money!

19. Fractured BLP April 10, 2015 at 6:27 AM “Yesterday….Barbados’ esteemed PM…..Freundel Stuart rubbed shoulders and broke bread with the POTUS, Barack Obama. Great picture…keep it to show your grandchildren!”

Dear Fractured BLP:

I can assure you that our grandchildren will care nothing for Freundel Stuart nor for Barack Obama. You or Freundel can keep the picture and use it to line the bottom of your bird cage, or use it to wrap up fish.

Wunna politicians, and moreso wunna political pimps does take wunna-self far, far to seriously.

And de ting is nobody else does.

LOL!!!!!

20. @David at 6:06…Unthinkable is happening, many Combermerians have been distancing themselves from the late Thompy.==============

Do tell!

That Waterford school alumni are disowning their king, truly?

That would be remarkable. Both the King and his Queen enjoyed sojourns there and both were well loved according to all reports

Or is it just those self identified Waterfordites here on BU who have already lambasted him and completely distanced themselves.

Like the other traditional older secondary schools the feelings tend to run deep for illustrious grads and can seemingly (oft’times) cut across political lines.

21. David April 10, 2015 at 6:06 PM #

Unthinkable is happening, many Combermerians have been distancing themselves from the late Thompy

Too bloody late. There is an old Bajan saying ” If ya walk with the dog, then ya does eat dog food”

22. @ Mr. Caswell Franklyn

In an earlier thread John Hanson/Deeds made a very insightful observation regarding the issue of a future administration relieving the DPP of his duties.

De ole man was wondering if there was a procedure for such or under what circumstances that could be done.

You are a man versed in these things so I said I would ask you since when I went searching for this I could not find it on de cvntputer.

What I did find related to the statutory duties of the DPP in the UK and Wales and the ole man plagiarized the item and pasted it here because I am lefd to believe that Barbados Law and UK/Wales Law are similar, but I could be wrong.

You and Ross can tell me if I am.

“The chief function of the DPP is to bring prosecutions for indictable criminal offences. The Royal Ulster Constabulary (RUC) continue to have responsibility for prosecuting minor cases. The Department of the DPP therefore handles the prosecution of all indictable offences and such summary offences which are considered should be dealt with, including all offences arising out of the conflict, and also offences allegedly committed by non-civilians.’

The following process is then instituted:

‘Both in England and Wales and in Northern Ireland it is the duty of the Director of Public Prosecutions to consider the weight of the evidence against potential defendants. That consideration must be conducted without bias, WHOEVER THE POTENTIAL DEFENDANT MAY BE. The question which has to be decided is whether, on the evidence available, there is a reasonable prospect of securing a conviction in the Court which has jurisdiction to try the case.’

If a decision is taken to prosecute, the DPP decides what the charges should be and whether the defendant should be tried summarily or on indictment.

THE DPP IS NOT LIMITED TO INITIATING PROSECUTIONS FOLLOWING RUC INVESTIGATIONS. He may also require the RUC to investigate incidents brought to his attention by some other channel. He also conducts prosecutions on behalf of government departments when required to do so in writing.

But then again Mr. Franklyn, we are a banana republic so the rule of law will not obtain here and because our version of this Clico debacle is one step below that now being openly experienced in Zimbabwe, stoked by Zulu King Goodwill Zwelithini

http://www.newzimbabwe.com/news/images/news_bKing_Goodwill_Zwelithini.jpg

does not have bodies lying in our streets, and people arent being thrown out of their homes so blatantly, then we are more civilized than that republic.

So hundred of the retirees who have received foreclosure notices dont equate to King David conspiring with leroy to undermine the bajan investors’ investments.

Nor old people who have lost their investments not having enough $$ to buy food, pay bills and dying for lack of medical care does not equate to people being murdered on the streets of Durham

That is the thing about murder Mr. Franklyn.

If i hit you with a bottle or shoot you on your gallery in Butlers Avenue Spooners Hill for taking money from we igrunt guyanese for falsifying passports when i get caught that is murder

But if i kill you with radioactive polonium in a meal, or by withholding medicine that is critical to your health at the druggist or not giving you your pension, NIS or Unemployment cheque or wages every month so that you, your chilren and grans can eat, that is not murder nor manslaughter, it is just the mismanagement of the “physical deficit”

Only GOD can judge this world…

23. St George’s Dragon April 9, 2015 at 8:52 PM #

“I know Charles Leacock has few friends on BU but surely the role of the DPP is to review police investigations and decide whether to prosecute based on the evidence produced. See clause 3.1 of this: Is it not the COP who needs to ACT?”

You are correct SGD. However, this CLICO issue is not as simple as many are making it out to be, whereby the officer in charge of the RBPF’s Financial Investigations Unit reading the forensic audit report and assigning officers to investigate with the intension of arresting and charging Leroy Parris, et al, for an offence.

We must bear in mind that the CLICO issue is a private matter, and as such, despite the fact the forensic audit report revealed a number of financial improprieties, the onus was on CLICO’s management, the Oversight Committee, Judicial Managers or the Court to have suggested the police be invited to conduct the relevant investigations.

• @Artax

You are reminded:

CLICO file for DPP

Mike King,

Added 07 April 2011

CLICO’s alleged contravention of an August 2009 order by the Supervisor of Insurance to stop selling new business is headed for the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP). Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin told the DAILY NATION yesterday he had spoken with the Fraud Department head, the lead investigator, who is “just at the point where he is soon going to be referring the file to the Director of Public Prosecutions for guidance”. Dottin said there were several people to be interviewed in the probe where CLICO is alleged to have sold 800 life policies in the first two months of 2010. “It is certainly not the run-of-the-mill case. It is not every day that you get a case of that nature. There is high public interest in the matter, and we are seeking to have the investigation completed as soon as possible,” he said.

– See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/49138/clico-file-dpp#sthash.9JehFXs6.dpuf

• @Artax

Are you confirming then that the Judicial Manager in the face of obvious fraud (fake invoice) has NOT invited the police to investigate the matter?

24. David April 11, 2015 at 3:00 PM #

Although I understand the point you are trying to make, you must appreciate there are a few differences between the forensic audit report and the case you have outlined.

Recall in August 2009 CLICO’s subsidiary, CLICO International Life Insurance (CIL), was prohibited by the then Deputy Supervisor of Insurance, Vernese Brathwaite, from selling new business.

1) It must also be noted that violation of an order from the SOI is a criminal act. Hence, any INDIVIDUAL ACCUSED of committing such an offence can be CHARGED UNDER Section 185 of the Insurance Act, Cap 130, and if found guilty is liable to a fine of $1,000 or a year’s imprisonment.

2) Shortly before his retirement, Leroy Parris PUBLICALLY STATED the company, CIL, still went ahead and sold over 800 new policies, in contravention of the order given by the SOI.

3) Being made aware of this development, Deputy Supervisor of Insurance, Vernese Brathwaite, through an official letter dated June 1, 2010, FILED A COMPLAINT URGING THE POLICE TO PROBE the sale of 800-odd life policies by CIL, in CONTRAVENTION OF A PROHIBITION ORDER from the Supervisor of Insurance.

4) As a result of their investigations, the police were able to file “charges in the magistrates’ court against former executive chairman of CLICO Holdings (Barbados) Limited, Leroy Parris, and current president Terrence Thornhill.

In other words, the SOI prohibited CLICO from selling new policies, but the company, by contravening the order and selling over 800 new policies, committed a criminal offence. Consequently, Vernese Brathwaite invited the police to investigate.

25. It’s noteworthy that both parties mentioned in the above two posts viz COP Dottin and SOI Brathwaite were both sent on leave and this court case is yet to be heard.What a joke country Barbados has become with these bag bline hoes calling themselves respectable,estimable,honourable.

26. @ Artaxerxes

In other words they the RBPF, have every avenue available to pursue this matter in a court of law AND, IF THEY DONT DO SO, would confirm the general belief that even though you are a criminal, thief orwhatever, once you have friends in high places, you are immune from being prosecuted in a court of law in Barbados.

EWB said that poor people would do best to keep out of the law courts at Colerige Street.

27. “EWB said that poor people would do best to keep out of the law courts at Colerige Street.”

Pieces what exactly did EWB’s statement mean or intended to establish?

After all he was a politician and big time local lawyer, himself.

A big time lawyer who according to reports had a very lucrative practice, so if poor people per EWB’s admonition would do well to stay out of Coleridge St. then lawyers like him could only do well if rich people came into Coleridge St.

So one clear interpretation from our esteemed national hero’s opinion is that the big boys played hard in the courts back then and certainly are playing with even more vigour in the courts today; and the small fellow still being squeezed.

The powerful can afford the better attorneys with more resources and often they frustrate the powerless in their search of justice.

EWB knew that well obviously and despite his gravitas and power positions was unable to effect any real change in that area.

So why are we still ‘surprised’ by how these matters evolve today.

28. David April 12, 2015 at 12:54 AM #

“@Artax: Are you confirming then that the Judicial Manager in the face of obvious fraud (fake invoice) has NOT invited the police to investigate the matter?”

Based on the fact that there isn’t any information in the public domain relative to an investigation pertaining to the circumstances surrounding the fraudulent invoice and the subsequent payment of $3.333M, I will have to conclude the JM has not referred the matter to the police (as yet).

What we have in this situation is, rather than referring the matter to the police, the JM has chosen to use the information revealed by the forensic audit report as the basis to file a CIVIL SUIT against Leroy Parris, Branlee Consulting Services and the estate of David Thompson, in the hope of recovering the $3.333M.

We must bear in mind that one of the main objectives of the JM is trying to get a more advantageous realization of the company’s assets than could be effected on a winding up process. As such, perhaps the JM is more concerned with recovering the money, than to have those allegedly responsible for the fraud charged and incarcerated if found guilty.

29. ” As such, perhaps the JM is more concerned with recovering the money, than to have those allegedly responsible for the fraud charged and incarcerated if found guilty.”

Arta, “PERHAPS the JM…”. I like your writing style of understated cynicism.

As you state this is about ‘advantageous realization of the company’s assets’ and thus a business revenue making op for Deloitte. This is not about wasting time on a pretend police investigation.

The report is a public document and the Financial Services Agency (or whatever the name is) along with any police authority could act to start an investigation.

There is absolutely no need – and has never been according to basic law -to invite the police anywhere at anytime to investigate a crime that is public knowledge.

30. @ Artaxerxes April 12, 2015 at 8:56 AM
    “What we have in this situation is, rather than referring the matter to the police, the JM has chosen to use the information revealed by the forensic audit report as the basis to file a CIVIL SUIT against Leroy Parris, Branlee Consulting Services and the estate of David Thompson, in the hope of recovering the $3.333M.”

Implicit in that statement is the suggestion that the JM is deliberately aiding and abetting in the concealment of illegal activities.
    In addition to the obvious act of fraud by criminal deception there is the associated acts of money laundering and deliberate tax evasion.

What about these illegal acts or are witnessing the overriding of the law like an ass with the JM the chief punter in the donkey derby to get his share of the $3.3 million at stake?

What is wrong with the J M (in “collusion” with BIPA) making a complaint to the police and the DPP on behalf of the policyholders and in the interest of justice as is required of ordinary citizens? Don’t the Crime Stoppers Ads mean anything and apply only to small people and petty criminals?
    Where is the justice in all of this for the poor policyholders other than the fattening of the JM’s financial bottom line?

• Are we saying not one Clico policyholder affected by the fraud have been driven to invite the Police to investigate?

31. @ David April 12, 2015 at 9:53 AM

And who would entertain their complaints? CoP Dottin or Randy G from the FSC?
    The policyholders have lost their money; some, their entire life savings. Why are we expecting them to now pay the ultimate price by personally going against a man with friends in the highest of places in the banana republic called Fumble land?

32. Miller, excuse this example but it makes the point.

If one of your properties was over-run with bush. And let’s presume the neighborhood watch group in the area got tired of complaining to you to cleanup and hired Bushie’s Whacker company to de-bush. Let’s further assume that like the JM whackers, Bushie’s team discovered an assortment of possible crimes: marijuana plants and a shallow grave with some skeletal remains.

Now, Miller, remember the land tax receipt says this is your land.

Bushie’s boys finish the job and get their money and ting. The fellows don’t smoke the tampy and really don’t give two hoots about the bones because they figure it must be some dead animal. But as is his business practice Mr. Bushman submits a detailed account of the tasks completed to the person/company hiring him.

So he states how many pounds of weed and the acreage of land cleared and what he found and all such minutiae.

Now sir, let’s further assume that this report is disseminated to all the 20 members of this neighborhood group. And to you too, because the folks want to get back their money from you.

So all the details are now in the public domain.

Oh by the way, of that neighborhood group one fellow is the police commissioner, one is the DPP and another is a civil servant in the fraud protection services.

You still seriously placing any burden on Bushies’s boys to tell what they have reported?

The report is public and every jackass and their mother knows what has been found.

Any JAs can act if they WANT to.

33. @ Dee Ingrunt Word April 12, 2015 at 10:33 AM

I enjoy your tour into the corrupt world of the frighteningly dangerous analogies of modern Barbados.

Skippa, as our recently fired up friend Bushie the bush and ‘weed’ whacker would say, we are really dealing with a bunch of blind blasted burned brass bowls.

Anytime a people allow the laws of their land to be the tradable currency used by politicians to manipulate their minds we all know what is next on the cards. Either a return to slavery and locally-grown colonization or riot and rebellion.

I shudder to think what Barbados would be like in another 10 years.
    But Bridgetown the capital is a perfect indicator of what’s in store nationally.
    A dead fish rots from it its head down. So too does a corrupt country, if you get the drift of the analogous “comparison”.

• At the bedrock of our challenges is an article in today’s newspaper analyzing the use of social media and full page press ads by new president of the NUPW. What is laughable is that out of a ten thousand membership about the same number of public servants voted last election compared to time around, just over a thousand?

JAs

34. millertheanunnaki April 12, 2015 at 9:38 AM #

“Implicit in that statement is the suggestion that the JM is deliberately aiding and abetting in the concealment of illegal activities.”

Please Miller, I’m not in any way suggesting or implying “that the JM is deliberately aiding and abetting in the concealment of illegal activities.”

We need to be as rational as possible and take the emotionalism away from this issue. The question we need to ask is why the JM sought to file a civil suit against the alleged perpetrators of the “fraud” and not involve the police at this time.

35. @ Artaxerxes April 12, 2015 at 12:05 PM
    “The question we need to ask is why the JM sought to file a civil suit against the alleged perpetrators of the “fraud” and not involve the police at this time.”

We are also wondering “why”. There is certainly more in the mortar than
    the J M’s management fees of a pestle on that $3. 3 million after deducting associated legal fees.

So what is so ‘costly’ wrong with advancing the instituting of criminal charges against the parties involved in this “closed and shut” case of fraud, money laundering and tax evasion?
    The same way DNA evidence is used by the police and DPP to bring watertight charges against common thieves and rapists why not use the same forensically gathered accounting evidence to bring charges against white collar criminals Leper Leroy Parris and yes-boy Terrence Thornhill?

Would such a move jeopardize the more ‘profitable’ civil case or strengthen it?

36. @Artaxerxes April 12, 2015 at 12:05 PM

Question: “The question we need to ask is why the JM sought to file a civil suit against the alleged perpetrators of the “fraud” and not involve the police at this time.”

Answer: Leroy Parris is Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s friend. And nobody likes to touch Prime ministerial friends.

Did anybody touch Rodney Wilkinson while he was doing he do while being Prime Minister Owen Arthur’s friend?

In Barbados being a Prime Minister’s friend is a licence to do anything, legal or illegal.

37. Miller, policing and law and law enforcement is a little more complex than those who do not have an intimate knowledge of the criminal justice system seem to think.

For example, let’s look at a case of domestic violence involving a male (as the aggressor) and a female (victim). Supposed a neighbor, on hearing a dispute and seeing the victim is being assaulted decides to call the police. The police reports for duty on the scene of the alleged assault and upon arrival they see the “victim” looking “agitated”. One of the officers informs the parties involved of the report they received and ask the alleged perpetrator to account for his actions in the situation, while another officer interviews the “victim”.

If the “victim” refuses to “press charges” against the “perpetrator”, what powers of arrest do the police have in this situation, especially taking into consideration that, unless murder or serious assault is involved, domestic violence is not a statutory offence (unless this has changed recently)?

38. @ Dee Ingrunt Word
    “Bushie’s boys finish the job and get their money and ting. The fellows don’t smoke the tampy and really don’t give two hoots about the bones because they figure it must be some dead animal. But as is his business practice Mr. Bushman submits a detailed account of the tasks completed to the person/company hiring him.”
    So he states how many pounds of weed and the acreage of land cleared and what he found and all such minutiae.
    Skippa … what the hell are you trying to drag Bushie into now on BU…?
    Yuh…WRONG! WRONG! WRONG!

First, yuh got the wrong Bushie, cause as soon as illegal stuff is unearthed, Bushie calling the police, fire service, ambulance, defence force, red cross, the boys scouts, ……and Stetson Babb boss….
    Not a fella will be coming afterwards to claim that Bushie’s crew ‘planted’ any shiite on that lot …or that we ‘whacked’ AC and left her bones to rot….

Second, yuh got the wrong Bushie cause when the data is documented, it won’t be going to no damn “person/company hiring him”
    … Think Bushie foolish?
    wuh who do you think is MOST LIKELY responsible for the illegal shit found? …next thing Bushie end up with the blame and the report get doctored….?
    Nah Dee ….. Bushie sending the report to BU for transparency…. 🙂

Thirdly, yuh wrong bout the tampy….
    wuh Cuh shiite Dee…. how would Bushie know it is REAL tampy unless he try a bit….? LOL ha ha ha

• @Bush Tea

The way you put and defend arguments is to be commended. It shows we can strongly disagree and engage at the same time. Some on BU should learn from you.

39. Bushie, touchee! But be careful wid that tampy. In two twos it tie up the head and you can’t come bout on BU and parade!

Mr. Artaxerxes, April 12, 2015 at 10:47 on a more serious note why compare a domestic matter to the white collar criminal matter at CLICO?

Interestingly, Bushie has also made the point on these pages that a victim can refuse to press charges and thus stall a police matter. True dat.

BUT, it is also absolutely true that the police can STILL – and have in many cases -proceed with a matter despite the reluctance and unwillingness of a victim.

That is what the wonderful complexity of law is all about: getting to justice despite hostile victims, unwilling witnesses and so on.

Simple Simon cites valid reasons why the JM went civil.

But it is even more mundane than that and you answered it in one of your previous posts. The JM’s job was to recover monies/get the company in best shape to sell.

In sum as you know their mandate was about business and making money not dealing with a purposely inept criminal probe.

Cue Simple Simon’s remarks as the coda after criminal probe…that would never get off the ground and very likely gum-up their civil matter.

Why would they do that especially here in Barbados. Why?

These are publicly contracted revenue driven accountants not publicly contracted regulators or investigative policing accountants.

There is no mystery re their motives.

The mystery is and has always been with the Financial Services regulatory folks, the DPP and police. But even then that mystery ain’t shrouded in much fog though.

• Here is cutting to the bone of the matter, Barbadians have never witnessed an aggressive approach by the police and DPP to prosecuting prominent persons in Barbados. Why not!

40. David : …Barbadians have never witnessed an aggressive approach by the police and DPP to prosecuting prominent persons in Barbados. Why not!================

Because we is we! Small, very small really, and figuratively too incestuous to really prosecute crimes from our close friends, relatives, school buddies, fellow travelers in the brotherhood type of way and so on.

You have cited here several times how the connections go left, right, B, D, up and down and so on.

It is absolutely and frighteningly symptomatic of our incestuous malaise that a few people here on BU have joked or alluded to the fact that the CJ may eventually have adjudicate one or two of the pending cases because judge after judge is recusing because of some apparent conflict.

Of course this is nothing new. The country has long time back had to bring in high priced legal talent to sit as chief commissioners on sensitive big national issues.

I will add also that other places much bigger than us have similar predicaments.

Yet we is we and we do it wid a ‘friend of friend’ nod and smile in Barbados.

Of course all that can be changed with administrators who are willing to be objective and have no problem being principled whether its their god-son or god-mum that is standing before them.

41. @ Artaxerxes April 12, 2015 at 10:47 PM

I take note of your analogy using the hypothetical domestic violent case. But of course you are talking about Barbados and not other jurisdictions more “intolerant” to the wasting of police time and resources.

However I would like you to convince us how the J M can succeed in recovering monies from Leroy Parris and his cronies. What ‘preponderance of evidence’ can be produced that cannot be produced ‘beyond reasonable doubt’ in a criminal case to prove a civil case of deception?

What tort actions will be used to deem Parris liable to the CLICO policyholders?
    When will this ever happen in the judicial system Barbados has been burdened with? When all parties to the lawsuit including the J M are riddled and crippled with arthritis or pushing up daisies?

I am convinced beyond reasonable doubt that the Bajan taxpayers would be prepared to underwrite the costs of cases involving charges of criminal deception and money laundering even if the Courts find the accused not guilty and the State having to pay damages but only after queuing far behind Al Barrack in the year 2030.

Of course the case of tax evasion is one clearly and solidly “down pat”. Why no movement on that front by the authorities? Are they waiting for the go-ahead from the J M?

42. David April 13, 2015 at 7:54 AM #

Here is cutting to the bone of the matter, Barbadians have never witnessed an aggressive approach by the police and DPP to prosecuting prominent persons in Barbados. Why not?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Perhaps one day you should seek an invite to the Rotary Club, or other service clubs, and see who are the prominent members , many are , because of the position they hold. Scratch my back, buddy !

43. This morning I awoke bright and early , took my time ,had a GOOD SHITE.

As I looked in the John, as I flushed, it set me thinking about DPP Charles Leacock and the Government of Barbados.

Turds all.

Should we not all cut to the chase and look at the flushing mechanism of Barbados?

There must be one.

Sanitise ourselves from this Filth.

HM the Queen??
    The UK Government?

Mebbee the UK High Commissioner as a start.?

But for goodness sake lets cut the claptrap.
    ACT.

You can remove the filthy scum bag DPP Charles LEACOCK.

I do not bother much nowadays with BU, mostly bitching and displays of eloquent ignorance achieving little or nothing.
    No Insult intended.
    Just observation.

I have no doubt our intellectual giant PM Fumble, reads this BU blog for entertainment and for total support of the his idea , that it is possible for him to do totally as he wishes with Barbados and have absolutely no recriminations.

He see’s BU as a group of otherwise bored, mentally challenged individuals, getting their “jollies” (semi) intellectually Masturbating in print.

Good Morning all, going to sit in the sun and eat my porridge.

44. @ Dr. Love

You said and I quote “…I do not bother much nowadays with BU, mostly bitching and displays of eloquent ignorance achieving little or nothing…”

I would put the old saying “the pen is mightier than the sword” to you in opposition to your somewhat puerile pronouncement.

Barring AK47s and M16s of which there are many in Barbados today, sitting with sheeple being used in armed revolution we only have the pen to resort to.

I guess you know that our choices are limited.

One. Bitch about it
    Two. Stage an armed revolution and overthrow the government and then sit back and see the economy truly go to shambles
    Three. Vote out these FVCKERS when 2018 comes and elect the other FVCKERS and
    FOUR. Start to look for alternatives, ME AND WOMEN WITH BALLS, the Caswell Franklyn’s of Barbados, men who unlike you and me have balls and the resolve to speak in this little corner in our attempt to make a difference in the affairs of this cvntry that we claim to love.

That is why our National Pledge is so empty because with abdicators like you, and me, we are left with the Fumbles and Mias of this world who rule not through competency and love of country but with incompetents selected by antiquated constituency processes where ole cvnts like us vote for a man based on his popularity and the amount of hampers they deliver and Xmas, and the amount of our funerals that we attend when we die, and not because they are competent.

@ Rambos-in-Waiting

By the way to all the wanna-be-Rambos out there, both the criminals AND the “concerned citizens” you need to know that you must regularly lubricate the weapons with gun oils and greases so that the normal residue deposited after firing, or just through plain inaction as wunna wait for the “call to arms”, the weapon does not build up to such a degree, and block the cylinder/barrel of the weapon, which will cause the weapon to blow up in wunna face

45. ”pieceuhderockyeahright April 18, 2015 at 6:33 AM # @ Dr. Love

…Barring AK47s and M16s of which there are many in Barbados today, sitting with sheeple being used in armed revolution we only have the pen to resort to…

You know, what is ironic, just as you say, there appear to be a proliferation of heavy weapons used by criminals, yet the ‘good citizens’ who apply for licences cannot get them. As the other day when reportedly, the sporting association members had trouble getting licences.

And yet, the criminals got all kinda weapons. You see the gun that blew that man’s head literally off the other day? Saw it on facebook.

Someone took a photo of the scene and that included the gun.

It looked like something out of a Bond movie, an automatic but some kinda special looking one.

And you understand that for a pistol to blow a mans head off, the bullets must have been hollow point or such?

Heavy weaponry that the criminals have.

It is beyond a joke, when the ‘good’ citizen cant get a license but the worst criminals can get heavy duty stuff.

• Dr.Love’s comment explains a lot doesn’t it? We expect that because we bray from our armchair all will be well. What about traditional media? What about talk shows? What about all the organs of civil society establish to underpin a democracy? What is the timeframe? Why did the Berlin Wall fall?

46. @David
    …and what about the church and its clergy…those pastors, preachers, priests and other “holy-men/ persons” … whose silence is so deafening ? Are they afraid ? What hypocrisy !

47. You know that your are on a downward spiral, when the church, not only refuse to speak out,but capitulate to the evil doers on the other side.
    There is a very thin line these days between a Minister of Religion and a Minister of Government.
    I know of one Anglican Priest, God rest his soul, who would not have slammed his church door in the face of the CLICO swindler, Leroy Parris, but would have physically thrown him out, unless he had atoned for his wrong doing,and make amends to his victims.

48. DPP takes umbrage to being summoned by Justice Beckles.
    In an unprecedented move, the Director of Public Prosecutions Charles Leacock, QC, was summoned to appear in court today as a witness in a joint court action brought against the Attorney General and the DPP.

The claimant Frank Errol Gibson is claiming damages in excess of $2 million lawsuit against the State.

And while he came, there was no hiding his displeasure at being called as a witness in the matter being heard before Madam Justice Pamela Beckles in the No. 8 Supreme Court.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/06/14/i-object-2/

Leave a comment, join the discussion.