To become a Vegan!

In this article we shall connect the environmental discourses, to ‘development’, to energy usage, to cruelty to animals, to calls for innovation, to militarism, to finite petroleum. In fleshing out a path towards a radical veganism our conclusions will include that, as a political-economy philosophy, it holds the best chances for saving Pachamama from the actions of us all, since the Industrial Revolution. It represents the pathway towards the sublime, the beautiful, if we able to change our belief systems and build cultures of wellness. There will be ironies and internal contradictions!

Some of those who like to pretend to talk about progressive agendas take it to themselves to set certain litmus tests as to who is a progressive or not. Who is is communist or not. Who is an anarchist or not. Who is a radical or not. Whose philosophy is absent. These intellectual gadflies have not yet learnt that even some ultra-conservatives can be progressives, are progressives.

It certainly does not help when the small-minded societies from whence we come will never find ways to be early adopters of radical views, at their centres of cultural activity. This will only over-complicate their simplistic notions about the sanctity of ‘man in the street’ political discourses. So if one is a self proclaimed radical but fails to join misguided efforts to impose the unhealthy practice of ‘bulling’ universally, for example, in their minds there is to be some fundamental contradiction.

The internal logic of veganism cannot sit comfortably with dominionism either. For it is dominionism which teaches us that we are more important than all other organisms. That humans have some misbegotten ‘divine right’ to destroy all life support systems for a few dollars or short term survival. That everything has to have a price. That clean air, clean water, organic food, medicine, real education and security are not to be parts of the commons, but commodities to be sold to the highest bidder, the most powerful of us.

We currently slaughter 2,000,000,000 animals every week for ‘food’. Between 200 and 100,000 organisms are wiped out annually. The ability of the oceans to sustain life will be too compromised by 2028. The oceans are dying. Despite the efforts of the Sea Shepherd, the Japanese insist on their right to kill whales ostensibly for ‘research’ but they end up in the human food chain. In the animal kingdom, only the human virus behaves like this. Industrial agriculture produces a major part of the green house gases and we hold steadfastly to our ‘divine right’ to unhealthy edible substances and petroleum.

Two grazing hoof animals require five (5) acres of land, on average. But five acres of land could also sustainably feed 10,000 people with organic foods and with a marginal or positive environmental impact. But the nexus of petroleum and industrial agriculture together are almost entirely responsible for greenhouse gases. So arable land is not generally the issue, we have the non-chemical technologies to make almost any land arable. But we are locked into a mindset that says if you don’t eat meat you must be weak as central to a mindless culture of indifference as to where our food comes from. We remember well how some would eat their meat first to avoid ‘a possible sharing’ with a would be visitor.

In spite of the presence of Seeds of Death, large numbers still eat organic foods in several circumstances. Sometimes they are unable to secure artificial fertilizers, GMO seeds and other big-Argo chemically-based inputs. Of course, these have not attracted the stamp of approval of the FDA and have no other such markings. Vandana Shiva has led an heroic campaign to protect the diversity and culture of organic seeds and their traditional exchange by farmers from those who would wish to patent everything in nature for profit.

The addiction to killing animals for food is leading to the death of us all. Still we have 600,000 vegetarians on earth and many less vegans. Our existence is barely registered even when we have surpassed the much haunted  McKibben, 350 parts per million, and are now nearer to 400 parts per million – way pass this significant tipping point, and in quick time.

But Bill McKibben, like most of the leadership of the established environmental movement, in the West, has been compromised by global corporate interests. And there will never be a determination by the environmental aristocrats to challenge vested power at its centre. We could also include the Sierra Club as another institution which provides the illusion of political diversity, for a fictitious left of centre. However, this has been a mere political diversion to protect the centres of corporate control, not aimed at the radical transformation needed, but the reverse.

To be a vegan is the most radical expression of consciousness in our times. It’s not merely limited to what we eat, drink or wear but must have the same transformative influence on all other spheres of existence. It represents a direct confrontation to the corporates which are willing to ceaseless commodity all living organisms. A personal decision to embrace a self-defined veganism says to biotechnology companies that the irrational modification of life is unacceptable. Its a personal statement of resistance, in the defense of Pachamama.

These are the environments in which we hear calls for innovation. But innovation has too often meant more extraction of resources from mother earth. It has been the main driving force pushing us over the cliff. It has brought the extinction of the human as a not so distant possibility as our environment does not guarantee a linear or gradual deterioration in circumstances. This must be dealt with!

That trajectory is guided by aristocrats around the world as they compete with each other for power, influence and resources. It is a vision built on fiat currencies and undergrided by the wide spread use of petroleum products in every facet of human activity. But all the aristocrats around the world still hold a deep fear of the people, not other aristocrats. The latent power of the people is the last best hope in avoiding an extinction event, if time allows!

Veganism must mean the absence of a reliance on fossil fuels. While this is true, another truism is that we cannot continue the way we currently exist, in the absence of petroleum. While wind and solar technologies have the potential to make a larger contribution to energy needs, together they cannot come any way near replacing fossil fuels entirely, given current and escalating human demands and the 300 byproducts produced from oil, gas and coal. We have long past ‘peek oil’. But, the interlocking aristocrats around the world could careless that new discovers, for over forty years, have been far exceeded by annually increasing demands.

So unless we want to innovate ourselves out of existence we may have to consider the suggestion by a famous philosopher about the inability of Pachamama to sustain any ‘development’ beyond that of stone age man. A thinking based on the notion that we will be unable to make the personal transformation required to save our Mother. His is not an unrealistic assessment.

In an age when it is thought that all kind of medical breakthroughs have been made we like to hear about which pharmaceutical could heal which ailments or perceived sicknesses. Nobody hears all the side effects new drugs come with. Sometimes the medicine is worst than the disease. We still don’t known the active ingredient in Bush Tea, no pun intended, or weather it may have some marketability beyond Grand Mama’s command to drink, drink…….. no matter how bitter it was. All bush tea is meant to be bitter medicine! Not umami or sour or sweet or salty ……….. bitter! But vegans eat a wider range of foods that most would imagine.

Moving beyond capitalism. We need not wait until the contradictions reach a certain point before start to think about what comes next. We need not see capitalism as a whole system. We could break it down into its constituent parts. As an entire system the task maybe too daunting.We can look at all the struggles we have and take them on one at a time. We could measure economy in different terms. Not GDP and the likes. We could have other consensus wellness indicators. Or happiness indicators. Or fairness indicators.

206 responses to “Towards a Radical, Healthy, Veganism”

1. Pachamama

Now please do not misconstrue my motives for asking you this question because quite often most advocatives of these specific diets, always fail to make mention of the negative aspects of such diets, but somehow stay focus on the positive aspects. But for every good that comes into the world there is a corresponding evil and we must always bear this fact in mind. So my question to you is this: what are the negative aspects of the Vegan diet, and do you not think that you own it to the readership here, to outline the benefits as well as the hidden dangers of such diet?

2. Pachamama

Here is my final question: the Vegan Diet I assume, aims to reduce animal fat and help boost antioxidant levels, but are you aware of the fact that the brain needs a certain amounts of fat to function effectively?

3. Please excuse me for diverting from this very important topic, but this information is very important as it has been affecting the average Bajan negatively for quite a number of years, some say nearly two decades.

It has very recently been once again confirmed that CGI/Peter Harris continues to show total cold-hearted, callousness and vicious disregard for severely injured valid personal injury claimants who have to contend with lifetime injures that is the liability of CGI.

Harris went so far as bringing into Barbados in the last year a bogus female Indian trainee doctor to falsify medical reports in which she has absolutely no clue, experience, discipline or training in a bid to deliberately and maliciously discredit genuine medical reports written by recognized specialist/doctors in Barbados and also in a bid to deliberately and maliciously discredit the severity of claimant’s injuries, so that CGI slithers out of paying compensation; bypassing the experienced, well established specialists/consultants in Barbados who have vast experience and are more than capable in rendering medical expert opinions.

All of this information was investigated and confirmed with a visit to the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) on Spring Garden Highway from someone who has no intentions of becoming one of CGI’s victims twice.

I am sure Harris played chess as a student at Combermere, but, there are some people who are master chess players and would go to the ends of the earth to make their next move OR just contact immigration on the wharfside of Bridgetown to request that the bogus female Indian doctor’s immigration file be pulled for an immigration review and investigation.

Said move, as well as, the bogus female trainee Indian doctor’s name are only being withheld by me AT THIS TIME from BU’s blogosphere SOLELY dependent on CGI/Harris’ next conman moves.

Your move Peter Harris.

Let Barbados see the full depth of your never ending greed.

I can’t believe the people in Barbados have allowed and put up with this crap from CGI/Peter Harris for years without some serious re percussive throw down.

Then again, i can believe the stupidity in bajans when it comes to minorities in Barbados….steupss.

4. re the brain needs a certain amounts of fat to function effectively?

THE BRAIN MAINLY USES GLUCOSE FOR ITS FUNCTION
    THE BRAIN ALSO USES KETONE BODIES – DERIVED FROM ACETYL COA

5. • the brain can utilize ketone bodies for fuel if the level rises sufficiently. This is important during prolonged periods of fasting.
    • glucose is the major fuel for the brain in well-nourished persons on a balanced diet, the brain adapts to the utilization of acetoacetate during prolonged starvation and diabetes.
    • Although the brain normally prefers glucose, it can adapt to acetoacetate utilization during states of prolonged starvation.
    • In prolonged starvation, 75% of the fuel needs of the brain are met by acetoacetate.
    • When the body is deficient in oxaloacetate (due to fasting, diabetes, starvation), acetyl CoA from the beta-oxidation pathway cannot enter the citric acid cycle.
    • In these circumstances, oxaloacetate is diverted to gluconeogenesis and
    • acetyl CoA is diverted to form the ketone bodies acetoacetate, beta-3-hydroxybutarate and acetone.
    • When carbohydrate utilization is low or deficient, the level of oxaloacetate will also be low, resulting in a reduced flux through the TCA cycle—- i.e less oxaloacetate will be available to condense with acetyl CoA to start the TCA.
    • This in turn leads to increased release of ketone bodies from the liver for use as fuel by other tissues.
    • In early stages of starvation, when the last remnants of fat are oxidized, heart and skeletal muscle will consume primarily ketone bodies to preserve glucose for use by the brain.
    • Acetoacetate and b-hydroxybutyrate, in particular, also serve as major substrates for the biosynthesis of neonatal cerebral lipids.
    • In fasting or in diabetes, oxaloacetate is used to form glucose and is thus unavailable for condensation with acetyl CoA.
    • Under these conditions, acetyl CoA is diverted to the formation of the ketone bodies acetoacetate, beta-3-hydroxybutyrate and acetone.

6. Georgie Porgie

If it is your desire to educate the people here on the blog, it would advisable for you to reduce your level of medical-terminology, so that the average Joe can comprehend it without much difficulty. You’re not writing to aggrandize your sense of importance, I hope? You’re writing as a good teacher would, to inform and educate those on the hierarchical plane of academics.

Now, there is more that enough literature out there which warns against adhering to a diet which greatly retricts the fat intake, that is essential for optimal brain health.

Furthermore, research shows that our Brain is mainly made of Fat and Cholesterol. Now, the majority of the fatty acids in the Brain are actually saturated fat. And a diet skimps on healthy saturated fats, robs our Brain of the raw material it needs to function optimally.

7. jack ass!
    you dont have to take in fats to produce fat!

again
    re the brain needs a certain amounts of fat to function effectively?
    key word is function

THE BRAIN ALSO USES KETONE BODIES – DERIVED FROM ACETYL COA- which can be obtained from either protein or carbs

i have no more to say
    you can carry on
    your knowledge of basic biochemistry has the dimensions of an abyss

8. Georgie Porgie

Now, if a lawyer spoke to you as a doctor in juristic- terminology, would you undertand him unless you had done prior research? So to communicate on a blog and in that manner, speaks to your ability or lack thereof, to convey your ideas effectively to a targeted audience.

9. Georgie Porgie

You’re not making any sense sir.

10. @David,

Why are you continuing to punish us?

11. @DOMPEY
    Since when has “making sense ” been any criterion “Bout heah” ?

12. Georgie Porgie

Okay! You have done advanced biochemistry, Big Deal. Now you have to learn how to convey what you have be taught in an understandable way.

13. Hants, there you go again with the band wagon mentality. Have you examine what I have written, to determine whether or not I am talking nonsense?

14. @Dompey,
    you are the samejackass Don Blackman wannabe that tormented the blog with the longest words in the english language.

Your participation on this blog is an irritant but that is the price we pay for freedom of speech that permits your monumental ignorance.

15. Yes Dompey, I on the band wagon that includes David,Miller, Bushie GP, Artax and others who add value to my knowledge base.

You are just an irritant.

16. Hants

It is funny how you have a high opinion of what you have written on the blog thus far.lol But from my perspective, your conversations here amounts to utter ignorance sir. But that’s price we pay for someone who isn’t conscientious of his own actions.

17. @ GP,
    You are a crashing bore! Instead of hijacking this very serious post why don’t you create your own post or abstain from passing comment. Please give the readership a break! God bless you.

18. @ exclaimer
    why dont you contradict the relevant Biochemistry that I have posted. It is very simple information

can you add anything to the discussion?

your ad hominems are not at all educational ah lie?

@ both dompey & exclaimer
    Proverbs 26 3-12 applies to you, dont you think?
    3 A whip for the horse, a bridle for the ass, and a rod for the fool’s back.

4 Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him.

5 Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own conceit.

6 He that sendeth a message by the hand of a fool cutteth off the feet, and drinketh damage.

7 The legs of the lame are not equal: so is a parable in the mouth of fools.

8 As he that bindeth a stone in a sling, so is he that giveth honour to a fool.

9 As a thorn goeth up into the hand of a drunkard, so is a parable in the mouth of fools.

10 The great God that formed all things both rewardeth the fool, and rewardeth transgressors.

11 As a dog returneth to his vomit, so a fool returneth to his folly.

12 Seest thou a man wise in his own conceit? there is more hope of a fool than of him.

19. Georgie Porgie

It is funny how you use the Holy Bible as an authority to beat others about the head. It wasn’t written for that purpose Satan.

20. I am glad that you understand that you are a fool and need to be beaten about the head.

Sensible folk know when they do not know about a topic, and they keep quiet or ask sensible questions. THEY DONT PONTIFICATE AND TALK SHITE AND MAKE AN ASS OF THEMSELVES.

AGAIN YOU DO NOT NEED TO EAT FAT TO BECOME FAT!

SOME PRIMITIVE CIVILISATIONS GET FAT ON THE MEAT AND ROOTS (CARBS THEY EAT)

AGAIN THE BRAIN MAINLY USES GLUCOSE FOR ITS FUNCTION
    THE BRAIN ALSO USES KETONE BODIES – DERIVED FROM ACETYL COA, IN STARVATION , DIABETES

ALL FOOD IS CONVERTED TO ACEYL COA BEFORE ENTERING THE KREBS CYCLE TO
    A- BE CONVERTED TO ENERGY (fuel)
    B BE CONVERTED TO OTHER CHEMICAL COMPOUNDS

DONKEY
    IT IS STUPID TO KICK AGAINST THE PRICKS

IT IS STUPID TO TRY TO ARGUE WITH AN EXPERT IN HIS FIELD

NOW SHUT UP AND SIT DOWN OR VICE VERSA

21. Georgie Porgie

I just have to ask this question sir: how could you in good conscience invoke the name of the Lord and behave as you do here sir. Your actions sir, belies as well as affronts everything the Holy Scriptures represents.

22. @ GP,
    Your ego outstrips your true worth. If you believe that you have something valid to add please be succinct. Employ language that the layman can understand. Some of us have busy lives.

Get out of your house and visit a rum shop where you can have a more in-depth monologue with some “rum” heads! God bless you. Have a blessed weekend.

23. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20329590

The human brain is nearly 60 percent fat. We’ve learned in recent years that fatty acids are among the most crucial molecules that determine your brain’s integrity and ability to perform. Essential fatty acids (EFAs) are required for maintenance of optimal health but they can not synthesized by the body and must be obtained from dietary sources. Clinical observation studies has related imbalance dietary intake of fatty acids to impaired brain performance and diseases

http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1753-4887.2006.tb00242.x/abstract

http://jn.nutrition.org/content/137/4/855.short

24. Georgie Porgie

Sir please do not misconstrue the original concerns I have had with the data that you have written. All I simple said is: that you ought to reduce the amounts of medical terminology, in view of the persons who aren’t necessarily familiar with such medical concepts. My intention wasn’t to engage you in discussion at all, and as a matter of fact, I addressed the concerns I had to Pachamama without much avail.

25. It is stupid to argue with an expert in his field, not necessarily true. I have seen nurses redirecting doctors on more than one occasions, when I worked at the hospital.

26. GAIN YOU DO NOT NEED TO EAT FAT TO BECOME FAT!

SOME PRIMITIVE CIVILISATIONS GET FAT ON THE MEAT AND ROOTS (CARBS THEY EAT)

AGAIN THE BRAIN MAINLY USES GLUCOSE FOR ITS FUNCTION
    THE BRAIN ALSO USES KETONE BODIES – DERIVED FROM ACETYL COA, IN STARVATION , DIABETES

ALL FOOD IS CONVERTED TO ACEYL COA BEFORE ENTERING THE KREBS CYCLE TO
    A- BE CONVERTED TO ENERGY (fuel)
    B BE CONVERTED TO OTHER CHEMICAL COMPOUNDS

27. A JACKASS HERE WANT ME TO GO TO A RUM SHOP AND START DRINKING RUM

HE WANTS ME TO CONVERT ALCOHOL TO ACETYL COA TO FAT

WONDER IF THE JACKASS KNEW THAT THAT IS HOW RUM IS CONVERTED TO FAT IN ALCOHOLICS

IT ALL REVOLVES AROUND ACETYL COA
    NOTE THAT ALL THE JACKASS CAN CONTRIBUTE IS AD HOMINEMS

28. The submission is well timed, today is World Diabetes Day, today Minister of Health made the point that obesity continues to be a problem in Barbados especially among women. As a people we have to begin to change behaviour in diet and lifestyle. How does on measure and or acclaim what is a successful society anyway.

29. @ GP

Doc, do you really have the time to waste in bothering with dopey dompey’s foolish statements. I gave up on him ages ago and all I do now is have a hearty laugh at his efforts to use as many complex words as he can which he garners from a dictionary without knowing how or when to apply them in context. To say nothing of his atrocious spelling and malapropisms.

30. DE Hood

Let put your theory to the test De Hood: give one word that I have use out of context? Let’s put your mouth where your money is brother.

31. David
    It is now considered by the experts that diabetes and most of the noncommunicable diseases are related to poor eating habits- eating too much , but also the fact that there are so many preservatives that are “natural products” that are used

Many of the preservatives are “natural products” found in the TCA or Krebs’cycle- the central metabolic pathway in the body

However in the TCA these products do not hang around in the cell but are transformed immediately into something else.

I have always believed that the amounts of these substances are too high in foods.

TCA compounds used as preservatives include succinate, fumarate, glutamate, oxalaaetate. Look for them 0n your food packaging

32. De Hood

Sir, you’re an ostentious egotistical nincompoop who need not concern himself with my personal affairs. How about nursing your enlarge prostate gland rather the spewing your haft-truths about me.

33. de hood
    dont waste time on DONKEY
    just refer him to Proverbs 26:4& 5

34. De Hood, where are you? I GUESS THE CAT GOT YOUR TONGUE. LOL Put your money where your mouth is and give me those out of context words. You know, I hate see people making these presumptuous pronouncements and cannot even back them up.

35. Dompey just ignore the egotistical bores ,the idiocy of it all ,as for Hants the biggest a.ss kisser walking the halls of BU, would not say anything of disagreement if his live depended on it, . i agree with your point of view very relevant and on point . GP is known on BU as an insulting moron. BTW notice when free advice is given DE Hood would crawl from under the rock other than that he remains dormant, Talk uh talk dompey truth is bitter a pill . LOL

36. PG your friend De hood, is unfriendly to the truth and he hasn’t the testicular fortitude to defend his preposterous allegations.

37. Thank you AC……

38. @DOMPEY

BALLS!! 🙂

39. Veganism is a type of vegetarian diet that excludes meat, eggs, dairy products and all other animal-derived ingredients. Many vegans also do not eat foods that are processed using animal products, such as refined white sugar and some wines.

Vegan refers to either a person who follows this way of eating, or to the diet itself.
    HOW HAS BALAAM”S ASS OR HIS ILLITERATE SURROGATES ADVANCED A DISCUSSION ON THIS TOPIC

Pacha made his post and the wannan be FENTY started to display of ignorance by stating that the brain needs a certain amounts of fat to function effectively?

I COUNTERED THIS BY ACCURATELY CONTRADICTING THIS NONSENSE BY POINTING OUT THAT ….
    THE BRAIN ALSO USES KETONE BODIES – DERIVED FROM ACETYL COA

SINCE THEN IT HAS BEEN ONE AD HOMINEM AFTER THE NEXT
    BUT NO ONE HAS BEEN ABLE TO REFUTE SOUND DOCTRINE OR ADD ANYTHING TO THE DISCUSSION BESIDES AD HOMINEMS OF ME HANTS AND DE HOOD

40. what can not be refuted is that vegans must take in fats carbs and proteins vitamins and minerals — EVEN THOUGH THEY MAY nOT EAT MEAT

this should not surprise us —-after all many of the biggest mammals on earth survive on grass! ELEPHANTS HIPPOPOTAMI RHINOCERI GIRAFFES etc

41. uh know there are a few of them clannish as hell,who would like to get up in here and cuss any one who disagree with their BS left right and centre and think OH> boy ..this is good, let me see how much s,hitte they can kick in (this wun )face,, But lol when it is time for they a,ss to be whipped David BU changes the rules,, dompey anytime they come after uh give it to them good, the so called intelligence do ,mean shi,,t except to the few kiss as.sses that follow them.
    if GP is a so called intellect he should understand that the average person reading his medical advice would be ill-equipped to understand that kind of terminology ,.what so f,,king wrong with dat fuh GP to understand, GP just one of them controlling freaks who think he should not be told any thing,, who wants to read a long medical book in the form of dialogue anyway, steupse,,,,
    now watch this DAVID going stretch out the long arm and try to divert traffic with a warning..

42. De Hood

I am yet to see the words I have employed incorrectly. Man can’t you at least give me a slight idea brother? Wasn’t it Palin’s newly invented word Refudiate?

43. vegetarians are like religious freeks …fanatical and uninspiring, .

44. Comments posted unrelated to the topic will be deleted beginning NOW.

45. @GP

What is troubling is that there continues to be increasing pressure on the public purse to support the healthcare system but there is no serious effort to impose taxes on unhealthy foods and beverages to force behaviour change. We give Chefette and KFC a pass because they contribute to political campaigns, so too the tobacco importers etc. IF we were serious we would design strategies that incent people to buy healthy food, duty free exercise equipment, and attending health courses etc, tax credit for Gym membership. We are NOT serious.

46. David
    what we know for sure is that we ate simply before independence- both the rich and the poor

simple foods coupled with riding and walking etc meant that obesity and many noncomunicable diseases were rare

preservatives additives pesticides were not rampant if used at all
    WE ARE OR BECOME WHAT WE EAT IS VERY CLEAR
    THERE IS A NEED FOR A REDUCTION OF GOVERNMENT MINISTRIES AND AN INCREASED COLLABORATION OF LEADERS TO SEE THAT HEALTH AND TRANSPORT AND EDUCATION ARE ReLATED

THE IMPORTANT THINGS THAT WE NEED THE PUBLIC TO KNOW SHOULD BE TAUGHT BEGINNING AT THE PRIMARY SCHOOL LEVEL

after all primitive people and even animals in the wild teach their young what to eat where to drink what not to eat where to find food in time of scarcity
    by adulthood this information was second nature and engrained

I AGREE THAT WAYS MUST BE FOUND TO STOP TALKING AND ACT
    WE LIVED WELL WITHOUT THE IMPORTED GOO

CERTAINLY WE DONT NEED THE IMPORTED STUFF
    I will ask my assistant to submit a few relevant power points from courses that I have been teaching

47. In 2009 BU family member posted the following thesis to BU.

Chapter 1

Evolution, Diet and Exercise

There is a preponderance of evidence that modern man with our genetics existed in Africa some 100,000 years ago. Form Africa the species spread through the Middle East, the Mediterranean, Europe and the rest of the world. All humans on this earth have been shown to have descended from this same basic stock that existed in Africa.

Agricultural cultivation for food started around 10,000 years ago. This accounts for only 10 percent of modern man’s existence.

The Industrial Revolution started in Britain around 1740. This gave rise to several activities not possible before the advent of mechanisation and other labour saving devices. These include many devices around the home.

Although the first grain mill appeared in the United States around 1775 it was not until the mid 19th century that refining of grain became widespread.

Refined grains (wheat, corn, rice etc.) have a history of only 150 years. This equates to 0.15 percent of modern man’s existence. Other processed and refined foods include cured meats and many commercially available cooking oils and fats derived from vegetable oils through a process known as hydrogenation. Hydrogenation creates a group of fats known as trans fats. Trans fats do not occur naturally and have been linked directly to certain cancers. Cured and processed meats often contain chemicals shown to cause cancer in test animals.

As much as 99.9 percent of the history of mankind has been characterized by a diet free from refined or processed foods.

The sedentary lifestyle only came into existence between 50 and 100 years ago. Prior to this most individuals engaged in significant physical activity for at least 6 days per week.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/evolution__diet_and_exercise.pdf

48. @ David
    How does on(e) measure and or acclaim what is a successful society anyway…?
    What a TOP DRAWER question.
    Shiite David man….no wonder you are the BOSS…
    If we could answer THAT question then 80% of our problems will have been solved.

49. If we could just revert to doing most of what we used to do 40-50 years ago perhaps we would be much better off.

Progress is not necessarily embracing everything that is “new” or abandoning that which is “OLD”

Many folk seem to think we need one or the other.