The simplest explanation found to explain voter apathy: is a lack of interest, motivation, or concern about the political process. It shows up not only in low voter turnout but also in a broader disengagement from civic duties, of which voting is only one example. This distinction matters. Some argue that the voters’ list needs to be “culled” to improve turnout percentages, but this ignores a deeper truth: many Barbadians vote because it seems like the right thing to do, not because they feel any genuine civic obligation to participate.

Hinds (see Dr. Kristina Hinds’ article) obviously is a conservator of the petite bourgoise ‘democracy’, the status quo.

For to deal with a matter of such import by relying on dated emotional triggers is generally unhelpful and does not make contact with the central failings of her so called representative democracy.

For a country which has serially tried to use voting to impact “governance”, and failing at every turn, it has surely long become a truism that voting changes nothing, and if it did it would have long been illegal. More fundamentally, that this system has long past it usefulness, if it ever has any.

But instead of addressing structural problems, Hinds has opted to attempt extending the life of a dead or dying system. 

Pachamama President, None of the Above Party. The Party of Non-Voters. The Party for the Militarization of Government.

Source: Pachamama

As we go about our daily lives, we hear constant appeals in the traditional media urging Barbadians to “go out and vote.” This is a simplistic expectation. Equally simplistic is the tendency to heap all blame on the political class. While politicians bear part of the responsibility, the lack of civic engagement also reflects the shortcomings of NGOs and citizens themselves.

Political polarization in Barbados has mirrored global trends, bringing with it socioeconomic fallout. This polarization has eroded trust in key national institutions — the Courts, Barbados Police Service, Parliament, and regulatory agencies. These are key institutions that help define the character of a country, declining confidence in them must give reason to pause.

How do we encourage and promote a dissenting voice – a requirement of our kind of democratic system – and at the same time avoid being consumed by it? This is the challenge we face as a new republic, albeit without a revamped Constitution.

Like most things in Barbados, we prefer to operate in drift mode, unable or unwilling to repair the crack in the road before it becomes a large pothole. When fixing potholes elevates to a national issue, we know there is a more structural problem to be addressed.

What will it take to fix the status quo? Those charged to lead seem happy operating in a mediocre landscape. Those of us educated to lead have obviously been miseducated given our unwillingness to step up. Where is the social uprising to come?

Good luck as we thrive to be a government of the people, from the people, and accountable to the people.

46 responses to “Voter apathy, what is it?”

1. Take action!

Minister sees it as only way to curb lawlessness on roads

MINISTER OF EDUCATIONAL TRANSFORMATION Chad Blackman says enforcement is the only way to curb the deviant behaviour on the roads and rein in those who believe they can flout the law.

He was responding to a question from the media yesterday morning, hours after a mass casualty accident along Ayshford, St Thomas, in which four school children were injured.

Blackman, who was at Gordon Greenidge Primary School where he was being nominated as the Barbados Labour Party candidate for St James North in the February 11 General Election, was unaware of the incident at the time and vowed to reach out to ministry officials.

“I’ve made it very clear recently, public service vehicles and all entities transporting our children have a duty by law, not just a moral obligation but a duty by law, to conduct themselves in a manner that is fit for purpose and that does not compromise the safety of our children or anybody who uses our roadways,” Blackman said, adding that enforcement was lacking.

“The law books are clear with respect to how we treat deviants on the road and bad driving, etc. It’s a matter of enforcement. The Ministry of Transport and Works, of course the police, will continue to ensure that we get this right. Sometimes what you have to do is to send a very clear message by making an example of persons who believe that they can flout the law. Rule of law and law and order must be paramount in all of this and I make it very, very clear that we must continue to ensure that we do that.”

School officers

Officials at the ministry, on hearing about the accident, dispatched schools officers from the secondary section to assist the children.

Firemen on the scene told the MIDWEEK NATION there were seven injured in the collision, in which a minibus hit a pole and overturned. Two children on board the public service vehicle sustained facial injuries, while the 16-year-old driver and his 13-year-old passenger in the other vehicle also complained of injuries.

“The ministry will continue to monitor the progress of the injured students and offer any further support as required. We take this time to urge everyone to exercise the greatest care and attention when traversing our roads in order to minimise these unfortunate incidents,” Chief Education Officer Dr Ramona Archer-Bradshaw said in a statement.

Concerns have been raised about driving standards on the roads as Barbados has already recorded seven fatal accidents for 2026.

Head of the Alliance Owners of Public Transport (AOPT), Roy Raphael, visited the scene and as the emergency responders tended the injured, he made an appeal to those in the sector to take advantage of defensive driving training being offered through the Barbados Community College.

“I will give an opportunity for the police to do the investigation but I want to encourage our drivers out there to be very careful and be very cautious [on] this road,” Raphael said.

He noted while the Sturges/Jackson route was a relatively safe one, there were more drivers on the road and younger drivers were being attracted to the sector.

“We have already started to talk to a number of organisations and persons to assist us in road safety as well as defence driving,” the AOPT head said.

Raphael reiterated the message to drivers that safety on the road was directly linked to insurance premiums.

“The cheapest insurance we have right now is $10 000 and the most expensive is $25 000. So we want to encourage the operators out there, be mindful, be careful, observe what is happening, make sure that we are in a position to be able to have great judgement and make it clear and straight.”

The driver of the PSV was among those who had to seek medical attention. (SAT)

https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/accident-854×349.png

2. You are absolutely right!

Well and more broadly argued than the socalled professional political scientists.

3. When we have such a ‘big man’, indeed a relative giant compared to a near dwarf like RAT, talking about harsh law enforcement within a culture where the horse has already left the barn, may suggest that a bigger head is not at all brain.

Yes, there’s always a need to enforce laws all the time on all offenders and put more relevant ones on the books. However, we have seen few cases of this regime now seemingly under seige, and with broad criticism from the opposition on this matter, holding themselves and other elites to the same legal application standard for even more substantial deviant behaviours on their part, as the big man now conveniently advocates for others.

Maybe, this most times gentle giant of a man would stop seeing cultural decadence as a nail unto which his heavy hammer must exclusively be applied. And if a heavy hammer is needed maybe that tool in the hand of a physical giant is best first applied to the head of the decadent, cultural nail – his political boss herself.

4. Deserving or Not Deserving Avatar
    Deserving or Not Deserving

The problem is people have to deserve your vote,
    if you have high standards of ideals they fall short.
    Crummy Politicians talk the talk but can’t walk the walk.

5. @ David

Voter turn out here is a matter of six of one and half dozen of the other. I ain’t willing to give none my vote this elections, because neither party deserves it and its that simple. The Bs do bare foolishness this last period, from the taking up of the Holetown beach land to giving way valuable state land to a bank. And don’t get me started on the roads, crime motorcycles and a wash of other issues that remain unaddressed.

No sir you got to earn my vote it ain’t for the sake that I place an X, nor would I vote D because I vexified (yes I say its a word) with B. I don’t give away my vote by default either. Voter turn out here is going to be low because if you ask the non fowl Bajan what they think, most will say ” I ain’t happy wid Mia but Thorne and dem ain’t saying nutting.”

6. PMMIA calling in observers from the commonwealth and Caricom ?

I smell a rat.

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

Clearly newly minted MP Blackman has cognitive issue with the term LAW(S), and hence his assessment of flouting the law.
    Look in the mirror?
    Is one law now different from another law in terms of enforcement?
    His own government, have been flouting the law when it comes to Reporting across a wide swath of public entities. Is this now different from flouting the law, when it refers to enforcement of other laws?
    The very Government of Barbados, whether it was D before, or B now, have consistently and repeatedly flouted the law. So why can’t citizens? They have been taught by their government that flouting the law is ok, and can occur without penalty.
    It is fine to declare repeatedly that Barbados is a Nation of Laws, but what is the relevance when those laws are not enforced? The truth is, Barbados is a Nation of Norms.
    Actions become norms, when they are repeated consistently without penalty. They become the unwritten law.

8. Getting Twitchy Avatar

People are axing What is the point of this election?

Others are thinking Should Ralph surrender and concede defeat?

While others are asking Why call in Caricom Observers?

Perhaps it is due to the comment down below ( ⬇️ )

“Pachamama President, :: ::
    The Party for the Militarization of Government.”

9. NO
    Yes, but this is not about D or B. It’s about the global oligarchy which is now in full control. The Rothchild bankers, the Blackrock Group, especially. They can, like Trump, Macron and Merz for example, imprison their political opponents, kill people in broad daylight, say how elections are to be held and who should vote, ignore international law, break any law deem fit, openly steal governments’ resources, while the “little people” fight about party loyalties.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

Pacha
    Your choice of examples….
    For Putin, Maduro and Diaz-Canel do not imprison, or worse, opponents? Dare I mention resistance within Iran?
    In several of your recent comments, you have been clear to understand the power of force. Especially the value of armed forces.
    They ALL do it? Wherever they are placed on the idealogical chart. Whether we approve, justify or merely ignore, reflects our own placement within that chart.

11. @ NO
    If the place has become a mafia,
    …then what ‘laws’ are there
    besides what the Don last decreed?

@ Pacha
    Forget what the bible says…
    If there is a great battle raging, and then one side calls a unilateral truce, and turns away from the fight…(for whatever reason)
    Will not the battlefield be dominated by the dictates of the remaining combatant?

The above explains WHY your 2:11 pm is 100% correct…

But it will be cat piss and pepper shortly…
    when the ‘truce-caller’ returns to clean shop…

12. NO

But it’s your Western regimes which have long been professing democracy.

The best definition about democracy we’ve seen is about resources. Its economic democracy! No other definition comes close.

And at least the leaders you don’t like are hated by the West for this same reason. Because they prevent the oligarchs from dominating the rest of their peoples into never-ending poverty.

The reason being that they dare to say that their countries resources being to their peoples. Unlike your Western socalled democracies, which are all degenerating into fascism, and in which the one-percenters own 90 percent of the wealth.

All the people you’ve to taught to hate are worthy of love by the rest of us.

Capitalism is about to again deliver us another era of the Third Reich. This is your democracy! This is what you should be concerned about. Last time Western capitalism landed us here the Chinese had to surrender 20 million lives to save the world. The USSR had to give 30 plus million to destroy the devil your White Westerners created – Adolf Hitler. And you’ve made him once more in the persons of Donald Drumpf and the pantheon of Mussolinis currently running Europe.

13. I advise all opposition members not to even try to vote. Stay at home and leave the election to the honourable ministers and their supporters.

Hopefully, this will be the last election before the new presidential constitution is proclaimed with the tacit consent of the people. We should dare to try something new. The people want strong and pure leadership, not chatter in Parliament.

14. How will politicians work with civil society to solve a problem of $3000 hitmen for hire in Barbados?

Hitmen killing for $3 000, says DPP

THERE ARE HITMEN in Barbados who are killing people for $3 000.

This was the revelation by Director of Public Prosecutions Alliston Seale, SC, who says he sees all this information from the files that land on his desk.

“For filthy lucre, for nasty piece of end of money and you could be the next target. We know there are those persons in Barbados. Some in prison now and some out. And it all comes back to this dope that they’re smoking.”

The island’s top prosecutor was speaking in the No. 4 Supreme Court yesterday.

“We cannot deny the fact that we have hitmen, a man that you could pay and he would go and shoot somebody that never did him anything,” the Senior Counsel said.

“People are being paid to kill somebody and when you hear how much money it is – $3 000. These are the things I see every day when files come on my desk,” he declared.

“A person’s life, you would think that at least you would put more value on it. And even if the man who wants to pay for the killing is prepared to pay little or nothing because he is getting a deal, one would hope that the killer would say you got to pay me more than that.

“You got to pay me that when I go jail and come out in 40 years I still got a good living so you got to pay me about $3 million,” he said.

The DPP once again blamed such actions on the smoking of marijuana.

He said the use of the psychotropic drug was one of the reasons why “people would just drive up to a group of people sitting down playing dominoes and shoot”.

“They don’t care who they shoot. They don’t have the presence of mind to say other people there. Half their head so twist that a fellow could give you $3 000 and you walk down the road and shoot a man you don’t know, who ain’t had nothing to do with you.”

Seale, however, reiterated that the prosecution would be asking for a tariff of 40 years for anyone found guilty or who pleaded guilty to murder.

And it does not matter if the killer is a man or woman.

“We cannot go any lower,” he said, explaining that those who confess are entitled to a one-third discount. This, he said, reduces that 40-year tariff by about 13 years.

“If we even look at a starting point below that, we will be making sport at the death of our people. My philosophy is simple – any time you kill somebody in Barbados the starting point must be 40 years in the absence of any guidelines for murder in Barbados.

15. How about solving once and for all the problem of the zr minibus culture in Barbados?

Minibus culture cause of bad behaviour

THE ISLAND’S top prosecutor has laid partial blame squarely at the feet of the minibus and ZRculture for the bad behaviour exhibited by school children.

In addition, said Director of Public Prosecutions Alliston Seale, SC, there is a link between those who misbehave at school and the majority of them who end up before the law courts.

“They get on the public service vehicles and people flood their head with ignorance and wutlessness and violence,” he declared.

“We all know when we get up on mornings the first song we hear reverberates throughout the day and you can’t get it out your head. And we put our children on these things all the time and nobody seems to want to do anything about it.

“Then when they skin over and they injure [people], then they talk a little bit but that is a nineday wonder and then it’s done,” he said.

The DPP was speaking as he argued for a life sentence with a 42-year tariff for convicted murderer Shakira Carlann Blackman, who was back in the No. 4 Supreme Court yesterday.

Blackman, of 4th Avenue, Park Road, Bush Hall, St Michael, was found guilty of murdering Shanice Miller on November 27, 2021.

She was represented by King’s Counsel Andrew Pilgrim and attorney Martie Garnes and will be sentenced on March 20.

The DPP, who had prosecuted the matter with State Counsel Paul Prescod and State Counsel Maya Kellman, was referring to Blackman’s presentencing report which traced her school career and her decline in grades and increase in negative behaviour.

“I would like to tell young people at school that most of the people who end up in trouble, start with that behaviour at school.

‘No future’

“And in this era when we frown on corporal punishment, I still have to see the solution for this era we live in. I would hope we could get into the schools and get them to understand that there is no future for this type of behaviour,” he said.

“I constantly stand here on my soap box and beg for the soul of Barbados because at the end of the day you cannot have a good week before you have a violent incident,” he noted.

The DPP stressed that the island’s children cannot be trusted to the private transportation sector.

“The values are none. You can’t get them to wear a uniform, so how will the children dress properly? Their pants are down by their knees, so how are the children going to keep the pants by their waist?

“There is nobody to emulate in that sphere. So when the children come to school, they’re already stressed out with all the ignorance they hear. They can’t listen to any maths; they can’t listen to any examples of good speech because all they’ve heard is abusive, insulting, vulgar language both from the conductor and the driver. And then the music they’re playing. And then we ask how they get so,” he said.

“I can’t see how a private sector can run this ’cause they’re doing a woeful, woeful job now,” he declared.

DPP Seale added that while there were guidance counsellors in schools, parents and guardians were not “availing themselves to what is there”.

“They have all kinds of guidance counsellors, so don’t tell me Government hasn’t done anything. You can get your problems solved but if you don’t avail yourself.”

16. Barbados use to be the country in demand to observe elections around the world, it is our turn to be observed with accusation of electoral irregularities and the like being floated about. We never defaulted on debt until 2018, now our election is to be observed. How things have changed.
    Nod to observers

Pundits generally in favour, but Bruce says they’re not necessary

by ANTOINETTE CONNELL antoinetteconnell@nationnews. com

PROFESSOR CYNTHIA BARROW-GILES, a longtime advocate of election observers, believes the move to have them here is good for the country one way or the other, while a political scientist considers it unnecessary.

“It can only be a good thing. One, it can allay fears on the part of citizens, opposition groups, civil society groups, that all is well and rest assured that what they have seen suggests that there’s nothing that is fundamentally wrong,” she told DAILY NATION yesterday.

Barrow-Giles, professor in constitutional governance and politics at the University of the West Indies, along with political scientists Dr Kristina Hinds, Peter Wickham and Devaron Bruce, weighed in on Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley’s decision on Tuesday to invite missions from CARICOM and the Commonwealth to observe the February 11 General Election.

Voters’ list

This followed Leader of the Opposition and the Democratic Labour Party Ralph Thorne and others complaining about the voters’ lists and the readiness of the overseeing agency, the Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

Barrow-Giles said Barbados was one of the last Englishspeaking countries that has not had any observers and that is based on the tendency for others to suggest things are well here and it is not needed, but it can help.

“So in other words, what you’re doing is to endorse what a country has done based on your neutral observation of what is taking place on the ground. Alternatively, you can also show that ‘Look, all is not well, and these are the things which are not well, and this is what needs to be done.’

“It will dispel any misconception that electoral subversion is taking place and show that elections are in fact basically clean. I don’t like to use the terminology free and fair, elections can be free, but not necessarily fair. So it can allay fears on the part of civil society, political parties, especially minor political parties and opposition political parties,” she said.

The professor said that there are some observer missions that are more embedded for the long term, like the European Union, but the organisations invited by the Prime Minister did not necessarily do “the kind of long-term observation missions that the European community would normally undertake”.

“They would be in a country for sometimes three months before the election. So it gives you time to really investigate what is taking place, to monitor without intervening, without interfering with the affairs on the ground,” she said.

Hinds said that such election observations were “pretty run of the mill and should be welcomed”.

“There do not need to be allegations of impropriety to have elections observed. The observers look at the process and then report on all elements of it to facilitate future improvements,” she said.

Barrow-Giles had explained that missions usually visited countries emerging from conflict, those just transiting to democracy such as old socialist countries or where there have been civil wars, coups and military regimes in place.

Recommendations

“They go where there’s a crisis and the expectation is that you can examine and assess what is taking place, and also provide them with recommendations as to how they can improve the electoral machinery, improve the law, improve the constitution, as it may be. But election observers also go to countries which are well-established democracies,” she said.

However, Bruce thought the invitation an unnecessary development since the general mandate of election observers in the Caribbean was to assess whether the electoral process meets regional electoral standards so they can be deemed free and fair.

“This would include assessing the electoral environment like the voter registration process, nomination procedures, and, on election day, whether polling stations procedures are up to scratch – things such as whether polling officials follow protocol, opening and closing times,” he said.

Concerns regarding the process and procedure have “never really materialised in any major or systemic way,” he said.

“Complaints about the EBC have largely been about the handling of the electoral list and cases of inaccuracies of how some voters have been categorised, for instance, someone being deemed out of the island for five years when this is not the case.

“This is a responsibility for the EBC to correct, and quite frankly, observers have no jurisdiction over these matters,” he said, adding that at the very least, the observers can document any repeat instances or claims of voters not being able to cast a vote and why.

Wickham, the head of Caribbean Development Research Services (CADRES), said Barbados has always supplied a large number of election observers across the region but there’s always been a peculiarity where the country did not have observers, as the presumption was that it was not needed because the political parties were relatively satisfied that things were done properly.

“What this tells me is that we are now entering an era where there’s a level of suspicion and the Prime Minister has rightfully responded by saying, ‘Let’s have the observers.’ So I don’t see a difficulty,” he said.

The country’s reputation, he stated, has not been harmed but the political atmosphere “is becoming similar to the atmosphere in every other Caribbean island, where there’s a high level of suspicion which, in my view, is largely unnecessary and unfounded”.

17. “Barbados used to be the country in demand to observe elections around the world, it is our turn to be observed with accusation of electoral irregularities and the like being floated about. We never defaulted on debt until 2018, now our election is to be observed. How things have changed.”

Are you suggesting that some external/international organisation decided to send people to observe our general elections, as a result of “accusations of electoral irregularities and the like being floated about?”

WHO has been floating those “accusations of electoral irregularities?”

Don’t you believe a TYPICAL RESPONSE to such accusations would be to INVITE an election observation mission to observe the 2026 general elections, which would assist in building public confidence in the honesty of the electoral process?

According to a Tuesday, January 27, 2026, Barbados Today online article:

“In an unprecedented move, Prime Minister Mia Mottley has INVITED INDEPENDENT ELECTORAL OBSERVERS for the upcoming general election on February 11.”

“Speaking to reporters after filing her nomination papers to contest the St Michael North East seat on Tuesday morning, the Prime Minister explained that she had taken the decision in a bid to “protect the reputation of Barbados.”

“Prime Minister Mottley’s disclosure comes on the heels of concerns and comments by opposition on voters’ list and the readiness of the Electoral and Boundaries Commission (EBC).”

18. The DDP is correct.

Recently two Jamaicans were arraigned on two separate murder charges.

One said he was approached by an individual who offered him a sum of money to kill another person, for which he received half payment.

The accused allegedly committed the murder, but unfortunately for him, he was arrested before receiving the ‘balance due.’

19. It is good that our honourable government is securing the election with foreign observers. We have been a model democracy since 2018 and should remain so. Even one opposition member in parliament could indicate electoral fraud.

All pro-government non-governmental organisations, employer-friendly trade unions and concerned patriots are also called upon to closely monitor the elections.

Citizens do not want to wake up in their mansions at 10 a.m. on 12 February and read in the news while having champagne breakfast in their swimming pools that some “opposition” has overthrown the government.

Tron

20. @Artax

We don’t have confidence in the EBC? The opposition leader who up to two years ago was comfortably placed on the BLP side had no issue with the EBC and suddenly the very system has become corrupt? Unlike many the blogmaster is not easily fooled by the games politicians play.

21. @Artax

Have we heard from the DLP representatives sitting on the EBC? Is it Hal Gollop or Maxine McClean?

22. David
    January 29, 2026 at 6:02 am

Re the counsel’s words. 40 years? Skippa, if iz a family member of mine, the perp aint spending no 40 years in jail.

Dat is wrong.

What is right is dat he sees the hereafter tout de sweet. And de tooter, de sweeter.

Wunna get too soft on dese wufless criminals. Need a cat or de hangman. Better both.

Den yuh wud see dis stupidness done wid.

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

Pacha
    I am yet to discover a perfectly balanced system.
    You use the term oligarchs, which are as present in Russia as they are in the West. And they both come with similar economic riches. Each time a political opponent arises in Russia, they seem to fall off tall buildings or meet other fatal endings. Yet, your support, for other reasons, is steadfast?
    You claim the measure is economic democracy.
    Is this how GAESA, the military operated conglomerate got to control so much of Cuba? Or are they “the people”. Is that different from the massive holdings of OMERS or the Teachers Pension Fund here?
    Though I haven’t been in years, Chateau Montebello was my favourite hotel. Bankrupt today, owned by Evergrande. WTF is a Chinese developer doing owning Real Estate in Canada? Weren’t riches accumulating to those associated with Evergrande? Or were they considered “the people”.
    Perfection does not exist. Every nations “systems” are in constant change.
    I am yet to visit a Nation, where in Orwellian terms, all pigs are equal.
    And “leaders I don’t like”? You mean Trump, Putin, Netanyahu etc War mongers all.

24. “Unlike many the blogmaster is not easily fooled by the games politicians play.”

I share similar sentiments.

Politicians and their underlying motives never cease to amaze me. It’s not about authoritative or visionary style of leadership, whereby they serve Barbadians, while setting a clear vision and direction for our future, and the country by extension…..

…… but more so about authoritarianism…… “do as they say.”

That’s why similarly to John A, I’m NOT VOTING ‘for a boy.’

I’ve seen Michael Lashley, who after several years of criticising the BLP, and berated Mia Mottley at their infamous mass meeting in St Michael North East, during the 2018 election campaign……

……is NOW a MEMBER of the BLP, and their candidate for the City in the upcoming general elections.

This is the SAME Michael Lashley who had an abysmal tenure as Transport Minister, and was driving a vehicle owned by a company that provided transmission and other mechanical services to Transport Board buses.

Thorne, on the other hand, was the duly elected parliamentary representative for the constituency of Christ Church South, a seat he won with 70.4% and 70.1% of votes casted, in the in the 2018 and 2022 general elections respectively.

He ‘crossed the floor’ to join the DLP, and was embraced by party supporters, a move that allowed him to be appointed Opposition Leader, and subsequently DLP president……

…… but not WITHOUT causing UPHEAVAL (a major change that caused conflict, confusion, and anger), and division within that political party.

Rather than REMAINING COMMITTED to those Christ Church South constituents who voted overwhelmingly for him, while attempting to gain the support of DLP supporters who would’ve otherwise voted for Marc Lurent, Thorne decided to ‘switch seats,’ and ‘run for’ St. John, perhaps because there is a belief that it’s a ‘safe seat’ for the DEMS, and with a few mentions of Barrow, or laying wreaths on his grave, he would be victorious.

Such a decision can be reasonably interpreted as wanting to WIN at all cost, rather than that of SERVICE.

25. I see no problem with the openess of our elections to foreign scrutiny. It will ensure that if another 30 to 0 should occur, no one could claim malfices were present.

I would like to suggest the new leader in St Vincent that sent Ralphy into retirement, could send up 30 of his people to monitor the process and maybe drive some old people to the poles here etc. I mean with the freedom of movement between us that should be acceptable.

After all we sent “helpers” from the BLP to assist Ralpie in his elections, so if the new PM down there reciprocated that would be a sign of Caricom unity would it not? After all the last thing I want to see is an amurikan chopper land here in the dead of night and tek up anybody for trying a “maduro move,” cause the boss man up there think something fishy went on in Bim. All like now he might be planning to seize control of we sea eggs and market it to Putin as Amurikan caviar!

26. @Artax

“Such a decision can be reasonably interpreted as wanting to WIN at all cost, rather than that of SERVICE.”

Thorne may claim that he’s better suited to deliver the service he desires from a safe seat as LOTO of the party.

27. @Artax Avatar Artax January 29, 2026 at 1:22 pm

The changes of sides and districts all make sense. At least, if you put yourself in the shoes of our chess grandmaster Mia …

Quisling Lashley had the best result of all DLP candidates in the last election. So it’s only logical to win him over for state & party.

Mole Thorne, on the other hand, is needed to continue undermining the opposition from within.

I am already looking forward to the next brilliant moves, especially the presidential constitution with a president for life and parliamentary elections every 10 years.

Tron
    fair and balanced – like Foxnews

28. @ Tron

Apparently, you’ve forgotten Newsmax, and recently CBS, are also “fair and balanced” as well.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

29. @ David
    “Such a decision can be reasonably interpreted as wanting to WIN at all cost, rather than that of SERVICE.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    How did you interpret the decisions to call two consecutive elections years early?

First during Covid, and at the peak of DLP disorganization, …and now before a voter registration process is properly completed?

How do you interpret the fact that after 8 years we have not seen audited financials for so many CRITICAL State agencies such as NIS, NISSS, BWA, QEH, etc – BUT are being asked to make BLIND decisions about the next 5 years?

How do you interpret the fact that the ONLY PERSON who provided an independent assessment of out National Finances – A certain ‘Mr Trotman’, has finally been disposed of, …and that his replacement remains a mystery…?

Bushie is waiting for something to interpret as ‘WANTING TO MAKE BARBADOS SUCCEED’…. Do you see dat anywhere?

The only GOOD thing here, … is that, should we decide to continue along the SAME PATH, we will have no one else to blame but our own donkeys…
    …Just like the ‘Murkans are seeing now
    – having chosen an orange Trumpet
    because he talks alotta shiite and claims to be rich…

What a world!

30. @Bush Tea

The comment was to show the other side of Artax’ comment. That is all.

31. Mia’s has built an impregnable enclave for someone/group. It’s certainly not for the typical domestic Bajan and that includes Donna.

I even read today that Mia, miraculously, has just found some very cheap land for landless Bajans to purchase. What a coincidence that the country will be going to the polls next week.

God bless Mia. Would it be too much for the journalists to ask Mia what percentage of land and buildings (commercial and domestic are owned by foreigners/aliens).

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7hQuaAr7iYA

32. @ David

We’re behaving as though the unavailability of audited financial statements for state-owned agencies, or problems at the QEH, began under this current Mia Mottley administration.

The AudGen Reports CLEARLY INDICATE successive BLP and DLP ‘governments’ ‘have continued along the same path.’

Speaking of the former AudGen, to suggest, “the ONLY PERSON who provided an independent assessment of our National Finances” was Mr. Trotman is misleading BU.

Auditors from the AudGen’s Office would’ve audited government’s financial operations, and compiled the necessary reports based on the results of those audits.
    Trotman would’ve fulfilled his duty by preparing an AudGen Report based on those results, and submit it to Parliament, as outlined/mandated by the Constitution.

As such, kudos MUST ALSO BE GIVEN to the Auditors as well.

I’ve read that Thorne ‘has continued along the same path’ by proposing to introduce integrity legislation, transparency and accountability, reducing VAT etc, all of which reminded me of the DLP’s 2008 election campaign strategy, and outlined in their manifesto.

What is his stance on the ‘donor class,’…… those individuals who donate ‘hundreds of thousands of dollars’ to fund candidates and political parties, essentially influencing policy, or is he ‘going to continue along the same path?

Despite all the political grandstanding and posturing, I haven’t seen any evidence of Thorne making any clear, fundamental changes in the DLP’s core political, philosophical and ideological principles that would SEPARATE ‘Dem’ from the ‘duopoly.’

New candidates in any political party, without making those changes, is essentially ‘continuing along the same path.’

If you’re going to vote for the DLP, it’s your constitutional right to do so.

But, don’t come to me with shiite wrapped up in foil paper and try to convince me it’s a Cadbury whole nut chocolate.

33. For the sake of completeness, I would like to add that before the 2018 election, sewage was spreading across the sea and streets on the south coast, the sewage treatment plant was overgrown with trees (sic!), VAT refunds took ages, there were no pay rises in the public sector, and the rating was so low that the agencies ran out of letters.

The whole world laughed at us. Behind closed doors, diplomats, expats and tourists whispered: ‘Blacks just can’t govern a country.’

That changed abruptly with Mia Mottley’s rise to power. She has managed various crises, from volcanic ash to Corona to the recent episodes in the United States, in such a way that Barbados has not fallen back into disaster mode.

Anyone who is not yet suffering from dementia should remember what the DLP wanted during the coronavirus crisis. They wanted to completely lock down the country, starving and impoverishing it at a time when many citizens were already suffering greatly due to unemployment and debt. What an inhuman policy.

Thorne has also no qualms about welcoming an orange jumpsuit. And this is supposed to be a champion of the law and the people?

No more Drax Hall 2.0!

Tron
    always fair, always balanced

34. But for FULL completeness, Bushie must add that while the above is true, Bajans did the RIGHT thing then, and kicked Froon, Stinkliar, and the other DLP idjuts out of Parliament with a LOUD 60-0 voice.

Now lo and behold, the alternative BLP BBs doing the SAME shiite…
    -STILL have the sewerage pouring into the sea
    -Now have the middle class scrambling, and the poor begging Safrey fuh lodging
    -Raided the people’s NISSS – to lower the debt
    -Sold our tails off to the IMF / now we have to do WHATEVER they say..
    -Selling / GIVING away our VERY LIMITED lands to foreigners
    -REFUSING to share info on how BILLIONS of our dollars are spent /stolen
    -and behaving ARROGANT as shiite…

What do you think WISE Bajans should do in the circumstances Tronnie?

…Well Bushie would put a 18-12 in their tail …
    …so that they HAVE to remain in parliament to face the music… and the HOPE report.

After all…
    Thorne was NOT one of the shiite Dees…
    Indeed, apparently he was not really one of the shiite Bees EITHER… judging from all the current RAT talk…
    So CLEARLY Thorne is currently our best bet… from a failed lot.

You, however, are betting that Bajans will just apply vaseline and bend over further – aren’t you…??
    Well check Petra … NOT stinking Bushie.

What a Tron!

35. Bushie

18. – 12 in whose favor?

36. @ John2
    If you REALLY think it matters, then you are not reading the tea leaves…
    After a point, it matters NOT who skippers the Titanic…

This election is PURELY about measuring the quality of JUDGEMENT of Bajans…

What a time!

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

Artax
    I agree.
    MAM has produced a doctorate class in party neutering. I mentioned earlier, the voice conversation on BU of her discussing ML defending the then deputy Speaker. And in a party, DLP, which was historically weak in offering female candidates, to grab TT, is a slap in the D’s face. The other move was to bring Ronnie back into the fold? 😂
    This systematic neutering of oversight bodies and accountability measures in on BOTH parties, as u noted.
    And the concept of “service” is as outdated as “the monarchy”. Let’s see what RAT does, if he doesn’t win StJohn North and South. In a 30-0, who crosses the floor to pick up the LoO pay cheque?
    Aside. Where is KK? Must be still in law school. The heat on McConney has cooled since she was moved, previously the MP most likely to deserve the boot. The twice step aside Caddle, seems to have Sealy’s number, so is back again. TP must have a full pension by now? Why he sticks around to only cuss when another Senator is appointed to fill a ministerial role is beyond me. St.G is now home to two lame duck MPs. I guess with a few Senators facing the electorate, the bigger guess is who will fill their vacancies and get a portfolio. Rawdon? KK? Does ML become AG? Why is Cummins not running?
    The betting apps must be abuzz.

38. @NO

You are spot on.

39. The flip side is to take a stroll through social media to observe how the louder influencers are being manipulated. It is so obvious it is nauseating.

40. Apathy and cynicism

This article was written and submitted by Ralph Jemmott, a social commentator and retired educator.

In preparation for penning this article I decided to look up a word that is now very much part of the public discourse.

That word is ‘apathy.’

Chambers English Dictionary defines it as ‘a want of feeling, passion or interest.’ It also uses the word ‘indifference’. One is not sure whether Barbadians two weeks before the February 11, 2026 General Election are ‘apathetic’.

From what I am observing only the outright partisans who have something to gain or lose are ‘passionate’ about the poll. The others do not seem to have a keen interest but they are not what one night call ‘indifferent’. A lot could depend on the outcome of the February poll. Another clean sweep for the ruling Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and a corresponding wipe-out of the Democratic Party Labour (DLP) could mean the end of a political organisation that has contributed significantly to the development of Barbados.

Most right-thinking Bajans would not want to see that.

Besides, most conscious persons want to see a substantial opposition to the ruling party that would keep the Government in check.

One never tires of quoting John Stuart Mill’s statement that ‘a polity needs the constant dialectic of opposing perspectives so that the views of the one side would keep the excesses of the other in check, otherwise irrationality results.’

A vibrant multi-party system is essential to the maintenance of democratic politics.

Power corrupts

The current situation in the United States should indicate how easily autocracy can prevail even in a polity where the constitutional guard-rails once seemed so indestructible. ‘Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely,’ warned Lord Acton.

What some see as political apathy may reflect a number of sentiments. Firstly, some feel that in spite of their discontent with the present administration, the DLP is not ready or able to take over the reins of government given the severe challenges the country is facing. In this regard the Mottley-led administration seems to be a relatively safe pair of hands and the outcome appears quite clear.

Structural challenges

Secondly, some feel that the distinction between the two main parties is so small that six of one is equal to half a dozen of the other. Asked why they appear apathetic, some say ‘um en gine mek nuh difference’. They also perceive that the structural challenges in Barbadian society and economy, including economic volatility, labour insecurity, crime and other forms of social decline, the failure of social institutions, income inequality and the threat of climate change are baffling.

These problems are now so endemic that it would be very difficult for any political party that forms the government to fundamentally correct them. Given the promises that are being made by all and sundry, there appears to be a growing cynicism with politics and political parties. Such persons come to feel that they cannot change the country or the world beyond their own doorsteps, so they withdraw into the seeming comfort of their own solitude.

Hence the apathy.

The apathy is compounded by cynicism that arises from what Dr Andre Henry in his Errol Walton Barrow Memorial Lecture 2026 called ‘empty political rhetoric’. The language is often lofty but is hardly ever matched by substance.

Sometimes, beyond the soundbites and buzz-initiative words it is difficult to discern what it really means far less how the inflated vision is to be realised.

What if anything is ‘a global citizen?’

What would constitute the ‘Star Bajan?’ that is to emerge from the much vaunted National Transformation Initiative? How, given the existing challenges does one guarantee every child ‘a bright future’, given what Dr Henry terms our ‘weakened governance capacity’? There is much talk about ‘inclusivity’ but too often that appears to include primarily those who are ‘Red and Ready’.

The problem in much of today’s word is the decline in morality and of civic virtue. Someone recently send me a text which stated that ‘today, truth is as difficult to find as a needle in a hay-stack’. There are two critical issues facing Barbadians in their dayto- day lives. One is the high cost of living which is eroding the standard of living of many Bajans.

It is not an easy problem to solve. Much of our inflation is imported, a factor over which we may have little control.

If this continues, we may very well have to lower our expectations.

The other issue is crime and social disorder. One was shocked to read a headline in one of the daily publications.

The Director of Public Prosecutions is reported as saying that based on files that come before his desk ‘hitmen are killing for $3 000.’ The Government would have us believe that it is ‘a whole of society problem.’ That is a copout. Why are we electing a government? I am old, apathetic and cynical.

Some feel that the distinction between the two main parties is so small that six of one is equal to half a dozen of the other.

41. Voter apathy: Real or imagined?

There is much talk swirling about voter apathy in Barbados, but is it just talk? Let’s start by considering voter participation (or voter turnout), taken as the number who cast ballots as a percentage of registered electors. The five elections between 1966 and 1986 saw on average 77 per cent of registered electors voting.

This average disguises high participation rates of 80 per cent and 82 per cent in the 1966 and 1971 general elections. In contrast, the five general elections between 1991 and 2008 saw average voter participation drop to 63 per cent.

The 2013 and 2018 general elections maintained this moderate trend with voter turnout at 62 per cent and 60 per cent. In short, voter turnout remained moderate and steady in Barbados from 1991 to 2018. Although voter participation of around 63 per cent is far from excellent, looking across the region, we find that participation has also tapered off within the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), particularly since the 2000s.

Using data taken from International Idea (www.idea.int) we see that from the 1970s to 1999, 12 of the 14 CARICOM states averaged voter participation above 70 per cent and only two below 60 per cent. When we get to the 21st century we see that only seven states saw averages above 70 per cent, with four having average participation rates of between 60 per cent and 69 per cent and three below 60 per cent.

In Jamaica, low voter turnout has been a feature of the country’s general elections, especially since the 2011 general election in which participation was 53 per cent, followed by 48 per cent in 2016 and then worrying lows of 38 per cent in 2020, a COVID-19 pandemic election, and 40 per cent in 2025. This regional snapshot helps us to go beyond thinking of Barbados in isolation.

The 2022 general election in Barbados added the country to the unenviable group of states with sub-50 per cent voter participation rates, with voter participation having dropped to around 42 per cent. We can partially attribute this to the COVID-19 restrictions that pertained at the time of the election and that kept several from voting. Holding a general election in conditions that disenfranchised eligible voters was, understandably, contentious. As a result, using 2022 as a gauge of people’s willingness to vote is problematic. However, monitoring whether this low turnout continues in 2026 will be important for assessing alleged voter apathy.

There is a caveat here: assessing voter participation using the number of registered voters can be misleading if there are inaccuracies in a country’s electoral list. In Barbados this list has consistently been large with numbers of registered voters repeatedly exceeding estimates of the resident voting aged population since 1981 (see graph). As not everyone 18 years or over is eligible to vote (for those non-eligible immigrants), the voter aged population should be greater than the number of people registered to vote. The Electoral and Boundaries Commission attempted to address the inflated list in 2025 through a knotty enumeration exercise, now the subject of tense public discussion.

So, if in 2026 Barbados’ revised electoral register contains fewer voters than it did in 2022, comparable numbers of people voting in 2026 as in 2022 would misleadingly appear to show higher voter turnout. Further, as the electoral list was likely bloated for several elections, historical assessments of voter participation as “high”, “moderate” or “low” may also be misleading.

An alternative measure is to evaluate voter turnout as a percentage of the voting aged population (VAP) rather than as a percentage of registered voters. This alternative approach presents a picture of higher and relatively steady voter turnout (66 per cent – 69 per cent) from 1971 to 2018, with the 1981 and 1986 general elections standing out with elevated participation at 75 per cent and 80 per cent (see graph). This information on voter participation is not indicative of a rise in voter apathy in Barbados.

Nevertheless, if there is a repeat of the 2022 COVID-19 election low in 2026, that will be another story. So, February 11, 2026 will be a test of whether apathy is real or imagined.

https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2026/02/graph-hinds.png

42. @ David
    This is the kind of incentive for mass voter apathy.

So are we saying that, RATHER than address IMPLEMENTATION deficits, we should instead manipulate the voter list to improve the percentage of actual voters?

Either EVERYONE should be forced to vote, or the process should simple allow everyone who WANTS TO VOTE, to do so…
    BUT there is NO FAIR scenario where eligible voters should be excluded
    – NOT EVEN COVID.

There will always be those who want to continue situations such as the Steal House Robbery.

https://youtu.be/wx2w4iDhLoM

43. @Bush Tea

Both must be done. Ensure the voters list is accurate and do what is necessary to ensure citizens are informed and engaged in the process i.e aware of their civic responsibility.