Submitted by William Skinner
James Paul, CEO, Barbados Agricultural Society
James Paul, CEO, Barbados Agricultural Society says No MOU, no grant

The granting of concessions to the hoteliers, is a capitulation on the part of the Barbados government, which now finds itself with a one step forward two steps backward economic policy; trying to please an essentially lazy and backward corporate class while inflicting serious blows on the already poor and economically downtrodden.

The hoteliers in Barbados have clearly demonstrated that they have failed to capitalize on an industry that has been in existence for over sixty years. They have whined their way into the taxpayers coffers, on the spurious grounds that the concessions granted to the well established Sandals Group should be automatically theirs for the taking. In other words, while very few of them can ever boast or hope to come close, to demonstrating that they can ever reach Sandals’ heights, they have blackmailed the government into giving them similar benefits. It’s akin to a fourth division footballer demanding the same salary and perks of a first division superstar!

Be that as it may, they have also refused to sign on to a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), which will be used to monitor they operating in good faith with the agricultural community and other businesses, to ensure that the process is not exploited. In other words, the government wanted some formal agreement that the benefits will trickle down to local businesses. Low and behold, the BHTA said that it will not sign any MOU. Imagine a beggar being so bold faced, to be a chooser as well! It was very pitiful and embarrassing to witness a minister backing down from this group.

Barbados has reached a very sorry state where: poor university students must now pay some of their tuition; workers are being retrenched without being paid money legally due to them; employers circumnavigating legislation designed to ensure employee rights and practically all the lifelines for the poor disappearing, in terms of government services. But the hoteliers can just demand government help without wanting to be held to any accountability.

This is the latest and most blatant evidence that this administration, is not fully in control of the management of the country. The Minister of Finance should not allow any one group to believe that it is above all others. Hoteliers priced themselves and Barbados out of a very competitive and fast moving industry where inept managers, both local and foreign, blamed everybody from taxi men to beach vendors for their failures.

On the other hand Butch Stewart spent considerable time and resources to build a product that reaches and surpasses international standards. While it is reasonable to suggest that the concessions given to Sandals were excessive, it is also reasonable to suggest, that the gains that Barbados will make from a heavy Sandals presence will be far superior to any that will arise from those granted to inferior properties and management. We can rest assured that they will come begging again; in the very near future because restaurants not attached to hotels are already demanding concessions similar to those granted to the hotels. They will now claim that if they don’t get concessions they will be forced to lay off workers or carry their business elsewhere. The blackmail is only surpassed by the capitulation of successive governments to these pirates who believe that governments must underwrite their alarming shortcomings.

The concessions should be withheld until they sign the MOU. Beggars cannot be choosers

176 responses to “Tourism Sector a Cadre of Beggars”

1. “In other words, while very few of them can ever boast or hope to come close, to demonstrating that they can ever reach Sandals’ heights, they have blackmailed the government into giving them similar benefits. It’s akin to a fourth division footballer demanding the same salary and perks of a first division superstar”!……………………………

And you do not think that had Sandals had to compete under the same conditions as the local hoteliers that you could make that idle boast above?

Every market Butch Stewart has gone into, he has demanded and was given a wash pan of concessions for 25,30, 40 years.

And just because the local hoteliers ask for a level playing field, it is a problem and they must sign MOU. Where the hell was James Paul when Butch was given his sweet deal in some secret location? Did he or the Stinkliar demand Butch to sign any MOU?

I agree with the BHTA…..stand up to the bullies who have never owned or run a business nor never had to meet a payroll!

2. What is the difference between a memorandum of understanding and a binding contract?

I aint gine read an spell fuh wunna.

Barbados is fast becoming a nation of educated idiots.

3. hmmm.i keep wondering why loveridge never have the balls to write articles like these,,or maybe he just like being the ass clown big shot beggar,, but who say beggars can,t be chooser ,the hoteliers have proven that beggars can choose many times over…..

4. has anyone really seen the goods that James Paul is saying the hotels must buy for their guests. I go to the supermarket every friday & some of the things not even buying for your pig farm, The onions are old & wet & smelly, the sweet pepper when you cut them they are black & rotten inside, the carrots are dry without any taste, & I can go on. These are locally grown food, which we have to buy at top rates, for 3rd class food; as for fruit that’s another matter for the M of Ag. When these visitors come here & spend their money at restaurants they want to see good food for their money .

5. Did the BHTA put a gun to the head of the MoF and government to give them concessions? If not why were they given?

6. Hotels must serve good quality food to their guests ?

The food must not only taste good but it must look good.

There is also the issue of the chain of supply.

Always on time deliveries of consistently good quality items.

I hope the BAS will exceed the expectations of Hoteliers.

7. One way of understanding this behavior of the corporate elites is to call them beggars and they maybe. However a deeper analysis of what is happening, not only in Barbados but by corporates all over the world, is strategy to transfer massive tracts of public assets into private hands. Concessions represent but one avenue for the further impoverishing of most of us while and making a few richer. It is like a reverse of Robin Hood. Stealing from the poor to give to the rich. When NIS money is invested in private sector projects there is a high risk that it will never be repaid. And it is not intended to be! At some point these too will be forgiven or changed to a grant etc. This is not just corporate welfare gone a muck. It is the rise of a vicious inverted totalitarianism or neo-fuedalism, if you wish.

But Barbados is not alone. We are witnessing in Detroit the forced bankruptcy of a city of 700K people in circumstances where the judges themselves had said that that community did not qualify for bankruptcy proceedings, but it was made to be by the corporate elites who not control that government – Kevin Orr et al- but intend to extend a perverse form of disaster capitalism to all other inner cities, where Black people live, soon. These corporate gangsters are taking all the common wealth of the citizenry from the contents of museums to water resources. From the privatization of schools to the transfer of pension funds. In the case of the water system a public asset valued at 50BB was ‘sold’ to private interests for 50MM. All this is happening in broad day light with a Black man in a White house, and there is no national alarm. Historian will cite Detroit as the epicenter where the so-called enlightenment ideas begun their demise.

8. Hants | September 15, 2014 at 10:22 PM |
    Hotels must serve good quality food to their guests ?
    The food must not only taste good but it must look good.
    ………………………………………………………………………………
    Aren’t you forgetting a very important factor? The environment in which the food is served.
    Have you taken a look,or a sniff, at the sides of the roads along the tourist belt on the south coast recently?

9. Colonel Buggy I have written on BU that “Barbados needs to sweep the yard.”

The whole island is a resort. That is the mindset the Barbados government should have.

10. just asking September 15, 2014 at 9:20 PM “The onions are old & wet & smelly, the sweet pepper when you cut them they are black & rotten inside, the carrots are dry without any taste”

Dear just asking: You need to find a better supermarket or better still every Friday, early in the morning while the dew is still on the produce go to a farmer and buy directly from the farm.

Oftentimes produce is less than ideal because some idiot who knows nothing about farming stores the produce in the hot sun.

11. I came across a Photo taken in Barbados recently which was published on Flickr and in less than 2 days it received some 35,000 views.This highlights how powerful the camera is in conveying to the world what Barbados is like, in this case that photo depicted the beauty of this island.
    On the other hand when we get cruise ships passing through, there are tens of thousands on visitors all equipped with a camera and snapping away at their hearts contents. Many of these visitors, may not get to see the real beauty of this island, and would have to resign themselves to taking photos of Bridgetown, the Garrison and some of our so-called tourist attractions, like Gun Hill and Speighstown.
    Places, that in spite of the bragging and head -in -the sand mouthings of some politicians and other officials, such photos publish on the internet does nothing to justify what we so loosely call a paradise.

12. Oftentimes produce is less than ideal because some idiot who knows nothing about farming stores the produce in the hot sun.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………
    Or had the produce stored in a vegetable morgue for ages.

13. […] David Submitted by William Skinner The granting of concessions to the hoteliers, is a capitulation on the […]

14. just asking….another jackass trying to find excuses ,hey there are such examples across any country where some farmers do a lousy job of preservation,,but on the issue where the Bhta is arrogant and self serving in their approach not to sign an agreement where it would be a financial benefit to helping local agricultural industry,there is absolutely no excuse ,,further more it flys in the face and breaks the partnership mold these beggars /hypocrites and pretentious welfare benefactors speak about .., however one is left with the sickening feeling that these hoteliers only concern is self and any interest in helping the small business operator is not of real concern ,one can site the local music industry who struggles and point out the inconsistent use of any hotels to use them on a regular basis

15. colonel buggy the future trust is all geared up for their annual cleanup across the country…you are cordially invited to participate,,u can bring the miller and all the other long winded talkers along who have an interest in seeing the highways and byways and gullies and gutters well kept,,a day full of fun and laughter no one will be disappointed,,get on board,,,,talk is cheap,,this event cost nothing…no excuses allowed,

16. Keeping Barbados clean requires an attitudinal change. Periodically doing a beach cleanup here and there is a band aid only solution although welcomed.

17. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@just asking

there is a difference between fresh produce and those on shelves for a while.

18. Did I read right here on BU that sometime in the recent past some hotelier took government’s money and then close shop and disappeared? Perhaps that’s one of my senior moments.If such is not the case I am then forced to beg Prodigal Son to please put an air tight lid on his political garbage.

19. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@AC

I with you. I remember when the plantation suck govt under restructuring scheme leaving govt with massive debts.

these hoteliers are running a Ponzi scheme about here they send their profit overseas, they but villas and live in them and charge the expense to the hotel.

now if they can demand the consumers ought to put pressure on govt to have a reduction in the cost of living , construction firms, doctors, dentists need to ask for concessio9ns too and the list goes on.

they should not be allowed to hold the govt to ransom, you want these concessions who is Barbados going to benefit, I wonder if the medical school in Barbados is also entitled to concessions, that school is involved in medical tourism.. Lord have mercy.

20. How are the hoteliers holding government to ransom?

Why did Butch not invest in the Paradise property all those years ago? Was it because Owen Arthur refused to given the quantum of concessions requested? Now this government like many across the region is starved of investment the door was flung open.

Why was Lucky Horse Shoe allowed to import millions of dollars in chicken wings? Why was Subway very unhappy with local suppliers?

We really need to stop the political poppycock.

21. I just loved how the article on which this resulting discussion opens up. Let me quote an extract from it: “…trying to please an essentially lazy and backward corporate class while inflicting serious blows on the already poor and economically downtrodden.”
    What this essentially says without spelling it out in print is that the white, lazy and brain-dead, hotel owners are raping the Barbadian economy to the tune of millions of dollars, dollars placed there by those who can barely afford to survive let alone stay in the very hotels which their tax dollars are supporting, allbeit without their knowledge or consent.
    Now how can this be right? These white parasites believe that their lives are an automatic entitlement to whatever they wish to have and can lay their eyes on. The tourism sector has done ZERO in net positive effect for Barbados over the last 20 years. That’s two full decades of stagnation while they enjoyed tax free and duty free everything. And if that isn’t enough, you’ve got one of them using this forum to espouse his views on how he and his cronies can use more of our monies to enrich themselves while offering more promises and wild dreams.
    Let the BRA and the so called academically elite perform a forensic audit on some of these hoteliers and see where that money really went. Then lets open up Dodds and let the on-zee, two-zee dope smokers out to make way for the REAL criminals in this society.
    On careful examination of where we are currently, I submit humbly that Barbados doesn’t need a Minister of Finance, it needs a CEO and CFO to head the country and Finance Ministry respectively. Two individuals cut from local cloth, seasoned with successes which can be clearly documented and handed a lucrative contract with a 4 year mandate to turn this ship around and head back to port by a clearly defined time. Failure to do such will result in their forfeiting 60 or 70% of their earnings. Success gains them a significant bonus to the tune of 10% of their successful implementation of a rejuvenated economy.
    Cant happen many of you may say, but look at Singapore, their success, their business model, and their workforce and you tell me how a country which copied a plan born right here in the Caribbean can do what we hypothesized, and we cant even get a copy of the manual to success that we wrote!
    Tourism is the business of the few who have used it to steal, pilfer and enrich themselves while the rest of us are asked to prop it in through wild taxation and other schemes of full blown ignorance and greed.
    Lets cut it down by removing the white-cancers which grow in the limbs of its already decaying body. Expel these ex-pats who are nothing more than vile parasites in this country and take back Barbados, rebuilding it for the good of the masses, not the villainous few.
    I DARE YOU!

22. I am a firm believer in the fact than an attitude of cleanliness beginning in the home environment; which should automatically transfer to the social environment. This attitude of cleanliness can also be taught in the school, church and in addition to the home which I’ve already alluded to above. Also bearing mind that these three important institutions in society, the home, school and church, inculcates the most influence upon the malleable minds of our young people. An attitude of cleanliness ought to be instill from a very young age for one to understand and appreciate a clean environment. I see on a daily basis here in America and more specifically, within the Black community, grown men as well as women littering the street of their neighborhood with garbage, and I stop and often question their personal values and sense of responsibility, but more importantly, the example their are setting for the younger generation.

23. You think Barbados is dirty now ….what if they convict adrian peterson

24. @ The Watcher
    Are you sure that all the hotel owners are white? Really sure?
    I think that you will need new glasses before calling yourself The Watcher!

25. Lawson, I have read articles where visitors to Barbados grappled about the fact that garbage was littering the streets of Barbados. Don’t know if it was factual but one thing is certain and that is, I read it, but somehow questioned its validity. Wondering whether or not, if some ulterior motive was at play here because I can’t remember a time I have ever saw any of the streets of Barbados littered with garbage.

26. @ Bookworm.

I will get them checked on your advice. But you do your own checking and see that the majority are.
    You read and interpreted what I said to mean all are white. That would not be an accurate statement. So it cant be an accurate assessment or interpretation either.
    However, with over 80% of them being white, that to me represents a clear majority.
    Call it as I see it.
    Thanks for the invite to Harcourt Carter optical though. I’ll be guided accordingly.
    Cheers

27. Ignorance surely knows no bounds.

28. Hamilton Hill | September 16, 2014 at 6:34 AM |
    Did I read right here on BU that sometime in the recent past some hotelier took government’s money and then close shop and disappeared?

[[[[[[[[[[[[[
    Read the same thing here the poster named Silver Sands hotel as the culprit. Skinner’s article is bang on target the refusal of the BHTA to sign the MOU with the agriculture sector demonstrates the economic elite are only interested in their narrow grab for personal wealth. Linkages and the nation be damned as far as they are concerned.
    A lawyer partner with a different view drew attention to the upcoming Scottish vote and its impact on tourism. He postulates if the Scots vote for independence the disruptive ripple effect on Barbados tourism from the rump UK could be devastating.
    Keep writing Skinner my boy truer words have never been said give them hell.. The Watcher spews the views of the very people Skinner talks about.

29. Bookworm

Well, tell us what percentage of the hotel owners in Barbados are White. Like it really matters because we already know the answer to the obvious question, but allow me the opportunity to make an educated guess here sir: 2% East Indian, 1% Chinese and 97% Caucasian right?

30. Dompey I just came back from a 3 week holiday, and yes whether it is a vacant lot or the road or even the beach some people would rather throw garbage on the ground than in the bin, I am not saying the people are any better here but we don’t depend as much on tourism.just like in an interview you only have one chance to make a first impression.Everyone has to buy into what the colonel talks about not just for the tourists but for the people and health of the island. This year was the first time I have seen a rat running on the road maybe it is not unusual but it made me think of garbage and filth.

31. @ David | September 16, 2014 at 6:47 AM |

How are the hoteliers holding government to ransom?

The question to be asked is “How did Butch hold government to ransom?”
    to get this downward spiral of tax waivers started.

32. Keeping it real

” If the Scots vote for independence the disruptive ripple effect on Barbados tourism from rump UK could be devastating”

Oh please …. you’re talking about some of the most frugal people on the face of the earth. It takes the world of pain to get a dollar out of the pockets of the people from the British Isles. I’ll take my chances with generous American any day brother; the British I’ve found to be very cheap and I am not magnifying the truth.

33. Bananas are 57 cents a lb in Ontario. They are more than twice that in Barbados.

34. You know what?

I sit here and read many comments on many topics, an all I ever get is people using this forum to promote their own selfish political views. Why don’t you deal with the real issues people ate facing everyday. Questions I would like answered.

1) Why did Mr. Stewart not develop the Paradise property, while he was the owner, and at that time it was at its high.

2) Why did government not give these concessions to Almond Beach, so they would have a little more capitol to invest in their overseas properties so they can really one day rise to a level of Sandals.

3) Why do you assume that because its a hotel the owner is white. Will the black owners of hotels not take these concessions.

4) Why should one hotel get so much and others get nothing. Did Mr. Stewart have to sign this same MOU.

35. overseasbajnyankee Avatar
    overseasbajnyankee

@concern bajan

Who killed off Almond Beach>
    who had a company overseas overpricing the hotel?
    Was Ralph Taylor associated with Almond?
    The racket at almond was out of control, ask any former worker.

36. overseasbajnyankee Avatar
    overseasbajnyankee

if one wants to determine the ethnic ownership of hotel in Barbados, the property is no indicator, but the number of rooms, For example there could be 19 blacks owning 10% hotels which might constitute 2% of hotel rooms.

The hotel sector is the sector that help in the resurgence of the agricultural sector AND THEY SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWEDTO GET away. They are like cancer sucking every thing from society. If govt continue to forgo duty, can it only rely on income tax, land tax, bra tax, corporation tax to run this country.

If u want what I have you agree to my terms, or leave what I have.

37. So ..so..silly..pointing the finger at butch..wunna got to be god blind not to see the picture of economic progress butch has delivered .finding any one such person in barbados hotel industry is between slim and none especially having given a truckload of concessions over the years and when combined is astronomical to what butch is now receiving for the first time

38. overseasbajnyankee Avatar
    overseasbajnyankee

AC

tell Mr. Paul to stay united with the farmers and bma. The hotel association is their pressure group and bas and bma are also pressure groups. They want concession and I doubt they will generate new jobs or bringi in fdi. In fact if I were the minster of finance the fx owned hotels would have be bringing fdi to get the concessions,

39. Sith are Bananas cultivated in Ontario? I am hoping you say no because Canada is too cold for such crop. Well, there goes the answer to your question Sith. Here in the state of Connecticut, bananas are sold two for a dollar, one for fifty cent plus tax. Now, I am quite sure they’re cheaper in Barbados because they’re grown there, or am I just fooling myself?

40. Tell me why the head of BAS knowingly and physically was a part of the importation of Chicken Wings and had the tenacity to grab a mike and look into a camera crying foul. Probably, somebody fool him about having a camera face and BBC voice and he feel that he should response to every issue. Why didn’t he make a fuss with the Sandals free ride on our taxpayers. Every minute we talkng about “Due Diligence”, “MOU”, “Contractual agreement” and yet, Barbadians continue to wait for the implementation of transparency legislation which was promised since 2008 and sent to the dump.

41. David | September 16, 2014 at 6:05 AM |
    ………………….. Periodically doing a beach cleanup here and there is a band aid only solution although welcomed.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………
    Like in politics,David , we go out every five years and do a general clean up, only to discover shortly afterwards, that we still have the same old crap on our hands.

42. After weeks of silence, ignoring topical issues affecting his ministry, the head honcho made his first speech telling Barbadians about home owners cutting lawns and bagging leaves and placing them for the garbage trucks to collect. Oh what a roll of excrement. For years, this was the habit of Barbadians and garage collections never reached this sordid state. He should be man enough to let the country know that the problem is a lack of working vehicles. Truth usually set you free….lies become debatable and unforgivable. These ministers need shifting or replacing in order for Barbados to move forward.

43. overseasbajnyankee Avatar
    overseasbajnyankee

@te3ll me why

why can home owners use the leave to make compost?

are u aware that in America if u r putting out things like washing machines and televisions u have to attached proof that u have paid for it to be moved?

44. The Dover Road is a mess with all the construction activity in the area.

45. is it only white people in Barbados that own or run hotels & restaurants? just asking. Isn’t that called racism bigotry?

46. overseasbajnyankee Avatar
    overseasbajnyankee

thanks. very interesting indeed