Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think tank and Watchdog Group
Barbados Crop Over marketed as more than a carnival

The tourism industry is a sector of the leisure industry. Contrary to popular opinion, the Caribbean is not the exclusive reserve of white sands and blue waters. We were not that fortunate when the world was created. We are therefore in competition with ourselves in the Caribbean and tourists/leisure destinations worldwide.

Carnivals and festivals are also magnets for those seeking leisure. Although the Trinidad Carnival has been compared with others and some of its designers/band leaders have achieved international fame; we cannot claim it is the worldwide leader in this category. The Crop Over festival in Barbados is a major attraction for those living in the Diaspora, but it is still unclear as to the direction it is taking or being led. We can say that there has been no clear international marketing plan for Crop Over, since it was revitalized over forty years ago.

We are pursuing heritage tourism in Barbados; in Guyana attempts are being made to market their vast outdoors and eco- tourism and efforts are afoot in Dominica in similar areas. From this brief introduction, we can suggest that the entire Caribbean has a rich culture and can attract tourists and leisure seekers. The question is: Why an island such as Barbados, that had a jump start in this industry over sixty years ago, cannot or has not developed a tourism product that is attractive enough to ensure greater economic benefits.

We suggest there was a myopic view which held that tourists will have been forever attracted to white sands, blue waters and smiling faces. Research will show that although these seemingly simple factors do contribute, they certainly are not the domain of Barbados alone. Quite frankly, in recent times, the smiling faces have given way to some rather melancholy views about the industry; the white sands have receded because of poor environmental management and in the 70’s and 80’s , hoteliers in cahoots with successive governments branded the beaches as major areas of visitor harassment.

In a sinister attempt to destroy the economic activity of beach vendors, they succeeded in driving an almost unmovable psychological barrier between locals and visitors. The protest was captured in the Mighty Gabby’s calypso classic “Jack”, where the locals reminded the political managerial class and its cohorts that the beach “belong to we”. We are of the opinion that the hoteliers branded decent, honest, hardworking young Barbadian business people as negatives because they wanted to control the spending power of the tourists, since many hotels had boutiques, selling the same jewellery and other items the vendors were pedalling.

The refusal of the hoteliers and successive governments, to establish the vital link of agriculture and tourism also retarded the growth of the industry and prevented locals from sharing in its profits. Tourists were complaining of the high price of food and beverages for many years. However, it was believed that the beaches and sunshine “will keep them coming”. Greed and political inaction, guaranteed that local cuisine was not aggressively promoted and most hotels maintained foreign based menus, thereby sucking a great deal of foreign exchange out of the economy. Many locals were unaware that hotels were importing huge amounts of fish because the local fishing industry could not meet supply. Had the governments (BLP/DLP) invested or supported the development of a modern fishing industry, millions in foreign exchange would have been saved.

We are also aware that when poor marketing and political inaction caught up with the industry, hoteliers blamed in its failures on the wages of hotel workers. They started to pressure governments and unions about how expensive Barbadian workers were. In other words they convinced the political managerial class that the industry could only survive with a cheaper work force. They complained it could only survive with lower electricity rates. They complained that crime was killing the industry. Our research reveals that Barbados has one of the lowest crime rates against tourists/visitors worldwide; we also know that middle management hotel salaries are not excessive. In terms of maids and other auxiliary staff, it is known that the level of education they have is far superior to similar workers in the industry in other countries. Furthermore, hotels in other countries employ emigrant workers at below minimum wages.

We are therefore convinced that if the tourism industry is in intensive care, it is a result of the following:

• Political inaction;
  • Failure of hoteliers in good times to modernize and upgrade their plants;
  • A psychological disconnect between locals and the industry because honest economic activity was sabotaged;
  • Extremely poor marketing at both the governmental and industry levels;
  • Failure to link agriculture and tourism when the industry was enjoying decades of growth;
  • Poor management of the environment;
  • Tardiness by both government and industry in promoting eco/heritage tourism;
  • Unnecessary blame of workers for government/ hoteliers failures.

We note efforts to correct many of the factors mentioned above. We can only hope they will not take another sixty years to bear fruit. We therefore conclude that political inertia and the crowding of state tourism agencies with political / party personnel, coupled with poor marketing and visionless management of hoteliers, squandered the great head start Barbados had in this multi-billion dollar industry. We hope other Caribbean islands, as they build their tourism product will look at the Barbados model of non-development, in this industry, and avoid the same mistakes.

21 responses to “Crop Over Needs a Master Plan”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Tourism in Barbados, need to Market the Crooks Ministers and Lawyers , I sure it will sell great .New Movie that will out sell Pirates of the Caribbean . Crooks of the Caribbean .

2. Alvin Cummins Avatar

Adrian Loveridge Please take note. Has the Hotel association, or hoteliers themselves had any discussions with this group? Do you plan to? could all of you sit down together and come up with a master plan?

3. Two year ago there were a lot of Brazilians, nuff nuff , (about five) wukkin up in the same band as me ..

4. Polly wants a Pit Bull Avatar
    Polly wants a Pit Bull

The master plan that it needs is more money injected by Corporate Barbados just like in Tdad. Let’s get real those calypsoians prize money should be higher. Corporate Barbdos definitely benefits thru more visitorslocals increased sales during the period and should repatriate.

5. PLANTATION

I am copying the following from another post to the Temporary Workers thread, that I guess you have stopped visiting.

As an observer from the Great White North, I am scratching my head to understand something I read in the Nation on Tuesday; and am hoping you can explain.

The following is from the article at http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/3m-for-festival/

“Crop Over 2013 can see as much as $3 million in sponsorship pouring in with almost $1 million from platinum sponsors.
    While no dollar figures were given yesterday at the National Cultural Foundation’s (NCF) media briefing where the four platinum sponsors – the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation, Barbados Tourism Authority, the Sanitation Service Authority and LIAT were introduced – a document produced by the NCF shows each platinum sponsor giving $250 000.”

Scotiabank Caribbean Carnival (Caribana) attracts 1 million visitors to Toronto. My understanding that government (Toronto) support for this event is about $250,000.00 – footed by a population of about 3,500,000 people in the Toronto area.

I understand the importance of Crop Over to Barbadians and can understand government support through BTA and LIAT sponsorships, and maybe CBC; BUT, I believe the sanitation workers (and the taxpayers) would rather have that $250,000.00 sponsorship from the Sanitation Service Authority used to cover sanitation worker pay cheques.

My question is “With government entities sending temporary workers home, how can it approve the $250,000.00 Sanitation Service Authority sponsorship of “sweetest summer festival”?

See http://torontocaribbeancarnival.com

6. Corporate Commercialism kills Carnivals, imposing rules and restrictions, high rent it won’t be anyone’s Carnival soon

7. @Not Taken

If sponsors are not coming forward to sponsor cleanup etc what does the government do?

8. Why should Calypsonians should get more prize money ?
    Note , I am not opposing

I just want you to put forward a case Polly/Pitbull

Put some meat on the structure

9. David

Point taken

If the SSA $250,000.00 is an in-kind donation of manpower to clean-up, it makes sense.

10. What maybe stated is that the Nation’s headline is misleading.

11. Barbados needs a Master Plan
    not only Crop Over !

12. i remember when the honorable Errol Barrow and Tom Adams government.
    were pushing hard at UNWANTED PREGNANCIES.so much so it was advertised on CBC plentifully.PLANNED PARENTHOOD-i see the building is still there quite well placed close to nelson street.
    here is barbados problem in a nutshell———not much sq millage 166.
    and way too many people and cars.
    but the beat goes on.everything is geared towards sex.tourism,crop over ,
    everything it is the only important thing in barbados it looks like .
    who fooping who and when and where and whose wife and whose husband.
    so when this factor is addressed possibly something good could come.but to be proud of lewd behavior and acts of sexual behavior in public being the main agenda
    nothing will change and as the world is now,immigration slowing down drastically.let us say as one old person dies another is born in barbados .
    possibly more than one is born. the old person that dies usually is retired and that persons death offers no opening for a job by a new young person.
    crime is accounted to this,! you can expect more and more as there no jobs.
    the whole world is overpopulated made possible by OIL without oil and its products we would not have the equipment to produce the food to feed the planet.
    there fore a day will come, if not remedied there will be world war 3.
    it will be the final one. and we can all thank the wicked ,greedy,men and women on this planet for this end result.
    barbados is small but if we had the foresight to see this we can try to
    help ourselves! when the penny inevitably drops as will the nuclear bombs.
    Barbados people need a good talking to by someone respected.
    until you understand that this world system itself is unsustainable as it is now.
    when there other means of power and transport out there but are being hidden and people being killed to hide this technology.
    this is the world today.liars,thieves,untrustworthy ,brutal,competitive,
    so man has changed little but the smart ones with the high IQ have designed a
    system to rape and pillage the world with goods and products and setting prices. valuing money.AND WE ALL WALK AROUND OBLIVIOUS OF THIS
    IS THE REALITY.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i have tried.is all i can say.we are just numbers and worker bees for the queen bee.but the hive can only hold so many bees.
    the others will be on their own with nothing but regret for seeing this coming.
    and yes the nuclear fall out will reach barbados.so dont think any where will be safe.when you run for the rock for rescue there will be no rock.
    think hard.and good luck .this will all happen within 10 to 20 years.you can take that to the bank[the biggest thieves in the world].

13. If we accept that the media and moreso radio is a key stakeholder in popularising the activities which makeup our culture, why then on the eve of our major festival the government owned stations are pushing R&B?

14. Who knows David…
    …perhaps because 90% of the festival music is about jamming on bumpers, pooching back pun “it”, or some other childish reference to sex, wukking up, drinking or jamming….and the rest is unimaginative and uninspiring…
    …as it was last year, yer before that, etc…

15. Barbados is not over-populated
    As a matter of fact there is a school of thought that Barbados needs at least a million people .
    That would take it to the next level

16. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Crop Over dont need no Master Plan. People better stop jumping and acting wild as this is a distraction for the true pain of Barbados. We all must look to feel better before we party. How can fix things when you drunk and broke half naked.
    We know this is what we do to bring in funds ,also again we wait on plane loads of people to come to bring us money like beg with a bowl.
    Barbados need to cancel crop over to show the BLP and DLP that the People of Barbados no looking to make sport as they say . Time for real Business .
    All who stole money is still in Barbados , the banks still here , what they build is still here , but the DLP blind and NOW a big part of the problem , No longer in the hands of the BLP .BLP will be added as defendants to what ever case brought before a REAL court of LAW.If the DLP dont bring the BLP the DLP will be added also as defendants.
    Now you all have to know what lawyers really do for the People of Barbados , 22 lawyers in the house and they doing NOTHING FOR THE PEOPLE , BUT WE CAN SEE CLEAR WHAT THEY ARE DOING TO THE PEOPLE .

17. @Deeds

Despite the challenges which life presents recreation and merriment serves a purpose. You need to relax and fire one for the road!

18. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

David @Hell no, waste of time , This is the real world and if we dont have a church on each corner to relax the people on the weekend. There would be war Monday morning , Relax HELL ? I will relax for ever when i am dead , As being alive i will keep moving for Justice NOT PARTING , Party when the work is done,
    That maybe what ARMY men do, but not Marines

19. KGB
    There must be a shake up and if the authorities don’t do it then GOD and I WILL SO help me god stop all this prolonging of justice we need to get the democ-RATS I meant RATS out of the house assembly and the democra-TICS I meant TICS out of the house assembly CALLING RENT-TO -KILL the TECHNOC-RATS …POLI-TICS …RATS spreading DIS-EASE in the ECONOMY,,nibbling the money out of the ..E-coNOMY and the TICS sucking the LIFE LINE of the C>O >W..THE Country’s Only Wealth (C.>O>W) IT’s time to shake the wicked out of theirJOB3813 we need an AUDIT let AUDITOR general be seen and heard nuh ,I would give full power to the following to get rats &tics out DPP>AG>CJ> got to clean up the act all this Legislation have no LEGS to run out the rats or run the country properly just my thoughts KGB ,,,A BENIGN,,, BENEVOLENT FORM OF GOVERNANCE

20. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

JUST ASKING | June 7, 2013 at 10:44 PM |

Barbados is not over-populated@ Yes it is with the wrong people
    As a matter of fact there is a school of thought that Barbados needs at least a million people .@ What matter of fact is that?
    What school of thought? Sell out school?
    What needs ? We cant even feed our own people now , all the imports that will be needed of food , water and power needed?
    That would take it to the next level@ The next level is a tax base to cover the crimes that need to be paid for. If we get any bigger you will not see a Bajan face .TNT or Europe will have to flood this island , It will no longer be Barbados .
    Base on what little i know we may be in the record book for having more people per square mile than any other country.
    .JUST ASKING@ We good , more people more problems.