Submitted by William Skinner
James Paul, CEO, Barbados Agricultural Society
James Paul, CEO, Barbados Agricultural Society says No MOU, no grant

The granting of concessions to the hoteliers, is a capitulation on the part of the Barbados government, which now finds itself with a one step forward two steps backward economic policy; trying to please an essentially lazy and backward corporate class while inflicting serious blows on the already poor and economically downtrodden.

The hoteliers in Barbados have clearly demonstrated that they have failed to capitalize on an industry that has been in existence for over sixty years. They have whined their way into the taxpayers coffers, on the spurious grounds that the concessions granted to the well established Sandals Group should be automatically theirs for the taking. In other words, while very few of them can ever boast or hope to come close, to demonstrating that they can ever reach Sandals’ heights, they have blackmailed the government into giving them similar benefits. It’s akin to a fourth division footballer demanding the same salary and perks of a first division superstar!

Be that as it may, they have also refused to sign on to a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), which will be used to monitor they operating in good faith with the agricultural community and other businesses, to ensure that the process is not exploited. In other words, the government wanted some formal agreement that the benefits will trickle down to local businesses. Low and behold, the BHTA said that it will not sign any MOU. Imagine a beggar being so bold faced, to be a chooser as well! It was very pitiful and embarrassing to witness a minister backing down from this group.

Barbados has reached a very sorry state where: poor university students must now pay some of their tuition; workers are being retrenched without being paid money legally due to them; employers circumnavigating legislation designed to ensure employee rights and practically all the lifelines for the poor disappearing, in terms of government services. But the hoteliers can just demand government help without wanting to be held to any accountability.

This is the latest and most blatant evidence that this administration, is not fully in control of the management of the country. The Minister of Finance should not allow any one group to believe that it is above all others. Hoteliers priced themselves and Barbados out of a very competitive and fast moving industry where inept managers, both local and foreign, blamed everybody from taxi men to beach vendors for their failures.

On the other hand Butch Stewart spent considerable time and resources to build a product that reaches and surpasses international standards. While it is reasonable to suggest that the concessions given to Sandals were excessive, it is also reasonable to suggest, that the gains that Barbados will make from a heavy Sandals presence will be far superior to any that will arise from those granted to inferior properties and management. We can rest assured that they will come begging again; in the very near future because restaurants not attached to hotels are already demanding concessions similar to those granted to the hotels. They will now claim that if they don’t get concessions they will be forced to lay off workers or carry their business elsewhere. The blackmail is only surpassed by the capitulation of successive governments to these pirates who believe that governments must underwrite their alarming shortcomings.

The concessions should be withheld until they sign the MOU. Beggars cannot be choosers

176 responses to “Tourism Sector a Cadre of Beggars”

1. so i see that is the way it is,giving all the special privileges to the rich by way of the taxpayers money,while making the poor business farmer get down on bended knees begging for a little and if he becomes a pest draw his dead a.ss in court via govt,.well i be damned

2. overseasbajanyankee | September 21, 2014 at 12:01 AM |
    @colonel

what is the answer for food security and the reduction of the food import bill in Barbados would like to continue .
    ………………………………………………………………………………………..
    1. First of all we have to instill in our people the need to eat what we grow, and not to hanker for the fast foods, whose raw materials are mostly imported. Or, as the Dipper would have said, We have to take back the hearts and minds of our people from the Confederate Colonel of the south.
    2. Free up some of the hundreds of acres of former productive lands,now in bush, to persons interested in farming.
    3. Allow farmers , who so wish to live on the land, even if they are restricted to chattel homes only, as this is one measure that will minimise the incidents of praedial larceny. And all farmers living on and working their lands should be exempt the impost of this increase in land tax,which came in the guise of a solid wast tax.
    4. Many countries give meaningful concessions to farmers, ie duty free equipment. In Barbados, concessions are so petty and bureaucratic that many farmers prefer not to bother with them. During the last war,and subsequently in National Service, in the UK, many farmers and farm workers were exempt military service, as farming was seen as an essential National Service of its own.And this is still true today.
    5. Either the Ministry of Agriculture, or a Farmers Cooperative so formed, should be encouraged to act as their own import agency ,for all of their needs, from Tractors to plant seeds, thus by- passing the exorbitant prices leveled on them by the greedy merchants in Barbados.
    6. Get the Agricultural Extension Officers out of their comfortable air-condition offices ,and out into the field, like their predecessors who were frequently visiting and advising farmers, and to the extent of recommending what crops individual farmers should concentrate on to prevent a glut and wastage.
    7. Down in Farmers St Andrew C.O Williams has diverted some six springs, to a central dam providing water to his Apes Hill and other golf courses. Water costs to the farmer is very high,and the Ministry of Agriculture should be looking at harnessing the run off rain water, like the billions of gallons which ran into the Atlantic Ocean last Friday morning, as well as from the many springs found in St Joseph, St Thomas and the St John area, which the marijauna farmers are making very good use of.
    8. Supermarkets, Hotels , restaurants and big food retailers should be encouraged, especially if they are given some government concessions, not to exclude the small / medium farmer in preference for the bigger guys, who most of the times , have connections.
    As is evident, many Barbadians have shied away from farming , due to the unwarranted stigma attached to it. Some years ago, many of the places in the agricultural food belt, like in St George, Gibbons Bogs, farms in the St John and St Joseph areas, had a high number of non-nationals engaged in the farming of those lands.Vegetables and other produce were in abundance. Today ,Gibbons Bogs is virtually closed down, and those food producing farms are mostly manned by a reduce work force of non-nationals. Perhaps, we should consider bringing in non-nationals, under contract, to work our lands, the same way that we send our people to Canada and the United States.
    But isn’t it a “growing” shame that every Tom Dick and Harriette are jumping on the band wagon calling for the legalising and production of Marijauna in Barbados , as it will bring millions of dollars into the country, but are otherwise blind to the fact that if we start to eat most of what we grow, that it will stop even more millions of dollars from leaving these shores.
    If we continue to sit back and do nothing, our food will be secured indeed, but it will come at an even higher price, when the thousands of acres of farmland leased by the Simpson Motors Empire in Guyana begin to bear fruit.

3. @Colonel Buggy

You are on the right track, you should add give the farmer a gun license without hassle if they demonstrate they have been in the business for awhile.

Several of the big farmers like Bethell and others have called it quits, farming is on deaths bed.

4. well why would any one spend thousands of dollars planting food for thieves to up root,knowing the risk .
    but then again the same people who talking about planting more foods ,can not see the importance of having the hotel business support the farmer,too much double speak and hypocrisy,another reason the same ole tired sh,,te remains in place.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..on the issue of security, they should be a process in place where farmers can get small interest loans that would help in the purchasing of high tech security , personally if given permission along with cameras i would have electronic fencing as a sure guarantee of protection on the property,, enter at your own risk.

5. What hightec security what. Some of these farmers don’t have adequate implements. Talk is cheap. In the same way they rushed hit and sweaty to implement a procedure to make cash for gold more efficient,NYSE same us required for selling agricultural produce.

On Sunday, 21 September 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

6. why don’t u David read with clarity, what i wrote instead of becoming a pest like arterexes .jumping to preconceived notions,,,just to clarify i stated that a process via loan interest loans to help farmers in the purchasing of high tech security, either the problem is attack with a process in place that would delivered a realistic result, or the problem remains the same with a lot of knee jerk reaction provoked by political provocateurs. resulting with inaction.

7. Wouldn’t a farmer prefer to get LOW interest loan to buy seed and farming equipment? A loan has to be repaid and many who live in Barbados will understand the issues of farming in. Barbados where cultification takes place along roads, gullies, there lease lands etc. in the US it is quite different. You remain clueless about what happens in Barbados.

On Sunday, 21 September 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

8. david first fix the leaky roof if not no matter how much expensive furniture is put in the house the shit would be damaged , the farmers have two separate issues all surrounding money, but which should be address first , is the question at hand, crucial to both issues is the security providing financial help is a must for security and crucial to the long term survival and financial benefit for the farmer no ‘ ands’ if’s or buts .without proper security the farmer is doomed but giving money for planting even though it is necessary without all doors secured shutting out the invaders is not going to help the farmer survival in the long term.

9. David wrote “Wouldn’t a farmer prefer to get LOW interest loan to buy seed and farming equipment?”

Yes David. In simple terms a farmer has upfront costs and in the case of vegetable production has to grow his crops for a few months before he can sell them.

Good post Colonel Buggy

10. SO YES buy all the seed and plant the food and let the THIEVES haul it all off in the middle of the night, WHAT good does that do for the FARMER or close the gap in the import bill if yuh got thieves carting away the goods GOD DAM FOOLS ONLY A MAN WOULD LET Thieves IN after spending on crop, and doing all the heavy lifting, look i gone can’t deal with sh,t mentality,, ..

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy | September 21, 2014 at 11:25 AM |

Very good post, Colonel B.
    However the practicality of those proposals/suggestions would elude the myopic ‘vision’ of the people in charge of this once proud country.

Nothing will be done by the powers-that-be until the forex runs out and the OECD put an end to the glorified tax avoidance business (aka offshore financial services sector) that has as much moral integrity as international drug trading.

12. w uh yuh got colonel telling govt to spend money on dead land and expecting bajans to toil in the sun , dah neva gonna happen..

13. @ac

your continued support of the BLP is remarkable.

14. wuh dam hants this is a democracy.

15. ac | September 22, 2014 at 8:58 PM |
    w uh yuh got colonel telling govt to spend money on dead land and expecting bajans to toil in the sun , dah neva gonna happen.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Perhaps we should take a leaf out of our Colonial Master’s and LIME’s books, and bring in people who can remain ” cool” while working in the sun.

16. also what about barbados irrigation system .colonel are u aware of the millions of dollars it would take in building an efficient irrigation system providing adequate supply of water daily to large areas of farmland, and are u willing to dig deep in your pockets and fork up some of your hard earn cash to build a reliable pumping station which will maintain adequate and ongoing water supply . for the farmers. bro it is not only about digging soil but maintenance which i know for sure that when the bill is handed out u and others would baulk at the cost and expect govt to find the money to provide ,talk is indeed dirt cheap,,well not really as in the case of farming dirt cost plenty to maintained, advisingly you and your cohorts need to do research on the issue instead of talking rum shop tripe and believing it to be factual,

17. Yes food security a real concern bit does barbados have the technological support and components that is necessary to sustain. how about the gunding such project on a larger and long term scale are bajans willing and able to put money before mouth are the cplonels prepared to do so.i think not.agriculture is not only about planting seeds.the large majority of costs and turn over is in maintenance and labour.which have to be retrieved when the product hits the local or international markets .are bajans prepared to venture into sich a world of competivness where cost to produce is going to cost them more to retrieve.i do not think so.

18. ac | September 21, 2014 at 12:28 PM |

“why don’t u David read with clarity, what i wrote instead of becoming a pest like arterexes .jumping to preconceived notions..”

The dyslexic, slow learners, all of BU and even Stevie Wonder don’t have to jump to “preconceived notions” where you are concerned. Your contributions are, more often than not, devoid of clarity and an analytical process of thought. For the most part, they are painted with pro DLP paint by a pro DLP brush, which is characteristic of your unwavering support for that party.

Ok, I’m a pest, but I’m sure my contributions make a lot more sense than what is written by the political yard-duck you are. Just like a duck, you shit all over the place.

19. LOL.arterexes. poor soul.

20. @ac
    Much of the water last Friday morning which turned many of the main roads leading into Bridgetown, originated miles out in the St Joseph and St Thomas areas, passing through those many gullies well know and traversed by Houdini Winston Hall. Russia Gully, Braggs Gully, Clifton Gully,Jack in the Box Gully, and Hothersal gully, just to name a few on the ”Gully House” side. And the same pertains in waters into Hole town, Speighstown and on the east coast side. The Ministry of Transport and works,as well as the Ministry of Agriculture has adequate construction equipment , much under used, and artisans who are capable of constructing a dam in one of these gullies in the central parishes to trap the water before it reaches the coastal areas.
    We went to Panama and build a great big canal, went to Costa Rica and build a train line through unchartered territory , and you tell me that 100 years later , we are unable to adequately dam a gully?

21. Colnel saying and doing..ac is not saying it can,t be done.anyyhing can be done if funds are accessible or provided.right now the country is at a standstill due to high debt and outside of asking taxpayers to foot bills. These mass projects would remain stuck in the mind before or if ever become a reality.

22. Some years ago, the government of the day , had made a decision to re furbish the many existing wind mill pumps found across the island. Today, most of those windmills, still in recoverable conditions, are operating idly, like the one which was placed in the Bridgetown Port on solid concrete as a “tourist attraction.” Some of these fan mills, can still be reconditioned and used, collectively , to provide energy to drive pumps at any dam we may construct.

23. @Colonel

Keep sharing your rich observations.

24. Colonel Buggy wrote “and you tell me that 100 years later , we are unable to adequately dam a gully?”

Yes we can Colonel but we choose not to.

Hopefully some overseas investor with a local ( connected facilitator ) will come up with a mega million dollar plan to build dams in gullies.

25. Interesting

26. Colonel Buggy | September 23, 2014 at 1:07 PM |

Some years ago, the government of the day , had made a decision to re furbish the many existing wind mill pumps found across the island. Today, most of those windmills, still in recoverable conditions, are operating idly, like the one which was placed in the Bridgetown Port on solid concrete as a “tourist attraction.” Some of these fan mills, can still be reconditioned and used, collectively , to provide energy to drive pumps at any dam we may construct.

”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””
    look colonel u are shooting at gold fish in a barrell on this topic
    sound more like political poop from the govt of the day, refurbished What,,,,,