Caleb Orozco

Foremost Authority on HIV and AIDS in the region says: no published data to substantiate the hypothesis that decriminalising the practice of anal intercourse among consenting adults would lead to a reduction in the incidence rate of HIV infections among men who have sex with men (MSM).

The matter of Professor Brendan Bain, head of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART), makes for compelling reading in the Jamaica press. It has its genesis in a case on the way in Belize where the goodly Professor gave expert testimony in a matter against a Gay Belizean Caleb Orozco. Orozco challenged in September 2010 Section 53 of Belize’s criminal code which states, “every person who has carnal intercourse against the order of nature with any person or animal shall be liable to imprisonment for 10 years“. The gist of which he argues that, โ€œthe code violates his right to the recognition of human dignity, to personal privacy and the privacy of the home guaranteed by the Belize constitutionโ€.

At a point in the case Professor Bain, regarded as an expert in clinical infections and an authority on HIV/AIDS in the Caribbean, gave expert testimony which has resulted in calls for his dismissal from the UWI by Gay advocates.ย  Part of Bainโ€™s testimony which has created a furor is quoted in the Jamaica Observer article.

BUโ€™s interest in the case will be to observe how the privilege accorded to Academicians by the University of the West Indies is weighed against the strident LGBT lobby.

BU states for the record it does not support a Gay lifestyle.

484 responses to “Professor Brendan Bain Gets Gay Backlash”

1. โ€œHomosexualโ€ Animals Do Not Exist

In 1996, homosexual scientist Simon LeVay admitted that the evidence pointed to isolated acts, not to homosexuality:

Although homosexual behavior is very common in the animal world, it seems to be very uncommon that individual animals have a long-lasting predisposition to engage in such behavior to the exclusion of heterosexual activities. Thus, a homosexual orientation, if one can speak of such thing in animals, seems to be a rarity.[11]
    Despite the โ€œhomosexualโ€ appearances of some animal behavior, this behavior does not stem from a โ€œhomosexualโ€ instinct that is part of animal nature. Dr. Antonio Pardo, Professor of Bioethics at the University of Navarre, Spain, explains:

Properly speaking, homosexuality does not exist among animalsโ€ฆ. For reasons of survival, the reproductive instinct among animals is always directed towards an individual of the opposite sex. Therefore, an animal can never be homosexual as such. Nevertheless, the interaction of other instincts (particularly dominance) can result in behavior that appears to be homosexual. Such behavior cannot be equated with an animal homosexuality. All it means is that animal sexual behavior encompasses aspects beyond that of reproduction.[12]

2. St George's Dragon Avatar

The leading professional medical organisations across the world say:
    American Medical Association – “[The] AMA: believes that the physician’s non-judgmental recognition of sexual orientation and behavior enhances the ability to render optimal patient care in health as well as in illness. In the case of the homosexual patient this is especially true.”
    UK General Medical Council โ€“ โ€œYou must tackle discrimination where it arises and encourage your colleagues to do the same. โ€ฆ.. You should challenge the behaviour of colleagues who do not meet this standard. You must follow and keep up to date with your organisationโ€™s policies about employment, equality and diversity. You must get advice on these issues if you need it.โ€
    Canadian Medical Association โ€“ โ€œIn providing medical service, do not discriminate against any patient on such grounds as age, gender, marital status, medical condition, national or ethnic origin, physical or mental disability, political affiliation, race, religion, sexual orientation, or socioeconomic status.
    Sounds like some of our local doctors are little out of step.

3. @GEORGIE PORGIE May 21, 2014 at 10:55 AM…”WHO HAS EVER GIVEN ME ANYTHING, BESIDES MY PARENTS?”

I have. And my parents have. And my many siblings have, and my older nieces and nephews have.

Who did you think paid the hundreds of thousands of dollars for your education from age 4 to 24?

While you were at university – bless you – there were many of us working and paying taxes so that you could continue to study.

And bedsides as a self-described Christian you should let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

You know as well as I do that if your parents had had to pay for your education entirely out of their own pockets you would not be a doctor today, if fact you very likely would not even have completed secondary school.

I was back there in the 50’s and 60’s I know how it was.

Doctor or no doctor you can’t fool me.

I was there.

4. @GP

Doc, I think you have to realise that at some point you will have to agree that it is useless trying to reason wth someone like dopey dompey who obviously is betzapaenic. You fightong a lost cause! Lol.

5. St. George Dragon:
    The local doctors would be out of step medically to you because they are not white or British!! Sad, sad, sad!!!!

6. Dear Georgie Porgie:

You know don’t you that way too many Jamaicans are religious zealots and homophobic idiots?

And some of my best friends are Jamaicans.

LOL!!!

7. And some of that religious zealotry was brought to Jamaica in the 1940’s by the Anglican English governor and his wife.

The homophobia

The compelling of people into marriage (ready or not)

The bastardization of generations of innocent Jamaican children.

The teaching that childless women are useless mules

All a dat from the English colonial masters

They pfuck@d up Jamaicans good and proper.

Jamaicans aint got much to teach we Bajans..not much at all.

8. Take a timeout and listen to this exotic beauty.

9. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

de hood | May 21, 2014 at 11:07 PM |

Doc, I think you have to realise that at some point you will have to agree that it is useless trying to reason wth someone like dopey dompey who obviously is betzapaenic. You fightong a lost cause! Lol.

DONT YOU SEE THAT HE IS ONE OF THOSE TO WHOM I DONT RESPOND? BUT THAT JUICY HALF VOLLEY HAD TO BE HIT THU DE COVERS. THE MAN IS RELATED TO BALAAM’S ASS

Lemuel | May 21, 2014 at 11:16 PM |
    St. George Dragon:
    The local doctors would be out of step medically to you because they are not white or British!! Sad, sad, sad!!!!

ONE OF THE FIRST THINGS THAT MED STUDENTS MUST LEARN TO DO IS READ THE LITERATURE, AND DECIDE WHAT IS SENSE AND WHAT IS NOT. LOT OF MEN AT UNIVERSITIES PUBLISH A LOAD JUST TO KEEP THEIR JOBS.

WHAT CANT BE DENIED S THAT BRENDAN BAIN HAS ALWAYS BEEN HIGHLY REGARDED BY HIS PEERS ALL OVER JAMAICA. HE IS ALSO HIGHLY REGARDED ELSEWHERE
    BUT WE MUST LEARN TO HUMOR MEDICAL ILLITERATES

10. Beside no cheeseburgers the Bible also says not to mix your fabrics, so no polyester, no terylene and wool, nothing so.

The Bible also says that if your brother dies you should take his widow(s) to wife and raise up children to your brother.

I bet not a fella in here would dare to try to fo0p his brother’s widow(s)

Not even Bush Tea,

Not even Georgie Porgie.

Not even Dompey.

Not a fella in the Caribbean dares to try to obey that Divine command.

Not a fella.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

11. How interesting. St George shows us that medical responses to gay people of the Bain sort are antediluvian. Lemuel turns that into a race issue forgetting Tutu and the UN. Meanwhile, someone says as if it’s a plus that Bain was giving evidence on behalf of evangelical groups and it transpires that after all Bain was really saying that decriminalization will cause an epidemic. What a wonderful debate.

Three things occur to me.

Given that the gay lobby sat down with Bain and begged him not to do it, it’s clear that Bain is now a martyr who suffered a martyr’s death. If he died, by the lights of the evangelical lobby he can say that he died for principle not prejudice. Indeed he can say he died for Jesus.

Secondly, it is abundantly clear to me that the strident evangelical lobby is no better than the gay lobby so far as lobbying goes.

Thirdly, if GP is an example of the evangelical lobby and THAT is Christianity I think I would become a Moslem.

Meanwhile, I suppose his two year extension, being by grace and favour, though entirely conventional, was not ill served by his departure. It will mean that he will have more time to play golf with GP and stick pins in pictures of beloved Oscar.

12. Due Hood

In the not to distant future, you’re going to realize that we’re dealing with a character who conveniently as well as selectively, utilizes the Holy Bible as an authority to beat one about the head. And his substandard education to validate what’s left his failing sense of credibility within the BU community.

13. De Hood

And by the way: why do you from time to time insist on giving your buddy an analysis of my thought process? Brother with that kind of clairvoyance, you ought to work for Homeland Security, NAS, FBI or the Counterintelligence department of the CIA.

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simple Simon

Unfortunately you are wrong…

You said and I quote “I bet not a fella in here would dare to try to fo0p his brotherโ€™s widow(s)”

I give you Sir ** and his brother who did not wait until she was a widow but was giving her a good rogering in between while he was/is alive…

and dere is a nex fellow by de name uh …it endemic my dear, all ovah Bulbados

Baffy, how yuh like muh…

15. Nothing in local media about this matter up to 24 hours ago, now local media picks it up with the firing of Bain. He wanted to relieve his conscience on the matter based on his training and experience and no doubt he is at peace with himself. May the chips fall wherever.

16. David:

The story is in today’s Nation, but it is bland as usual. More information is here on BU!!

17. Ross:

A good effort to summarize, bit as usual you are dead wrong. Again this is about the gay and lesbian agenda with its determination to silence any one who dares to say that there is something abnormal about a man pushing his penis into another man’s anus!! The muscle which is at the end of every one’s anus is there to keep things out not invite things in. Any kind of anal sex is traumatic and damaging to that area. Even the Lancet can not disproof that!!

18. Simple Simone

I am quite sure you’re talking about the Old Testament? And in the Old Testament, there were different conventions governing human relationships then. For example: Sarah, Abraham’s wife, was his haft sister on his father’s side etc.

19. Lemuel

I am not defending the gay or lesbian agenda, but there are some gay men who do not engage in anal sex. The literature tells that a great number of gay men, prefer to engage in oral sex rather than anal sex.

20. David

Yes to your last comment. My concluded view, the morning after, is that given the clear conflict of interest of which Prof Bain must have been aware the honourable course was to resign before he was sacked.
    One year in his life would have made little difference and if GP is right, apart from golf and sticking pins he will still have plenty to do.

21. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

TRUE LEMUEL

Again this is about the gay and lesbian agenda with its determination to silence any one who dares to say that there is something abnormal about a man pushing his penis into another manโ€™s anus!!

ba ling BALING

ALL THAT IS LEFT NOW IS FOR BAIN TO SUE THE UWI

22. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

AND FOR ROSS TO START THE BULLING AND WICKING RALLIES IN BIM

23. @GP

You have to admit given his role working with HIV/AIDS population he would have alienated himself by his comments. He probably knew and went with his view anyway.

24. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

WHEN JEROME AND MIA GET BACK IN POWER IN BIM, THE BULLERS AND WICKERS WILL HAVE FULL SWAY

WHAT HAS JUST HAPPENED IN JAMAICA WILL BE THE NORM IN BARBADOS
    THE BULLERS AND WICKERS WILL BE TAKING OVER

25. Yes GP – get yourself ready. The time is coming….

26. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DAVID
    i BELIEVE THAT BRENDAN SAID WHAT HE KNEW AND BELIEVED TO BE TRUE
    DOING THIS HAS ITS COST
    STANDING UP FOR THE TRUTH HAS ITS COSTS
    I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS MYSELF

BUT WE ARE TO FEAR NOT THOSE WHO CAN ONLY DESTROY THE BODY, BUT RATHER FEAR HIM WHO CAN DESTROY BOTH BODY AND SOUL IN HELL.

27. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

robert ross | May 22, 2014 at 9:05 AM |
    Yes GP โ€“ get yourself ready. The time is comingโ€ฆ.

YES JESUS IS COMING SOON. I AM PREPARED FOR THE RAPTURE OF THE CHURCH

28. @ GP
    Bushie is surprised at your response to Ross and this issue.
    What happened to your exegesis?

Did you not know, that in the last days perilous times shall come. Where men shall be lovers of their OWN SELVES, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,
    Without NATURAL affection……… lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;
    Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof:
    ……..from such turn away. For of this sort are they which creep into houses, and lead captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts,
    Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth……

Are you REALLY surprised at Ross’ commitment to this cause….and his intimate knowledge of the “church” and its workings…..?
    LOL…
    Every shiite is going exactly to plan skippa…..

29. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

BUSH TEA
    i am aware of the text from Paul’s writing to Timothy, but that would be lost on Ross, WHO IS CLEARLY A DEVIL.
    Yes everything is going to plan, EXCEPT THAT BALAAM’S ASS IS NOW A MAN!

30. so the godly doctor gives testimony which would in all possibilty deny the gay community a basic human right to engage in sexuality activity.siding with a law which is oppressive ..oppressive and. a crime punishable to ten years..it is inconceivable that there are people who would stand in the way of permitting others to have basic rights..the doctor committed a sin of ommission.the sin of denial..the sin of arrogance..nobody denied him the right to free speech..nobody denied him anyy of his basic rights to life liberty and happiness.that is the reason
    why his testimony was rejected and condem and rightfully so.

31. GP

LOL…wait on…and on…and on….and on….and on. Paul got egg on his face. What makes YOU different?

BT

You are, of course, describing GP…lovers of themselves, boastful, proud, unholy, having a form of godliness, ever learning without coming to a knowledge of the truth…..

32. asc

See my concluded view above. Entirely agree with you.

33. Of GP

and at root totally paranoid……” the cost of truth”. I don’t actually see YOU as a martyr; more a deranged bigot masquerading under the name of Jesus.

34. Mind…the more I think about it the more I think there’s something in the comment someone made that in reality GP suffers from suppressed gayism. He obviously gets a kick out of words relating to orifices and effluent.

35. @GP

Doc, are you suggesting then that we change dompey’s alias to Balaam’s dompey or should it be Balaam’s donkey. Lol, murrrdahhhh!!

36. @ Ross
    You misdiagnose GP…..but then you are a lawyer ….

GP’s problem is that he expects that intelligence and learning should be sufficient to guide persons to sensible and logical positions.
    It is totally beyond GP how a learned man could see fit to support and promote a clear malfunction in the human condition – that predisposes the unfortunate victim to ……well…meddle in stool.

You have to admit that this is not a straight logical stance….

After all we all know that there are no shortages of freak human conditions of the mind – that lead to all kinds of fetishes….from mass killings to the fellow just this week that told the judge that he travels with a devil on one shoulder and an angel on the other…LOL that sounds like Islandgal yuh…. ๐Ÿ™‚

GP thinks (and Bushie has tried in vain to change this…) that through through study and exegesis, one can come to a proper understanding of truth….and he is therefore understandably FRUSTRATED with blatant idiocy…..in high places…

Bushie on the other hand, KNOWS that most people are brass bowls and educated people are just super brass bowls…….so when genuinely intelligent persons such as yourself and Amused are confused into thinking that a clear MALFUNCTION of the human condition is an acceptable state, to be glorified, promoted and encouraged – rather than a clear sign that some major social CORRECTIVE actions are needed……Bushie does just SMILE….at how the old ancient ‘confused’ bible could have so accurately predicted that at a time of GREAT LEARNING…..men could be so confused and stupid…..
    ….as to the “captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts” …..Bushie will leave ac to Prodigal son and his associated…..

37. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

2 peter 3:3 Knowing this first, that there shall come in the last days scoffers, walking after their own lusts,

4 And saying, Where is the promise of his coming? for since the fathers fell asleep, all things continue as they were from the beginning of the creation.

5 For this they willingly are ignorant of, that by the word of God the heavens were of old, and the earth standing out of the water and in the water:

6 Whereby the world that then was, being overflowed with water, perished:

7 But the heavens and the earth, which are now, by the same word are kept in store, reserved unto fire against the day of judgment and perdition of ungodly men.

8 But, beloved, be not ignorant of this one thing, that one day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.

9 The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.

10 But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.

11 Seeing then that all these things shall be dissolved, what manner of persons ought ye to be in all holy conversation and godliness,

12 Looking for and hasting unto the coming of the day of God, wherein the heavens being on fire shall be dissolved, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat?

13 Nevertheless we, according to his promise, look for new heavens and a new earth, wherein dwelleth righteousness.

14 Wherefore, beloved, seeing that ye look for such things, be diligent that ye may be found of him in peace, without spot, and blameless.

15 And account that the longsuffering of our Lord is salvation; even as our beloved brother Paul also according to the wisdom given unto him hath written unto you;

38. De Hood

I am convicted now that you’re addicted to a new kind of crack cocaine. Because you have very little in the way of substance to add to the BU forum. You have been on this blog for quite sometime and I haven’t as yet heard you say anything make sense. Now, why it is that every time you make a vacuous remark, you have to somehow refer to PG to get voice to what you’re attempting to convey? Haven’t you any balls Sir?

39. Dompey…lol

BT

I don’t know about GP’s ‘knowledge’. He draws on facts within his limited knowledge but clearly that’s not coterminous with understanding, awareness or intelligence. You, on the other hand, do exhibit intelligence but sadly, iike GP, you also run in blinkers. In fact, I regard many BU contributors as highly intelligent – and that includes beloved Dompey and ac who play their parts with great dexterity.

But one thing I must correct you on. I have never “glorified, promoted or encouraged” gayness any more than I have heterosexual behavior. Someone said here that we should be left alone to follow our own course – to which I would add so long as you don’t harm others. I don’t see gays trying to do that but I do see people like GP trying to harm them. And that’s why I’m implacably opposed to his line. So far as gayness is concerned, it’s been around for as long as man, some of the wisest and brightest have been gay and, as they say, one in ten of us are gay. Moreover, so-called gay practices subsist in heterosexual relationships too. Therefore, I simply cannot take the view you or GP espouse. And yes, down the arches of the years some of my best friends have been gay. To end with a story – years ago as an undergraduate I belonged to a certain club. I did not know that most members were gay. One evening I went to a party and saw gay fellas dancing with each other. They were very kind and set me up with the landlady, who was big, blousy and blonde and not at all my cup of tea. But you see, it was the thought which counted. I left early. Had she been slim, short and sexy I would have stayed. You see – to each his own.

40. @ Balaam’s donkey

Have you registerd in that vacant space between your ears why it is I am referred to as ”de hood”? Think about it for a while before trying to cross swords with me. A word to the wise would suffice but that is very doubtful in your case. Walk holy, my friend.

41. Ross:
    Prostitution has been around for a long long time; stealing has been around for a long long time; crookedness and bribe taking has been around for a long long time. If all of these are not acceptable, why is sodomy.

I was wondering why you did not do a detail review of Bain’s testimony and I now see why. May be it is hitting too close to home!!!

42. De Hood

You better ask about me before you endeavor to discourse with me.

43. Oh dear Lemuel….I thought you had more intelligence than to make that predictable remark. Change your glasses and try to work it out for yourself. You’re a big boy now.

44. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

robert ross | May 22, 2014 at 11:59 AM |
    REI donโ€™t know about GPโ€™s โ€˜knowledgeโ€™.

THATS VERY TRUE YOU DONT

RE I donโ€™t see gays trying to do that but I do see people like GP trying to harm them.

FYI I HAVE NEVER HARMED A BULLER SIMPLY CAUSE I DONT ASSOCIATE THEREWITH.

I CONTEND , HOWEVER, THAT IT IS CLEAR JUST AS THE MOSLEMS SEEK TO TAKE OVER THE WORLD, SO DO THE WICKERS AND BULLERS.

THAT THIS IS VERY CLEAR IS EVIDENT FROM THE CASE OF BRENDAN BAIN AND OTHER CASES AROUND THE WORLD

WHY CANT THE WICKERS AND BULLERS LEAVE THE NON BULLERS AND NON WICKERS ALONE. THATS ALL I AM SAYING.

BA LING BA LING

YOU AGREE THAT BRENDAN OUGHT NOT TO HAVE BEEN FIRED
    YOU AGREE THAT HE DID NO WRONG
    BUT CAN YOU SEE THAT THE WICKER AND BULLING LOBBYIST TRIED TO HARM HIM?

45. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

LEMUEL
    KEEP CLEAR FROM THAT BULLER WHO CALLS YOU “oh dear” YA HEAR
    NOTE HE IS LOOKING FOR “a big boy” LOL LOL

HOOD
    IGNORE BALLAM

DONT RESPOND TO HIM
    HE IS NOT WORTHY

46. NO MASSIVE PLANTATION AND NO DEEDS, SO NO LAND TAX OF BARBADOS, BLP DLP=no massive pizza Avatar
    NO MASSIVE PLANTATION AND NO DEEDS, SO NO LAND TAX OF BARBADOS, BLP DLP=no massive pizza

St Geo Porg say jesus coming soon but he wont bring pizza , liar scumbag pizzaman on Baxters stole,no topping. Jesus cant help

47. @Balaam’s domkey

Please be very assured that de hood does not have,, and will never have, any inclination whatsoever of having any intercourse with you whether it be verbal or otherwise. ROFLMAO @ you. You can put that in your pipe and smoke it instead of whatever else you normally smoke.

48. @David

Seems to me thar your old ”friend” JB is up to his tricks again. Seems that he is pushing ”pizza’ this time around.

49. @de hood

Just keep posing and do what the majority of commenters do, ignore, the comments will be deleted in due course. We are aware who is responsible, beware of those among us.

50. The church has been given full reign for centuries to rain down fear and terror in the hearts of man by way of state and in the name of the Holy Ghost..a once unmovable and unstoppable forced which once ruled with an iron fist has been brought to its knees and has now resorted to vengence and a sorid display of anger .the dispicable display being played out here by so called christains is not an”act” but a true and living soul which housed itself within their hearts..now like wolves in sheep clothing they have exposed themselves..