Caleb Orozco

Foremost Authority on HIV and AIDS in the region says: no published data to substantiate the hypothesis that decriminalising the practice of anal intercourse among consenting adults would lead to a reduction in the incidence rate of HIV infections among men who have sex with men (MSM).

The matter of Professor Brendan Bain, head of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART), makes for compelling reading in the Jamaica press. It has its genesis in a case on the way in Belize where the goodly Professor gave expert testimony in a matter against a Gay Belizean Caleb Orozco. Orozco challenged in September 2010 Section 53 of Belize’s criminal code which states, “every person who has carnal intercourse against the order of nature with any person or animal shall be liable to imprisonment for 10 years“. The gist of which he argues that, “the code violates his right to the recognition of human dignity, to personal privacy and the privacy of the home guaranteed by the Belize constitution”.

At a point in the case Professor Bain, regarded as an expert in clinical infections and an authority on HIV/AIDS in the Caribbean, gave expert testimony which has resulted in calls for his dismissal from the UWI by Gay advocates.  Part of Bain’s testimony which has created a furor is quoted in the Jamaica Observer article.

BU’s interest in the case will be to observe how the privilege accorded to Academicians by the University of the West Indies is weighed against the strident LGBT lobby.

BU states for the record it does not support a Gay lifestyle.

484 responses to “Professor Brendan Bain Gets Gay Backlash”

1. @GP

Thanks for the reference.

2. BU states for the record the record it does not support a Gay lifestyle.

I am surprised David. Thought you were more liberal in your views.

You could have a problem if the BLP win the next election.

3. “BU states for the record it does not support a Gay lifestyle”

Who or what is BU? A person or a community????

David that was the dumbest comment I have ever seen you make on BU!

4. it is obvious from the professors testimony that he regards the gay life style as one of unhealthy,, based on his clinical evedience and his testimony where he states a high incident of sexual diseases like hiv as contributors to MSM ,,, however the claims or evedience which he uses to bloaster his claim against the MSM lifestyle can also be found in the heterosexual lifestyle where similar sexual diseases are rampant,,, one can even argue in the heterosexual community on a much larger scale,,,his removal might be necessary as there is clearly a conflict which in part is tied to his clinical evedience but compounded by the fact that his christian teachings and principles does not allow him free reign to look further outward,,,,making it harder for him to understand that there are people who are trapped in a lifestyle that most can;t understand, making his views clouded and his responses inflammatory.

5. What did the man say?

“Foremost Authority on HIV and AIDS in the region says: no
    published data to substantiate the hypothesis that decriminalising the practice of anal intercourse among consenting adults would lead to a reduction in the incidence rate of HIV infections among men who have sex with men (MSM).”

He did not say he disliked gays, nor that he was against their lifestyle. All he said (from the quote above) was that changing the laws would not lead to less infection.

Sorry AC, but don’t start twisting this around as an attack against gays. If the gay community thinks that on this very diversified Earth, that they can exist without any criticism, while they lambaste heterosexuals in every breath, I tell them to grow up!

And your comment that the professor needs to be removed, get real! All the liberal lefties in this world like to bray about freedom of open thinking in universities until, of course, it don’t suit them. The man has an opinion and he stated it in clear, scientific terms without any hate innuendos attached. That is his right to do so.

More damn sheep on this planet than thinking humans these days, so this is a breath of fresh air.

6. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

“no published data to substantiate the hypothesis that decriminalising the practice of anal intercourse among consenting adults would lead to a reduction in the incidence rate of HIV infections among men who have sex with men (MSM)” means only that THERE IS NO PUBLISHED DATA……NOT THAT THERE IS NO DATA.

RECALL THE FURORE WHEN DR SCLOShBERG MADE hIS CORRECT PREDICTIONS IN THE LATE 80″S. HE HAD NO PUBLISHED DATA EITHER, BUT HIS PREDICTIONS PROVED TO BE CORRECT.

Professor Bain is not, regarded as an expert in clinical infections and an authority on HIV/AIDS in the Caribbean, because he is a betzpaenic bullshitter on BU, but because of his expertise gained over 40 years as a clinician. He was made a Professor because of his research and hard work at UWI for 40 years.

The problem today is that bullers are not content to bull, they want to get rid of all who believe what the Bible says about bulling. Brendan didnt tell the bullers of Belize to stop bulling. He gave expert testimony of his clinical observations and research. Just as the bullers have the right to bull and continue living to bull, why should Brendan not be allowed to live and continue his work and report his opinion based on his clinical findings..

The same God that delivered the three Hebrew boys from the fiery furnace, and the same God that delivered Daniel from the lions den, will deliver Brendan from the bullers and lesbians of the Carribean.

7. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Konkieman | May 19, 2014 at 10:01 PM |

Brendan Bain is one of the quietest, kindest and wisest men I have met in the profession. hE IS NOT ONE TO ATTACK GAYS, OR BRAYING BETZPAENICS , OR ANYONE. This attack is unwarranted, on a decent loving doctor.
    GOD WILL VERY SOON DELIVER US FROM BOTH BULLERS AND THE DUMMIES THAT SURROUND US!

8. “The agenda to corner and silence the Christians and others who stand with traditional, creation order based naturally evident and society stabilising sexual morality and marriage is now here in the region, acting on a regional basis to intimidate UWI to fire a decent man, and distinguished professor who spoke in integrity on a publich health matter when the notorious buggery law case came up in Belize.”

“Ironically, under the false name of rights and equality and how they cannot trust someone who dares to stand up to them by speaking the truth as an expert based on his research . . . which they have not been able to overturn.”

This is Bully-boy ISM!

9. St George's Dragon Avatar

The Professor is entitled to his opinion but others think differently.
    UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon is on record as saying the world must:
    “… shine the full light of human rights on HIV. I urge all countries to remove punitive laws, policies, and practices that hamper the AIDS response. In many countries, legal frameworks institutionalise discrimination against groups most at risk. Yet discrimination against sex workers, drug users, and men who have sex with men only fuels the epidemic and prevents cost-effective interventions. We must ensure that AIDS responses are based on evidence, not ideology, and reach those most in need and most affected.”
    By the way, St George’s Dragon states for the record that it supports equal rights for homosexuals.

10. @David of BU “BU states for the record it does not support a Gay lifestyle.”

But David, what if I am gay? What other kind of life can I live? What if I find heterosexuality to be repugnant?

11. To repeat the BU household does not support the gay lifestyle. It does not mean we exterminate those who want to live the gay lifestyle. By the way the BU hates rock and roll music.

12. Is the word “buller’ an offensive word like the word ‘N…er’.?

Hants and Island

Seems you’re catching up with me. Good.

Irrespective of the religion twaddle, and irrespective of my views on gayness, at this moment (on one quick reading) I agree with GP: no evidence means no evidence UNLESS there IS evidence in which case the man is either incompetent or a liar. But the point is that you can’t twist a scientific fact to suit an agenda however laudable (or not) it is.

13. The insane are not responsible and are legitimately excluded from many activities and forms of employment.

Racists are seen as in violation of fundamental human equality/ fairness/ rights and so are subject to civil penalties that are viewed as just.

This brings us back to the core issue, what is a RIGHT?

A right, in simple terms, is a moral expectation or demand to be respected and treated fairly, given our dignity as human beings. That is why it is obviously wrong to kidnap, rape and murder a child, and it is why if we see that happening we will naturally try to stop the monster.

But that means that, to properly claim a right, the claim must first be in the RIGHT!

In short: we are morally governed, intelligent, en-conscienced creatures.

That’s why the Psalmist wrote: “Do not be like an unintelligent horse or mule, which will not obey you unless they are controlled by a bridle and bit.” [Ps. 32:9, NET.]

14. David, your in no position to pontificate on what two consenting adults should or shouldn’t do with their lives. give them. I may or may not agree with the gay lifestyle but I am certainly in no position to dictate two grown adults how their should live their lives.

15. David

So who or what IS the “BU household”?

St George

Your support: as also RR. ….but then do remember that if you take this stance AND support Clarkson you may be represented as a bulling racist and be subject to death threats from – er – the “BU Household”????

16. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Zoe
    Can you not see that the Bible is the “bridle and the bit”?
    We have passed the point in history where we need legends to tell us what is right and wrong.

17. St George

LOL. Gawd…do you know what you’ve unleashed?

18. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Robert Ross
    We all have to stand up for what is right.

19. LOL…and you’re telling me? Good on ya though.

20. Georgie Porgie, please do your research because a lot of gay men prefer to engage in fellatio rather than anal sex. And after you have done your research, go to the CDC website and see who are the number one carriers of AIDS and HIV in the world. I can assure you that it isn’t gay men after all. And by the way CDC stand for the( Center For Disease Control) .

21. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ RR
    My last comment was in response to yours of 10.40, not 10.52.

22. David:

I met Professor Bain and that man would not be willfully attacking gays or their lifestyle. If you did not know the man you would not even believe that he is a professor; he is not stuffed up like some around Cave Hill!!

The gays know there is no evidence that anal sex and their lifestyle is good for one’s health; why kick against the pricks?

But UWI may remove him because the PEPFAR funding is a large part of their external funding. The next thing the gay and lesbian agenda will be telling us is that only gays should be elected.

That would give Georgie and Zoe a full stroke!! This goes back to Clarkson; we have sold our souls for pieces of silver!!

23. St. George’s Dragon

Question: is right and wrong relative or absolute?

24. Dompey

Accepting the premise about fellatio, IS THERE in fact evidence that by removing penal sanctions the incidence of HIV amongst gay people will fall?

If I were to hazard a guess I would say it would make little difference and ask why it should – and not least because sexual activity takes place in private and without regard to the sanction.

Of course you understand that I’m not suggesting that penal laws are not discriminatory.

25. St George

I don’t think it makes much difference – still good on ya. Popularity was never my strong point either but who gives a monkeys?

26. Lemuel

You are twisting the argument. I’ve yet to hear a gay person say that his lifestyle is good for his health – other, that is, his psychological health. Mind I suppose some would want to say that women are dirty creatures who should be kept in their place. That would have a sound Biblical ring don’t you think?

27. David, if one day you daughter or son came to you and said: dad I am gay. What would be your response? There is scientific evidence our there that proves unequivocally, that some males are born with these effeminate tendencies.

28. Dompey

We males are ALL born with slivers of the feminine – even Bush Tea who washes his socks every night as a woman washes her underwear.

29. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Dompey (aka Mark Fenty)
    Question: is right and wrong relative or absolute?
    Relative, of course.
    1. “I killed him because he murdered my sister.”
    2. “I Killed him because he looked at me strangely.”
    Everything is relative.
    That’s why we have laws which distinguish between things like premeditated murder and “crimes of passion”.

30. @ David
    You too like to stir up the stuff near to the fan don’t you?
    LOL….
    Even when a professor just makes a statement of simple fact.

Relax Ross….
    No one want to spoil your joy….Ha Ha

31. The Professor’s position is simple…no evidence that decriminalization decreases infection rates… But why would it? no law can stop two or more consenting adults from having sex in private.

1: Laws against homosexuality should extent only to the public sphere…what you do at home is your own business. I don’t care nor do I want to know.
    2: The state needs to keep out of citizens sexuality, respect privacy.
    3: The church has a right to oppose homosexuality, short of inciting harm and discrimination.
    4: MSM, gays, lesbian, trans, bi etc. have a right to have their views heard…..but should stop short of demonizing others who criticize there behaviour, orientation, lifestyle etc. at the drop of a hat the rainbow coalition is quick to “take up arms”against any criticism. they bray for firing this person, canceling that tv show (duck dynasty) or that hgtv show with the brothers…..

5: Liberals are closet commie bastards….and the closest cousins of the pantheistic eco fascists…but I digress….They want free and open as long as the opinions aren’t offensive to their agenda.

6:Love of true freedom demands that you defend the free speech rights of everyone, but especially the most repulsive.

7: If you asks someone for an opinion dont get upset if they say some shit you dont like….

32. Ross, remember I live in the US and there no such thing as penal sanctions against gay men. Are you joking?

33. BT

I had a feeling you were lurking around. This topic is MADE for you after all – you thug.

34. Dompey

Am I joking about what? The feminine traits of men? Of course not. Dunno bout you – but I was the product of a union between male and female.

35. LOl @ Ross
    …boss, ALL topics are made for Bushie…just name the moot and step away from the whacker Ha Ha Ha

36. St George’s Dragon

If right as well as wrong is relative: than are you telling me that ten years from now gay marriage will be viewed as morally acceptable? Despite the fact that God’s absolute law states, “That man should not sleep with mankind as with womankind.”

37. Ross

To be quite honest: I do not support to gay lifestyle, but I would fight for the right for two consenting adults to do so if their please.

38. Ross, every human being has the God given right to: self- determination, self-perfection, self-realization and self -actualization. In a nutshell it is called free – well, which Adam as well as Eve utilized when their contravened God’s Law in the Garden of Eden.

39. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Dompey
    I hazard a guess that you are Christian and that you believe the Bible tells you what is right and wrong.
    I don’t, because I believe that “Biblical” truth is a series of ancient stories which vary depending on where you were born.
    It’s an accident of fate that you are not quoting me from the Vedas.
    The answer to your question is yes. Of course what is morally acceptable changes over time. Reference to the Bible tells me that at one point the following was acceptable:
    “If a man have a stubborn and rebellious son, which will not obey the voice of his father, or the voice of his mother, and that, when they have chastened him, will not hearken unto them:
    Then shall his father and his mother lay hold on him, and bring him out unto the elders of his city, and unto the gate of his place;
    And they shall say unto the elders of his city, This our son is stubborn and rebellious, he will not obey our voice; he is a glutton, and a drunkard.
    And all the men of his city shall stone him with stones, that he die: so shalt thou put evil away from among you; and all Israel shall hear, and fear.”
    This would not be morally or legally acceptable now – quite rightly. Are you recommending that we adopt those principles again because they are god’s absolute law?

40. Unless there was more said by Professor Bain that is unreported, I cannot find anything objectionable to his reported statements except the implication that decriminalization equates to official approval. There is no criminal sanction against smoking but it cannot be said to be approved by public health officials.

Professor.Bain does raise an important consideration; our personal choices often have public (i.e. societal) consequences. My “alcoholism” puts not only me at risk but my family and others as well. However I am not at risk of incarceration for simply getting drunk. I have heard a well known Barbadian advocate of gay rights criticize the dietary habits of Bajans in the context of the burden such places on the public health system. However I wonder if the advocates of anal sex are willing to acknowledge the demonstrably higher risk of disease that men who have sex with men experience and the consequential burden of their choices on the public health system.

For me the issue is about the objective. Is it to make a vapid moral statement or is it to effect healthy practices? I support the repeal of the buggery law. I also very strongly support a public health campaign that informs people about the health risks associated with such activity and promotes abstinence from such behaviour.

41. St George’s Dragon

I have heard your account of the Bible regurgitated on numerous occasions and I suspect that most people who adheres to this perspective are empiricist in there view of reality. Now, let me say this must on Biblical truths: I haven’t the time or space to advance a metaphysical argument to validate the authenticity of the Hebrew Scriptures. I just have one question for you brother and this is it: if not the Bible, where does you concept of Right and Wrong derives its essence?

42. St George’s Dragon

To quote one text of the Bible out of context, still does not give you a license to do as you please. The bottom line is I believe the Divine Command Theory which States that….What is morally right and good or wrong or evil, is defined simply by God’s will.

43. If there is a transcript of Professor Bain’s testimony please post anyone.

44. i am yet to hear anyone says or suggest that similar sexual activities which are prevalent and and productive to a growing and high rate of sexual transmitted diseaes in the heterosexual community is proof or sufficient evidence to deemed that lifestyle as unhealthy,,,,,,,, the rationale behind dr bain thinking is not only formed by clinical research but his overreach and use of his christain beliefs to formed an opinion….now for his opinion to be accepted based solely on his clinical research he woulds have also have to show proof that the same or sexual transmitted diseases is not prevalent or associated to the heterosexual lifestyle …. his failure to give a more comprehensive and balanced viewis lacking and should have included the positive and negatives of both lifestyle the end result being he has showed an unbalanced approach and borderline bigotry in his testimony towards the gay lifestyle and for that he should be removed…

45. Anal and vaginal sex is fraught with disease. Many heterosexuals engage in these activities this is not a “gay person’s” problem. What I want to know is what are the dangers of a lesbian lifestyle?

David you speak for the BU family? Who are they and how many members do you have in this family?

46. @islandgal

Make your points, share your opinions, the BU houshold will do tbe same.

Why don’ t you reread the article, the part which quotes Professor Bain’s testimony. There was a hypothesis tabled and he challenged it based on his years as an expert in the field. Guess what, BU will go with the goodly Doctor until you arw able to rebut with a cogent argjment.

47. People, again let me remind that this thrust against Prof.Bain is about power. The gay and lesbian agenda intends to have a toe hold in the Caribbean and this attempt is part and parcel of it.

The next thrust is to make Mia Prime Minister in this country. When that is accomplished, by the way don’t any one see or hear Peter Wickham almost tasting that accomplishment each program he has, you will see all hell that is of a lesbian and gay nature explode.

They simply don’t have any tolerance for persons who have an opposite opinion!! Remember, it will be taught in schools that the gay lifestyle is more normal than any other. Children will exposed to two fathers and mothers headed households, and any kind of deprave sex is very goooooood!!

Island, Ross, George Dragon over to all of you and do not complain when the deluge of depravity starts!!

48. @ Ping Pong
    Shiite man, well said…..your common sense logic is a refreshing change bout here. ….you ain’t a regular Bajan??!!
    …. but wait!!! ….. yuh very quiet nowadays…..worn down by the brass bowlery? 🙂 ….or you constructing a bunker too…like MME?

@ Islandgal
    So far, you have been talking bare shiite on this topic.
    Cease and desist!
    Bushie almost mistook you for ac for a minute there….

49. By the way, those of you who feel that by throwing tantrums when some one mentions what the Bible states and who stands by what the Bible states about sodomy will stop the belief or statement being made here are living in false hope!!

The Bible is clear; sodomy or bullying as it is referred to in our vernacular is not good for you!!

50. ac

OK – right on – but LOL and wink

GP the Christian said “God will soon deliver us from bullers and the dummies that surround us”

Would he like to expand on that remark?