Submitted by Cedriann Martin, UNAIDS Caribbean

A statement from Dr. Edward Greene, United Nations Secretary General’s Special Envoy for HIV in the Caribbean on the removal of discriminatory laws

Dr Greene is Professor Emeritus at UWI
Dr. Edward Greene, Professor Emeritus at UWI

I am saddened by the turn of events leading to the decision of the University of the West Indies (UWI) to terminate the post-retirement contract of Professor Brendan Bain as Director of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART) Network.

I am fully aware of the role and functions of CHART and, moreover, of the importance of Professor Bain’s leadership and his impact on a wide array of Caribbean public health practitioners and people infected and affected by HIV. I am also very aware that over the past eight months the Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies wrestled with the issues surrounding Professor Bain’s testimony in the Belize constitutional case, including the question of academic freedom.

Professor Bain’s submission to the court was aimed at upholding a law that, in the opinion of public health experts and members of civil society, reinforces stigma and discrimination against men who have sex with men.  In March 2014 Professor Bain tendered his resignation from the Pan Caribbean Partnership against HIV/AIDS (PANCAP) Executive Board,   presumably due to the recognition that his position was incompatible with that of the leadership and membership of PANCAP.

When, therefore,  the University of the West Indies took its decision last week to end his contract on the basis of ‘a conflict of interest’, this was  a culmination of events based on Professor Bain’s loss of support and goodwill among major national, regional and international organisations working in HIV/AIDS

The protests against the University’s decision unfortunately mischaracterise it as a threat to freedom of speech and to academic freedom. On the contrary, it is simply a lack of credibility to lead CHART given the organisation’s goals surrounding the elimination of stigma and discrimination toward men who have sex with men and other communities that are vulnerable to HIV.

We should grasp the opportunities this situation presents. PANCAP in collaboration with UNAIDS has initiated a series of national and regional consultations under the theme “Justice for All and Human Rights”. The process will give rise to actionable recommendations to be ratified by the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Heads of Government in July 2014.

These recommendations relate to a range of targets—eliminating mother to child HIV transmission; strengthening laws and responses to address domestic violence and other forms of abuse; and creating a framework for faith groups to help address stigma and discrimination. There are also recommendations to accelerate the process for repeal of laws criminalising sexual acts in private between consenting males and females and replacing them with provisions criminalising sexual acts between persons in public or with the use of force.

The UN Secretary General, Ban Ki-moon, has consistently said that human rights are universal and must be universally respected. We in the Caribbean have started a social movement through constructive engagement. During our Justice for All discussions, faith leaders in Jamaica and elsewhere in the Caribbean demonstrated a willingness to reach out to those in need. During the last World AIDS Day, faith leaders across denominations focused on the theme, “Getting to Zero Discrimination through Justice for All”.

I believe that this is the appropriate time to make the effort across society to eliminate the stigma and discrimination that surround HIV. Our governments and community leaders increasingly recognise that laws and policies that criminalise key populations, force them underground, away from information, testing, treatment, care and support services. These laws are discriminatory and counterproductive. They must be repealed or at least modified. Let us address these challenging issues as we work together to end AIDS.

Dr Greene is Professor Emeritus at UWI and former Pro Vice Chancellor and Director of the Institute of Social and Economic Research. CHART was established under his tenure as Assistant Secretary General of the CARICOM Secretariat and Chair of the PANCAP Executive Board.

89 responses to “Let’s Work TOGETHER to End AIDS”

1. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

“This conflict of interest has cost a brilliant expert his job and dignity, thousands of ailing patients a wealth of knowledge and astute care, and the future of the medical profession in the Caribbean its transparency and reputation at the risk of discrediting the region’s premier academic institution.”

2. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

UWI & THE OTHER AIDS VIRUS

“The direct and indirect financial costs of sexually transmitted infections from both a personal and a Public Health or community viewpoint are of significance.” (Prof. Brendan Bain in his report to the Supreme Court in Belize, p.13)

When a UWI group behaves the way Prof. Nigel Harris’ committee has behaved then it is just possible they are all afflicted with the other AIDS virus – Acquired INTEGRITY Deficiency Syndrome. I picked up this acronym over 15 years ago from an author I have now forgotten but I suspect it was Gene Antonio in The AIDS Cover-up.

Why this broadside against my intellectual superiors? Well, it seems to me, having read Bain’s report to the Belize court, that the UWI committee surrendered logic to political correctness.

I have searched but still cannot find the factual or logical flaws in Prof. Brendan Bain’s report that would justify the unclarified ‘displeasure’ of the Gay Advocacy groups (Pepto Bismol or Yoga anyone?). Nor am I clear on the bases of the committee’s decision to dismiss Prof. Bain.

What struck me from the report is Bain’s concern in principle and practice for MSMs (men who have sex with other men). Prof. Harris and his team ought to know the truth of what the preface to Bain’s report says “Since 1983, he [Bain] has provided clinical care to men and women living with HIV and AIDS, accepting patients of all sexual persuasions, regardless of their reported sexual practices.” (p. 1, my emphasis).

Interestingly, for every piece of clinical research mentioned by Prof. Bain in support of his written expert testimony, the Court was provided with a copy of the actual study cited.
    Against the spurious allegation by some about ‘conflict of interest’ ponder this excerpt from p. 2 of the report “In 2003, [Bain] was invited by a United States Government team to lead the Regional Coordinating Unit of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART) Initiative…Attitudinal training is a central part of the CHART curriculum, with anti-stigma and anti-discrimination training being paramount.” ( my emphasis)

I guess what has prompted the ‘displeasure’ of the Gay Advocates and exerted unwarranted pressure on Prof. Harris’ committee were the blunt but incontrovertible facts about the risky sexual behaviours of MSMs provided by an expert caring practitioner who is concerned about the personal health and life of MSMs and the concomitant impact of certain behaviours on Public Health.

This is what Prof. Bain said on p. 7 “Several of the behaviours described in the preceding paragraphs are unsafe and therefore unhealthy because they create an unacceptable level of risk of acquiring and spreading infectious diseases that compromise the health, and in some instances the life, of the infected person and the person’s partners.” Is this not concern and love, at least in principle?

The “preceding paragraphs” said in part, BRACE YOURSELF FOR THIS NOW, “A variety of other actions have been reported in some cases of male-male sexual contact; these include mouth-anal contact, and golden showers (urination on another person). In a small proportion of reported cases, there is scat (defecation on another person) and in a few cases, felching (sucking or eating semen out of someone’s anus).” Here Prof. Bain cites a study reported in the British Journal of Venereology in 1981. This is either factual or not! If factual should this seasoned Public Health specialist and care-giver surrender his concern to political correctness?
    One thread of Prof. Bain’s testimony is the need to reckon with the possible Public Health implications of risky sexual behaviours even when done in private between consenting adults. I’ll let him speak for himself.

At the bottom of p. 7 into p. 8 after mentioning the importance of a person’s infection status he advises “When a person does not know his sexual partner’s status, privacy is not sufficient to guarantee safety. Another factor that increases the risk of transmission of sexually transmitted infections is intimate sexual contact with multiple partners. Privacy does not offer protection from this risk.”
    I would be tempted to add ‘unprotected’ before ‘sexual contact’ but I could be missing a deeper/wider point the professor has in mind.

Prof. Bain’s testimony provides evidence that in Belize, Jamaica, the Netherlands, the USA and France, the rate of new HIV infections in MSMs is higher than that of other men, women and even intravenous drug users.

Viruses are tricky to deal with clinically and so Prof. Bain warns that “…the majority of sexually transmitted diseases that are caused by viruses still cannot be cured.” (p. 11)
    My worry is for the intellectual health of Prof. Harris and his committee who all seem to be afflicted with the other (more deadly?) AIDS virus – Acquired INTEGRITY Deficiency Syndrome.

Public Health realities ought to trump any alleged right to engage in risky sexual behaviour.

3. @ GP
    ….not crossing you, …but just to draw your attention to verses 19 and 20 above…..
    19 Because that which may be known of God is manifest in them; for God hath shewed it unto them.

20 For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse:
    Bushie would have drawn your attention to these verses under a different topic, ….but the point was that knowledge of GOD is manifest in and by the common things that are around us…..and this is by design.

The spiritual complexities (invisible things of God) are CLEARLY seen…and can be understood – by the physical things around us (the temporary things that were ‘made’)
    …..EVEN GOD’S ETERNAL (time independent) POWER and structure (Godhead) can be clearly seen in nature….
    …what is Bushie’s point here…?

For the ordinary man, SUCH KNOWLEDGE WAS NEVER PROMISED VIA THE BIBLE, BUT FROM NATURE – ALL AROUND US….and it really takes a true fool, having contemplated the greatness of nature, to say in his heart that “there is no God”…

When therefore we can reach the stage where ‘educated’ people can look upon creation and decide that the very UNNATURAL antithesis of God’s creation of male and female deserves equal place with the NATURAL design,…. …then we must expect the consequences as spelt out in the rest of your reference.

Some humans also are born with the UNNATURAL predisposition to commit murder, ….to have sex with children, …..to steal, …and to bully others less powerful than themselves……do we then ALSO accommodate these “human beings” by accepting their behaviors as natural….?

You may be harsh and direct GP, but you are also correct…
    LOL…..
    But then again when did BBE ever select sweet-mouth diplomats to provide his final warnings….?

4. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

YOU SEEM TO HAVE A GRASP OF THE SUBJECT
    Clearly, as you say,initially knowledge of God is supposed to be gleaned primarily from the creation, rather than the Bible.Consequently no one has any excuse.

20 For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse:.

This verse is a corollary to Hebrews 11: 3 3 Through faith we understand that the worlds were framed by the word of God, so that things which are seen were not made of things which do appear.

The deep concepts in these two verses was only discovered about 100 years ago, by Bohr, Pauling and others.
    the invisible things or things that are not seen are compressed by amazing power so that we are able to see the things that are made,

The beauty is that we dont have to be Physics majors or Phys Chem gurus to enjoy the beauty of the creation. But these two verses prefigured what the scientists only found recently.

The rest of this passage clearly points out the folly of professing oneself to be wise in rejecting such truth. The result is a downward spiral such that so called wise people behave worst than animals!

Of course also, this passage sets up Paul’s train of argument that ends in the obvious conclusion of 3:23: ALL OF SINNED!

In my first term at UWI in Use of English class in argument, the tutor said that ROMANS IS THE BEST PIECE OF ARGUMENT IN THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE. The more you read the Pauline writings you must agree.

You wont believe this, but I am very soft spoken
    Since cataracts its convenient to type in caps

5. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

also BT
    If you ever met Brendan Bain, you would know that the man is quiet, thoughtful, and calm but also forthright and honest.

6. Georgie Porgie

I don’t care how beautiful you construct your written and how masterful you plead your case on Prof. Bain behaft, the truth of the matter is it isn’t going to prevent some people from living the lives their see fit. Now, are you’re naive to think that people who engage in this risky lifestyle aren’t cognizant of the consequences of their choices? Moreover, I am quite sure that the people who smoke three packs of cigarettes a day, are aware of the higher rates of lung cancer associated with this expense habit, but does this evidence deter them in anyway shape of form? Certainly not!

7. Georgie Porgie, when Prof. Bain, assumes the position of the Almighty God, then he will able to look down from Heaven and dictate to MAN what he should do amiss of choice. When God told Adam and Eve not to eat of the tree in the garden of Eden, he gave the both them a choice between GOOD and EVIL. But of course, they chose to contravened God directive, through the gift of free-will He implanted in the both of them. GP, its all about man’s divine right to choose his own course in this life. He knows the consequences to be had for violating God’s divine mandates, so you PG, assumes the position of God, when you try to dictate to man his course in this life.

8. where dr. bain fell short … is stressing the other risk factors involved in acquiring HIV,,the problem was his testimony seemed tainted and sel serving..no one would have had a problem with his testimony if he HAD emphasize that the aids Virus can be acquired through different routes,,but his mission was one of which would have only served a part of society and negatively continue to contaminate the minds of those who are uneducated about this world wide devastating diseases that was his downfall along with exposing his inner soul one of bigotry and carrying a bitter pill of stigmatization towards others who practice an alternative lifestyle and from that now he is should be condemned..

Foot note …..what is needed is for a populace to re -educate their mind in a positive way and not to be fooled and tricked into bigotry and negativity which can be more devastating to a society than than the aids virus ,, and for which their is no cure ,,,,as a people we should practice tolerance instead of trying to move to the front of the line holding placards of hate and discrimination and bigotry using testimonies which can be destructive instead of instructive .and in the long run where there are no winners,,,,,but be drum majors for peace ,,,playing a beat of peace and love ..while in the moment asking oneself ,,, WHAT IF THIS WAS ME

9. Georgie Porgie

Christianity is all about love, peace inclusion and tolerance, and not condemnation, castigation and ostracism. I can’t remember the Old Testament narrative verbatim, so it is best that I paraphrase what Jesus said to the people who were about to stoned the woman. Jesus said to the multitude: he who is without SIN casted the first STONE….. Now, the morale of the story is none is without Sin and none should judge because of our human tendencies as well as our susceptibility to commit Sin.

10. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

“Now, the morale of the story is none is without Sin and none should judge because of our human tendencies as well as our susceptibility to commit Sin.”

EXPLAIN THEN WHY BAIN WAS JUDGED, AND SENTENCED …BY YOUR OWN ARGUMENT FOOL

where dr. bain fell short WAS TO PUT HIS LIFE ON THE LINE AND AT RISK TO TREAT HIGHLY INFECTED FOLK FOR 30 YEARS

EVERYONE HAS SPOKEN HIGHLY OF HIS SERVICE AND HIS CARE
    BUT HE DIDNT SAY WHAT THE BULLERS AND WICKERS THINK HE SHOULD SAY
    THE MORALE OF THE BAIN DECISION IS SIMPLE….

SAY WHAT THE BULLERS AND WICKERS THINK YOU SHOULD SAY…….OR ELSE.

11. GP you have a valid point that Bain by his care of HIV and AIDs population over the years has never had complaints lodged against him by them. His record to this population should have been weighed by them but he took the chance of taking a contentious position knowing how strident the Gay lobby can be.

On 30 May 2014 22:31, Barbados Underground wrote:

12. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

,as a people we should practice tolerance i
    but DID THE JAMAICAN ASSOCIATIONS OF BULLERS & WICKERS EXERCISE TOLERANCE IN THE BAIN CASE? NO THE BULLERS & WICKERS WENT ON A RAMPAGE

but be drum majors for peace ,,,playing a beat of peace and love WERE THE JAMAICAN ASSOCIATIONS OF BULLERS & WICKERS drum majors for peace ,,,?

.DID THE JAMAICAN ASSOCIATIONS OF BULLERS & WICKERS play a beat of peace and love?

LEARN THE MORALE OF THE STORY
    SPEAK ONLY TO SAY WHAT THE BULLERS AND WICKERS WANT SAID

13. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

David | May 30, 2014 at 6:37 PM |
    DAVID IS A MAN NOT A MOUSE!
    THE OUTPOURING OF LOVE AND CONCERN ABOUT HIM IN JAMAICA AND OTHER ISLANDS HAS BEEN OVERWHELMING

ARE YOU SAYING THAT YOU MUST NOW BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU SAY ON BU WHEN JEROME AND MIA TAKE BACK OVER? LOL

14. Bush Tea

You ought to be shame of yourself brother. I had to hold my head down in shame, after I saw the way in which you held on to GP G string panty. Bush Tea man, you out of all people, have the unmitigated gall to befriended this wretched specimen of humanity. Who stood front and center here on BU, and dehumanized one part of God’s divine creation.

15. @GP

It does not matter Barbadians are not ready to accept all people as equal. It is why there is a concerted effort to remain in the closet. We will see if it becomes an issue next election.

On 30 May 2014 22:41, Barbados Underground wrote:

16. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DAVID
    BRENDAN IS A MAN NOT A MOUSE!
    MOTE THE PEOPLE THAT HAVE SPOKEN SO HIGHLY OF HIM
    I ADMIRED HIM WHEN I FIRST MET HIM AS A YOUNG DOCTOR WITH HIS LITTLE CAR IN HIS LITTLE RENTED HOUSE IN MONA HEIGHTS 40 YEARS AGO

AND I ADMIRE HIM A MILLION TIMES MORE 40 YEARS LATER

THE MORALE OF THIS STORY
    IS THAT WICKERS AND BULLERS ARE UNGRATEFUL

WHO WILL THEY TARGET NEXT?

17. @GP

Perhaps it is not personal but more a commitment by the Gap lobby to challenge ANY position which conflicts.

18. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

David | May 30, 2014 at 6:45 PM |

It does not matter Barbadians are not ready to accept all people as equal. It is why there is a concerted effort to remain in the closet.

DO YOU THINK THAT IS THE REASON WHY NO ONE IS SPEAKING OUT ON THIS MATTER IN BIM UNLIKE IN THE OTHER ISLANDS
    (OF COURSE ONLY BU HAS ALLOWED VIEWS ON THE MATTER- VERY LITTLE ELSE IN THE SO CALLED PRESS)

19. The issue of homosexuality and LGBT is held as taboo by mainstream media and is only discussed at the fringe. Peter Wickham tries but until he comes clean he will not be regarded as a credible spokesman.The government and politicians stay away for obvious reasons. Until we discuss this issue openly and educate all and sundry the divisiveness around the issue will contnue.

On 30 May 2014 22:49, Barbados Underground wrote:

20. Georgie Porgie

Perhaps, you can learn something from Mother Tereas, who I believed was the true manifestation of God’s presence on earth. This woman left behind wealth and privilege, to worked in the slumbs of Calcutta India with the poor and sick. I know God is saying about now, well done thy good and faithful servant.

21. @ GP
    Boss
    When the Gay movement take over in Barbados the VERY first action will be to aim the Israeli World Cup spy equipment at BU and shut us down….
    Did MIA not call for the closure of the blogs when she was deputy PM?

LOL @ David
    So are you saying that when one finds oneself in a court giving evidence one should be sure to say that which is politically expedient – rather that what one thinks to be true and honest – IF it is likely to upset a strong lobby …
    .wuh…..Bushie’s ass is grass then…?!? 🙂

22. @Bush Tea

Representing what is maybe the status quo position. What will happen is that external pressure will be brought to bear and the rest will be history.

On 30 May 2014 23:07, Barbados Underground wrote:

23. Man David you REAL wicked yuh know…
    How will it be possible for Peter Wickham to “come clean” about homosexuality?
    Wuh Ross has been unsuccessful….
    Peter ran away from BU
    Amused ran away from BU

It is VERY HARD to “come clean” with shiite….while Bushie whacker got in gas….. Or while GP’ s bulldozer wukking…!!,

Bushie has already explained the phenomenon….

It is an malfunction of the human mind caused by spiritual wickedness in the place…..just like disease causes a malfunction of the human body and tend to be caused by an unclean physical environment.
    Our response should be to love and support the victims and take all steps possible to find and correct the CAUSE.

A REALLY STUPID RESPONSE is to accept the disease an “normal” and to allow the “victims” to prescribe that normal society should change its norms to accommodate their dangerous abnormalities….while more and more youth fall victim…

What happens when humans with vampire-like fetishes seek to get blood recognized as food?
    Or pedophiles move to lower the age of consent to 4?
    Steupssss

24. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DAvID
    Now you can see that we will soon come to the end of history as we know it.
    Wid wickers and bullers in charge- all hell will brek lose

25. @GP

We have to find a way to coexist. We are all human beings.

On 30 May 2014 23:28, Barbados Underground wrote:

26. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

BT
    Also the logic of these people is mind boggling. We know that Romans explain the moral and spiritual patho physiology, but the result of their inability to reason correctly boggles the mind

27. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

David | May 30, 2014 at 7:29 PM |
    We have to find a way to coexist. We are all human beings.
    NOT AT ALL. THE BELIEVERS WILL BE GOING UP IN THE RAPTURE
    PROBABLY BY THEN, THE UNBELIEVERS WILL BE CONVERTED TO BULLERS AND WICKERS

CHECK THE GENESIS STORY. GOD COULD NOT FIND 10 PERSONS IN THAT CITY WHO WERE NOT BULLERS AND WICKERS.

EVEN AFTER GOD BLINDED THE MEN AT THE DOOR, THEY WERE STILL BENT LITERALLY ON BULLING THE STRANGERS AT LOT’S HOUSE.

JESUS EXPRESSLY SAID THAT LIFE WILL BE LIKE THOSE DAYS WHEN HE RETURNS
    HE IS COMING SOON FRIENDS

28. Georgie Porgie

“Explain why Bain was judge”

I think the answer to your above question is quite explanatory sir.

Prof. Bain’s qualified opinion is the absolute law and therefore, the gay and lesbian community in Barbados must accept it as absolute truth because he it the final arbiter. Lol As you well know: in America if a piece of legislation or a particular law does not sit well with the people, their can appeal to the SUPREME or the APPEAL court for regress.

29. Georgie Porgie

Can show me or others here a scripture in the Bible which uses the word RAPTURE? I mean the literally, the word RAPTURE and not the interpretation of the word RAPTURE.

30. why would any one in barbados who his held in high regard if they are gay destroy their image by revealing their sexual lifestyle,, which according to most bajan society deemed such people to be out cast, and unacceptable,,,,would you,,,the same high regards that GP asserts to BAIN as a person of principle weighing in on the good things that he HAS DONE,would be denied to a homosexual in this society if his /her sexual preference is openly known,,…..no matter how many noble works they have done,,,,,they stigma attached always will keep them in hiding..which beyond a shadow of a doubt continues to having gays to live dishonest lives and living in fear ,,,, isn;t it ironic that MR BAIN TESTIMONY to persuade a govt that laws to punish and imprison gays remain in place ,is one of a similar vein in middle eastern countries forcing gays to live in exile, yet ,,these demagogues of Christianity and self righteousness would be quick to point out that these countries are ungodly,,,

31. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

RE why would any one in barbados who his held in high regard if they are gay destroy their image by revealing their sexual lifestyle,, which according to most bajan society deemed such people to be out cast, and unacceptable

nobodd has asked for that jackass
    BARBADOS IS A SMALL PLACE
    AND THE IDENTITY OF THE WICKERS AND BULLERS IS WLL KNOWN

ba ling baling
    RE hey stigma attached always will keep them in hiding..which beyond a shadow of a doubt continues to having gays to live dishonest lives and living in fear ,,,
    THE WICKERS AND BULLERS ARE KNOWN
    THOSE IN HIDING WILL SOON COME OUT OF HIDING AS THEY FOLLOW THE LEADING OF WHAT IS HAPPENING IN THE USA

THE BULLERS AND WICKERS DONT LIVE IN FEAR IN BIM
    NO ONE TROUBLES THEM

BUT NON BULLERS MUST BE IN FEAR

FELLAS CANT CHECK A WOMAN CAUSE THEY DONT KNOW IF SHE IS A HE OR OR A SHE AND THEY DONT KNOW IF SHE HAS BEEN SCREWING WITH A BULLER OR BULEE WHO HAS AIODS AND TB AND THE SEVERAL DISEASES THAT COMPLICATE AIDS

WOMEN GETTING PHOBIAS AND OTHER PSHYCOLOGICAL DISEASE AFTER COMING HOME TO FIND THEIR HUSBAND OR BOYFRIEND BEING BULLED! AH LIE?
    HOW YOU THINK THEM WOMEN FEEL TO SEE A PILE DRIVER DELVING DEEPLY INTO THIER MANS BOTTOM?

32. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

THE RESULT OF THIS IS THAT A LOT OF WOMEN SO AFRAID OF THE UNKNOWN BULLER AND BULLEE MEN THAT THEY TURNING WHOLESALE TO WICKING SO AS TO AVOID AIDS AND TB AND THE SEVERAL DISEASES THAT COMPLICATE AIDS. AH LIE?

33. @GP

Doc, homosexuality has been around since early biblical times, Paul raised the issue in his epistles to the early Saints and the malady continues on in these days and I guess will do so until the millenium. Do you think this could be one of the ways that the Almighty is using to separate the wheat from the chaff? Could it also be viewed as a partial judgement on folk who refuse ro adapt their lives to gospel principles?
    Thses are just some of my thoughts on the subject.

34. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DE HOOD
    I agree that homosexuality has been around since early biblical times, but there was no AAIDS

In 1981, however, there was a big wicker /buler conference in California just prior to the discovery of the first AIDS cases.

Now I cant prove this, but I believe that the Lord intervened then and tweaked some common virus to make the retrovirus we call HIV

I believe that AID, TB etc might be involved in the pestilences and plagues dscribed in Revelation , but note that there are two deaths and two resurrections. cf John 5:29 inter alia

The bad boys will be part of the second death described in Revelation 20

35. Georgie Porgie

What about the Black Death pandemic which resulted in the death of 200 million people during the 13th century? And how it reduced the world population from an estimated 450 million to 350 million in the 14th century. Did God had a hand in this plague to teach mankind a life lesson to? It seems as though you have a poor grasp of history because there were many more pandemics through human history which decimated human populations, and I guess we ought to blame it all on God to right PG?

36. Georgie Porgie

According to the World Health Organization: 35.5 million people worldwide are currently living with HIV/AIDS. And 36 million people have died since the first cases were reported in 1981 according to the WHO. So PG, I hardly think that HIV/AIDS threatens a world population now estimated at 6.5 billion people, as the Black Death did in the 14th century. Now, we all know that HIV as does AIDS is a global challenge, but I hardly think it is a global crisis according to the WHO statistics/ data.

37. De Hood

“Could this be viewed as a partial judgement on folk who refused to adapt their lives to Gospel principles”

Man you sound so ridiculous, I can’t help but laugh at you lack of biblical comprehension. There are only two alternative choices the Bible gives for refusing to live by God’s divine principles or living according to them: eternal life or eternal-damnation. What partial judgement you talking bout, man you sound like a bear fool.

38. De Hood

Think about it pensively brother: why would there be a partial day of judgment, when the Bible already speaks of a final day of judgment in Revelations? You ought to stop attributing man’s destructive behavior to God intervention. Listen! There is still a philosophical as well as a religious question as to why God allows bad things to happen to good people. And the answer was given which goes a little something like this: ” God does not cause bad things to happen to good people. He allows them to happen in order to teach humankind a lesson.”

39. Georgie Porgie

CANCER…CANCER…CANCER..

“Cancer is a Global priority and not AIDS/HIV.”

David, instead of wasting productive brainpower around the issue of HIV and AIDS. We should be focusing our efforts on CANCER which is a global PRIORITY as well as CRISIS.

Here is what the World Health Organization (WHO) have say about CANCER: today more than twice as many people die from CANCER than AIDS, Malaria, and Tuberculosis combined. ( You see the statistics PG)? The report further stated, that without immediate action, global members of death from CANCER will increase by nearly 80% by 2030, with mostly occur in lower – and middle -income countries. Sounds like Barbados was counting in those numbers PG. So this is this discussion we ought to be having and not some trivial issue you have infused on BU because you felt that Prof. Bain was treated unfairly. AIDS/ HIV isn’t a global necessity and you know this PG.