Caleb Orozco

Foremost Authority on HIV and AIDS in the region says: no published data to substantiate the hypothesis that decriminalising the practice of anal intercourse among consenting adults would lead to a reduction in the incidence rate of HIV infections among men who have sex with men (MSM).

The matter of Professor Brendan Bain, head of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART), makes for compelling reading in the Jamaica press. It has its genesis in a case on the way in Belize where the goodly Professor gave expert testimony in a matter against a Gay Belizean Caleb Orozco. Orozco challenged in September 2010 Section 53 of Belize’s criminal code which states, “every person who has carnal intercourse against the order of nature with any person or animal shall be liable to imprisonment for 10 years“. The gist of which he argues that, “the code violates his right to the recognition of human dignity, to personal privacy and the privacy of the home guaranteed by the Belize constitution”.

At a point in the case Professor Bain, regarded as an expert in clinical infections and an authority on HIV/AIDS in the Caribbean, gave expert testimony which has resulted in calls for his dismissal from the UWI by Gay advocates.  Part of Bain’s testimony which has created a furor is quoted in the Jamaica Observer article.

BU’s interest in the case will be to observe how the privilege accorded to Academicians by the University of the West Indies is weighed against the strident LGBT lobby.

BU states for the record it does not support a Gay lifestyle.

484 responses to “Professor Brendan Bain Gets Gay Backlash”

1. How does legalizing homosexuality erodes the moral tapestry of a society? Now, we can agree on the fact that the Hebrew Scriptures regards homosexuality as a Sin; as does formication. But yet we’re quick to condemn radical Islam, for stoning as well as beheading a women for commiting formication. Where is the morality in criminalizing a woman’s/ man’s right to do with his /her body as he/she choose? And is there a fundamental difference between inserting one’s penis in the anus of another man or that of a woman? And finally, are we anymore different than radical Islam, which seeks to curtail a woman’s right to do with her body as she please?

2. LOL @ David
    Boss, if you wasn’t such a gorilliphant… Bushie would have sued your donkey long ago for putting it out there that Bushie chased Peter Wickham from BU…..
    All that happened is that he see Caswell and Adrian Loveridge come here playing big and using their real names…..and he – the “wannabe somebody” that he is, decide to use his real name too….

But that takes balls…. So he ain’t last as long as a pop kite

LOL Ha Ha
    …think BU gotta switch that you can turn off people when they make you look like an idiot….?

Why not give the bullers a rest nuh? The poor people have been cursed already…..to be condemned to liking that stuff is bad enough…
    To not have the natural attraction for the likes of Islandgal and SSS is already enough punishment…..

It just shows the level of spiritual dirtiness that has infested our societies…..
    Rather than abuse these victims of our warped society, we need to pray for them yuh…..and be damn careful for ourselves…

3. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

BT
    IM NOT CUSSING THE BULLERS YOU KNOW

IM ABOUT DEFENDING THE RIGHTS OF NON BULLERS TO PRESENT FACTUAL SCIENTIFIC EVIDENCE AS PRESENTED BY BRENDAN BAIN
    ESPECIALLY WHEN THE ILLOGIC OF THIER STAND IS SO VERY OBVIOUS AS IS SET OUT IN THE FIRST POST ZOE MADE TODAY.

IF WHAT HAPPENED TO BRENDAN IS NOT NIPPED IN THE BUD SUCH BEHAVIOR BY THE BULLERS AND WICKERS WILL BE PREVALENT THROUGHOUT THE CARRIBBEAN

4. DO YOU GP KNOW FOR SURE THAT THE PROFESSOR IS NOT BISEXUAL or GAY WUH THEM THE ONES WHO SHOUT THE LOUDEST<>MARRIED AND HAVE FAMILIES TOO ….

5. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

When I was a medical school at Mona, there was a St Lucian buller who organized some sex with a chap in Chancellor Hall.

What the St Lucian buller did not know was that it was a set up. When he got to the room, it was filled with men who beat him mercilessly. He ended up mad, and was admitted to ward 21 (like Jenkins) before being sent home to St Lucia.
    Jamaicans had a low tolerance for bullers.then. Many bullers were beaten to death.

Wonder if folk in Bim were like that if we would have such bullin morons talking so much BS in BIM

6. @ GP
    Fair enough….but you must know that you are fighting a losing battle… THEY WILL WIN…
    Very shortly, Peter, Ross, Mia and their pals will be running things bout here – just like is already the case up by you , Hants and over In the the other continent….
    First thing they will do is make Vaseline duty free…. 🙂

7. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

LOL BT MURDAH

First thing they will do is make Vaseline duty free…

AND BULLIN WICKUM WILL BE PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

8. Bushie:

Ya too bad doh!!

9. Georgie Porgie

I respect your resolve for standing your ground on an issue that has already been preordained by the God. Now… some where in the Bible…. if I am not mistaken…. it states explicitly…,”That man should leaved the natural use of the woman, burning in their lust for one another…”. Porgie, are you trying to convince us that you’re capable of utilizing human deliberation, to alter God’s prophetic divination?

10. look at the hate speech and demonstration of the hate that GP brings to the forum in his above comment Exhbit A ….. reasons enough as to why the gays should be treated as humans and not scourges on society,,,the episode in which GP refers to is sick and depicts that there are people in society who would kill mane or harm people with those whose lifestyle they disagree,,,,,,sick mudd ers ,,very sick ….and to think GP would not condemn such sickening behaviour .but got the gumption to lecture people about what is appropriate sexual behaviour is nauseating,,,,and revolting,,,,,,,and furthermore using that episode to glorify that it was a right done to the homosexual is ungodly and does not line up with christian teachings,,GP as a christian u ought to hang uh head in shame ,,man yuh are doing a disservice to Christianity and given the non christian more reasons to stay away from the church,,,,GP when u call some one a moron u should include yourself ,,moron..

11. AC:
    Are you a closet lesbian?

12. The very act of criminalizing a gay or lesbian person’s right to copulate with the person of his/her choice, threatens our fundamental right to SELF-DETERMINATION as human beings. We may not support the practice of homosexuality, but we ought and must support every gay and lesbian person’s right to SELF- REALIZATION, within the reasonable confines of the civil law.

13. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

IN HIS QUEST TO CONTRADICT ME BALAAM’S ASS HAS BRAYED AND MISQUOTED FROM ROMANS CHAPTER ONE

DAVID IT IS NOTEWORTHY THAT IN HIS STUPID RANT BULLIN WICKUM WAXED ON SLAVERY BUT SAID NOTHING ABOUT WHAT THE BIBLE SPEAKS SO ELOQUENTLY ON HIS FAVORITE PAST TIME

For therein is the righteousness of God revealed from faith to faith: as it is written, The just shall live by faith.

18 For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who hold the truth in unrighteousness;

19 Because that which may be known of God is manifest in them; for God hath shewed it unto them.

20 For the invisible things of him from the creation of the world are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even his eternal power and Godhead; so that they are without excuse:

21 Because that, when they knew God, they glorified him not as God, neither were thankful; but became vain in their imaginations, and their foolish heart was darkened.

22 Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools,

23 And changed the glory of the uncorruptible God into an image made like to corruptible man, and to birds, and fourfooted beasts, and creeping things.

24 Wherefore God also gave them up to uncleanness through the lusts of their own hearts, to dishonour their own bodies between themselves:

25 Who changed the truth of God into a lie, and worshipped and served the creature more than the Creator, who is blessed for ever. Amen.

26 For this cause God gave them up unto vile affections: for even their women did change the natural use into that which is against nature:

27 And likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust one toward another; men with men working that which is unseemly, and receiving in themselves that recompence of their error which was meet.

28 And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient;

29 Being filled with all unrighteousness, fornication, wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness; full of envy, murder, debate, deceit, malignity; whisperers,

30 Backbiters, haters of God, despiteful, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents,

31 Without understanding, covenantbreakers, without natural affection, implacable, unmerciful:

32 Who knowing the judgment of God, that they which commit such things are worthy of death, not only do the same, but have pleasure in them that do them.

THIS IS PERHAPS THE MOST HATED SCRIPTURE IN THE BIBLE

14. all you christian believers that know and love GP better talk to him cause he has overexposed himself as one who would condone murderous and inhuman acts against people, i am dumfounded that a christian would even make mention of an episode where a person is almost beaten to death and even thinks to ask the question. of anyone ….

15. @GP

Believe Wickham is an athiest. So verse 27 is where the rubber meets the road and all those who have translated from the original book are of one accord?

16. GP u can quote all the scripture u want u have exposed yourself by your own testimony through your rantings and ravings as a deviant and immoral character ..characterize by your hatred of gays and delivered in words only known and said by people with sick minds,,,,,what kind of intelligence is that believe u me nothing that anyone should be jealous of, or proud of…,,,a gay man unknowingly is tricked into having sex and is almost beaten to death not to mention his mental stability is destroyed and U GP boaster and gloat using such a disgusting and inhumane episode as an example to discourage homosexuality ..u are one sick puppy,, moron,,,,

17. @ac

Did you read and fully comprehend the scripture passage that GP quoted above? Or are you like Balaam’s ass not able to comprehend a very straight , no pun here, forward bit of counsel from the scriptures? I would suggest you really study and ponder it before casting judgement on what GP is putting forward to us.

18. Georgie Porgie

Only a very sick individual would glorifiy as well as justify the harming of another human being because he/she is gay, black, white, lesbian or straight etc.

19. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DAVID
    The key verse is verse 18, where Paul begins his argument about the wrath of God
    here he says that ungodly and unrighteous men hold the truth or grasp the truth as unrighteousness.

18 For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who hold the truth in unrighteousness;

He then goes on to point out the results of deranging the truth or perverting the truth. Note it is a downhill spiral

Note verse 21&22 Because that, when they knew God, they glorified him not as God, neither were thankful; but became vain in their imaginations, and their foolish heart was darkened.

22 Professing themselves to be wise, they became fools,
    Instead of glorifying God their foolish hearts were darkened so that they try to show that they are wise…..but in so doing they clearly demonstrate that they are total jackasses ——–READ BULLIN WICKHAMS ARTICLE AGAIN. OR THE RAMBLINS OF AC

IN VERSE 26 WE SEE THAT god gave them up
    AND IN VERSE 28
    WE SEE THAT HE GIVES THEM OVER to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient;
    THE REST OF THE CHAPTER RELATES THIER END

20. @ GP
    Ah not dat Bushie ah say all along…..?

Dum play dum to big to respect the almighty …so he have cursed them in the most despicable way possible…. Condemned to a life of attraction to excreta……
    +++++++
    24 Wherefore God also gave them up to uncleanness through the lusts of their own hearts, to dishonour their own bodies between themselves:
    26 …..for even their women did change the natural use into that which is against nature
    +++++++

So the basic problem is that society has turned its back on the RIGHTEOUSNESS of its creator….and have instituted wickedness and wutlessness in its place…as we have argued time and again here in BU…..and the CONSEQUENCE is that this abnormal abomination have become so prevalent, that EVEN bright, otherwise intelligent people are expounding on its “virtues”….
    …the “virtues” of playing around in disease ridden excreta…and of freak women attracted to each other……

Please ….anyone….tell Bushie of a WORSE human condition that is even conceivable… Who can want for a CLEARER SIGN of God’s FINAL warnings……

21. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

ILLITERATES BALLAM’S ASS AND AC
    I HAVE NOT JUSTIFIED A THING
    I JUST REPORTED AN INCIDENT THAT OCCURED WHILE I WAS AT MONA

22. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

HERE IS A GOOD PREACHING OUTLINE ON THIS PASSAGE
    ROMANS ONE

Revelation of God derided
    Rejection of God preferred
    Rationalization of God’s Word decided
    Reversal of Truth presented
    Religious perversion accepted
    Reprobate minds adopted
    Ravishing appetites practiced
    Retribution of God delivered

tHIS IS HOW THE BULLERS AND WICKERS PROGRESS FROM DERIDING GODS REVELATION AS DONE BY BULLIN WICKUM IN THE NATION AND AC FOR ABOUT SIX YEARS NOW ON BU
    READ BULLIN WICKUMS ARTICLE AND NOTE THE ELEMENTS ABOVE TO BE CLEARLY ARTICULATED

THE SAME WAS DONE BY THE WICKIN AND BULLIN COALTION TO BRENDAN BAIN

23. Read and tell me which part of the scripture is this comment that u are referring to..

GEORGIE PORGIE | May 26, 2014 at 3:19 PM |   

|When I was a medical school at Mona, there was a St Lucian buller who organized some sex with a chap in Chancellor Hall.
    What the St Lucian buller did not know was that it was a set up. When he got to the room, it was filled with men who beat him mercilessly. He ended up mad, and was admitted to ward 21 (like Jenkins) before being sent home to St Lucia.

Jamaicans had a low tolerance for bullers.then. Many bullers were beaten to death.

Wonder if folk in Bim were like that if we would have such bullin morons talking so much BS in BIM

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

i believe you have interjected your loyal support for GP with a cockeyed,,,,
    here is a christain who has used an inhumane and unjustifiable comment to demonstrate a travesty proposing (it )should used as an example to discourage homosexuality,,,,the very question he asks in his last paragraph…. u de hood might find such comments as acceptable or easy to rationalize ,but as a parent i wonder out aloud and asked if folk in bim would condone or even suggest directly or indirectly such a travesty to be permitted on their child if the child was gay,,,,,,,,,

24. u see these intelligent FOOLS like a jack a,ss braying nit wit like GP ..believes every body is stupid,he brings his homophobia on BU ,,makes an interesting as,,.hole of himself past and copy scripture ,, then tries to portray himself as a christian,,, when others point out his hypocrisy. he wails and hollers like a drunk under the influence and uses foul mouth language as condemnation ,, GP the only thing good about u is absolutely NOTHING,,,,,,,u need to close that bible as it does u absolutely no good moron…u have nothing to teach nobody not even the devil…..

25. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

POOR AC THE PERRENNIAL JACK ASS
    SEE HOW SHE TRIES TO PERVERT THE TRUTH
    I DID NOT SAY THAT I CONDONED WHAT THE BULLERS IN CHANCELLOR HALL DID TO THE SHE SHE LESMONDE AT MONA

I REPORTED THAT IT HAPPENED—AND I HAVE NO APOLOGY FOR REPORTING IT
    AC DE HOOD WAS COMMENTING ON THE SCRIPTURES FROM ROMANS 18- 28 NOT ON THE BEATING OF BULLIN LESMONDE

26. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

AC YOU HAVE BEEN CUSSING ME ON BU SINCE ABOUT 2008- 2009 WHEN YOU FIRST APPEARED ON BU

BUT ALL TO NO AVAIL

FEEL FREE TO CONTINUE
    NOW YOU HAVE BALAAM’S ASS TO REPLACE THE LATE BONNY PEPPA TO HELP YOU

NORMALLY I IGNORE YOU, BUT IM GOING TO RUN YOU RAGGED

THE ANTI BULLERS AT MONA NEARLY BEAT LESMONDE TO DEATH

IN JAMAICA THEY TENDED TO KILL BWATTY BOYS

NOW HE BWATTY BOYS CARRY GUNS IN JAMAICA I HERE

AC TELL US TRUTHFULLY ARE YOUR SONS BWATTY BOYS?
    OR WAS IT YOUR HUSBAND,

DID YOUR VHUSBAND LEAVE YOU BECAUSE YOU ARE A WICKER LOL?

27. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

KINGSTON, Jamaica:
    Church leaders clad in black as well as students of the University of the West Indies (UWI) and other Jamaicans this morning stepped up their protest against the dismissal of Professor Brendan Bain as director of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Resource Training Network (CHART) by the UWI.

The protesters want the UWI to issue a public apology to Professor Bain and Jamaicans.

Among the protesters outside the UWI, Mona today was the 88-year-old, former Member of Parliament O.D. Ramtallie who has been hit hard by three strokes over the past three years.

Ramtallie said he felt so strongly about Bain’s dismissal that he has to make his way to the gate of the UWI this morning.

Noted church leader Bishop Wellesley Blair declared today that he would rather “die than switch” as he joined a swelling throng protesters.

Well-known public commentator Richard Dickie warned that the gay community was likely to soon be calling for the resignations of Prime Minister Simpson Miller and other Government Ministers.

Throngs of UWI students lamented that they were in mourning over the death of free speech in Jamaica.

ARE ALL OF THESE PEOPLE WRONG AC?

THESE JAMAICANS ARE NOT DOCILE LIKE WE BAJANS

THEY TEND TO FIGHT FOR WHAT IS RIGHT

28. @ac

It seems that I may have overestimated your comprehension skills. I apologise for so doing but I really thought you were somewhat better than Balaam’s ass in understanding written statements. I would hate to think that you may one day be called to give evidence in a court of law. I pity the person against whom you may testify.

29. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

KINGSTON, Jamaica:
    The University of the West Indies (UWI) has been characterised as a spineless organisation that has been sold out for 30 pieces of silver.

The UWI is the butt of stinging criticisms from members of a group of prominent Jamaicans who assembled at the gate of the institution to protest the removal of Professor Brendan Bain as Director of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training Chart Network.

Noted Children’s Advocate Betty-Ann Blaine was typically vocal as she charged that UWI had sold out well-thinking Jamaicans for 30 pieces of silver.

With tapes across their mouths to signal muzzling, the young and the old, men and women representing a range of organisations assembled at the gate of the UWI, as a team of police lingered with little to do.

They had to take the tape strips from across their mouth when they were approached by members of the media and they had a lot to say about what they described as the miscarriage of justice being meted out to Bain by the UWI administration.

Declaring that Christian principles were under siege, across the globe and was seeping into Jamaica, Blaine called for the 35 groups which had pressured UWI into letting Bain go, to declare their identities and their motives.

Blaine asserted that Bain has served the UWI as a distinguished member and scholar for many years and should not be treated in this manner.

READ: UWI fires professor amid gay lobby outrage

“University campuses are places where all views contend so who is really behind this [move to fire him] and what is their agenda.”

Added Blaine: “Whose money is it that’s being used to fund the projects of the university what are the groups that have funded the programmes?

What is their agenda and are we going to be sold out for 30 pieces of silver?” Blaine asked.

Shirley Richards, the head of the Lawyers Christian Fellowship described the Caribbean’s premier tertiary institution as spineless.

The team vowed that it will not cease as this appeared to signal the start of the trampling of the rights of well-thinking Jamaicans, particularly Christians who have made sterling contributions to nation-building.

Professor Bain’s termination came after he provided a statement in a high-profile case in Belize, in which a gay man challenged the constitutionality of an 1861 law that criminalises men having sex with men (MSM).

30. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DE HOOD

I DONT THINK THAT IT IS HER COMPREHENSION SKILS AT ALL

THIS THING IS A DEMON
    SHE SPINS AND TWISTS EVERYTHING
    SHE LIES WITH NO COMPUNCTION

HOW CAN SHE DEFEND HOW A GOOD MAN COULD BE PILLORIED FOR PRESENTING SOUND SCIENTIFIC INFORMATION?

READ THE HATE SHE SPEWED ABOUT A MAN ABOUT WHOM SHE KNOWS NOTHING

31. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

AC
    YOU REMEMBER THAT SONG WISHING AND HOPING FROM THE 60’S OR 70’S

I AM RECORDING A SONG USING THAT TUNE

ITS CALLED “BULLIN & WICKIN” AND BULLIN & WICKIN
    YOU WANT A COPY?

32. @GP

Quite so, Doc. I have been reading her comments here for the last few years and on many occassions she has provided me with great amusement with her ramblings especially the political comments. And now, low and behold she has been joined by her tag team partner, Balaam’s ass.

33. De Hood, are you playing with GP nuts now? It seems as though you’re holding on to his coattail for dear life.

34. Did I just hear Balaam’s ass braying? Lol

35. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DE HOOD
    LET ME HOLD ON TO YOUR COAT TAILS

YES YOU ARE CORRECT BALAAM’S ASS WAS INEED BRAYING

36. De Hood

You funny dude….where you bought those jokes …..on EBay?

37. GP

I can afford to hold on to your coat tails any time because you seem to have a pretty good idea of the correct goals to have in life. But Balaam’s ass would ony end up crashing me up against some wall or other.

38. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

de hood | May 26, 2014 at 7:30 PM |
    Balaam’s ass has found a toy that makes him feel important

What he has not mastered is restraint from posting about things about which he knows nothing, and just spewing bovine excrement with out thinking of its relevance.

His language is nauseating and his English, like AC the devil –ABOMINABLE

39. de hood i would have been surprised if. u had seen any thing wrong with GP poastin for all the years on. bu … u have never disappoint when it. came to licking the foul mouthed doctor a…s

40. GP

The old folk have a saying…………”you can take the man out of the ghetto but you can never take the ghetto out of the man”. Maybe this is what was meant by that phrase. That MF, Balaam’s ass, seems to be from there.
    ROFLMAO.

41. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

murder hood

why dont you find anything wrong with my “POASTING” for all the years on.BU

NOW YOU ARE ROASTING BALAAM’S ASS FOR HIS GHETTO UPBRINGING

THE DEVIL “AC” WILL BE COMING FOR YOU

I GOING AND WATCH THE NEWS
    BE GOOD AND BE CAREFULL WID DE BULLERS AND WICKERS DOWN THERE IN BIM YA HEAR

42. De Hood

The old folks also said that, “If you can’t stand de heat stay out de kitchen”. And I am about to turn up the heat right about now bro.

43. @GP

Ok Doc. You have given me a way to identify ac whenever I happen to bounce up with her in B’town. All I need to look for is a female with two horns sticking out from her forehead. LMAO.

44. Yuh meaning de heat from the ghetto? Or de heat from the kitchen in HELL! LMAO

45. PG, stay out this conversation; caveman jokes that next blog over. De Hood, you know you want to be lik me bro, that’s why you’re sporting that ghetto alias.

46. GP said he was going to watch the news report, so we all alone here together. That how you likes um? We is all alone? Dah wuh yuh likes, nuh?

47. De Hood, now shock the blog and say something intelligent. I am hanging on a cliff awaiting your answer bro.Now don’t disappoint us!

48. What happen De Hood, are you chicken out ? Or did your shorter PG, drop you like a bad habit?

49. Answer to what, u mf?

50. De Hood, on a serious note: if you call Bush Hall the Ghetto, then perhaps, I was born and bred in the Ghetto. It was the only place I knew in the 70’s and early 80’s, with more than half of Barbados criminal element.