Caleb Orozco

Foremost Authority on HIV and AIDS in the region says: no published data to substantiate the hypothesis that decriminalising the practice of anal intercourse among consenting adults would lead to a reduction in the incidence rate of HIV infections among men who have sex with men (MSM).

The matter of Professor Brendan Bain, head of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART), makes for compelling reading in the Jamaica press. It has its genesis in a case on the way in Belize where the goodly Professor gave expert testimony in a matter against a Gay Belizean Caleb Orozco. Orozco challenged in September 2010 Section 53 of Belize’s criminal code which states, “every person who has carnal intercourse against the order of nature with any person or animal shall be liable to imprisonment for 10 years“. The gist of which he argues that, “the code violates his right to the recognition of human dignity, to personal privacy and the privacy of the home guaranteed by the Belize constitution”.

At a point in the case Professor Bain, regarded as an expert in clinical infections and an authority on HIV/AIDS in the Caribbean, gave expert testimony which has resulted in calls for his dismissal from the UWI by Gay advocates.  Part of Bain’s testimony which has created a furor is quoted in the Jamaica Observer article.

BU’s interest in the case will be to observe how the privilege accorded to Academicians by the University of the West Indies is weighed against the strident LGBT lobby.

BU states for the record it does not support a Gay lifestyle.

484 responses to “Professor Brendan Bain Gets Gay Backlash”

1. @GEORGIE PORGIE May 20, 2014 at 11:59 AM
    Seriously though,If I were Brendan, I would sit quietly in my ofice and let UWI fire me without just cause. Then I would ask some of the finest Christian lawyers in JAMAICA to sue the UWI.NOW THAT WOULD BE REAL REAL SWEET.

No that would not be sweet.

Because if UWI is sued and Dr. Bain wins it is my tax money that would have to pay. It is alright fuh you to sit up there in Amurca and write sh!t@..it ain’t your yankee dollars that would have to pay for it.

2. @Georgie Porgie “In Colarado , a photographer decides not to take a job at a wedding of two bullers. He was sued.”

That is probably more because they were Americans, thatn that they were gay.

Wunna Amurcuns too like ya lawsuits.

First thing we will do, let us kill all the lawyers “Shakespeare”

LOL!!!

3. It is undeniable that as a group those men who have sex with men (MSM) are at a higher risk of STD than any other demographic group. It is appears (to me) that more than any other group, successful intervention with MSM in terms of behaviour modification, pharmaceutical intervention and counseling is critical to achieving a significant reduction in overall HIV infection rates. What is not clear is whether those that promote gay rights accept that anal sex is NOT a sine qua non of being gay. Is it thus possible that the gay lobby with an apparent insistence on not only acceptance but public approval of anal sex may be the biggest obstacle to reduction of the HIV/AIDS rate and better health for gays?

4. what is blantant and an abomination is that a doctor whose profession is supposedly grounded on facts and truths gets on the witness stands and chery picks and spins and counterspins his testimony to sway a court into beliving that the gay lifestyle is the number one reason for hiv in the homosexual community ,, when there is evidence to support mitigating and other corroborating factors to support which he with held and for that he should be fired….

5. It is generally understood that I unreservedly support so-called gay rights.

It is also generally acknowledged – or so I thought – that the first reported cases of aids were from the gay community. If this is correct, I really don’t see the issue of origin as a ‘live’ issue. This, however, does not entail conclusions about whether aids, and self-evidently other sexually transmitted diseases, is an exclusively gay thing for self-evidently they aren’t..

The issue here, as I’ve said, is whether this fella should be sacked for giving evidence to the effect that in his view, contrary to the view expressed by the plaintiff, the incidence of aids amongst the gay community will not fall if sodomy is de-criminalized or that there is no evidence that it will. For reasons I’ve given, I think he is right – the point being that gay practices, being mostly enjoyed in private, are not affected other than formally by penal legislation. Equally it is my view that aids will not increase either – but I don’t remember the fella saying that it would. If he did, then there would be an inconsistency.

However, I object strongly to his view that removing penal sanctions will demonstrate “approval” of the gay life-style. Approval by whom? The removal of the sanction is entirely neutral on the issue of approval. it would simply give expression to the understanding that it is wrong to discriminate between heterosexual and bisexual or gay people. To that extent the professor’s evidence is, I think, tainted and calculated to strike horror in those prepared to listen. It is also tainted to the extent that he is perceived as a leader of evangelical Christians – in short, because he has a demonstrable agenda.

But in the wider scheme, neither of these things are, in my view, reasons to sack him. It simply means that there are self-evident reasons to be circumspect about whatever he says as he himself must now understand. His duty as a scientist in search of truth must recognizably override his allegedly (because representing one strand only of Christian believers) Christian beliefs. He simply cannot, to be taken seriously as a scientist, be seen to be pulling himself up by his so-called Christian bootstraps.

6. @Ross. Excellent and very well balanced

7. I thought we had surpassed this issue of dedecriminalizing male on male sexual intercorse? I guess the third -world haven’t kept abreast with the new legislation on gay union as I have thought? And who cares whether or not if we decriminalized gay sex, it would decrease the HIV rates? In the United States for example: the AIDS and HIV rates are higher in the black and Hispanic communities. So one would think that the focus would be on this two add risk communities rather than the gay community?

8. Have Mercy!!
    The Ross-Amused duet is back again….reunited through homosexuality.
    Then again, it is this topic that created the bond of kinship that destroyed the most enjoyable and revealing legal BU dispute that was the relationship between these two previously……
    hmmmmmmm!….powerful stuff.

@ Amused
    What well balanced what?!?
    It is only obvious that people who have a predisposition to play in excreta will be more exposed to contracting deseases – all kind of deseases …..
    THAT IS WHY THE. BIBLE IS AGAINST IT.

People are born with a predisposition to pedophilia too…..should we also accommodate them?
    How about Kleptomaniacs?
    Cannibals?
    Vampires?

How the hell can educated, intelligent people NOT see that any predisposition to play around in shit is FLAWED……and a threat to community health…?
    …and that what we NEED to do is to find out WHY this abomination is so prevalent…..so that we can REDUCE and hopefully ELIMINATE the shiite….?

Bumba man!
    Even if wunna REALLY feel this way – at least take GP’s advice and keep it private. Consider how foolish wunna must look to an 11plus student trying to rationalize this fetish with excreta……

9. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

Sadly Prof. Bain has been fired.

This is where we are heading with the level of intolerance with the Gay lobby but I am positive that in the long run they will not prevail.

The whole notion of Gay sex being normal is the biggest joke being forced on a passive public.

10. BT……Chuckle

Are you aware of Heterosexuals indulging in acts,such as the male shoving his penis in the females rectum,are you further aware that this custom has been going on from time immemorial….long before HIV & AIDS?

Are you knowledgeable of the many species in the in the animal world other than humans that place their penis in a rectum?

I was of the opinion based on your many writings that BBE had no hand in the authorship of the “Bible”….so why are you quoting it?

11. Vincent:
    Put a list of those rectum pushing penis animals that you know or quote some approved source with a reference. I hope you are not Dompey’s cousin?

12. David:
    This is more sinister than I first saw. If this young man wins this case in Belize, it means that people can now have sex with animals out of the “order of nature” and be alright morally. Notice though there is no one to put the case for animals not giving up themselves as sexual slaves for mankind!!

13. @ Lemuel
    Vincent smart….note that he is not stating facts….just asking questions which may suggest to average brass bowls that he knows what he is talking about….

Then he tells us about ‘his opinion’ about what Bushie’s writings have been saying ….
    Bushie does just leave him at times like this….he probably ain’t get none last night….

14. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

The Medical Association of Jamaica (MAJ) has expressed disappointment over the termination of Professor Brendan Bain as the director of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART) Network.

Dr Shane Alexis, president of the MAJ, said last night that the MAJ’s discontent over the fracas between the parties involved was based on the shifting of the focus from the prevention of HIV to differences in opinions and individual agendas.

“The MAJ is disappointed that one of the pioneers in the diagnosis and treatment of HIV/AIDS is no longer leading CHART. We want to encourage everyone, all stakeholders, to focus on HIV/AIDS and not against each other,” Alexis told The Gleaner.

In a statement issued earlier yesterday, the University of the West Indies (UWI) said it had become increasingly evident that though he had a right to provide expert testimony in the manner in which he did, Bain had “lost the confidence and support of a significant sector of the community which the CHART programme is expected to reach”.

The UWI statement indicated that the issue surrounding Bain’s termination had arisen after he provided a statement in a high-profile case in Belize, in which Caleb Orozco, a gay man, has challenged the constitutionality of an 1861 law that criminalises men having sex with men (MSM).

“Many authorities familiar with the brief presented believe that Professor Bain’s testimony supported arguments for retention of the law, thereby contributing to the continued criminalisation and stigmatisation of MSM,” the UWI’s statement read.

‘DID THE RIGHT THING’

Some 35 advocacy groups, under the banner of the Caribbean Vulnerable Communities Coalition, had written to the vice-chancellor of the UWI, Professor E. Nigel Harris, to indicate that they had lost confidence in Bain as the head of CHART, following his statement in the case, submitted in 2012, and called for him to be removed.

Dr Carolyn Gomes, co-chair of the coalition, said her group was sad to see the matter reach this stage, as Bain had contributed a great deal to the fight against HIV, but they were “glad that the university did what we considered to be the right thing and corrected the conflict of interest”.

The group had argued that while Bain made it clear that his written testimony, as an expert witness in the Belize case, was his opinion and he was entitled to such, it was still in conflict with his leadership of CHART.

Bain had been the director of CHART since its inception in 2003 and, after his retirement from UWI in 2013, he was given a two-year post-retirement contract to continue in his role as director.

The weak knee university bowed to the perverts by firing Professor Bain. as the gay mafia claims another scalp…must be a proud group, targeting people who disagree with them.

LESSON TO LEARN
    YOU MUST NOT SPEAK OUT AGAINST BA LING
    THE SIN OF SPEAKING AGAINST BA LING IS WORST THAN BULLING ITSELF

THE BULLERS AND WICKERS ARE TAKING OVER in the carribbean as they are doing elsewhere

all we have to do now in barbados now is vote back in mia and jerome

15. Now let me get this right?

Professor Bain HAS been fired? For giving evidence? In a court room? Somebody please tell me I’m wrong.

16. GP

Look fella let’s get this right. There is no need to refer to gay “perverts”. The bottom line is this. It was HARRIS who fired him. Right? Then HE is the pervert – and it’s not the first time he’s sought to knife someone as a consequence of formal complaints.

His position is absurd. IF the man was on a post -retirement contract and had only one year to go of that what was the point of sullying his career profile in this way? THAT is the scandal. Oh yes, sorry I forgot. He heads the “centre of excellence”.

17. In fact David – maybe you should now scrutinize Harris.

18. “Homosexual” Animals Do Not Exist

In 1996, homosexual scientist Simon LeVay admitted that the evidence pointed to isolated acts, not to homosexuality:

Although homosexual behavior is very common in the animal world, it seems to be very uncommon that individual animals have a long-lasting predisposition to engage in such behavior to the exclusion of heterosexual activities. Thus, a homosexual orientation, if one can speak of such thing in animals, seems to be a rarity.[11]
    Despite the “homosexual” appearances of some animal behavior, this behavior does not stem from a “homosexual” instinct that is part of animal nature. Dr. Antonio Pardo, Professor of Bioethics at the University of Navarre, Spain, explains:

Properly speaking, homosexuality does not exist among animals…. For reasons of survival, the reproductive instinct among animals is always directed towards an individual of the opposite sex. Therefore, an animal can never be homosexual as such. Nevertheless, the interaction of other instincts (particularly dominance) can result in behavior that appears to be homosexual. Such behavior cannot be equated with an animal homosexuality. All it means is that animal sexual behavior encompasses aspects beyond that of reproduction.[12]

19. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

BULLERS AND WICKERS OF THE CARRIBBEAN ARE TAKING OVER
    BA LING BA LING BA LING

THE BULLERS AND WICKERS IN BARBADOS WILL BE TAKING OVER NEXT…..MIA AND JEROME AND THEIR COHORTS

BA LING BA LING BA LING

20. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

What saddens me the most is that Brendan Bain is such a quiet docile man that he is unlikely to sue UWI.

21. Ross and Georgie:
    The CHART money comes from PEPFAR. This is a fund set up by the President of the United States. A place where freedom of expression is guaranteed!! The US gay and lesbian groups run this money.

The man who could have called for Bain’s head name is William “Bill” Conn who works out of the US Embassy in Barbados. He is in charge of the PEPFAR funds.

The jokers in the Caribbean only following orders. Some one needs to tell the republican Party how government money is being used in the Caribbean to promote homosexuality!!

22. his firing was brought about. as a result of the magnitude and the. negative effect his misleading testimony can infuence people,s thinking..no reason to feel sorry sorry for him as he is well associated with people with such bigoted and opinions who wiil be quick to hire him

23. How was the firing of Bain executed? Harris or a Board?

@Ross

It is well know Harris gets confused with hos wardrobe sometimes.

24. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/pages/Experts-Report-Belize/Experts-Report-of-BRENDAN-COURTNEY-BAIN-Belize.pdf

See brendan”s report to the Belizean courrt

PEOPLE ALL YOU ARE NOW FREE TO BULL AND WICK AS YOU LIKE

ANY ONE WHO OBJECTS, WILL BE FIRED FROM THIER JOBS AND POSTS

ANTI BULLING AND ANTI WICKING SPEECH OR PROTEST WILL NOT BE TOLERATED
    THE FLOOD GATES ARE NOW OPEN
    THE LAWYERS ARE READY TO SUE YOU IF YOU EVEN WHISPER ABOUT BULLING AND WICKING SO———YOU CAN BULL AND WICK WITH GAY ABANDON!

BA LING BALING BA LING

25. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

HERE THEM AT KENSINGTON OVAL AND INDEPENDENCE SQUARE AND AT THE AUDITORIUM SINGING

LET US WICK AND BULL TOGETHER ON OUR KNEES …ON OUR KNEES
    THE BULLING LAWYERS BEHIND US AND THE BITING WICKER BEFORE US
    NO ONE CAN ALARM US
    NO ONE CAN DISARM US

BA LING BA LING
    FROM PILLAR TO POST FROM CAYMAN AND BELIZE IN THE NORTH TO GEORGETOWN IN THE SOUTH LET US TAKE OVER

26. David

Really? LOL

I’ve read the report posted by GP. It is remarkable for one thing only – it’s irrelevance to the issue raised in the Belize case other than as a means of scaremongering….in other words what I described as “objectionable” in my post of late last night.

Lemuel

No back bone.

27. Ross:
    Having read the same document, I could see why the gays mad as hell. It exposes all of their intimate practices for all to see, like sucking semen from your partner’s anus. It also cites studies from Britain, those who would know a lot about bulling, indicating the savagery of penis to anus sex and the associated diseases!!

28. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

ROSS
    IF BRENDAN WAS NOT A BORN AGAIN BELIEVER, ALL WOULD BE WELL

HERE WE A HAVE A SITUATION WHERE THE POWERS OF DARKNESS HAVE COLLIDED WITH LIGHT.
    IN THE ESCHATON, PORNEA AND PHARMEO WILL PREVAIL
    BULLING AND WICKING AND DRUGS
    IT IS COMING TO PASS BEFORE OUR VERY EYES

DONT YOU SEE, THE WAR ON DRUGS IS FAILING MISERABLY

AND THE WICKERS AND BULLERS TAKING OVER
    MOST LIKELY HARRIS IS A BULLER TOO

ONE REMEMBERS AS A STUDENT, WHEN A FELLOW STUDENT COMPLAINED TO DEAN WRAY AT MONA THAT EV ELLINGTON WANTED TO BULL HIM, THAT WRAY ASKED HIM HOW HE KNEW.

WHAT THE BOY DIDNT KNOW WAS THAT WRAY WAS A BULLER TOO. LOL
    ROSS YOU IS ONE TOO? LOL MURDER

BOY I GETTING SO MUCH FUN OUTA THIS THING

I HOPE BRENDAN SUES…………………….ON PRINCIPLE ONLY OF COURSE. LOL

HERE THEM SING ROSS

SINGING I GO ALONG LIFES WAY….WICKING AND BULLING, WICKING AND BULLING

29. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

ROSS
    THE BULLERS WILL CHIME IN USING ONE OF MY FAVORITE HYMN TUNES

HEAR THEM ROSS

WICKERS AND BULLERS ARISE AND PUT YOUR CONDOMS ON!
    BULL IN THE STRENGTH OG THE GAY RIGHTS MOVEMENT

FIGHT FIGHT GO ON

30. Bain further indicates that in every place the risk behavior of men who have sex with men does not decrease with more pharmaceuticals or other program. In short, these fellas like bulling and do not intend to stop!!

31. What the sacking of Dr. Bain shows is the strident Gay lobby. One must admire the group for this reason if nothing else.

32. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Lemuel | May 21, 2014 at 9:54 AM |
    Ross:
    Having read the same document, I could see why the gays mad as hell. It exposes all of their intimate practices for all to see, like sucking semen from your partner’s anus. It also cites studies from Britain, those who would know a lot about bulling, indicating the savagery of penis to anus sex and the associated diseases!!

I FIND THE REPORT TO BE DETAILED, WIDE RANGING COMPREHENSIVE, FACTUAL AND BALANCED

IT IS THE WORK OF A GREAT OBSERVING AND WELL READ SCHOLAR.IN THE PROFESSION OVER 30 YEARS OF AIDS RESEARCH

BRAVO BRENDAN BAIN

GO HOME RELAX WITH PAULINE AND SUE THE UWI ON PRINCIPLE

33. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

RE In short, these fellas like bulling and do not intend to stop!!
    NO ONE IS STOPPING THEM FROM BA LING
    BUT WHY CANT THEY LEAVE NON BULLERS ALONE

34. ross.don,t inderstand what kind of lawyer u are the godly dr. all but indicted himself when he stated that his testimony was one of self opinion..the justice systems ask for fact and variable statements..hearsay or self opinion are deemed unreliable and not permitted..the doctor testimony came close to both.

35. David:

They knew that could put pressure on UWI because of the source of the funds. If that was government funding Bain would still be employed. This no victory. It exposes what I have saying about the gay and lesbian agenda on BU for a long time!!

36. What does it say about academic freedom at UWI?

37. Sadly it says that academic freedom is limited. It says that he who pays the piper calls the tune. It says that we have to be willing to put more of our own money into anti HIV/AIDS programs. There is no point talking about sacrifice if we are not willing to give sacrificially of our own dollars ans our own time.

What and how much are you willing to give Georgie Porgie?

38. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

RE What and how much are you willing to give Georgie Porgie?

nothing!NOTHING AT ALL EXCEPT 15$ PER MONTH FOR THE 24/7 WILLOW CRICKET CHANNEL

WHO HAS EVER GIVEN ME ANYTHING, BESIDES MY PARENTS?

39. Georgie Porgie

Well, shut your so and so mouth and let people bull if their choose do so. Usually, the people who are the staunch opponents of the gay lifestyle are the biggest closet bullars in Barbados. Don’t worry Georgie Porgie, the closet door has swung wide open, so you can come out yaa fruitcake. I would hazard a guess that you polish your toes and get your weekly Brazilian wax?

40. Georgie Porgie

Who die and made an authority on how people should or shouldn’t live their lives. Your views on homosexuality, undermine the religious principles of free-will and self-determination.

41. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

SOME INTERESTING COMMENTS OUT OF JAMAICA ON THIS ISSUE

• MENTAL • This is dam fooolinish!!!
    So because you do not like the testimony because it does not argue for the law to be changed you chough de man unda de bus?
    dam chupidnis,…. fofool sumting dat….. eediat ting dis.
    Listen I do not care about gays, if dem want to ram til dem blue is not my business, but this action noh right!
    o

Fabian Williams •
    UWI IS A DISGRACE. IT SIDED WITH ITS HOMOSEXUAL FINANCIERS IN THE USA AND VILLIFIED A DECENT HUMAN BEING FOR SPEAKING THE TRUTH. WE NEED TO STAND UP TO CAROLYN GOMES AND HER POSSES OF EXTERNAL FINANCIERS.
    o

jayjayja •
    The power of gays is amazing .
    They have anal-ysed the situation and recognize that we are all weak.

Vaughn Tucker
    What is it with this particular sin, spirit , fornication is wrong so is stealing but this spirit is so proud it wants to be seen as respectable, christians need to stand their ground and continue to speak the truth
    o

mccormacklindel •
    Perverts are given the green light to attack all those they don’t agree with. This injustice must not be allowed to go unchallenged, all brave and decent Jamaican must rise up and defend Professor Bain.
    o

ottie
    So his opinion is valid as fact but he is being sacked for saying so.
    o

fieldgar •
    ” They say the word is spinning around, they say the world is upside down.” Nuff said.

nev roberts •
    The natural has become unnatural. The natural unnatural. An erosion and decay of the human race. Now we see why so called “christian countries” are hated around the world. We endorse and bow to filth. These countries and organizations with their leaders must stop calling upon God to help when they experience calamity, disorder, and turmoil. Mr. Bain provided the facts as they are. Any fact about any issue will fall in some group or category of people. Must that fact be dismissed because it singled you out?
    o

Paddy5 •
    Professor Brendan Bain stated a fact about the high risk of HIV between (MSM) and was sacked. It seems the gays have more rights than straight people now. When straight people voiced their opinion the gays want them to shut up, and at the same time they want to be heard. They’re getting support from people in high places why they are getting so powerful….Well! I’m not bowing to no gay pressure so they need to stay away. Period.
    o

Politico Comentator •
    It seems the homosexuals are the only ones who have rights. Dr. Bain has lost his right to speak the truth. I do not hear him asking for homosexuals to be stoned to death, all he did was to offer a factual testimony on the ills of MSM. Why seek to kill him, if this is not factual, then provide a counter argument… Dr. Bain has not lost any credibility, but UWI has. SHAME on them!
    marlon •
    This is outright rubbish ,is this what jfj stands for? We are embarking on a very dangerous journey
    o

HagleyGap
    It’s a sad day!
    o

cliffy •
    UWI IS IT THIS EASY FOR U TO STAND UP FOR GAYS N LESBIANS WHAT HAPPEN TO THOSE Of WHO DONT SUPPORT THAT LIFESTYLE WHO WHO Is GOING To STAND UP FOR US .ABSOLUTE SHAME SHAME SHAME ON YOU UWI
    o

Shirley Holness •
    So very sad and astonishing that he was Sack for his professional opinions. And to make matters worse ,it would appear that this decision was embraced and accommodated because it was requested by the Gay organization..

Andyb •
    This just shows how irrelevant UWI has become. Why would they want to stoop so low and disrespect such an esteem professor. What happened to intellectual freedom. I encourage UWI to do the right thing and give the man his job back now.
    o

David Blake •
    God is not asleep. Let the UWI et al continue to sell their souls for money, God is still in controll.
    o

bobo •
    Personally I have no issue with gays… My problem is them trying to force their lifestyle on others.. Why? It reminds of people that are doing something wrong and are try to justify what they are doing as right so they keep trying to convince others…
    o

stevevalenti23
    The management of UWI should be fired. What an utter disgrace! A Corruption of principles from the leading university in the Caribbean! The Gay Agenda has UWI in its rear pocket. Is there no one who will stand up to these cretins? Does the Gay Agenda have secrets for the Management of the UWI? How have they garnered so much corrupting influence to the point where a man can be fired for pointing to numerous studies which confirm the fact that MSMs are at greater risk of contracting HIV? What the hell UWI? Do you (Uwi) have one study which contradicts the Professor? Then why fire the man? Damn compromised cowards you are!
    o

Roderick Hewitt •
    This issue has very little to do with human rights or scientific rigor of a University Professor. Rather, its all about money! Check where UWI and the Human Rights lobby get their funds. They are projecting their economic interest that comes from global funding agencies and you can guess what is the group that is strategically influenced the UWI to act against the Prof.

chasechs •
    it is amazing how di gays dem want to have an opinion/right bout dem sexuality but when others have an opinion against theirs dem cause war over it!!!! look at this? isn’t Mr Bains rights as an individual violated with UWI’s (easily) influenced act? The man acted accordingly in a court matter of law and di gays dem want him to be removed because he gave his honest opinion on the “natural law of the land”.
    o

Trevel •
    It’s a shame that a man who expresses an opinion in a court case and states that it is HIS personal opinion & scientific fact one might add,has to lose his job due to the fact a small section within the UWI don’t agree,so now pupils will miss out on his vast knowledge ,SHAME on UWI,soon hear that they will be keeping GAY Pride parade there next !
    o

niceladyjam •
    Mark my words, gays will be forcing Christians into the closet in the near future. What was done to this gentleman is unjust and unwarranted. The church seems to be silent on the issue. God help us.
    o

chasechs •
    proof that the gays roots are sunk deep into the university’s structure.
    o

Tellditruth •
    What about freedom of speech ,idea ,opinion ? This is unjust to fire the Prof.!
    o

b4u8me2 •
    What Gomes and the others are saying is foolishness. Bain did not say he was for or against any law. He was asked for his expert opinion and he gave a honest opinion to a court of law. What was he to do – lie? Bain stated what is a fact MSM are more at risk and there are factors of health and cost to be taken into consideration. What is wrong with Bain saying that? How can Gomes and others be saying that Bain support’s a law that is discriminatory when the courts have not declared the law as being discriminatory. This the very reason why it is in court – to be determined if it violates the right to privacy and is discriminatory? Any law that is considered discriminatory by the courts will be held unconstitutional so until such times it is inappropriate for Gomes and others to be referring to the law as discriminatory. It is alleged to be so until proven so in a court of law. Bain stated what are facts and he has lost his job for it. Outright non-sense!!!
    o

JLPNP •
    This man gave his life to helping GAYS and are punished by the same.
    How can one be allowed to say their opinion on or against Politicians, gunmen, prostitutes, paedophile, rapists, robbers and all is well but NEVER DARE to utter a word against GAYS????????????
    Republican
    He did not speak Against Gays. He spoke about the ill effects of Anal sex.

CArlton Reynolds •
    This is tyranny of the minority on the one hand and genuine homophobia on the other- these people really fear the homos.
    Dr Gomes there is stigma attached to rape, murder, paedophilia, beastiality and should also be attached to homosexuality. It is a vile condition and no one should go around promoting acceptance of it. No one should preach promote hatred of those who are that way inclined, and most would not if these people were not so unashamedly brazen. Dr Gomes you should be ashamed of yourself for advocating the denial of someone’s human right in defence of a human wrong. You should leave JFJ and join J-FLAG.
    As I tax payer, I object to my government supporting the UWI, and demand that the government instruct them to reverse their cowardly decision.

Bradley nooks
    As it was in the days of lot shall it be in the time in the end. It is a disgrace when any society is driven by groups that advance an immoral agenda as the in question. The homosexual lifestyle as no value to society, it cannot advanced society in any shape or form. If anything it obliterate the human race as they cannot add to it. This is an anti God lifestyle! Every gay man and woman have a mother and father, by practicing this lifestyle they are saying is moms and dads you did make a mistake through procreation .
    Republican
    He gave a FACT based argument on the subject of Anal sex. How is that Homophobic?

Exactly.
    Okay…so we know SOME people didn’t read the report.

Joel bookal
    this is a disgrace to my country
    Shaine •
    UWI made a bias decision!! Its obvious. Such shame!!
    o

raystennett •
    When anyone speaks against adultery as abnormal and it cost to the family is that discrimination? Why when the truth about the abnormal act of homosexuality is revealed to society it’s labeled discrimination? We are closing our eyes and ears to the eminent calamity that is facing us. Enraged and driven by their selfish lust these ungodly practitioners want their satisfaction now! It is no secret that they and Jamaica will pay a heavy price for this shameful lifestyle.
    o

newschecker •
    This is quite Bainful. I guess the sacking is the reward for speaking out on those things that need to come out.
    o
    o

chalwah
    it seems like gays are the only ones in the world that have opinion ,these people try to stop entertainers from doing their trade and no one must say anything about it .
    Trevor C •
    We’ll, it goes to show that the truth will always cause offence.Fact is,all the unnatural ways of living bring diseases of all kinds and truth does not have a voice anymore. The consequences of our wicked ways are printed right on our forehead, but still too blind to accept the fact that we are our own enemy. Political leaders around the world are willing to spend more millions building more laboratories trying to find a vaccine so that the unnatural lifestyle can continue without fear of the consequences. Stand with prof. Bain all the way. May God help us.
    o

DML
    Shooting the messenger will not change the message, MSM’s are at a higher risk of getting HIV.
    UWI is suppressing knowledge to protect funding.
    o

headnuhgood •
    This is a very slippery slope and a precedence that will have far reaching effects. At the end of the day the net gain is the removal of personal responsibility on certain individuals who engage in certain activities. We also seemed to have forgotten that the professor’s viewpoint is not just limited to gays. (There are straight couples who engage in buggery too). Nothing is stopping this so-called victimized group from using protective measures during intercourse, which was the message the professor was trying to get across.
    o •
    So by telling the Truth, and providing the Facts to back it up He lost his job….Really?!!!

42. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Reinstate Prof Bain, protesters demand
    Wednesday, May 21, 2014 | 11:41 AM
    ST ANDREW Jamaica — A small group of protesters are now gathered in front of the main gate at the University of the West Indies (UWI) campus in Mona, St Andrew, demanding the reinstatement of Professor Brendan Bain.
    The group, including UWI students, is demanding that Professor Bain be reinstated as director of the Regional Co-ordinating Unit of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART) Network.
    Bain was fired by the UWI after calls from gay and human rights activists for his removal because of expert testimony he gave in a constitutional challenge brought by a gay Belizean man against that country’s criminal code in September 2010.
    “We are taking a stand for freedom of speech. We are here to mourn the death of freedom of speech on the UWI campus,” said protester Daniel Thomas, president of the Love March Movement, a youth Christian organisation for sexual purity and the family.

43. @GP

It seems commentary out of Jamaica aligns with majority sentiment on BU.

44. David

Come on…..most gay Jamaicans would say nothing very much; nor would gays here. But I’m hoping to change all that in time. One fella says he’s glad all Bain’s stuff has come out. For Christ’s sake it’s been in the public domain for yonks.

AC

I know you know your law DC despite your feeble attempt, for now it seems to me, to disguise it by the pretence of total idiocy.. I made it quite clear that I regarded his testimony irrelevant to the issue he was supposed to address.

What amazes me about you fellas – certainly GP and Lemuel – is how narrow and limited is your perception of the sexual antics of heterosexuals. Get real you fellas or read a decent sex manual – maybe even the Bible.

Well the protestors are the little goody two shoes hypocrites who label themselves evangelicals and whose motto is ‘Fags must die’ – it’s straight from Leviticus after all.

None of which is to say he should have been sacked.

45. NO MASSIVE PLANTATION AND NO DEEDS, SO NO LAND TAX OF BARBADOS, BLP DLP=no massive pizza Avatar
    NO MASSIVE PLANTATION AND NO DEEDS, SO NO LAND TAX OF BARBADOS, BLP DLP=no massive pizza

Bible say no pizza, no bullin. Ever one has to be stoned. I doan like bullin but piza i like. Doan like to be stoned and no good hemp in Bdos anyway,so no chance

46. Bulling is to be abhorred. It is total shit. We have to quell this uprising of bulling lobbyist. Some body please start a petition for anti bulling citizens to show their hate and disgust. We are the majority and enough of this shitty conduct is raising its bulling head. They want same sex unions, change of laws, adoption of children, bulling in public, public support for bulling and all other smelly conduct. They can continue to do their stinking shit in private but leave out the crusade to force acceptance on others. We will not tolerate this shite. ‘Down with bulling and wicking, up with wholesome living’

47. David

“Majority sentiment on BU” – now what is that precisely?

48. Lighthouse alias whoever you are

“Bulling in public” – what a cretin – you can’t even f…in public.

49. Mind you David……if the word ‘f…’ is a banned word, at least a wait for moderation word, why isn’t ‘bulling’?

50. @ Robert Ross
    You are behind time they are already bulling in public