Minister David Estwick

The Estimates Debate is well on the way in parliament and should logically be expected to attract robust debate given the dire straits of the local economy.  Unfortunately former Prime Minister Arthur’s assessment that debate in parliament has plummeted to a poorakey standard remains an apt description. A listen to the ongoing debate in the House  has failed to inspire faith in the BU household that the required intellectual capital and gumption cab be located in that august chamber.

On a tangential note BU understands  when the speaker abruptly interrupted MAM’s presentation yesterday Minister of Health and Leader of government business John Boyce crossed the floor and confronted MAM saying he would slap her. The speaker then asked for a recess. The Speaker was heard directing comments at the member for Christ Church South which was followed by a break. MAM continued after the break but there was no Speaker. BU invites comment about this episode which has managed to elude public scrutiny.

The other issue we invite comment is the information reaching BU that the temperamental Minister of Agriculture David Estwick did not attend the parliamentary group meeting which met to discuss the approach to the Estimates. Given his hogging of media space in recent weeks and the pending status of his UAE Proposal which is being weighted by the Prime Minister, one has to surmise that members of parliament on the government side must be sitting as one would with piles.

At a time when our country should be steely focussed on effectively and efficiently managing Barbados’ affairs we continue to be comfortable operating in a combative mode which continues to polarize Barbadians on the grave issues facing Barbados.  We all look forward to Estwick’s contribution to the debate tomorrow.

161 responses to “David Estwick: The Humph in the Estimates Debate 2014”

1. God to hear the minister of education calling for a change in the political conversation in Barbados. He stopped short of retracting his cracking heads comment.

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Well Well , @sorry
    Sir Ham = Sir Richard L. Cheltenham Phd, QC
    Sir COW= Sir C.O Williams

3. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Serenity | March 19, 2014 at 12:01 PM

Who in the PDC is qualified to even run one ministry much less the rest? We are locked to two parties. Fortunately for us the DLP will not see office again for at least 10-15 years come next general election.@

Any crook can run a nation in to the ground,Even the PDC can not do any worse. Even you can not do any worse ,You brain might be lock into the 2 party system ,The DLP may not see another term but if you looking into things , You may find that the BLP with Owen and MIA got us here ,
    If the PM , AG, MOF or the DPP did their work by law and not by ACTS to cover-up the truth , You yourself would know More , If you feel one way or another We can look to help you see better.

4. The govt has already started restructing, nothing estwick say or do now at the eleventh hour can change the course,his long winded mouthings makes good political drama that’s all

5. All fair minded Barbadians have to agree with Arthur’s presentation, if the MoF and government is constrained in its policy due to obligations to international financial institutions like IADB etc. It is about transparency and about informing Barbadians who have to make the sacrifice. Some have already.

6. The CUP’s leader is very correct about who in the PDC is qualified “to even run one ministry much less the rest”.

The fact is that with the creation of a post-TAXATION society in Barbados, this country’s political economy and services industry’s sectors will grow and develop astronomically in the long term.

Whether it is the agriculture, manufacturing, construction, energy, tourism, transport sectors etc, of this country, these business sectors will be among the major local beneficiaries of the putting in place of the types of alternative strategies and programs that will be seen by many people as part of the social political material and financial basis for Barbados’ becoming a world class society.

These strategies and programs will also be part of the type of model of development that we have planned for the turning around of Barbados, and for the setting in motion of a serious and phenomenal path of sustained development for the country.

7. The DLP will be elected next time around by a conscientious electorate, that was belittled by some here for voting its conscience the last election.

This element has exhausted its options in its efforts to casted blame where ever it deems necessary: first it was the PM who hadn’t a clue about leadership; then the financial minister had been accused of being end over his head; the West Minister System was thought to have been antiquated and outgrowth its function; the electorate was viewed as ignorant and ill – informed; and the educational system was indicted for serving the people of Barbados as well as those in the Caribbean, an inadequated education which fails to equipped those that it serves with an education that is geared towards the global vision.
    But, no mentioned had been made regarding the inability of the Barbados Labor Party (BLP), to have articulated a message capable of persuading an uninformed electorate.

8. Prodigal Son

Just so you know, as a prompt for you to chose your words with a bit more care, in sporting parlance goat stands for Greatest of All Time. Therefore, Roger “The Fed” Federer is a goat, and so to is our own Gary Sobers. There may be some in Barbados that think of Sinkler as a goat, but now armed with the information that I’ve provided, I truly believe that you are not one of them …! 🙂

9. I fail to accept the argument that the people of Barbados voted their pockets over their collective conscience.
    The truth of the matter is the (BLP) message was so poorly conceived; it failed to take root with the majority of Barbadians.

10. dompey

My God man, you ain’ got nah respect for the thousands of people dah recognize shite for what it is and refuse to find the time to condone the process ..? The result of the poll says NOTHING about “the people of Barbados” .. nothing, and the sooner this notion of “the voice of the people” or “the people have spoken” is dispensed with, the sooner commenters like yourself will take on a true sense of relevance

11. Baf,
    “Greatest of All Time” can never, never equate to the goat called Chris Sinckliar. I used the word in regards to him in the way a Bajan would mean! I make no claim to be great, just a humble law abiding citizen!

12. PDC

I most say that I admire your enthusiasm for change but who are you ? What’s your credentials? And which of experts have you sought advice from to test the validity as well as the feasibility of this new form of taxation? Question: now, perhaps, I am simple and in want of the necessary intellectual resources to comprehend your contemporary concept of government/ taxation. But I am trying to use what little brain- power I have to figure out how you’re going to able to operate a government without any form of taxation? Can you even point to one example in our modern world which remotely comes close to your concept?

13. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

dompey | March 19, 2014 at 3:23 PM@ We notice that you maybe New to what it means to tell the Truth and to have fair elections,We hope that you become more informed before making open comments, As time goes on you may learn how this Blog works,
    First of all we were able to run most or all the lawyers off this Blog after they came at PLANTATION DEEDS ,and the massive , Massive Fraud put upon the People,,
    Welcome you to the topic and this blog , stay with it and see if you mind change or will be changed,
    We Bring the truth that will may never know or heard until now, BU is the closet thing to a Free- Blog or Press that you can FIND,
    Please think before you post of can back your words , These bloggers will let you KNOW when they know you are wrong,
    PLANTATION DEEDS will answer you questions and give the best answer we have and know, If you dont know the answer we will say so.
    PDC and the CUP will Go By Law and Not By Fraud Acts like the DBLP government ,If you want to know how things will work , With another in changes , Bring out the LAW books and that is the road map.All Will be BY LAW , No fraud , Freedom of Information , all question answered when ask,
    You will know who get what and when with proof,We have nothing to hide only to expose the Massive land fraud and PONZI put on the people of Barbados, None of us want to be like the DLP nor the BLP government , In any other country they all would be hanged or jailed for life.

14. The PM is delivering a very interesting talk for the history buffs but one must question relevance to the populace at the juncture.

15. PDC

I am not in anyway shape and form trying to discourage your efforts but I am quite sure your new form of taxation will be the making of the critic wet -dream.

16. @ David
    The PM is sticking to what he knows. When he tried to address the present there were nothing but contradictions and outright untruths.

17. PDF

Are you saying that I am in want of the necessary intellectual perspicacity to comprehend the inner working of the blog? Well, I got new fuh yaa: even a child with the attention- span of a mongoose, the judgment frog and brain power of an ant, is acutely aware of what is going on the blog. It doesn’t take a whole lot of that grey matter which circulates in our chemical -soup, to know what is going on here brother.

18. David. I have not heard David speak. Will he be speaking

19. It does not seem so TMW. Sinckler is now on his feet wrapping up.

20. Enuff et al: This is a serious for the Government at this time. During the PM speech, you could see and hear the difficulties in his expressions and he keep rambling over the same statements. You is now comfortable and something is amiss.

21. The PM got up in this Parliament where they are celebrating 375 years, this hallowed place where the speaker said he was traumatised because the BLP did not attend the cocktail party a few weeks ago…………….and told bold faced lies…………yes the PM of this country lied in Parliament…..the PM said he never told any one that they would not be losing their jobs. The no layoffs, no privatisation was the main plank of their speeches day in and out.

I cannot believe that these people could be so lied!

22. Did David Estwick skip the debate because as we said on BU there is no way that he could support these estimates projecting a 1.5 billion dollar deficit?
    On the BLP side, was George Payne in the house? My problem with MP’s like Estwick and Payne is if you cannot do what is your duty, resign. Your constituents desire to be represented in Parliament.

23. Sorry for the rambling statement. I wrote “You is now comfortable and something is amiss” I meant “He is not comfortable and something is amiss”.

24. The BLP opposition’s responses were piss poor and predictable and laced with hypocrisy.

25. Listening to the contribution now by the MOF, I can only say that this man is so ghetto……. a classless liar. I can only look forward to the day when the likes of these wild boys are not in our Parliament.

Their behaviour was absolutely classless…..Pornville, the worst AG in our history and the annoying voice were the chief culprits. Even the bitter one joined in, Dwight Sunderland had to tell her that he was speaking about GDP not PE …..we know she would not understand what he was saying. The speaker should have spoken to her about stupsing and cutting her eyes at Dwight. But there again, he was still traumatised!

26. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

I just want to throw a question out on this blog for fear of being thrust into the twilight zone overnight, but is the sale of the BNOC a form of privatization?

27. DLP (formerly CBC) TV on March 19, 2014 at 5:40 PM
    I just want to throw a question out on this blog for fear of being thrust into the twilight zone overnight, but is the sale of the BNOC a form of privatization?

@ DLP

It is the BNTCL that is being considered for sale.

28. Fractured you are a real comedian!! Whether BNOC or BNTCL, the question remains: Is is privatisation?

29. During the last general election campaign great discussion took place questioning the use of NIS funds to support day to day operations of government. For the PM to therefore say that the country was stable during the election period is not accurate. To also say he did not assure that public officers will not lose their jobs is a little disingenuous. The MoF is doing a good job to expose the poor management of government funds by the former BLP BUT it continues.

30. Chris doing a good job telling the public how much financial damage the BLP dump in the laps of the taxpayers, kudos on having the vision and foresight to building a renewable energy plant ,a worthwhile imvesment

31. Sinckler using facts to show what a fraud Mia Mottley is. Look at what she did as Minister on the St. Leonard’s School project and this poor excuse of an opposition leader Mottley can talk about accountability. Only a yardfowl like Prodigal would support Mottley.
    Prodigal , listen to your former leader Owen Arthur and come off the Mottley bandwagon before its inevitable implosion.
    No Confidence in Mottley.

32. Santia Bradshaw’s business got $400 000 from Enterprise Growth Fund Ltd, I wonder how many of that money made its way into her political campaign.
    BLP hypocrites.

33. @Bajanfuhlife

When she got it?

34. @Bajanfuhlife
    Where is Estwick?

35. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Prodigal Son | March 19, 2014 at 4:51 PM
    I cannot believe that these people could be so lied!@

Why do you think We at PLANTATION DEEDS,
    Call them CROOKS, LIARS AND SCUMBAGS, its the truth and we not making jokes.
    The things is the BLP have been liars for years and now the DLP looking to catch up ,This is why we called them the DBLP GOVERNMENT. They want us to be the monkeys in the middle.

36. The salient point about Chris’ presentation is that all the poor governance and wastage which occurred in the last BLP administration was orchestrated by the same BLP MPs who are trying to get back political power.
    We would be foolish as a country to think that these selfish BLP MPs have changed their ways.

37. I pity you Dems…………..so lied……..cannot manage an economy……….you all will still say all is well when we wake up one morning and hear that the dollar has been devalued……..you will still deny it!

38. @Enuff
    I think you should tell us where is the $400 000 of taxpayer’s money that Santia Bradshaw got – Estwick will surface but ask Santia for our money, please.

39. @ Bajanfulhlie

You made a statement and I asked you under which administration she got the loan/grant under. Simple!

40. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

Chris does behave like ah common bread dog that tied

41. @ David
    “The MoF is doing a good job to expose the poor management of government funds by the former BLP BUT it continues”.

Did the Stinkliar also expose:
    Carsicott
    Seafoods Limited
    Caricargo
    Coast Guard at Oistins
    Sherbourne
    St John Polyclinic
    Houses at Coverley
    The highway expansion
    The Marina
    The over inflated cost of the houses at Valery
    The unfinished houses at Lancaster
    The unfinished houses at Constant
    ……….and the $2.5b they have borrowed and have nothing to show for it?

42. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

*breed

43. Bajan to De Dick Avatar
    Bajan to De Dick

Barbados Civil Servants who can barely spell basic English but who engage in international negotiations with JAPANESE people whose English is better. Now that’s a conundrum

44. Dompey,

Who we are?

We are a political party of persons (members and associates) that are, et al, about:

1) the fostering and promoting of the fundamental interests of the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country;

2) that are about the fostering and promoting of the fundamental interests of the commercial sectors of this country;

3) that are about the fostering and promoting of the national development of this country;

4) that are about the fostering and promoting of the deepening and widening of the nation building process of this country;

5) that are about the fostering and promoting of a culture of integrity, transparency and accountability in the public affairs of this country;

6) and that are about the bringing into existence itself of, or the giving of moral political physical support to those ideologies, philosophies, psychologies, methodologies, policies, measures, strategies and programs that are consistent with the securing and maintaining – where ever possible – of the above referred to missions.

We are a member of the Coalition of Unified Parties (CUP) of Barbados.

The Political Leader of the PDC is Mr. Mark Adamson, and the Political Leader of the CUP is Mr. Alex Mitchell.

45. Satia Bradshaw got a grant from the EGFL because her business was identified as a forex earner. The grant was given under this government.

46. Thank you David.
    So we purport to support the cultural industries, offer a grant/loan then seek to give the public the impression that said money was somehow inappropriately acquired i.e corruption. Stupse

47. David Estwick said a few weeks ago that the DLP and the DLP alone is to be blamed for the crisis this country is in. So Stinkliar can climb back in the ghetto from whence he came.

They wanted power so badly that they raked up any and everybody and gave them money to vote for them. They have the government, they got what they wanted, govern and take responsibility and stop bellyaching like babies!

Goats!

48. Barbadians can only hope Minister Estwick has a good reason why he did not attend and or contribute to the Estimates Debate so far. The House was adjourned until 2PM tomorrow, let us see.

49. Isn’t Santia a Barbadian? Barbados is not for Dems alone. If she qualified for the loan, what is your problem? If the loan is not being repaid, that will be the problem. But how come you know the lady’s business to put on BU? If you work at the Enterprise Growth Fund, it just shows how low and untrustworthy you are.

Scumbag!

But you had a problem with BU discussing the Judicial Managers revelation that Mara Thompson laundered 3.3m through the dead king’s law firm when she was office manager.

50. PDC

Thank you and good luck brother. But I only hope that your increased verbal expressiveness materialize into an impirical state of affairs. Finally, was a functional analysis done to ascertain the workability of your hypothesis?