Cabinet of Barbados

In the last six years Barbados has been consumed by an unprecedented type of polarising politics. It is a politics which has reordered national priorities. No longer are decisions made on the basis of what is important on the national front but more to do with what is politically expedient. Political pundits had warned that the 2-seat majority government which resulted from the last general election would have landed us here. A classic illustration is the government’s commitment to send home 3,000 public sector workers but because of political imperatives the national exigency has had to be sacrificed, the result; a bloated Cabinet.

Perhaps the best example of politics trumping commonsense and national interest is the 9-day topical issue –  the Estwick Affair. One member of parliament holds the trump card (theoretically) which potentially affects the balance of government in Barbados. Whereas Arthur would have fired Estwick from Cabinet a long time ago – he had bench strength in the House – Prime Minister Stuart is forced to tolerate a minister who has made it known publicly he disagrees with Cabinet; a severe break from convention.  BU referred to Estwick’s trump card as theoretical because he has developed the reputation as a bluffer.

If the country was focussed on the national priority we should be grilling Estwick about what the Ministry of Agriculture (MoA) has achieved under his stewardship since 2010. Insiders are aware it took several days of suasion to get him to accept the agriculture ministry.

In fact he was on the verge of resigning we understand. In 2010 when Estwick finally accepted the transfer to the MoA he saw reason to list his achievements as Minister of Economic Affairs. We are asking Estwick to again list his achievements as Minister of Agriculture. If we want to promote a system of meritocracy in the country then the value of our leaders must be evaluated by their achievements. Estwick has been instrumental in starting the construction of the Barbados Water Authority building and installation three tanks to store molasses at the Bridgetown port. But what is his report card? More importantly what have you done to further Dr. Estwick to further the cause of food security for Barbados? What initiatives have you implemented or have in the pipeline to reduce our humongous food import bill? Earning foreign exchange is our lifeblood and it is scary to read reports that forex has declined by 100 million in the month of January 2014.

Time to stop the silly games and accept the responsibility of managing the country. A listen to the debate in parliament yesterday should be sufficient to indicate we have an intellectual deficit affecting that august chamber.

<

p align=”justify”>Poorakey indeed!

162 responses to “To David Estwick and Cabinet, it must be about Barbados”

1. ac

Don’t trust the Arabs……………..lets stick with ones who enslaved us for nearly 300 years. Some will never learn.

2. @ac

You obviously do not have access to the local Nation newspaper? Estwicks’ proposal is all over it.

3. No david but the UAE is pivotal on how the debt can be resloved and to me that is of major importance .moreover whatever other proposals DE might state they too would have negative repercussions to houeholds.there are no two ways of getting around austerity measures

4. @ac

In case you missed it this is what is debated at the momemt.

5. @ Gutterperc
    Wait…you didn’t know before that Bushie was a clown….? It takes a clown to dissect the stupid-assed ideas that wunna so like to come and foist on Bajans….
    The real clowns are those jackasses who would fall for your fairy tale shiite…. Where your Arabian fairy god father will come riding out of the east and save Bajans with $3 billion – so that we can continue liming on our lazy asses and living like lords on other people’s money….
    That shiite only works for prostitutes…and only during their prime…and there is a reason why they are on their asses too….

All that has happened is that Fumble is an easy target, Sinckler is out of his depth …and the Estwick clan is now taking revenge for the years of snubbing – perhaps rightfully so – but Bushie don’t fall for that kinda shiite….just say so and get wunna revenge….What Arabs what?

…and as to the centuries of slavery and selling our asses to rich white people…..ALL THE MORE REASON WHY WE SHOULD ALL BE WARY OF SCHEMES SUCH AS YOURS…
    Bushie grandparents did not sacrifice and suffer so that Bushie could sell out his grandchildren like sheep to rich Arabs….due to the stupidity of political whores….

6. Bushie

Lets walk willingly into the hands of the IMF. Lets submit to their conditionalities, after all its only 10,000 people to be sent packing. Not a big deal right?

7. We walked into the IMF’s hands when we borrowed other people’s money in order to enhance our lifestyles….and were unable to pay back.
    ANY IDIOT CAN BORROW IN THE EARLY STAGES…..it is sweet in the mouth …but it comes back to burn your ass…

…what is sinister about an entity that will DEMAND that you live within your means?
    ….Wuh COMMONSENSE should have told us that….

unless we take steps to live WITHIN our national means, we are just spinning topq in mud…..and since brass bowls lack commonsense, the IMF is our best bet…

There are only TWO practical options for us….
    – reduce our standard of living to within our means…
    OR, INCREASE our national productivity to match our consumption.

What we need, …is national discipline…not more mendicancy……

8. Whoring is all some people know how to do, so anyone offering /flashing money will become very attractive to old whores who have run out of Johns. Have we any pride left?

9. Sweetheart…. Wait you went on a world cruise without Bushie or Wuh?

10. Nah I was just taking a break.

11. islandgal246

Who is the whore and who is flashing money?

12. hi, i am 24 years old , i do not consider myself half as intelligent as you all are , but i have a couple of common sense questions that i would like any of you all to answer , being that the BARBADOS
    government is a business and for it to be successful it needs to have an great economy, so question number one is what are our resources , since we cant help but borrow money , where do the funds come from to pay it off ( i know some of you will say the funds to pay it off comes from the taxes that we pay ) , with that being said to qualify for a loan one must have some form of collateral to put up as security , so what is this government putting up in return for receiving funds from the IMF, last question is how do i know that the 100 dollar in my purse is an actual 100 dollar being that we have no goal are silver to give value to our dollars, you see everyone is all about politics and who do what and you do this and what we can do to better ourselves as a nation , first the people of this wonderful country should realize that you the people vote these people in and you should hold them accountable for their own actions which will have a great impact on you the people and your generations to come , my personal opinion is that this government is not ad hearing to the constitution or its bills of rights further more some people sing the anthem and do not even understand what it means “FREEDOM” its sad to say that even with all this dialogue this problem cant be fix unless you the people of this wonderful nation say enough is enough.