Minister David Estwick

The Estimates Debate is well on the way in parliament and should logically be expected to attract robust debate given the dire straits of the local economy.  Unfortunately former Prime Minister Arthur’s assessment that debate in parliament has plummeted to a poorakey standard remains an apt description. A listen to the ongoing debate in the House  has failed to inspire faith in the BU household that the required intellectual capital and gumption cab be located in that august chamber.

On a tangential note BU understands  when the speaker abruptly interrupted MAM’s presentation yesterday Minister of Health and Leader of government business John Boyce crossed the floor and confronted MAM saying he would slap her. The speaker then asked for a recess. The Speaker was heard directing comments at the member for Christ Church South which was followed by a break. MAM continued after the break but there was no Speaker. BU invites comment about this episode which has managed to elude public scrutiny.

The other issue we invite comment is the information reaching BU that the temperamental Minister of Agriculture David Estwick did not attend the parliamentary group meeting which met to discuss the approach to the Estimates. Given his hogging of media space in recent weeks and the pending status of his UAE Proposal which is being weighted by the Prime Minister, one has to surmise that members of parliament on the government side must be sitting as one would with piles.

At a time when our country should be steely focussed on effectively and efficiently managing Barbados’ affairs we continue to be comfortable operating in a combative mode which continues to polarize Barbadians on the grave issues facing Barbados.  We all look forward to Estwick’s contribution to the debate tomorrow.

161 responses to “David Estwick: The Humph in the Estimates Debate 2014”

1. The Winds of Saint Philip Avatar
    The Winds of Saint Philip

He was down to speak at 5:10pm today but in stead he was out and about greeting people in St.Philip West from 4:30pm.

2. I am anxiously awaiting Minister Estwick’s contribution tomorrow. All Barbados will see the manner of man that he is. there is no where on this green island can he support these measures. They run counter to every proposal he made in the UAE presentation.

We shall see tomorrow. By the way, Mara Thompson could really shut her trap talking such nonsense. Someone should tell her that government is a continuance and if the DLP did not want to govern, why the hell did they thief to win the elections? Dwight Sunderland fixed her good this morning…….she in our parliament poking a Barbadian….. Dwight told her “I am talking about GDP, not PE! That was epic…..she sucked her teeth and the speaker did not say a word. This is the same Parliament that he was so traumatized because the BLP did not attend a cocktail party.

3. The broad masses and middle classes of people of Barbados must as soon as possible get up in their sufficient numbers and permanently remove the damned DLP and blasted BLP – two ramgoat political disorganizations – from the political governmental landscape of this country.

What Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure what!

As many persons as possible of these social categories must denounce the so-called Estimates debate as mainly a false and spurious charade and as one in which those persons who will substantially believe in it will be misled away from the fact that the means through which the false and fictitious numbers ( estimated, projected, realized, revised) as contained in the various so-called Estimates documents are arrived at are in truth and in fact very unscientific, unrational and speculative.

4. You must pardon my egotism into which my answer may betray me but we shall see tomorrow if the yeti still lives in Alaska.

5. The Winds of Saint Philip Avatar

The yeti has relocated to another geographical location.

6. I was listening to the estimates from yesterday and I am appalled, disappointed, angry and most of all surprised with the behaviour of certain parliamentarians from the government side who kept making asides during speeches by the opposition members without being controlled. I was wondering when all of a sudden during Mia’s speech the house was surprisingly adjourned. After commencement i heard Madam Deputy President in charge. I am asking if the above action did in fact took place the honourable member should have asked the speaker’s permission to cross the floor and also permission to slap the leader of the opposition (Laugh). I made that statement based on the Honourable speaker informing the Leader of the opposition that she should have asked the chair’s permission regarding the negative comparison of our GovCB.

The public is now privileged to see why the last PM stated that we have a poor rakey parliament.

7. Any so-called Estimates Debate in the Parliament of Barbados that does not allow many constituents of the various constituencies across the length and breadth of Barbados, to have the benefit of critiquing the means by which such numbers are arrived at, is a total sham and farce.

For, the fundamental truth is that the government hardly has INCOME so therefore it only has EXPENDITURE to the extent that it has used the borrowed incomes of the relevant others, that it has used credit transfers from the relevant financial institutions and that it has used earned incomes or payments of statutory corporations and companies that it controls.

INCOME and EXPENDITURE are only such when in the commercial affairs of this country they are being represented by actual money.

TAX proceeds are not any incomes but are THEFT proceeds.

By way of the fact that money has no identities – meaning that remunerations can NEVER represent money – means that when collections of monies are taken by security vehicles from TAX departments to the Central Bank to the relevant financial institutions, for purposes of making sure they represent transfers to government employees, or to the particular persons or businesses or others that do or that have done business with the government, at the particular banks, credit unions, implies that money is simply being transferred through the various processes at no money cost to any one – including the government.

Hence in such circumstances there is no expenditure realistically accruing to the government.

So government only has modest expenditures as explained earlier.

8. The Prime Minister, the Minister of Finance, the Opposition Leader in the House of Assembly, and all other parliamentarians are in possession and use of numbers in the so-called Estimates document of 2014-2015, that they do not know the veracity or falsity of their bringing about.

What a shame, indeed?

What Estimates Debate what!!

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | March 18, 2014 at 9:00 PM |
    “All Barbados will see the manner of man that he is. there is no where on this green island can he support these measures.”

You mean to say what manner of lapdog. Estwick will huff and puff and bark and growl as a way of putting pressure on Fumble to go through with the promise of reshuffling the cabinet in which he, Estwick, is expected to realize his ultimate ambition of becoming the MoF with possible dreams of PM.

Fumble knows Estwick’s game since he tricked the barking dog into silence in February 2013.
    Fumble promised Estwick the post of MoF if he played a major role in winning back the government to make Fumble look like a giant slayer of OSA and the BLP. But like the real mutt called Muttley he will fall for the old medal trick with the medallion of Finance tantalizingly dangled again before his very eyes this time around and vote by his silence.

Estwick’s UAE plan appears to be attracting political backing in high places like Trottie’s union and traction among ordinary folks.
    This time around, however, Fumble has every justification and feeling of confidence to seek sweet revenge of Shakespearian retribution vintage and stab Stinkliar (the coup leader of the Eager 11) in the back with more than adequate proof he has been a dismal failure in finance and economics.

Fumble is known for breaking promises why not the one of false loyalty and support for the bullshitting sweaty buffoon. Off with the head of the bigmouth gorilla and let it roll as promised; with Worrell next on the guillotine block.

But why would the BLP want to see the fall of the government at this time? The country is in serious fiscally and economic difficulties leading to all the required conditions that would soon trigger an adjustment to the currency peg.

We don’t think that destructive lying party should be let off the hook so easily leaving the BLP to carry the dirty can containing more layoffs, forced privatization and sharp increases in direct taxation including the removal of many tax breaks and shields available to the middle and high income earners under an IMF regime similar or even more harsh than those of the 1991/92 Sandi tsunami.

10. The Winds of Saint Philip Avatar

Miller
    Watch sport this week. Sinckler gine learn a cruel lesson.

11. The Winds of Saint Philip Avatar

Be off with corrupt politicians.

12. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

http://epaper.barbadostoday.bb//launch.aspx?eid=bc6d1f24-5796-463c-9882-da1cdc6a2deb
    You all better get a better understanding of how Fraud work in Barbados,
    You all must think this is a joke , distracting fools and jack ass people with Numbers, You all better look at the Land and the Plantations of today to see and learn , You all may feel better if a white man comes from another country and tell you slaves what is what.

The Plantation lands of Beatrice Henry is the Key to All things , Land, Land land, You all can keep Tony Best and other fraud reporters keep giving You All junk to read every day,You all need to save your money . Land Tax dept is fraud, Inland rev is fraud, Land Registry is Fraud, NHC, UDC also fraud,
    You all keep paying more and more and still stuck in the heavy MUD of DUM-B of Plantations of Barbados.
    MIA and Owen fraud , We will take on Any QC,judge, MP fact for facts .
    Can any of You say our words are lies? Then step forward with your FINDINGS.

13. One of the first fundamental acts of a certain future coalitional government of Barbados and of which the PDC shall be a part of will be to ABOLISH this very illogically inappropriately named agency – the Barbados Revenue Authority.

So, our very conscientious supportive message to these professionals, that Mr. Sinckler has been reported to be so sheepishly so mulishly accusing of “not paying their full share of taxes” (Daily Nation newspaper of Tuesday, March 18, 2014), is this: if you are actually not handing in many portions of your remunerations to government despite the threat of government sanction, then continue with your refusal to comply with, with your resistance to this fascist totalitarian system called TAXATION, until such a coalitional regime comes into office in this country.

For, as it stands now this Barbados Revenue Authority is yet another vulgar, despicable remuneration stealing robbing government controlling agency like the said Land Tax Department, the said so-called inland Revenue Department, the said VAT Division etc have each been over the years.

Moreover, what is so absurd and illogical about this intellectually and politically bankrupt and discredited DLP government actions of appearing to be setting up a new organization is that it will still be engaging in such criminal illegal unconstitutional activities of the downright stealing and robbing of the respective portions of the remuneration properties of persons, businesses and the relevant others in Barbados.

DEATH TO TAXATION

14. and there is the reason no one take the PDC serious. come to think of it, PDC sounds the drug you all at hitting.

15. What estimated current revenue of $ 2.49 billion what!! What tons of deception!! What loads of garbage!!

What estimated current expenditure of $3.93 billion what!! What tons of falseness!! What loads of rubbish!!

What estimated deficit of $1.4 billion what!! What tons of dishonesty!! What loads of junk!!

16. It will be interesting to hear Minister Estwick’s position on the inability of his ministry to solve the issue at Portvale sugar factory. Why is the government paying workers who go to work every day and do nothing?

17. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

David@ there was a time when there were no taxes and Barbados was still here ,A fight to reduce taxes as other fight to tax more and more , The trash men went on strike and VAT went up 2% or 2.5% . The trash men seem to come later and later ,Money dont not make all things better, When other workers ask for more money , Will VA move up again? Will each strike make by workers put more VAT on the Nation? When will it end? Must there be a WAR or none crooks at the head of government ?The more money the crooks have the more they take , The trash men was used to move up the VAT. If needed VAT for UWI would have bee a better idea. If the Children of Barbados can not go to school , then they can be a trash man , for we seem to care more about trash that school for out Children of Barbados,

18. The government is on the right track to make revenue collection more effecient bit the idea of raising taxes if there is a big collection hole makes a conundrum.

19. The Winds of Saint Philip Avatar

The government is on the right track to make sure that they completely destroy Barbados, both its society and its economy.

20. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

The Government continues to destroy and you jokers here on BU and others around the Country are slavishly taking whatever they dish out without protest. How did Bajans get so stupid.

Meanwhile on BU the blog owner says that he is not making money from this blog. The blog owner says he does not make a cent. Blogs can and do make money but if the blog owner says he makes no money well that is that

21. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

Another thing is that TAXATION can and should be Abolished.
    It is not Impossible. Taxation does not have to happen in a Country. They are stealing from the Masses thats all. Taxation is an unnecessary imposition and the thrust of any new party -third party or any opposition should be an undertaking to abolish TAXATION. It can be Done>>>>>>

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David@ TAXES , There is a BIG gap in taxes , those who is to pay and dont,, those who sell out others like Union leaders , and pimp title holders .
    None of the PLANTATION LANDS ,were moved or applied to be moved by the owners Beatrice Henry or Violet Beckles , The DBLP government move the land out of farming to make money of the returning Nationals and tourist. This fraud tax base is why now we must import food to eat and not farm the lands,
    As reported by Barbados Today on line March 11 2014 , page 7.Jean Lowry, the IICA’s representative to Barbados said more land need to go back to farming..KEY , the owners never move it from farming as those land seem to be on stand by for COW and other to make more money building on our beds of soil,
    If we remove the TAXES as much as we can , the crooks of the DBLP will have nothing to play with but them self.
    People can not be forced to pay taxes on land they gain against the law, and not gain by rules of fraud ,if taken to court and force the BANK to produce CLEAR TITLES THE BANKS AND THE LAWYER WILL LOOSE , Unless covered up by another court ruling of Judges that were lawyers before who did the same fraud, Crane Scott is one of such fraud , lawyer to judgeship .
    If Barbados had free-smart of the PRESS we would know long time ,But we dont. Nation Paper Morris Needs to full blast them for they want to make all reporter afraid to report truth ,
    BU and Barbados Today as close as we get to free Press , Even BarbadosFree Press is not so Free , that PLANTATION DEEDS had to go UNDERGROUND. To BARBADOS UNDERGROUND.
    Looking and dealing with online News on line , We know and can see why some behave the way they do.
    All cover-up sooner or later becomes uncovered and People then try to look shocked as they know long time what is going on unsaid or proven till NOW.

23. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

Estwick like jokes and Estwick is just wasting time , that is it. But he said that time longer than thwine so Estwick is really playing the footsie and hopscotch and jumping jacks. Estwick should seek leadership of the party that is what he should do and really shake up things bout here. Estwick moving too slowly , he needs to speed up to 100 miles per hour from 40 miles per hour. Lets get some action .

24. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Code Name Octopussy | March 19, 2014 at 7:41 AM | @
    Where the hell you came from ? Good to see you , Keep Blogging , You have our vote.

25. Poorakey Parliament .. ha ha ha … What the fcuk do you expect from a poorakey West Minister model, a poorakey selection process, a poorakey Fourth Estate, a poorakey educational model, a poorakey Justice System, a poorakey Trade Union movement and a poorakey people that is comfortable with the importing of Beefeaters in celebration of some poorakey shite.

26. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

The government is on the right track to destroy revenue collection you mean. The foolishness about BRA is just that bare foolishness. The people they putting in positions are some of the same theives from yesteryear who now using their connections to hold down positions so the thiefing aint gwine stop. Barbados aint want no BRA RA OR CRAY. Barbados needs to do like the USA and prosecute and lock up people regardless of who they are if they break the Law. That is what want doing, BRA my ass -waste of Time . Look how the states now lock up that Television Pitchman who got rich from talking . In Barbados anybody with a fraction of the money that that man has providing that they got money would have walked away unscathed.

So the problem in Barbados is enforcing the frigging Law not nuh BRA. The thing could have remained how it was but the Governments are too corrupt and the public officers take their cue from dem because if dem the politicians doing it , the public officers can do it do. Prosecute and lock up so people and you would see how fast it change about here. Give people incentives to collect revenue and you would see how much money they collect.

27. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

Another thing is that the Government and politicians doing it too and the public officers taking their cue from them is true and the bad examples bearing bad fruit. Imagine John Boyce looking to slap somebody, another one pull a gun or brandish a gun and yet another questioned the paternity of a child of another. These are the kinds of things going on and then yuh wonder why things are the way there are

28. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

City MP Jeffrey Bostic , Please dont be a fraud like the fraud EX MP Pat.TODD , Tell BU and Barbados how you can make a PASSIONATE PLEA to the HOUSE of crooks of Assembly on an acquisition of 3,380 of land on White park road with out contacting the owners of the land. Yes MP Bostic we at PLANTATION DEEDS, Have the deed.
    We see and know you are no lawyer and the lawyers will not let you in their fraud game, We spoke to you face to face and you have the and know the true , So dont make your self a fool and then Stand up in the House asking for what you know you can not get by law by may be by fraud, Please dont be come another TODD , That came to Violet Beckles Home Begging for land , While at the UDC Blocking her from her funds Mr Todd was nothing more than a well dress Fraud after he made MP and showed up at grave sites like the grim reaper .
    Bostic We are watching you , and you better tell your House Rats the truth . If not We will come after you with truth and you will be a one term Fraud man like TODD.

29. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David;

Yes! Improving the efficiency and widening the net of tax collection is sensible and worthwhile. Increasing taxes, even if it seems to be the easiest solution to aid in the closure of the fiscal gap, isn’t. But the Government is between a rock and a very hard face due to their phenomenal intransigence over the past 5 or so years. That will sink them.

In the meantime, Estwick cannot expect to be viewed as a man and be honestly revered by many if he again takes the stand of a mouse this week and fails to support his leaked cabinet paper with his vote on these estimates.

Will he do the manly thing? Miller and many others are certain he will not. I think that he might. remember talk of exposure of past malfeances will damage the DLP as much as an alleged malfeancer.

If Estwick strongly defends his proposal and either votes against the estimates or abstains, would it be in the BLP’s best short term political interests to allow the Government to fall? I say no. But I think that it will be in the Country’s best interests as a 5 to 1 devaluation (which is exactly where the current policies and the estimates are leading us) is really unthinkable and his plan seems to be the best bet to avoid it.

I think the very best solution is for Estwick to not only break ranks but to join the BLP. Test them to see if Mia and the others were speaking with forked tongues while praising his UAE initiative. If they were not, work with them to change the trajectory by adopting, if not the full initiative, a variant of it.

Of course, given Estwick’s history of backing down, even I wouldn’t bet that he will change now. But he might.

And therein lies the epic nature of this estimates debate and its possible denounement.

30. @Code Name Octopussy

State for the record how BU makes money or shut up.

@Are-we-there-yet

Gline Clarke mouthing that a BLP government will reemploy retrenched workers does not leave much hope if you talk government in waiting. MAM should have slapped him down long time.

31. govt on track in restructing economy while mia and party remain clueless waiting for estwick shoe to drop

32. We have said time and time again that Opposition Leader, Miss Mia Mottley, is no political substance what so ever.

Those BLP members who have been claiming to support her as well must be no political substance either.

In the Daily Nation newspaper of Tuesday, March 18, 2014, she was reported as saying, “Similarly, the Government has not yet announced an increase in vendor’s licenses so that people can go about the business of selling in the absence of a job without fear of the police harassing them and making criminals out of them for simply wanting to secure a living for their family”.

Now, who is Ms Mottley talking about? What is she talking about? Certainly if she were talking about the owners of hotels, villas, condominiums, restaurants and such like in the Hospitality sector of this country she would never have been reported as talking about anybody making criminals out of any body?

Does she feel proud making such reported statements?

For, Miss Mottley did have a role to play in making sure that there was this so-called criminalization of which she so disgustingly speaks now.

Indeed, we remember that, in 1994, she was part of the then BLP government’s thrust – and at the behest of an organization of some Swan Street Merchants – to remove vendors from what was then the Swan Street vendors mall, and furthermore to remove vendors from Fairchild Street and many other locations in the City at the time.

We recall many vendors doing legitimate businesses on the streets had their licenses revoked or not renewed.

Those merchants and some others had got their way, under the then joke BLP Administration.

Mottley’s claim about police harassment has to directed towards those who are responsible for such police behaviour – the government, as that the police can only properly and fairly enforce the relevant law under which they are expected to carry out their duties.

So, when Mottley, as well as Ms Cynthia Forde, from time to time talks down to many of those vendors when ever they meet with them in the Bridgetown environs, and talks about police harassment of vendors, especially in the context of their so-called Rubbing Shoulders exercises, she would have to be told in no uncertain terms by the PDC that she was in agreement with the actions of the Cabinet then to destroy the Swan Street Vendor Mall – a beautiful concept that soured in certain regards, yes, but which was seen by many persons to have been like the proverbial baby that was thrown out with the bathwater but recklessly deliberately so by the then BLP government.

Also, in 2005 and 2006, when the police cracked down on vendors who were also plying their businesses in the respective Bridgetown environments, Miss Mottley was also part of the BLP Cabinet that knew about and perhaps did little to stop the police from doing what they were legally doing.

For, the BLP Cabinet – and of which Miss Mottley was also a part of then – failed before, around, or just after those crackdowns to make sure that modern effective legislation governing the activities of outdoor business people in the city and elsewhere in Barbados, was brought into existence, and clearly when they had the opportunity to do so and to contribute towards taking outdoor businesses to higher levels, commercially and otherwise.

So what licenses what!!

A certain future coalitional government of Barbados and of which the PDC will be part shall make sure that the present Market and Slaughterhouses Act is repealed and modern legislation dealing with public markets, outdoor businesses, maintaining balance between outdoor businesses and indoor businesses in this country will be enacted instead; and shall make sure too that there are the bringing about of legislative regulatory environmental sanitary safety standards – where applicable – in dealing with outdoor businesses not having to have licenses to do their businesses, but having to meet those standards albeit within an environment of making sure that the streets, lanes and alleys are to be used for mainly pedestrian vehicular traffic in this country.

Miss Mottley is clearly no political substance. As well the BLP has a very bad history of talking down to vendors/outdoor businesses and of dealing with them socially politically in many parts of Barbados – the City included.

Down with the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!

33. Interesting times ahead in Bdos
    The Question remains

Who got de biggest balls

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga – Pon Top and Riding Barebacked

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ are-we-there-yet? | March 19, 2014 at 8:21 AM |

We shall see if Estwick makes a contribution to the Estimates debates.
    Today should be his day in the highest court of the Land.

Everything suggests Freundel has promised Estwick the MoF pick in his upcoming reshuffle when Parliament goes on its Easter recess.
    The present administration is clearly out of its fiscal and economic management debt by proposing tax increases at this time when so much taxes remain outstanding and, in some cases, clearly uncollectible.
    Who would be the easy targets in the upcoming tax grab? For sure the recipients of the reverse tax credit will be the first on the list to lose the remaining 50% followed by the motorists with an expected sharp increase in road taxes.

Their intemperance to any critical exposure of their fiscal incompetence is becoming more and more obvious with the recent outburst of potential abuse and violence towards the LOTO for exposing the shenanigans and foul emptiness surrounding the WTE plant.

The members of the present Cabinet would gladly surrender the reins of government to the Opposition party to deal with the pending devaluation fallout if only they could secure their pensions for those who have not yet full qualified.

35. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David; Gline Clarke’s comment was unfortunate, to say the least. But did Mia and the other BLP people agree with it or ignore it? I don’t think it rises to a verifiable clue as to what the BLP might do if they unfortunately had to take up the Government from the largely inept DLP (although I see some signs that a few of the Ministers now appear to be earning part of their pay)

36. @Are-we-there-yet

It speaks to cohesion and a communications plan which must be a high agenda item after watching this government for the last 6 years.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ jezzebel | March 19, 2014 at 8:41 AM |
    “govt on track in restructing economy ….”

You forgot a few adjectives. You need to say the ‘deceitful lying govt’.
    What do you mean by restructuring the economy ? You mean reducing the size of the public sector workforce and privatizing/outsourcing entities and functions?
    In that case the government can’t be on track but way behind in the restructuring race. Should have started since 2012.

It’s too little, too late, jezzebel. Devaluation is already in the pipeline ready to spout like a BWA burst main.

Hard ears you did not hear now hard lashes you will certainly feel from this year.
    S
    tart to dish out the “No Layoffs, No privatization” stew the miller has been cooking for you guys since December 2013.
    Not even the Maitre d’ Estwick from UAE can save your sorry asses from the clutches of the IMF who have been waiting for this moment to kick the Dr. Magoo governor off his arrogant high horse.

38. Political Power – “the ability to influence the behavior of people”
    ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_(social_and_political) )

Political Power is NOT people power, it is power over people. This is not a subtle difference, there is a monster of a void between the two concepts; the two can easily be diametrically opposed. The problem is that poorakey people continue to behave as though politicians, who btw are clear in their minds what Political Power really is, have an obligation to serve in their interest.

39. Why focus on Clarke’s statement about re-hiring public statement. Let’s go back into history when the said public servants were promised that the 8% will be returned if the Owen led party win back the government. Did the public servants get back the 8%?. Some will say that taxes were taken out, but I am stating that since any money paid to an employee, taxes will be deducted and the 8% that was withheld will be automatically subjected to any deduction. BTW, Clarke didn’t give a time frame on the re-hiring so what is the fuss.

40. millertheanunnaki wrote “Not even the Maitre d’ Estwick from UAE can save your sorry asses from the clutches of the IMF”

Are you a Bajan Miller? won’t your sorry ass be affected or you already tek yuh money an run or you got it in parked in foreign lands?

Unfortunately for me I have more assets in Barbados than in Canada so I should be worried but I am not.

41. Code Name Octopussy,

Who so ever you are, where so ever you are, you are absolutely brilliant in your blog at 7.41 am, March 19, 2014.

You are at your absolutely brilliant best there.

Believe it, there are thousands upon thousands of people in Barbados that – like you – have already realized that TAXATION is THEFT, and lots of people – although they are not as many as those who know that it is THEFT, that know that it can be ABOLISHED.

It has been said by the late John F Kennedy that you can fool some of the people all of the time, that you can fool all the people some of the time, but that you cannot fool all the people all the time.

For, these atrocious DLP and BLP factions that have – on their becoming at the helm of government – been taking turns at using this evil criminal fascist TAXATION system to continue to STEAL to ROB – imagine that?? – the relevant people, businesses and other entities of what is rightfully legally theirs – their remuneration properties – surely also cannot fool all the majority of people of Barbados all the time – that taxation is as sure as death, that it is necessary, that citizens have a duty to pay taxes, etc (about such stupid rubbish anymore).

NO!! NO!!

Indeed, a certain future coalitional government of Barbados and of which the PDC will be part shall ABOLISH Taxation in this country and shall replace it with the right strategies and programs for the Government greater and fairer accessing the money of the people and for its greater and fairer coming by greater of its own revenues and settling its own bills.

So, DEATH TO TAXATION

42. From March 19 Advocate article Tax system adjustments?

“Sinckler revealed that on an annual basis, almost $1.7 billion in personal income tax is shielded due to allowances and credits.

“That figure of $1.695 billion represents a significant sum which is shielded from the full payment of income taxes. So we take money into the system, we either forgive it up front or we take money into the system and as one person put it, we find all kind of ingenious ways to give it back and it is a matter that we must address as a country because if your regular flows of revenue are not coming in, then we have to really consider how we are doing it and we have to find ways to compensate for the losses of trade taxes at the border as we liberalise and if we agree to that then there is another range of taxes that will be taken off and the question is what is going to replace it. What is going to make up the short fall?” the minister argued.”

Can someone please translate that to Proper English?

“He therefore said that it was due to this reason that he had commissioned technical assistance from the International Monetary Fund’s fiscal affairs department to do a complete analysis of the tax system in Barbados direct and indirect “because this is a matter that has to be addressed and is a serious issue”.

Perhaps he should commission Jim Flaherty, who just resigned after eight years as Canadian Minister of Finance, who is recognized as one of the best in the world since the “global financial crisis” to provide technical assistance

“According to Sinckler, today’s economic situation is a result of many decades of challenges faced by successive governments.”

Not our fault – it is all those other administrations.

43. Let us break it out for you Due Diligence:

The government continues to be a spendthrift and to support its fiscal indiscipline it has to remove our benefits based on incentives built into our tax system over the years. The MoF wants tax reform but we the people cannot get reform to our governance and political system.

44. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Hants | March 19, 2014 at 9:48 AM

Unfortunately for me I have more assets in Barbados than in Canada so I should be worried but I am not,,,@ All you may have to worry about is if you have CLEAR TITLE TO THE LAND YOU FEEL YOU OWN , We have not yet run across anyone as yet , You maybe in the very few that did sell out their Plantation to Beatrice Henry. Good Luck

45. Plantation……..i don’t know if you answered me yet, but afterward thinking about it, i realized it was that Johnnie Ham

46. Dennis Lowe currently has the floor…thank God for the mute button.

47. Thank you Due Diligence for raising this issue. I came on to BU today to specifically raise this issue. This MOF has to be the biggest goat to ever be in charge of a country’s finances.

How can he be looking to take away seemingly all the allowances hard working Barbadians are now allowed but had no qualms giving Butch Stewart 40 years of tax exemptions?

Is this man for real? If this lying idiot does not have Barbados under an IMF program, why is he implementing an austerity program such as this for Barbadians?

He has to be a goat.

48. Well said, David. I did the same. At the end he said he has five more things to reveal, he had better ask God to spare his life……..this from an old thiefing goat!

49. Who in the PDC is qualified to even run one ministry much less the rest? We are locked to two parties. Fortunately for us the DLP will not see office again for at least 10-15 years come next general election.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | March 19, 2014 at 11:26 AM |
    “Is this man for real? If this lying idiot does not have Barbados under an IMF program, why is he implementing an austerity program such as this for Barbadians?”

The man is now the puppet identified to implement the IMF restructuring programme for the personal income tax regime similar to what pertained in 1991/92.
    Unless Fumble does a volte-face and accepts the Estwick alternative plan the removal of the existing tax concessions and breaks (e.g. home improvements/repairs, mortgage interest deductions, allowances for dependants) will disappear from the next income year.
    The only allowances most likely to remain in place will be the standard personal allowance and contributions to registered pension plans (deferred income).