Submitted by Douglas

Finally, after many years of trying, Barbados’ tourism product will have the Sandals brand attached to it. Not just one but two properties; Sandals Couples at Casuarina and soon to come, Sandals Beaches at Heywoods. This year at the World Travel Awards’ 20th Caribbean and North American Gala, Sandals Resorts International won for the 20th consecutive time the title of the “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand.” Imagine the benefits that the Barbados tourism product will derive from having the Sandals brand marketing and selling Barbados.
Internationally, the news of the opening of Sandals Couples at Casuarina and the planned opening of Sandals Beaches have not gone unnoticed but it is creating a positive stir in the travel markets. In fact, it is projected that the country will benefit from increased airlift from the UK with the opening of Sandals in Barbados. A check of the website for Sandals resorts Barbados would reveal that since accepting its first guest on November 6, 2013 the 280 room hotel is fully booked up to March 2014. This indeed is positive news for Barbados. There are also plans to quickly increase the number of restaurants at the hotel from 3 to possibly 9. Do I hear, “employment opportunities”?
This is certainly a sign that something positive is happening in Barbados. Our tourism industry has just been given a tremendous jolt that would no doubt result in growth in the sector.
Ministerial Statement (Minister of Tourism)
To read more: https://www.facebook.com/DLPBB http://www.dlpbarbados.org/site/of-sandals-and-scandals/

283 responses to “Of Sandals and Scandals”
georgi porgie
You now wake up?
You like you had one too many last night and you overslept.
ac | November 16, 2013 at 3:23 PM |
FORGET THE BLP FOR A MOMENT
ARE YOU SAYING THAT THE DLP HAS FAILED AND FLOUNDERED SINCE JANUARY BECAUSE THE GLOBAL ECONOMY IS NOT FIRING ON ALL FOUR CYLINDERS?
ARE YOU SAYING THAT THE DLP CAN ONLY BAT ON A FLAT BATTING PITCH?
Ac
Dont be a shiite-a-holic……Butch elegantly ushered in the demise of Paradise back in 1990 for bare spite and made a killing afterwards too…How you could have so much trust in the man boggles….By the way what billions has he brought?……more like since 1990 Barbados losses could amount to billions by laying good tourism real estate fallow……go ask past workers like Denis johnson….. Mind you, I have no reservations with the sandals impetus…its just I don’t trust the man…not affa how its was done
AC
“Butch elegantly ushered in the demise of Paradise back in 1990 for bare spite”
Onions
does not know what he is speaking of. Butch Stewart had no connections to Paradise Beach Hotel in 1990.
Carson C. Cadogan | November 16, 2013 at 3:26 PM |
georgi porgie
You now wake up?
You like you had one too many last night and you overslept.
NO I NEVER DRINK. NEVER I NEVER GET DRUNK LIKE MCCLEAN
CAN YOU REFUTE ANYTHING I SAY?
IS IT NOT TRUE THAT IT IS IN YOU BLOOD TO PAY AND THEN BE SCREWED.
IS IT NOT TRUE THAT IT IS IN YOU BLOOD TO PAY AND THEN EXPECT TO BE SCREWED.
IS THAT WHY YOU THINK BARBADOS SHOULD GIVE BUTCH CONCESSIONS AND THEN SCREW BARBADOS
ALL THAT WILL COME OUT OF IT IS FREE ADVERTISING TO BUTCH BUT THE BAJAN TAX PAYER WILL BE PAYING FOR IT
SURELY WE CAN CLEAN UP THE PLACE AND BUY THE ADVERTISING OURSELVES AS ANTIGUA DOES ON THE WILLOW TV CRICKET CHANNEL
old onion bags | November 16, 2013 at 3:29 PM |
Ac
Dont be a shiite-a-holic……Butch elegantly ushered in the demise of Paradise back in 1990 for bare spite and made a killing afterwards too…How you could have so much trust in the man boggles
IF YOU READ WHAT I HAVE SAID YOU WILL UNDERSTAND CA DOG AN THINKING
LETS PAY TO BE SCREWED
RUNS IN HIS BLOOD
georgi porgi
Then what is it that you like to smoke?
You under the influence of something, but then again you have unfettered access to certain drugs, I now remember that.
That is why you behave in the manner that you do.
High as a kite man.
ac said:
“cause people HATE to see the RICH begging the POOR fuh anything.”
and the poor have all rights to hate people who love to pretend they are higher up, better off and superior to the average black person in Barbados particularly when they are so vocal and transparent about hating the same black people who are responsible for helping them attain that wealth and pretensive status in the first place….
Well Well
Firing on all cylinders.
NO CARSON
I HAVE NO ACESS TO DRUGS IN THE USA
AND I AM NOT HIGH AT ALL
DONT DRINK NOR SMOKE
I AM HERE DRINKING SOME MILK
BUT IS IT NOT TRUE YOU WERE IN THE OTHER ROOM WHEN THE RENT COLLECTOR SCREWED EUSTINE DOGGIE STYLE WID YOU IN THE OTHER ROOM AFTER COLLECTING THE RENT?
IS THAT NOT THE REASON WHY IT IS ENGRAINED IN YOUR PSYCHE TO PAY AND THEN BE SCREWED?
DID YOU LEARN IT AT HOME OR IN GEORGE STREET?.
I think AC is all for Butch Stewart because she did not realize that Butch was a noun and not a verb Your sexuality aside I would bet some of those hotels are not this white face you portray but a bunch of shareholders, pension plans etc invested as part of their portfolio and wanting profits and fairness for their money. Fairmont/Hilton/Marriot to name a few If you don’t think these guys cant close up with little effect to them you are wrong..
WELL WELL
DO YOU THINK THAT BAJANS SHOULD WANT TO PAY SANDALS AND THEN BE SCREWED? LOL
I noticed all this largess (taxpayers money) was given to the hotel industry in 2009, come 2013 the bhta has the unmitigated balls to want to demand more taxpayers funding, obviously throwing more money at their dying product is not the answer, since it did not work so well in 2009 and things are even worse now. this is not the time to waste taxpayers money, sue springer needs look for a real job, so does the Dass woman, as a matter of fact so does the whole bhta including the hotel industry players, black people are known for being able to survive on very little or nothing, time for a fresh start…
georgi porgi
Then, do you sniff glue?
GP glad u asked that. HERE we have the BLP asking for a level playing field for the BHTA. HOWEVER one must remind them and the yardfowls that the ECOCNOMIC playing field avialable to the BLP was not available to the DLP having them playing on the harshest of all economic playing fields despite that the DLPhas been making a way out of now way. let the BHTA do the same.
lawson | November 16, 2013 at 3:46 PM |
RE I would bet some of those hotels are not this white face you portray but a bunch of shareholders, pension plans etc invested as part of their portfolio and wanting profits and fairness for their money. Fairmont/Hilton/Marriot to name a few If you don’t think these guys cant close up with little effect to them you are wrong..
BUT LAWSON HOW WILL THEY CLOSE, CARSON HAS TOLD US THAT HIS POLITICAL MASTERS INTEND TO SEIZE THEM FIRST?
DONT YOU GET IT?
HE IS SAYING THEY DESERVE TO BE SCREWED CAUSE THEY GAVE THE BLP THEIR MONEY [ forgetting that they also give the DLP some too}
Well Well
I have to put that on my facebook page.
Well Well I am astonished. But then again in all fairness to you , you don’t give a damn about either party or bhta or any of the pretenders..
CCC Please point out the DLP hotels other than Sandals
GP…………if you look at that list, Bajans have been paying everyone and their cousin in the hotel industry and has been for years,. AND ARE STILL BEING SCREWED. Butch is not my favorite person, partly because of his history with the paradise fiasco and partly because recently he looked way to much like the cat who swallowed all the canaries, he could not contain his smirk and he could not even face the cameras without covering his eyes, in saying that, there is no guarantee that the Almond gig will actually come off since it’s so many years away and he invested his money in Casaurina already, if he does not produce, just yank all those goodies away from him and make him pay….the Bahamas did just that to him recently with the help of the US.
Carson C. Cadogan | November 16, 2013 at 3:50 PM |
georgi porgi
Then, do you sniff glue?
NO I DONT SNIFF GLUE EITHER
DONT WORRY WITH ME. GO ASK EUSTINE WHY SHE PAID THE RENT AND LET THE RENT COLLECTOR SCREW HER TOO
ASK HER WHAT WAS SHE DRINKING AND SNIFFING AND IF THE RENT COLLECTOR HAD HER HIGH AS A KITE. LOL
I NOT VEXED WITH YOU YOU KNOW, I JUST UNDERSTAND YOUR MENTALITY.
Carson…….that is what i have been trying to say for many months, when you are not partisan you have a very different perspective about fairness, right and wrong as it pertains to the wellbeing of a country and its citizens.
Well Well. | November 16, 2013 at 3:55 PM |
OK MY FRIEND
@Well Well
Before you start typing why don’t you take a few moments to reflect on what the BHTA is saying. Let the government give the same conversions on food to the 10 all inclusive properties on the island, this is only fair. For the MOF to encourage hotels to apply for concessions using a 500 million investment requirement is disingenuous.
I AGREE WITH YOU 100% DAVID
Let the government give the same conversions on food to the 10 all inclusive properties on the island, this is only fair.
Let BU repeat, we welcome the Sandals brand to Barbados but not if it means killing the skinny goose which we still rely on to lay the golden egg.
Gp when dealing with CCC it is about expectations……..expectations of truth….now When you say to a woman I wont come in your mouth and when it happens she will jump around and curse pretend to get mad … but do you really think she thought you were telling the truth. So with CCC it is the same thing you can jump around and curse but you honestly cant believe what he is going to tell you anything that will be true, other than in his mind
Carson
……..my dates may be subject to correction but not the facts
From Barbadostravel Advisor
snip
Paradise Beach Club was probably the most luxurious resort hotel in Barbados after Sandy Lane and started operations I believe in the early 1960s. It along with two hotels in St. Lucia were being operated by the British tourism outfit – Cunard Trafalgar – which went belly-up in 1992 when its Barbados and St. Lucia properties were snapped up at the fireside sale by Jamaican businessman, Butch Stuart, the principal of the Sandals Group. Butch developed the Sandals brand in St. Lucia with the two hotels there but did nothing with the Paradise Beach property in Barbados which was derelict since 1992 (some controversy over not being allowed to make it a private beach). An American businessman tried to buy it in the late 1990s and a lengthy court battle ensued and Butch finally sold it to the people building the Four Seasons in 2005.
…..read n weep.
David……….i am always the first to light into the DLP for anytime i believe they are going left of centre, in this case i believe the bhta are trying to oneup butch stewart out of greed and envy, where is all that money they got out of the taxpayer’s coffers in 2009, a mere 4 years ago, why did they not use it to get cheaper food……why does the taxpayers have to fund everything for the hotel players, time for them to stand on their own two feet, remember, out of over 1/4 million people, a mere 13,000 work in the hotel industry, as a business person i don’t see why the other 60 thousand workers have to foot the bill for the hotels, that is a lose, lose situation if ever there was one.
Onions
The day that I have to read anything that you write and weep is the day I sign off of this planet.
I know more about Paradise Beach Hotel, Cunard, SANDALS then you would ever know in a month of Sundays.
@Well Well
Again Please do some research on why the relief was given.
Well Well you believe only 13000 peoples jobs are effected by the hotel industry
georgi porgi
I still have to find out what it is that have as high as a kite all the time.
When I hit the spot tell me.
Is it Joy juice?
Well Well
What research could he be talking about?
The billions of taxpayers money put into the Hotel sector over the years?
Do you think it is fair to allow GEORGIE PORGIE to continue this never ending rant about a fellow contributor’s mother? He continues to say he does not care which suggests that you have no control of his cconduct. I cannot once recall when you have called upon him to stop this Nelson Street tirade unbefitting of a Harrison College Graduate and a medical man to boot. he continues to speak about CC’s pedigree ; i suppose he was brought up on his parent’s plantation .
Antigua St. John’s – The government of Antigua & Barbuda is moving ahead with the proposed Beaches Project.
Finance Economy and Public Administration Minister Harold Lovell made the disclosure at a public rally in his constituency Thursday night.
The Beaches project is an initiative of hotel magnate Gordon Butch Stewart, and the government is hoping it would spur economic activity in Antigua & Barbuda.
“This Beaches Project, I want everybody to understand that we are looking at least 400 jobs,” Lovell said. “Just the other day, I heard the leader of the opposition say that he is in support of the Beaches Project, and that under his administration, if he were to be elected, that he would ensure that the project comes to being. But now that the leader of the opposition says he is for it, I want him to know that we are moving full steam ahead.”
The finance minister disclosed that the investor’s attorney was due on island on Friday to finalize the arrangements.
In another few weeks, according to Lovell, Stewart will be in Antigua to meet with the government.
Read more: http://www.caribarenaantigua.com/antigua/news/politics/105032-beaches-project-full-steam-ahead.html#ixzz2kqNDKX00
That is a good reason why we are rotting away here in Barbados, no unity of purpose.
The Antigua Beaches, The Government is on board, The opposition is on board, The Antigua Hoteliers are on board.
In Barbados we fighting like crabs in a basket led by the Barbados Labour Party.
Butch Stewart blames ‘politics’ for axing Beaches project
By Martina Johnson- Observer Media – Thursday, October 11th, 2012. Article Hits: 1029 4 Comments
googleimages.com
St. John’s Antigua- It’s official. The much-debated $140 million development of a Beaches resort – tipped to provide up to 1,000 jobs in total – has been placed on hold.
Entrepreneur Gordon “Butch” Stewart said the political squabble over the planned construction of the all-inclusive hotel, earmarked for Long Bay, has forced him to revisit the multi-million dollar project.
Speaking on OBSERVER Radio yesterday, Stewart said, “The government of the day has been very, very constructive, there’s no maybe about that. But at the same time, the project is $140 million and I don’t need to get into a political argument for that. So, for the time being, we’ll put it on hold.”
The ”political argument” to which he referred involves objections to the project by the constituency representative for the area, MP Robin Yearwood, who sits on the opposition Antigua Labour Party (ALP).
A year ago, when the project was announced, Yearwood said he was not entirely against it, but the entrepreneur had already taken up enough land in the area – 26.5 acres – in the form of Grande Pineapple Resort that was to be expanded to become Beaches.
He believed the project would affect beach access locals currently enjoy without any hindrance.
MP Yearwood was also opposed to attempts to relocate vendors in the area to allow for the expansion. He, along with several vendors, picketed the proposed expansion site last year.
Stewart said yesterday, “Long Bay is a great site. We were quite excited about (opening) Beaches, a family branch. And we were quite advanced. I was very surprised it started to become political.”
He said the monies previously set aside for the project have been used up.
“Capital doesn’t sit and wait on anybody. We certainly don’t have any earmarked money for Long Bay right now. The Beaches project, who knows for the future, I would love to do it in Antigua…we have our hands full with other projects we are doing,” the businessman said.
At the height of the resistance, Minister of Finance and Economy Harold Lovell met several times with the protesters in an effort to allay their fears but objection to the planned development continued.
Lovell trumpeted the planned venture in May last year, and in June this year suggested a national referendum might be required to ensure the project came to fruition.
He said such a project would generate jobs for a range of people in the hotel industry and in the construction field among other areas.
Efforts to reach Lovell and Yearwood were unsuccessful.
Fairplay
Don’t worry your head. I have absolutely no idea who “georgi porgi ” is talking about. Have you not noticed that I make no response? I just let the idiot rave on and on so that others can see how stupid he is.
Don’t expect DAVID to say anything, I would have to be WHITE and my name would have to be ADRIAN LOVERIDGE or one of the BHTA!!
So pay “georgi porgi ” no mind, I don’t. As I said before he suffers from delusions of grandeur.
It is so easy to yank his chain.
Looking back at submissions as early at 2006 by Carson, I am truly amazed at the length and depth of his anti-white and Jewish comments. As Carson is so close to the current ruling party, do his racism views fairly reflect the policies and doctrine of the DLP party and leadership? If they do, then we should all be concerned and if they do not, it is quite frightening that he is continued to represent his party in such a way.
With 39 per cent of the eligible electorate chosing NOT to vote in the last election and the still unanswered questions regarding the level of vote buying, I wonder how many more of our voters the DLP can alienate by supporting these mavericks.
ADRIAN LOVERIDGE
Wheel and come again.
I am a BLACK man and I make no apologies for being BLACK.
I support BLACK people and again I make no apologies for supporting BLACK people.
WHITE people support WHITE people, INDIANS support INDIANS, ORIENTALS support ORIENTALS, but eveytime a BLACK person SUPPORTS BLACK PEOPLE, he is a racist.
I cant even imagine why I am dignifying your comment with a reply.
Although I recognize that among us there are some “Oreos”.
You just told me I white wash everything ….any takers……lol I am glad to here this is not your mother as that would not be appropriate, however that duppy that you manifested hasn’t made her appearance on this page yet, but it is funny she knew right away who I was talking about.
Fairplay . . | November 16, 2013 at 4:33 PM |
YES it is fair to allow GEORGIE PORGIE to continue this never ending rant about a fellow contributor’s mother?
Do you think it is fair to allow CCC to attempt to insult me with lies, and I cant respond by telling the truth? Lol THE RENT COLLECTOR USED TO SCREW EUSTINE …..THATS A FACT!
Are not John and Darcy Boyce Harrison College Graduates? Look at the nonsense they are doing to harm Bajans..i NOT HARMING A SOUL JUST TELLING THE TRUTH. LOL
But are not you and CCC THE SAME? LOL
CCC IS NOW DENOUNCING HIS MOTHER. AND DRUNKING MCCLEAN WHO ONCE FED HIM
MUST I APOLOGISE TOO FOR HAVING PARENTS FROM THE PLANTOCRACY. LOL
I NEVER LIE ON BU OR VALUE MD………….NEVER
seems like tourism activity in Barbados has picked up in the month of November and whether or not through the efforts or non-efforts of the Tourism minister we should hope that this trend continues for the good of the country a well as for AC and CCC so that they can have a positive with which they can identify and defend.
Fairplay
See how the idiot is raving again. Going on about this fictional “EUSTINE”.
The man is completely delusional.
….and he is supposed to be an MD?
Lord help his patients!!!!!
David | September 24, 2010 at 6:43 AM |
This is indeed worrying information if* true. Adrian can you confirm?
Did the owners of the hotel receive tax dollars as relief and despite it all the hotel was closed, moreover the owners have been able to purchase a luxury boat?
@CARSON Cadogan ‘Remember one of them called “CRUSOE” said last night that the Government broke, yet the HOTELIERS still begging the BROKE government for favours.’
————
So, because I disagree with you, I am a ‘BLP operative’???
Good lord, certainly you follow well in the footsteps of the party line i.e. anyone who disagrees with the government is branded a traitor etc etc.
Sounds a bit like DICTATORSHIP, no?
And for the record, I hold no brief for a party, BLP nor DLP, I hold a brief for BARBADOS,
Something that YOU would not understand!!!!
Because you are the epitomy of the current jokers running Barbados, the cricket team etc…
Think that you just sit there and things automatically come into place.
Well, news for you.
It takes ability and talent.
Firstly,Butch is a ruffian type hotelier.The Spencer administration is amazilny similar in outlook to the DLP here.They are forecat to lose the next election and are grabbing at straws to impress the electorate.Butch is whitemailing them.The money has been spent elsewhere so you have to give me tax concessions big time.
Secondly,Antiguans are fiercely independent and will take on anybody if they think their interest is threatened.I recall when Holiday Inn opened there,they couldn’t hire anybody outside of the village where the hotel is located.
Thirdly,Adrian must know that in the race for leadership of the DLP in 2005/6 Stuart came out with some serious racist statements which I will never forget.Stuart is a downright racist and so is Clyde Mascoll for the way he repeatedly described David Thompson.All stinking dems..