Submitted by Douglas

Finally, after many years of trying, Barbados’ tourism product will have the Sandals brand attached to it. Not just one but two properties; Sandals Couples at Casuarina and soon to come, Sandals Beaches at Heywoods. This year at the World Travel Awards’ 20th Caribbean and North American Gala, Sandals Resorts International won for the 20th consecutive time the title of the “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand.” Imagine the benefits that the Barbados tourism product will derive from having the Sandals brand marketing and selling Barbados.
Internationally, the news of the opening of Sandals Couples at Casuarina and the planned opening of Sandals Beaches have not gone unnoticed but it is creating a positive stir in the travel markets. In fact, it is projected that the country will benefit from increased airlift from the UK with the opening of Sandals in Barbados. A check of the website for Sandals resorts Barbados would reveal that since accepting its first guest on November 6, 2013 the 280 room hotel is fully booked up to March 2014. This indeed is positive news for Barbados. There are also plans to quickly increase the number of restaurants at the hotel from 3 to possibly 9. Do I hear, “employment opportunities”?
This is certainly a sign that something positive is happening in Barbados. Our tourism industry has just been given a tremendous jolt that would no doubt result in growth in the sector.
Ministerial Statement (Minister of Tourism)
To read more: https://www.facebook.com/DLPBB http://www.dlpbarbados.org/site/of-sandals-and-scandals/

283 responses to “Of Sandals and Scandals”
Didn’t Butch Stewart lament in an interview that when Sandals bought Paradise it was at their early development and the time was not right? One gest the impression that the BLP was not inclined to give Sandals the concessions he wanted at that time. In the circumstance Butch turned his back on Barbados and scurried to the other islands who were trying to play catchup with Barbados tourism.
Carson, your hoping and praying for the US State Dept. to issue a travel ban against St.Lucia, for Barbados to do better in tourism, is more stupid and ridiculous than anything I have ever posted on this blog; and for your information, read the following article:
Members of the Royal Saint Lucia Police Force and French Troops wrapped up a training exchange program with an official closing ceremony at the Police Academy, in La Toc.
Security personnel from Saint Lucia and French Martinique traded places as part of the military exercise, which included the demonstration of an amphibious landing at La Toc Beach.
Commissioner of Police, Vernon Francois who lauds the work of the French Embassy deems the one-week program a success.
In August, Prime Minister Dr. Kenny Anthony revealed that the United States Government had suspended aid to the police department due concerns over 12 fatal shootings by local law enforcement.
The Minister for National Security, Victor Phillip La Corbiniere says the French government does not only provide military assistance but over the years has supported Saint Lucia in other areas such as humanitarian relief.
Both French and local officials have expressed interest in deepening cooperation between the two territories.
Security personnel received certificates of participation during the closing ceremony of the exchange program.
St. Lucian Police Officers in Martinique also participated in Martinique’s observance of Remembrance Day on November 11th.
Caribbean Lover(a little something for you)
BREAKING NEWS: Man dies after severe assault, woman hospitalised
SNO – Saturday, November 16th, 2013 at 1:12 AM
An accountant from Entrepot, Castries is now dead following a severe assault at the hands of alleged hitchhikers.
Kwaso Francois, who would have celebrated his birthday in a week’s time, succumbed to injuries at Victoria Hospital Friday night, Nov. 15 after he was discovered in the Cul de Sac/Millennium Highway area.
It is alleged that Francois gave a ride in his vehicle to two men who eventually assaulted him and a female passenger.
The female passenger was also hospitalised. Her condition is not known at this time.
It is further alleged that the attackers escaped in the vehicle after dumping the two victims.
St. Lucia News Online will update you with more information as it becomes available.
Caribbean Lover
Kindness rewarded with murder.
Sort of reminds us about the Bajan Hoteliers. BLACK BAJAN WORKERS, TAXPAYERS carrying the Hotel sector on their tired backs for decades and now we are being told by the same ungrateful Hoteliers that they have an insidious master plan to dump 13,000 HARD WORKING BLACK BAJAN HOTEL WORKER in order to cause chaos and suffering here in Barbados.
Read what the people who visit Barbados and others are saying about the washpan of concessions given to Sandals.
To be quiet honest, Murder is a problem for us all. Everyone is distressed with the wanton taking of human life and we all hope and pray that the security forces are able to capture the perpetrators and bring them to justice.
You keep trying to fool people that this about Concessions. It is not. The Bajan Hoeliers don’t want SANDALS HOTELS here in Barbados.
That is what this is about.
Unlike you, I have been privy over the years, not just now to the views of Hoteliers here in Barbados with regards to SANDALS. And it has never been complimentary.
They are doing a bang up on you but not on me. I know better.
@ Carson C. Cadogan | November 16, 2013 at 10:24 AM |
Are the comments on Tripadvisor set up and arranged by Adrian and other BLP operatives like David BU?
CCC you may think it is that the local hotels do not want sandals here…. that makes no sense at all. Isnt the owner white? , so how can they be against him. No this more about fairness…..Funny when I read what you write…… privy seems to come to my mind as well. .
Carson
What is fair for one is good for all not true?…..so why the other hotels who been hold strain with the DLP ..not laying off a fellow …full hand to the plough cannot get the same consessions…namely food n beverage?
Tell me….Is that any reason to call them BLP traitors?
Let us for a moment look at the practicality of these concessions.
Lowest room rate bookable online direct for a DOUBLE (2 persons) 22 April for 7 nights
Sandals Casuarina
US$393.60 per night
Unlimited Premium Drinks included
Gourmet Dining
All taxes and Gratuities
Round Trip Airport Transfers
Ocean 2
US$388.08 per night
ROOM ONLY
Both are ‘classified’ as a 4 star rating.
As a tour operator for 12 years, tour operator and travel agent rates normally reflect a percentage of rack rates (30 to 40 per cent lower).
Again, I have to point out IF Government had thought through the consequences of the concessions.
@Adrian
What is the room stock of Sandals? There is only such of the market it can solicit, right?
Yeap the same malcontents on trip adisor trying to sway public opinion. but listen up folks. this is what the taxpayers of barbados are saying.. WE TIRED OF CARRYING THE HEAVY LOAD. WE NEED HELP TOO .PAYING OR BILLLS AND PUTTING FOOD ON THE TABLE. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. WHO GONNA HELP WE.
Sandals Casuarina is currently 280 rooms, but that is not my point. Of course they will not be able to accommodate ALL our long stay visitors but the effect will be the same. It will drive down room rates or switch sell guests, not able to book Sandals Barbados to other Sandals properties and/or destinations.
Profitability of our existing hotels already is in question.
Drive down prices anymore and many will simply close.
@Adrian
To be clear what you are suggesting is that a potential visitor to Barbados maybe persuaded to divert to another Sandals destination if Barbados Sandals is fully booked because of a better price?
David, to a degree YES!
Our visitors are looking for value-for-money. If they do not believe that they will obtain it on Barbados, many will be tempted to other destinations and hotels where they perceive they are getting more-for-their-money.
In light of the proceeding comments how can this be about concessions?
This is about keeping SANDALS HOTELS out of Barbados!
Carson….12.16 PM
A most stupid comment……so wait why is it so hard to see from Adrian’s room rate comparison… that comparative 4 star hotels ..visa viz all …will find it hard to compete with Scandals… NOW ABLE TO OFFER LOWER RATES due to these Bds concessions…more over the possibility of potential once booked visitors to Barbados relocating to another Sandals say in JA or St.Lucia…?..unexplainable
Carson……time for the ruling government to collect all monies owed from these hotels, let bhta help them pay.
DO NOT BE FOOLED1
If SANDALS had not been given a single concessions these Hoteliers would find some silliness to castigate SANDALS.
SANDALS HOTELS will show them up.
The BHTA is full of complainers and SANDALS will get the job done without bitching and whining and teach them a lesson how it is done.
ADRIAN LOVERIDGE the perpetual pessimist with his constant complaining will be redundant.
Whatever will he do after that.
Well Well
You are right on the money.
Before they start sabotaging the country make them pay what they owe or drag their sorry asses into court and get court injunctions against them.
Pre emptive action.
Don’t wait for them to attack first.
All the government has to done is to watch who are the ring leaders and neutralize them.
Make examples out of them first.
The jokers who were at the head table with Saboteur Sue start with them.
What will happen when you finally get that major hurricane, that you have been lucky enough to avoid do you think any hotel will rebuild without concession parity. Better to take the insurance money and run. The govt may have the bhta at an advantage now, but without fairness long term who knows
The government has to tell them , “wunna want to shut down de hotels and send home 13,000 HARD WORKING BLACK BAJAN WORKERS, leh we geh wunna a han, we will start by confiscating the properties of the ones at the head table first”. To court we taking you all and get injunctions.
….Carson Trotman…. If you think that line in the sand will be drawn you are delusional. Hey if an alleged prostitute can squeeze money out of your govt what chance to they have against a gaggle of high paid barristers
Carson
I know you did not say that….an all out WAR with the # 1 revenue earners makes sense to you?…Cheewiz…what a class act…Carson this not a marble day game at the Bay Primary…Like you want to really shut down the country….
A listen to the bulldog response to this issue in parliament last set the tone doesn’t it?
re “wunna want to shut down de hotels and send home 13,000 HARD WORKING BLACK BAJAN WORKERS, leh we geh wunna a han, we will start by confiscating the properties of the ones at the head table first”. To court we taking you all and get injunctions.
YOU MUST UNDERSTAN THAT THIS TWIT IS JUST REGURGITATING THE WORDS OF HIS MASTERS
WE KNOW THAT HE IS NOT CAPABLE OF INDEPENDENT THOUGHT
BUT IT IS WRITTEN” BE SURE YOUR SIN WILL FIND YOU OUT”
IN THE SAME WAY THAT THE LIES OF THE OBAMA ADMINISTRATION HAVE BEEN DISCOVERED AND LAID BARE WITH ITS FORTH COMING CONSEQUENCES, SO TO WILL THE EVIL PLANS OF BUMBLING FUMBLE AND HIS CAST OF LIARS BE FOUND OUT.
DAY RUNS TIL NIGHT CATCHES IT AND THE LONGEST DAY HAS AN END.
MARANTHA
Ever knew when there was not a Bulldog response from that side when caught on the back foot? There is adequate time to handle this matter fairly and sincerely…..no need for the scare tactics. .By the way remember Sandi era in all this….this is getting a bit too dicey for these times….
What is missing as the BU gang has been harping all along is leadership. Instead all we continue to hear is barking and snarling week after week. We are in a sad place. It does not matter, or so it seems, what ideas are put on the table, in the prevailing climate they are bound to be ignored.
georgie porgie
Look who is on!
Mr. Delusional himself.
@ Georgie
We must still allow Carson his latitude…how else will he able to sound relevant….besides he can be “our man carson” on the front….at more fortune time.
Recall these words ” They were adamant and I was adamant”….
onions
Keep quiet.
You are one of those jokers who a lot was promised to but the voting public got in your way.
Tough.
Better believe it……and that is where ALL the troubles from way back have emanated. Just think Alexandra ….The ability to engage the parties in a direction named SOLUTION….
The hoteliers tek bajans fuh fools just like the BLP when going into the 2013 election waged an all out war on PM STUART and the party same tactis same reaction being used by the hoteliers but just like BLP the hoteleirs not gonna win. bajans are too savvy and know when they are taken for a ride.Don,t fool wunna self BLP malcontents this is not a winning strategy for 2018 wunna should steer clear if wunna want to win the 2018 election cause people HATE to see the RICH begging the POOR fuh anything.
do have an article with the concessons given to sandals that u can pload
georgi porgie
“IT IS WRITTEN” BE SURE YOUR SIN WILL FIND YOU OUT”
You quoting the Bible now? You are a real hypocrite. After the way you got on BU the other night and cuss so stink?
People like you really feel that God stupid.
AC
“this is not a winning strategy for 2018 wunna should steer clear if wunna want to win the 2018 election cause people HATE to see the RICH begging the POOR fuh anything”
WOW!!
You just hit the BLP jokers and their operatives on the BHTA right out of the ball park.
the RICH begging the POOR, love it.
Remember one of them called “CRUSOE” said last night that the Government broke, yet the HOTELIERS still begging the BROKE government for favours.
Go figure.
Here is a simple question … if you ask 13000 hard working black bajan workers if the hotels that have been here all along should be treated the same as Sandals what would there answer be. That should be your govts guide .
AC
See how stupid they are?
Five stars for that one.
Lawson
Hush.
don’t try to white wash anything.
It is not working.
CCC don’t let the truth get in the way of a good rant you know what they would say , now who is gunna wunna win an election when the prize is in a death spiral better to lose and wax about how it used to be then you can look wise. Whats with this white washing I could be doing my colors. .
Who forgot to screw down that lid I see your duppy is out backing you up again
“My advice to you is to speak of things that you know of such as the huge case load of unsolved murders in St. Lucia which has St. Lucians crying out for justice and the Police corruption in St. Lucia….”
———————————————————————————————-
Carson, you are already doing a mighty fine job speaking of these things; so it wouldn’t make much sense for me to do the same; so I’ll stick to pointing out you hypocrisy instead.
This duppy gonna tell wunna sumthing else too. Wunna could count Butch concessions all wunna want figers toes and inside palms and lines on wunna feet if necessary BUT THE FACT IS that BUTCH brought billions of dollars to the table whileover the past year the Hoteliers took billions of dollars from the table in taxpayers handouts .there is this myth that the hoteliers delivered if true .WHY NOT NOW .Why inist on govt help. BUTCH is a proven product. THE BHTA with few exceptions still have to prove.
Lawson
It is not our fault that the Hoteliers sunk all their money into the Barbados Labour Party Feb. 2013 election campaign hoping for a big return on “their investment” and the Barbados Labour Party was voted back onto the opposition benches.
RE Carson C. Cadogan | November 16, 2013 at 2:17 PM |
georgi porgie
“IT IS WRITTEN” BE SURE YOUR SIN WILL FIND YOU OUT”
You quoting the Bible now? You are a real hypocrite. After the way you got on BU the other night and cuss so stink?
People like you really feel that God stupid.
I DIDNT GET ON BU AND CUSS STINK
WHAT I SAID ON BU WAS THAT YOUR MOTHER EUSTINE HORNED HER DRUNKING TAXI DRIVER HUSBAND, AND THAT I KNOW WHO WAS SCREWING HER IN THE TURNING AND IN ST GEORGE AND IN YOUR HOME WITH YOUIN THE OTHER ROOM
THAT IS NOT CUSSING STINK THAT IS TELLING BU ABOUT YOUR PEDIGREE.
NOW WHAT I WILL SAY NOW IS THAT YOU ARE A PRODUCT OF THIS ILK AND DISPLAYING THE THOUGHT PROCESS ON BU
THE RENT MAN AND LANDLORD USED TO SCREW EUSTINE AFTER HE COLLECTED THE RENT THAT MCCLEAN GAVE HER TO PAY UP.
SAME WAY YOU EXPECT BUTCH TO SCREW BARBADOS AFTER THEY GIVE HIM THE CONCESSIONS.
NOTHING HAS CHANGED. IT IS IN YOU BLOOD TO PAY AND THEN BE SCREWED. I UNDERSTAND.
NOW YOU CAN SAY I CUSS STINK I DONT CARE BECAUSE I AM TELLING THE TRUTH
OBAMA LIED AND IT CAME TO LIGHT AND THERE WILL BE CONSEQUENCES
YOU AND THE PUTRID PUSTULAR DLP LIED TO THE ELECTORATE SINCE 2008 AND YOU WILL PAY THE CONSEQUENCES
I REPEAT “IT IS WRITTEN” BE SURE YOUR SIN WILL FIND YOU OUT”.
CCC I swear to god I believe you are ambidextrous, but as a courtesy I will treat AC as if she isn’t your other hand. I aint seen no billions yet not anything for that matter other than govt money. Your mired in this DLP =
BLP thing start to think straight or we will send Rob Ford to straighten you out.
Lawson
My advice to your Hoteliers, ask back for your money from the Barbados Labour Party. They took your money under false pretenses. They promised you thay they would win the government and it would be milk and honey for you Hoteliers. They did not deliver so therefore you have a case for a refund of your coppers which you sunk into their Feb. 2013 election campaign. You can then use that money to run your hotels.
Simple, it is not fair to be harassing the government as though it owes you all something.
It is the Barbados Labour Party that you should be harassing.
They took your money which you willingly gave them and then didn’t deliver.
The STUART Administration got this rht. for over the years the only thing that kept the HOTEL INDUSTRY alive was a global economy firing on all four cylinders. nutting that the BLP or the BHTA did that was great or exceptional in bringing the TOURIST here. Now the coin has FLIP and exposed on the otherside are a bunch of hotel lackies who squander and did nothing in terms of progress now unable to stand on their own feet .