Submitted by Douglas
Sandals Barbados

Finally, after many years of trying, Barbados’ tourism product will have the Sandals brand attached to it. Not just one but two properties; Sandals Couples at Casuarina and soon to come, Sandals Beaches at Heywoods. This year at the World Travel Awards’ 20th Caribbean and North American Gala, Sandals Resorts International won for the 20th consecutive time the title of the “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand.” Imagine the benefits that the Barbados tourism product will derive from having the Sandals brand marketing and selling Barbados.

Internationally, the news of the opening of Sandals Couples at Casuarina and the planned opening of Sandals Beaches have not gone unnoticed but it is creating a positive stir in the travel markets. In fact, it is projected that the country will benefit from increased airlift from the UK with the opening of Sandals in Barbados. A check of the website for Sandals resorts Barbados would reveal that since accepting its first guest on November 6, 2013 the 280 room hotel is fully booked up to March 2014. This indeed is positive news for Barbados. There are also plans to quickly increase the number of restaurants at the hotel from 3 to possibly 9. Do I hear, “employment opportunities”?

This is certainly a sign that something positive is happening in Barbados. Our tourism industry has just been given a tremendous jolt that would no doubt result in growth in the sector.

Ministerial Statement (Minister of Tourism)

To read more: https://www.facebook.com/DLPBB http://www.dlpbarbados.org/site/of-sandals-and-scandals/

283 responses to “Of Sandals and Scandals”

1. @ac

The people who have to be happy is not people like you but those in the sector who are employing their capital.

2. Seems the we are so pathetic that we would be glad to see the Devil self invest here….as long as we get a small piece of the action with minimum inputs….
    …probably the graduate in every house approach….

3. Polly wants a Pit Bull Avatar
    Polly wants a Pit Bull

Must evrything you vent be so political.Anyone who offers an opinion is anti government if it is not coming from your hymn book. Sad indeed.

4. “SHUT DOWN BHTA: MASSIVE LAY OFFS IMMINENT IF HOTELS NOT GIVEN SIMILAR SANDALS CONCESSIONS”,

“The hotel sector is facing a shutdown, resulting in an estimated 13,000 employees going home!”

Executive vice-president of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association, Sue Springer, warned this morning that such would happen if Government failed to grant to the rest of the industry the same list of tax concessions it has given to Sandals.”

“Surrounded by nearly a dozen hotel bosses, Springer told a news conference at the BHTA’s Belleville, St. Michael office this morning that the sector would not be able to survive much longer on what she described as an uneven playing field. She said it would be impossible for the other hotels, particularly the ten other all-inclusive properties, small hotels and restaurants to compete with Sandals which already has greater economies of scale. She told reporters the key area of concern was the food and beverage and alcohol tax concession which Sandals was granted.

The BHTA executive vice-president noted that Sandals, which recently acquired Almond Casuarina and will manage Almond Beach Village, was granted this relief for which the association has been lobbying for several years now.”

“The BHTA,” she continued, “is currently in discussion with the Minister of Tourism regarding this amendment, together with the updating of the core of the act. Provided the additional items are added in a timely manner, this will assist all aspects of the industry – not only hotels, but villas, restaurants, and attractions.”

“She noted too that the association was awaiting a response to a request for a meeting with the minister to discuss the food and beverage tax relief in particular.”

“The food and beverage concession was offered, with immediate effect, to all investments with $500million or greater.”

“It is interesting to note that to date, Sandals Resort International (SRI), has only invested $100million to purchase Casuarina Resort. The $500million that is required to purchase and develop Almond Beach Village is technically money that is being sourced by Government, and ultimately it’s the tax payers of Barbados that will be paying for this development initially, and not SRI.”

Well, well, well!

This sweetheart deal is much sweeter than I thought!

The ministers of Finance, and Tourism conspired to give Sandals this deal while leaving all other hotels, restaurants, villas, etc. out in the cold!

They have made sure that they include Sandy Lane and Royal Westmoreland by offering the food and beverage deal for investments over $500million.

How many hotels, restaurants, villas, etc, have invested half a billion dollars in their plant?

That is ludicrous!

How clever Messrs Sinckler and Sealy!

This is the epitome of disparagement!

I totally agree with the BHTA for the stance it is taking on this issue!

Mrs. Springer, the Minister of Tourism is probably seeking some kind of excuse he can give you on that issue, before giving you an audience!

We are all very familiar with the machinations of the Minister of Finance!

He is not happy unless he is putting more burden on the tax payers of this country, and is using his power to put his fingers in the till of the NIS Pensions Funds – which are due to run out in 2019 – now that he has his buddy as head of that department.

Minister Sealy, pray tell me what excuse you will dream up now!

We have been bombarded with untruth after untruth since your sweetheart deal with “Butch” Stewart!

I can now see why you did not give it to Paul Doyle of Crane Resort and Residences!

He is au fait with the economic situation in Barbados, and probably tailored his application to suit and did not include too many waivers, but was given the cold shoulder for his love of this country!

The Minister of Tourism’s motto seems to be: the untruth, the whole untruth, and nothing but the untruth!

He thinks that we – and especially the hardworking tax payers of this country – are dumb, and now he has been backed into a corner by the BHTA, because other hotels want the same sweets as “Butch” Stewart is getting!

What utter folly, Mr. Minister!

You should go to the head of the class!

Where ignorance is bliss, tis folly to be wise!

These are the same people who are running around giving pretty speeches to other people, but do not have one iota of integrity, and lack all morale!

No wonder many of our young people are going down the wrong road!

You are not practising what you preach!

Everything must be more covert than at MI5 and the CIA combined!

I also have a problem with the silence of the BLP – except when they are in Parliament – on this matter!

Not enough is being heard from the shadow minister of tourism at all!

It seems as if she is afraid of taking the fight to the DLP!

This country needs leaders, and not puppets!

They do not have US$30million for a hotel project at UWI Cave Hill Campus, but have half of a billion dollars to give to Sandals!

They do not have money for the QEH – the only public hospital on which the poor, the needy, and the vulnerable especially depend – but have half of billion dollars for Sandals!

They do not have any money to give free education to the scions of the poor, the needy, and the vulnerable at the UWI Cave Hill Campus, but they have half of a billion dollars to give to Sandals!

They do not have any money for the poor, the needy and the vulnerable who depend on the annual $1300 to clothe their progeny, and feed them, so they cut the amount to $650!

However, they have half of a billion dollars to give to Sandals!

5. Tell them Carson…..LOL!!!

6. Polly wants a Pit Bull Avatar
    Polly wants a Pit Bull

So are they saying Butch Stuart can so easily destroy Barbados’ tourist industry ? Now that is a dangerous senario but oh so true. Your plan would give him too much clout eager Bajans, better beware !

7. David | November 15, 2013 at 12:10 PM |
    VERY GOOD POST
    SOON WE WILL GET THE EFFLUX FROM CA DOG ON THE DLP PIMP AND BOTTOM FEEDER WHO WILL TRY TO DEFEND THE INDEFENSIBLE

Bush Tea | November 15, 2013 at 11:29 AM |
    GREAT POST SIR

8. @ Adrian….Please do not for one minute think that I have failed to recognize the tremendous disparity created by the magnitude of these concessions.The BHTA is trying and rightfully so to make government level the playing field.All I am saying is that the approach may well incense an otherwise receptive public.Your first stance is better suited last.

9. Unfortunately the chip on CCC’s shoulders makes him unable to see the sign after sign along the coast advertising properties for sale.

If a business is not making money it has to cut costs and the largest marginal cost is….wages.

Like DUH!!!

I was going to ask the goodly Doctor GP to repair the chip on yuh shoulders, unfortunately it looks like it is too far gone.

Obviously more like a sinkhole than a chip.

And ac jumping an screaming….whuh gosh, party line wine yuh waist nuh…and frothing at the mouth…

Woe betide the ‘wealthy hoteliers’ (sic).

NOW you understand why there is no investment, with such an attitude?

Only a madman would invest in such a hateful environment.

Dang….yuh go tuh be chuppid not tuh see it

Nah worry though, yuh Minister got he cudgel out awready tuh ‘crack some heads’.

10. GOVT MUST BE STRONG and not waiver in the face of these STRONG ARM TACTICS designed and compose to further destry. no man is an island unto itself and the same appliesto business who threatens an economy. for ac this is personnal as it is an all out assualt on the livelihoods of people. HOW disgraceful. WE as a people should not welcomed and embraced Those kind of threats but should band together and use whatever little financial resources to push back and not to be used as a stomping ground for who ever

11. Nuhbody in the DLP hate nobody all that is being asked in this hostile economic envirioment that every individual pull their wieght. The pubiuc have been asked to do there share so far with payment in medicine which used to be free or low cost. the students have to pay some tuition fees. NOw come lackies in the hotel industry using threats. Wuh damn can.t they help pull the wagon too. THe poor pulling it for a long time.Even now the govt help them financially so they would be limited lay off

12. In August 2009, Sandals announced with great fanfare it plans to invest in the Emerald Bay Resort on Great Exuma, Bahamas.

See Jamaica Gleaner article “Sandals plans US$12m upgrade to newly acquired Bahamas resort” at:

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20090826/business/business7.html

Includes:

Sandals is prohibited from disclosing the purchase price by a nondisclosure agreement, but Adam Stewart said the original developers invested more than US$300 million in the property, which first opened in 2003 and includes 183 suites, an 18-hole golf course designed by Greg Norman and a 133-slip marina.

“We are acquiring one of the most spectacular pieces of real estate in the Caribbean,” he said.

Can’t disclose financial details due to nondisclosure agreement.

No doubt Butch’s New York attorneys have ensured the financial details of the Barbados deals are covered by a nondisclosure agreement; so do not expect any real disclosure from GOB.

This is from the Barbados page in Sandals’ website at
    http://www.sandals.com/main/barbados/bd-home.cfm

“I strongly believe that we have acquired one of the most beautiful properties in the entire island and we cannot wait to bring the full Luxury Included® experience here. We have been voted the world’s best time and time again and have more luxury inclusions than other resort on the planet and we promise to give the people of Barbados a resort to be proud of.” 
All that’s Good,
    Gordon “Butch” Stewart

In October 2012, the Gleaner carried an article titled “Sandals Asks Bahamas Gov’t For Help On Struggling Exuma Resort” at:

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20121003/business/business3.html

Includes:
    Sandals Resort International (SRI) hotel group chain has invited the Perry
    Christie government in The Bahamas to assist with solutions to high costs faced by its Emerald Bay hotel in Exuma, to prevent the closure of the unprofitable resort.

On Friday, Sandals issued a statement which indicated that 600 jobs might be lost unless the government took action.

“It is a fact that the hotel is facing severe difficulty in continuing operations at Emerald Bay because of the multitude of high costs associated with operating from the family islands of The Bahamas. Some of these costs could never have been anticipated and make the Emerald Bay resort unlike any other we operate,” the release said.

“The cost to operate the facility is proving to be unsustainable with the highest utility costs we face as a hotel chain, limited airlifts to the island, the continuing need to subsidise airlifts, high fuel and transportation costs, added to a series of costs associated with overcoming the limited pool of trained professionals on the island…,” said SRI.
    “The difficulties we are facing can be solved with a determined resolve and a prompt and creative approach to ensure sustainability,” the release stated without going into the hotel’s financial position.

“We are by no means seeking a bailout. What we have done is to put the situation squarely to the government and asked them to investigate ways in which they can work with us to bring some respite to the impossible economic environment we are facing in the family island,” it said.

Does this sound familiar?

The multitude of high costs associated with operating.
    We need subsidies to protect jobs.
    For Barbados substitute: What we have done is to put the situation squarely to the government and asked them to investigate ways in which they can work with us to bring the Sandals brand to Barbados to bring some respite to the impossible economic environment in which Barbados finds itself.

Stay tuned; Butch or Adam will be back to GOB with more requests (by no means seeking a bailout) in three to four years.

But. that will be up to the next administration to deal with.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

It is significant that Sue Springer made the threats to cause Mayhem and mass suffering in Barbados.

She is a dye in the wool BLP operative.

Two things at play here .

First there a elements in the BHTA who don’t want to see SANDALS HOTELS operating in Barbados no matter what. Second this is a bold face attempt by Sue Springer and kind to overthrow the Democratic Labour Party Government. We all remember that many Hoteliers sunk millions of dollars into the Feb. 2013 election campaign of the Barbados Labor Party. The wise people of Barbados prevented the Barbados Labour Party from returning to office. Hence the Hoteliers were not able to recoup their investment in the Barbados Labour Party. So they figure now that if they can bring down the government and have the BLP installed they would get back their investments.

The Hoteliers do not have the trump cards, the government does. THEY ARE ALL INDEBETED TO THE GOVERNMENT.

As soon as Sue and her gang of saboteurs start their foolishness sink their boat.

CALL IN EVERY SINGLE DEBT THAT THEY OWE.

Give us the opportunity to sit in our homes in front of our TV and watch the Marshalls skin them out of their property which they owe the government for.

If they are going to shut down the properties don’t give them the opportunity to sell them confiscate them.

Let a lot of them wind up in the Mental Hospital like many of the 13,00 BLACK HARD WORKING BAJANS they propose to dump.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I am challenging sue to bring it on!!!!!!!

Let us see what you have in you sister sue, we waiting.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

should read “13,000”

16. This from January 23, 2013 Miami Herald Americas at

http://www.miamiherald.com/2013/01/23/3197252/us-helps-turks-and-caicos-recoup.html

US helps Turks and Caicos recoup millions from Sandals Resort

In a deal that the U.S. helped craft, luxury tourism brand Sandals Resort International agrees to pay $12 million to Turks and Caicos government.
    BY JACQUELINE CHARLES
    JCHARLES@MIAMIHERALD.COM

The involvement of U.S. law enforcement officials in an ongoing probe into government corruption in the Turks and Caicos Islands has helped that government recoup $12 million from one of the Caribbean’s most well-known luxury resort companies — Sandals Resort.

The company, which is run by Jamaican businessman Gordon “Butch” Stewart and carries the Beaches Resort & Spa brand, reached the agreement with the Turks and Caicos government and British special prosecutors probing corruption allegations in the tiny island chain.

A statement issued Wednesday on behalf of the Special Investigation Prosecution Team (SIPT) said the payout was the result of the “extraordinary and unique” involvement of U.S. authorities who voluntarily released evidence.

It also noted that the agreement involves no admission of liability and does not prevent the prosecution of any Sandals officials in relation to the ongoing criminal probe. The U.S. is among several jurisdictions that have provided investigators with help.

No other details were provided. A former senior Sandals employee has been linked to transactions involving former Turks and Caicos officials , currently under investigation, and in 2011, Sandals lawyer Dimitri Singh was quoted in the press as saying the company was voluntarily cooperating with the probe. The company’s spokespeople did not respond to requests for comment.

So far, 13 people, including developers and former Turks and Caicos government ministers, have been indicted on corruption-related charges. Earlier this month, British officials said they were starting extradition proceedings for the island’s former premier, Michael Misick, from Brazil where he was arrested in December on an international arrest warrant.“

Corruption in a tiny island. Never in Barbados!!!!!!

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

There is so much hatred from Hoteliers in Barbados towards SANDALS HOTELS I am hoping that SANDALS will think twice before joining the BHTA as a member.

There is too much ill will from that organization towards Butch Stewart.

18. Carson……….now do you and the DLP/BLP see how destructive it has become to DEPEND solely on business from minorities and the tourism sector for the survival of the majority on the island???………..you have a few minorities attempting and threatening to hold over 260,000 people to ransom, time for the black government(s) of Barbados to grow some balls, and finally allow the majority to control their own destiny as it regards businesses for their own survival, it’s time to stop kowtowing to a few self-serving nuisances, let them learn to survive unaided by the majority population, it has been years that some of us saw this very problem in the making. Treat this as a lesson learned and see it does not ever happen again.

19. If the bhta is an organization that combines there bargaining power to get better leverage to buy in bulk like food,linens alcohol etc or co-ordinate strategies like caricom why on earth would he. Forget mecca they should be on there hands and knees bowing towards, Mr Stewarts house because I don’t think even god could have cut a better deal.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | November 15, 2013 at 2:29 PM |
    “CALL IN EVERY SINGLE DEBT THAT THEY OWE”

How are you going to achieve that? You need to get a Court order to execute such action; or are you seeing Barbados becoming a lawless banana republic?

We can just imagine Al Barrack ‘calling in”, the UWI “calling in”, the creditors of the QEH Transport Board, NHC and others “calling in”.
    The Government owes to others more than it is owed.

Can you imagine the overseas lenders and creditors making such a demand on Barbados? Now shut your trap and try (albeit impossible) to think rationally and objectively.
    The IMF are the bailiffs and administrators of the international lenders (including the IADB) and Barbados is on their list awaiting the smoke signal from S&P et al.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

You are repeating what I have said for many years.

And I am also saying that this economic downturn is the perfect opportunity to right some wrongs.

The government must not waiver. The Hoteliers only believe that they have ACES. But they do not. That is why I would enjoy watching this thing come to a head. The Hoteliers are biting off more than they can chew..

22. The government will always lose a battle with the BHTA if it maintains a hostile posture. Remember this is the #1 forex earner. It was in 1991 when a similar environment caused 70 million forex to disappear from Barbados overnight.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | November 15, 2013 at 3:19 PM |
    “.. And I am also saying that this economic downturn is the perfect opportunity to right some wrongs.”

What righting of wrongs? Exchanging one set of white masters for another set of white masters?
    When are you stupid blacks going to take your economic destiny in your own hands instead of practising another form of “paro” economics?

Just look at the state of the only real reliable industry in Barbados, that is agriculture and fishing, and you would see the real state of the intellectual, moral and economic performance of the country once called sweet Babadus!

24. Carson C. Cadogan | November 15, 2013 at 11:12 AM |
    They want Barbados with its tired Hotel plant to remain a closed incestuous Hotel industry.
    …………………………………………………
    Cannot be that incestuous. Look at the names of the big players who want to shut down Barbados tourist industry? God help up if we in Barbados, blindly follow others in the Caribbean and hawk citizenship to people who have a bit of cash. Then they will do like that chap in Red Square ,Moscow….nail our balls to the ground.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

As I said and you obviously was not reading, lightning does not strike the same place twice.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The government MUST MAINTAIN a firm position with this jennyass.

27. Oh yes , it does !

28. This Cadogan fella programmed? Geeez

29. The MOFseems to be saying that any hotel property in Barbados can qualify for the same concessions as SRI BUT if we listen to Sue Springer and the BHTA none of the 10 all inclusive properties in Barbados qualify for the concessions.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If I had to believe saboteur sue or the Minister of Tourism , I would believe the Minister all day long.

31. @Adrian

Can you give feedback on when the MOF says that 95% of the concessions the BHTA is asking for they already have?

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 15, 2013 at 6:37 PM |

Have the criteria to meet the qualification barrier been spelled out in transparent terms? There is some mention of investment of $500 million but this would disqualify Sandals Casuarina accessing the concessions outside those already available under the tourism development pieces of legislation.

What is so wrong with the MoF & MoT amending the Tourism Development Act to include those special concessions on food and drink made available only to Sandals which has certainly not invested $500 million?
    I do not support the granting of concessions on food and drinks to restaurants and other catering establishments outside the hotel circuit. Those ‘non-inclusive’ hotels should also enjoy the facility to ease cash flow and reduce operating costs. However, the reduced input costs should be reflected in the prices of those goods and services only supplied to foreign visitors registered as guests of the hotels.

BTW, does any one know is Sandals Casuarina guests will be required to pay VAT on good and services consumed on the Casuarina property?

33. @Miller

Agree that some demystification is required. If the qualification is USD500,000 then SRI does not qualify because from all reports they have invested USD100 million in Casaurina but it will be taxpayers investing USD400 million in Almond. In parliament the MOT was very clear that properties wanting to avail of the concessions under the relevant two laws have to do so separately.

How are the 10 all inclusive properties in Barbados expected to compete with Sandals given the concessions who is apparently already in the market discounting at 40%? What about the non all inclusive properties?

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Saboteur sue is not a force to be reckoned with.

35. Carson Cadogan wrote above (1) ”Give us the opportunity to sit in our homes in front of our TV and watch the Marshalls skin them out of their property which they owe the government for.

(2) If they are going to shut down the properties don’t give them the opportunity to sell them confiscate them.”
    ———————————–

Coming from a known DLP supporter, this is highly disturbing. Vindictive to the max. And again, that large chip on the shoulder coming out. (1) A gleeful wish to see suffering

(2) Now THAT sounds like outright dictatorship and THAT is exactly why people, including investors are so worried about this government with the dismissal of the COP and the arbitrary stomping around by another calling for cracking heads and further, one other fellow in the government calling an esteemed professor of the UWI a ‘traitor’ for voicing his rightful opinion in dissent.

No one in their right mind can avoid seeing what is REALLY worrying investors.

And thus, maybe it is true about the two containers of tear gas recently brought in by the government.

Carson, is it true not one but TWO containers????

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Dems now!!

Dems again!!!

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Crusoe

You will find out sooner or later, don’t you think?

38. @Carson said…”The government must not waiver. The Hoteliers only believe that they have ACES. But they do not. That is why I would enjoy watching this thing come to a head. The Hoteliers are biting off more than they can chew..”
    And YOU think the Government has aces???

Lol. The guvment is broke as whuh. Sinckler don’t know his elbow from his….poochie..

The only one calling the shots in two years time (if not sooner) will be the IMF laddie.

Tear gas or not.

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Crusoe

I cant understand why you so worried about containers, containers enter Barbados everyday, no one told you.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Crusoe

The government broke or the government too generous?

Private sector including the ungrateful Hoteliers owe government almost $620million and refuse to pay.

Yet the government refuses to go after them and collect “what is Caesar’s”.

Now you and your kind has the unmitigated gall to say that the government broke?

41. The focus is on rooms and hotel “plant”. Which means NOTHING if you can’t get tourist there!!!

I keep seeing posts about expanding the UK and EU markets. Nobody reading news lately? Their economy is going to hurt for years to come. I work for a big French and global company, things dread dread dread. The only economies looking good from a Bim perspective is North America and some Sourt American ones.

As in one of my previous post, how the rangate we going to fill hotel rooms if people from NA can’t get there? This is more basic than all the shite on this post. It is so frustrating and expensive now to book a flight that it will be a very negative effect on the island.

Case in point: trying to get home to see the folks: $1250. Going to St Lucia to see other family: $650. This is FACT.

42. If you could follow the money in the deal you might be very amazed, although not surprised at what you find.

You might find all sorts of wheels within the deal, some of them real old and rusty looking for their payday!!

43. Meeting with PM every six weeks
    Added by Emmanuel Joseph on September 12, 2012.Saved under Local News, Slider

President of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association, Patricia Affonso-Dass
    Leaders in the crucial hotel and tourism sector will now have the ear of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart every six weeks. This was disclosed this morning by President of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association, Patricia Affonso-Dass when she addressed the third Quarterly General Meeting of the BHTA at Hilton Barbados Resort.
    Affonso-Dass told a well turned out membership that the leadership met last week with Stuart and in a frank and open discussion summarised for him the various challenges and issues being faced by the sector and BHTA members. She said they outlined to him what their members and the association had been doing to try to mitigate any additional negative impact to the society and the industry. The BHTA boss noted that some of those challenges include the launch and continued marketing support of bookbarbadosnow.
    “We now have hotels, attractions and car rental services all bookable online and are working with the BTA to have it officially recognised on the visitbarbados.org website as the official booking engine for Barbados,” Affonso-Dass added. She pointed out that since May 2011, the BHTA had spent $330,000 to market the booking engine and had received $1.1 million. However, she suggested that more could be done and that hotels must offer their best rates to the site.
    Another challenge identified was the re-launch of the Staycation initiative to assist all businesses in these difficult times and the Prime Minister and Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, with whom the BHTA also met, were urged to reconsider the incentive requested in the pre-Budget presentation for inducements to locals to take part in Staycation.
    “Coming out of our meeting with the Prime Minister and based on the severity and range of issues highlighted, the Prime Minister has recommended that he meet with the sector on a far more regular basis — he recommended every six weeks,” disclosed Affonso-Dass.
    She said the idea was for Stuart to update the association on the progress being made on the matters raised with his Government and obtain current information on the performance of the sector and what results any relief offered by Government was having on the sector.
    The BHTA head said the association welcomed the offer and stood ready to facilitate further meetings as requested by him.
    She appealed to members, now that they have the opportunity to sit with the Prime Minister’s ears regularly, to ensure they were truly prepared with adequate information so they could be properly represented. (EJ)

Date
    Company
    Amount

Skeete, Best & Co
    $60,000.00

Skeete, Best & Co
    $40,000.00

Silver Sands Hotel
    $460,240.70

Indar Weir Travel
    $10,937.68

WMB Financial Tech – Indar Weir
    $12,000.00

All Seasons Resort
    $53,966.60

MDG Corp Service – Tech Ass WSB
    $1,462.00

Elegant Hotels
    $1,107,102.77

Skeetes, Best & Co
    $60,500.00

Elegant Hotels
    $575,764.82

Executive Rentals
    $104,178.03

Cliff Restaurant
    $231,269.40

Sandpiper Inn
    $264,429.77

Radical Watersports Inc
    $11,093.62

SCC Ltd
    $244,095.57

Casa Grand
    $53,545.00

Silver Sands Hotel
    $292,807.15

Travel Essentials
    $27,189.88

Date
    Company
    Amount

Coconut Car Rentals
    $92,871.00

Divi Southwinds
    $138,909.38

Courtesy Garage
    $112,896.00

WSB Apartments Limited
    $146,930.00

Bougainvillea Beach Resort
    $249,704.50

Royal Westmorland
    $285546.71

Executive Car Rentals
    $302,985.69

Crane Resort & Residence
    $590,108.50

Atlantis Submarines
    $671,957.00

Platinum Collections (Treasure Beach)
    $361,532.00

Garden Hotels Inc
    $37,264.00

Trade Winds Hotel
    $763,208.11

Discovery Bay Beach
    $713,814.59

Coconut Court Ltd
    $95,261.00

Sandy Lane Hotel
    $1,179,878.96

Travel Essentials
    $496,487.00

Travel Essentials
    $200,000.00

South Beach Resort
    $172,882.50

Grand Hotel Ltd
    $544799.00

The Tamarind Seed
    $53,995.80

Cobblers Cove
    $312,130.58

Dover Beach Hotel
    $154,797.28

Cruise Mang.Ltd
    $569,803.00

Coral Mist Beach
    $66,518.11

Blue Orchid
    $61,851.75

Bajan Services
    $100,003.67

Accra Beach Hotel
    $535,508.00

Harmony Hall Ltd
    $319,779.00

Lexy Ltd
    $25,542.00

Barbados Golf Club
    $175,039.00

Baywatch Resorts
    $71,499.00

Sandcastle Ltd
    $2,430.00

Goddards Supersonic Ltd
    $63,894.00

Palm Beach Hotel (Cayman) Ltd
    $571,203.45

Ocean Breeze Resort
    $258,388.17

Southern Palm Beach Club
    $183,249.00

Almond Resorts Inc
    $934,544.24

Casuarina Beach Club
    $387,307.66

Villa Investments
    $51,119.45

SCC Ltd
    $105,382.65

Island Safari
    $99,128.00

Suntours
    $57,348.32

Johnson Stables & Garage
    $169,805.46

Island Executive
    $7,122.20

Drive-A-Matic
    $19,884.64

Date
    Company
    Amount

Basil Clarke
    $1,500.00

Cameron Sealy
    $1,500.00

Kevin Gumbs
    $1,500.00

Mark Clark
    $1,500.00

Roland Murray
    $1,500.00

Wesley Clarke
    $1,500.00

Anthony Webster
    $1,500.00

Rudolph Waterman
    $1,500.00

Earthworks Caribbean
    $27,121.43

Barbados Blue Inc
    $13,616.62

Exquisite Limousine
    $19,713.31

Cheyub Investments
    $13,728.69

Lexy ltd
    $31,484.37

The Ship Inn
    $29,156.82

Atlantis Submarine
    $116,304.52

Donowa Enterprises
    $22,361.03

The Tides Restaurant
    $151,414.59

Island Executive
    $14,511.09

Drive A Matic
    $11,282.51

Smitonis Caribbean
    $76,377.10

Island Safari
    $22,814.48

Johnson’s Stable & Garage
    $78,458.00

Champers Inc
    $67,479.05

Stoute’s Car Rental
    $73,383.00

Bajan Services
    $42,379.81

Terra Caribbean
    $44,716.68

Island Grill
    $15,509.08

GCG Services
    $6,614.03

Barbados Golf Club
    $23,766.69

Mocha Investments
    $31,520.07

Jones Garage
    $15,513.05

Pieces Restaurant
    $103,967.44

BLR Inc
    $27,053.42

Andry Annies
    $21,912.06

A&J The Menus Inc
    $23,826.12

Twenty Nine Bistro Inc
    $19,976.54

Arc Associates Inc
    $23,120.01

Surfers Cafe
    $5,448.47

Sufers Bay
    $10,263.64

Maxwell Restaurants
    $73,408.98

Medford Mahogany
    $26,388.89

TVJ Restaurant
    $5,169.26

Jammin Catamaran Cruises
    $53,948.08

Caribbean Liquid Inc
    $10,312.59

Gallery of Caribbean Art
    $44,805.26

Ocean Adventures
    $11,450.17

Courtesy Garage
    $33,983.90

Goddards Shipping & Trading
    $35,033.91

Goddards Supersonic Ltd
    $15,816.75

The WOW Group
    $121,802.43

Coconut Car Rentals
    $42,145.10

Cruise Management
    $89,131.76

Skyviews Inc
    $28,307.69

Harmony Hall Ltd
    $36,427.79

The Tamarind Seed
    $17,681.98

Date
    Company
    Amount

MDG Corporate Services – Tech Ass
    $4,432.00

Castagne, Williams Advertising
    $26,907.07

Garden Hotels Inc
    $136,648.00

Villa Investments
    $60,809.00

Pirates Inn
    $156,675.00

Karekath
    $4,683.00

Cymac Ltd
    $88,340.00

MlJ Investments
    $179,728.00

Blue Orchid
    $223,299.0

Settlers Beach
    $150,614.00

Best E Villas
    $15,881.00

Discovery Bay
    $148,043.00

Southern Palms
    $195,676.00

Baywatch Resorts
    $148,043.00

Bougainvillea
    $238,368.44

Sand Acres limited
    $45,191.07

WSB Apartments
    $253,867.48

Hayton limited
    $291,352.00

Accra Beach Hotel
    $307,714.96

Coconut Court
    $268,494.17

Dover Beach
    $252,924.12

CP Hotels
    $322,144.06

Sandy Lane Hotel
    $780,067.21

Platinum Collections (Treasure Beach)
    $257,437.43

Casuarina Beach
    $107,916.65

Almond Resorts
    $554,304.18

Meridian Inn
    $25,874.00

The Beachcomber
    $80,616.00

Sea Foam
    $79,702.00

North Beach Co – Mango Bay
    $229,581.40

P&M Co – Island Inn
    $55,781.95

Sunswept Hotel
    $15,649.75

Suncity Holdings (Cove Spring)
    $176,522.00

Coronation International
    $255,200.20

Palm beach Hotel (Allamanda)
    $27,119.02

Palm beach Hotel (Amaryllis
    $330,954.54

Island Executive
    $22,446.05

45. Silver Sands Hotel Closes After Receiving $753,047.85 In Government Relief
    Posted on September 28, 2010 by David | 54 Comments | Edit

Silver Sands Hotel
    In the face of the worst global recession since the Great Depression if we are to believe the economists, the government of Barbados felt duty bound to protect the productive sector which is the life-blood of the Barbados economy. The tourism industry is reported to contribute 15-20% of  Gross Domestic Product and it is a significant foreign exchange earner.
    Tourism is an industry which thrives in a buoyant global economic climate and the global recession has impacted discretionary spending of world travellers in a significant way. In an effort to create a safety net for establishments affiliated to the Barbados Tourism Authority (BTA), Barbados Tourism Hotel Association (BTHA), and Small Hotels of Barbados Inc (SHBI), the government established the Tourism Investment Relief Fund (TIRF). The fund is administered by the Enterprise Growth Fund Limited (EGFL) and based on a formula of of historical revenues and stated cash losses in a determined period  funds were distributed to those tourism players who applied.
    https://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/09/28/silver-sands-hotel-closes-after-receiving-753047-85-in-government-relief/

46. CCC and AC are right …. no-one should listen to Adrian …he wasn’t smart enough to get on this list and suck every last penny out of Barbados LOL

47. “…Imagine the benefits that the Barbados tourism product will derive from having the Sandals brand marketing and selling Barbados….”
    ——————————————————————————
    The 3 Sandals in St.Lucia were often looked down upon by many on this blog. But who knew, all this time, that Barbados was wishing and hoping for a Sandals too?

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“@ Adrian “Cobweb at the Airport’ Loveridge

Bajans including myself really have short memories. Some things came out in the wash with a very recent re-posting by Barbados Underground that show there are two Adrian Loveridges in Barbados. One Adrian , back in 2010 condemned tourism players who took bailout money and misused it , including the buying of a luxury boat with the money. That Adrian would have killed for David Thompson.

The other Adrian , who hates the guts of Freundel Stuart, is now calling for Government to give some of the same vagabonds concessions similar to what Butch Stewart is promised.

How on earth can you have two people with the same name being diametrically opposed to each other on the same topic?

Here are some of the postings which were made back in 2010 which caught my eye.

Bosun | September 28, 2010 at 10:47 PM |

This comes as no surprise to me. Many of these Hotel Owners are the same people who squeezed the sugar industry dry, after receiving subsidy after subsidy and loans from the government,and fled, investing their money in hotels. Now the government and the taxpayers of this country has been kicked in the arse once more.
    I am still waiting to hear a report on the Old Garrison Barracks near TGI Fridays,can’t recall the name , that was given a lot of duty-free concessions to open up as a conference centre,only to be closed a few months after. Word was that this project was used as a ploy to refurbish a nearby hotel owned by the same people. We will never learn.

Adrian Loveridge | September 24, 2010 at 7:05 AM |
    David | September 24, 2010 at 6:43 AM |
    This is indeed worrying information if* true. Adrian can you confirm?
    Did the owners of the hotel receive tax dollars as relief and despite it all the hotel was closed, moreover the owners have been able to purchase a luxury boat?

Adrian Loveridge
    Sadly, I cannot confirm because a list of those tourism entities that benefited from the Tourism Industry Relief Fund was never (to the best of my knowledge). published.
    I do know a number of hotels did recieve TIRF monies.
    This in my opinion is fundamentally wrong.
    When taxpayers monies are used to subsidise
    businesses, this is being generated by profitable entities and they have the right to know where this money is being dispersed.
    A full list SHOULD have been printed in the newspapers.
    P & Q did not apply for TIPF funds because we operate a small, well run and profitable business.
    Its almost like Hotels and Resorts(GEMS) again. Prop them up with taxpayers monies and then allow them to practice predatory pricing to destroy our accommodation sector.
    31 hotels closed over 16 years. No other Caribbean country with the exception of Haiti can ‘boast’ that!

The Scout | September 28, 2010 at 11:03 PM |

It seems that these people are trying the same thing that the business people in U.S.A did to Obama; take the stimulus money and refused to plough it into the business but instead paid out big bonuses and still sent home staff. We have to plug this gap because it Silver Sands is allowed to get away with that, other businesses would follow.

The full story and comments are covered at the below url:-

https://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/09/28/silver-sands-hotel-closes-after-receiving-753047-85-in-government-relief/

Silver Sands Hotel Closes After Receiving $753,047.85 In Government Relief
    bajan.wordpress.com
    In the face of the worst global recession since the Great Depression if we are to believe the economists, the government of Barbados felt duty bound to protect the productive sector which is the li….”

Antionette Sealy

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caribbean Lover | November 16, 2013 at 8:29 AM |
    “The 3 Sandals in St.Lucia were often looked down upon by many on this blog..”

The biggest proponent of such was no other than Carson Cadogan (followed ac) who had the worst to say about the tourism business in St. Lucia and St. Lucia in general. Yet the same xenophobic volte-face jackasses are today the biggest ass-licking braying spin doctors for Sandals in Barbados.

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for Sandals to be all over the Caribbean and beyond, even. However, it should not be given preferential treatment over others in the same business. All should be entitled to the same concessions without having to individually lick some dumbass politician’s backside whose outstretched hand is always with its palm turn up and $$$ signs reflecting.

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Caribbean lover

You are being very stupid.

When Butch Stewart bought La Toc Hotel in St. Lucia he also bought Paradise Beach Hotel as part of a package from Cunard Hotels.

Both Hotels were to be run for a while as EP Hotels then they were to be closed and then transformed through the construction process into accommodations befitting of the SANDALS brand, like what is to happen here in Barbados.

The plan was executed in St. Lucia but due to Barbados Labour Party bungling and then a Court case Paradise Beach Hotel which was to be called SANDALS BARBADOS never got off the ground.

My advice to you is to speak of things that you know of such as the huge case load of unsolved murders in St. Lucia which has St. Lucians crying out for justice and the Police corruption in St. Lucia. These things are more in your league!!!