Local entrepreneur and the other member of the Williams dynamic duo Bizzy Williams has thrown his support behind Butch Stewart and Sandals/Beaches at the expense of local tycoon Bernie Weatherhead. Bizzy Williams letters to the local newspapers have gone under the radar this week but given the importance of tourism, the washpan of concessions to Butch Stewart and the success of Bernie Weatherhead as a homegrown businessman it is worthy of discussion.

Read Bizzy’s letter to the traditional media:

Opportunities with Sandals/Beaches

My loyalty to Barbados and the people of Barbados has no bounds. My track record is transparent. I have many hard-working Bajan friends who share my feelings about our country and its people who are busting their brains to find ways to get our rock out of this recession. “Bernie” Weatherhead is one of them. I have admired his work and continuous investment to expand his business enterprises in Barbados. To demonstrate, we recently placed most of Williams Industries Insurance business with his Sun General company. I shop at his I’mart and Hallmark stores. I attended the reopening function of the failed Almond Resort in St Peter and I listened carefully to what he said and what our Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy said in their speeches. I commend “Bernie” for what he has achieved.

I have not invested one cent in Sandals. I have no reason whatsoever to be biased one way or another, but I feel obliged to sacrifice my friendship with Bernie in favour of my loyalty to Barbados if I am forced to choose. Barbados needs the power of the marketing juggernaut and the quality of the Sandals / Beaches brands in the US market especially, to put Barbados back up there as the most desirable destination in the Caribbean. And in my view, Barbados has to send a clear message to the world that when we commit to a business agreement we abide by our commitment.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/03/29/opportunities-with-sandalsbeaches/

118 responses to “Bizzy Williams Supports Butch Stewarts’s Sandals/Beaches NOT Bernie Weatherhead’s ALMOND Suggestion”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

FRAUD ,and not tourist or tourism is the problem for Barbados , to many people have been burnt to return or say good things to this point, They will go else where and speak bad of lack of enforcement of laws , That are Basic in other parts of the English speaking World.

2. Plantation Deed

Jamaica is one of most violent countries on the planet today and yet this hasn’t prevented the tourists from flocking to Jamaica in great numbers. I hope this piece of information put to rest your apparent irrational fear, regarding the existence our tourist industry.

3. Questions?

With 500 Million Barbados could construct a medium sized cruse ship and launch within four years. If it were to be built locally, dwell on the potential for specialized artisan skills …. wow

In the case of the CJ, would he require a bigger budget to employ more Judges ..? Is it possible that judges have tenure and so the Chief’s power over them is severely compromised?

4. @Baffy

It is about systems and processes improvement to promote efficiencies.

5. man sarge talk uh talk don’t pay dat old dinosaur BT no mind,,,,,,,,,,,,,his mentality is reminiscent of the past, trust me he still storing old wine in new bottles,,,man cheap fuh days… i won’t be surprised if he was the gene running the transport board,,,,,like nuff patch up work,,,,,,,,the man can;t even understand value,,,,,but like to talk nuff puppp.

6. LOL @ ac
    You know that you can destroy a persons reputation by agreeing with them don’t you…?
    …poor Sarge….

7. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Dompey | March 31, 2014 at 6:16 PM@ they worry to much about numbers, people take risk every day and even more danger in other places , At least with a crime being done, We can look for them and seek the law, In crime of paper and pimp titles they all hide behind each other,
    I can tell you all for sure , I know at least 20 to 40 person that dont come to Barbados for the last 5 years, When people come its a chain reaction to come and not to come , These fool talking hotel rooms and taxi, all day and night , The not thinking people and the law to protect them when travel
    Some tourist even get better police movement then the people who live here, Its all about money to the lawyers and the government , Who they can rob out of their life savings , If i was not born here i would not come back after my own family was rob and the police did nothing, How many families broke up because of Barbados crook lawyers and Ministers , I Know of 4 large families that refuse to even come back ,
    The same nasty spine runs in St Vincent and Antigua, and Barbados , Sirs crooking people Sir Stanford,Crook, Sir Cheltenham crook, Sir C.O William Crook,ExCJ Simmons Crook, EX, COP SVG Crook, Ex COP of Barbados Crook, and then look at LIAT ,same crook government fooling the workers,

8. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

BAFBFP | March 31, 2014 at 6:30 PM@
    More Judges, well where will they come from ? not the lawyer pool of crook we have , Even the CJ will have a hard time stepping in dog shit looking to pull out the few good one that MIGHT BE AROUND,
    Crook lawyers move up to be judges , We have that already

9. @Dompey
    “Jamaica is one of most violent countries on the planet today and yet this hasn’t prevented the tourists from flocking to Jamaica in great numbers.”

And isn’t it because of that same crime and violence that tourists visiting Jamaica mostly restrict themselves to all- inclusive hotels. Similar situation to Dominican Republic and Cancun.

We do need a few all-inclusive hotels in our mix to cater to visitors who are looking for that type of experience. However the majority of visitors, especially from the UK, are attracted to the fact that they can move freely around the island, visit Oistins, enjoy some drinks in a rum shop, go to any beach etc etc. without fear of being a victim of crime.

10. Nostradamus – most of the hotels in Barbados now have All-inclusive rates for guest or are fully all-inclusive – this has been so for a long time. What do you mean by we need them in our mix?

The fact is most of these guest do not venture out of their hotels as they have it all there. Why do you think Sandals is building 8 restaurants – for the people to go down to Oistins – no, to feed them all when they are hungry!

11. THE REAL ISSUE ….We as a country had a falloff in demand for the destination couples with internal RECESSION that lead to the government being forced to BEG for some form of investment. Hence we have all of these CONCESSIONS that in a better situation would not have been given or thought of. We are now reduced to being MENDICANTS!!! We have lied to ourselves and believed our own lies about our PROGRESS….(PATHS TO PROGRESS) and are now facing the reality of our FOOLISH THINKING!!!!

12. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Roverp, you ask too many ‘impertitent’ questions?

13. OF course ADRIAN I learnt from You!!!!

14. Nostrowhat | April 2, 2014 at 12:09 PM |

The fact is most of these guest do not venture out of their hotels as they have it all there. Why do you think Sandals is building 8 restaurants – for the people to go down to Oistins – no, to feed them all when they are hungry!

“Sandals is building 8 restaurants”

This must be great news for the locally owned restaurants in the Gap that struggling to make ends meet now

15. @Nostrowhat
    Exactly what I said in my post “to cater to visitors who are looking for that type of experience”
    I am not an advocate of all-inclusives for Barbados but It makes sense to have a couple like Sandals or Almond who like the all inclusive experience. But it really is up to the market to decide how many and there must be a level playing field for all types of hotels not just Sandals.

16. Then there was Maloney’s letter to Barbados Today waxing lyrical about Sandals. Obviously timed to follow-up Bizzy’s comments. When Ma
    loney spent a little time at Sandals LaSource in Grenada, was it at his own expense, or has the deal with Butch already been made? Talk about “I’m bending down Butch, come and get me!”

17. Saw Bizzy on the news tonight mangling the English language as usual. Why is it these guys always want foreigners to own Barbados? They seem to think that Bajans are not good enough to do great things. Time for these sell- outs to STFU. It is fairly obvious the agenda these guys have: Block locals and sell to foreigners. Methinks the Williams brothers have become totally irrelevant.

18. @ Starboy
    There are a set of Bajans who would do ANYTHING rather than see the majority reach our true potential.
    They appoint their moron kith and kin to senior positions which they are CLEARLY incapable of filling……

When this become glaringly untenable, they bring in UNKNOWN foreigners to fill these positions rather than risk having talented black Bajans excel and show them up for the jokers they are…

When they get old and realize that the businesses are threatened, they seek FOREIGN buyers rather than even holding on to ownership since it would mean black Bajans taking over the management for survival.

…It is no coincidence. These people are more concerned about ‘keeping blacks in their places’ than they are in any business successes that upsets their social status quo.

There are of course a few exceptions, however any kind of statistical analysis of boardroom appointments will easily confirm the clear bias.
    …of course if we had a REAL university, such statistical studies and the obvious conclusions would have been put to us like they were long ago…but since our “champion of equality” took up position there and became pals with these same scamps, this is no longer a priority for him…

It is for this reason that a meritocracy will not be supported in Barbados …..and without a meritocracy we will continue to have square pegs in wrong holes …and to see the appropriate results…

Does a statistical analysis of top people in Bizzy’s businesses suggest merit based appointments? Obviously based on his methodology he now needs to woo people like Butch Sewart….

Trust Bushie….
    The REAL talented people in Barbados are hidden away doing shiite in many of these organizations and deliberately prevented from emerging for fear that they outshine the wrong people.