Submitted by Anthony Davis
Sandals Butch Stewart

The start of construction on the highly anticipated Beaches Resort in Barbados has been set back. “Speaking to the media following a tour of the Sandals Barbados property this afternoon, Gordon “Butch” Stewart, chairman of Sandals Resorts International – the operator of the Beaches and Sandals brands – said work on the property in Heywoods, St. Peter, had been pushed back due to the complexity of the project.” Source: Barbados Today

When the Minister of Tourism, and the Minister of Finance decided to give Sandals Resorts International the go-ahead for taking over the Almond Beach Village Resort, the excuse was that the projected time for Manager of the Crane Resorts and Residences’ Paul Doyle’s finishing of the hotel he proposed would take longer than Sandals. There was just a couple of months difference between the two, but this Government was adamant that Sandals had the best proposal and gave it to them. All of a sudden a third party became involved.

Was this stated in the MOU?

Did Government give permission for the property to be subleased – as part of its sweetheart deal which the other hotels could not receive before the opening of the Sandals hotel?

Did this not give Sandals a head start?

If so, is Government getting its fair dues from this venture?

It is alleged that Mr. Weatherhead wants that property for himself.

If so, how will that transaction take place?

Mr. Stewart said that the work would not start this year, but “soon after”.

What is meant by “soon after” in this context?

Am I to take the word “soon” from its meaning in the dictionary or as Government’s meaning when applied to the “All Seasons” hotel on which work was “soon to start” on a number of occasions?

Seeing that the reporter put ‘soon after’ in quotation marks, this could mean any time after 2015 – whether 2016 or thereafter. I quote the meanings of the word soon here for those who pretend that they don’t know it. According to “Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary Eleventh Edition”, soon means:

1) Without undue time lapse; before long

2) In a prompt manner; speedily.

Mr. Stewart must be made to state a specific time frame within which the building is due to start, if not everybody can come and do the same just to get the nod for any project that is up for tender. This means that the project will take much longer than the time specified by Mr. Doyle whose hotel brand is as good as Sandals, and who is always expanding his hotel. It cannot be business as usual if the project at Heywoods will be stalled indefinitely!

The same can be said for the Harlequin Resorts.

I would like to know how much Government pumped into that project although the owner was wanted by the British Government for defrauding a number of British citizens who had invested in such an endeavour in Thailand.

What is the status of those hotels?

Did Government check up on Dave Ames’ credentials, or did they take it for granted that if he came from Britain he would be an upstanding citizen?

What are the criteria for inviting the various persons to build here – especially when it comes to hotels, as we always hear that tourism is our business?

“Digging for facts is better mental exercise than jumping to conclusions” must be the mantra when it comes to setting up businesses here.

39 responses to “Barbados Beaches Resort Project Stalled”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Anthony Davis

Not too sure what you mean by “Mr. Stewart must be made to state a specific time frame within which the building is due to start….”

It is somewhat of a stupid statement considering that we in Bulbados CANNOT EVEN GET our duly appointed parliamentary representatives, of whom the Prime Minister is one, to state anything about anything, further-more this dictator-like pronouncement that you are making here.

“Soon” in my lexicon is when I get around to it and for a man like “Butch” he doan breakfruit and rice at any uh wunna salmon tot retrievers, capiche??

2. @PUDRYR

The question is very relevant as you know because of the expectations economic and otherwise tied to it. How will the delay compromise government’s economic projections for 2016 and beyond? Surely the forex inflow would have been factored by central bank and economic planners?

3. Gordon “Butch” Stewart takes the lead from the government. The government is guided by a cadre of clowns we call a Cabinet. This Cabinet is led by the king of inertia F reundel Jerome Stuart. Why worry with your question?

4. Since there are many people in the country without access to the internet I am making this appeal. Please print and distribute the blog”An Open Letter to the DLP. Let’s give the country what the fourth estate will not. The unvarnished truth. Send it to every friend who may not have seen it.

5. @ David February 9, 2015 at 5:35 AM #

@PUDRYR

The question is very relevant as you know because of the expectations economic and otherwise tied to it. How will the delay compromise government’s economic projections for 2016 and beyond? Surely the forex inflow would have been factored by central bank and economic planners?
    ………………………………………

Exactly, David.

This is another Paradise in the making. Richard Sealy and the Stinkliar must have egg all over their faces…….Butch Stewart was to be their saviour of Barbados’ tourism.

So much for all the growth they are predicting. No worries, the governor will find a way to adjust the figures to have “make believe” growth!

6. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

When will the various Sandals companies be paying Government (taxpayer) for the Heywoods property? $106 million at 8 per cent is $8.48 million in interest alone annually. I somehow don’t think Almond is generating that sort of profit.

7. @Anthony Davis

“The same can be said for the Harlequin Resorts.

I would like to know how much Government pumped into that project although the owner was wanted by the British Government for defrauding a number of British citizens who had invested in such an endeavour in Thailand.”

The same can be said for the scammers/ponzi schemers from Canada, who were going to transform Foul Bay to PURE Beach

I would like to know how much of the money pumped into that project by investors/purchasers before the promoters apparently disappeared, went into the pockets of senior Government officials (elected of otherwise).

Most developed countries would require that purchaser deposits be held in a lawyers “Trust” account until the closing of the purchase; but in light of recent disclosures such protection might not afford purchasers in Barbados much protection.

8. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

Nothing More than Crooks,,,, Very hard for crooks to make a good deal that sticks , but most of the time it stinks,
    Lets hope they can make their money back in 3 years,

9. Note Puckering is in the news again.

On Monday, 9 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

10. David you meant Pickering?

11. islandgal246

Pickering/Puckering – It does not really matter.

With the matter tied up in litigation, those houses will not be built in our lifetimes.

12. And come to think of it – with the property (apparently) now owned by Government, and tied up by “Butch” the Barbados Beaches Resort may not be built in our lifetimes

13. David

Fear not, something is coming to the Heywoods property, its just not going to have anything to do with Butch. This was just a way to secure the property for the boys, why are certain interest in Barbados busy designing a port st.charles marina extension over all of the lands of the former heywoods hotel?

14. Butch….synonymous with Paradise Beach failure,Air Jamaica failure,now Almond Village stalling and look like following a pattern.I always thought Doyle and his track record at Crane was a preferred option.

15. Garbriel

Doyle was viewed as BLP supporter plus he could not be in line before the boys from the North, that’s why Maloney went to got Butch and Bernie, as a front to the real plans to give the property, free of charge, to Bjerkhamn

16. BU is willing to compromise on who owns the property at Heywoods if it remains local ownership.

17. local ownership? Neither Doyle, Bjerkhamn or Stewart are local, are they?

18. Grace

Doyle has been there expanding tourism capacity sine 1981. Don’t know if he has become a Barbados citizen, but 34 years as a resident should qualify him a a local.

19. Not Butch but the other two and it pains to state it.

20. Adrian,

Is there any truth that there is labour trouble brewing at Sandals already? Say it aint so! On the opening night all those they interviewed on TV said how happy they were. Let’s hope all is well!

21. One swallow don’t make a summer. Sandals was the saviour of/for Barbados. Any truth to the rumour that last week an MOU was signed bjerkhamn for a PPP in which the GOB is going to put in the land at Almond Heywoods for a marina/hotel project there??

22. If true, Butch truly get outfoxed in Barbados.

23. @ Prodigal Son February 9, 2015 at 5:57 PM #
    Adrian,

Is there any truth that there is labour trouble brewing at Sandals already? Say it aint so! On the opening night all those they interviewed on TV said how happy they were. Let’s hope all is well!

Agree – Lets hope all is well.

One would certainly expect on opening night that all would be happy – to have a job.

And do you really think the CBC would broadcast an interview with an employee expressing anything other than happy – happy.

That is what editors do

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Norst the Invader February 9, 2015 at 6:40 PM
    “Any truth to the rumour that last week an MOU was signed bjerkhamn for a PPP in which the GOB is going to put in the land at Almond Heywoods for a marina/hotel project there??”

Don’t be a rumour-mongering jackass. You really feel that “bjerkhamn” and his DLP–dependent parasitic friends would invest their own money (privately borrowed or laundered) in a sunset industry call tourism in Barbados? Which foreign investor would support such a project and back a bjerkhamn in a sunset industry in Barbados when Cuba is on a new sunrise of economic ascendancy in the Caribbean tourism market and is there for the easy taking?

Why doesn’t bjerkhamn put his own money or his foreign investor friends’ monies behind the Four Seasons object of shame and disappointment to save Stinkliar’s lying ass?
    Isn’t it also rumoured that the same bjerkoffhamn and friends are also members of the consortium making up the long list of investors “lining up” to take over the now All Seasons & All for All project?

25. prodigal uh need to shut yuh face, when last you heard any hotelier including adrein inviting locals at their expense to a free stay at their hotel well that is what butch did another sign of being committed to barbados all because of the many inconvience the local might have endure when sandals was being renovated,
    now wunna get up in here again trying to throw sticks to lick down a bricki house,

26. @ac

You should be the last one telling someone to shut yuh face. You the biggest bullshitter on this blog, so full of shite your eyes are brown!

The man will throw out a few crumbs of government money, not his……

27. @ millertheanunnaki

I have also been hearing these rumours.
    If you own a construction group, which is wholly and solely dependent on construction activity income, the justification for the investment becomes secondary.
    Remember, Bjerkhamn didn’t make any money on the Sapphire Beach (a JV with GOB) but that didn’t stop them from investing (with other people money) and building Port Ferdinand, Coverley, Saint Peters Bay, Heron Bay etc etc.

ITS CALLED THROUGH PUT.

28. I somehow missed this until now

Sandals’ loss
    Stewart says hotel took hit to Keep visitors coming to Barbados
    Added by Marlon Madden on February 6, 2015.

Sandals Resorts has revealed that it lost “a fair amount of money” in the few months it operated the former Almond Casuarina Beach Resort after taking it over from Couples Resorts at the end of 2013.

However, chairman of the international hotel brand Gordon Butch Stewart said he had no regrets because keeping the resort’s doors open helped to maintain critical airlift to Barbados during the winter months.

“It cost us money and we lost a fair amount of money because we took over a hotel that didn’t have very much occupancy, and it had rates that couldn’t really pay much of a payroll,”

Stewart said yesterday, although not disclosing the extent of the loss.

“But we kept the hotel open for the sole purpose that the Government was concerned that if we had closed . . . other hotels would close too, and you always run a risk with airlift capacity.”

Stewart said it was a “snap decision” to take over the operations of the resort and his company did not have any time to market the property.

“We wanted to enter the Barbados hotel market and it came up,” he said.
    Sandals took over the operations in the last quarter of 2013 and continued running the hotel until the middle of March last year when it began a US$65 million refurbishment.”

That Butch is real SAINT

Single handedly saving the airlift with his 280 rooms — 560 airplane seats per week = 80 seats per day – among how many airlines? 5 = 16 seats per airline. Which airline was going to cancel flights without Butch’s valiant effort

I don’t get the bit about “But we kept the hotel open for the sole purpose that the Government was concerned that if we had closed . . . other hotels would close too.

It seems more logical to me that more hotels may close now that Sandals is open.

What am I missing?

29. If the Government wants the Almond Beach project to start immediately, let it be known to Butch that due to his delay they have started are negotiations with others – especially Couples Resorts!

30. Almond Heywoods ain’t for Butch, simple as that. He ain’t getting it………period!!!!!

31. @Norst

Your credibility was hit for six yesterday when you indicated you are ignorant about BNB Capital.

Chris Sinckler and David Estwick Saga Continues – Money is Sweeter than Sugar

by David on November 14, 2014 in Barbados News, Politics Edit

BU understands the Minister of Finance & Economic Affairs Chris Sinckler will play hardball with the sugar industry deal unless Minister of Agriculture David Estwick appoints BNB Capital Corporation to provide the financing for the new sugar factory. It is being discussed in certain circles that the minister of finance arranged for BNB Capital Corporation […]

32. david

tell us more about bnb capital and norts

33. @Mayra

Why don’t you.

On Wednesday, 11 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

34. The delay by Butch Stewart is unwelcome news he was brilliant with Sandals in St. Lawrence Gap but thumbs down to this delay. Estwick was right when he said its the vagaries of foreign investment when you have wait for oversees investors to bring money into the country. You really have no control over whether they do or whether they change their minds. That’s all well and good except Butch’s $400 million was already factored into the economic growth projections for this year according to the Central Bank Governor. Government should look to replace Butch’s delay with another project if they can with the tight elbow room they have in our struggling economy.

35. Seems like Gorstew is in a bit of a STEW.

$40 million is a lot of money, even in Jamaica$

Interesting that the Jamaica Observer (owned by Butch) did not cover the story

Wonder if there is connection to recent sale of Grand Pineapple Antigua to Elite Island Resorts – which owns The Club Barbados

http://www.breakingtravelnews.com/news/article/sandals-international-parts-ways-with-grand-pineapple-antigua-in-elite-isla/

Is the Gorstew empire crumbling?

36. @Due Diligence February 9, 2015 at 1:24 PM #

“And come to think of it – with the property (apparently) now owned by Government, and tied up by “Butch” the Barbados Beaches Resort may not be built in our lifetimes”

Time to get back to Paul Doyle about taking over the Almond Beach Village Resort property.

37. @DD

It is too late for the Doyle option. It appears he has started work o the Skeets Bay Project and this is dispute Mac Fingall and his protestations. It is a great irony some of our best beach real estate is locked off.

38. I guess if Doyle is busy at Skeetes Bay, that leaves Bjorn or Bernie if Butch’s Beaches does not go ahead