Submitted by Barbados First

What is the connection between Adrian Elcock, Chairman of the Barbados Tourism Authority (BTA) and Rihanna?

Does it have anything to do with her being given a 3 year contract to market Barbados the terms of which have not been made public?

Does this connection have anything to do with the big Rihanna concert here 2 years ago?

Does it have anything to do with her concert here later this year?

Is this why we cannot get financial results for the concert 2 years ago which we taxpayers paid for… Is there what the Trinidadians call “bobol” going on at the BTA with Chairman Adrian Elcock in place?

Why after all this Rihanna expenditure and promotion  is St. Lucia still receiving more visitors than Barbados for 2013 so far.

Read the news story in the Barbados Today which names Adrain Elcock as agent for Rihanna :

218 responses to “Adrian Elcock Rihanna Partnership”

1. Barbados First change your name to Barbados Last. You wrote>

Why after all this Rihanna expenditure and promotion is St. Lucia still receiving more visitors than Barbados for 2013 so far.
    —————————————
    Jesus H Christ boy! The repeating of a lie ad naseum does not make it the truth.
    CTO statistics clearly state Jan to Jun, 265,000 visitors stopped over in Barbados.
    Jan to May, 141,000 visitors stopped over in St. Lucia. In other words BF/BU you are a LIAR. A solid 124,000 more visitors as of June arrived in Barbados than in St. Lucia.
    Every time you come here to mislead one of the Bajans who are NOT prepared to sell out their country will be here to EXPOSE your wickedness and disloyalty.

2. Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a shit.

3. Fatted calf again I say,to the worl’.

4. when i saw this story today, I was outraged for most if not all the reasons you listed. then after a few hours of thinking about it, i say who give a flying f#$k and good for you Adrian, get some for yourself.

we have been told many a time over about what looks like wrong doing on so many levels and we do nothing. So the question now was to be asked, if you are in position to affect change and everyone around you is doing the same old same old, are you that strong that you will do the right thing or will you roll with the boat?

before you answer that question, i point to the ever out spoken Tony Marshall. He could of stand for something when he was the chairman of NIS and come out against what was happening in there. now if you listen to some, he is the knight in shine BS because months after he talk about something on the floor of the senate.

We Bajans to f@#king stupid for our own good. looks to me like free education was not really a good thing after all.

5. “We Bajans to f@#king stupid for our own good”
    Oh dear David(not BU)….are you calling Bajans Brass Bowls?
    …naughty!!

6. Any tourism dependent economy like Barbados that has the biggest music star in the world who is willing to tie her name and physical presence to that destination would grab the opportunity.
    Well done Adrian Elcock and the team at the BTA. We have to look for any advantage we can derive. It is a good connection with Rihanna which will increase name recognition of Barbados in the market place especially with a more younger demographic and it is advertising which we cannot buy in traditional channels.

However, all the good that the BTA and ministry officials try to do can be erased by us those of us who litter indiscriminately, harass and rob our visitors and by poor service . The “people” experience is what always attracted repeat visitors to Barbados.

7. oh well…….also ac would like to know how much money and loans have been given to the hotel industry over maybe say the last ten years and how much of those loans were not repaid as a tax payer I have a right to know,,

8. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

ac, first you have to understand how the industry works. If you are talking LOANS then you have to identify exactly who is lending monies to hotels (ie: banks, Enterprise Growth Fund etc.) The MOT or BTA does not lend money to hotels. If you are talking GRANTS (ie: TIRF) then all you have to do is enter TIRF in the search section of this blog.
    Thank you again for spending your monies in St. Lucia and supporting their economy, rather than taking a StayCation to support ours.

9. well you Adrian knows all about everything financial when it comes to the hotel industry so in the best interest of the taxpayers, ac would like to know who gets these loans and when not repaid who pays for them I am aware that some of these loans were secured bt govts past, and some were not repaid meaning that the govt had to repay some which are still outstanding and is include in the high defecit ,

10. We Bajans to f@#king stupid for our own good. looks to me like free education was not really a good thing after all.
    —————————————————————
    SAD BUT TRUE
    The level of ignorance out there is astounding..You see it here on B/U
    You hear it on the Call -In shows.You hear it in discussions impromptu and on the street. The problem with education in Barbados is that it does not teach people to live .It does not even teach them to get a job really. People are using education to become snobs. Where you went to school, if you have a degree and the continuation of the discriminatory 11 plus exam help to maintain this crap that is destroying Barbados. The same ignorance you see in St. John with the way they vote. How much more ignorant do you want to get than the clannish, tribalistic ritualistic stupid pattern of voting where you surrender yourself without thought, without analysis without care to one political party where the candidate can be a FROG in a suit with DLP on its back and they will vote for it. Talk about Ignorance !

11. Adrian what financial results are you asking far , the minister did state openly the returns would outweighed any losses that the BTA would incurred he did say that the 2011 concert would make a loss . if your are asking monetary losses. well there are some things money can’t buy as with a superstar like Rhianna, Her world wide international status as she travels around the world as an image and promoter of Barbados would be more than enough to cover any losses with the 2011 concert , moreover her return exclusive of any funding by the taxpayers for her 2013 concert in Barbados would again generate millions of dollars to the tourist industry, and the economy as a whole
    http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=19027

12. @Adrian

Why are you allowing yourself into this line of argument? The author has asked a few questions! What dou you thnk?

13. To clarify a point made by the author a report was done by government which was discussed in the Senate. BU recalls leader of business making the document available and Senator Kerri Symmonds requesting to see it. Cannot recall if it was ever made public. The pertinent question to the gentleman in Boston who works exclusively on the Rihanna project, have we seen an increase in the numbers ABOVE the market since the Rihanna contract with Barbados? If no why and what adjustments does the BTA. Need to make.

14. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

That is exactly my point. What return has Barbados received based on the monthly salary of US$12,500?
    Lets look at the figures for a moment and in particular the Rihanna Concert Month.
    Between 2003-2007 (5 years) we averaged 46,026 long stay visitors each August.
    2008-2012 (5 years) we averaged 43,875 long stay visitors each August.
    The ONLY August month that experienced a year-on-year increase over this 5 years was 2011, the year of the concert, which showed an increase of 8,079 over 2010, that was already down 7.3 per cent on 2010.
    The MOT stated ‘8,000 – 12,000 bed nights have been confirmed for the concert’ which would mean either the number is closer to 8,000 or even less, non concert people came that month.
    I am willing to accept that Rihanna has generated some destination interest, but with 16 consecutive monthly declines in long stay visitor arrivals, it appears NOT to be making any meaningful difference.

15. Consensus : Barbados First looked for the wrong tree to bark up….I too agree…..you have chosen Bajan scared soil ….Rihanna is Queen of Souls bout here chum….besides you din hear she comin Nov 1st and all the tickets nearly sold out? BF hide ya face…..ya in fa licks. Shudda write pun the NIS and ” Senator The truth must be told Crashall….boy there is meat fa treat…..nuff money too that want representing

16. @Adrian

Cannot understand why we can’t have critical analysis without the need to sharpen the long knives driven by partisan drivel. And to think that this kind of analysis and probing is one by businesses who want to be successful. So far we have not even discuss the role the Chair of he BTA has played. Do we see conflict or not.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE

“St Lucia police commissioner barred from flying to US”

This bit of international news will be sure “to increase visitor numbers to St. Lucia and enhance its Tourism product” don’t you think?

Now let me see, when was the last time a Police Commissioner from Barbados was banned from travelling to anywhere on Earth!!!!!!

But I am sure you will find something nasty to say about Barbados. I will give you a little time.

18. Now let me see, when was the last time a Police Commissioner from Barbados was banned from travelling to anywhere on Earth!!!!!!

——————–
    I usually ask the questions because I am JUST ASKING
    but I AM answering the question
    Now let me see, when was the last time a Police Commissioner from Barbados was banned from travelling to anywhere on Earth!!!!!!

ANSWER : Just the other day Dottin the Commissioner of Police was banned from travelling to his Office -Caswell says with ”immediate effect””–whatever that means

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE

Here is a bit more.

“CASTRIES, St Lucia — According to local reports, Saint Lucia commissioner of police, Vernon Francois, was not permitted to board a flight from Hewanorra International Airport Lucia to the United States to participate in US organized and financed training programmes.

This latest incident comes on the heels of earlier reports of US visa revocations of senior members of the force and a former government minister.

According to local sources, the situation has reached the point where decisive action must be taken on matters concerning money laundering, drug trafficking and extrajudicial killings.

“This series of events is not only embarrassing for Saint Lucia and the status of the island’s law and order, it is a matter that requires further explanation by Prime Minister Kenny Anthony and Senator Philip Victor La Corbiniere Minister for Legal Affairs, Home Affair and National Security,” one local observer said.

WOW.
    Police officers involved in:-
    money laundering
    drug trafficking
    extrajudicial killings.

ST. LUCIA,

WHAT A SAFE PLACE FOR TOURISTS TO VISIT.

20. We also still have to discuss the court matter filed by Funeral Director against Rihanna.

What a mess.

21. Look David….Bushie is a fairly patient bushman (except when it comes to ac and occasionally Zoe), but between you and Adrian on this tourism thing …..wunna pushing Bushie’s buttons yuh….!

This ‘on and on’ harangue about expecting CONTINUING GROWTH from our tourism and from the BTA is a lotta shiite talk…

Wunna still don’t get it! Read Panchamamma contributions again… EVERY PYRAMID comes to an end sometime….we enjoyed nearly 60 years….what the hell wunna expect….to go on forever?

It has not one shiite to do with St Lucia.
    Hopefully they will learn from our mistakes and not end up with an island surrounded with white people’s monstrosities – blocking out the priceless view; litter all over the damn place; and any profits being made stashed in overseas accounts…

Who in their right minds would EXPECT old worn-out, LAZY, nasty Barbados to enjoy a higher GROWTH rate than a new exciting ‘piece of new meat’ like St Lucia…. Steupssss

And what is wrong with using Rihanna? Shiite man, that is a no-brainer. Wuh if Miller, Amused and Ross willing to sell their own asses in the interest of attracting gay tourist dollars how could using a one-in-a-billion global superstar be flawed?…..name a country that would pass up such an opportunity…

To be honest, Adrian is beginning to get on Bushie’s nerves with this same shiite every week. He done make the point EVERY-SINCE…..tourism is in trouble…..BUT his ongoing hypothesis that this is because of the marketing failures of the BTA is shallow…

If he can’t even generate growth in his little mock hotel what exactly qualifies him to have answers to the BTA failures….? Bushie would be a lot more open to his thesis if Peach and Quiet was a roaring success looking to take over Almond or Four Seasons.

The PROBLEMS with our tourism are obvious….
    -Weak and dying world economy
    -Old and worn out product
    -Piss poor management at all levels of the business
    -Profits not being reinvested, but exported
    -Too damn many foreign owners with questionable motives
    -A lack of understanding of true tourism as opposed to national prostitution

BTW
    Where are the analyses from the bright, highly paid intellectuals on the Hill in this critical national debate? Where is their learned guidance…?
    ….blasted “next nether” set of whores….now THERE is a way to save $400million….
    Lotta brass bowls…!

22. @Bushie

Your comment supports Adrian’s position don’t you see? Our MoT and government along with surrogates are suggesting Rihanna’s campaign will turn around our tourism fortune. Of course they are clueless.

23. “So far we have not even discuss the role the Chair of he BTA has played. Do we see conflict or not.”

what conflict David? i believe Andrian Elcock in these rolls are the best person to make them work. he has an incentive to see Barbadians get the best out of this deal.

when i say Barbadians i mean, his wife, children, family and himself. they are all Barbadians too. you are looking that this all wrong David.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE

“If he can’t even generate growth in his little mock hotel what exactly qualifies him to have answers to the BTA failures….?”

wahloss!

I thought it was only me.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“To be honest, Adrian is beginning to get on Bushie’s nerves with this same shiite every week. He done make the point EVERY-SINCE…..tourism is in trouble…..BUT his ongoing hypothesis that this is because of the marketing failures of the BTA is shallow…”

A left and a right to head of ADRIAN!

26. @Bush Tea

Very well said. You are spot on!

27. David wrote “So far we have not even discuss the role the Chair of he BTA has played. Do we see conflict or not.”

In Canada that would be a conflict.

In Barbados it is not a conflict. Advantage Elcock.

Adrian Loveridge Rihanna’s value cannot be measured by the statistics you are showing.

Here music is played in Canada every day several times a day.Her music videos are on TV daily and every time she is interview she mentions she is from BARBADOS.
    She is one of the biggest music industry stars in the world.Look at the Forbes list.

28. If you understand Branding and marketing you would see the value of thr Rihanna BARBADOS link.

Why do you think Coke, Pepsi,Nike constantly putting their name in our face?

The value of Rihanna is over the long term. Short term strategies require copying Sandals marketing strategies. Desperate situations call for desperate actions.

29. @Hants

Thanks for the Marketing 101 but we still have to ask questions. We all agree that Rihanna affords the opportunity to increase brand presence BUT it does not mean we should not question BTA tactics.

there is a continued state of denial. ‘He (the PM) further stated that he was very pleased to hear from the Minister of Tourism, Richard Sealy that the visitor figures looked very good during this Crop Over season’

DOWN 6.5 per cent = ‘very good’

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=31835

30. Our MoT and government along with surrogates are suggesting Rihanna’s campaign will turn around our tourism fortune. Of course they are clueless.
    Have these people said or done ANYTHING so far that makes sense to you David?
    Every week they come with some shiite to distract us from the obvious…..SKIPPA….after the second time Bushie feels that the problem HAVE to be with anyone who actually LISTENS to those jokers.
    Shiite man!
    How many times a man have to fool you before you get it…?

Um is just like those bloggers who keep harping on the promises made in the last elections to ” put money in people’s pockets” on one side…and ” No layoffs” on the next….
    Bushie CANNOT believe that A N Y O N E actually even seriously considered these to be meaningful promises….far less talk about them.

Look, you want to know who has made a MEANINGFUL contribution to the problems facing our tourism recently….

TREVOR MARSHALL
    ….but nobody wants to discuss that beyond cussing him.
    Anyone who thinks that Bajans will take pride in an industry where they see institutionalized white control; reserved exclusive jobs for foreigners; and increasing foreign ownership – has to be a solid brass bowl….

…and if there is NO pride, there will be no growth….
    Problems must be tackled from the ROOT…. Not by a lot of general shiite talk.

31. Now let me see, when was the last time a Police Commissioner from Barbados was banned from travelling to anywhere on Earth!!!!!!

Commissioner Dottin wasn’t banned he was unceremoniously kicked out of his post. tell me the last time a commissioner of police of st lucia was sent packing by the government

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sharon | August 10, 2013 at 4:46 AM |
    “However, all the good that the BTA and ministry officials try to do can be erased by us those of us who litter indiscriminately, harass and rob our visitors and by poor service. The “people” experience is what always attracted repeat visitors to Barbados.”

You have zeroed in on real problem with this destination and the reason it is losing market share.
    Even with her ‘tired’ looks and diminishing visitor attractions Barbados should be able to hold her own in the growing competitive tourism game.

Case in point, is the Oistins Friday Night Lime a well promoted by word-of-mouth outdoor event with no entrance fees charged. Here is where hundreds of captive buyers can be found willing to spend money on food and drinks with much added value to the local economy and the opportunity for visitors to mingle with the locals to experience real Bajan “friendliness” and basic hospitality in simple conversations.

Should the Tourism authorities therefore Not be overly KEEN to ensure that very little is done to mar the experiences of the visitors who might have taken for granted the conviviality expected from the word of mouth promotion and sound bites in advertising media?
    Should the tourism people not be actively eager to protect this gold mine of spend on local things where the multiplier effect does not start and end in overseas bank accounts.

Shouldn’t these officials be rather concerned therefore about the quality and quantity of the facilities to ensure they meet adequate standards of hygiene and availability (convenience) in keeping with proper Health and Safety regulations?

Shouldn’t these same officials be concerned about the growing ‘culture’ of drug pushing and sexual harassment of visitors by both vagrants and the young self-employed businessmen in the illicit trade of drug pushing and sex in exchange for good times compliments of the Bajan gigolos?

You just can’t expect visitors to be confronted on the beaches and on the streets with that kind of pestering and aggressive behaviour during the day and at night no relief from the immoral human mosquitoes lacking in tact and decorum.

If visitors want to see and experience the seedy side of Barbados let it be on their own volition, not pestered 24/7 ad nauseam. We are sure a simple question to any well presented promoter of such ‘services’ about the whereabouts and wherewithal to fulfil such desires would be appropriately answered and services adequately rendered.
    No need to harass innocent people in touting such services.

A bird in the hand is worth two in bush. Don’t be like the dog holding the real thing but through greed went after the shadow of the bone reflecting in the water. You have lost Baxters Rd and St. Lawrence Gap, to some extent.

Don’t let the same thing happen to Oistins.
    Look after the Oistins Night project and let it be one of good memorable experience enjoyed by the visitors and promoted far and wide by word of mouth as a “must see and do” in friendly and safe Barbados.

A word to the wise is sufficient.

Thanks, Sharon, for your pertinent and valuable contribution!

33. Adrian points are being well made ineed only to a few who sees his need to destroy whatever gains barbados has made in tourism business over the years.he will continue his tirade using ST.LUCIA as catalyst until he achieves his objective .adrian has become bitter as his business became a casulty which he blames gov. now on one mission media cmpagain to seal the fate of barbados tourism hence his continual articles to dismiss any benefits as barbados continues to struggle to breathe life into the industry

34. @Bushie

We have a problem and there is no leadership. The PM does not fire anyone, he is going with the flow. To promote a message which addresses a spiritual, moral vacuum in our society will be laughed at like the Sadducees did Jesus at the Temple.

35. @Adrian
    Months ago I issued a challenge to you to come up with YOUR solutions to the prob,lem of ‘according to you, decreasing numbers of “long stay” visitors. You have not risen to the challenge. First of all who do you define as
    long stay” visitors, and why your emphasis on it. Next thing whether you believe it or not whether you accept it or not RiRihanna is a world star, and worth every penny spent on having her promote this island. Every time she performs you are sure to get the attention of at least thirty to forty thousand people/ That amount of promotion costs/ and her audience is world wide, reaching places that are not evenm on the tourism advertising map. People tha t come for a Rihanna concert don’t have to be long stay visitors initially. If they are pleased with what they get the first time they will come again and probably then become long stay visitors. All investments do not bring huge returns in the short tterm. Warren Buffets successful investments are designed to bring in good returns in the long term. You want huge returns in the short term. Can’t happen.

36. Does anyone in the BTA go into town? or any place the tourist travel for that matter? if i was a tourist i would not stay in Barbados for a day. I is feel sorry for them, every time i see a tourist a taxi man is be hounding them down, lol, literally. i serious. every time. every single time. like every corner.

No rest rooms.

No entertainment.

Town shut at 4 in the evening. and Sunday.

Cheffet of kfc, nutting else. no sort of food that different from where them come from.

Roads and buildings all western, no different from where them come from.

no natural attraction.

No venders, only air condition shops

it is be funny, don’t talk about if them walk trough the van stan or bus terminal even worst if its a young white lady…………… i tell ya.

You people know that Barbados only turn into a service economy of white tourist recently, prior we were agriculture and had no problems.

37. Bushie

Hear Hear….Just Askin too…..this thread is a no brainer….come on now ..big able puddin souse Saturday…..and this shiite all that’s left fa a big able man to read…come next after the dooms day budget maybe as a distraction but this ones going nowhere fast…..Rihanna’s mother funeral bill…come on now,.. is BU the next Investigator rag ?

38. To promote a message which addresses a spiritual, moral vacuum in our society will be laughed at like the Sadducees did Jesus at the Temple.
    …as you know David, it is all about the LAST laugh… 🙂

What is really funny now however, is the clearly flawed approaches that we have taken in so many matters; the piss poor, and declining results that we have got; …and our growing commitment to continue with the failed approaches……
    …..but such is the nature of bowls of brass.

39. @Alvin

By your logic (and we use logic advisedly) the BTA government can spend 40 million using Rihanna as the poster girl for Barbados and it would be fine with you. WE the damn taxpayers have a right to question decisions ok? Especially those of us on the Rock. The government PM should respect US (taxpayers) and talk to us.

40. @ ac
    Could you do yourself and everyone else a BIG favor?
    H U S H !

If anyone is succeeding in destroying anything it is you.
    ….besides, why don’t you tell us when you went to St Lucia…. Are you not destroying the truth…?
    LOL Ha Ha …you mean St Lucy …right?

41. We got the Harp gun and the concord. if we were to build a next gen of either of the two. that would do more for putting Barbados name on the globe than all Rihanna combine, teenagers like and follow Rihanna, people wid money like things like the harp gun and concord.

42. Hants | August 10, 2013 at 8:52 AM |

If you understand Branding and marketing you would see the value of the Rihanna BARBADOS link.

Why do you think Coke, Pepsi,Nike constantly putting their name in our face?

Thank you Hants……another breath of sensible air….can’t understand how some are so off key this morning…cheezon !

43. what i don’t get is that where ever Rihanna goes she will be know as a Barbadian. just listen to the way the woman talks. so why spend any money on her at all? i would bet the BTA chairman came up with this idea and Rihanna’s “agent” would of think its a great idea.

44. Onions, we are ALL entitled to our opinions, you can state yours like everybody see. As stated earlier we all agree that hitching to the Rihanna brand is useful BUT it does not preclude taxpayers right to question decisions of the BTA and government. Have you gotten that into your skull yet?

And if BU is Investigator like what it to you?

45. OMG…………..OMG………..OMG ….sorry for failing to remember who is BU nigga chum..like days of frigg you AGAIN… and BANDS soon comin but I cun give 2 brass bowls ….plain a simple

46. I see Loveridge as part of the solution, sorry. Anyone who “has done” is qualified to say what ever the hell he wants… But that is only my opinion

47. should be…boss NIGGA………..and I wish you would find out who dropping key words from my exerts..EVA TIME.

48. @onions

Like ac you are a LIAR when you write about BU banning. The issues you had on the past with BU is you were posting using multiple monikers. BU always uses discretion but you continue to show disrespect to what we are trying to do. You can go and fly a kite.

49. here is one for wanna.

The court documents claim “acting by her agent Mr. Adrian Elcock”. one question comes to mind. does this agent have a company? if so, who are the directors in this company? but that is not taxpayers business now is it?

you can’t make this stuff up.

50. @ Bush tea
    If he can’t even generate growth in his little mock hotel what exactly qualifies him to have answers to the BTA failures….? Bushie would be a lot more open to his thesis if Peach and Quiet was a roaring success looking to take over Almond or Four Seasons.
    ””””””””””””””
    Bush you can write a roll of shoite , not so with the above quote. Bush you capture Loveridge acute lack of credibility in that paragraph. The bankrupt peach and quiet man is a bitter failure of a clown yet he refuses to stop using bogus figures from other islands to put down Barbados.
    Advise from loveridge cannot be taken under any circumstances. Loveridge could not even successfully run one of those little rooms at Vine and Nelson Streets that rents for $30 an hour after midnight. Where is Tom Adams when you need him.