Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin

News reaching BU indicates that Commissioner Darwin Dottin has been sent on administrative leave. Given the recent development that a Deputy Commissioner was being selected without the input from Dottin provided a clue that sanction against Dottin was in the offing. A few weeks ago we also learned that Dottin had to return from vacation because his recommendation of the person to act while he was on leave was declined by the Public Service Commission.

Stay tuned!

413 responses to “Commissioner Darwin Dottin Leaves…”

1. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

LASH BACK

Added by Barbados Today on June 19, 2013.
    Saved under Uncategorized

blphqafterelections
    FLASHBACK: BLP parliamentary group at February 25 meeting which is now the subject of a law suit brought by veteran MP George Payne QC (right) against fellow attorney and first timer in the House of Assembly Edmund Hinkson (left).

Opposition Leader Mia Mottley has been accused of deliberately undermining the chances of the Barbados Labour Party in the February 21 general election.

This damning charge, contained in an affidavit lodged in the High Court last Friday by St. James North MP Edmund Hinkson, alleged that at a meeting held at the BLP’s Roebuck Street, St. Michael headquarters on February 25, St. Andrew MP George Payne said Mottley assisted the Democratic Labour Party in the election.

The affidavit noted that Payne accused Mottley of “treacherous and disloyal” conduct by aiding defeated DLP candidate Irene Sandiford-Garner in her campaign against him.

“He specifically accused Ms Mottley of putting one of her vehicles at the disposal of Irene Sandiford-Garner for use during the campaign,” Hinkson’s affidavit read.

Hinkson’s affidavit is a response to a lawsuit for defamation brought by Payne against him on April 25. Hinkson, an attorney-at-law, also stated that Payne accused Mottley of assisting the DLP in their campaign against St. Joseph MP Dale Marshall. The document indicated Mottley vehemently denied Payne’s accusations.

Hinkson also charged that at the meeting Payne accused Mottley of stealing party funds.

Supporting the cause at post-election meeting: Dwight Sutherland, George Payne and Cynthia Forde. New MP Edmund Hinkson gets a hug from colleague Kerre Symmonds.
    New MP Edmund Hinkson gets a hug from colleague Kerre Symmonds.

“During the meeting personal insults were traded between many of those present. The claimant [Payne], himself, accused Ms. Mottley, who is herself a long standing member of Parliament, a Queen’s Counsel, former Leader of the Opposition and the main contender for re-election as Leader of the Opposition, of criminal conduct.

“Specifically, he alleged that she had embezzled funds from the BLP during her previous tenure as Leader of the Opposition during the period January, 2008, and October, 2010, and had used these monies for her own purposes and placed them in accounts for her own benefit,” Hinkson said.

Hinkson stated that it was following Payne’s “scurrilous accusations” against Mottley and in the heated setting of the meeting, that he “in a normal tone of voice” responded to Payne’s attack on Mottley.

Hinkson denied using the defamatory language of which he is accused by Payne but admitted that he did tell him that he “had no moral authority to accuse anyone of dishonorable conduct or to speak ill about the leadership of the Barbados Labour Party.”

Hinkson denied that he called Payne “a crook and a criminal” at the meeting, but admitted that he told him that he was not fit to be a Member of Parliament based on his conduct “and that in some countries he would be in prison therefor”.

He acknowledged he said that as a Queen’s Counsel and BLP chairman, Payne had been involved in “fraudulent conduct” during the campaign to select a candidate for the St. James North seat which was vacated by former MP Rawle Eastmond.

“The defendant contends that words spoken by him were relevant to the proceedings in that it was a legitimate reply to the attack on Ms. Mottley’s suitability and fitness for the office which she sought. It is contended, further, that it was a valid commentary on the claimant’s credibility since the members present may have relied on the claimant’s allegations in rejecting Ms. Mottley’s candidacy for the post of Leader of the Opposition.

“Alternatively, the defendant contends that in the circumstances of this discordant meeting during which rancor, insults and accusations were hurled by some members against each other, his words, in so far as they went beyond what was necessary to respond to the attack made on Ms. Mottley, constituted no more than mere vulgar abuse,” Hinkson stated.

Hinkson contended that though the words used by him were reasonably capable of being understood out of context and to bear a defamatory meaning, they were not in fact understood to convey any criminal imputation or bear any meaning defamatory of the claimant in the circumstances in which they were “spoken and published”.

Supporting the cause at post-election meeting: Dwight Sutherland, George Payne and Cynthia Forde.

In his claim for damages, costs and injunction against Hinkson repeating the alleged defamatory comments, Payne charged Hinkson said: “You are a crook and a criminal; you are a big Queen’s Counsel and you committed fraud; you are totally unfit to be a member of parliament; you ain’t got any right here; you should be in prison.”

Payne stated that he felt humiliated, depressed and embarrassed by Hinkson’s comments which he described as totally untruthful. He said he had never had such damaging accusations made against him nor was he privy to any conduct on his part which would warrant such a damaging assessment of his character.

In Hinkson’s affidavit he said Payne was a “hands on campaign manager” during the process to select a BLP candidate for St. James North and the St. Andrew MP “took an active part in meeting eligible voters and fraudulently attempting to convert them into card carrying members of the BLP by collecting names and falsifying and/or causing to be falsified at least 75 BLP membership application forms”.

“Those forms were filled out in the name of persons registered to vote in the St. James North constituency. The forms contained the forged signatures of the alleged applicants and were filled out, signed and submitted without their knowledge, approval and/or consent between the period October, 2008 and October, 2009 or thereabouts.”

Hinkson noted that some of the falsified forms were submitted to the BLP secretariat and as a consequence Payne himself or “working with others” caused BLP membership cards to be fraudulently issued in the names of at least 75 registered voters without their knowledge, approval and/or consent.

He added that contrary to usual BLP practice, many of the 75 cards were not presented to the individuals in whose names they were issued, but were held by Payne and/or by persons acting with his knowledge and permission.

Hinkson noted that these allegations were true in substance and in fact. He also noted that his actions were not as a result of malice and added he had good and reasonable bases on which to believe that what he had said were true. Hinkson said his comments were relevant to the business, purpose and issues of the meeting. Hinkson noted that through attorney Sir Richard Cheltenham Q.C., he had offered a satisfactory apology and suitable amends to Payne in a letter dated March 19, 2013.

In any event, Hinkson contended that “in the context of the purpose of the meeting, it was an occasion which attracted the protection of qualified privilege. As such the proceedings of the meeting and statements made in the course of it are protected by privilege”. (WG/RRM)

2. @ David

Are you sure the Chief of Staff of the Defence force is retiring on a full pension at age 50. I know our political leaders are nutcases, but if true this will be ridiculous.
    Let us assume he started work at age 22, after university, that would mean a working life of 28 years; assume he is going to live a normal working life to age 85, that will mean 35 years pensions for 28 years work.
    Let us also assume he is fit and relatively healthy, as a serving soldier, and got another job – say part-time, two days a week – are we asking ordinary tax payers to pay this man that kind of money.
    When are our leaders going to see sense?
    Plse tell me this is not true?

3. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

My God this George Payne and Edmund Hinkson matter not only smells nasty but if you look carefully you will see that this is probably a thinly veneered plot to unseat Mia, again.

4. @Hal

BU does not post deliberate untruths. The retired heads from the police and BDF will find cushy jobs in regional security organizations.

5. @the Dummy

Yes it does not look good but what is good is that it being dealt with sooner rather than later. Of course the delight shown by DLPites is understood.

6. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

These are serious allegations, if true, and I am sure they are being placed so as to have maximum damaging effect against the present Leader of the Opposition.

7. Is it 50 David?
    Was the Brigadier not in his 60’s?

8. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Good, but for whom or for what, the BLP? It certainly is not good for the present LoO, that is for sure. A case is going to be made at some stage in the future that under Mia, the BLP constantly in turmoil and divided and either Ms Mottley or OSA needs to be sent out to pasture.

9. @Bush Tea

It was changed when the new pension arrangement were put in place. Surely Caswell can confirm.

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hal

David did mislead you a bit in regards to a pension for the Chief of Staff of the BDF. Soldiers and officers become eligible for full pension after 15 years service any time after age 45 years.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I recall a comment I made on this blog just after the elections saying that the BLP is blaming traitors within the party for their defeat.

12. @ Caswell
    That is even worse. I accept that a 45 year old wo/man may not be able to run around as an active soldier, as in the UK, but to access a full pension at that age is ludicrous.
    The pension should be based on 29 yrs active service (from age 16) and be a 29/45 or pro rata. The pressures on a soldier are no different to those on an active police officer or prison officer.
    At age 45 they should be re-trained to join the police, prison service or Coastguard.
    Although jobs are not guaranteed, such a policy does not diminish Britain

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hal

You are preaching to the converted: we hold similar views on this subject.

Members of Parliament qualify for full pensions at age 50 after 12 years service, at a rate of two-thirds of the highest salary that they had received. Before I mislead, that does not apply to the PM, he qualifies off a similar pension after serving for one day.

14. @ Caswell

Not preaching at all, just typing with an open mouth that our leaders are so greedy and our fellow citizens so silly.
    The prime minister and governor general get a 100 per cent pension.
    Now these are two highly respected positions which follow a successful career; why should they get a 100 per cent pension?
    I have said before that MPs should get a resettlement grant on losing their seats of no more than six months’ pay, so should the governor general and prime minister.
    There should be a hardship fund if they fall on hard time, otherwise that is it.
    I have also asked for the current MPs to voluntarily cut their pay to show they understand the pain of ordinary people; not a single one has volunteered.
    It tells us everything we need to know about our leaders.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Give us a break | June 19, 2013 at 1:53 AM |

You are on fire.

Much of this was talked about here on Barbados Underground, but the BLP apologists would always try their best to deny it.

16. old onion bags Avatar

When a man starts talking to himself ..two things are either possible..ONE he is either lonely and in need of sex..or TOO…..he gone madd and a brassbowl….Oh Losss! Break for C’s

17. old onion bags Avatar

By the way ….when a Dummy Too……dumo @ ac

18. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Caswell,

Correct me if I am wrong, don’t the politicians (not the PM, he only has to serve one day) get HALF their salary after EIGHT years? Wasn’t this part of the changes after the massive proposed salary increases in 2011?

19. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Maybe Mia knew if the BLP lost that Owen would step down as leader of the BLP and now she would be the leader of the BLP. So ,that is how she may have put her self ahead of the BLP to win , After which then the person she help to win on the DLP ,would have won , Then switch party in the end to give them a lead in the house , There by given that Person a position in her new government ?

Well the case my have them all telling on each other , It will give us all a real looking in side of the crooks heads as they eat each other.
    Now we just have to wait to see who paid and bought VOTES and where the money came from , To look to find out by the number that will not add up with their words. Audit the words and the Money..
    Crooks VS CROOKS , By the Numbers People

20. Hinkson has always wanted a place in the diplomatic corp, and now the political alternative has come a little late in life. This will very well be a trump play that has been placed before him, an all or nothing play, and should he win this, he would have a very real possibility to leap frog just about all others before him for leadership of the Party, even ahead of a tarnished Mottley and Simmonds (a cross over).

… I is a political annalist now … as if I actually do care about any of this … stupse

21. @Baffy. I think you have hit the nail on the head. Again. However, I have heard from members of the brethern that have seen the Hinckson SOD that it is merely a tissue of unfounded and unprovable and scandalous, malicious accusations that do not address the Payne complaint at all. IF this reading is correct (and I have not seen the SOD, but have every confidence in my informants) then there is something even more sinister at play.

And that is that we have to consider that Hinckson may be hiding behind the privilege that attaches to court proceedings in order to make scandalous accusations that he cannot prove, without having to face the probability of his being exposed as a liar and also the massive legal costs and damages that would accrue against him.

I don’t know about you, but I find it extremely worrying that the courts may now be being manipulated as a cheap and easy means of sleezy electioneering where you pay costs and damages of maybe $200,000, but are afforded the opportunity of advancing your political career by those means, instead of paying the millions it would cost if you did it without the assistance of the courts.

Therefore, if the allegations about the SOD are correct, and I see no reason why they would not be, it is to be hoped that they manage to pull a judge at the case management hearing who is not as incompetent as the rest and who will spot the danger, strike out the statement of defense on the basis that it is frivilous and vexatious and fails to address the complaint – and who has the balls to condemn such gutter tactics and the attempt to involve the courts in them, in the roundest possible terms.

But then again, pigs might fly and the politicizing of the courts by David Simmons is still well and healthy and I see no indication that PM and CJ have yet grown a set of balls to deal with it.

22. Plantation………..you are so close you are burning up, I am waiting patiently for that thread.

23. The defense of “I called you a …….” because you called me one first is a bit comical two grown men can’t put aside their respective egos for the sake of the greater good and this is why Mia tried to get her own people on board as she knew people like “talkative” George and “doofus” Marshall would not be in her corner, a pox on all their houses.

Imagine a newly elected BLP member and you walk into a buzz saw of these clowns shouting at each other, the DLP intra Party feud seems to be a picnic when compared to the shenanigans going on in the BLP, and this is the alternative Gov’t?

The issue of Hinkson/Payne should be in a new thread as we have entered a new era in Bajan politics and Dottin seems to be relegated to an afterthought.

24. I am sitting here eagerly awaiting to see if charges will be filed against the officers that put the reputation/integrity of the Police Service Commission before the Court.

25. Amused

Cool … But this was a situation that was presented to Hinkson to make use of. I do not think he has the ability to plan something like this from the outset … (just made the observation for completeness that’s all)

26. This has nothing whatsoever to do with Hinkson and Payne, everyone knows that. These two clowns are just the puppets, the real puppet masters are OSA and MAM.
    She will NEVER be allowed to settle as LoO and the BLP will kept in a constant and deteriotating state of confusion, that is the plan.

27. Her own people set her up on the PAC. I notice OSA was not present during the now infamous PAC meeting where Public Servantswere wrongly questioned and interrogated in a public forum.

28. the Democratic Labor Party Destruction of BARBADOS
    coming to a theater
    near you
    the center of confusion
    Po Po under pressure
    Criminals laughing
    White people laughing
    Blacks cant manage
    yagga yagga yagga yo
    yagga does it again
    dumbfounds the critics
    confuse the detractors
    or is it
    dumbfound the detractors
    confuse the critics
    kiss you tail Dumb and Dumo

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

yagga rowe

There is enough confusion in the BLP to keep you occupied for the next ten years, you should deal with that.

The blog owner tried to deflect it as well but he did not succeed.

This could not happen to a better party.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/06/19/lash-back/

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | June 19, 2013 at 1:25 PM

Copied from Yagga Rowe.
    “White people laughing
    Blacks cant manage..”

Carson, you feel white people laughing at the BLP too?
    Man Carson, if these white people don’t keep their mouths shut and stop criticizing the DLP you can always silence them by threats of “cracking” heads and “killing” most of them, not so Carson, boy? Or are you like a true blooded nigger congenitally scared of whites and psychologically programmed to dare not stand up to them?

We can just imagine you Carson- despite all the filthy insulting remarks you level at Adrian Loveridge on this blog- if you were to, by accident, come into his presence you would dare not open your mouth far less look him right in the eye but just back away shuffling you feet and look down to the ground like a true field nigger in the rare presence of his master.

All of that big talk you black boys in government have is just that; empty bravado.
    That same ugly gargantuan of an idiot called Jones reminds us of that character played by Samuel L. Jackson in the movie “Django Unchained” a true well trained and obedient house nigger keen as flash to kill his own colour just to appease his massa.

31. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Bush Tea | June 19, 2013 at 6:47 AM |
    Is it 50 David?
    Was the Brigadier not in his 60′s?
    …………………………………………………………
    If the conditions of service in the BDF is modeled on the British Army, then length of service is the overriding factor, rather than ones age. If a solder/officer has done 22 years unbroken service, he/she is entitled to a full pension ,even though he /she may be only 40 years old, having enlisted at the age of 18.
    Those like me who have served , less that 18/22 years, must wait until the age of 60 to receive a pension.

32. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Copied from Yagga Rowe.
    “White people laughing
    Blacks cant manage..”
    —————————————————
    Like in the old plantation days , the real agronomists and planters were the black ‘labour force’,who ensured that crops were planted on time,service and maintained, but it was the semi-illiterate bloke on the horse back wearing a cork hat who was given the credit.
    Nothing has changed these days, and if you walk into one of those air-conditioned plantations in Bridgetown or Warrens you will find that the people who are really running those businesses, are our very own blacks, who have fell victim to the merchants and plantocracy years of Rent-a-brain experience , where many of our graduates coming out of the degree mill on the hill, prefer to line up outside the doors of Cow ,Bizzy or the Goddards, seeking out a job ,rather than serve the people ,honestly and fairly,who financed their education.

33. @ David
    Kindly edit the ‘ n’ word from comments
    Your blog is international and should be politically correct

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ NEW BLOOD | June 19, 2013 at 2:38 PM

What “N” word, what? That is what black people called other black people all the time; especially if they are stupid.
    The same way Rihanna says Bajans like to refer to each other using the “C” word.

If you want to be politically correct the tell David to “censor” all the homophobic nonsense and anti-foreigner/white man histrionics and closeted hang ups aired on this blog. Some even call for the burning of fags!

How can it be politically correct for a brazen full-mouth idiot to get up in the highest court of the land and call for people who are opposed to how their business is being conducted by their appointed servants to be subject to State sponsored violence involving cracking heads and killing people and still continue as a minister of the crown?
    Don’t you also think such pronouncements went international and viral at that?

Is that political correctness or banana republicanism? Let us hear your view on that!

Agree, N B? After all ‘fair is fair’ in love and war.

Look into the mirror and to your own people be true, even if it means calling a bloody spade a black spade!

35. I already told ya’ll that the N word is the name of a white fish with blue or pink eyes, albino looking and only found in Africa, a white fish that is albino looking, i have seen it.

36. old onion bags Avatar

Miller….that was class, again true class…..David he classy…onions aspiring…lol

37. old onion bags Avatar

How come the Miller don’t write for U ????

38. Onions , Miller, the blog owner,Caswell Franklyn and assorted BLP yardfowls trying to derail the Payne, Hinckson bombshell train talking nonsense about the “n” word and retirement at 50.
    The explosion between Hinckson and Payne has the potential to implode the BLP or at least cause a by election, a bankruptcy, a disbarment or a jail term.

39. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

If two government MPS had made the kind of accusations against each other and their leader as Hinkson and Payne have said about each other and as Payne said about Mottley, The Nation newspaper and its BLP surrogates Albert Branford , Pat Hoyos and company would have been writing until their hands were sore.
    No one at the Nation will even raise any questions about this. Where is the balance and why is the Nation newspaper so negative towards one party while showing such obvious bias for Mottley ?

It is also interesting that along with Arthur, now Payne is suggesting that Mottley embezzled the BLP’S MONEY.
    There are more questions than answers but the Nation will never touch this, they will put pictures of their favourite MP posing for the camera on a jet ski. That is what journalism at the Nation has become.

Even CBC is raising the bar with a little more balance but the Nation newspaper sees itself as an extension of the opposition, That is not the role of a newspaper in our democracy.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Musing | June 19, 2013 at 5:25 PM
    “The explosion between Hinckson and Payne has the potential to implode the BLP or at least cause a by election, a bankruptcy, a disbarment or a jail term.”

So let it be! Truth & Justice must prevail!
    If only similar results can come about with regard to Leroy Parris and CLICO!
    Oh how the angels of justice in heaven would rejoice!

You get where the miller is coming from?

41. @ the Miller

I am not so sure that I know from whence you are coming with your statement. . . . . . .quote: ” So let it be! Truth & Justice must prevail!
    If only similar results can come about with regard to Leroy Parris and CLICO!” But I can presume where you would like to go with it,

BTW, did you complete the above statement or did you really mean to ask……..”…….with regard to LP, CLICO, the dead king and the fumbles”?
    Kindly make it plain as I am not very literate! 🙂

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de hood | June 19, 2013 at 6:10 PM

The miller would like to see the liars and crooks and their political associates who violate the trust of the people get their just desserts.
    If it means public exposure and humiliation or even jail in the case of Greeverbs, by all means let Justice reign!

43. Alvin….here is some more information on the fraudulently high interests rates CLICO was knowingly offering it’s unaware policyholders/victims….

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Subhas-Bill-better-late-than-never-212080771.html

44. there are a few persons who write on this site that you can learn from. Too much name calling and petty ignorance.
    Caswell is one of the fellows that I think writes sensibly.

45. Cin Cin

I glad you ain’ call my name … cause I din’ wan’ ta have ta change my medication again …

46. old onion bags Avatar

@ Musing

Well at least according to Sen. Hunte.today, at least I glad dat I can still stand up firm ….and aint no blubba-dubbba-dubba….dubba….But Reggie wha is da elucidate man? He like he went to st.Giles…the last time I hear dat

47. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Poll Results
    What is your reaction to Darwin Dottin being removed as Commissioner of Police?
    Thank you for voting in this poll.
    Agree140 votes
    63.64%
    Disagree64 votes
    29.09%
    Undecided11 votes
    5%
    Don’t care5 votes
    2.27%
    Total Votes: 220

48. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Source: Nation News – Online Poll

64% agree he want firing.

49. @the dummy

You ignorant semi-literate nincompoop. It is not a question of whether or not the CoP should be terminated but rather the manner in which it was done. Do those now in authority know of something called humane treatment or compassion for fellow human being? No, it certinly does not seem so. It seems that all they know is to abuse whatsoever power they hold for the moment. We should all remember that fate has no favourites. In other words we should stop and think that “but for the grace of God there go I”. If you want to prove that you are not semi-literate as I claim you will knmow what I am saying by that quotation. Perhaps though, you have chosen the best nom de plume for yourself.

50. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

de hood

It’s not my poll, if you want someone blame then contact the Nation newspaper. It just posted it to should that the vast majority of online readers of the Nation Online agreed he wanted firing.