Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin

News reaching BU indicates that Commissioner Darwin Dottin has been sent on administrative leave. Given the recent development that a Deputy Commissioner was being selected without the input from Dottin provided a clue that sanction against Dottin was in the offing. A few weeks ago we also learned that Dottin had to return from vacation because his recommendation of the person to act while he was on leave was declined by the Public Service Commission.

Stay tuned!

413 responses to “Commissioner Darwin Dottin Leaves…”

1. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Political interference and the underhanded machinations cannot be good for the morale of the RPBF. I guess Jones’ statement would have even deeper implications including page 53 of the DLP’s 2013 Manifesto. We truly need to strengthen our institutions and bring a stronger sense of independence to prevail alongside principles of social justice and rule of law. Even with the difficulties, one wonders how the RBPF caould have been so praised for good work last week in the House of Assembly, and in less than one week, it is as if there is scant respect for the Commissioner? Will a divided (more) RBPF result?

2. Perhaps now we will get an explanation about the alleged wiretapping.

3. Maybe this is to make room for a Commissioner more willing to shoot people and crack heads that this one.

Actions speak louder than words.

4. browne girl in ah ring Avatar
    browne girl in ah ring

I hope that we can get some wiretapping files falling off trucks to see who de thiefing ass politicians and high ranking civil servants asking for payments from investors are.

5. David Thompson Avatar

DLP is shameful and we now now why de toilets at parliament always clogged up. Bare shite in parliament for poor rakey

6. Robin Hood & Leroy Parris Avatar
    Robin Hood & Leroy Parris

Something is happening in Barbados, a blind man can see and a deaf man can hear it. Don`t worry I have all confidence in Freundel as he is a sleeping genius who is a deep thinker for a captain.

7. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

iT COULD NOT HAPEN TO A BETTER PERSON, this man was a nasty operator a puppet of Mottley and Arthur. well done rid of of this corrupt bastard. now the tapes he had made of the officers he feared and Bertie Hinds and Len Broome will be made evidence.

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Simple Simon

I keep saying that you are not as simple as you pretend. Those were my sentiments exactly. Mind you, I am not saying that the Acting Commissioner, Mr. Tyrone Griffith, would do any such thing.

I don’t think that you would be getting any information about wiretapping. Mr. Dottin is not being charged with any offence: the Police Service Commission has advised the Governor-General that he should be retired in the public interest. In turn the GG has directed the PSC to provide him with copies off (sic) all statements and other evidence which was considered by the PSC in reaching its decision within 21 days of today’s date (17 June 2013).

Dottin then has another 28 days to show the GG why he should not be retired. In the meantime, he is placed on something called administrative leave until further notice.

I have never seen such incompetence in my life. Firstly, there is no such thing in the Public Service as administrative leave. The letter was not on Personnel Administration Division’s letterhead and signed by the Chairman instead of the Chief Personnel Officer. However, what is of more importance, the third paragraph of the letter suggest that the Governor-General was an active participant in the exercise which would be in conflict with section 96 of the Constitution.

The GG is only supposed to act on the advice of the PSC and even if he had offered suggestions, they should not have been put in a letter. Assuming that the letter is accurate, this would be grounds for the removal of the GG.

Let the fireworks begin: Dottin will be the only winner in this matter. I hope that he does something positive with all that money that they are going to pay him in the end. And by positive I mean contribute some to me.

9. NEWS FLASH
    The Guardian reports:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2012/apr/18/britain-destroyed-records-colonial-crimes

Britain destroyed records of colonial crimes
    Quote:
    Thousands of documents detailing some of the most shameful acts and crimes committed during the final years of the British empire were systematically destroyed to prevent them falling into the hands of post-independence governments, an official review has concluded.

Those papers that survived the purge were flown discreetly to Britain where they were hidden for 50 years in a secret Foreign Office archive, beyond the reach of historians and members of the public, and in breach of legal obligations for them to be transferred into the public domain.
    (…)
    The papers at Hanslope Park include monthly intelligence reports on the “elimination” of the colonial authority’s enemies in 1950s Malaya; records showing ministers in London were aware of the torture and murder of Mau Mau insurgents in Kenya, including a case of a man said to have been “roasted alive”; and papers detailing the lengths to which the UK went to forcibly remove islanders from Diego Garcia in the Indian Ocean.

However, among the documents are a handful which show that many of the most sensitive papers from Britain’s late colonial era were not hidden away, but simply destroyed. (…)

When a single watch file was to be removed from a group of legacy files, a “twin file” – or dummy – was to be created to insert in its place. (…)

Many of the watch files ended up at Hanslope Park. They came from 37 different former colonies, and filled 200 metres of shelving. But it is becoming clear that much of the most damning material was probably destroyed. Officials in some colonies, such as Kenya, were told that there should be a presumption in favour of disposal of documents rather than removal to the UK – “emphasis is placed upon destruction” – and that no trace of either the documents or their incineration should remain. When documents were burned, “the waste should be reduced to ash and the ashes broken up”.

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Give us a Break

How is Mr. Dottin corrupt? He is not the police officer whose nephew was caught with a gun, bullets and dope, and who had the evidence buried. No charges were ever filed.

11. @Caswell

Shall we conclude you have had sight of the letter sent by the PSC to Dottin?

12. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You conclude correctly.

13. Government admits Kenyans were tortured and sexually abused by colonial forces during Mau Mau uprising
    Nairobi : Kenya | Jul 17, 2012 at 8:59 AM PDT SOURCE: THE INDEPENDENT.

The British government admitted publicly for the first time today that Kenyans were tortured and sexually abused by colonial forces during the Mau Mau uprising. The starling admission came as a trio of elderly Kenyans stood up in court to describe how they were beaten, castrated and sexually assaulted… FULL ARTICLE AT THE INDEPENDENT.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Mau Mau fighters raped, castrated and beaten in Kenya’s uprising against Britain get £14million compensation but no apology

The UK government is to pay £14million in compensation to elderly Kenyans tortured by British colonial forces, but Foreign Secretary William Hague today stopped short of issuing an apology.
    With legal fees, the total bill for the brutal treatment of thousands of prisoners tortured and raped under colonial rule will reach almost £20million.
    Mr Hague told MPS the the British Government continued to deny liability for what happened during the uprising as he only conceded ‘we understand the pain and grievance felt by those who were involved’.
    Negotiations began after a London court ruled in October that three elderly Kenyans, who suffered castration, rape and beatings while in detention during a crackdown by British forces and their Kenyan allies in the 1950s, could sue Britain.
    The torture took place during the so-called Kenyan ‘Emergency’ of 1952-60, when fighters from the Mau Mau movement attacked British targets, causing panic among white settlers and alarming the government in London.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2336418/Mau-Mau-fighters-raped-castrated-beaten-Kenyas-uprising-Britain-14million-compensation-apology.html#ixzz2WXW0dIFd
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook.

14. Caswell, I warn you about buggING and learning a thing or two about espionage as well as counter intelligence. Something is happening the BDF and Police eager to use de two Land Rover pigs Miss Tudor Johhny sold them when he was as BS&T

15. @akonu | June 18, 2013 at 12:40 AM

No disrespect, but you posted it the wrong place. You chose the wrong thread to post this in. It is an important topic but it will get lost in this thread. It just interrupted the flow of this topic.

16. I truly hope that we are not becoming like some of our neighbouring islands, that is when the Government changes the Commissioner knows his place and thats to tender his resignation or be fired.
    I can imagine what they would have done with him if they didnt praise the force recently.
    We must really admire this Government and its Service Commission….. The most confusion in the history of Barbados.
    The force will still be divided throughout all this mess.
    One wonders what will happen if the BLP ever got back in power and made Dottin the Chairman of the Service Commission.

17. I heard via the grapevine that the cops in Barbados would pull fairly hard on the testicles of suspects to obtain a quick confession. It is clear that the cop in Barbados learned these tactics from their former colonial masters .All reports suggest that the British enjoyed busting the nuts ( balls) in the colonies .

18. De DLP needs exorcism with all this they getting yardfowls to do while they laugh behind the scene. The police force will be divided. Is this the same hot tempered Griffith who struck a junior officer who was investigating him surrounding a car racket.

19. @David, expect your blog to be targeted for closure as a henchman is now at the helm. Weak people always appoint compromised individuals to do their dirty work.

20. @David. I am amazed (and amused) by the record numbers of new people commenting on this particular thread. Many clearly with involvement in the issue, either pro or con. I am also amused by the implied threat that BU can be expected to be closed down – as if WordPress is a Barbados entity to start with. This seems to me to demonstrate both the arrogance and the stupidity that has blighted the operation of the justice system (in which I include the RBPF) for many years and in the process turned Barbados into an international laughing stock.

I am delighted that Dottin is gone. Not before time. He took his incompetence to its dizzy height last year when he exposed not only himself, but the RBPF and the entire country to international ridicule over that rape case and, instead of keeping his moronic mouth shut, issued a statement the blinding stupidity of which was so great that it too got international coverage. For that alone, he deserved to be fired, not to mention the other bits of arrant and arrogant stupidity that littered his career as CoP.

Now it is time to fire his cohort in the rape debacle, that inept and inane Director of Public Prosecutions, Charles Leacock. Then, the Solicitor General. Then 90% of the judiciary, staring with Mr Justice Olson Alleyne. BUT, most important of all, to instantly fire the Registrar Marva Clarke. Only then will Barbados start the long road to recovery of reputation, foreign investments and pride. Pay the pensions and get rid of them…..these idiots are causing far more economic harm than the payment of their pensions could possibly cause.

Whatever role the DLP may have played in this removal of Dottin the Dolt, I applaud.

21. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

I anticipate that over the next few days there will be mass celebrations at every station in the island; sick officers will swiftly locate better health; smiles will return to the faces of hundreds; going to work will not seem so futile; birds will start to sing above stations; bees will buzz with delight [not all Bees though]; the grass will look greener; the sky over stations will no longer always seem dark; pudding and souse on Saturdays will taste better; going to Church will make sense again; and it will be safe to go outside. A wretched, festering cancer is finally gone.

When a country has a bad Commissioner of Police there can still be hope because he can learn to improve. But when a country has a corrupt Commissioner of Police the sooner the Government gets rid of him the better. And no volume of public relations by his allies in the media should deter a government from taking action in the interest of the state. Indeed, any media that offers sanctuary to such a felon perpetuates that corruption. Cases in point. A man kills his second victim through dangerous driving. He is investigated by highly competent professionals who recommend that he be charged for taking human life. Result – nothing. He escapes sanction because he is the cousin of a Commissioner of Police and brother of an assistant commissioner of police. The deceased means nothing to either gentlemen. But it gets worse. The competent investigator is victimised for doing his job and resigns in frustration at the lack of justice for the deceased and his family. This is not the action of a bad Commissioner of Police; this is a corrupt Commissioner of Police. 
    A teenager is raped. She can identify her attacker. The initial investigator botches up the case so badly that she fabricates a tale that the rape victim no longer wants action in the matter to cover her own incompetence. Her untruth is discovered by a supervisor who recommends that she be charged disciplinary and the matter properly looked into. Result – nothing. The female investigator escapes sanction because of a sexual relationship with the Commissioner of Police; the file is quietly closed, the rape victim gets no justice and the rapist, three years later, has never been charged. The supervisor resigns in disgust because the rape victim has received no justice. A bad Commissioner of Police was not responsible for this; a corrupt Commissioner of Police was.
    Sadly, such incidents are not the exception, they are the rule. 
    Corruption is not only to be found at the bottom of the social ladder, or the middle for that matter. It is to be found at the top. But when it is any Commissioner of Police, it should be nipped in the bud with dispatch. And only criminal charges, not disciplinary ones, should be brought.
    There might be a hue and cry from the uninformed and media spin and political double-speak but the truth will win out. Why? the victims of this corrupt Commissioner of Police will have their day in the court of public opinion. As there is a God above.

22. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Also bear in mind that Dottin had documents generated to create the fraud that he was more qualified for the job than he was so that’s could have been installed by Mottley in the post, it was because of his closeness to Mottley that he was used by Mottley in their political espionage of eavesdropping on those that were believed not to be supportive of the power hungry Mottley, it was a nasty period living under Mottley pre 2008 as the need to have power by herself and Arthur was paramount and she was prepared to break the law for that desire for power, let me say to you Caswell if you want to listen to my private phone calls the commissioner of Police needed to have sought permission from a judge in chambers rather than tapping private citizens phones at the request of Mottley to do so in my books both Dottin and Mottley should be sent to prison for these nasty low life actions neither is any better than the other they both nasty low life persons with no morals or no decency.
    Let them both rot in prison where they both deserve to reside for a long long time.

23. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Maybe yet another reason for Arthur to return to bring order to the BLP or to jettison Mottley in preference to Marshall for leadership one cannot have someone like Mottley who is prepared to break the law to setup Dottin to wiretap ordinary citizens of this island only because she was of the belief that they were not supporters of the BLP it is both immoral and disgusting and dishonest of both she and Dottin to have carried out these acts of intrusion of privacy that every honest Barbadian is entitled to.

But then again a Mottley is involved and honesty is not something that resonates with her nor her family.

24. The suspension of the commissioner of police Darwin Dottin is further evidence, if that were needed, that governance in Barbados is out of control.
    Those people fortunate enough to work under other regimes must be quaking in their boots at the lack of basic management skills – in fact of common good manners – in the way he was treated and now sent on gardening leave.
    The message it sends to other senior public service managers is that they too are in the firing line and if they do not behave in an acceptable way, they run the risk of public humiliation.
    Mr Dottin’s professional marginalisation is not just the outcome of incompetence, viciousness and animosity at the very highest level of society, it is all that and more.
    Worse it breeds and encourages corruption by public officers on the basis that if they are likely to be sacked any moment, then they must make of their positions as much as they can.
    Further, office holders, fearing that someone may be out to get them for a slight they committed as school children, may be out to seek revenge decades later.
    This is the culture of savagery, the kind of blood revenge that reaches across centuries in some Mediterranean and Middle Eastern societies. It is primitivism, a culture that has failed, one that is regressing to the stone age.
    I know of one example of two of out leading men, both now in their eighth decades, who as school boys at Harrison College had a row and have not spoken to each other since then – even though both have risen to the very top of Barbadian society.
    This common public sector management style is straight out of the dark ages, it is savagery most vile, it denies people of any personal or professional dignity – especially in a small, unforgiving society.
    This is Stalinisation at its worst, even the old Soviet Union would have been shamed by this crude example of pettiness and point scoring.
    It is but one example of why some overseas Barbadians would only visit the country but would never entertain the thought of ever becoming involved in the nation’s public life.
    If people lose faith in our institutions of state they lose faith in our democracy.

25. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Hal. Austin what breed of jackass or mule are you, because your beloved leader set him up in position to throw his weight around while being given cover by the same power hungry fraud you come to BU with your partisan crap ?

Bajans have more sense that you and they use it well, that is why they relegated you to the trash heap the opposition, every week we are subjected to your utter nonsense that empty and baseless and devoid of logic or sense much like this nonsense here this morning.

26. The traditional media has posted that Dottin was removed but by the look of it they are all coming to BU to understand the underlying reasons. BU has posted extensively on Dottin, he was not without his faults and during his tenure there was great acrimony within the ranks of the force as well as the hierarchy. BU wish him a good retirement.

27. @Give Us a Break
    Your contribution says so much about your basic amorality, your ignorance of the proper way to treat public servants (with courtesy and respect)
    whether we like them or not.
    And it says something about your intellectual limitations in that to disagree I must be party-partisan. It does not matter how many times I say I do not belong to any organisation, apart from the National Union of Journalists.
    But this is what passes for reason with some people. I am quite prepared to be wrong, but not because I am biased. Please stick that in your head.
    RT FROM THE nATIONAL uNION OF jOURNALISTS.

nonse

whether we like them or not

28. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

David let’s be honest they reasoned that and Hinds failed to get on but Hinds has long left the force and he continued to struggle.
    The guy was put there by Mottley for more reasons than one she herself has come close to needing his protection in the past.
    His response to the spate of cash for gold robberies was the most stupid and simple minded response that could have fallen out of the mouth of the criminal it was for Barbadians to leave their gold at home, what a slap in the face for the men and women of the Royal Barbados Police Force an almighty act of foolishness.

29. I hope bajans connect de dots between Minister Jones comments an de removal of de Commissioner. Someting big is about to go down in dis country.

De Attorney General has no comment. Imagine dat. Wonder if de Prime Minister is aware of this latest development

30. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Ah boy the sleeping giant is quietly and confidently fashioning a new Barbados, one where corruption is not tolerated and those who support it are asked to departed the scene.

31. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Wonder why you only have your articles published on BU and you are unable to place them anywhere else.
    A total joker pompasetting as a journalist

32. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Despite the proven theory, Darwin refused to evolve.

33. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Dottin and Mottley ran a cartel that thrived on the outcome of information from ordinary Barbadians the sickest from of mistrust

34. @ Give us a break

You could really TAKE A BREAK …..your slip on the ground now ( probably Carson again)

35. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Hal Austin

If the PSC had reasons for him to be sent on leave then why would you want them pussyfoot with the matter. The Commissioner of Police is not above the law, that’s the problem all the jokers make.

36. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

He will dissolve as quickly as he came, this case also implicates Mottley as she supported Dottin positioned him in aposition he was unfit and under qualified for and by feeding him the telephone numbers of those she need to listen to their calls those she feared would beat her at the polls

37. @ girl
    I hope bajans connect de dots between Minister Jones comments an de removal of de Commissioner. Something big is about to go down in dis country.

That is an understatement.
    Have you not heard still waters run deep?How about the apple don’t ever fall too far from the tree? How about the story of Pinocchio? How about CLICO?How about you get the Govt you deserve.

38. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Silly
    After 10 years all of the BLP lackeys would have been replaced. I understand your concern.

39. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

At least you don’t have to lock and hide away your girl children from Mr Stuart as you would have to do around Mottley. She no role model PM Stuart is a role model to many.

40. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Give us break
    Why, she like little girls like lucky charms cereal?

41. @Give us a break. Personally, I think you need to calm down a little. Especially where it comes to your linking of Dotty with MAM and accusations of criminal conspiracy. Your points about the traffic death and the rape case are pertinent and strong, but you are weakening them.

I also want to point out to you that there is no statute of limitations on crime – and in the case of both the traffic fatality and the rape case, if facts are as you say they are, with the departure of Dottin the Dolt, these cases can now be reopened by the Police, leading possibly to criminal indictment. So, if I were you, I would provide and concentrate on the facts of those two cases so that, in a post-Dottin era, justice can finally be done.

That is just my view.

42. The level of political diatribe we read here is a true reflection on the calibre of politico we have today, poorakey indeed.

43. Stupesss…..many ways, time can be better spent than with the gormless

Hasta La vista to you meretricious scalawags.

44. @ Dummo

I am not saying the commissioner is above the law, on the contrary, what I am saying is to follow the rules and not treat any senior public servant with a lasck of dignity and respect.
    I have written in this forum before about the need to radical reform the police, getting some of the 40 inspectors sitting on their behinds in the ever-expanding HQ back out on the streets.
    In fact, it is the only time in writing my Notes for years that I have received personal abusive emails.
    The question of competence, political favouritism etc are other issues. What I am saying is that the rules stipulate the competence levels of a commissioner and how to remove him/her from office.
    The Barbadian ritual of public humiliation is not part of that. Is it too much to say that Barbadians of all walks of life should be respectful to each other?
    I read this forum every week and see the most awful things being said of one another.
    It says all we need to know about those individuals.

45. Is Hal Austin for real….?
    This is long overdue….
    Dottin’s ass should have been fired JUST for the handling of the rape case involving the British tourists.
    He should have been fired based on the low morale in the Force.
    He should have been fired based on the number of resignations of officers during his term
    He should have been fired based on his comical response to the cash for gold business
    He should have been fired for most of the stupid interviews that he has given over the years…

….why was he finally fired now?
    Has it been in a manner that deliberately opens the gate to long and drawn out court actions and large payouts from the treasury?

…..or is it a tactic to get into court where questions can be asked and answers demanded….?
    Who knows? This is Barbados where incompetence rides on incompetence.

46. @ Bush Tea

I will repeat, as I understand how difficult it can be sometimes to understand arguments.
    Incompetence is one thing: the rape case was not just Dottin’s or the police’s; the major players were the DRR’s office. They had a right to reject the police so-called evidence and they did not.
    But that aside, treating a public servants, no matter who s/he is, with indignity and disrespect is crude and uncivilised. In fact,barbaric.

47. old onion bags Avatar

What is going on bout here doh?…..Imagine last nite pun Shoal Bank..I hook two barracudas and a dozen blow goats ( mabe one Bushie) and a Constable pun the high seas ask me ….what I doing out hay? Wha people like dey gine madd……now this jack-palance I open BU to find 4.00am tis morning…I thought it did the Black and went back to sleep only to find is true ( none a den blow goats din Bushie) and Hott water being poured on Dottin….Onions is a famine for words..by the way..morning all…wha really gine on bredds?

48. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin@
    Violet Beckles , The way it was or was not handle . After a year of looking into the case? then to say she is dead by the Fraud Squad? So that means no need to look at 40 pages of sign statement .
    So if you die , and your case is ongoing , does that mean the case is dead also. So why look in to a murder case for you are dead , no need for cold case files in Barbados.
    We will be happy if or when he is gone , no on else can do any worse as we see it. Police in Barbados is against the little people and little things to show they doing some thing , But not to the Big so UPS.
    Lets not for get the tourist , they get more cases looked at for they bring fund to Barbados. Master slave relationship.

Same Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin who cal Violet Beckles near every night to pick her brains , Let see if he recorded any of the information. In his own WATERGATE .
    If the police get out of hand because , we sure the crooks on the street will be happy to shoot back,
    Then we will see if its worth it to cover for the crooks in suits on white park road.We may have a so call High Court , full with a lot of low level crook lawyers who stain the flag of Barbados.

49. Yeap the govt is reading the “tea leaves” and don,t like what they see round holes and square pegs don, fit………

50. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I thought you had more sense. This is not about if you like Dottin or not. The only person that seems to understand the issues is Hal Austin. I am not opposed to or for Dottin, like Hal I am concerned that the Police Service Commission has seriously blundered. If they had or have evidence against Dottin, they should have interdicted him and charge him with whatever offence(s). Instead, they sent him on administrative leave which does not exist in the Public Service.

The PSC has blended two different procedures to deal with Dottin. As a result, he will get the last laugh. It is also silly for the Opposition Leader to call on the PM and AG to make statements on the matter. That betrays a fundamental misunderstanding of the constitutional role of those two offices. They have no role in this matter. This is the time that I will advise the PM to keep his mouth shut.