Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin

News reaching BU indicates that Commissioner Darwin Dottin has been sent on administrative leave. Given the recent development that a Deputy Commissioner was being selected without the input from Dottin provided a clue that sanction against Dottin was in the offing. A few weeks ago we also learned that Dottin had to return from vacation because his recommendation of the person to act while he was on leave was declined by the Public Service Commission.

Stay tuned!

413 responses to “Commissioner Darwin Dottin Leaves…”

1. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

de hood

1. Fortune favours the brave.

2 Pride goes before a fall.

2. Here I am 65 and can’t retire until I am 66, and my 45 year old soldier son is sitting in my house and drawing pension every month. This is perverse.

Our politicians who make such foolish policies must really hate the taxpayers.

3. @ de Hood
    Wait…where you now come back from Boss? You was in prison or Wuh?
    You back with this Political nonsense again? The only problem with the COP getting his walking papers is that it came YEARS too late.
    What humane treatment what?!
    …like he gave the two British women?
    ..like his police have been dishing out for years now to anyone who slips or slides …or find themselves in the wrong place at the wrong time?
    The COP was a big man….Bushie doubts that he home crying…
    The Lord gave and The Lord took away…
    Besides.
    It was done unto him as he has done unto others….
    He lived by the sword….

Anyway…that is ancient history now.
    Serious though….where you went? This time you was out building a bunker under your lawn like MME yuh know… Wunna boys realize that things going downhill fastened wunna looking for holes…

4. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Plus he lucky OSA and the BLP didn’t get re-elected after he pull the stunt of locking up OSA brother.

5. @Bush Tea

Hello to you too, big bro. Bushie man I ain’t got nowhere to run and hide now at my advanced stage in life and I certainly don’t have access to the cash like you and MME to expend on bunkers. I just hay waitin’ fuh meh name to get call on the list for final departure on that one way ride to eternity. So I ain’t sweating de small stuff dese days. I still hay on de sidelines lookin’ on at de fellas trying DEM best to anihilate one another . So peace to one and all my bro.

6. @ Simple S

May I be so forward to ask why you still got a 45yr. old man sitting in your house looking at you go off to the j.o.b.? Does he not have one of his own where he could go amd chill out with his wife and family? Hope you are not one of those who find pleasure in encouraging the younger generation in nonsense.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Dummy @ Dumo | June 19, 2013 at 9:39 PM |

How come the Nation newspaper is all of a sudden the bastion of truth and the source of enlightenment?

Is this the same newspaper that you, Carson, ac and most outstanding “NationBLPNewspaper” vehemently accuse and condemned as the rottenly corrupting mouthpiece of the BLP and is totally anti-DLP?

What has caused this change of heart? Has the DLP arranged for the dismissal of the anti-BLP lead columnists or have threats been made against the Publisher? Is she one whose heads would be cracked?

Shout out, NationBLPNewspaper, we want to hear if these poll results can be relied upon or have they been “massaged” like Wickham’s?

You guys’ hypocrisy knows no bounds!

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Verla dePeiza: Don’t be fooled!

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/06/19/de-peiza-dont-be-fooled/

9. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ CCC
    It is very useful the things said by the goodly Senator, and it is perhaps more insightful that you have directed us to her words. That said, and taking into consideration the contents of the letter addressed to the CoP (signed by the Chairman of the PSC), one is now more likely to conclude one or all of the following especially in the absence of clarity or information from the Attorney-General or the Prime Minister of Barbados (two positions mandated under the Constitution).
    From my reading:
    1. The PSC may have likely misdirected the GG;
    2. The GG may have went beyond the stipulated functions given the wording of the contents in the letter bearing the Chairman’s name (Guyson Mayers);
    3. The entire episode is procedurally flawed under sec. 96 of the B’dos Constitution.
    Given my conclusions, and if one or all three factors prove accurate, then the Chairman of the PSC should resign forthwith (the AG and PM may do several people a favour and join him but that is too much to ask and probably unfair having just been given an endorsement a few months ago).
    Just my thoughts of what I have read; I am no lawyer and definitaely no sagacious Senator.

10. Interesting to listen to Senator Verla Depieza explaining why the PM and AG should not comment to give the appearance of clear separation between the executive and Police Service Commission. Contradicting this position is Senator Sandiford Garner in the Senate yesterday lamenting the fact now that government has taken action the Opposition is complaining.

We all know that the PM is ‘probably’ behind the removal of the CoP but the government at minimum should be consistent in the debate.

11. George – I didnt see any comments from you on the Hinkson v. Paybe thread, or did I miss your contribution?

12. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ New Era

I thought that you realised by now that I choose my battles. I never enter a battle willingly when all the odds are stacked against me and I am ignorant to the escape route. Best to survive and await the next battle.
    Seriously, I spoke and wrote on similar matters on radio, tv, and print media. All things are to be expected when in opposition; it is the nature of the the system. Always remember that a basic philosophy may join people within a party, but at the end of the day a political party comprises several differing and competing views and personalities. The key is to so direct these to the goals of the party given that basic philosophy.
    There you have it; I have now said something and I hope it makes sense and quells any desire to lynch me. hahahaaaaaa.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Section 98. (1) of the copy of the Constitution available to me makes reference to the right of a “suspended” Public officer (including those under the disciplinary purview of the Police Service Commission) to appeal to the Privy Council who shall advise the GG as to what final action to take with regard to that suspended officer.

Does a Privy Council still exist in Barbados and can its ruling be appealed against using the CCJ as the Court of final arbiter.

Your invaluable pro bono advice, Sir, will be greatly appreciated!

14. George

Hinkson aint doing Mia any favours with this Statement of Defense, in fact he is dragging her headlong into the mud and under the microscope. Owen will get her in the end, AGAIN.
    But for her efforts, OSA would be the Prime Minister today. People don’t realise that OSA was able to bring home 6 or 7 first time candidates. I can’t understand this occupation with the belief that Mia can will a Government for the BLP, its never going to happen.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Listen to me GEORGE

You seem to believe that there is one law for the Meades and another for the Persians.

When your Party sent home the three top people at the QEH, no explanation was given.

No talk about GG,PG or SG. “Wunna” do as “wunna” like and ruin those men character and reputation, and sent at least one of them to an early grave. I didn’t hear you , DAVID, MIA or anyone on your side of the fence say that is wrong. The Barbados Labour Party did it, all power to the Barbados Labour Party.

Seethru fired the Governor of the Central Bank, again no explanation given. You on that side of the fence have no moral Authority to criticize anything that this Government do. This Government is acting for the good of the wider public interest.

No more wire tap files for you all.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

He should never have been COP in the first place.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Another joker is the one at the prison too.

18. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ CCC
    I understand what you are saying but you are far from being accurate. You seem to be pleading for the reasons for decisions. I, like many, are pleading for formal communication. I think there is a difference.
    Now given that you perhaps place party before country, please do not assume that all party members (BLP, DLP, or any other) will make such sacrifice.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I can remember DAVID THOMPSON pleading for a stop to the wire tapping of his phones.

Completely ignored by the Barbados Labour Party. Every phone call he made the Barbados Labour Party knew the contents. The Editor of the Barbados Advocate was hounded by the Barbados Labour Party because they knew ever time David spoke to him on the phone. As a result they (BLP) considered him an enemy.

Senior police officer suspended and he made the damming statement that his phones were being tapped.

20. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ CCC

Are you imputing a motive of vendetta? Perhaps that would explain some things but not the silence of government on the matter.

21. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Carson have no fear Sgt Boyce, Mr Bertie Hinds, Mr Lenoard Broomes all of these goodly and honest and decent gentlemen have in their safe keeping recordings of the telephone calls Dottin had made of their conversations, the tapes have gone no where, and as sure as there is a god above they will have their time in court to show what a vagabond and what a crook Dottin and Mottley were when they conspired to Wire Tap the phones of these good men and the phones of ordinary Barbadians based purely on if Mottley thought you disliked the BLP or not, it was not effectively used to monitor the Drug Lords and reel them in it was used to monitor Barbadians in the streets of Barbados to ascertain if she had to order a hit on you or not, if she found out you did not support she or the BLP you could expect a VAT Audit or a Tax Audit of your company, the dumb ass woman warned Barbadian Construction owners that they better tow the line with the hiring of the Chinese construction workers at Four Seasons that if these local companies did not tow the line she would order VAT and TAX Audits for these local operators, she meant what she said and did what she meant.

In four letters Mottley is a VILE and nasty piece of work and this has no reference to her even lower moral and private life this is a subject for another posting.

22. Give us a break-yuh liar

23. Cin Cin | June 19, 2013 at 6:53 PM |
    there are a few persons who write on this site that you can learn from. Too much name calling and petty ignorance.
    Caswell is one of the fellows that I think writes sensibly.

I THINK YAGGA ROWE is one of those
    persons you can learn from

24. Yagga Rowe

Welcome to the circus, for a moment I was wondering how we could start the show without a CLOWN.

Where were you, were you busy cleaning the blood from the floor at Roebuck Street? Did you use a cloth and bucket or a big WETVAC?

25. Whatever happened to Four Seasons, last i heard Persaud was trying to introduce foreign investors to NIS funds, poor people’s pension funds, with Mottley still attorney for Four Seasons……..another major reason that no one should trust politicians.

26. @millertheanunnaki | June 20, 2013 at 11:04 AM | You are reading an old version of the Constitution. It is now the CCJ and there is an updated version online, predictably not from the Government of Barbados website, but from that of the Organization of American States. Here is the link: http://www.oas.org/dil/The_Constitution_of_Barbados.pdf .

27. Fractured BLP Avatar

Well at long last , Darwin Dottin’s days in the RBPF, have come to an end. Justifiably so, I must add. How could Dottin and his ‘supporters’ have expected that he would remain as CoP given his shennigans ?

1. Wire tapping of Anderson Bowen’s telephone .
    2. Massive cover up of rape of female officers of the RBPF.

3. Unethical handling of promotions within the RBPF.

And the list can go on and on.

28. Fractured BLP Avatar

I notice that “bush lawyer” Caswell Franklyn first few postings on this issue is declaring that Mr. Dottin was removed from office unlawfully and hence will be entitled for a big payday for wrongful dismissal.

Now all and sundry remember 2 things :

1. It is the same Caswell Franklyn speaking .

2. Yea, the same Caswell Franklyn who said that Jeff Broomes was going to benefit from the same hefty payout in the AX matter.

From the 2 points above, most persons are acutely aware that Caswell Franklyn’s pronouncements are to be avoided like the plague !

What Caswell “Bush Lawyer” Franklyn need to wake up and realise very quickly, this DLP government always rely on the 4 corners of the law to determine its next move.

The AX issue was settled by the Commission of Enquiry Act. The Dottin issue will be resolved within the body of the Barbados Constitution.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Amused | June 20, 2013 at 6:08 PM

Thanks, Amused, for the link.
    But the version downloaded from the site recommended still makes references to the Privy Council at Sec. 98.

Unless there is some overriding amending provision that was subsequently inserted to allow all references to Privy Council to read, (mutatis mutandis), Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) we are using the same version of the Highest Law of the Land which, btw is not Morality as in Hal Gollop’s view, but the Barbados Constitution as Senator Verla Depeiza quite rightly pointed out.

30. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Miller

You are mistaken. There were two privy councils: the one that was replaced by the CCJ; and the local one which is headed by the GG.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | June 20, 2013 at 7:40 PM

Wait what became of you, old girl? Have not seen you hustling recently on this blog.
    Had new grazing to deal with. Hope you didn’t let Caswell find out because we will all soon know who is the new squeeze.

But seriously though, Fractured, how can the DLP members of Parliament (nearly all Cabinet colleagues) be so unmitigatedly deceitful and hypocritical?

We all know (even your friend whom you nastily referred to as the “Bush Lawyer) that the Constitution gives the Police Service Commission (PSC) the authority to discipline the CoP and even recommend to the GG his removal from office provided certain procedural steps are followed with the 4 corners of the law. And that is the way a democratically functioning nation state should behave.

But what is horrifyingly dangerous is the political victimization and crucifixion that
    took place just prior to the announcement that the CoP will be suspended from office pending the GG’s ruling on a recommendation that the CoP be “retired” in the public interest.

Is this the same CoP who is the head of a Police Force which came in for such lavish praise only on Tuesday in that same Court for doing a fantastic job? But what can we expect from this administration, any way? Similar praises were meted out to Leroy Parris in that same august chamber.

Are we seeing a perfectly fitting comparison between the performance of this DLP administration with its totally out of sorts leader and that of the RBPF?
    How else can we explain what took place on Tuesday and what happened to the CoP?

Maybe we should follow suit and ask that the leader of the DLP be sent on not administrative leave but political leave.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn | June 20, 2013 at 8:53 PM

Thanks, Caswell.
    Not mistaken but unclear; that is why my initial request for guidance made reference to whether a Privy Council still exist.
    Now that we have you on the line can we ask if any ruling by that local Privy Council can be appealed and if so to whom or what?
    Does the CCJ have jurisdiction over such Constitutional matters (firing of public servants) in Bim?

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Millers

Section 76 of the Constitution establishes the local privy council. Section 77 (4) states:

The question whether the Privy Council has validly performed any function vested in it by this Constitution shall not be inquired into in any court.

However, the service commissions can be sued based on the advice they tendered to the GG. And in this case the GG can be sued based on the contents of the separation letter that Guyson Mayers sent to the COP. The letter demonstrated that the GG went too far and would not have immunity.

The matter can end up before the CCJ if the service commission is sued.

34. @Caswell

Would the AG’s Office be the legal adviser to the PSC in this case?

35. Give us a break June 20, 2013 at 12:39 PM…” her even lower moral and private life this is a subject for another posting”

So how is your sex life G? High and moral?

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The Solicitor General’s Chambers which is part of the AG’s office should really be responsible to advise the commissions, but I don’t know what is happening now since the Chief Personnel Officer advertised for a lawyer.

37. Perhaps this is why there has been so many issues with recent 11+ allocation.

38. @Carson C. Cadogan at 11:19 a.m, “This Government is acting for the good of the wider public interest.

I doubt this. I rather suspect that this government is acting in the interest of the DLP.

And yes the BLP government when in office was wrong to fire the hospital officials, and the courts overturned those bad decisions.

But what you trying to tell us Carson, that the DLP is competing with the DLP to see which party is the most ignorant?

39. Dear Carson

Do you THINK that it would be a reasonable thing to fire every head of department who was appointed during the BLP administration?

40. Carson C. Cadogan | June 20, 2013 at 11:30 AM |
    Another joker is the one at the prison too.
    …………………………………………………………………
    Not long from now he may be incurring the wrath of fellow officer Caswell and CTUSAB ,as I understand that he is attempting to bring the Prison Officer’s Association under his direct control, more or less, like an army platoon.

41. A trade union is not an armyplatoon

42. And it is impossible for the boss to be the head of a union.

The labour/management relationship is quite correctly an adversarial one.

43. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Tonight I was directed by one of my DLP friends to check the 2013 Manifesto. The person told me that I would soon come to the conclusion that the DLP is indeed treating seriously to carrying out its promises this time around. I really did not believe the individual since the very prime minister said that the 2013 mandate was in reality a continuation of the 2008 pledge (Yes, Stuart has also gone back to sleep).
    Lo and behold, I checked the manifesto and this is what it had to say in relation to the RBPF, “Replace outdated equipment.” Now I see why Guyson had his own way with Dottin. Yes, it is true. Check the PSC’s letter to the CoP and you would see the direct reference to age. I ain’t mekking sport at Guyson nor the DEMS. I have no reason to make sport at Mr. Dottin. Only as recent as a week ago, the RBPF and one would have to assume its command, received from the dichotomous DEMS nothing but glowing praises for the accomplishments of the RBPF.

44. @Caswell

is sending dottin on administrative leave wrong? Barbados today stated that he was aware of the charges accorded to him by law. Is this simirlar to what u had recommeded for jeff, that the gg could retire him in the pnlic interest> Did due process prevailed to this point when he was sent on administrative leave?. By the way, explain what is administrative leave and wo?

45. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Newblood

You can’t start an investigation and then midway through the exercise change tack and invoke section 11 of the Pensions Act. If they had said something to the effect that Dottin was doing his best but the Police Force was still failing then they could use section 11, but they claim to have allegations of wrongdoing which would require them to institute disciplinary proceedings. In this case, they have blended two procedures to come up with this hybrid procedure that is unknown to the rules.

Similarly, as in Jeff Broomes’ case they could have retired him without bringing charges, but then they established the $2000 per day for lawyers commission of inquiry which then bound their hands.

To answer your question about administrative leave: as far as I am aware, there is no such thing in the Public Service. The GG and the Police Service Commission seem to be making it up as they go along.

46. I have a question or two though… yuh see I am on the learning curve. What I wanna know is to what extent should the politicians be involved in the police force??
    I have heard of issues where the police went through their vetting process and refusing some candidates yet these questionable candidates still find themselves in the rank and file of the force.
    Then comes the outcry from the public when the headlines of our newspapers goes like “Cop accused of this or that.” Always remember though that all the noise we keep them same people come from the society we live in. We breed them, feed them and nurture them.
    I do not have a legal brain so I wanna know this too….. why is it that there is never a member of the opposition on the Police Service Commission Board?? Wouldn’t this avoid the political interference that we are all hearing about?
    Don’t tell me that the constitution says this or that because im sure that there are things that can be considered unconstitutional that we have in our constitution.
    Another thing im concerned about is from reading all the comments about the Police Services Commission it can be implied that these people are only answerable to self.
    Anyway I will wait and read.

47. @ gimme a break
    I read you post with such amusement. All I see coming from you is “wire tapping” every post on every tread.  boy you seem soooo angry and bitter. Either you were a police or you were tapped. Don’t stress yourself about it sir. (assuming that u r a male) We are long in the technological age and its like the computer, so if its happening there is no turning back.

48. @ Cin Cin
    In most democratic democracies the Attorney General is responsible for strategic issues and the commissioner for operational policy.
    But this is Barbados, people know each other.
    What I really want to know is what is wrong with the prime minister and attorney general. They can safely make generic statements without in any way interfering with any legal action.
    This is an issue of grave constitutional and ethical important. concerns and goes right to the heart of how senior public service official are treated.

49. @Hal

What would you have the gentlemen say.