BARBADOS MEDIA IGNORES RELEASE OF POLICE SERVICE COMMISSION REPORT: PSC Report Recommended the Retirement of Commissioner Darwin Dottin

psc

Read the Recommendation of the Police Service Commission to retire former Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin – Read it and weep!

158 thoughts on “BARBADOS MEDIA IGNORES RELEASE OF POLICE SERVICE COMMISSION REPORT: PSC Report Recommended the Retirement of Commissioner Darwin Dottin

1. LIL boy rotten onions .if you yardfowls want to spend 10million to spy on DT be my guest but leave taxpayers money alone. Anybody in legal work can attest to he fact that a great chunck of that money is connected with the business. nothing sinster. however in wunna quest to Overlook OSA misconduct by cheque wunna running wunna mouths about DT cheque for legal payment for his business and associates wunna think people fool.

2. @enuff

fair game. the govt inherit the dodo from ur govt hence that is why it is doing poop. Hope u satisfied with the response, or u want to engage me in dodo. Got to go shopping u sound just like the republicans, the people did not think the guys were doing poop and u had predicted they were going to get one term Sorry they have two terms to do poop yah year

u like u like punishment. yah betta leave me before ac eat yah Don’t attack we govt, we is yard fowls that can only use a little of we brain, but can spraddle out people like u. got to run.

3. Newblood

the best thing you and all D overseas hotdogs can do… is to send home some remittances to help out na families here in your newly brandished poopsie land…..the resta poo you can keep for the republicans….AND YOU did RUN and seek a new moniker….lol

• @Gabriel

The traditional media marches to the beat of a drum.

On 29 October 2013 20:44, Barbados Underground

• The embargo which traditional media puts on information coming from BU does not not stop the info from getting out, in fact what it does is that the word travels in the underground. It exposes the hypocrisy because most if not all of the moderators on VoB for example follow BU but they get on the show and parade as if they are the last paragons of what is best for transparency and honesty. Roy Morris picks up a video from Facebook (so what is the difference?)Does anyone remember the 3S story? BU started the buzz about this company which was Incorporated with 5 employees to manage the overpass and highway projects. Months passed before the Nation picked it up. The traditional media in Barbados is a farce and it is the inspiration which BU uses to keep on keep on.

On another note BU noticed that the Nation dropped “professor” from Avinash Persaud’s name in its last report.

4. @old rotten onions

do u know when a rotten onion mixed with dodo, what it smell like? So for your envious ways. You could not even congratulate CC for producing such a bright child, because u were not able to produce one with brains. But, then, again that is how u B’s operate. Why don’t u go and help MIa with a PR exercise to get out of that poop.

Yah want mah to send u a few dollars to help with the PR exercise or u want mah to devise a strategy.

your dodo blogger.

5. @ David | October 30, 2013 at 6:08 AM |

Despite their denials all moderators, journalists, politicians and their cronies read BU for “enlightenment”. Even David Ellis made reference to the PSC report which has been highlighted on BU.

BTW, have you heard what the PM of St. Lucia said about many of the countries in the region? It appears more of them are becoming failed economic entities and in need of outside help.
    Is this his way of saying these countries (including his own St. Lucia) would soon be heading to the IMF to manage their economic and fiscal affairs? Maybe he is predicting the immediate destiny of Bim which seem to be the current economic basket when compared to its once lofty title of “Little Titan of the Region”.

6. …..bah looka newblood…wants to revisit old blood…..what do you expect doah..MAM tried it , i.e extending D olive branch….but NO….like a true onna dem, you looking to provoke dis ole man…Is ok…I gine stand still and watch for salvation…..unna won’t learn…you ent smell nuttin yet wait till nxt year when the Lagrase entourage land….Is den you gine wish for onions

7. Newblood
    On the Carson matter…..I hear of a Carolyn Cadogan student of UWI.. has distinguished herself and family by doing well academically Question is who really is dis CCC moniker on BU….At one time we hearing he is Reudon Eversley….. he even went on record sayin how OSA went all out to disproportion him…Since whenhowthen CCC is the father of learned young lady?…Head ent made only to wear hat ya know..

You see you, CCC and all unna desperate cohorts…unna true to form…..I ent forget the bus riding pensioner yet….morning stories and evening news don’t adding UP !

Desperate Lying Party(ies)…dun kno…

8. David you are so right about Danos 3 S a criminal brought her to rape taxpayers a man that is in court in nearly every country he worked in and created a JAMAICA KICKBACK AGREEMENT to pay a Gibson and a Mission Hibbert nearly one million sterling brought here by another dishonest crab in Steve Hobson, Hallam Nicholls and Bizzy Williams .
    The other question is what happens next to Dottinvand to Mottley with this phone bugging fiasco, the Commission seems to be making way for legal proceedings to begin against him.

9. David/BU

I agree with everything you said in your post at 6:08.

Other than the disgusting maligning of innocent persons by some on this site there have been positive articles and very good information on this blog site that the traditional media should acknowledge the source (BU) and run with it.

10. .@ Common sense is not common | October 30, 2013 at 9:56 AM |
    “Other than the disgusting maligning of innocent persons by some on this site there have been positive articles”

Would you agree that the contribution @ Rational Thinking | October 30, 2013 at 9:55 AM | meets the all criteria of “disgusting maligning” to fit your example of negativity and lies?
    For example you “commonsense is not so common”, have also perpetuated the slanderous lie about MAM ordering the former CoP to wire tap and spy of others. Are you aware (as balance was at pains to point out) that MAM ceased being the AG prior to the period the telecommunication technology capable of doing such was made available. You even engaged in further maligning by implying that MAM as leader of the Opposition was able to instruct and control the actions of the CoP.

So you too, my morally upright friend, are guilty of the same charge of “disgusting maligning of innocent persons”. Those who live in glass houses should not throw stones!

11. Welcome back Miller.Nice to have you around.

Dottin was Mia’s stooge so whether she was A.G. or Leader of the opposition once Dottin was Commissioner Mia still had the power of control.

12. David
    I am yet to grasp your concern about the mainstream media not publishing
    items you think they ought to publish.If the laws of Barbados can be changed to remove the fear of having to look over one’s shoulder,there might be a change in the thinking of ms media.Meanwhile,I am informed by much of what I read on BU and were it not for your indulgence I would be much less informed and unable to add to a discussion when certain itmes are not in the ms media.Your efforst are appreciated and shared with colleagues and other interested parties and who are now more savvy owing to BU.
    Meanwhile Hilary Beckles and Michael Howard continue to inform us via ms media of the real politik and this adminitration’s approach to management of our resources.Damning indeed!

13. “The other question is what happens next to Dottinvand to Mottley with this phone bugging fiasco, the Commission seems to be making way for legal proceedings to begin against him”
    I await the pursuance of these legal proceedings with bated breath but less i be misconstrued let me state that i am not supporting any wrong doing by a persMr Dottin but i again i reiterate that Mr Dottin ought to have been accorded procedural fairness as relates tonatural justice

14. @Balance

you can say all u want, mr dottin ought to be glad he might retain his pension, which he should not, but I believe the lodge factor is at work. what say ye?

15. i say that Mr Dottin unfortunately has been already tried and judgment determined by the police service commission. My question is whether they are procedurally correct to so determine. what say ye?

also he has been tried speculatively in the court of public opinion as a result of a leaked report. The issue is not whether he is guilty or not guilty of the allegaof the allegatins but whether the the allegations can now stand up in court as a result of the of the in the court of public opinion as a resul of

16. whether the allegations can now stand up in a real court of law having been already adjudicated in the mock bu court of publicopinion.The development of the law as it relates to natural justice and fairness opins thus” The law has now developed to a point where where it may be accepted that there is a common law duty to act fairly , in the sense of according to procedural fairness, in the making of administrative decisions which affect rights,,interests and legitimate expectations subjet only to the clear manifestatation of a contrary intention. The question Newblood -was thMr Dottin given the right to be heard before a report charging himwith ‘Criminalty” wafound its way in the public domain

17. @Balance
    Oh how we have double standards. We tried DT for a cheque. We tried Leroy Parris in the Court of public opinion, so who is Dottin that he cant be tried in the court of public opinion. he is entitled to due process, and if he feels that he has been wronged, he is a trained lawyer and he knows what he has to do, but remember who the cap fits, let him wear it. He would best advised to take the cheque; that is his gratuity and his pension and go into sunset, He will not resume the position of COP, What goes around, must come around, U remember that MIa unfairly promoted him ahead of Bertie HInds. bertie left the force with his creditability, while DOTTIN will leave disgraced. He has caused to the damage to the force.

18. Mottley had some training workshops last weekend done by Alex McDonald, Ian Walcott, Sutherland’s wife.

The idea was training people how to use the Social media.

The message that she wants out there is that by March we will be in the IMF’s hands. What has caused some concern among many Bs is her telling them that that by January things will start to improve so they do not have much time to deliver a message of Gloom and Doom as pronounced by Mottley.

Clearly some who are even staunch die hard B’s are seeing that she is prepared to damage this country at any cost to get what she wants that is POWER. And CONTROL of the Leadership of this island at all costs.

All the while others are seriously wondering why Owen and Kerrie and Payne and Marshall and Forde and Bostic and Prescott and many others did not speak on the No-Confidence motion, maybe because there is a No Confidence motion of their own against the joker Mottley.

19. “He will not resume the position of COP, What goes around, must come around, U remember that MIa unfairly promoted him ahead of Bertie HInds”.

I was under the impression that Mr Dottin would have been appointed by the GG, acting on the advice of the Police Service Commission after it had consulted with the PM. Unlike the installation of Mr Griffith to the post; there is no evidence to substantiate the view that Ms Mottley handpicked Mr Dottin like Mr Griffith was handpicked having showed no interest in the post of Deputy.

20. “We tried DT for a cheque. We tried Leroy Parris in the Court of public opinion, ”

true New blood but Owen Arthur as well for the campaign cheque and was found guilty by the electorate as a result of a successful prosecution by DT who on the other hand has been immortalised for his involvement in the CLICO affair which unlike Owen Arthur’s misdemeanour has brought untold suffering and stress to thousands of Barbadians and this, in cahoots with his business partner who has continued to live large and in charge with the blessings of the administration.

21. “Oh how we have double standards. We tried DT for a cheque. We tried Leroy Parris in the Court of public opinion, so who is Dottin that he cant be tried in the court of public opinion”

but neither DT or Mr Parris was officially charged with criminality or removed from their posts.

22. Has anyone heard any news of the state of health of Hal Gollop?The Nation carried an article that he was hospitalised but I haven’t seen any update.News anyone?

23. …………….tired of people just running they mout just because of so…..what charge Dottin what…..Did they charge Branford?…..did they find the Deloitte report yet?….did they hold Leroy accountable?…..man wanna cud really go at cheffete and eat some ice cream…..

24. 9. (1) Officers shall conduct themselves in a manner that will ensure the efficient and effective discharge of their duties.
    (2) Officers shall comply with restrictions on their political activities in accordance with this Act or Regulations.
    (3) Public officers shall conscientiously perform their duties and obligations and impartially assist, advise and carry out the lawful policies of the Government.
    10. (1) Officers shall not, without authority, disclose official information that has been communicated in confidence within the Ministry or department, or received in confidence from others.
    (2) Officers shall maintain official records
    (a) Where a failure to do so would amount to a grave injustice; or
    Use of public funds.
    2007-11.
    S.I. 1971
    No. 46.
    Conflict of interest
    Actions to instill confidence.
    Records and non-disclosure of information.
    (b) as required by this Act or Regulations made there under or by any other law.
    (3) Noting in this Code should be taken as overriding existing statutory or common law obligations to keep confidential, or not to disclose, certain information.
    (4) Officers shall not seek to frustrate or influence the policies, decisions or actions of Ministers, or of the Government by the unauthorised, improper or premature disclosure outside the Service of any information to which they have had access as officers.
    11. (1) Where an officer believes that he is being required to act in a way that:
    (a) is illegal, improper, or unethical;
    (b) is in breach of an accepted convention or a professional code;
    (c) may involve possible maladministration; or
    (d) is otherwise inconsistent with this Code,
    that officer shall report the matter in accordance with procedures laid down in the appropriate guidelines or rules of conduct for that officer’s Ministry or Department or in accordance with the provisions of the relevant law.
    (2) An officer shall report to his Head of Department or where the matter involves the Head of Department, the Head of the Public Service
    (a) evidence of any criminal or unlawful activity by others, in accordance with the relevant procedures; or
    (b) instances of breaches of this Code of which he becomes aware.
    12. Where an officer has reported a matter referred to in paragraph 11 in accordance with the relevant procedures and believes that the response does not represent a reasonable response to the grounds of his concern, the officer may report the matter in writing to the Service Commission.

25. BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, Friday September 3, 2010 – Barbados’ Police Commissioner is facing four charges of professional misconduct but he has signalled his intention to fight the “untrue” allegations to the end.

The Police Service Commission (PSC) has accused Darwin Dottin of: stating a falsehood, that a suspended police sergeant did not have use of a Government car while on suspension; requesting that disciplinary charges against that same officer be dropped despite being told the matter was sub judice (being heard by the court); disclosing official information from Jamaica’s Deputy Commissioner of Police Waynemore Hinds to a local newspaper editor who used the information in a story published on March 25th; and repeated failures to brief Deputy Commissioner of Police Bertie Hinds when proceeding on leave.

The PSC reportedly took the action following complaints from Deputy Commissioner Hinds.

But Commissioner Dottin has hit back in an affidavit filed in the High Court to get an injunction against PSC taking any action.

He called the claims “untrue” and “trivial” and made an allegation of his own – that the PSC was biased when dealing with issues submitted by him and his deputy.

“They invariably act on those of Deputy Commissioner Hinds,” Dottin charged.

He further described what he said was Hinds’ continuous attempts to make complaints to the PSC as “an unnecessary and unfortunate distraction that ultimately takes the attention of the senior command of the force away from its core responsibilities of keeping the country safe”.

As for the allegation that he gave official information to the Nation newspaper’s Tim Slinger, the Police Commission said he did not understand what the problem was since there was nothing confidential about the information and it had already been published in the Jamaica media.

This is not the first time that the public would have seen the two most senior officers in the Royal Barbados Police Force openly disagreeing.

Back in March, Hinds said he had decided to grant the requisite licences for promoters who were bringing in Jamaican dancehall artistes Vybz Kartel and Mavado. But Commissioner Dottin, who said he learned of the decision via radio, said he had not made any such decision and that his deputy had breached protocol.

The show was eventually cancelled.

Read more: http://www.caribbean360.com/news/38604.html#ixzz2jGKUdgE2

26. GRIFFITH v. COMMISSIONER OF POLICE

AND

THE ATTORNEY-GENERAL

[HIGH COURT – CIVIL SUIT NO. 927 OF 1992 Waterman, J.) November
    24, December 8, 14, 1992; December 28, 1993; March 28, 29, December 30, 1994]
    (1994) 30 Barb. L.R. 416

Judicial review – Judicial review proceedings under Administrative
    Justice Act, I09B – Whether principles of natural justice breached when applicant,
    an Assistant Superintendent of Police, was suspended without a hearing prior
    to commencement of an investigation to determine whether disciplinary charges
    should be brought against him – Whether proposal by Police Service Commission
    to conduct the investigation was contrary to law, an excess of jurisdiction
    and a breach of the rules of natural justice.

Facts: The applicant Tyrone Griffith was an Assistant Superintendent
    of Police in the Royal Barbados Police Force. On March 14, 1991 an Acting Inspector
    of Police and two detectives visited the Holetown Police Station where the applicant
    worked to interview him about a car racket fraud which involved cars shipped
    out of England into Barbados. Investigations had revealed that the applicant
    had purchased one of these cars. The applicant refused to see the Assistant
    Superintendent and the detectives and ordered them to leave his office. It was
    alleged that the applicant’s manner was aggressive and that he spoke loudly.
    It was alleged that after the Assistant Superintendent stepped out of the applicant’s
    office the applicant chucked him and continued shouting disparaging remarks.

The matter was reported to the Commissioner of Police who ordered an immediate
    investigation. The matter was viewed as serious and as constituting a gross
    embarrassment to the Government of Barbados and the Royal Barbados Police. Consequently,
    the Deputy Commissioner, acting in accordance with the Service Commissions (Police
    Service) Regulations, 1964, recommended to the Police Service Commission that
    the applicant be suspended from active duty pending completion of the investigation.
    On April 10, 1991, the applicant was suspended on half-pay; on November 19,
    1991, the applicant was advised that he id be charged for two offences against
    the discipline of the Force, and on December 20, 1991 that an investigation
    would be carried out in. respect of the charges. On June 2, 1992 the applicant
    brought judicial review proceedings under the Administrative Justice Act, Cap.
    109B on the grounds that the decision to suspend him and pay him half of his
    salary was contrary to law, an excess of the Commission’s jurisdiction and a
    breach of the principles of natural justice.

Held: (i) Section 17(1)(b) of the Service Commissions (Police Service)
    Regulations, 1964 gave the Police Service Commission the power to recommend
    the Governor-General. The applicant’s subsequent suspension was done in the
    [416]

interest of good administration and was not done to punish him, but was merely
    a holding operation until the Commission determined whether or not disciplinary
    charges ought to be instituted;

(ii) there was no need for the court to imply a right to be heard at the stage
    before a recommendation was made by the Commission to suspend the applicant
    as there was no unfairness at that stage. There was also no unfairness when
    the Commissioner formed his opinion. The principles of natural justice did not
    apply at the suspension stage, but at the tribunal stage;

(iii) the Commission did not fail to perform its statutory 14(3) of the Service
    Commissions (Police Service) Regulations, 1964. It was of the opinion that the
    disciplinary offence of discreditable conduct might have been committed and
    did not consider it necessary to refer the Solicitor General for advice in accordance
    with the provisions of regegulation 14(3);

(iv) at the stage of exercise of its powers under regulation (17)(1)(b) it
    was the duty of the Commission to act fairly, that is, not in a corrupt manner.
    And to satisfy itself before so acting that the question relating to the suspension
    of the applicant appeared to have properly arisen from the report before it.
    In the applicant’s case both the Commissioner and the Commission acted fairly
    in the exercise of their powers under regulation 17(1)(b);

(v) however, the Commission omitted to act with expedition accordance with
    the proper construction of regulation 13(2) of the Regulations continued to
    drag on to the detriment and prejudice of the applicant. In that light it was
    only fair and reasonable that the applicant be paid, with all due dispatch,
    the full amount of the salary which he would have received if he had not been
    suspended until disciplinary or other proceedings against him were completed.

27. Balance you have double standards ,where have the mahogany trees that was cut down at nupw gone ,who sold them ,did you repay the funds that u used to go to cuba , did you not selected the current treasurer to cover for DENNIS and WALTER underhand doings ,but she has now turned and see the light —-do u recall the things that you are about to cover up for ctusab as they external auditor —things such as the using of government fu nds to pay wages and salaries ,allowances to CEDRIC MURRELL and DENNIS DEPEIZA and rent at jemmotts layne and cell phone bills for the executive members —were any financial statements presented at the last BI-ANNUAL meeting —balance you need to tell us that the same rules you presented here that you broke every one of them —you was and you are still wearing two shirts ,you have just turn them around —you blue is to the front now and the RED to the back now –in febuary the RED was to the front and the BLUE to the back –but you do get mix up for you don’t know which party you really support –you are a politicalunionist pimp –you are like a terrorist ,you have no home base ,MONEY talks no wonder DENNIS and WALTER are your accomplishes .

28. Anyone listened to the Minister of Finance he not long ago ?

It is now abundantly clear not only the charge of Wire Tapping and Eavesdropping the only dishonest act she has been involved in but it is also being reported that Mottley has not been paying what is due to the VARIOUS office on both Pelican Football and her billings Four Seasons being one such case, now this is the same one who even while crying down the use of NIS funding for Four Seasons is the very same one and the first to draw her cheques from Four Seasons after the injection of the NIS Funds into the project, what are left to believe about this vicious woman beater and FRAUD and Vagabond oh let’s not forget that she is a Mottley do I need to say anything more ?

29. @Balance

you are like an ostrich burying your head in the sand. Who was the PM when Dottin was appointed. Didn’t the same Owen handpicked who he wanted promoted in the public service during his tenure. Do you see the GG refusing to appoint the PSC recommendation. Who choses the person to be appointed to the PSC.

you want to discourse this topic let us go for it. You are the same person that pontificated that the PSC is a creature of the PM.

30. yes newblood since the 1974 constitutional amendments were passed into law by the Barrow administration promotions and appointments to most posts particularly senior ones in the public service must first have the blessing of the political directorate so that is not an issue but the issue with Mr Dottin’s tenure according to the allegations rests with Ms Mottley who is accused of aiding and abbetting Mr Dottin in his illegal wiretapping activities even of Mr Arthur or his chauffeur.

31. @Balance

I am happy that you will admit that dottin was a creature of mia and owen. and as I said what goes around comes around. In their haste to sideline bertie, they created a monster and now he is like an albatross around their necks.

I though u said previously that the issue was, that he was tried in the court of public opinion r u now twisting your mouth. Please remember that my memory is very good and knowledge of the constitution is excellent when it comes to certain matter. He has a constitutional right to appeal any decision. Power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely.

32. Pingback: Police Service Commission Should Have Passed Darwin Dottin’s File to the Director of Public Prosecutions to Seek His Arrest | Barbados Underground

33. “He has a constitutional right to appeal any decision.”
    except the guilty verdict as evidenced by the general comments on BU and yours as well already handed down by the court of public opinion. Unfortunately, that verdict might very well play a role to Mr Dottin’s benefit in determining the outcome of the charges against Mr Dottin in a matter which is sub judice.

34. @ Balance

SUB JUDICE

LATIN FOR UNDER JUDGEMENT a legal term related to the state where a matter is “under judicial consideration and therefore prohibited from public discussion elsewhere.”

I am intrigued by Balance’s comments and his intimation that “the guilty verdict might work out to Commissioner Dottin’s benefit”

I am intrigued for two reasons.

The first being (i) what is being proposed to be in the public interest and (ii) what hindsight oft refers to as “the signs being on the wall”.

I would ask you Mr. Balance to keep the penultimate paragraph of the PSC Report in front of you as you walk with me down the path of geology just a moment to a term – the Mohorovičić Discontinuity or more commonly known as the Moho.

That Geological layer has given rise to a term in contemporary lingo (MOHO) which speaks to a state where solid/liquid/gas transmutes freely based on the presence OR absence of (threshold) energy to excite or retard the movement from solid ice, through liquid water to gaseous air.

Once the particles have become gas THEY CANNOT RETURN TO less excitable (or controllable) liquid or solid states, sine the removal of that energy. (Much like the leggo beasts that the Democratic Labour Party has become)

While it is obvious that the writers (plural) of this document are not of Shakespearean DNA (and noticeably do a stellar-ly poor job of their rendition of stating that “they will not mention particular things yet mentioning the unmentionables”) there are two sentences that smack of the making of a Reichsführer-SS a la Bulbados styling.

“Impossible to discipline or prosecute and incumbent Commissioner of Police” followed by with “a pattern of legal gagging” emerging as the modus operandum of said Commissioner of Police.

There is a place for the Watergates and Wikileaks of this world when those who we entrust to guard become the personification of what we are guarding against.

SUB JUDICE or otherwise the state of being that this report by the Police Service Commission on the then Commissioner Dottin, purportedly aided and abetted by the then Attorney General, and current Leader of the Opposition Mia Amor Mottley potentially, if true, would have put us at a precipice and point of no return where elements in the Moho, meant to be solid or liquid, would have moved to a level of Gaseous Impunity, disguised as National Security, where even you, the current champion of “Under Judgement” matters for obvious scoundrels, would be without any privacy.

We Bajans have cause to weep every single day as a result of the ineptitude of this current administration but, in light of these SUB JUDICE matters that have come to the fore in these times, when a COP under direction from and AG, can tap the phones of the Prime Minister (and his obscure driver) that is something that ALL of us in Bulbados need to be fearful of.

What state of dictatorship are you “pledging allegiance to” Balance when things like this can be happening right under our noses and so-called patriots like me and you can sit down and quote SUB JUDICE in the face of borderline treason????

Leave a comment, join the discussion.