Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin

News reaching BU indicates that Commissioner Darwin Dottin has been sent on administrative leave. Given the recent development that a Deputy Commissioner was being selected without the input from Dottin provided a clue that sanction against Dottin was in the offing. A few weeks ago we also learned that Dottin had to return from vacation because his recommendation of the person to act while he was on leave was declined by the Public Service Commission.

Stay tuned!

413 responses to “Commissioner Darwin Dottin Leaves…”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

democratic democracies ASSTIN?
    ARE YOU NOT BEING REDUNDANT? OR JUST TALKING SHITE AS USUAL AND TRYING TO SHOW THAT YOU BRIGHT?

This is an issue of grave constitutional and ethical important. concerns and goes right to the heart of how senior public service official are treated.

should that not be IMPORTANCE ASSTIN?

SHOULD THERE NOT BE AN S ON OFFICIALS ASSTIN? LOL

2. @Hal

What would you have the gentlemen say?

3. old onion bags Avatar

Wait TODAY is punch out day or what?…..Imagine to big able educated men ding donging……Boss U wanna borrow my bill fish beak?..D one dat punch nuff holes in Bushie LOL

4. I love Barbados…. we suffer with some sort of disease or something. We give up our rights to be associated with the “big ups” or for it to be perceived that we are associated with them.
    I actually love election time. I love to see how the scum of the earth (or very close to) suddenly becomes soooo important. “I know Politian X attitude.”
    Election dun… they done too until next election. Its all done for the feeling of belonging.
    I would love the day that we as a country move from being partisan and have a more independent way of thinking.
    On a personal note now, Im so disgusted with both parties that im sure now is the time to introduce that concept of the 3rd party that Richie Haynes brought years ago. Maybe it came before its time. Something like Sheraton Centre and the six roads complex. Both came around before and failed both doing fairly well now.

5. @Cin Cin

Your disillusionment is reflected in the general election result. A little luck it would have been a tie.

6. @ Onions
    Call a poll and see who your bill fish beak punched holes in….

What should they say…?

My fellow Barbadians, this is your PM.
    I have bided my time in coming to you to outline where I will be taking our country over the next 5 years, but circumstances require that I now bring you fully into my confidence.

For too long now, Baffy and his BU gang have been setting the agenda ’bout this place – raising matters that my government would prefer to have lie low, and ambushing kites that we have attempted to fly.
    Today we turn a new leaf….

It is clear that there are a large number of what has now come to be known as “brazen bowls” – established in critical positions of authority in this country. As PM, I have been taking the blame for too many of these brass bowls now and for much too long….

THIS MUST STOP!

Starting with the police Force, I have authorized a full house cleaning to be done. NO HOLDS WILL BE BARRED. Every man-jack and every woman-Jill from now on….MUST shape up OR SHIP OUT.

FREUNDY SAY SO….

…and if Miller and his BU goons don’t like it, I will get the honorable ex football president to PUBLICLY re-state my instructions as to what wunna can expect….

All jokes aside…..wunna shoulda let a sleeping Freundy lie…..

7. @ David

The two senior office holders have a duty to defend the reputation of one of our major institutions of state.
    The danger at present is that that reputations is badly damaged. The attorney general has a duty to reassure the public that the integrity of the police is in safe hands.
    And the prime minister, first among equals, and minister for national security, has a duty to reinforce that statement by the attorney general by emphasising that stressing the adherence to disciplinary rules and procedures.
    No one is above the law; but everyone is innocent until proven guilty – even our clearly incompetent commissioner.

8. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Austin you are an amazing clown indeed, were writing and asking
    Dave Cameron and his AG what their DUTY was when all sense and order broke down recently in Britain and there was severe and widespread looting and rioting in all over the UK ?
    Is the UK not where you have chosen to reside would you not be better served offering advice which may benefit those around you rather than dishing out advice of which you do not have a clue about the circumstances under which these matters have been dealt with

Let me answer that for you and save us from a long winded diatribe of nonsense, unless you know the facts keep you mouth wide shut !!!!!!

9. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Poll Results
    What is your reaction to Darwin Dottin being removed as Commissioner of Police?
    Thank you for voting in this poll.
    Agree626 votes
    78.25%
    Disagree130 votes
    16.25%
    Undecided27 votes
    3.38%
    Don’t care17 votes
    2.13%
    Total Votes: 800

10. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

You just got to like these guys for their arrogance and cockiness he and Mottley conspire to Wire Tap and listen to people’s communications and he is involved in a slew of unbecoming actions of he as a police even worse as C o P and then wants to go to Court led by the same culprit Mottley in his defence to get a judge to let him off the hook for his part in his bad actions ?

Give me a break Dottin and Mottley go your way into history as two of the most corrupt persons in offices of trust that have been totally dishonest and crooks themselves.

11. @ David
    LOL …. Oh Shirt!
    Now David you see why Bushie voted for Freundy now…? You minding Old Onions. Wunna like wunna think Bushie born last week or something….

If we had a PM like Dipper, Tom, or Owen…what you think woulda happen now…?
    The gorilliphant PM would come pun de TV and Lego some fancy speech bout the ‘national interest’, transfer two public servants and send the police to search Amused house for guns…..and everything would have gone back quiet – to the normal underhand business as usual.

With Freundy, nothing so ain’t going to happen.
    Freundy probably ain’t even know that the COP has been dottined yet….. Since um look like Caswell got the copy of the letter that was meant for him.. 🙂
    ….even then, we boy will issue a statement to the effect that “if indeed, after proper investigation, it turns out to be a case to be dealt with by the PM, you can rest assured that I will act….”

In the meantime, there is a better that even chance that we can have a few more brass bowls dottined…..
    YOU!…..We like we got a chance to mek it yuh….!

12. We must learn to treat people with respect

13. old onion bags Avatar

Bushie boy,
    I hope you went and had those Bill fish beak jucKs looked at……because Dem poisonous….I din mean for this to come between to force ripe fiends…but you is the one opening ya BIG mout bout ice fish…well the rest is history… What ya get Tekk…Ya had fair warning….What get what polls what?….evabody hear the YELPS and see a mingy tail duckin, spinning n weavin like when a canine get hit by a Coco Cola truck…whalosss!
    Truth is I glad ya survive….cawmere boy

14. Please tell where Bushie ever claimed to be a “Cawmere” boy?
    Bushie admits to liking the institution, having kith and kin who have become addicted and knowing hordes of the outputs from the place….
    …but a Cawmere boy….??

15. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Dottin and Mottley,@@@@ Violet Beckels words , they are two good crooks, Working with CJ Simmons in the pack with Owen ,
    Its all a Matter of time before Barbados get the full Picture of them , Violet Lived All of those crooks first hand and now the Country is paying for these crimes unpunished .

All who thinking Plantation Deeds was a joke, Now you see the light. More to come , read old post , same crooks doing the same thing.
    We have the papers to fill the blanks,

16. old onion bags Avatar

I can see that you have answered….(poor boi), as the tetanus sets in …..Bushie is that all you can manage?..probably Lock Jaw as well… Quix where is Dr. GEORGIE PORGIE….

17. Fractured BLP Avatar

Darwin Dottin….Gone (justfiably so)
    Mia Mottley’s father is his attorney ….(Ridiculously so)

I am surprised Darwin Dottin overlooked the legal talents of Caswell ” Bush Lawyer” Franklyn.

18. @ fractured
    Would you mind making that “bush lawyer”…with a common “b”?
    …Thank you 🙂

19. @amsed

you dont have to worry about the firing of marva clarke she is retiring soon.

20. A LETTER WRITTEN and sent to a certain person has created near panic among a select group.It appears the group was not informed, as should have been the case, that the letter was being written and sent. So when the action was initiated, none of these noted people had a clue, and were caught on the back foot.And because the letter was structured in a manner that was not consistent with how these pieces of correspondence would normally be done, it left them in an even greater quandary to defend.
    According to usually reliable sources, this is why to this date there has not really been a sensible response to the noise created by this letter.
    Cou Cou was told high-level meetings had been held since then to manage the uproar created by this letter, but the situation is difficult, given the wording of the letter and the implications it can have on someone who is normally not included in any controversy. One insider said the situation was a real mess which those who matter could do well without, given all their other pressing problems.However, some others close to the situation suggest that the letter put to an end a long-running battle whose conclusion was long overdue. The person said that as eggs have to be cracked to make omelettes, there is never an easy way to end a mortal struggle without blood being spilt. So now the chips will have to fall where they may.

Fact or fiction?

21. I am impressed that “Amused” has been working as a professional liar ooops lawyer since the days when Colin Rocheford was Registrar. That would be going back to the late 60’s and mid 70’s,

Congratulations “Amused” I hope that you have received the appropriate recognition where you could argue your cases at the inner Bar.

22. did I hear MIA asking for guy Myerson head to be cracked,,,,on TV tonight,,,her exuse being that he was a junior office given the PSC job overlooking veteran officers . is that a reason to ask one to resign . in the PS Act. MIA needs to watch her P/s and Q”S realizing that her days as leader might be numbered,

23. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ ac
    Can you for one minute take off your narrow-minded and biased blinkers and just ask yourself if there could possibly be merit to Mia’s argument. Certainly, if one now adds Mayers’ statement that he is “not political” and yet has been consistently writing in the printed media a column that comes across as almost being 100 % diametrically opesed to anything the BLP did or does in government or opposition, then one may reasonably consider that there ought to be grounds for further investigation and perhaps firing in the absence of resignation. Quite frankly, Ronald Jones and Guyson Mayers are now standing on quich sand but in their favour is a boss that that repeatedly demonstrated an unwillingness to act even if it is the prudent thing to do. We all need to stop playing personalities and examine the damage that is being done to the institutions in Barbados; all of them and at least for the past two to three years appear to be collapsing. Barbadians and especially well-wishers of the DLP need to demand leadership, and demand that we address what has become an obvious institutional disintegration in Barbados’ affairs.

24. wuh bossman GB I cud give u one hundred reasons that Dottin was removed . now u telling me that because Myerson oppose the BLP in print media he should be fired from the PSC wud kind-a jackass reason is that. wuh happen to freedom of the press. does that only apply to the Nation and their political attack dogs with salivating jugulars , fuh peat sake dottin left a pile of horse shit;; behind neva mind the embarrassment he brought to this govt with his outrageous respond concerning the british rape issues, wud wrong wid u maybe u wearing ur blinkers upside down.

25. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ ac
    I guess then by your flowery statement that it is right and ethically appropriate for Mayers to write and appear in a weekly column supportive of the DLP as a party and as leading the government, and then sit as Chairman while wearing an ‘independent’ hat to set policy for, hire, and ajudicate in disciplinary matters over agents of the state.
    I can only assume that it is possible that the gentleman can wear these two disparate hats simultaneously and objectively. Perhaps so, but that means we have to trust his judgement beyond the reasonable.
    Certainly, there is a twist in your tongue, because less than 72 hours ago I was being chastised by you for setting out to be an academic, and advocate, and a Barbadian first and foremost in my approach to pressing issues while acknowledging my party affiliation. Seriously, do you think that Mayers’ position is tenable while mine is not?
    Please do not respond because you will more than likely incriminate yourself and reveal your forked-tongue.

26. firstly u you have revealed yourself by your word of mouth as a card carrying member of the BLPand on such relevation I made a conclusion about your advocate movement , on the other hand u have come to a conclusion subjected to your opinion not fact that Myerson is a DLP only based on his articles and so deemed it necessary for him to resigned oblivious of hardened or concert reasons or fact .maybe my tongue is forked but not twisted.,

27. @ ac
    “…..wud kind-a jackass reason is that. ”
    You are hopeless ac
    You are speaking about George….
    What other kind of reason did you expect?

28. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ac you are either out of touch or you choose to be deliberately difficult. I do not have a beef with Mayers, simply dealing with facts. Am I incorrect that as a member of the DLP he had rightly positioned himself to gain the nomination but the choice went to Holder? Aha. Nevertheless, I shall not go where you may wish to lead me since my contentions are not ad hominem but related to the institutional decay that is driving Barbados downwards.

29. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Bush
    Amusing as usual.

30. as for institutionalize decay. ,,,,,, now that is the only comment you said that makes sense or is truthful. reason Dottin lost his job an attempt by govt to remove the cancerous growth .

31. Look George
    Why don’t you, Dale and Mia stop embarrassing wunna selves nuh…? The PAC did the right thing in sending Dottin packing….their only error was in the 5 year delay.

Wunna would be doing the BLP a great favour by dropping the matter…..it is coming across like wunna got clothes hang out and looking for rain…

What the BLP needs is a brand new image……not this nonsense of trying to defend the indefensible, or to prove that Bajans erred in the last two elections….

32. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

FOR THOSE WHO SHALL READ RATHER THAN CONDEMN!
    On 7/24/2011 in a Barbados Advocate column titled A Guy’s View, the writer stated: “It was long believed that certain media houses in Barbados have monitored police communication channels in an effort to be ahead of the competition as well as to be able to report matters which they probably believed the police may not have been ready to make public. If an individual or an entity is willing to behave like this, one could well imagine that, were the know-how available, they would be willing to hack telephones or computers to gain access to confidential information.”
    Just understand that George Brathwaite was not the writer of that column.

33. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Bush Tea I take my hat off to you. you hit the nail on the head, these BLP people would have people believe that they are the only persons qualified to run the affairs of the island.
    A group that as demonstrated in parliament when PM Stuart and Minister Sinckler attacked Arthur on the prison, none of the BLP knew which of the jokers issued the VECO contract to build Dodds nor if they contracted a debt in US dollars or Barbados dollars, a prison which if built by a local group would have costed Barbadian taxpayers US $ 65 Mil instead because the local group refused to pay the 7 % bribe and fixing fee to Hallam Nicholls who acted on Behalf Of Owen Arthur the contract went where they could much easier source that fee with the attached increase in cost and a higher to cost taxpayers $ 400 Mil instead, and these profess to be good managers of Barbados ????

Have no fear the paperwork that was needed to be signed by those local contractors who were vying for the work which clearly states the need to pay Nicholls this 7 % fee has not disappeared it is in safe keeping at the law Firm of which Ms Lyn Marie Symmonds is associated, so it will not go away.

34. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Brathwaite this is not earth shattering is it you seem to think that it is,

Dottin himself confessed that he had tapes of Sgt Bowen’s conversations he Dottin was a puppet of Mottley and acted on her instructions and recorded private conversations of ordinary Barbadians and you want to come here defending both Dottin and Mottley as if they a virtues of honesty and decency ????

In other places in the world both Dottin and Mottley would be in a holding cell somewhere awaiting a long sentence and were it in the Middle East a beheading, these actions are not actions you or anyone should try to defend, in the name of freedom and our rights as a people we need to defend free speech and freedom of association not Hitler styled control of our thoughts and our minds.

It can never be allowed ever again that a Mottley and a Dottin are allowed that freedom to intrude into the private space of Barbadians and read their email, listen to their phone calls, read their text messages, this is not a police state nor are we under Military Rule we are Barbadians and we deserve better from people who are placed in control as Mottley was and we do not expect she or Dottin to be fed recordings on a daily basis of our communications.

If you suspect people of being involved in the drug trade or some serious matter the correct route is thru the courts to a Judge and lay your case and seek his or her decision to approve the Wire Tapping NEVER AGAIN CAN IT BE FOR SOMEONE LIKE DOOTIN TO BE INSTRUCTED BY MOTTLEY WHO SHE NEEDS TO LISTEN WITH THEIR CALL, TEXT AND EMAIL.

IT IS WRONG AND IT IS AGAINST THE LAW AND IMMORAL, BUT WHAT WOULD MOTTLEY KNOW ABOUT GOOD MORALS OR VALUES !!!!!!!

35. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ ac and Bush Tea

Only sharing because I think you may like the excerpt.
    A Guy’s View 2 days after PM Stuart was sworn in as PM after the February 21st DLP victory. You guess as to the writer who in a few months since claims not to be political.
    “Good governance demands, therefore, that the days of restraint will be extended a little longer. Many of you have demonstrated the capacity to think, so I know you understand where we are and what we have to do,” and one can only think ‘we’ is the DLP administration because this is precisley the group praised in the column.

36. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Give us a break

Aha! Thanks for enlightening me. So the Chairman of the PSC’s letter to Dottin was inaccurate? Are you suggesting that he was fired or sent on leave because he was found guilty of tapping phones?
    I am glad that I am not defending Dottin but institutions and good governance. Cheers and thanks.

37. Give us a break Avatar
    Give us a break

Good Governance ??????? You and the BLP ????? Don’t crack me up
    if Good Governance were knock you guys down you would not know what it was that hit you.

38. could somebody tell MAM her comments or suggestions in reference to guy Mayerson . are clumsy and borders on ignorance,, as a leader and wunnabe PM she should be presenting her self in a more diplomatic way and demonstrating a clear and definite leadership style one that does not pander to yardfowlism ! emotionalism ! and sensationalism ! .

39. Guyson Mayers as head of the PSC should be perceived as being independent. Clearly from his columns he is attached to the DLP and therefore decisions emanating from the PSC which he chairs will be viewed with healthy suspicion.

40. @George

was it right for david simmons to become chief jstice?

41. @George

was the commissioner fired? Hasnt he got a specified time to respond to the concerns and were those concerns sent as an attachment to the letter. Wait Geroge u still in England or in Barbados ?

George the PSC comprise of more than Mayers? Am I correct and can he make a decision withot the other members?

42. @Amsed

as i said in an earlier post Ms. Clarke was leaaving, it it stated in today;s nation that she leaves in september. I am told that she is leaving because the CJ told her that as long as he was there she wold not have been promoted.

43. @newblood

Based on this week’s press hasn’t Dottin and his lawyer filed to the Court to seek redress with Madame Justice Reifer slated to hear the matter?

44. @newblood

The news of Marva Clarke’s imminent departure was posted on the Tales from the Courts blog earlier in the week.

45. Mr Dottin I know you and many of the officers in your Force.During your tenure many of you did well from constable to your present rank.
    Esprit de Corp was encouraged then and it was good.However at times this same attribute has caused many leaders to make some errors in judgement in the discharge of their duties and where their alliances fall
    .Remember perception is ninety percent actuality is ten percent. In many cases the ninety percent will outway the ten. As commissioner you are in the hot seat and everyone else is looking at you or to you for leadership and direction. You are scrutinized more and it cannot be avoided. Unfortunately a decision has been made without your input. You may have to suck it up and drive on. Remember you and many others who sat in that seat has made an impact on many lives in Barbados. If you remember in the early days commissioners were appointed from the motherland. We have come a long way .

46. Shite man….what is the going price for brass? Barbados may be richer than we all think. If we could melt down all the bowls in this place we would probably be richer than Qatar.

George….serious now. You are beginning to embarrass even Onions with the childish ignorance you are posting. What point are you making with the post @ 12.14 a.m. from Mayer’s article about the ambulance chasing press?
    Why the brass you don’t go long sleep at night nuh? Your bedtime should be around 8:30….
    ANYONE can see the man is talking about the tactics of the press in trying to be sensational…. Wuh Bushie knows for a FACT that a certain ambulance driver is a secret Nation photographer…
    What the hell has that to do with being too political for the job of chairman of the PAC?

So what foolishness you letting this George joker get you into now? Why would the DLP install any BUT a DLP sympathizer in key positions in their government? You would put Miller there? …so that he could sabotage your government?

IT IS ONLY OBVIOUS! Bushie would put someone that he TRUST in critical positions too. Beside who you going bring? Trickydadians? Every Bajan is either B or D. (Except the 3 PDP’s 🙂 )

The ONLY questions to be asked are these:
    Has the PAC acted according to law and done so fairly and in the interest of the country?
    Was the COP accorded due process?
    Is the action taken within the scope of the PAC

All the other shiite questions such as George, Dale and Mia are pushing deserved to be flushed….totally irrelevant.

47. David like tumbleweed wherever the wind blows he goes along……all that matters is wether Mayerson follow the rules and guidelines as stated in the removal of an officer. that other buffaoon wan=nne bee activist GB has a political axe to grind even to the point of irrelevancy.

48. @Bush Tea

By you fuzzy logic David Simmons should NOT have been appointed CJ with such a short cooling off period.

49. David wrote,”Guyson Mayers as head of the PSC should be perceived as being independent.”

“should be perceived”
    Therein lies the hypocrisy. All Barbadians are tainted by incestuous political association.

I am sure Elliot Mottley is an honourable competent Lawyer and is independent from his daughter in representing Dottin.

But the “perception” would not suggest the “independence”.

The hypocrisy is that all of you participate in these incestuous political relationships while hiding behind political partisanship to protect your turn at the trough.

50. Bush Tea wrote “Every Bajan is either B or D”

Yes Bushie but some like Mascoll move from one to the other.