Submitted by St. George’s Dragon
If gay marriage is allowed, why not polygamy?

There has been much debate recently about gay marriage and its acceptability or otherwise. Most of the debate hinges on what the Bible says and in defence of the status quo the phrase “marriage is between one man and one woman” keeps occurring. The argument is then taken further to say that if gay marriage is allowed, why isn’t polygamy, for example.

It now appears that the Bible was not that prescriptive about what constituted an acceptable marriage. From the DesMoinesRegister.com, an article written by religious scholars about what the Bible actually says:
“The debate about marriage equality often centers, however discretely, on an appeal to the Bible. Unfortunately, such appeals often reflect a lack of biblical literacy on the part of those who use that complex collection of texts as an authority to enact modern social policy. As academic biblical scholars, we wish to clarify that the biblical texts do not support the frequent claim that marriage between one man and one woman is the only type of marriage deemed acceptable by the Bible’s authors.” The fact that marriage is not defined as only that between one man and one woman is reflected in the entry on “marriage” in the authoritative Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible (2000): “Marriage is one expression of kinship family patterns in which typically a man and at least one woman cohabitate publicly and permanently as a basic social unit” (p. 861).

The phrase “at least one woman” recognizes that polygamy was not only allowed, but some polygamous biblical figures (e.g., Abraham, Jacob) were highly blessed. In 2 Samuel 12:8, the author says that it was God who gave David multiple wives: “I gave you your master’s house, and your master’s wives into your bosom. … And if all this had been too little, I would have given you even more” (Revised Standard Version).

In fact, there were a variety of unions and family configurations that were permissible in the cultures that produced the Bible, and these ranged from monogamy (Titus 1:6) to those where rape victims were forced to marry their rapist (Deuteronomy 22:28-29) and to those Levirate marriage commands obligating a man to marry his brother’s widow regardless of the living brother’s marital status (Deuteronomy 25:5-10; Genesis 38; Ruth 2-4). Others insisted that celibacy was the preferred option (1 Corinthians 7:8; 28).

Although some may view Jesus’ interpretation of Genesis 2:24 in Matthew 19:3-10 as an endorsement of monogamy, Jesus and other Jewish interpreters conceded that there were also non-monogamous understandings of this passage in ancient Judaism, including those allowing divorce and remarriage. In fact, during a discussion of marriage in Matthew 19:12, Jesus even encourages those who can to castrate themselves “for the kingdom” and live a life of celibacy. Ezra 10:2-11 forbids interracial marriage and orders those people of God who already had foreign wives to divorce them immediately.

So, while it is not accurate to state that biblical texts would allow marriages between people of the same sex, it is equally incorrect to declare that a “one-man-and-one-woman” marriage is the only allowable type of marriage deemed legitimate in biblical texts. This is not only our modern, academic opinion. This view of the multiple definitions of “biblical” marriage has been acknowledged by some of the most prominent names in Christianity. For example, the famed Reformationist Martin Luther wrote a letter in 1524 in which he commented on polygamy as follows: “I confess that I cannot forbid a person to marry several wives, for it does not oppose the Holy Scriptures.”

Accordingly, we must guard against attempting to use ancient texts to regulate modern ethics and morals, especially those ancient texts whose endorsements of other social institutions, such as slavery, would be universally condemned today, even by the most adherent of Christians.” Read the last paragraph again and reflect on a quote from Christopher Hitchens “The Bible may, indeed does, contain a warrant for trafficking in humans, for ethnic cleansing, for slavery, for bride-price, and for indiscriminate massacre, but we are not bound by any of it because it was put together by crude, uncultured human mammals.”

You can read the original of the article:

Iowa View: 1 man, 1 woman isn’t the Bible’s only marriage view

67 responses to “Is Marriage an Institution Between One Man and One Woman?”

1. old onion bags Avatar

God made Adam for Eve… and not Steve. FULL STOP.

2. St George
    Solomon is reputed to have had 1000 wives and concubines; Moses had several wives and mistresses such that the “men in the camp were jealous of him” (Ps 106(16))
    Paul thought very little of marriage. It was a case of “if you must”. In any event it was a commercial arrangement – a contract – rather than a “meeting of true minds” and loves. Then think of it as a construct as disposable as a baby’s nappy – 12 months separation and you’re off the hook.
    The taboo against marrying outside of the tribe was part of the so-called holiness code – designed to retain the purity of the race. Is there an echo of something here?
    Then consider Moslem weddings and divorce and, say, native law and custom wedding in, eg, Nigeria. The first wife plays Abraham’s Sarah to the rest.
    But the central question is whether same-sex marriage is outside these very broad boundaries. But then think of “He bowled a chinaman’ or ‘long leg’ in cricket. And what of questions like whether a flying boat is a boat or a plane. Haven’t we moved on from Plato so that we ask not for meaning but for use? And doesn’t ‘use’ depend on the ‘game’ we are playing? …..in this case the game of non-discrimination in the recognition of kinds of partnership.

3. @Robert Ross “The taboo against marrying outside of the tribe was part of the so-called holiness code”

Actually marrying inside the tribe is exactly why the Middle East has the highest rate of genetic diseases in the world. It is also probably the reason Middle Easterners are the most miserable people on the face of the earth. Always got the rest ‘o we on edge…wondering what shite they going to do next…

Everybody should marry outside the tribe.

4. @St. George’s Dragon “Is marriage an institution between one man and one woman”

No.

Marriage is whatever a particular society or set of individuals thinks it is.

Some places/times that practice one man multiple women

In the Himalayas they practice one woman plenty men (I like that one but up dey too cold)

Other places/times practice one man one woman.

The Canadians practice two of any kind (if I feel like a change I may move up by Hantsie)

In 19th century Barbados my great grand parents married when they were both 14 years old. Had 14 children and raised most of them to adulthood, and stayed together until death parted them.Try that stunt nowadays and they will lock you to ‘rass up.

The main thing about marriage is don’t get tie up.

5. But Ephesians 17: 9-14 tells us that “if a woman is widowed and the brother of her husband will not take her in marriage, and if a tortoise called Derrick or possibly Aaron doeth arrive in her house, then she shall be a Harlot if she do not give unto herself OF the tortoise, that they be rightly wedded in THE eyes of our Lord.”

Scholars find corroboration in Acts 12: 17-19: “For there CAME upon the Land of the Two Tribes among the nation of Judah a tortoise known as Derrick or possibly Aaron, woeful from his rejection from the Harlot widow in theearlier bit of the plot, who spaketh thus, saying ‘for verily thou shalt fear the people of the ZR-land, for they bring weeds to the lawn’.

And so it was.

But the tortoise Derrick or possibly Aaron did come to dwell in the Nation of the Ten Tribes (Zachariah 16:2-7) and waged war against the Nation of the two tribes.

For dis be de word o’ de Lor’. Wid me?

6. Why is the bible used as a reference in these things?

You do realise the bible is outdated, it is a collection of books written by different people spanning different times about different gods, it a good read though.

7. old onion bags Avatar

…….Fire Go Burn A Bottie Man….Leviticus 18:22…..translated…..whaloss!

8. If people were to shift from using this very simple irelevant book called the bible as if it got authority over these such matters and to use common sense and reasoning then this so called debate would be over very shortly.

9. People will bring all kinds of spin to the Word of GOD, but at the end of the day anyone whose heart is not in the right place i.e having received Jesus, and having asked to be forgiven of their sins, they will be destroyed, simple.

10. So praise the man jesus and not God? Say you gin follow jesus teachings and then use a bible and not a bibliography?

BK how old was Jesus?

11. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Is Marriage an Institution Between One Man and One Woman?
    One is Church and one State
    Church need to say no dealing with God , Man and Woman

State dealing with People with then Right to contract . Man and Man , Woman and Woman .
    Marriage is a 3 party contract between Man , Woman and State ,
    When the union is over , the lawyer with the power of the state then will rape you both for ending the contract agreement.
    Most lawyer dont get married who know the law ,
    TO HAVE AND TO HOLD = ONE WORD NOT 5 DIFFERENT WORDS.
    The more weddings the more lawyers will feed when its over between you all or both. .

” to have” denotes the estate to be taken , while the word “to have
    signify that is to be held of some superior lord ie., by way of tenure .

12. Okay. It goes completely against the grain for me, but I, once again and with apologies but no excuses to Bushie, have to agree with Ross.

Also, just to give the Bible-thumpers something to jump up in the air about, while providing ammunition to the “agent provocagteur par excellence” known as Baffy and to the Mighty Miller, who is truly on a roll these days, I offer the following link from the Daily Mail.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2336889/Gay-parents-healthier-children-better-self-esteem.html

Now some of us have children and/or grandchildren and/or relatives/siblings who are gay and who we love very much and we see nothing wrong with them and are accepting and welcoming of them and their partners, who we consider to be family. That is our choice, so get the hell over it.

13. i really hate when people look at simple English and just to justify their filthy lifestyle i.e. pushing their penis in another man’s toilet, they choose to see that God who created MALE AND FEMALE would accept such a stinky way of life. if God brought judgement on Sodom and Gomorrah, why would he allow same sex union?… it is nasty, perverted and will always be nasty and perverted. lesbian relationships are the same…why are you shortchanging yourself? the living God NEVER condoned same sex union, the only spirit which does it is the devil, satan, lucifer, son of the morning, beelzebub …you know who i mean…

14. loving your child, grandchild, sibling has absolutely NOTHING to do with accepting such a stinking way of life…

15. Sheep can’ read … at least dah is wah I always thought … Hmmm. This fella hey got a weird hopeful glint in she eyes…

16. So then we get Pinkie on June 11, 2013 at 4:09 PM, telling us that “loving your child, grandchild, sibling has absolutely NOTHING to do with accepting such a stinking way of life…”

Look, son, just phuck off. You are an idiot. Want to bring your Kingston Crew bout hey? You have no kindness, no charity, no sense of transcendence, no joy, no caritas, a miserable personality and a total incapacity to put a sentence together. You are wasting space.

It’s always a pain, every time we want to safeguard someone else’s right to live as they choose, to have to argue that we’re not among those whose rights we’re trying to safeguard. So think of me as gay if you want. Or purple. Or right-handed. Or blond or blonde or red-headed or a Jew or a Jewess or Muslim or Sikh or black or white or whatever you want. I’m none of those things. It won’t change the fact that you are an idiotic waste of space. You’re going to take that idiocy to the grave.

Loving your child has absolutely EVERYTHING to do with acceptance, you moron. You are your brother’s keeper. Even those of us who are bred-in-the-bone atheists, militant atheists, know that this notion from Genesis is the best idea in the history of humanity. It will never be bettered. You are your brother’s keeper. You are your sister’s keeper. Without this we are nothing.

So phuck off.

17. @ Amused
    How Bushie get in this now…? 🙂
    The bushman just here breezing…maintaining a low-keyed profile and you gone and agree with Ross….

What does men who have miltiple women, women who have multiple men, (soft) men who do a good job raising children, or ‘wutless behaviors documented in the bible’ have to do with men playing around with feces? …..putting their penis in the stuff and worse…?

Bushie is still waiting for you, Ross and wunna friend Peter to come out and explain wunna fascination with shit…. and in your case, your support for others who want the right to play in the stuff….YUK!

Justify that nastiness and explain why it should be allowed and Bushie will be best man at Ross and Peter’s wedding. 🙂 ….until then Bushie will support our laws which makes it an offence to be playing with excreta…..

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jack Bowman | June 11, 2013 at 7:53 PM

That’s a tongue lashing worthy of the miller’s envy!

But sometimes we have to be very harsh in our verbal scouring to remove the thick crust of ignorance that encased the simple minds of these morons like Pinkie.

It really gets one goat when brainwashed imbeciles refer to the mythical first story book of the Jews called Genesis to justify any argument on morality especially involving sexual matters.

One wonders what are Pinkie’s views regarding the mythical “fact” that she is a genetic result of a man who killed his brother (a murderer) and had sex wit his mother or his unknown sister in order for her to be here today to morally pontificate about others’ sexual deviance.

The pigheaded Pinkie doesn’t even understand that by referring to the story about Sodom & Gomorrah as a universal event she is unwittingly relating her incestuous heritage because she most likely is the descendant of one of those children who Lot fathered after being made drunk and raped by his only two girl children.

It would do you narrow-minded people a Noah’s ark of salvation if you were to leave the Jewish version of the Old Testament moral prescripts out of this debate.

19. When you attend a wedding at church, what passages of Scripture do you expect to hear? Congregations occasionally invite me to speak on the current same-sex marriage debates, and I ask them this question. Their answers are remarkably consistent.
    Someone invariably mentions 1 Corinthians 13, the famous “Love Chapter.” Love is patient, love is kind, love never insists on its own way and so forth. Wonderful advice for marriage, but Paul was not talking about marriage. He was addressing a church fight: the believers in Corinth had split into factions and were competing for prestige and influence. We see echoes of this conflict throughout the letter, but especially in chapters 12 and 14, which surround this passage.
    Others call out, “Where you go, I will go; where you lodge, I will lodge; your people shall be my people, and your God my God” (Ruth 1:16; NRSV). Another moving passage, but it’s certainly not about marriage. Ruth addresses this moving speech to her mother-in-law Naomi.
    The second creation story in Genesis comes up: “Therefore a man leaves his father and his mother and clings to his wife, and they become one flesh” (Genisis 2:24). This passage is certainly appropriate to marriage, as it reflects the level of intimacy and commitment that distinguishes marriage from other relationships. Jesus quotes this passage, too, but he isn’t exactly discussing marriage. Instead, his topic is divorce (Matthew 19:5; Mark 10:8). When ministers read the Gospel passages at weddings, as they often do, the message seems a little off. I’d rather not hear about divorce at a wedding.
    One other passage frequently surfaces in weddings but rarely in mainline Protestant churches, the Lutheran, Presbyterian, Methodists and United Church of Christ congregations that invite me to speak. Ephesians 5:22-33 commands wives to obey their husbands and husbands to love their wives. Conservative Christians may try to explain away the offense of this passage, but there’s no escaping its ugly reality. Ephesians calls wives to submit to their husbands just as children must obey their parents and slaves must obey their masters. See the larger context, Ephesians 5:21-6:9.
    The point is, Christian weddings rarely feature passages that directly relate to marriage. Only one passage, Genesis 2:24, seems especially relevant, while other passages require us to bend their content to our desire to hear a good word about marriage. Things are so bad that the worship books for many denominations turn to John 2:1-11, where Jesus turns water into wine at a wedding feast, to claim that Jesus blessed marriage. My church, the United Church of Christ, has developed a new wedding liturgy, but it retains this common formula: “As this couple give themselves to each other today, we remember that at Cana in Galilee our Savior Jesus Christ made the wedding feast a sign of God’s reign of love.”
    So we know Jesus blessed marriage because he attended a wedding? That’s the best we can do? No wonder it’s common for couples to struggle over the choice of Scripture for their wedding ceremonies. The Bible just doesn’t have much to say on the topic.
    Unfortunately, many Christians use the Bible to support their own prejudices and bigotry. They talk about “biblical family values” as if the Bible had a clear message on marriage and sexuality. Let’s be clear: There’s no such thing as “biblical family values” because the Bible does not speak to the topic clearly and consistently.
    It’s high time people came clean about how we use the Bible. When Christians try to resolve difficult ethical and theological matters, they typically appeal to the Gospels and Paul’s letters as keys to the question. But what about marriage? Not only did Jesus choose not to marry, he encouraged his disciples to abandon household and domestic concerns in order to follow him (Matthew 19:29; Mark 10:28-30; Luke 9:57-62). He even refers to those “who have made themselves eunuchs for the sake of the kingdom of heaven” (Matthew 19:10-13). Whatever that means, it’s certainly not an endorsement of marriage. Paul likewise encourages male believers: “Do not seek a wife” (1 Corinthians 7:27, my translation) — advice Paul took for himself. If neither Jesus nor Paul preferred marriage for their followers, why do some Christians maintain that the Bible enshrines 19th-century Victorian family values?
    Let’s not even go into some of the Bible’s most chilling teachings regarding marriage, such as a man’s obligation to keep a new wife who displeases him on the wedding night (Deuteronomy 22:13-21), his obligation to marry a woman he has raped (Deuteronomy 22:28-30) or the unquestioned right of heroes like Abraham to exploit their slaves sexually. I wonder: Have the “biblical family values advocates” actually read their Bibles?
    Christians will always turn to the Bible for guidance — and we should. If the Bible does not promote a clear or redemptive teaching about slavery, that doesn’t mean we have nothing to learn from Scripture about the topic. The same values that guide all our relationships apply to marriage: unselfish concern for the other; honesty, integrity and fidelity; and sacrificial — but not victimized — love. That’s a high standard, far higher than a morality determined by anachronistic and restrictive rules that largely reflect our cultural biases. Rules make up the lowest common denominator for morality. Love, as Paul said, never finds an end.

What Does the Bible Actually Say About Marriage?
    Greg Carey Professor of New Testament, Lancaster Theological Seminary

20. USA rules us all # 1

preemptively (preemptive) designed or having the power to deter or prevent an anticipated situation

Jesus savior wha dem crucify
    Man dem fling him pon de cross an’ all dat crucify

21. Patrick Leahy files gay couples amendment

‘Seeking equal protection under our laws for the LGBT community is the right thing,’ Leahy said. | AP Photo
    By SEUNG MIN KIM | 6/11/13 7:03 PM EDT
    Senate Judiciary Committee Chairman Patrick Leahy is trying again on immigration and gay rights.
    The Vermont Democrat filed an amendment to the Gang of Eight immigration bill on Tuesday that would allow gay U.S. citizens to petition their foreign spouses to become permanent residents. He had withdrawn the measure after an emotional debate during the committee markup, after several Democrats said they would vote against his amendment in order to preserve the overall bill.
    Read more: http://www.politico.com/story/2013/06/patrick-leahy-gay-couples-amendment-92612.html#ixzz2VxoHK6Fd

22. BULLING IS WRONG
    SAME SEX MARRIAGE IS NO MARRIAGE—-FOOLISHNESS !

23. Bush Tea

Time for you to retire. Try seeing beyond the page.

24. Retire? LOL
    Again?
    …and exactly HOW will Bushie’s final retirement make it palitable for men to be playing around in one another’s feces?
    ….and even if they are naturally so inclined, to be admitting it publicly?
    ….and even if they have no shame in ‘fessing up to the nastiness,..to want the rest of us to LIKE the idea?
    ….and even if people have become such warped brass bowls to fall for such perverse nastiness
    ….to expect BUSHIE to support that shiite…? NEVVA!!

You need a bush bath Ross……Check with Amused, Bushie is busy awaiting Islandgal’s appointment 🙂

25. @ ac
    What the hell….! You tek over from Zoe now?
    Ms cut and paste?
    …serious, what does that long post say? Should you not desist from posting stuff that you do not understand…?
    …oh wait!! This is ac, that would effectively ban you from BU…carry on smartly!. LOL Ha Ha.

26. Miller

Glad you mention Sodom. But there’s more isn’t there? We have God not knowing what’s going on down the road – hence the visit of the two angelic visitors. Then there’s Lot the righteous man – who offers his daughters for gang rape. Then – the tall pillar of salt story as a way of dealing with nosey women. And all written just a few hundred years before Jesus. And man had then been around how long – 250,000 years and more?

The critical aspect of the story is not the homosexuality of Sodom – but the men (and women presumably) of Sodom’s exhibition of ingratitude in the face of God’s “mercy” – viz his loving kindness. I wonder whether the little children of Sodom were “righteous” and why God didn’t figure they were. And the other aspect was the very serious breach of the laws of hospitality which were and still are critical for all peoples of the Book – see Jesus’ own references to the Sodom story in that context.

The story has been used to justify gay bashing – and all rooted in superstition rather like masturbation causing warts. For some the sun will ever orbit the earth.

27. Bush Tea

No-one but no-one is asking you to “like” anything. We all understand you are far too busy liking the noises your mouth makes and the little sounds which drum in your ears as you write.

But yes (lol) do retire again.

28. What superstition what?!? Who cares about Lot or Sodom…?

….how soon can we have your response to Bushie’s inability to comprehend the compulsion to promote having sex in feces?

…no need to explain the compulsion to HAVE it…Bushie understands “warped, defective and ill”…
    …just explain the compulsion to PROMOTE this obviously unhealthy practice as being EQUAL to a natural (and now overdue) Bushie/Islandgal liaison?

29. …OK Boss!
    Bushie retiring
    …for the night LOL Ha Ha
    More licks in your pooch tomorrow (if BBE and Jones spares life)…

BTW
    Jones is one…?
    …cause he like he REAL warped yuh!!!
    ZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzz 🙂

30. Homosexuals like to dabble in excrement … HA HA HA … MURDA … Dah kinda reasoning too high fah me bo’. But then again, it is only shite talk, and from someone who is entitled to partake, sorry dabble in it from time to time … HA HA HA MURDA

31. @Bush Tea “men to be playing around in one another’s feces?”

But Bushie it ain’t play…it more like work -ie, work-ie, work-ie, work-ie, sweet work-ie!!!!!!!!!

32. @miller etc at 9:35 p.m. “a genetic result of a man who killed his brother (a murderer) and had sex with his mother or his unknown sister”

So wait miller, all ‘o we descended from a dysfunctional, murderous, incestous family?

Fuh true?

Now you got me real depress?

33. bush tea I got sooooooooooooo tired of you talking sh..t that I had no other alternative than to become a “baby zoe” please for god sake stop spying into the butt of the male gender…………disgusting ….between u and amused I don’t know who is worst. amused constantly licking miller butt or u constantly looking fuh shit … oh gross ……phew disgusting……

34. Bush tea the post says that there are key ingredients when combined that defines a marriage one of which is LOVE. not necessarily a couple of opposite gender… and the bible quotes are there to emphasis .. also note that when god made man.his first choice for companionship were animals and the woman was secondary

35. @Bushie. The only reason I called your name was because I knew you were going to involve yourself and your antiquated, Old Testament ideas no matter how many time Baffy tells you to shut the f**k up. So I figured it was best to open the door for you and just get it over with – a feeling I am sure Islandgal will come to know well if she is ever so unwise as to open to you the door you keep on asking her to open. Mind you, I don’t think there is a snowball’s chance in hell of Islandgal opening that door to you ever, but if she did, she would soon know the feeling. Just get it over with already. I’ll file my nails while you are at it. Yaawn!

@Baffy. Loved it. Read it when I woke up and been laughing ever since.

36. @ ac
    “….also note that when god made man.his first choice for companionship were animals and the woman was secondary”
    ….so you mean that Baffy got a point bout the mutton then…?

…or perhaps God knew better than to willfully inflict man with women like you, but was persuaded by the Adam idiot…? 🙂

LOL – you notice that Adam ended up in Arizona just like your man…? Ha Ha ah

@ Simple Simon
    Bushie was just trying to get to the butt of this whole matter. Bushie tired with this Gay lobby trying to make a bushman feel guilty bout wanting to “discuss matters” with Islandgal instead of with Ross.

Bushie looks for ROOT causes, not symptoms and long talk bout rights and no Lotta junk….

One of “them” must be able to explain why we should accept this business of wukking in feces…… (Cause that is the only thing that is illegal in Bim) and why the same STATUS should apply to a Bushie/Islandgal merger – with the potential to create and procreate…. As a barren, dead and backward Ross-Wickham merger?

@ Ross
    Why wunna don’t go down at Belmont Road and form a 2-man Company or something? …that way everyone will be happy and wunna could wuk happily together….

37. @LOL @ Amused
    You know Bushie too well….
    ..but not well enough.

How the hell would Baffy be able to silence Bushie? Wuh if he don’t be careful Bushie will move a motion for David to ban his sheep loving behind from BU…. 🙂 …then he could change his handle to BAFBFP&BU.

WRT Islandgal….the feeling that she will “come to know” when she opens her door to bushie…will be that feeling that she feels just before a feeling like she has never felt before…. 🙂
    ….she will brek off the lock and throw away the key….leaving the door open for Bushie only…

But wait….
    Why one of wunna don’t answer Bushie’s question instead of throwing insults that don’t mean squat to a bushman….?

38. Amused when Bushie made some myopic statements on another blog (Mott Green is dead) I made up my mind that we were very unevenly yoked and I have moved on. I will NEVER open my door to that bible thumping miserable old bush coot. There are too many varieties of fruit and flowers to choose from than to settle for an old sour hard hog plum.

39. BT Woman do anal sex to, maybe they could explain the difference to oral and vaginal penetration too in terms of pleasure and pain from a womans position

if love is a treasure
    it is also a pain
    it will end in heartbreak
    and leave you in chains

If 2 Gays think they can live in a monogamous relation without divorcing and abusing each other or having extra-marital sex outside marriage then they can try

40. Your loss Islandgal…
    …At least Bushie will save on the cost of an anti-4X4- helmet… Yuh vagabond.

41. Can anyone please tell an unmarried man like me what are the benifits of me getting married, what the church and what the state are going to get out of it?

42. Gay people are just as capable at helping others as the Church who should accept them http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=94wQjckZjj8

43. it is a filthy act and will always be a filthy act, the penis was made for the vagina…not another mans stinking rectum…people with these issues really need deliverance and help which God can and will give.. He loves the sinner, just like me but absolutely hate the sin. any union between man and man is an abomination to the human race big time. love them hate the sin that bounds them. why do people choose to quote God’s word when they are seeking to marry? why do they feel that they need God’s blessings? how can two hard back hairy men, go a priest and expect that God will actually bless such a sickening act? SMH…will NEVER HAPPEN. the creator made the anus to be the exit passage of excrement not the entrance door for sperm, it is just nasty however u look at it

44. Pinkie it’s none of your business what others do speculatively behind closed doors, straight people can’t understand men kissing or falling in love either or whips and chains, but there’s no point getting into a gay argument with a bajan when no one is saying they are gay anyway, some straight are very anti-gay other’s just don’t care

45. weird thing is in Uk Gays are considered a minority same as blacks
    so in work places gays and blacks rights are treated as a same issue

46. Almighty God, who created mankind, condemns Homosexuality as an Abomination, in both Old and New Testaments.

Historic research done over ALL ancient civilizations, BAR NONE, conclusively reveal, that whenever they deviated FROM One Man, One Women, Monogamous unions, TO deviant, perverted, Homosexual practices, they ALL came to utter ruination, in relatively short periods of time.

This historic EVIDENCE, confirms the exactitude of Almighty God’s Word, the Bible, that its pronouncements, declarations, and judgments, are TRUE, and not to be messed around with, no matter who you are.

Therefore, using the first principles of proper REASON, the Facts and Evidence, re this subject matter, is resoundingly warranted by.

Logical consistency
    Empirical adequacy
    Experiential relevancy

Almighty God’s Word, the Bible has never, ever proved to be wrong or false, over the entire course of human history, because it is TRUE.

Reason is necessary for revelation, ( Facts, evidence to be coherent).

The evidence and facts, CANNOT be refuted, only denied and scoffed at by those who have NO regard for TRUTH, which by definition IS* absolute.

It has always been EITHER/OR, NOT BOTH/AND!

47. @ Zoe when god made man I think we get pre program with what is right and what we need to do, it is hard to accept but the bible can be wrong. First off why is the bible the only book that god say write? God ent do nutting else but write the bible? Don’t get me wrong its a good read with some good info and stories, but what give the bible athourty over people life? And why I can’t reject the bible and love god at the same time? The bible better than god?

48. Zoe you are not in touch with God on a spiritual vibe and are not communicating or receiving instructions from him/her. Your mindset is your own values, there is no holy message to enforce anything on anyone

If you had a spiritual vibe people would be impressed with what you say as enlightenment and truth, but they don’t