The wonderful sight of teacher and pupil reunited at the Alexandra School - Photo credit Barbados Advocate
The wonderful sight of teacher and pupil reunited at the Alexandra School – Photo credit Barbados Advocate

He who knows that enough is enough will always have enough โ€“ Lao Tzu

Gross Domestic Product (GDP) is defined as all โ€œtheย  final goods and services produced within a country in a given period of timeโ€. Can BU draw a parallel and define the well being of a country by the quality of key decisions made by theย  โ€˜leadersโ€™ in a given period?

The debate which continues to gain traction in Barbados is about the Alexandra dispute and related issues. It has displaced discussion about the upcoming general election, and significantly, a conversation about the state of the economy. If one were to ask any educated Barbadian what issue should be occupying the attention of the country, the answer should be โ€˜managing the economyโ€™. It does not mean that all the issues at play in the country should be ignored, just that the exigencies of now require priority planning how we allocate resources.

Tension at the Alexandra School has peaked and troughed since 2005, surely an indictment on the management system with oversight for education. Many problems currently being wrestled by the government have straddled both political parties and different personnel in the public service. What it exposes is a rotten core which drives decision making in Barbados.

A scan of traditional and social media also exposes the inclination by Barbadians to dwell on the minutia of the argument. Some favour Broomes and others the BSTU to pick two of the main actors in the unravelling imbroglio. After observing a ten year dispute at a secondary school, what should be the priority position of the actors involved in the dispute and general public? Should it have something to do with children at the school perhaps? What should be obvious given the hardened positions built up over a decade is that all sides in the dispute need to thaw positions and demonstrate a capacity to compromise; for the childrenโ€™s sake.

It was predicted by many that one of the options available to Jeff Broomes and the transferees was to resort to the filibuster tactic of sick leave. Does any sensible person believe these people are sick? Does anyone believe that the children looking on believe these people to be sick? How will this dishonest action impact the childrenโ€™s future behaviour?

The Prime Minister suggested on the weekend that if all the players involved in the resolution of the Alexandra School problem – who are mostly university graduates – cannot solve the issues they should return to the cane fields. We have become so divisive a people that the statement by the Prime Minister has evoked discussion along partisan lines. Surely educated Barbadians understand what the Prime Minister meant by comparing knowledge workers of today to field hands of yore?

We urge all parties to remember the children.

1. BUSH TEA .nothing last forever . however i am confused As to how yiu revert your opinion from one of “menopasualteachers” to teachers with klegitamate grievances BTW these are the same teachers and the same issue nothing has changed .except you.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:
    “We urge all parties to remember the children.”

Do those children include those attending or will be attending Parkinson memorial Secondary School (PMSS)?

If the childrenโ€™s wellbeing and their education are paramount why offload an alleged managerially incompetent beast with psychopathic tendencies on these vulnerable children?
    Why not send him where he is least harmful either to a desk job in the MoE or home on forced retirement as the law allows once ratified by the GG where he can attend counseling for his presumed psychiatric disorders?
    Why the children of PMSS? Why not those at Cawmere or Foundation or even HC.
    Why not Lodge with a simultaneous transfer of Mary Pinkie Redman?

3. re Barbados is going to hell in a hand basket.
    This has been so for many years now. It started around 1981, but no one noticed. We have now a terminal cancer.

We have all this hullabaloo about 8 teachers not reporting for work. one wonders why the hullaballoo?

Our boys are dropping out, probably because too much oestrogens in the classroom, and then we have some who come here on BU and cannot argue a point coherently and logically without inserting politics in everything. One wonders if all this free education was worth it. We have graduated a set of morons. Even the PM spews bovine excrement, and some defend him. Should he not clearly say what he means such that there is no doubt?

The world will not end because 8 teachers defy the MOE and get sick leave.

4. @Simple Simon
    “The Prime Minister has not been able to solve this problem either. What does it say about that particular university graduate”?………….

I am surprised that right thinking people could defend the PM’s idiotic outburst last weekend. He should really go back to sleep.

If OSA had said this, oh my goodness, war would have broken out in Barbados from the self righteous DLP who lay claim to the notion that Barrow gave free education.

Based on Freundel Stuart’s own words, he should be the first to report for duty come the first day of the crop season because as far as we the people are concerned, he has not solved a problem to take this country forward….. namely, AX, the economy, the Myrie case, the off shore sector etc,etc.

I am told his office is filled with files, he would not make decisions and when the public servants get tired waiting for the files to be returned, he gives them back with a “bring up in SIX months”.

And he has the nerve to talk about people who cant make decisions should go back to the canefields.

Head the pack, Freundel!

David Ellis too said on Monday, he thinks this is much ado about nothing. But what else do we expect from David Ellis??

5. @Bushie
    don’t tek it so personal. I only asked a question that everyone is asking. and by the waY I believe that they have rights and have (had) a legitimate case! . But the jokers that running the show at BSTU squandered every opportunity to represent that case properly, erased any leverage that they would have had and ignored the need for good PR and an understanding of politics and power in this case. You think I want somebody like that representing me? Frantic huff and puff don’t make things right either. then again who knows, Freundel could have tricked them blind too.

Trying to bring in rape and lynching is a crimson fish to the highest degree and you know it . Leave that emotionalism for Redman and Sir Roy.

The indisputable fact is…the transfers are legal and within the ambit of the PSC. Let’s get over that. Was it fair? No. Was it timed right? hell no. will it cause challenges? hell yes.

But then again, you have always argued that strong leaders must do things, make decisions and take action even if it appears unfair, is undesired by followers at the time and despite the challenges that they will face if it leads to the “SUFFICIENT MANAGEMENT AND CONTROL in place to properly guide the system.”

The question to be asked is, where is the injustice or punitive intent and how do we

a) represent properly for a reversal of the action that led to such in the specific cases with specific reasons (not all the teachers) or
    b) agitate for immediate steps to alleviate the difficulty to students and teachers caused by what some may argue was an inevitable action.

This story didn’t start this month and all actors have blood on their hands for the eventual transfers that have taken place. Thing is, everyone still wants to act as if they are as pure as snow.

Now, if we want to carry this to the spiritual level in HIGH places then I’d have to start with the elder statesmen in Frost and Gollop since they’ve had more years in this temporal realm and are fully afflicted with the disease of human experience and carnal perception. That may be the true source of their problems.

Don’t shoot the messenger…especially when he’s just observing.

6. SIMPLESIMON

The Alexandra school problem is no longer a legal problem or a union problem, it has become a medical/psychiactric problem.
    All parties to this problem (especially the politicians) should take their sick certificates and report to the Psychiactric Hospital immediately.
    Not really Simon, the problems of the 8 rebelling teachers can be treated on an out patient basis. โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..starting with sick leave [removal from the source of dys-ease causation] as the initial therapy.

7. re David | January 9, 2013 at 8:50 AM |
    @Bushie
    This is not a boot camp, your slash and burn approach is not relevant in this matter. We are in an ecosystem here which require all the parties to show a heavy dose of emotional intelligence. We are not in the damn cane fields.

His slash and burn approach is not relevant in matterS OF BIBLICAL DISCUSSION BUT I THINK HE IS ON POINT HERE.

THE TEACHERS STOOD UP IN 1969 AND THEY SHOULD STAND UP NOW

THE PROBLEMS HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THE TEACHERS WHO ARE BEING TRANSFERRED IN TO THE AX SHOOL
    REMOVING BROOMES AND THE OTHER PROBLEM TEACHERS FROM AX WOULD HAVE BEEN ENOUGH. NEW TEACHERS COULD HAVE BEEN HIRED TO REPLACE THEM

THIS HEAVY HANDED DICTATORIAL APPROACH BY THE MOE IS BAD IMHO.

8. Or FIRE all they asses = DISEASE CURED

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie | January 9, 2013 at 10:27 AM
    “REMOVING BROOMES AND THE OTHER PROBLEM TEACHERS FROM AX WOULD HAVE BEEN ENOUGH. NEW TEACHERS COULD HAVE BEEN HIRED TO REPLACE THEM”

This seems straightforward and implementable and within spirit and intent of the Waterman report.
    But instead of transferring those are eligible for retirement (like Greaves & Broomes) let them proceed accordingly whether voluntarily or โ€˜pushedโ€™.
    Why offload these โ€œunfitโ€ teachers on students, principals and teaching staff at other schools.

10. MILLER
    Q Why offload these โ€œunfitโ€ teachers on students, principals and teaching staff at other schools.
    A 1 BECAUSE COMMON SENSE IS NOT REALLY COMMON
    2 THE LEADERSHIP AT THE MOE HAVE NO FUNCTIONING BRAIN CELLS — THEY ARE BETZPAENIC

11. Cannot be misled Avatar
    Cannot be misled

This is the beginning of the end of the AX nightmare Broomes is gone. The teacher mafia at Ax is broken up. Mary Redman has only herself to blame for going from Dr. Honorable’s sex object to an unsexy, haggard and real real old looking woman in BLP red.

Government made the correct decsion the antagonists in the Ax nightmare are dispersed for good.

We are in the death throes of the final solution. When the haze clears AX children their parents indeed the education system and Barbados will be better off. If Redman’s teachers dont report to work fire them bring in some bright out of work young graduates.

Government has been very generous of spirit and tolerant so far although fully backed by the legality of the GG’s decision. When MOE and the majority of Bajans run out of patience then out goes the law breaking teachers and Mary Redman can run to Depeiza lol and United Nations even the vatican to complain.

Of interest is that Jones said BSTU can go to the law courts but they avoiding court. Why? Methinks they will lose there too.

We cannot allow a few rogue teachers to hold our great country to ransom.

GOB no retreat no surrender you’ve wrestled the Ax beast to the ground dont even think of flinching now. Kudos to the PM and Ronald Jones and his MOE team. If you lose the election because of this you can be at peace knowing you made the right decsion with the welfare of the nation’s children uppermost in your minds.

12. @Checkit-Out

BU disagrees with your view about transferring only 3 teachers. In the staff room the culture AX would have been influenced by how all the HR bodies interacted. To change the ethos/culture at the place the principle of the decision is correct. We can all agree the timing is wrong. Finally a decision has been made in the 10 year period and the public has been given a bird’s eye view of the mismanagement in the system.

13. Mary Redman must be a really disappointed woman. Freundel Stuart and Hal Gollop are to be blamed.

Encouraged by Hal Gollop, the sleeping giant met only with the BSTU. He emerged from the meeting telling us about “women in tears”.

Bearing in mind, the close friendship between Freundel Stuart and Hal Gollop and he being the chief adviser to BSTU, how could Freundel Stuart
    deceive his friend so badly by descimating the BSTU, cause make no mistake, the PSC could not have made these decisions without the knowledge of Freundel Stuart.

How does Hal Gollop now view his friendship with Freundel Stuart? Are not things in Barbados done by who you know?

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Cannot be misled | January 9, 2013 at 10:57 AM |

Well said!
    Now let’s move to the Police Force, the Judiciary and Statutory corporations.
    What about cleaning up the CLICO mess and obeying the court order in respect of the Al Barrack judgment?
    Can you show similar mettle?

15. Oh My! Oh My!! So easily misunderstood.
    The Prime Minister is not suggesting that there should be recourse to the cane fields; having prefaced his remarks with University Graduate education. The word cane-fields was not to be taken literally, he was not suggesting they should be there employed.
    He was making the point that despite many years of education to become University Graduates some have not – despite appearances – up-lifted themselves to an intellectual level to make decisions above the “supposed” cerebral level of cane cutters.

The Prime Minister was using “hyperbole” to make a point and knowing the history of Barbados, he wanted a term that would be easily understood in “context”. That is how his statement should be seen.
    _ _ _ _
    Hi Bush Tea, January 9, 2013, @ 7:35am
    Looka ma troubles, I here mout shut tight and Bush tea pelting licks on me:
    “David . . . . . You sound like Yardbroom”
    The days of sacking everyone on sight because I am the Boss and you are not. . .does not work today.

In Industrial Relations people should be treated fairly and with respect, because they are employed does not prevent that. You then make the point:” The villians are the High-ups with University Degrees at the MOE and in Bay street.”

Perhaps true but the teachers also have University degrees. The point the Prime Minister so succinctly made.

I am generous, to be fair to you, you have been “CONSTANT” in that you said long before the COI, in the beginning that Mr. Broomes was not as guilty as he was being made out to be. At the time I felt that to be the case, and still do.
    Stop pelting lashes on Yardbroom, ya hear.

16. @Davd and check it out
    “BU disagrees with your view about transferring only 3 teachers.”
    agreed! couldn’t work, can’t work adn wouldn’t work. Now you can space out the time for the transfer of the majority (2-3 terms) but inevitably almost all of them had to go. walking out during speech day really did not help matters either.

The St. James man was arrested and charged for rape legally. An error was obviously made and he was released. He can sue and/or take those responsible to court for damages. I hope you follow what I am saying.

“i noticed also that the CTUSAB is also asking questions”
    As is their and everyone else’s right. But, notice the questions are about the timing, magnitude and disruption caused by the transfers. not the transfers themselves or the need for them eventually

The devil is always in the details ๐Ÿ™‚

Just observing

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Yardbroom | January 9, 2013 at 11:43 AM |

Misunderstood what! This is just another verbal manifestation of his snooty arrogance and intellectual offhandedness.
    Was he also using hyperbole when he got up in Parliament and described Leroy Parris as an estimable, astute, competent and honest businessman that has done tremendous good to for this country socio-economic development?

I would rather have a simple cane cutter as my pal than a leper running a ponzi scheme.

18. Observing as the process reopens and move along more questions would be asked however a gesture on the part of theCTUSAB is sufficient to say this is not an open and closed case and in itself adds additional pressure to the MOE to respond and who have decided that “silence is golden”

19. @ac
    we agree on the view that the MOE should respond.

@miller
    “I would rather have a simple cane cutter as my pal than a leper running a ponzi scheme.

Murda. Sounds like a slogan for a T-Shirt ๐Ÿ™‚

Observing

20. Hi millertheanunnaki January 9, 2013 @12:11pm
    I can feel an election in the wind, the time is now near. . . .you are going to be very busy I fear.
    I know you will fight your corner like the true heroine you are. . . Good Luck.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Yardbroom | January 9, 2013 at 12:30 PM |.

We know an Amazon like you from the land of Lesbos would be in the opposite corner to the millerโ€™s hero(ine) . But sorry to say Yardie, this is one time the broom is going to sweep clean just like the 1961 elections but this time from Parliament back to George St.
    MENE, MENE, TEKEL, UPHARSIN!

Time to isolate the political lepers and embrace the cane cutter. Maybe we will be able to get back to producing75,000 tonnes of sugar to ensure the viability of the industry.

22. David; re your comment “BU disagrees with your view about transferring only 3 teachers”. I think you are misrepresenting my consistent view that I thought the transfers could have been split with just 3 at this time and the remainder over the next 2 terms and that I agreed with the apparent evenhandedness of the action in that both Broomes and the Old scholars got similar treatment while having some concerns about some other aspects of the matter.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

The poor school children have been given a very raw deal by those egotistical adults in this whole fiasco. The Inquiry started out as a political soap opera and is ending in tragedy for the reputation and image of that school and the potential damage it could pose to those students when they graduate and have to put โ€œAlexandraโ€ as their alma mater on their CVs.
    Since the bad apples have been removed a watertight case has now be made for the re-branding of the school starting with the renaming.

Mr. Jones, get on your bike and employ your paint brush. What about the Ada Straughn Secondary School for starters?

24. This shite about attacking Caswell because you do not like wha’ he sayin’ is very unbecoming … Ad hominem is the kind of thing dat is tek place on BFP … not ’bout here. Shame on wunna.

Caswell I wid you and the teachers. My God, I went to a school where three quarters of the teaching staff were old scholars and they carried a brand of pride and ownership that clearly was the product of a legacy.

25. Stuarts comments typifies the opinion of Nouveau Elite who have absolutely no appreciation of truly hard work, and whose remuneration merely reflects the size of the transactions that they are involved in as opposed to the effort that they exert

26. I reiterate my earlier point, Freundel Stuart should himself be at the front of the line to register at a plantation for work in the canefields.

Certainly judging him on his tenure when David Thompson took sick and left him in charge, when he refused to make a decision and said that he was only left to keep house.The king said before he died that he gave Freundel Stuart all the power of the office of PM.

So based on Freundel Stuart’s own words, he is a fit candidate for the cane fields as he REFUSED to take decisions prior to the king’s death and hereafter!

How dare he insult the people who work in the cane fields, they do not have degrees but they have common sense!

27. The Minister of Education was a teacher, not a headmaster … wow what a promotion. When he loses his seat he will return to being just another teacher. A wonder how his peers will receive him …

28. “โ€ฆfor we fight not against flesh and blood, but against spiritual wickedness in HIGH places (high enough to make Law)”

What it is that Bush Tea drinkin’ today … I want some …!

29. The PM is a product of our society and slavery… where the house slaves (maids and cooks) felt they were better than the field slaves. This mindset is still alive and well!

30. @ ac
    if you cannot see that the problem at AX has morphed from the initial rantings of miserable middle aged women into a serious National problem of mis-management and ineptness, then you are indeed living up to your BU reputation….

@ Observing
    You are overanalyzing this whole AX thing. The fact that Mary mishandled the whole affair has no real bearing on the PRINCIPLE of the thing.
    Any set of managers that allow a situation to develop to the stage where AX has, is THE SUBSTANTIVE PROBLEM that needs to be addressed FIRST.
    If every little problem has to go to the PM and have a Commission of Inquiry then the system is BROKEN.
    Moving around teachers DOES NOT ADDRESS THAT!

First we need to put sensible management in place…THEN let them make wise solutions, which may, or may not, involve transfers…

….there is nothing worse than high level managers making line decisions….it is always expensive and useless….

@ Yardbroom
    …what is BU life without attacking the top guns like You, Inkwell, GP, Hants and Amused?…..dull!
    When it comes to conforming to established expectations and protocol, Yardbroom comes to mind….. UNLIKE GP, who is a big time radical like Bushie…if only he understood REAL bible study.. ๐Ÿ™‚

31. @ Baffy
    “What it is that Bush Tea drinkinโ€™ today โ€ฆ I want some โ€ฆ!”
    An interesting concoction of fruit and stuff…
    Bushie could give you the recipe, but it may be hazardous if brewed without expert supervision… ๐Ÿ˜‰

32. Bush Tea it might have taken youi that long to figure out your analysis .however better late than never.i guess you were too busy diagnosing the teachers as “menopasual” anyhow welcome aboard. but be careful you might be the only man of the BU household on board. LOL

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

One wonders if Fumble would also ask those lawyers who bring misery to the lives of the common people and economic setbacks to the economy and sully the international image of the country to return to the cane fields.

ALL THOSE LAWYERS (excluding Amused & Observing) MUST BE RETURNED TO THE CANE FIELDS STARTING WITH THE CJ AND THE CoP.

We will have to repatriate the DPP to the sugar and paddy fields of Demerara and Berbice.

Poor teachers and the MoE mandarins incurring the wrath of the PM while the CoP that made Barbados look like a true third rate banana republic remains in situ.

Now here is a clear example of double standard integrity.

34. @Bush Tea

MLK and Malcolm X were radicals, get the point? We all contribute to solutions using different styles.

35. @ David, (BU) What you feeding these people on? All hell brek loose!!! ELECTIONS?
    Ah Ducking.

36. Miller the first poerson that came to mind when the PM made that comment was “YOU” i thought to myself miller is an ecellant example of whom the PM was speaking of. here you a person claiming to be an intelluctual with university degrees/but still shining OSA boots and for absolutely nothing and having claim to fame as “a political yardflow.so what was the good of your education..time fuh you to get cutlass in hand and help restore much needed production in the sugar industry. “bird brain”

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | January 9, 2013 at 1:37 PM |
    โ€œThe PM is a product of our society and slaveryโ€ฆ where the house slaves (maids and cooks) felt they were better than the field slaves. This mindset is still alive and well!โ€

The worst thing you can do is to give a house nigger a little power.
    The whites knew this tactic and employed it effectively. Some maids at the white man have even passed down this trait to their golliwog children who now look down their broad noses at those blacks in the cane fields.

Today it is reflected in our school system where HC is perceived as far superior to Parkinson. If this were not so all the names of the Secondary schools (except Alexandra) would have been placed in a bag and one drawn randomly to send Broomes to. Why Parkinson? Why not Foundation or Deighton Griffith Secondary?

38. @Yardbroom

Yes the temperature is rising as to the cause…?

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 9, 2013 at 1:57 PM |

The miller has cut canes in the past and will be quite happy to follow the example of EWB with cutlass in hand provided he joins you in the third gang and pond grass posse to wield my intellectual machete in your direction.

The miller might shine OSA political boots and make sweet love to Mia but unlike you will never be a political door mat and โ€˜yes-manโ€™ to an incompetent fumbling idiot who has crooks as his best pals.

40. Wait Owen Arthur has not said a word on Ax latest developments. He pondering longer than Fruendel ever did. Wikileaks Wickham you taking notes? Who calling the kettle black now.

To make matters worse AX sits in the heart of Owen constituency where he say he was born poor. Bets are Owen is quiet as a church mouse plotting his belated statement on the AX developments. His posit will start with Fruendel fumbling again thats the BLP’s main and tired line of attack we know that.

Owen boy speak up soon events beginning to run away from you. Fruendel taking game changing decisions you told us he is incapable of. For the first time in ten years serious action to break the stranglehold vagobonds had on AX is taken. Protests against the decision cannot and must not reverse it. Ax is never going back to where it was pre COI and thats a relief and a breath of fresh air for all Barbadians. The children finally are free of the renegades who kidnapped the school.

Chief Education Officer Laurie King reports today Alexandra restarted without incident the children, the parents, the teachers all are happy. What fantastic news for AX fresh start even as Redman and Frost huddle in Belleville grumbling and disgruntled.

History will judge Fruendel very favourably on his Ax decisions of that there is no doubt. Its like the castor oil your mother forced you to take at the end of summer vacation. You dont want it but on hindsight you know it was healthy for you.

41. I still can’ understand why the MoE ain’ get transfer too …

42. @Watching

Kite flying is a pastime of Owen…lol.

43. @bushie
    “Any set of managers that allow a situation to develop to the stage where AX has, is THE SUBSTANTIVE PROBLEM that needs to be addressed FIRST. “First we need to put sensible management in place

OK. I agree. So do we fire all present education officers who had responsibility for AX? What about the Permanent Secretary(ies)? the entire AX Board? What about persons currently in Personnel? the CPO? the PSC? Jonesey, Byer-Suckoo and Freundel? which if any or all?

You keep talking about the root and the substantive problem and I fundamentally agree . But addressing the substantive problem and digging at the root makes these transfers look like a Sunday evening walk. Who does it? when? how? at what cost?
    Questions we’ve asked here ad infinitum for different issues!

Only when we get enough people to agree, and are willing to do what’s necessary, will the AX’s be a thing of the past. As I”ve repeatedly asked.. “will the real leaders please stand up?”

@miller
    I don’t mind being in the cane field…lol.

Just Observing

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

REMINDER – Come out and support Senator Verla Depeiza, DLP candidate for Christ Church West at the opening of her campaign office TONIGHT at 7:00PM in Fordes Road, Christ Church.

Speeches will be made by the candidate, Minister of Education and Human Resources Ronald Jones and Prime Minister and Party Leader Hon. Freundel J. Stuart, Q.C., M.P.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Observing(…) | January 9, 2013 at 3:13 PM |
    “@miller: I donโ€™t mind being in the cane fieldโ€ฆlol. ”

Only if you were having a โ€œpieceโ€ either of the sugary or oily variety. LOL!!

Cane cutting and loading along with well digging are some of the toughest jobs in the world. Cutting canes in a dehydrated state along with a bull pestle whip over your backside like the sword of Damocles is what you would describe as a serious form of mental imprisonment in Hell with hard labour.
    Unless you were integrally involved in the Violet Beckles scam I would not wish that for you. !!
    Just Hoping & Praying!

46. I need to see a doctor immediately as I am in full agreement with Bushie on this one.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | January 9, 2013 at 3:27 PM |

Why should we attend your party liars’ contest?
    To hear that the DLP brought universal adult suffrage to black Bajans?

Or that the Hastings Boardwalk (aka The Snow White Boulevard-on-the-Sea) was a DLP project that the BLP hijacked and spent $2 billion to construct?

48. BAFBFP | January 9, 2013 at 1:23 PM |
    Stuarts comments typifies the opinion of Nouveau Elite who have absolutely no appreciation of truly hard work, and whose remuneration merely reflects the size of the transactions that they are involved in as opposed to the effort that they exert.
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    Spot on Baff!!. These are the same very people who refer to themselves as the middle class,and do not want to see donkey carts selling potatoes on our roads, even though the same donkey cart and potatoes were instrumental in sending them to high school and the university. Or the ones who want the hawkers removed from the streets of Bridgetown ,as their mothers,and/ or fathers ,who financed their education,setting them up to live in a big house in the heights and terrace, can still be found behind one of those trays of vegetables of bananas in the City.
    The Prime Minister should remember that the science of sugar Cane Breeding, did not start with a university graduate, but with an observant watchman of Highland plantation who obviously was a master of the product which made Barbados King for over 300 years, back in 1858. History does not record his name, as he was seen by the then plantocracy as merely a “man from the cane field.”
    “Transplanting” is a common agricultural term, and we have seen the thinking of the old plantocracy transplanted into the heads of the Nouveau Elite.
    Education and a few dollars may take many of the new middle class out of the cane field, but it is not so easy to take the cane field out of them.

49. It is amusing how members of the BU intelligensia can take a turn of phrase by the prime minister where he juxtaposed a current reality with the aspirational position of Bajans achieving university education to make political hay. Then again the silly season is upon us.

50. @ Enuff
    ” I need to see a doctor….”
    …that was a low blow…..
    What wrong with Bush Doctors? ๐Ÿ™‚